25

4.3 based on 25 customer reviews

15
5
3
1
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Brilliant

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 30 April 2019 by JohnGill (United Kingdom)

I bought the A6400 2 weeks ago and what a difference to my previous A6000, the A6400 is just brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

The lens is not detectable after 2 months only

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 08 April 2019  (Singapore)

The lens is not detectable after 2 months only. It’s quite disruptive after we set up the schedule of photographie but has to be cancelled due to sudden undectable lens.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

26 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Fully featured DSLR

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 19 May 2019 by Jezza J (United Kingdom)

I’m getting to grips with it but so far very impressed with the output .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera for Youtube!!

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 16 May 2019 by jyswill (USA)

I bought this camera for youtube and it's fabulous!! Really fast AF and flip screen is best !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Crystal Clear Consistency

Body Only 13 May 2019  (USA)

Switch from Nikon 5300 to Sony a6400 was in comparison a night and day difference in quality when it came to the percentage of clear photos against slightly blurry photos. With the Nikon it was like gambling to get 50% satisfaction to an almost a 100% clear photos with the Sony a6400. As a professional producer and promoter of events I need to be able to trust the camera to make great decisions using AUTO mode as things fly by during an event. The Sony a6400 gave me the kind of results I could depend on for television and marketing purposes. I am super satisfied!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small and was to handle

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 06 May 2019 by Twinks (United Kingdom)

Gradually getting used to my Sony with some good results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Video Bargain on the market - no time limit!!

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 02 May 2019 by TommyzLBC (USA)

4K video is amazing for both depth and color space. If IBIS is not a major factor in your video shooting, this camera will compare with cameras costing far more. Finally, Sony has removed the 30 minute limit starting with this camera. Here's hoping they do the same with some other recent cameras (like the A7M3 etc.)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Brilliant

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 30 April 2019 by JohnGill (United Kingdom)

I bought the A6400 2 weeks ago and what a difference to my previous A6000, the A6400 is just brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great features

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 15 April 2019 by Jamesie1930 (United Kingdom)

I am extremely pleased with this camera. I find it fascinating to use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Color

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 14 April 2019 by Geneva (USA)

I hope they release a white color because it adds more variety and its more elegant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

18

0

The lens is not detectable after 2 months only

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 08 April 2019  (Singapore)

The lens is not detectable after 2 months only. It’s quite disruptive after we set up the schedule of photographie but has to be cancelled due to sudden undectable lens.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great size

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 06 April 2019 by DavJ (United Kingdom)

I have only recently bought this so I don't have a full insight into the camera, however, I can say that so far I am pleased with it, I am finding the menu system a little long winded but I hope that will improve with use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Sony A6400

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 04 April 2019 by Fernar (United Kingdom)

I wanted a camera that was more compact than the DSLR camera that I have had for a number of years., but had more capability than the 'point-n-shoot' camera I bought 2 years ago. After look at the various cameras that were available, I decided to go for a Sony A6300 - however I then heard that Sony announced a A6400 - an updated a6300 and it also had touch screen. I have now had the A6400 for a couple of weeks and think its a great camera. With the kit lens, it only slightly more bulky than my point-and-shoot camera, but has just all the function of my DSLR + the ability to film at 1080p and 4K. I was a bit concerned that the a6400 did not have in body image stabilisation (the stabilisation is in the lens) but so far I have not found this a big issue for stills or movies I have taken so far. It took a while to learn to use all the functions of the camera - but I found a few tutorial on Youtube which really helped - but I would say that it does take time to get to know the full capability of this camera. The autofocus is excellent - very fast (a LOT faster than my other cameras) - and the eye focus really works well. The pictures are very good - I found that the the additional lens I purchased is better that the kit lens I got with the camera (however the kit lens is VERY compact) I am now considering selling my DSLR - I cant see myself going to the bother of lugging all the weight of the body and lens when I can can the functions I need and the image quality I need in a far more compact camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

My First Camera and I LOVE it!

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 30 March 2019 by luissax2004 (USA)

This is my first camera. I primarily purchased it to use it for vlogging and making video. So far, it's done everything I was expecting and more. The only issue I've had is learning to navigate and use the menus. I'm not a camera expert so that might add to my confusion, but there are so many options that it can get frustrating trying to figure out how to make better video. Overall, I love the camera, the pictures are amazing and the video looks great!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great upgrade...

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 30 March 2019 by Steve W829 (United Kingdom)

My Nex 7 did everything I thought I needed, but Sony’s mirrorless cameras have moved on. The a6400 does everything so much better, and some new things too. Focussing is so fast, quality so high ... brilliant. A little chunkier, but still compact and good for travel.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Good video & photo quality

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 28 March 2019 by Leaky bucket (United Kingdom)

Bought a couple of weeks ago after using a fugi Menu system confusing and not selectable on touch screen. Flip up screen could be improved upon as fouls mic and eye piece - battery life not brill but all in reasonable value for features and looking forward to some rewarding results

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

2

0

I AM GETTING PHOTOGRAPHS I NEVER THOUGHT I COULD

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 28 March 2019 by johnsphoto (United Kingdom)

I had heard a lot about this product on Youtube good and bad. I was going to the Photography Show at Birmingham NEC. So visited the Sony stand to have a closer look. And was not disappointed. So impressed I bought one off one of the trade stands at the show. I also bought an adaptor to fit other lenses to it from other brands. Which when I got home using other brand lenses I got full functionality from the Sony A6400 all the fantastic features as you can see by the photos of birds I took. Not only was I impressed so was my friend he bought one as well after the results he saw I was getting.I am still going through all the menus to find what the camera can do. It is a new learning curve.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Very, very good :)

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 13 March 2019 by cheeda (United Kingdom)

excellent choice of price performance ratio. Light, small and powerful. An ideal choice for both photos and video.light, small and powerful. The only drawback is missing the headphone input.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

An Excellent Camera Body Worth Waiting For

Body Only 11 March 2019 by Thomas Ng (Singapore)

I've been long waiting to upgrade my a6000. The a6300 is not much difference from a6000. The a6500 is way too expensive. Until, I read the arrival of the a6400! It suits my style of photography and even purchase a new lens to go with it. I rushed to buy it 2 days after the launch! No regrets!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Loving the 6400 but I have a few minor complaints

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 10 March 2019 by imissmypencils (USA)

I bought the Sony Alpha 6400 with the 16-50mm lens. It is very portable, super light, fits in my pockets and does ALMOST everything I want it to do. It has THE MOST AMAZING, BEST IN THE WORLD AUTO FOCUS! Very clear, pretty shots (you will need better lenses later on, as the 16-50mm kit lens is not very good in low light situations), the 4K and 1080p video options are awesome. This Alpha 6400 does NOT have in body stabilization, so buy a gimbal or use Sony OSS lenses to help with hand held video recording or else your videos will be shaky. I also wish I could articulate the built in flash to stay in one position like facing up to bounce the flash light off the ceiling, I can use my finger to pull it back and up but if my finger covers the EVF (electronic view finder), the EVF will kick in and I cannot see my shot on the touchscreen anymore. I am sad I have to buy a cage to fit an external microphone a few slots over because placing anything on the hot shoe will block the video screen that flips up for selfies. Sony definitely needs to address this issue on the next camera so that the video screen flips out like with the Canon and Panasonic cameras, but I can live with a small rig cage accessory on my camera when I go vlogging with this. Also, I would like USB-C instead of micro-USB, no real excuse not to include USB-C in 2019. I am very excited to have this camera with me. Good job, Sony!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

Fast autofocus

Body Only 09 March 2019 by Thealex89 (Singapore)

No recording limit No overheating Over 1 hr battery life.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Plenty of features

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 07 March 2019 by Hil1268 (Singapore)

Had it for 3 weeks now and loving it. Plenty of lense to choose from. No regrets purchasing this baby.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Finally something that I can move to from my DSLR

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 06 March 2019 by Burtonman (USA)

Love the size and weight. I had a a6000 but it couldn’t match my DSLR for focus speed and tracking. Now, this is as good, maybe better. The usability of the bigger camera is still better due to the size, but this will be my new go to camera, especially for travel.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Wonderful screen, great features, Programming ??

Body + 18-135 mm Zoom Lens 05 March 2019 by Desertmast (USA)

Excited to get the new a6400. It has some fantastic features. But this is not an out of the box camera. You have to program camera but first figure out how to, then make sure your lens are the latest version. Then set up "MY MENU" so you can find things again. The power cord is a mini, so need to buy longer cord and extra battery and wall charger right away. And buy a Peak Design camera stray ASAP. As for photos FANTASTIC

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

1

0

Amazing Camera!

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 05 March 2019 by Skuji (USA)

The a6400 is my first ever Sony camera. I used to be a Canon user but decided to make the switch because Sony had what I wanted. I picked the camera up on its release day and I absolutely love it. Super fast eye autofocus is what got me really excited. The flip screen is great but I don't find myself using it as much as I am always the one behind the camera. This camera is awesome for both stills and video!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

3

0

Doesn't record standard 1080 MP4

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 05 March 2019 by Disappointed fan (USA)

Apparently Sony decided to take a step backwards with video format to the a6000 days. The a6400 does not record standard 1080 MP4. Meaning, you can't transfer video to your phone and upload to social media. I have a a6500, bought this a6400 for focus improvements. However, if I can't do quality video in MP4 it makes a6400 useless to me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

8

0

Does NOT accept Sony Playmemory apps

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 15 February 2019 by Peppereater (USA)

I have 3 Sony cameras. Two of them accept playmemory apps. My RX10 iv DOES NOT! The a64000 DOES not, either. If you want a camera that accepts these, get an older model.

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

7

107

0

Auto focus

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 09 February 2019 by Shaed (USA)

I bought it a week ago, and I assure that it is my best dslr ever

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

44