147

4.6 based on 147 customer reviews

113
21
5
3
5
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

"AWESOME ZOOM LENS!!!!!"

SEL200600G 20 June 2020 by Patrick1954 (USA)

First off, this SONY 200-600mm 5.6-6.3 G OSS lens looks and feels like a $5,000.00 DOLLAR Lens. I bought this along with the OUTSTANDING SONY 2X Convertor. This lens is an EXCELLENT VALUE! Extremely Sharp with FAST INTERNAL Focusing. It is built like a TANK but doesn't weigh like one.The following photos were taken all on my Sony A6500 The Wood Peckor was taken in very low rainy light @ 4000 ISO

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

21

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great build and features. Soft copy.

SEL200600G 05 September 2019 by SkySpades (USA)

I love the feel and ease of use of the 200-600, it can't be beat in that regard. Unfortunately I received a soft copy. I also own a Nikon 200-500 and my copy of the 200-600 is noticeably softer in all situations; good light, bad light, near and far. I really had high expectations for this lens. I've read about others who have received soft copies as well as many who have received exceptional copies that are sharp even with the 1.4x. Hopefully Sony gets the quality control in order, but maybe that's why it's a G and not a GM lens.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

5

149 Customer Reviews

0

poor tripod collar design.

SEL200600G 30 July 2021 by ifxbonz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The loaner 200-600 suffers from the same problem as my copy . You have an issue with tripod collar loosening making the lens unstable and un able to use on a monopod or tripod.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great lens for the price

SEL200600G/CSYX 30 July 2021 by porkini (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this lens, it gets really close to a subject and when paired with the A7rIV, it comes up with some amazing shots. Just a couple of times, it kid of gave me a 'black screen' as it it was somehow shut down and I had to turn the camera off and on again but the vast majority of the times it works really well. It's heavy... there's no disputing that so you'll really want to use a tripod if you are waiting around but have to stay focused.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A fantastic lens

SEL200600G 27 July 2021 by Josie163 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had this for a few weeks now and am constantly being blown away by how good it is, especially considering the price. I’m not going to go into full technical details as there are people who know way more about that than me who will have posted that info already, but as someone who has been using the lens for wildlife photography, I can say it is absolutely fantastic. If you’ve not used a focal length as long as 600mm before, it can take some getting used to but I absolutely love this lens and would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of buying.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens so far, BUY IT!

SEL200600G 21 July 2021 by Eyeintheart (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought it end of May, took a month to deliver but was well worth the wait. I have used it a few times and I'm very impressed. Make sure you have a tripod that can handle the weight. Photo examples are taken on the a7 mark one. I would love the a7iii or the a7riii but can't afford them yet.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Could end at 500 and f5.6

SEL200600G 17 July 2021 by Piotreknik (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bit heavy , we'll build and very sharp . Could be f 5.6

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best telephoto birding lens I have used

SEL200600G/CSYX 16 July 2021 by Nathanshutterbug (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best all round telephoto lens. Fast focus, internal zoom, excellent clarity and almost no distortion at all ends of the zoom range. Also use it for landscapes at time! Have loved shooting with this lens and would highly recommend it….

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Affordable plus decent image quality

SEL200600G/CSYX 16 July 2021 by Philip Loh (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Owned this lens for ~3weeks and using it with my A7R4A for birding. Still trying to get use to its weight when doing handheld shoot - but should be manageable over time. One shortcoming - no click for its rotating collar mount - caused some inconvenience due to use of lens coat which covers the marking dots. Mounting leg is too short and it would be nice if it is arca-swiss compatible so no need to buy a replacement leg. Overall, I am satisfied with the price/performance of this lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A solid lens

SEL200600G 14 July 2021 by Nutsaboutbirdz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased on 30th June 2021 to link to my new Alpha 1. So far so good but I also bought a TC 1.4 and am disappointed with the quality of photos. The photo included with this review is not with the TC.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL200600G 07 July 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens 6 weeks ago very pleased with it very sharp pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very nice lens for a knowledgeable amateur!

SEL200600G 01 July 2021 by The auditor (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I looked at reviews for AGES and didn’t want to spend thousands on a top of the range upper glass (yes glass) lens. The Sony 200-600 is magic for me, produces really really good images which with my Sony Alpha 7ii (yes 2) full frame can be cropped as well. I also have a Sony 24-240 zoom which is magic too and a Mindshift backpack which is perfect. I am very pleased indeed, and don’t need to use a tripod most of the time for the 200-600. The 5 axis stabilisation (in camera) plus the image stabilisation in the lens is very good indeed. OK max aperture is 5.6 but I don’t want to pay a HUGE amount for and F2.8 or even F4.0 and I certainly don’t want the weight. I can adjust ISO as required. Autofocus is very good indeed. So I am a happy bunny. I take pictures of boxing hares (and bunnies) all sorts of wildlife and birds. I have not used an adapter yet and probably will not. Well done SONY yet again! Oh and I got £100 cash back as well which paid for the backpack. Even better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Product

SEL200600G 21 June 2021 by Ghost Wolf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Took this lens to Cornwall, took some fantastic photos especially of Longships, St. Micheal's Mount and at Tintagel Castle. I would highly recommend this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Monster of a lens but does the Job

SEL200600G 10 June 2021 by Packtraveler (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens will put some serious weight on your camera but it does get the job done. I do not use a tripod. It would get in the way for shooting wildlife where you more often than not have to follow the action. I use it on the Sony ARIV. It is nice and sharp. My gripes are that the lens hood does not attach securely. I lost it on my second outing while hiking. Sony could provide a longer strap for the lens. Finally the supplied lens bag could be a lot better. What is important is that I have no gripes about the lens. Make sure you try this lens before purchasing it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best lens ever!

SEL200600G 06 June 2021 by CindyS (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is absolutely awesome. Amazingly fast focus, crisp photos, and beautiful bokah. And, truth be told, I bought this lens a month ago after the exact same lens met with an untimely accident after 2 years. I can't live without it! I love the fact that the barrel of the lens does not move. Everything is internal which makes for a smooth transition. I shoot hand held and, yes, this is a heavy lens but nothing I can't handle.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb Lens

SEL200600G/CSYX 28 May 2021  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this lens for about two months, a lens a must to have for portrait, macro and wildlife. Auto focus works perfect, is value for money! Attached some of the photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent

SEL200600G 22 May 2021 by Bob one1 (USA)

Received yesterday and went out today to try it on an a6300 camera. Very impressed with how Quick and responsive this lens is. Light enough to hand hold and shoot. To me worth the money. Most shots at 100 yards and more. Very pleased!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Super zoom

SEL200600G 19 May 2021 by Paulcool (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great value for money super zoom ,not a lightweight in any department great acuity ,fast auto focus ,great internal zoom ,well made considering cost ,short throw on zoom ring 1/4 turn ,only admission is no Arca Swiss foot .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic lens for birding and wildlife

SEL200600G 03 May 2021 by Tricky01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wonderful lens, bit of a luxury owning this and the 100-400 with 1.4x TC (and if you can only afford one, get the 100-400, far more portable and shorter minium focus distance makes it infinitely more useful), but if you want a lens dedicated to wildlife then this is the lens to get. A whole stop faster than the 100-400 with 1.4 TC, and that combo will only get you to 560m. Would strongly recommend getting a dotsight (the Olympus one is perfect) if you want any chance of catching birds in flight, much easier to find them and can rely on the A7iii's AF system to get the subject in focus. Also recommend getting a neoprene cover, keeps the lens in good condition and stops it getting too cold.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

If it was beer it would probably be Carlsberg

SEL200600G 26 April 2021 by Chevron Kevin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens with the A9 for my first mirrorless set up. I shoot motorsport normally but with Covid restrictions chose to capture wildlife when possible. Total change from Nikon (D850, D500 and various 2.8 / f4 primes) because I dislike carrying all the weighty gear. My expectations were realistic, the lens was almost a tenth of the price of the Nikkor 600 f4 just sold but not in my wildest dreams did I expect the quality or results I am getting with the 200-600 zoom lens.Combined with the A9 it's absolutely amazing. More importantly I can hand hold this lens to track the diving falcons and birds of prey. I would not upgrade to the 400 or 600 f4 primes because the improvement is too costly and probably add the A1 camera to my stable eventually. I've been a motorsports photographer for over 50 years and been fortunate to use some excellent gear but nothing has excited my photgraphic enthusiasm like this new Sony equipment. It's fabulous.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great sharp copy of the lens, perfect for birding

SEL200600G/CSYX 26 April 2021 by andy88 (Singapore)

I was initially sceptical of the lens due to the size and weight but since I had the 100-400mm. I wanted this more for the reach!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New Explorations!

SEL200600G 24 April 2021 by Kerry R (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After watching many reviews on YouTube I decided to get this lens to use with my A7R IV. I saw that many shooters have issues with soft focus and motion blur in low light. I really don't shoot wildlife in low light so that's not an issue for me. I've been on many tours and a couple of safaris and they all took place in early morning light to bright sun, so I think that I'll be OK in the future. I'll have to get a monopod because the lens gets heavy after a while, but the results to me are well worth it. I love that the barrel doesn't extend and the lens is very well built. I need more practice getting used to photographing wildlife and also remembering and knowing when to use the different modes/buttons on the lens. I'M HAPPY with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL200600G/CSYX 20 April 2021 by SSeann (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

My best photographic investment so far. Glad I bought the lens, superior image quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lens is incredible

SEL200600G 11 April 2021 by ncmuk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product is absolutely incredible!!!!! The only downside at the current moment is that it doesn’t pair very well when using the Sony A7R IV. The autofocus with this combination isn’t the best and does need to attention by Sony, but non the less the lens itself is of the highest quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Superb lens.

SEL200600G 07 April 2021 by Old Blue (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is simply a superb lens, pins sharp, brilliant bokeh, the image stabilization works incredibly well. The constant physical length, irrespective of focus or focal length makes it very easy to handle. I love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Superb lens at a great price!

SEL200600G 07 April 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I chose this lens over the 100-400mm for the extra reach and also the superb design, internal zoom and focus means that the lens remains the same size and never extends. Not too heavy, great handling with the custom buttons and fabulous image quality. Focus is really fast as well. The (relatively) slow maximum apertures do not bother me at all as Sony cameras handle higher ISO settings better than any other manufacturer in my experience. Totally recommend this lens and I use it every day!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Wow...!

SEL200600G 03 April 2021 by dkim99 (United Kingdom)

I knew this lens was going to be good but I am completely gobsmacked at just how good it is. Everything about it is impressive and coupled to my A7R4 there's really not a lot that can touch it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

200-600 awesome

SEL200600G/CSYX 31 March 2021 by Chefpinaki (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

superb performance as expected . light , sharp and fast

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

FE 200 600

SEL200600G/CSYX 27 March 2021 by sguser (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good for birding. Fast and silent auto-focus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic results!

SEL200600G/CSYX 25 March 2021 by rtancl (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this about a month ago and I have been using it regularly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to Operate and Nice Reach

SEL200600G 20 March 2021 by GlenH AZ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like this lens a lot and the optics are very good, but I don't think they're as good as the Nikon 200-500mm lens I shot with previously. The optics on both lenses are very good, but in my opinion, the Nikon 200-500 is just a little better than the Sony 200-600. Don't get me wrong. I'm very happy with my purchase of the 200-600 and would buy it all over again; just for the extra reach if offers and how much better Sony lenses and cameras work with extenders / teleconverters.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great feature

SEL200600G/CSYX 13 March 2021 by Shub (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Thanks Sony to given a choice have this one with in my budget and excellent reach. It’s affordable and adorable.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great lens, disappointing though with A7R4 camera

SEL200600G 11 March 2021 by vaughst (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this lens for photographing birds in our garden, and, when allowed, out and about. We are wedding photographers (normally) and have both A73 and A7R4 cameras. It works great on the A73, see attached photo. However, the focusing in AFC mode on the A7R4 is a little hit and miss. This is diappointing, due to the obvious cropping benefits of the larger 61MB sensor. Having looked on line, this seems to be a common complaint, is there a likely resolution from Sony?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Initial review of 200-600

SEL200600G 10 March 2021 by Jourdanr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had purchased this lens 200-600 back in Aug 2020, initial the pictures were crisp and clear until I updated the a7r4 FE to 1.2. I have to struggle more now to make sure all elements are in sync. Lighting, environmental, shutter, aperture, ISO. To be able to capture the crisp and clear pic. I have shot numerous BIF pictures an the capture rate is approx 20% overall. Static Landscapes shots are much better than flying birds. Overall I would rate this lens an 7-8 out of 10

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Terrible results

SEL200600G 09 March 2021 by idl1 (USA)

This is the second time I'm submitting this review, I guess they did not like that I was not satisfied with the product.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

5

4

0

Gives you a close up image when focusing on manual

SEL200600G 06 March 2021 by Buffer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with purchase, great photos taken through the distance range, its not to heavy ,so it can be hand help when taking pictures over all I would recommend this lense , I know its slightly on the high price ,but feel the build quality is good .. Looking forward to getting out during the coming months..

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Very good for bird photography.

SEL200600G 01 March 2021 by GWP Multimedia (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an outstanding lens for bird and wildlife high-quality photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Excellent performance.

SEL200600G 01 March 2021 by Scall (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it to replace a Sigma 150-600mm and the quality and performance are considerably better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Very good

SEL200600G/CSYX 21 February 2021  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fast and professional. Easy to use. A little bit heavy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Terrible

SEL200600G 16 February 2021 by Jonnnunn (USA)

This lens has been nothing more than trash totally sucks can’t even manual focus

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

8

0

Great lens

SEL200600G 15 February 2021 by Sid9 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had for about 2 months and very happy,I do love the internal zoom compared with other lenses.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

lightweight can use hand held

SEL200600G 10 February 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens bought for a trip to africa, wonderful for wildlife. Great zoom ring that you use with your little finger

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

My change to Sony

SEL200600G 07 February 2021 by Krugerbill (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens and a A7III about 6wks ago, a total change from using a Nikon D4 and 500mm F4 which I traded. The lens so far has only been used on static wildlife shots as the weather and COVID have not been kind. Fully open, the quality has been excellent even at high iso. It’s reasonably light and I like the customisable buttons to change camera settings. Love the easily adjustment of zoom using just a quarter turn.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Works great with the A9

SEL200600G 31 January 2021 by MrXO (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this just over a month ago along with an A9. The combination is great both at full frame and cropped sensor options. Focusing is fast and the pictures are pin sharp. Only issue i have with it is that its quite heavy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Best Telephoto len

SEL200600G 22 January 2021 by KamikazeDHB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this telephoto lens one month ago and is the best telephoto lens I used. I recomend this len to every photographer want to have sharp pictures for animals far distances from you or water extreme sports that you need to be outside in the sand. I used the len for both types of photos and the result is very impressive. The only thing is that the len is little heavy but you can fix this so quickly with a tripod or monopod.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent

SEL200600G/CSYX 21 January 2021 by Austin Phone (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a Len last month ago and enjoy with my new G-Len 200-600mm.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Quality

SEL200600G 18 January 2021 by Buzz71 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So happy I got this lens its taken my photos to the next level

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Worthwhile Purchase

SEL200600G 17 January 2021 by Tutivilleus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I already had a lens that covered this focal length, albeit for my Micro Four Thirds cameras. However I have a Sony A7ii now and had heard that the larger light gathering properties of a full frame sensor, should produce superior results, plus I would have an extra 4Mp to crop into. Christmas was coming, there was a £100 cash back offer and Amazon was offering a £70 gift voucher if I bought it, so I took the plunge. My photographic opportunities have been a bit lean since purchase, but I am pleased with the results so far. They are not 4 1/2 times as good as the M4/3 lens price differential, but I am satisfied with my purchase. The lens is sharp wide open at 600mm and I like the internal focusing. I do not like the strap which is too narrow and uncomfortable to use. I have made a camouflage protective cover for the camera/lens combo and I have changed the foot for one which Arca Swiss compatible and also fitted a home made handle using a flash bracket and that gives me a steadier grip and I am getting away with sharp, hand held shots, 250th second iso 2000 f6.3. in the darker winter months. This will almost certainly be my goto long lens, but I will keep the M4/3 device for travel.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

I'd recommend it

SEL200600G 17 January 2021 by Jukeboxjohnnie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good to look at, great quality and build, carry strap lugs are brilliant high optical quality close to medium ranges, shooting things a couple of miles away not so good but this was likely atmospheric factors. I'd buy it again.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing long range telephoto lens

SEL200600G 08 January 2021 by chunkydunky139 (United Kingdom)

I have rented this lens and now bought it and am delighted with the ease of use and handling of lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Outstanding

SEL200600G 02 January 2021 by Sonyjed (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A brilliant lens. Can be used for a wide range of styles, from news, sport, travel it is light, perfectly manageable, very sharp and incredibly inexpensive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Super fast autofocus

SEL200600G 02 January 2021 by Joshbinx (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve only had the chance to use it twice due to Covid-19 restrictions but very exciting to have bought it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great lens for wildlife photography

SEL200600G/CSYX 30 December 2020 by Ninja Scroll (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens to try out bird and wildlife photography with my Sony A7M3 body. What I like: 1. Sharp and high contrast lens. Image quality is very good. 2. Internal Zoom. The lens does not extend out and shift the center of balance for the camera+lens combo. 3. Zooming from 200mm to 600mm needs only 90 degrees turn which make it quick for recomposing your shots. 4. Effective image-stabilisation 5. Reasonable price for the performance What I don't like: 1. Tripod foot is not Arca-Swiss compatible. I bought a 3rd party foot to replace it. 2. 95mm filter size means expensive filter 3. Heavy lens for hand-held photography. Need to use it with a monopod or tripod.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Simply brilliant lens.

SEL200600G 29 December 2020 by Dave2Smiley (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens in the summer and it is my best purchase lens wise. Simple to use with perfect weight and super smooth motion. The tripod mount also doubles as a great hand held mount. The images are crisp and very good quality. Very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

sony lens

SEL200600G 24 December 2020 by twitcher2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

unable to leave a fair opinion of the lens as it is being repaired at a sony center under gaurantee

0

6

0

Superb lens

SEL200600G/CSYX 17 December 2020 by Balgor (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens for my APSC camera on Nov 26 2020 at first i was hesitant to take but due to good review on this lens why not give a try and i am blown away with the result fast and sharp focus even in apsc camera. Can't wait to upgrade to FF body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome lens

SEL200600G/CSYX 09 December 2020 by paulsingapore (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it a week ago. Performs well especially for birding. I wish Sony would come up with a lens foot to attach directly onto an arca swiss ballhead/gimbal

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Expanded my enjoyment

SEL200600G 06 December 2020 by Tscip22 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Owned for @ a year, with the A7iii have had more fun with bird and wildlife photography. Can hand hold for about an hour. Have a very good setup with a Jobu gimbal on a tripod. BlueJay taken recently in Northern Minnesota.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great for birding

SEL200600G 06 December 2020 by Lindyloo 68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought to replace my other lens as I needed more reach and its a great lens . I live in the uk so only downfall is in the bad winter light its not the best. Still OK though. It is slightly weighty so I brought a proper sling strap.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Beware if you are pairing with Ar7IV

SEL200600G 13 November 2020 by ADP62 (USA)

There is an issue I and many others are having only when using this lens with the Ar7iv. Firmware update has not addressed soft focus and sharpness on stationary objects. Appears to work fine for many however there is an issue not is not being caused by the settings.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

3

0

The Bokeh Equates to GM Lens

SEL200600G 11 November 2020 by Wildlife photographer (United Kingdom)

I’ve been using this lens for almost a year in various situations to know it’s strengths and weaknesses. Firstly, the reach of 600mm at this price is amazing. I also would like to commend Sony for making this lens fully compatible with both of its tele-converters. The quality of bokeh you get from this lens is very close to that of FE 600mm GM. What kind of bokeh you get is dependent on shooting situations such as distance to the subject and how far away the background is from the main subject, but when such parameters are spot-on, you get creamy bokeh. The focus-hold buttons are good to have, too, although the placement and the material of which can be improved. The AF is silent, and doesn’t cause any vibration. In terms of picture quality, it performs admirably provided you get plenty of light. You get sharp images under the sun. I use this lens exclusively for wildlife, and based in the U.K. we are not lucky with natural light all the time. Especially as the days get shorter, and the sun weaker, this lens’s small aperture becomes a problem. The camera bumps up the iso settings, and you get noisy photos. But I guess it’s a trade-off. The resolving power is another area where I felt I was let down compared to the previous zoom lens I used, Canon EF100-400mm L USM II. This Sony doesn’t resolve as much. This impression didn’t change when I tried different focal lengths. Of course, I shouldn’t be comparing a canon L lens to a Sony G lens, as they are not in the same class and the focal lengths are different but I thought I would include that just so that you know if you are considering making a similar move.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Excellent Long Zoom Lens

SEL200600G 10 November 2020 by DBHayes Art (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife & I each have this lens. Hers for her a7RIV and mine for my Sony a7RII. Both lens have been performing as we'd hoped.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing quality for price

SEL200600G 26 October 2020 by b12vjn86 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as part of my move over to Sony from Nikon and I’m blown away by the build quality and image sharpness of a mid priced zoom lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great overall performer

SEL200600G 25 October 2020 by Brian 66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for motorsport and wildlife. Happy so far with the bird photography but no motorsport yet due to Covid rules. Unfortunately the 1.4x TC won't fully function with my 7Riii. Hoping SONY do a firmware update to rectify the issue. Works well with the 7iii and results are superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Wow!!!

SEL200600G 23 October 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only had chance to use this lens once since purchase, but I was absolutely blown away with the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

beautiful lens

SEL200600G 22 October 2020 by Big Kahuna (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens has everything I want in a 200-600 zoom lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Phenomenal in every way

SEL200600G 11 October 2020 by Minister of the Bay (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this primarily for landscape photography with an occasional bit of wildlife. First of all - It is supremely sharp. Secondly - it renders a nice bokeh for bird photography. Thirdly - it handles nicely. There is nothing not to like about this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

All Rounder Fast AF

SEL200600G/CSYX 10 October 2020 by LionelLCH (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a month ago and started to explore a few genres such as wildlife and sports. Love the fast AF and the even weight distribution. Would be perfect if the tripod collar was fitted with one that could fit Arca-Swiss tripod directly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent product

SEL200600G 04 October 2020 by Pyke (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and so happy with this. At least it is a Sony product and get excellent result from photo.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

suit my style of photography

SEL200600G/CSYX 03 October 2020 by lim lim (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought a month a go for bird photography ,since than i am spending more time on photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

High quality telephoto zoom

SEL200600G 01 October 2020 by Idonothaveanickname207 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent sharpness allied to quick and accurate autofocus. A perfect match with the A9 for action and wildlife. Combination of lens and body IS allows for good hand held shooting experience. Internal zooming a pleasure to use. Lens hood "lock on" could be a little more positive and secure.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Super light lens

SEL200600G 28 September 2020 by 37sqd (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Awesome lens fantastically sharp using this on my Sony Fx9 camcorder for my wildlife films perfect!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0