104

3.6 based on 104 customer reviews

45
21
9
12
17
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

great features, awesome app. but need support for.

WI-1000X 09 October 2017 by ZebraBABA (USA)

great features, awesome app. but need support for muti-devices connection( which all the bose headsets have).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great sound and NC, but bad for calls

WI-1000X 06 April 2018 by PaulieP (USA)

I've used these for a few months alongside a competitors' neckbuds and I can say that Sony's noise cancellation is either the best or among the best in the category. The sound quality along with all the control and ambient sound options in the app are also excellent. However there is one clear weakness that is worse than competitors' here, and its calling. I have had callers on the other end complain about background noise, more than other headsets and neckbuds I use. Noise that isnt coming through on the users end due to the NC - which apparently isn't being applied to the audio that's being passed through to the people you're talking to, or not done well. Also any kind of wind, WI 1000X cannot handle well. Neckbud competitors (esp one whose name begins with a P) in this price range handle calling distinctly better. Seemsel to be software or firmware tuning needed at a minimum. It's really the only weakness of this model, otherwise a great piece of kit. Sony - please fix the problems with call quality, background noise, and wind noise rejection. If you can do this you would have the most solid and well rounded product in the category, with class leading noise cancellation.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

104 Customer Reviews

0

Great Sound. Poor Service Life

WI-1000X 20 May 2020 by Starman213 (USA)

I bought the WI-1000X in April 2018. Since I had another headphone product for day today use, I used them sparingly. At two years and one month, the left channel on the WI-1000X stopped working. I called Sony, they couldn't do anything about it - I was out of warranty. They suggested I call United Radio for service. United Radio said they can't fix and sent me back to Sony. I was hoping to get some small accomodation to buy a new set but Sony says too bad you're out of warranty. $299 for 2 year service is a bad investment. Take aways: Great Sound. Terrible service life. Choose wisely.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Noise cancelling seems under expectation.

WI-1000X 05 May 2020 by elarry (United Kingdom)

I travelled by air pretty frequently and had always wanted to get a pair of noise-cancelling headphones to better enjoy my movies on the flights. I did a lot of research, and Sony WI-1000X had attracted my attention. Firstly it's wireless, and not as overwhelming as the over-ear options, so that I can wear it in hot weather, too, nor does it feel as insecure as the true-wireless options that I always worried about falling out of my ears - the neckband seems neat and elegant while helping secure the earphones. Of course headphones are of no use if they don't sound good. Fortunately WI-1000X received many good reviews on its audio quality, matching its good look. The real deal-breaker for me was that it could still operate as a noise-cancelling headphone when used in a wired connection, as opposed to some other products. Before my purchase, WI-1000XM2 has already been released. I was tempted by the latest model, but decided after some more research to go for the first generation for significantly better value for money. The actual product looks bigger than in the pictures, probably because of the rigid neckband, but feels lighter than it looks. It also looks and feels well made with premium materials. My light-coloured version comes with a 20 cm × 20 cm square zipped soft travel pouch, inside which there is a small pocket for storaging the accessories, which include 3 pairs of the more conventional hybrid silicone rubber and 3 pairs of "triple-comfort" (foam) earbuds of different sizes, a USB-to-microUSB cable for charging, a 3.5mm-stereo-jack-to-microUSB cable and an airline headphone seat adapter - yes, there is no charger enclosed. Once powered on, it was immediately found by my now-dated Google Nexus 6 (running Android 7.1.1), which automatically initiated the connection and pairing guide via Google Assistant. The essential set-up was pretty straightforward, although some additional advanced features needed extra steps in the Sony Headphone Connect app, which was a bit overwhelming. There was also a very useful short audio-guided tutorial on its Google Assistant integration at the end of the set-up. By default, noise cancelling is on at power-on. From my one-week use of the headphones, I am generally happy about it. It's very comfortable in the ears and on the neck - actually I couldn't feel it over my clothes. The sound quality is great - well balanced with clean crisp treble and punchy but not exaggerating bass. Battery life seems pretty decent, too. I am not a bit unsure about its noise-cancelling capability, though - the other day my neighbour was using his diesel lawn mower, so I took the opportunity to test my headphone. Theoretically, the noise should be exactly the type that WI-1000X should be able to filter. However, I found that even with the full noise-cancelling strength, i.e., no ambient sound was allowed through, I could still hear loud noise, which was disappointing. The instructions did say that it might be related to the fit of earbuds, and that not all noises could be eliminated, so I might have to test more before coming to a conclusion. My favourite feature now is definitely its integration with Google Assistant. I can press the Google Assistant button during a playback in Spotify to ask what song it is, and will get an immediate voice answer. I could also ask about the weather, my itinerary, etc., or it could read new notifications to me, which is very handy. I somehow feel they could consider using one-finger tap-and-touch for the controls instead of two-finger pressing of the button, which is still a bit fiddly. To summarise my current experience, I like its design, the sound quality, the battery life, the Google Assistant integration, but think it could improve on noise cancelling, and use easier tap-and-touch controls instead of buttons. I understand that there is no noise cancellation on the microphone itself, so if I use it for calling, the other person could hear some noise, such as winds. For the travel pouch, I wish it's a more rigid box for better protection, and that there is a zip or a Velcro on the inner pocket to prevent losing any accessories.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Loving it!

WI-1000X 27 April 2020 by eileen12 (United Kingdom)

Have used this for three weeks now and wonder why I didn't buy one earlier. So easy to use and comfortable to wear.Am transported to another world, whatever else I'm doing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great in ear headphones

WI-1000X 30 March 2020 by Billy Clink (United Kingdom)

Got these at a great price, all reviews stated there was not a big enough difference between these and their newer version, so I bagged myself a bargan at less than half the price of the new version. Great sound, especially when connected by wire or via LDAC

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound, good price

WI-1000X 27 March 2020 by casahistoria (United Kingdom)

Sound is excellent, Bluetooth reception strong. Works well with app. I use it with an older Sony mobile and Sony NWA55 Walkman. Compares favourably with my WF1000XM1, but longer lasting and BT reception is better in difficult situations. Availability of cable connection means BT can be ignored in bad reception areas. Made little use of controls on neckband as they are fiddly. Bought these as Grade A refurbished from Sony Online Store at considerable discount over normal. Looks like they were open box (or store display perhaps as they came from a store) but otherwise appeared as new. All cables, booklets, ear covers were sealed and as new.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good but not worth the money or as good as Bose

WI-1000X 17 March 2020 by Geoff Travell (United Kingdom)

I purchased these 3 weeks ago and used them on an international flight. Frankly the sound is very tinny and there no way to change that. The ear pods are total rubbish and simply do not stay in you ear regardless which size you use. To make matters worse they don't work unless they have a charge so if the battery runs out you are stuck. Last of all, the Noise Cancelling function is next to useless and there is no discernible difference in background noise. Perhaps these are faulty but I don't have the inclination to argue with the retailer or Sony. Just not good and I would strongly advise anyone to look elsewhere or make sure you try them first.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Nearly Perfect

WI-1000X 05 March 2020 by Qqqqqqqqqqq (United Kingdom)

This is a fantastic pair of ear phones. Light, comfortable and excellent quality. Only two minor issues that can be worked around. If you want to use them on a plane as “earplugs” with noise cancelling on - then they must be plugged into your phone to prevent them being automatically turned off after five minutes. Also, these phones can only connect to one Bluetooth source at a time - not a major problem but competitors can connect to more at once.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No , noise cancelling . Inefective

WI-1000X 07 February 2020 by Dozer777 (USA)

I love everything about these In ear Headphones except for the NC . I cant get it to work . Ive tried pretty much everything . I wish now I had bought the product without the NC and would have probably paid less and had the same great options in the app and neckband .

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Stunning performance

WI-1000X 07 February 2020 by FTOcharlie (United Kingdom)

Great quality, superb sound and extremely comfortable with very good battery life. Noise cancelling was a life saver on recent trip to New Zealand. These are so good I purchased a second pair for my wife who uses her whilst running, she loves them too. Very highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic headset that can't cope with sweat

WI-1000X 03 February 2020 by Mark6161 (United Kingdom)

Got the head set as a Christmas present and was really impressed by the sound quality, comfort, great battery life, just about everything about it. Unfortunately after using it for 2 weeks one of the LED lights stayed on permanently and then it developed a very loud crackling sound in one ear bud, Turned it off and put it on to charge but no joy. No LED's illuminated and no charge accepted. Can only put it down to the product having no resistance to any form of sweat or dampness. Returned it to Sony but then had to go to PC World for a replacement. None in stock so got money back. Thinking it might be a one off defect, bought a replacement from Argos but this also failed......after one day. Same fault. If you intend to sit in an office all day and never expose the head set to any form of moisture let alone sweat then this is the one to go for. Otherwise avoid it at all costs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound, great flexibility

WI-1000X 22 January 2020 by Arminininini (USA)

Sounds great. Has three NC modes: on, off, and amplify ambient sound. When out of batteries, has 3.5mm cable to continue listening. Perfect for airplanes: NC but you can rest your head on the seatrest (which is hard to do with bulky headphones). Unusable microphone. -1 star for that, close to -2 stars. You just can't take a phone call with this - nobody will understand you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Poor bass output

WI-1000X/NM E 17 January 2020 by Xiao54 (Singapore)

The headphone has low bass output and its price of S$489 didn't justify.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Let down product and no customer service

WI-1000X 05 January 2020 by Steve j UK (United Kingdom)

I bought this after a great deal of research. I wanted the ANC feature but couldn’t discern a difference when this was on and off. I wrote to Customer Service and go no response at all so returned the product. My recommendation is not to buy this product.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Terrible

WI-1000X 27 December 2019 by Rob F (USA)

I just got these for christmas. Wore them one time just to see how they sound. Next time I turn them on the right ear is muffled and almost going out. Terrible quality.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Excellent in every way

WI-1000X 26 December 2019 by Jim49 (United Kingdom)

Using them whilst walking running etc., can't fault them. Sometimes the earpiece is a little uncomfortable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Battery information Warning

WI-1000X 17 December 2019 by Montauk (USA)

A good headset but what is very disturbing, if the battery is empty, a voice warning tells you to recharge the unit and all communication stops. The Bose headset gives you a warning that battery life is short. In that case you can plan for charging. Battery info in app is also not correct.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

broke in just over a year

WI-1000X 09 November 2019 by aperson (USA)

I bought these last July and by September just over a year latter the left earbud doesn't work any more. It is very upsetting considering how much i payed for them. I used them regularly but was never rough with them. Now, I can't seem to figure out a way to return or get them repaired either.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Good headphones

WI-1000X 29 October 2019 by d_or2000 (USA)

I have this product since 7 months. As a whole, good product. I have always preferred in-ear buds because isolation is total. These headphones do not isolate as much but are certainly more comfortable and do a rather good job against external noise. Sound is good. One wish. As a listener of podcasts, I often need to skip back and forth. The command on the headphones (press twice on play/pause button to skip forward and three times to skip back) is not very convenient. It's easy to miss a press or add one. Other headphones have a long press on + to skip forward and on - to skip back. Much easier to use. Too bad you cannot switch to either way in the Connect app. Another necessary improvement: when switching to Ambiant or Noise Cancelling Off, the voice is not over what you are listening (phone call, music, podcast) but it interrupts for as long as a second. It's annoying. Other headphones have the voice over what you are listening.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

WI-1000X 28 October 2019 by Purplemeggie (United Kingdom)

This was a birthday present (chosen by me) I do a lot of sewing and i find them excellent to listen to audio books- also links to my Alexa so I can listen to my favourite music

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound but power features not great

WI-1000X 26 October 2019 by Signum (United Kingdom)

These headphones sound great and I think the mic quality is good as well. The issue I have with these is that they don’t power down after inactivity (as far as I can tell) so the battery life drops meaning more frequent charging. Also, Sennheiser headphones which I had before used to vibrate when you power them on/off, but these ones don’t so you have to physically inspect them to find out. Otherwise good solid build and sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great sound!

WI-1000X 22 October 2019  (United Kingdom)

Recently bought this headset and the sound is outstanding. Highly recommend!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Comfortable and reliable sound

WI-1000X 15 October 2019 by FiPaw (United Kingdom)

Pros: Not being able to try before I bought these made it a risky purchase. A risk which was worth taking. Despite a review recording that the neck band is heavy. I find it comfortable and a stable base for the headphones. I mostly use my headphones to listen to audiobooks and find the sound clear. I particularly enjoy the noise cancelling feature to cut out crowd noise from sport on tv. It works well for this. Cons: I was hoping to also link them with Alexa but so far have not found this ability works for me. It would be helpful to have a green light when they are fully charged.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great headphones

WI-1000X 10 September 2019 by Mariocon (United Kingdom)

The most beautiful sound you will ever hear So clear and comfortable to wear

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

WI-1000X 04 September 2019 by JO1066 (United Kingdom)

I bought this as a replacement for another Sony wireless earphone. I am a big fan because it produces fantastic sound and battery life is also decent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Must-have headphones that fall short of perfection

WI-1000X 11 August 2019 by Gabe in DC (USA)

I'll keep it brief. I hope Sony takes note of the negatives I list so that the future WI-1000Xm3 (just guessing) will be improved. + Exceptional sound quality for a wireless, noise-canceling earphone. Drivers appear to be sourced from the highly regarded XBA-N3AP. I'm a classical music fan and these deliver vivid, beautiful performance in situations when it shouldn't be possible (on the plane, in the car, on the subway, out for a walk). Treble is particularly superb - clear, highly-detailed, and non-fatiguing. Overall tonality is lovely and bass extends deeply without distortion. All the BT codecs are appreciated, especially LDAC 990. + Excellent noise cancellation. I don't know what the people who complain about it expected. I doubt it gets much better than this; these are the state of the art. + Surprisingly good connectivity and range. These are by far the best BT device I have in this respect. + Useful and well-conceived app. + Amazing versatility and utility. Put them around your neck and forget about them. Pack them in a bag and they take little space. Connect by wire in an airplane to enjoy ridiculously good sound quality for your movie while cutting out the plane's noise. Listen to voices/announcements around you or reduce wind noise at will. - Brilliant sound is marred by hiss. This is true both in wireless mode with noise canceling on and in wired mode, even without noise canceling. You only get apparent silence in the background when used wirelessly with noise canceling off. They sound wonderful in that situation, and in a noisy situation, the hiss is easily forgiven since it reduces other noises so well. But this is marketed as a hi-res device since hi-res audio is possible when connected by wire. Unfortunately, the amazing sound quality is accompanied by some slight but noticeable hiss, so it's not ideal for critical listening. Sound quality is somehow not very good when the power is off, so in wired mode and with the power on, the potential of these drivers remains frustratingly slightly out of reach. - Included ear tips do not allow for the best experience. A wider bore ear tip sounds much better. It's not a big deal to me, but I think a lot of people don't experiment with ear tips and they never realize just how good these can sound. - Microphone is acceptable but this device deserved better. - Connectivity to two devices at once is lacking. Please add this functionality in the future. All in all, the negatives are vastly outweighed by the positives and these are easy to recommend. Why these don't get more attention and respect is beyond me. Nice job, Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Top quality noise canceling and audio

WI-1000X 05 August 2019 by oBBo (USA)

I've used these extensively; originally purchased for long flights but I've begun using them for conference calls and general use, including under helmet motorcycle ear protection. They fit my ear very well, which has been a problem for me with other manufacturers; they suppress noise extremely well while still allowing conversation. Long battery life is especially nice on long flights. I only wish it had wireless charging; that's the only reason I didn't give it a 5-star rating.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound and effective noise cancelling

WI-1000X 30 July 2019 by Ediflaneur (United Kingdom)

These headphones have made listening to music while out and about a pleasure again. The sound quality is excellent, the neckband is comfortable, and the noise cancelling as effective as I think you can expect for an in-ear design. I was able to keep listening while mowing the lawn! The associated app seemed to improve the sound quality and switches automatically between different noise cancelling profiles as you change activity. My one suggestion for an improvement would be for this switching to pause whatever you're listneing to during the changeover.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Noise cancelling, I don't think so

WI-1000X/BM E 30 July 2019 by Intrepid_Ken (Singapore)

Although I like the concept I don't believe (in fact I know) the noise-cancelling system is a failure. I bought the headset to replace my Bose noise cancelling headset which I had used for the past 6 years - and yes, they do cancel noise. Activating the noise cancelling in the 1000X makes no minimal difference, almost none. I got ripped off!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Sound quality great but Noise Cancelling mediocre.

WI-1000X 27 July 2019 by Hillcroft (United Kingdom)

Positives. Excellent sound - as good or better than Bose Build quality - as usual from Sony. Battery life. Negatives The noise cancelling is only really effective in reducing low frequency rumble / roar, and has little effect on noise from people / TV etc. If you want earphones that cancel out nearly all background noise, then you need to go with Bose (i own these as well, and have done comparison). Ergonomics are not good. The controls are black on a black background. This is not really important as you can't see them when rearing the device. More important, they are too small and not sufficiently tactile to be able to tell which one you are touching. Summary If you want a bluetooth headset with excellent sound and battery life, these are fine. If noise cancelling is really important, then you need to go with Bose, which, though you will pay a bit more, are in a different league.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great sound

WI-1000X 21 July 2019 by Markypoo (United Kingdom)

I’ve had these for about a month, I got them you use in the gym. I find it tricky choosing headphones for the gym as you’re on the move, sometimes quite ‘aggressively’ and obviously quite wet with sweat. I can’t get on with the bud type as they just fall out, the full can type just end up filled with sweat, so I like the in ear grommet type. Up until now I’ve used wired, but these get in the way and the wire sticks to you when you sweat. These seem perfect, they’re comfortable on my neck and don’t fall off despite my moving around and the battery life seems really good. I listen to a lot of rock and blues music, so a decent bass sound is important, I think these combined with my Sony Walkman player give best sound I’ve had and the noise cancelling which in not intrusive, cuts out all of the pap they play in the gym. A really good choice.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Headphone but

WI-1000X 16 July 2019 by Dash II (USA)

I have these for serval months. Great light weight headphones with awsome app support. Take time to find right size ear tip to seal out outside noise to enjoy NC to it's full effect. Great battery life. Call quailty could be improved.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Crystal clear

WI-1000X 24 June 2019 by Jack1640 (United Kingdom)

I purchsed these head phones a week ago on the recommendations of a friend. I must say there the best clearest head phones i ve ever owned. Listening to old albums brings out sounds id never hear before.. highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

not reliable design for Sony WI-1000X headset

WI-1000X 19 June 2019  (USA)

only use 8 month, Sony WI-1000X already detach, can't charge and turn-on unless I stick it with tape. And warranty sucks, it is design issue.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Best earphones I have every bought!

WI-1000X 19 June 2019 by FreyCL (United Kingdom)

I bought these earphones whilst I was in hospital as I knew I was going to be in for a while and I was in a bay! All I can say is the noise cancelling feature saved me from going mad!! The level of noise that it blocked out shocked me, I wore them all night and most of the day! The quality of the sound is brilliant, crisp and clear! The app is really good and easy to use. I would 100% recommend these to anyone whether you are looking for noise cancelling or not because you won’t regret it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

noise cancelling very poor

WI-1000X 08 June 2019 by jackthelad (United Kingdom)

I must say that I'm really disappointed with the noise cancelling performance of these headphones. I have owned much cheaper noise cancelling headphones than these with far better performance, in fact i'm not even sure that the noise cancelling feature on this product is even working! Somy suggestion is buy something that does actually cancel ambient noise. regards alan

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

PC USB Required for Charging

WI-1000X 05 June 2019 by DonD1 (USA)

I did a thorough online review and decided to buy two of these, one for my wife and one for me. We both travel extensively, but seldom with our computers. I was excited to try them when they arrived, but much to my dismay the instructions say they must be charged with a USB cable connected to a pc. Why not provide an adapter or set them to charge with my smart phone adapter? I'd try that, but am afraid I might ruin them. And the specs don't show the charging requirements for amps and volts - just must use a pc! It amazes me that I haven't seen this requirement anywhere except in the instructions. I'm hoping someone can tell me I'm wrong so I don't have to return these. From the reviews, they seem like exactly what I'm looking for. I'd love to change this to 5 stars. Thanks.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

7

0

Excellent product

WI-1000X/BM E 20 May 2019 by Loo47 (Singapore)

Excellent product. However, auto change of noise cancellations mode react too slowly.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing sound.

WI-1000X 17 May 2019 by JayRay (United Kingdom)

I bought these a month ago and have been using them non stop, the sound is absolutely amazing, awesome bass and the app is great too. Well worth the cost. I would highly recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

so so

WI-1000X 03 May 2019 by me27 (United Kingdom)

I bought it off line, I currently live in China. I am disappointed that the language is in Chinese and I cant change it to English. Also the ear buds are not big enough for my ears.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

6

0

Quality sound anywhere

WI-1000X 25 April 2019 by greycode (United Kingdom)

Bought these at Schiphol airport. Charged them on the plane and watched an in-flight movie using these for sound. Fantastic sound and the noise cancelling reduced the aircraft noise to unnoticeable. I use them at work when I need to cut out general office noise to concentrate and get into the coding 'zone' (I am a computer programmer). No music, just noise cancelling. And I use them at the hotel bar to cut out a lot of the ambient noise or to listen to some music of my choice. And I use them when on my own for listening to music or an audio book. They are very comfortable, you can forget they are round your neck sometimes, and there is no chance of the ear pieces falling out and losing them, which is a big worry (for me anyway) with seperate blue tooth ear buds. The phone app gives so many configuration options for setting the sound and the noise cancelling even to setting spatial delivery (where you want the sound to appear in your head).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

More volume. I couldn't use them on the plane.

WI-1000X 17 April 2019 by Luscious (USA)

I bought these mainly to wear on the plane. Delta comfort+. I turned them all the way up and was unable to listen to my dowloaded movies. Noise cancelling doesn't work very well. Sorry I bought them. Head phones might work better.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Disappointed - Unusable for calls

WI-1000X 09 April 2019 by sprabhu (USA)

I had heard such great stories about this model and bought it. Really bad decision. I just cant use it for calls. The person on the other end can hardly hear me. It has all fancy features but doesnt serve the basic purpose of making a normal call. The complains are that it echoes, cant hear, not clear at all, voice very low... It so frustrating. I invested so much in this model.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Fantastic sound, good noise cancelling

WI-1000X 02 April 2019 by Amplion (United Kingdom)

I've been using these for just over a week now and am delighted. Like anyone investing in a pair of noise cancelling headphones, I did my homework, and decided on these over the nearest Bose equivalent for three reasons: price, build quality (a common complaint about the Bose QC30s) and a USB to 3.5mm audio jack connector which allows you to use them when the battery runs down or on an aeroplane, say. I bought them primarily for the noise cancelling feature, and didn't play music through them at all for a couple of days - but when I did, I was greatly impressed. Listening to a lot of 1950s jazz as I do, I can't say much for what modern music sounds like, but the overall clarity and bass with a small combo or big band is impressive, and they have a fair bit of power. The effectiveness of noise cancelling is always subjective, and a pair of over-ear headphones will always do more to block sound than an in-ear pair, but I've been impressed with how it works. Don't expect total silence, but it does a lot to cancel low rumbling and droning (bus engines, clothes driers, jet engine) while allow higher intermittent frequencies - a flight attendant asking if you'd like a drink, say - through. The ambient noise feature is handy too if you want to hear what's going on without removing your headphones. Battery life has been good - easily eight hours on the go, more if you switch off the noise cancelling feature and rely only on Bluetooth - and while charging by micro USB isn't going to set the world on fire, it's not too shabby. They feel solid enough and comfortable to wear. All in all, a very pleasing bit of kit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

They Brand tell it's all

WI-1000X/BM E 31 March 2019 by KBNg (Singapore)

It's a great Product with great Sound Performance & it Feature that You love

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointing-almost unusable for business use

WI-1000X 26 March 2019 by 42Niner18 (USA)

I did some research before buying this In-ear headphone set and have bought the Sony instead of the Bose. Very bad decision. Noise canceling is almost not existent. The headphones are constantly dropping out of the ears, unless you use glue to keep them in place. Microphone quality is really, really bad. When talking to people while driving in a car, the peer does not understand a single word. I want my money back. Seriously, Sony, why are you selling the worst headphone set ever designed and charge more than € 250,00 for that product? I usually don’t write reviews at all, but I would have loved some warning from other buyers before making that stupid investment. So, here we go. Don’t buy these headphones!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

5

2

0

Good - if they fit.

WI-1000X 16 February 2019 by BrianExCIS (United Kingdom)

These earphones provide good active noise cancelling and quality sound but are hampered by the limited size of the ear buds. Although 7 pairs are provided, the size of the largest ones is too small, with the result that external sound reaches the ears via the gap between the earphones and the ears. This is a shame because otherwise they are very good, and can be used with both Android and Apple devices

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant but Flawed

WI-1000X 07 February 2019 by ukdoodlebug (United Kingdom)

The ‘phones perform very well but if I actually followed Sony’s charging instructions they would be unusable whenever I’m out of the home and/or on holiday.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Comfortable and light

WI-1000X 06 February 2019 by Andreas43 (United Kingdom)

Nice, lightweight, great app and convenient but fails to deliver in noisy airplane environments. Noise Cancelling is just ok, and it doesn’t get loud enough, so quiet dialogues in films are sometimes hard to hear.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound and features

WI-1000X 09 January 2019 by Eddie24 (USA)

The sound quality, noise cancellation, and features are great! LDAC is amazing on Android smartphones. NFC pairing is easy. Sadly the dark paint on the stainless steel neckband is already chipping off! I've only had them for a month.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great bass

WI-1000X 08 January 2019  (United Kingdom)

Very happy bought it 3 weeks ago although volume could be louder

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great headphones

WI-1000X 06 January 2019 by Sparks27 (United Kingdom)

Very happy with these headphones, build and sound quality are excellent. I was unsure about the collar design originally but the convenience of access to controls and being able to put them in and out so easily with the short wires and always having them to hand is great.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Does not work very well

WI-1000X 20 December 2018  (USA)

Bought this a few months ago. Left air bud produces NO SOUND and now I get a buzzing noise when connected to a call

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

One major flaw with missing PS4 compatibility.

WI-1000X 20 December 2018 by Shamurai (USA)

These things are great! Good (not excellent) cancelling but about as good as you’ll get with an ear bud. The battery life could be better (won’t last on a long international trip but did happily take me from SF to Taiwan. No ALAC support. BUT the main problem I have is that this top of the line Sony headset won’t pair with a PS4 Pro! Says it’s not a supported device while trying to connect. Really!?!? Come on Sony, it’s your device! You have to tether it to the controller which is annoying at best.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing sound quality

WI-1000X 16 December 2018 by PhoneDoctor (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace my old broken SBH-80s. The sound quality is to please even the mos picky audio file, they stay put round my neck (the SBH-80s kept on falling off), the NC is not as great as my Bose QC25i 's one but is very effective and not having the wire and the huge control box of the Bose is way better. The Ambient ON thing is not that great and not making much of a difference hearing voices while listening to music...I still have to take one earbud off to hear what someones has to say, so I don't use it (save on battery consumption too). The battery life is very good if I don't use NC or Ambient ON and fair when NC is on. Buying at a Black Friday offer price from ebay Curry's PC World I could not have asked for a better deal. Overall this set beats all 2018 in ear wireless NC headphones I believe (except possibly for some very expensive exotic sets that I am not even familiar with).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great headset ever

WI-1000X/BM E 15 December 2018 by James13 (Singapore)

It becomes my daily necessities! Love it so much!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent headphones

WI-1000X 08 December 2018 by Splendid Alex (United Kingdom)

These are great sounding headphones, clear and with good noise cancelling. They come with useful cables and a carrying pouch and a good range of earbuds tips. The battery life is really good. LDAC connection on Android Oreo gives great sound, but works fine with loads of other codecs. Connection range is good. Niggles: Google assistant often cuts out before it finishes speaking. With assistant enabled you lose the ability to change the noise cancelling mode from the headphones. The Android app for Sony headphones is feature rich but a bit clunky. Though easy to connect, it can't pair with two devices quite as easily as I'd like, you have to fiddle with settings each time. No windows settings app. The mic picks up a lot of noise if you're eg. outside by a busy road. These are all small issues for me though, overall I would highly recommend them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Good idea but can't get earbud to stay in ear

WI-1000X 05 December 2018 by BlakeDale (United Kingdom)

I really like this but the earbuds are too big for my ear. I didn't have the small ones that usually come in the package unfortunately and don't know where to buy them. Otherwise, an excellent product.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great sound, excellent noise cancelling, portable

WI-1000X 02 December 2018 by YZ47 (United Kingdom)

Bought these after reading many reviews and was not disappointed, the sound is fantastic especially from such a compact headphones. Noise cancelling is effective, togeter with compact size and portability make them especially good for travelling. Just one possibly improvement is to use memory foam tips which do improve sound insulation and comfort

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed!!

WI-1000X 22 November 2018 by MrPauly (United Kingdom)

I’d read many reviews & purchased at a great price in John Lewis, however I’ve decided to take them back as they are not fit for purpose from my perspective. No matter which of the 5 in-ear pieces I try or combinations I can not get a snug fit and consequently the left ear piece constantly works lose or falls out and the right side the same but less so. I have owned other manufactures in the past and not had the same issue and as I direct comparison to Bose in ear noise cancelling headphones the Sony, whilst less expensive is less comfortable and does not come close in terms of the noise cancelling. Sony have an App to allow the tweaking of settings but it’s not hugely effective, more of a gimmick than an aid.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

NC has annoying low frequency hum without input

WI-1000X 21 November 2018 by yoginero (USA)

Noise cancellation has persistent low frequency hum into my right ear, that only stops when music is being played. You can tolerate it if you are outside on the street, but indoors, I cannot keep the Noise cancellation on or I'll get dizzy. When classic music plays at low volume, it keeps toggling between quiet and humming many times within a few seconds. Noise cancellation has a problem when there is low volume input and it's very annoying. I updated the headphone firmware as suggested, but no improvement, possibly worse.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Bad Mic, died after 6 month. But still good sound.

WI-1000X 15 November 2018 by Kirill D (USA)

TL;DR Buying premium headset doesn't mean premium design and long-time reliability which you usually expect from expensive headset. I've bought my pair in April 2018 from flagship store in EU. I've read about charging issues so I only carefully charged them from my MacBook. But here we are, mine WI-1000X died after 6 month. Pros: + Great sound and fairly clear sound for that price pair of headset. + Good ANC. + Fairly convenient neckband design and overall better materials quality in comparison to rubber parts at Bose QC30 after 6 month of use (pah!). Cons: - Critical. Both mics are in-ear and while they do a good job in ANC-mode, they are poor on call-mode. In that case ones need to keep one plugged into ear, and one tucked into neckband or hold it in front of your mouth when speaking. It makes you look ridiculous with a premium headset for that price. And your listener can barely hear you. Even 5$ pair of Apple headset with a mic over chest is doing better on mic recording. - Charging issues. A lot of people complain about it. Mine died after 6 month of gentle use and proper charge. - Connectivity. Paired mine with MacBook, iPhone and iPad. I usually switch between those 3 devices during the day. It often shows WI-1000X is paired and connected when in fact you need to tap on connect again. Or choose 'forget device' and pair headset again. - Battery holds 6-7hr at mid volume and ANC. Still enough for 1 day but you had to recharge it quite often in comparison to other 100$+ no-ANC neckband headsets. - Earplug's embouchures tends to disassemble and get lost when tucked into neckband (when accidentally hooked by topwear, scarf or backpack's strap). Good news there are +7 exchangeable pairs of embouchures within a box. Bad news – you can't purchase a spare one. - Anodized engraved metal part with Sony logo at the back is easily scratched by headrest at office chair or transport. Still better than QC30. - Mini-USB cap is weak, easy to tear. What could be better for that price: • Additional Mic built-in into neckband and/or Bi-DIRECTIONAL Mics built-in into earplugs. Otherwise there is no need for Mic at all for that price. • 3+ year warranty • x2 Battery life and/or cordless charge. • Wind-proof barrier for earplug. Wind sound in ear could be annoying when driving a bike. • Splash-proof design (rain-proof). • Spare earplug's embouchures available for buying. Not sure if I will ever pay that much for professional headset from Sony. I expect a way better design and build quality for earplugs that expensive.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Dissapointing headset function

WI-1000X 14 November 2018 by FRD89 (USA)

I bought this over a month ago, and it is really really dissapointing the headset function (mic. quality). Sony service rep. told me that that is normal for them, a design flaw. Unbelivable for an expensive Sony headset.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Forgot how terrible Sony can be

WI-1000X 07 November 2018 by Foolmeonce (USA)

Bought on impulse 8 months ago. Sound ok, noise cancelling useless, microphone unusable and blinking lights can't be turned off which is surper annoying at night. My fault for buying a Sony, going back to Bose

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Great sound let down by poor in-call microphone

WI-1000X 28 October 2018 by FredBC (United Kingdom)

I have been more than impressed with the sound quality and noise cancelling of my new Sony’s. The rub, however, is that I needed something for both business and pleasure. the ability if the microphones to pick up my voice when in a call is poor, and people really battle to hear me. The current solution is to remove one earpiece and hold the mic closer to my mouth, but then that is not hands-free. My Bose QC 35 delivers a much better in-call experience. The Sony’s just need an engineering design review - find a position for a dedicated call mic on the neckband and then they will be perfect.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

cheap

WI-1000X 26 October 2018 by ralexander (USA)

They suck and the warranty sucks! Will not buy any more Sony products.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

5

0

sub par microphone and blue tooth connection

WI-1000X 24 October 2018 by zsiberian (USA)

I'm on the phone constantly, switched to this set from Plantronics over-the-ear

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Give Bose a run for their money!

WI-1000X 22 October 2018 by SozzleChopper (United Kingdom)

These have a great feature where it can auto detect the noise and change the level of noise reduction required based on this making desk conf calls in an open (noisy) environment not sick a bad thing anymore. No more looking for a quiet zone to have that conversation.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing Headphones

WI-1000X 16 October 2018 by Mickie69 (United Kingdom)

I never expected in-ear headphones to sound so great. These have everything one needs - bluetooth connectivity, noise cancelling, ambient sound, wired option and airplane connector option. Use as standard headphones, or noise cancelling or wireless with/without noise cancelling. The Sony headphone app opens up a whole new world of experience. Music has never sounded this good. The noise cancelling is good enough to help when using a vacuum cleaner. I look forward to my next flight.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Excellent sound quality and battery life

WI-1000X 23 September 2018  (USA)

Yes, they are pricey, but the sound quality and battery life are truly excellent. The build quality is very good. Noise cancellation works very well but it's, of course, important that the earbuds are inserted tightly into the ears.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0