393

4.4 based on 393 customer reviews

217
134
20
11
11
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Camera

DSC-HX90V 20 March 2017 by Old Man1952 (United Kingdom)

Very good lens so much so that I have just sold off my Nikon 200-500mm zoom as this gives much better results in the real world

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Could be better

DSC-HX90V 21 September 2015  (United Kingdom)

Bought this a couple of months ago to replace an HX50. Having a viewfinder is great though having to 'erect' it every time is a pain and also makes it vulnerable. The camera is a bit smaller than the previous one, perhaps a bit too small. It also doesn't seem to focus well with some subjects / light conditions. The GPS is nigh on useless, it takes too long to get a fix. One improvement over the HX50 is the ability to disable the movie button which is still badly positioned. It is also much more cumbersome to use - having to launch 'apps' to do things like control from your phone. It was so simple and much quicker with the previous camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

393 Customer Reviews

0

Great Upgrade

DSC-HX90V 30 August 2020 by Peeddoor (United Kingdom)

Purchased this as an upgrade form my WX100 which in itself was a fabulous little camera. This is a little larger and heavier so not as versatile in respects of being able to easily slip it into your pocket but purchased a basic small bag that I can hang around my neck/shoulder etc which gives easy access - not heavy etc. Functionality is very similar to my WX100 but what I needed was a viewfinder. On bright days I could not see the screen before but now I have the option to pop up the viewfinder which guarantees I can now see what I want to take a picture of. Not being a pro not quite sure why when I first look through the viewfinder everything is much smaller than with the naked eye but once you zoom in it vastly improves. In fact it is almost like a spy camera the zoom is so good. Little concerned how strong the viewfinder is so only using when I have to. Build quality is very good and altogether an excellent little camera that performs as good as my WX100 and better still. Compliments my RX10 which is exceptional but for everyday use, the HX90V is brilliant in capturing those moments which one might otherwise miss.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Too fiddly

DSC-HX90V 06 August 2020 by Buff1234 (United Kingdom)

I bought this two weeks ago and still can’t get to grips with it. Nightmare trying to download to smartphone. I’ve given up tak8ng it back

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

My Review for HX90V Compact Camera

DSC-HX90V 30 July 2020 by Activities4all (United Kingdom)

This Sony DSC-HX90VB replaces my Canon SX740 which in itself was a brilliant camera with a bigger screen and zoom range at 40x but this Sony DSC-HX90VB at 30x is more than enough for me. The main reason to change was because its easier to setup GPS and the use of the eye viewer similar to my SLR. The facilities of this camera are many and it would take me days to go though them all. I managed to get a kindle book download for the Sony DSC-HX90VB which is a great addition to help with setting up etc, but does not fully answer my questions about the GPS. There are loads of reviews on YouTube and I spent hours watching them before deciding to change. There was no Kindle for the Canon HX740. The Sony DSC-HX90VB is slightly smaller and the screen does not seem as bright as the Canon but it slips into the pocket more easier. After playing with the GPS I found that the corodinates on the EXIC data was not user friendly and was not easy to extract. It may be me, but I need to play around with it more to try and fing a program to sisplay the location. It semms that Sony are not supporting the Play Memories anymore. One problem I did have, the supplied USB mains adaptor to was not a UK one and was not the same as the images for this camera, never the less, the camera still warrants my 5 Stars.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A Lot Of Camera For Your Money

DSC-HX90V 02 July 2020 by DannyG600 (United Kingdom)

I used to carry a full sized SLR with a 600mm lens, very big, heavy, expensive and definitely not pocket sized. Then I found the HX90V in my local camera shop, it was pocket sized and had a zoom lens eqivalent to a 720mm telephoto and was not nearly as expensive. The zoom lens is great for wildlife photography and lets you get close up shots without frightening the animals. For fast moving subjects like birds, cars, airplanes it has a burst mode which takes 10 shots per second so there's a chance one will be good. Reflected glare is not a problem thanks to the pop up viewfinder which lets you see what your shooting in the brightest sunlight. Best of all the picture quality is great and it will fit any pocket big enough for your phone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

We love this camera!

DSC-HX90V 29 March 2020 by LouLou1000 (United Kingdom)

We cannot speak to highly of this product - its exceptional! We already had a HX90 and its been all over the world with us - taken some great shots, often surprised us by just how good it is particularly for the cost and its never let us down. We argue over who is going to have the camera as it gives both of us a lot of pleasure and so we decided to get another one so we've one each and whilst we considered getting a different make and model both of us wanted the other to have the new camera so we could continue to use the HX90 and so in the end we just bought another one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A great pocket camera

DSC-HX90V 14 March 2020 by Indigodominion (United Kingdom)

I bought this to make sure I can always carry a camera with me. As with all things small it is a compromise of size / functionality / cost ... but this is one which works for me. Yes, I do carry my phone with me as well, but the HX90v has a x30 zoom and a flip-up screen, as well as a more powerful flash and larger CCD - so it does take better pictures. It has become my "go-to" camera and I use it most days.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great value, great camera.

DSC-HX90V 06 March 2020 by Emperor Al (United Kingdom)

I bought this for travelling light and it has excelled in every respect, even the zoom is mighty fine.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very impressed by the stabilisation on long focus

DSC-HX90V 20 February 2020 by FrankJ (United Kingdom)

I’m 90 and I began to feel overloaded with my SLR, three lenses and flash. My daughter bought an HX90 when it came out and I was struck by her results and the portability. I am probably still on the learning curve, but I’ve mastered a lot of the features and have some superb results. The only disappointment I have - and there may be a solution I haven’t found - is that I cannot find a way to transfer movies to my PC. Perhaps I need a new PC.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Ideal pocket size camera

DSC-HX90V 14 February 2020 by peck142 (United Kingdom)

As an avid walker I needed a camera that will fit in a pocket, is lightweight, has a decent zoom and preferably a viewfinder. The HX90V is the perfect solution as it fits my needs perfectly. So far everything about the camera is exactly as I wanted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A good choice

DSC-HX90V 22 January 2020 by joja20 (United Kingdom)

Bought the camera when my old one packed up just before going on holiday. It has filled the gap very well.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good compact camera.

DSC-HX90V 22 January 2020 by 1 None (United Kingdom)

Excellent Zoom but the buttons and control wheel are far too small and fiddley. Why wait to claim the £50.00 cash back?

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Good digital.

DSC-HX90V 21 January 2020 by MYOBA (United Kingdom)

So far it's a nifty piece of kit with the 30x zoom really good.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not used yet!

DSC-HX90V 17 January 2020 by Valorium (United Kingdom)

I haven’t used it yet I’m waiting for some decent weather but I’m sure it’ll be fine, this is my third one, the only thing I’m disappointed with is there’s no crop option as I used to use it a lot but I’m pleased that it has a view finder as you can’t see a thing on the screen when it’s sunny it’s pure guess work! I’m rating it on my previous ones as I said I haven’t used it yet!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect Allrounder

DSC-HX90V 17 January 2020  (United Kingdom)

This is my third HX90V, and it is by far the most used model of the three cameras I use (hence why I've now had tree, it gets a lot of work). It has excellent picture quality, easily exploited features and is very portable. I only use my DSLR and Bridge cameras for any particularly special requirements. I'm dreading the day Sony chooses to discontinue it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great camera, so many features in small size.

DSC-HX90V 15 January 2020 by Dot 70 (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera because my son has one and he loves it. It has so many features in such a small light camera. I'm only an amateur photographer but have found it very straightforward to use. The only problem I had was with the wifi connection to my phone and tablet. The store where I bought the camera (Castle Cameras) were very helpful and I'm now sorted. Would definitely recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice compact camera, easy to use

DSC-HX90V 14 January 2020 by Jake65 (United Kingdom)

Got this camera for Christmas. Really easy to use and takes great photos. Video footage is exceptional quality. Would highly recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality Camera

DSC-HX90V 07 January 2020 by KenCamera (United Kingdom)

Had one before but, for some reason, it has developed a 'spot' over the years. Probably a speck of dust has got onto one of the lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent camera. Quality product.

DSC-HX90V 17 December 2019 by BarbaraA (United Kingdom)

Very pleased to have a pop up viewfinder (compact that this replaced didn't have one). Especially pleased with viewing screen that opens out making it easy to take photos at different angles. Wide and telephoto ranges both excellent. Would recommend the case to protect it - fixes onto the camera and everything bar access to the card is available without having to remove the case at all. Image quality is brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great zoom, great size, great camera

DSC-HX90V 16 October 2019 by BeaP (United Kingdom)

I have been a Sony DSC compact camera fan for many years now and this is my latest purchase. For the price this is definitely the best option to go for and the zoom is fantastic compared to other small cameras. The negatives compared to my previous Sony DSC is that the dial on the top is slightly smaller and the on/off switch is in a less convenient place, but this redesign is partly to do with the shrinking in size of the body of the camera. The one feature that I really miss which the older versions offer is the ability to crop and re-save both photos and video stills (making them into pictures). Sony - if you can include this in the next version, it will be a 5-star review!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Telephoto lens is great as is the viewfinder

DSC-HX90V 14 October 2019 by tony2525 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera as a compact camera with a pop up viewfinder and telephoto lens. previously had a HX60 and that was good, but suffered in sunny conditions where I couldn't clearly see the image on the screen. The viewfinder overcomes this issue. Its the same problem with a mobile phone camera. The HX90 should link to my iPhone to put images on the phone for convenient viewing, but I can't get this feature to work. I think it's an android v apple issue. If I could get this to work, it would be great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best one so far

DSC-HX90V 03 October 2019  (United Kingdom)

I've used several compacts with 1/2.3 sensors and I'd say this is the best so far in terms of lens quality and noise performance. I also like the tilting screen, which is handy for low-light shots.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

What an impressive performer

DSC-HX90V 28 September 2019 by Awsderftg (United Kingdom)

I am very impressed with the capability of my HX90V. It will take me a while to get up to speed with all its features, but until then I-auto will sort it out for me. I enjoy having a view finder, but am a bit concerned with how fragile it seems, and it is a bit fiddly to open up and close down.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Camera great but cashback difficult

DSC-HX90V 25 September 2019 by PaulAndClaireD (United Kingdom)

Bought the camera to replace a faulty Leica It works great, lightweight and easy to use Tried to claim £50 cashback but website refuses to accept photographs of receipt and serial number

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Good first camera

DSC-HX90V 19 September 2019 by hihihi (United Kingdom)

This is my first camera that I have bought and I think it's great for beginners who don't really know all the technicalities of photography as this camera has a guide built into it which I thought was useful. The automatic modes were also really helpful when I didn't know what I needed to do to get a good picture out.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A good replacement

DSC-HX90V 07 September 2019 by 7stripesprite (United Kingdom)

My previous compact camera (quite a few years old) developed a fault - it went to video EVERY time I tried to zoom in - so I was advised this Sony was a very good replacement. Having now used it for a coupe of months, I can agree it's features do exactly as described to me. It has been used to good effect at football matches and photographing small insects (it's main uses). I think, over time, I will be very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Too many to use when taking quick photos.

DSC-HX90V 06 September 2019 by bb472 (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera in July and had a lot of problems with the battery.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Good small camera

DSC-HX90V 03 September 2019 by photowiz (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera just over a month ago and have found it to be easy to use and navigate through the menus. The pop-up viewfinder is good although does not seem over solid in construction. The only irritating point is that the activation button for video is right under where your thumb would normally be and is easy to activate accidentally.Generally a great small camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good features

DSC-HX90V 30 August 2019 by JTsurvey (United Kingdom)

Bought this 2 weeks ago and cannot connect to I phone instructions and App rubbish!!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Sony HX90V

DSC-HX90V 29 August 2019 by Pyrotec (United Kingdom)

I purchased the Sony HX90V a few weeks ago ready for my holidays in September. I wanted a camera that was fairly light weight but without being to light and with a lens that gives a good range without having to carry extra lenses as with DSLR’s, etc. GPS was also a significant factor as I wanted a camera with GPS built in and not having to be linked to my smartphone. The Sony HX90V does everything that I require and at the same time is good value for money. I definitely would recommend this camera to anyone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great compact camera

DSC-HX90V 25 August 2019 by Constantinople (United Kingdom)

Small compact camera that produces high quality photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very flexible

DSC-HX90V 25 August 2019 by Whymustihaveanickname (United Kingdom)

Had the camera for about a month now and very pleased with it so far. Very flexible and pretty easy to use. Some of the controls are a little small but okay once you get used to them. Tilting screen useful, shame it does not tilt both ways though. Video very good and so is the tele lens. Software available for download and editing is total pants, don’t bother with it. Video files a little hard to find first time round and to download. Pop up flash and viewfinder very good. A great travel and day to day camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

An upgrade for my previous Sony Cybershot

DSC-HX90V 21 August 2019 by Jill P (United Kingdom)

A compact, quality product. I'm keen to get started.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great compact camera, easy to take out and about.

DSC-HX90V 19 August 2019 by CatLady15 (United Kingdom)

This camera was recommended to me by a friend. On seeing the camera in action I knew it was just what I wanted. The specification is good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Play Memories Sucks

DSCHX90V/B 17 August 2019 by StevenC (USA)

I have had this camera for months and to this day cannot transfer photos to by phone by wifi of nfc. I can transfer via usb, but I have to keep extra memory cards when I travel, rather than storing on my phone.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

An improvement on previous model

DSC-HX90V 12 August 2019 by fmmoir (United Kingdom)

I bought this product a month ago. It was a replacement for my previous cybershot. I am pleased with the new features. The ability to push up the eyepiece to compose the shot when it is sunny is so useful. I have also had a play with tilting the screen to allow me to video myself in my surroundings.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Powerful lightweight compact

DSC-HX90V 01 August 2019 by momentum (United Kingdom)

I bought this little camera just under a month ago with a view to taking it to Japan instead of my much bulkier DSLR camera and lenses and so far I'm really impressed with it. I've yet to read the instructions, but so far have taken some great sunsets, festival and family photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value for money.

DSC-HX90V 27 July 2019 by Kippie (United Kingdom)

I have problems seeing a screen in sunlight and this is the best compact that has a view finder. It takes great pictures and is easy to use although I am sure there are lots of features I don't use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Picture quality brilliant

DSC-HX90V 24 July 2019 by Roo103 (United Kingdom)

Only recited the item recently after two outings have found camera simple to use and the picture quality is very high and the zoom range is very good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A very good compact camera to fit in the pocket

DSC-HX90V 20 July 2019 by Yorkie53 (United Kingdom)

I wanted a small camera that would be easy to use and produce high quality pictures. So far the camera has met my expectations and I lokk forward to taking it on my holiday.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great compact camera

DSC-HX90V 12 July 2019 by ChrisB123 (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera 6 weeks ago to replace my last one. This is the updated model from my old one, which I was very happy with. It is light, compact and easy to use. Viewfinder is a brilliant new addition which helps in bright sunlight.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Replacement for the one dropped

DSC-HX90V 10 July 2019 by Swey (United Kingdom)

I dropped my previous HX90V getting out of a taxi, was disappointingly told probably wouldn't be cost effective to repair so was looking for replacement. Having been very happy with previous camera, after reading reviews of current models (everybody's not just Sony) decided that the good quality 30x optical zoom and ultra compact size were the two standout features I valued most once you had a good overall featured camera. GPS feature for me useful too not having to mess with a phone. On a recent holiday my (old HX90v) point and shoot camera got better pictures of condors flying in a canyon than a more higher specked camera (better lens/more megapixels but only 10x optical zoom).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

DSC-HX90V 09 July 2019 by Jim438 (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera to have a dabble at street photography and wanted one with a tilt. Really enjoying using the camera but takes some time to get through all the menu items, especially on a small screen. Very happy with the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Fabulous, with one weakness!

DSC-HX90V 06 July 2019 by ngty2650 (United Kingdom)

I've been using the HX90V for a month now, and I'm really pleased with the results. Great images every time, and a fabulous zoom. Perfect for my hobby of countryside and wildlife photography whilst hiking. My only issue is that the absence of an eyepiece is a problem, due to the poor digital viewfinder which really struggles in outdoor sunshine. I've tried all the filters, but all too often it is a case of hoping. Otherwise, a fabulous product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great

DSC-HX90V 01 July 2019 by rafaeel (United Kingdom)

I bought it about 3 months ago and I like it, the downside is that the blitz is manual not automatic

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A great little point and shoot camera

DSC-HX90V 29 June 2019 by Mittch (United Kingdom)

I bought this little camera a couple of weeks ago and it is perfect for popping in my bag for impromptu photos on days out. It takes a good picture and is simple to use, which is what i was after, on a down side it is on the small size and feels a bit delicate so i have purchased a screw in hand grip which makes it more stable when being used. I haven't worked out yet how to move the photos by wifi but im not that tech savy so I''ve just bought a card adaptor to send them to my tablet.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good but held back by limitations

DSC-HX90V 27 June 2019 by OneMatt (United Kingdom)

It is a great little point and shoot camera. It has some pro features which allow you get creative and break the rules on a few shots. It comes with Sonys camera apps however my gripe is that it only let's you use 3 pre selected apps out of vast number of available apps. I use the other apps on my other Sony camera so I am very aware of what the camera is missing out of. I am disappointed that Sony make it about the money rather than providing a brilliant camera. My other moan is the user interface which I find long winded as getting to certain settings is difficult and requires a good memory to remember where they are hidden. With the apps the camera could be a class leader however what you get is an expensive point and shoot.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

A great little camera.

DSC-HX90V 26 June 2019 by Jack101 (United Kingdom)

I was looking for a compact camera with a viewfinder, this one gives me that and more. The zoom feature is better than expected and the swivel screen is very useful for taking selfies with a good view of backgrounds. Photo definition is excellent with iA functions and battery life is better than on other ca eras of same size that I have had.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

One Camera You Need

DSC-HX90V 24 June 2019 by Twin1 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera to replace a Fuji compact and I've been amazed at is quality of photos and its vast zoom range. It's small enough to fit in your pocket, the battery lasts for ages so you don't have to worry. Simply it's a camera for all occasions. The panorama function works well, movies look great all in all a Super Compact Camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

almost exactly what I wanted from a compact

DSC-HX90V 24 June 2019 by KD3000 (United Kingdom)

I bought this as a last minute replacement for my compact the day before a weekend away. The major plusses for me are the pop up viewfinder and the zoom length which are fabulous features on such a small camera, the flip up screen also has its uses. The images I took during a very grey weather period were good as were the indoor shots. However, the amount of functions in the menu is aimed at people who want their cameras to alter images within the system; I essentially turned them all off but only with the help of a friend who already owns this model as the instructions are minimal and having to work it all out with trial and error is frustrating and time consuming. The other major bugbear for me is the fact that you have to charge the battery in the camera so, if like me, you like a spare battery or 2 you cannot charge one whilst using the camera. I do not understand the thinking behind this at all, every other camera I've ever owned I could be out taking pictures whilst charging another battery at home and I don't understand what Sony were thinking by making this impossible. A side issue with this is that the charging light is so small and tucked away that half the time you can't tell if it is working at all. So all in all a good camera, with a few too many Instagram gadgets, poor instructions and a major oversight in the recharging capability.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Amazing little camera

DSC-HX90V 24 June 2019 by Smurftec (United Kingdom)

Fantastic little camera, hard to believe it is possible to fit in so many features and get such quality photos from such a small camera which will fit in my pocket. Some parts are perhaps a little delicate but this is only to be expected in such a small package.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just what I need

DSC-HX90V 23 June 2019 by Grandma Grump (United Kingdom)

As I am no longer able to carry my SLR plus lenses, this camrea is excellent for my needs

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A multitude of features

DSC-HX90V 23 June 2019 by gerrymay (United Kingdom)

Bought this about 5 weeks ago, so very pleased with it. Easy to use,very small and on-screen instructions excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Neat little Big Sony

DSC-HX90V 21 June 2019 by Segy (United Kingdom)

It's a good camera that's also priced well. Takes the pictures I envisaged but it has too many features for me....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Really compact camera

DSC-HX90V 20 June 2019 by Danic (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera this month after a hands on practice. I like the concept and practicality of a long zoom in a pocket sized camera. I also wanted an eyepiece for strong light conditions. The eyepiece is a novel design but a little flimsy in constant use. The camera is very versatile and the zoom is fast but this lacks a little definition at full 30x zoom.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awsome

DSC-HX90V 20 June 2019 by Craigs (United Kingdom)

Brilliant little camera with lots of great features and very easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-HX90V 14 June 2019 by Sheila42 (United Kingdom)

Purchased for my better half who insists on a camera with a viewfinder. Not many about, manufacturers take note. So far she’s quite pleased with her results. Taking a bit of time to get used to it after 14yrs with her previous camera, but we’re getting there.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointing pictures

DSC-HX90V 28 May 2019 by penniless (United Kingdom)

This review is based mainly on picture quality. Having only had the camera a week, I used it at Chelsea Flower Show. Pictures taken on a sunny day and inside the grand pavilion. Couldn't see image on screen and as I wear glasses, found the viewfinder useless unless I took my glasses off. Couldn't hear the beep notification for focusing (noise from crowd). Quite a few pictures were overexposed and the colours haven't been captured. Inside, the picture quality varied from good to overexposed. My daughter's phone took better pictures. My old Sony HX20 was just as good.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Very pleased. Only one negative comment.

DSC-HX90V 15 May 2019 by BS Portsmouth (United Kingdom)

A very good, high quality compact digital camera for use where my larger bridge digital camera is big and bulky to carry when out and about. I'm still learning how to use it to its full capability, but the potential looks very promising. Overall, I'm impressed with the camera and I would have given a 5 star rating, but the viewfinder (essential in bright conditions) is rather flimsy and fiddly to operate making me wonder when it will break off. When it is raised, the auto eye sensor is tricky, especially if you wear glasses. A bit of product development ought to sort this out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good optical viewfinder and zoom range

DSC-HX90V 30 April 2019 by John at Malvern (United Kingdom)

Impressive zoom, but needs tripod on max zoom. Optical viewfinder essential in outside bright sunlight. Only used once to date, after owning for one week. Most impressed with overall abilities. Video and panoramic abilities were a requirement for purchase.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Little Camera... packed with features

DSC-HX90V 25 March 2019 by Lisa762 (United Kingdom)

I was delighted to receive this camera as a birthday present. I am used to using a bigger DSLR camera, but wanted a small camera that was lightweight, that I could tuck away inside my coat, that would take great pix and capture fantastic memories. On a recent trip to New York, this camera certainly did not disappoint. From capturing fantastic skylines to people shots, this compact was on point. I loved the zoom and the control ring that enables you to change things like aperture easily. For me a perfect holiday compact and more. Still lots of features/modes to investigate, but loved the ease at which I could transfer images straight to my phone using the "Play Memories" Sony app. This enables you to instagram images on the hoof and easily back up images to cloud storage. The pop up view finder was also very useful in bright conditions. I invested in the leather camera case/shoulder strap (on special offer at the time), which I can highly recommend too... I like to have a neck strap for all my cameras and this gave me peace of mind that I would not drop my Sony into the Hudson river!!! Also, this enabled me to easily tuck the camera away inside my coat, but still ready for action. I have also bought a clear protective film for the screen ( I am a little bit clumsy - so worth an investment). All in all, really pleased with my new Sony HX90V... I can see myself using it a lot!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

excellent camera

DSC-HX90V 22 March 2019  (United Kingdom)

purchased specifically as an upgrade to an existing compact camera and used on recent 2 week tour in europe

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

DSC-HX90V 21 March 2019 by His Honour (United Kingdom)

I bought it just before Christmas and am pleased that I did

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love the pop-up viewfinder & GPS

DSC-HX90V 18 March 2019 by IpsRich (United Kingdom)

What a great camera in a small package. One criterion when evaluating cameras was that I wanted a Zeiss lens as I have always had very good results with them and this is no exception. The ability to use the pop up view finderhas been great, especially in strong sunlight. I have used the rotatable rear screen to be able to take photos over the heads of crowds. If you have the camera on for some seconds before taking a photo, the GPS provides you with a position too, which has been good after a touring holiday to locate exactly where the photo(s) was/were taken. Also useful being able to download apps to the camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lovely pocket camera

DSC-HX90V 11 March 2019 by Cazg (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera a few weeks ago to replace my Panasonic LUMIX point and shoot. I was having problems with dust on photos with the LUMIX (my third) but I really liked the features. I particularly wanted a view finder as I much prefer this to a screen and found that there are so few small cameras with this feature. I already have a Sony Alpha with a couple of lenses but wanted a small camera such as this. The only disappointment was the lack of macro setting although I am managing to get round this.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use! Good quality photos and lightweight.

DSC-HX90V 06 March 2019 by Jedi25 (United Kingdom)

I bought this as an alternative to the heavier DSLR which I have owned for 4 years. I am delighted with its versatility and high quality photos!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very well made and so compact multi featured

DSC-HX90V 05 March 2019 by barni81 (United Kingdom)

the ideal camera for traveling no extra lens etc needed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good little camera

DSC-HX90V 24 February 2019 by CPC31 (United Kingdom)

Only bought a month ago so not tried much. Certainly a lot of helpful features and different options to give a lot of control over your pictures, if you want, or just point and shoot. The zoom quality is excellent. Transfer of photos to my phone very easy via NFC, but I wanted the camera to transfer to my iPad as well, via WiFi, but this seems to be very tricky. Instructions are for WiFi to a computer, but this has also proved difficult. No problem via cable using Windows, but the Sony software seems to fail on my laptop (to be fair that might be due to the way Windows 7 has been set up as an unrelated program also failed!).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use features

DSC-HX90V 16 February 2019 by Gerry28 (United Kingdom)

I bought this product 2 months ago and it exceeds expectations. Small but very powerful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Neat compact and easy to use camera

DSC-HX90V 13 February 2019 by Gunner495 (United Kingdom)

I have not bought a Sony camera before but found it easy to use and it felt familiar after using it for a few hours.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

just the beginning

DSC-HX90V 05 February 2019 by albie (United Kingdom)

still trying out camera and getting used to playing around with it,experimenting at the moment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-HX90V 31 January 2019 by Alan 11 (United Kingdom)

Happy with this camera and it's ease of use. Just point and click as they say. Great quality pictures and very compact design.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0