FE 20MM F1.8 G

Product Reviews

40

4.7 based on 40 customer reviews

33
4
2
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

40 Customer Reviews

0

A versatile, sharp lens

SEL20F18G 16 October 2021 by BruceC (United Kingdom)

The Sony 20mm f1.8 G is a versatile lens: great for landscape, astrophotography and architecture. It's incredibly sharp, compact and relatively light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharpness

SEL20F18G//QSYX 30 September 2021 by Skyvows (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and it’s very sharp! Easy to use and very handy!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Too Sharp !

SEL20F18G 28 September 2021 by HammyUK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is often too sharp , i chose this lens for an all round wide angle landscape lens that was also perfect for astronomy, its light / compact / very high build quality. I personally think it should be priced more in the £825 range due to it no boing a GM lens.

0

0

0

Sharp image

SEL20F18G 25 September 2021 by SURINDER (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my favourite lens on a gimbal the image is much superior. Really impressed. Sharpness and autofocus is amazing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GM20 1.8 Review

SEL20F18G 13 September 2021 by LDUNN1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A bit of background: I was on the Canon Eos system for 3 decades prior to buying my first Sony (A7R3) at the end of 2017. I have used adapted Eos lenses using the Metabones & Sigma MC11 adapters. I also adapt a wide range of old 'classic' lenses to the Sony camera too. I only bought one Sony native lens, GM85, when I bought the A7R3 as I wanted to have one native lens so I can better judge the camera by & compare to my adapted lenses, I went for the GM85 because its a portrait lens & the A7R3 has eye AF - it would be rude not to have gone for a portrait lens! At the end of 2019 I added the G200-600, which was on a 'double sale'. At the very end of 2020 I added the GM24 having deliberated for a long time between it & the 20 1.8. A focal length of 24mm on full frame/35mm film has always been a strong preference for me photographically, so it got the nod over the 20mm, I purchased when it was also on a 'double sale'. I am biased toward Landscape type of photography, but shoot a bit of everything. I tell you the above to help frame my following comments about the 20mm. Why did I get the 20mm when i had the 24mm? Well, I think there were three 'drivers' for me. I added an A7S3 in the first half of 2021 (separate story), & amongst other things, used it for a vlogging camera when I was out shooting, I obviously used the GM24 for this, but it felt a little too tight when at arms length, especially when using image stablisation which crops in a little. Second, I've also shot the night sky alot over the past decade, with motorised telescopes & cooled mono CCD's etc - full astro imaging rigs. These are computer controlled & once setup & going I then leave them running all night & then get out camera & wide angle lens to shoot nightscapes, both the 20 & 24 are good for this, but the 20 gives a more sky, so arguably is the better option. Thirdly & finally, the G20/1.8 was on a double sale for a few weeks in the summer of 2021 - that was the tipping point for me in a 'now or never' kind of way. The G20/1.8 is perfect on the A7S3 for a vlogging lens, its quite light & a little more compact than the GM24. I also see that I will use it for hiking - both for vlogging the trip & also doubling up as a light weight wide angle landscape lens, & if/when those hikes include an overnight camp, then for nightscape/astro use too. If I am not vlogging, or not needing to hike light, then I would probably take the GM24 as it would be my preference for landscape use. Both a great lenses optically I think, the GM24 does feel slightly better in the hand, more solid/substantial, but the G20 being lighter & feeling 'less solid' as a result is both a pro & a con. Just waiting for the Sony 14/1.8 to be on double sale now ;-)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great wide angle lens!

SEL20F18G//QSYX 03 August 2021 by 1101leon (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this wide angle lens cause i'm lack of a wide angle lens in my bag. It's a superb lens to do architecture as well as landscape shot. It also has a F1.8 which gives a creamy bokeh to the background. Overall its a great lens if you are going for wide angle shots.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Light, sharp, affordable, good angle of view

SEL20F18G//QSYX 12 July 2021 by albertdb (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Light, sharp, affordable, good angle of view but often it has back focus issue. Often it needs to zoom in to check the focus before shooting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

SEL20F18G 10 July 2021 by gabi57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the lens. Excellent results. Very simple handling and incomparable quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp!

SEL20F18G 10 July 2021 by Kev239 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with this lens. Takes very sharp images and perfect for landscape work. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb optics and great build

SEL20F18G//QSYX 06 May 2021 by Hazmee (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used it mainly on a gimbal for video production. The focussing is fast and accurate. Image quality is what you will expect of a G lens: sharp and good colour rendition. The lens also features a handy customisable button which helps a lot during shooting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

UHD and super sharp lens

SEL20F18G//QSYX 06 May 2021 by Ash176 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens as I've always love wide angle but this particular lens blow me away. It managed to capture stars which I cannot even see with my naked eyes at night. And did I mention it is SUPER sharp? No regrets buying this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sony 20mm f1.8 waste of money

SEL20F18G 19 April 2021 by Ram101 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

expensive lens, its actually quite bulky on A7R IV with lens hood. Quality is ok for a lens costing 950 pounds. I have seen fantastic quality from other lenses such as Voigtlander, leica. This lens is not in their league.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

11

0

Sony - FE 20mm F1.8 G

SEL20F18G 07 April 2021 by TMAK333333 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not had this long but i am impressed . Very well put together and very light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Defect?

SEL20F18G 17 March 2021 by TimW25 (USA)

I just took delivery of this lens and have not used it yet so I cannot verify performance. But I am questioning the construction. When I hold the lens horizontally and gently rock it back and forth, I can feel a weight shift from end to end stopping with a gentle thud on each end. It is hard to tell but the distance of travel could be a cm or so. The construction does not feel tight; all my other Sony lenses over the year (about 8) have all felt rock solid. Is this lens defective? I will test out the optics and focus performance this weekend.

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

7

0

Good equipment

SEL20F18G 12 March 2021 by Lifestylemaddie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recommend to anyone who already has a base as a camera, it is enough to buy a lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp wide angle lens for travelling.

SEL20F18G//QSYX 07 March 2021  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this FE 20 mm f1.8 G lens less than a year ago.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic

SEL20F18G//QSYX 05 February 2021 by kentleejoon (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautifully sharp and ergonomic! I love it very much!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best landscape astrophotography lens made

SEL20F18G 03 February 2021 by _dan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

tack sharp, lightweight, image quality is crazy good couldn't ask for more for my use(astrophotography)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Compact, Lightweight, Sharp!

SEL20F18G//QSYX 01 February 2021 by Cliffie (Singapore)

The lens is sharp, accurate and lightweight. I am happy it came with a lens hood plus a soft lens case. Bought it over the 24mm GM as I prefer the wider perspective. Coming from a brand that makes 11-16 f/2.8 for APS-C. I feel it’s a little “restrictive”. Sometimes it’s too wide, sometimes I wish I could reach just a little bit further. (16-35mm GM should do the trick) The stepless Aperture Ring is a nice touch! I use it as sort of a “Variable ND Filter” to adjust the lighting for video. The close focusing distance of (NUMBER) helps greatly for getting a close up shot of the subject and it greatly increases background blur with a f/1.8 aperture. With the good side being small and compact. The downside is that it feels too cramped to cup your hand around the lens, as both pinky fingers keep bumping into each other from the camera body’s handgrip. (although I have found a way that I can grip it firmly and it works for me) Overall it’s a joy to use, with it being my first FE lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excelent glass

SEL20F18G 30 January 2021 by SR_S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The combination of FOV and aperture is an excellent choice for landscape photography. Combined with 7S series, it creates magical night sky sceneries.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome lens!

SEL20F18G 08 January 2021 by WarGriff (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wildlife shooter looking to branch out to other forms of photography. After much research I went with this lens and so far I'm really pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Sharp But Maybe Expensive?

SEL20F18G 10 December 2020 by ItchyPong (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very sharp not too big for a full frame lens but it is quite pricey. Maybe the 16-35mm f2.8 G would be a better option if you don't need the f1.8 and want more for you money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Excellent Lens

SEL20F18G 23 November 2020 by DFresh (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The 20mm F1.8 is a must to have! I love it! One of my favorite lenses so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens to use!

SEL20F18G//QSYX 23 September 2020 by Shub (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens few month back and I'm loving it. It's very light and easy to handle.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL20F18G//QSYX 18 September 2020 by JLee53 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good prime lens with fast AF performance. The aperture ring is very easy to turn when removing or putting the lens on.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

fantastic for a G-series lens.

SEL20F18G 05 September 2020 by OrceO (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens about a month and and am so happy I did. It's sharp and has excellent color.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Who needs a G Master

SEL20F18G 27 August 2020 by supertaf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had this lens only a short time but I am very impressed with the clarity and sharpness of this lens. I have not really used wide angled lens in the past as I tend to shoot wildlife but had nothing to shoot wide vistas hence the purchase. This is a stunning lens for the price and am glad that I did not buy the 24mm f1.4 GM as I feel I am getting 95% of that lens and saving several hundred pounds. Unless you are absolute pixel peeper the 20mm F1.8 is a must have for your photos. I should also say that it is ridiculously light and compact so it makes a good travel lens as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

great, but....

SEL20F18G 26 August 2020 by Cix1 (USA)

HI, i bought the lens for my camera. The only problem with this is that the inside of the lens shakes back and forth, so is this a manufacturing problem, or is this just a feature in the lens?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

21

0

incredible resolution and focus

SEL20F18G 27 July 2020 by mapy1 (United Kingdom)

I am delighted with this lens. It is very light, takes super sharp photos even wide open, and has a very fast focusing with my a7III. I love the aperture ring - so easy to use, with a helpful de-clicking switch for smooth and silent video use. It is a little hard to see how this lens wasn't graded as a GM lens - it certainly benefits from lots of GM type features, and it is really brilliant value for its quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Clearly an Amazing Lens - Street, Astro, Landscape

SEL20F18G 01 July 2020 by alma175w (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a special little lens. I'm sure "little" will be in every review, but it is so strikingly compact, even sitting next to it's FE 24 F/1.4 GM sibling. It's just small! But, it really delivers, with focus speeds, sharp images edge to edge, incredible corners, especially for stars, and just a unique rendering quality. I really like this lens a lot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Fantastic lens

SEL20F18G 23 May 2020 by Mr Marvo (United Kingdom)

Got this lens only a few days ago, and although the coronavirus lock down means that subjects are very limited, I can tell that this is going to be a fantastic addition to the Sony lens range for the A7 Mk 2

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

3

0

Wide, light and fast!

SEL20F18G 21 May 2020 by Las Cruces Photography (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the widest prime lens released so far by Sony. At f1.8 it can almost shoot in the dark. Autofocus is immediate. Close focusing is near-macro. It weighs less than a pound, so hand holding at slow shutter speeds is not a problem. Add to those features a very affordable price and you’ve got a Sony full frame prime lens worth owning!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Great landscape photography

SEL20F18G//QSYX 08 May 2020 by OK315 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens produces amazing and super sharp images. Beyond my expectations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great Versatile & Fast Lightweight Lens

SEL20F18G//QSYX 14 April 2020 by Tri Sukamoto (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is good for travellers who need wide angle but fast and light weight lens. The aperture of 1.8 is very good for bokehs and low light shots. Couple that with the 20 mm focal length, it makes for both still and video recording. I especially love the value of the lens, given the amazing features and optical performance. I do have to point out that the motor inside the lens could feel a bit loose, which gives a sensation that something came off inside, but after checking in the showroom, I found it to be a normal issue. Other than that, this is an amazing lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Supreme Lens

SEL20F18G//QSYX 04 April 2020  (Singapore)

Excellent sharpness, great colours, minimal distortion, light weight, wonderful close range and fast lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

A really great lens

SEL20F18G 28 March 2020 by Terry Dover (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony has been building its inventory of lenses for E-Mount cameras. We can now say that Sony has arrived with this lens. So... if you purchase an E-Mount, you should have what you need to shoot great photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Outstanding Lens

SEL20F18G 24 March 2020 by Alstomping (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this lens for a couple of weeks and have fallen in love with it Very high quality - small and light - amazing sharpness,corner to corner - I also really like this focal length - no real distortion I can see . Great features - love the clickable aperture,and manual focus switch. I think it is/will be a classic lens ! Highly Recommended !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

0

Excellent

SEL20F18G//QSYX 18 March 2020 by Austin Phone (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought last month ago and am so happy with G20f1.8 (^__^)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Sony crushed it!

SEL20F18G 13 March 2020  (USA)

This lens is pretty much a G master. It’s not just super sharp with low distortion, it portrays the essence of the subject so well. It really brings the scene to life.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

3

0

Another WINNER!

SEL20F18G 10 March 2020 by SamS1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been shooting the 24mm F1.4 GM for few months and extremely impressed with the results this lens produces. however, I would prefer wider prime native lens, hence, the new 20mm F1.8 G. I bought this newly released 20mm F1.8 with the hopes that it will be my go to everyday lens; I have a feeling that it will be. This is by no means a full review but I wanted to see how it performs in close up situations so I snapped couple shots in my backyard; it certainly holds up to the hype. I'll be taking it out in the next couple of days to do some landscapes testing at Joshua Tree National Park (day & Astro tests). I have to say that Sony did it again, they delivered a "Tiny-but-Mighty" master piece with small size, light weight, silent autofocus, aperture ring, and super sharp just to mention few great features. Yes, it is expensive but worth every penny for me as I can travel much lighter going forward. Technical values for both shots taken with A7R-IV in RAW straight out of camera. The only thing I did is square crop them both then export from LR as small JPGs : The Rose: F/1.8 1/500 ISO 125 The Watch: F/5.6 1/100 ISO 125

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0