298

4.7 based on 298 customer reviews

229
51
13
1
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

300 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Incredible camera, could be even better

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 23 August 2019 by Chucky999 (USA)

I've had my A7III since January 2019 and it's hard to say anything bad about it. It takes fantastic photos and is versatile - I have a large collection of lenses, old manual focus lenses, as well as AF lenses from another company. All work flawlessly with the correct adapters. Sony glass is also incredible - I love the 24-105 f4 G OSS. If I could complain about anything, it would be, 1) Sony should streamline their menu system; 2) a fully articulating, fully touch-functional LCD screen would be awesome; and 3) native Sony zoom lenses should show their current focal lengths in the screen. Can these things be addressed with firmware updates? Sony, are you listening?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Exceed my expectations!

Body Only 22 August 2019 by William82 (Singapore)

Previously I shoot with another brand dslr for 5 years, I do own a number of lenses. Very used to backfocusing for tracking and still photos. After changing to a7iii, the eye-af and tracking is amazing! So much faster and accurate! The 10-FPS is so fast yet so accurate and majority are tack shape. Having the EVF, the exposure of every image is more or less on the correct exposure. I don’t even need to go back to Lightroom and adjust my exposure, straight away I can download to my phone and share on Instagram and Facebook. Good job Sony! Sharing a sooc multi-shot using a sigma 35 art, shooting at f1.4 with my daughter run and me running to frame her. That’s almost impossible to capture with my other full frame dslr. Am now a happy shooter! Btw *Can your 70-200 f2.8 sell cheaper a not haha :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I've Become a Sony man

Body Only 18 August 2019 by GeoffTudno (United Kingdom)

Swapped to Sony from another well known brand, and after some initial getting used to things issues, I'm now very glad I did.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

N/A

Body Only 17 August 2019 by Masst (United Kingdom)

This camera is perfict for me as Wedding Photographer.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Jack of many trade , master of none

Body Only 17 August 2019 by Hoon (Singapore)

Capable taking fast moving subject & low light. GM lense too expensive.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Best camera I’ve ever had

Body Only 09 August 2019 by Jaime_ (United Kingdom)

Bought two months ago, the camera has great features, love the dynamic range, produces fantastic pictures. I also like the in depth menu systems and the ability to customise almost all the camera buttons to my own preference.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 04 August 2019 by Zaj79 (Singapore)

Truly a great camera. Great in low light setting and come with many great features. Definitely worth the upgrade from APS-C cameras. Love the bokeh too.. Can't wait to use it for my assignments.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Beast for video

Body Only 03 August 2019 by BigDBlake (United Kingdom)

This camera shoots incredible video, just wish it was higher bit rate and maybe have the ability to shoot up to 200fps. But I'm happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great!!

Body Only 03 August 2019 by joonguitar (USA)

perfect camera awesome video great still shot light weight

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Many many many features

Body Only 31 July 2019 by tauculator (Singapore)

I bought this as an upgrade from the a6000, and the added features and capabilities of the a7iii are a definite upgrade. My favourite (so far) is the eye-AF!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Camera operations

Body Only 28 July 2019 by Umpy (United Kingdom)

The menu system could do with some streamlining to make it simpler and more easy to navigate. Both Nikon and Canon have the edge with their menu organisation.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Superb camera.

Body Only 28 July 2019 by Bluemagpie (United Kingdom)

So far the camera has lived up to my expectations and is gaining me excellent results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Full frame benefits

Body Only 26 July 2019 by Badcats (United Kingdom)

I decided to go to this camera because I wanted equipment that would allow me to realise the quality I wanted and worked with my current level of expertise i.e competent amateur with aspirations for top quality in portrait, 'art', gigs/concerts, outdoor (flowers, garden, landscape). Great battery life after what I was used to. Focussing is also usefully upgraded although I often use manual. I am not able to give 5 stars as I am only at the start of using the system (camera + 1 lens) and have not yet pressed the video-record button. I have a strong sense that I won't be disappointed by the gear and that in12 months time it would likely be a 5* Excellent review unless reliability becomes an issue.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant camera

Body Only 26 July 2019 by Gary23 (United Kingdom)

Incredible camera, value for money and the visuals are outstanding!!! GREAT auto focus. All is wonderful but for LCD screen in sunny weather you can't see and it should be brighter. It should shoot in 10 bit. Also the HDMI port should be improved to allow auto focus on a monitor with 4K, otherwise you are forced to buy expensive Atomos Ninja 5 etc to record externally. The menu is very confusing until you get to know it and remember the settings.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 22 July 2019 by Angels758q (USA)

I bought a few days ago I very like a camera Sony 7a iii great pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fast, sharp and great value

Body Only 19 July 2019 by e73818 (United Kingdom)

Upgraded from an old Sony A55 and this is a huge step up. Auto focus is far quicker, more reliable and images are great. Also very flexible camera - ability to set up short cut buttons and create preset modes for your own preferences you can get shots in every situation. Great experience with this camera. Only slight downside is that the menu options can be a little clunky - but you get use to it quickly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

This camera is, and will remain, legendary.

Body Only 17 July 2019 by thatmikeyouknow (United Kingdom)

My first Sony body was the A7Sii, which at the time was perfect for me as primarily a videographer with photography work coming second. As the two disciplines balanced in my workflow I decided to step up my photography side of things and invest in the A7iii. It truly is a camera that continues to blow my mind every time I use it. It's design and functionality are amazing, and the quality of the photos (and videos!) it produces are just beautiful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Little Powerhouse

Body Only 17 July 2019  (United Kingdom)

I've had this camera for a few months now and generally I'm very impressed. It's got pro DSLR features in a tiny little package. Great battery life, dual card slots, fantastic auto focus, outstanding ISO performance and a market leading 10fps burst shooting. The only reason it doesn't have 5 stars is that it could have better weather sealing. It is classed as weather sealed but there are gaps such as the battery compartment door and the covers to the ports. Although not a massive problem, it does mean that I do get quite nervous when I'm out shooting and it starts to drizzle (which happens a lot in the UK). If they can solve this issue, the a7iii would pound for pound be the best value FF mirrorless on the market.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

DREAM CAMERA

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 14 July 2019 by KILLA FOCUZ (USA)

MONSTER CAMERA, great quality images, amazing video and much much more.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Value

Body Only 14 July 2019 by NetworkMonkey (United Kingdom)

This has been a little bit of a jump for me coming from a budget DSLR, but I didn't want to be in the position I was where I'm being limited by the equipment again. Of course a good photographer can take great photos with any camera, but it just makes it much easier when you can rely on features like eye-AF to almost guarantee a portrait is focused perfectly. I consider this an investment for me and I look forward to enjoying this camera for years to come.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New generation, new world of autofocus!!!!

Body Only 14 July 2019 by Sparklehedgehog79 (United Kingdom)

I’ve had every generation of Nex camera from day one, moved on to the FE cameras when they turned up and always dreamed of this moment. Autofocus that is on a par and BETTER than a dslr!!! This is what we’ve all been waiting for and this camera, for its money, it’s the best camera I’ve ever had the pleasure of using or owning. Absolutely outstanding for the price point and worth every penny! Sony’s efforts have finally paid off and to me they are now the clear market leader and the others will now be playing catch up for the foreseeable future

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All Specs no feel

Body Only 11 July 2019 by ByTomW (United Kingdom)

This camera has everything you could want from a stills/video camera but misses on almost every quality of life feature. The EVF is not calibrated to match the sensor and the menus are a nightmare. The video features are slightly hamstrung by terrible auto WB and limited but-rate codecs limiting how much colour grading you can do. That said it’s the camera I use most often for paid work and right now there is nothing better. If they fix the EVF issues and implement w better codec the camera would be 1000x better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

the better you know it the better it gets

Body Only 11 July 2019 by bob 285 (United Kingdom)

this was taken on the 9-7-2019 difficult conditions but camera and lense coped no problem low light stuff something else

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best camera ever bought

Body Only 08 July 2019 by Sukhy (United Kingdom)

This is the best camera ever I bought with 24mm to 105mm f4 g series lens the video quality and picture quality are both awesome battery life is good would recommend buying this camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Brilliant decision.

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 07 July 2019 by Marlytyz (United Kingdom)

I have to admit that I am a bit of a camera junkie. I have had the full frame Nikon system with so many lenses, the Fuji mirrorless, the Sony Rd 100, the Leica Q (which I have kept) and now this. Because I am having to build up my lens collection slowly to save my marriage I only have the 24 - 105 and the 55m. However, I am absolutely delighted. The eye focus is incredible and that for me makes the decision to switch worthwhile. I love the sharpness and the ability to focus on fast moving objects. Occasionally, in bright sunlight it takes a while to focus but, other than this it is my dream camera. I only wish the lenses weren’t so expensive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love it

Body Only 06 July 2019 by Ignatzzz (United Kingdom)

Bought a few weeks ago and absolutely love using it. Images and colour are suburb and set correctly the video is fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing picture quality

Body Only 06 July 2019 by Seafordphotographer (United Kingdom)

Love the eye autofocus. Quick autofocus lots of features and every thing works really well. Menu system is rubbish and it is not a very nice in the hand but at this price point it is the best camera out there.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Nice camera

Body Only 04 July 2019 by davepenk (United Kingdom)

Very pleased with my decision to buy this excellent camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simply brilliant

Body Only 04 July 2019 by Elliemac (United Kingdom)

I purchased my a7iii to upgrade to a full frame camera. The customisation of buttons and the eye auto focus make it a total winner in my eyes. It’s super sharp and auto focuses well. Paired with the 85mm 1.8 it’s a dream to capture portraits on. Very hard to take a bad photo. Now I am just dreaming of what lenses to get next....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sony a7111

Body Only 02 July 2019  (United Kingdom)

not good for beginers but a fantastic camera if y know whot your doing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony a7iii

Body Only 02 July 2019 by Hulijing (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera earlier this month and it’s been amazing to use - was hesitant about moving to mirrorless but I am loving the switch

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So happy I switched to mirriorless fullframe!

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 30 June 2019 by jakeh123 (USA)

I brought this camera about 4 months ago and so happy I did. I was skeptical about switching to mirrorless as my old camera was aps-c dslr. The first huge thing I noticed was the autofocus working just as well while using the monitor as if I was using the viewfinder. This was huge for being able to get low to the ground shots. I'm not a professional by any means but I can see this being used by a professional easily. The focusing is amazing with sony native lenses. I had some issues trying to adapt canon ef mount dslr lenses to the camera due to them not being usable for video but that isn't an issue with the camera by any means. There is so many good things to say about this camera. HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not Currently Viable for Low Light/Long Exposure

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 28 June 2019 by SierraMike (USA)

I shoot a lot of astro and nightscape timelapse. I recently upgraded to this camera from my Nikon D5300. I love many of the features the A7 III brings to the table, but there is a serious defect with how it handles long exposures especially in low light conditions. If you take an image with the shutter on, you'll see that there are hot pixels all throughout the image when it should be completely black. This still persists when shooting a long exposure in low light conditions. I've opened a ticket with Sony to try to confirm if this is expected behavior, or something that could be fixed with a firmware update. So far this issue is persistent on both of the A7 III bodies I've tested with multiple lenses, so it seems to be an inherent defect. Until this is addressed, this camera is absolutely unusable for long exposure in low light conditions, are very poor for long exposure in normal conditions. If this issue is fixed, I would readily give a full 5 stars to this camera. If it operated as expected in the scenarios mentioned above, it would be a nearly perfect camera.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exemplary Images

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 28 June 2019 by Pimp Daddy (USA)

I have had this camera body for about 6 weeks... Absolute joy to work with... All my lenses are fast and sharp on this camera... Eye AF is accurate... Silent mode is great...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Disappointment

Body Only 25 June 2019 by Yana11 (United Kingdom)

I wish I didn't buy this camera. First of all I bought it faulty, paid full price for it in store. If I didn't still have my beloved 5dsr I would not have accomplished a few jobs when I got white stripes across the pictures and not much response from the camera especially focusing. So The system control pub and control switch block assembly was replaced and now I have refurbished camera I paid a lot's of money for and I'm still not happy with focusing and image quality. Menu is over complicated, touch screen only really works for a couple purposes, there is wifi build in but no apps to connect with and so on.. In two words Great Disappointment

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Truly Amazing

Body Only 25 June 2019 by NsearchOFsunrise (USA)

I bought this camera recently after getting to use one from a local camera shop. I think its truly amazing. Sony did such an excellent job tossing in every feature you could want in a camera. Love all customization that can be programmed and the size along with solid build quality. Sony priced it perfectly to allow beginners to pros to be able to get a great piece of tech.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Electrical faults after 14 months

Body Only 24 June 2019 by mpjcfoto (United Kingdom)

I've used this camera for 16 months now. The first 14 of those were fantastic and the camera was everything I needed for photography and videography. However, after 14 months of use the sensor has started to violently and loudly shake making videography impossible as well as most slow shutter speeds impossible also. Unfortunately the electrical fault developed only 2 months after the warranty expired and I am now left with an almost unusable camera. This is a fault I have seen across the internet but has not been publicly addressed by Sony (to my knowledge). Until this is fixed I cannot recommend this or any Sony camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Okay. Needs Re-Design / Upgrade

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 23 June 2019  (USA)

This camera is good. However, it doesn't focus well on small objects, the body is too small (there's no place for your pink, which feels unstable), and the menu is way, way too big and complex. As a former Canon enthusiast, the complexity of this camera makes me want to throw it off the mountain sometimes! I want to be able to quickly change between modes/color schemes without having to change a million settings and/or do a million calculations in my head. The camera is good, but its got a long way to go before its great. Also, the cost for sony lenses is way overpriced, and needs to come down 20% before I would be willing to keep this camera. Who knows, maybe in 1-2 years they'll finally have fixed the problems? I sure hope so, because there's tons of potential for this camera...just wouldn't buy at this time.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Very good camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 23 June 2019 by Albert Lim (Singapore)

I bought this camera about a month ago and I am very happy with the picture quality especially in night scene. High recommended for mirrorless full frame camera. Really value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best camera I've had

Body Only 21 June 2019 by Beth97 (United Kingdom)

Although a little pricey, I got my camera on finance from Jessops and it will be the best investment you make. So easy to use and the quality is emaculate. Mine came with a 28-70mm lens, just as good as the 24-70 Canon lens I used to use. Even though its 3.5 not 1.8 its still great for every situation I photograph in. Pictures are super sharp although do have a bit of noise but nothing that can't be easily removed on editing software. Overall a fantastic piece of kit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice camera

Body Only 21 June 2019 by Johnny 77 (United Kingdom)

Seems like a brilliant bit of kit. The only problem with mine was that after taking some long exposure shots with high f-number, I realised the sensor had lots of dust specks in it. The only time the sensor had been exposed was when I first attached the lens, which I did carefully and indoors. So after purchase I would recommend you do some test shots to check for dust otherwise you might have to spend some time cleaning up in post.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great overall

Body Only 21 June 2019 by DNA Studio (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera for photography and video. It's the perfect camera for both. Just add different accessories and make it from a good photography camera to a good video camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Camera!

Body Only 18 June 2019 by hudson_swan (United Kingdom)

I've had this camera for just 5 days and I'm completely blown away by the quality of the images. I'm a long term Canon user but decided to make the switch to Sony after reading reviews. The layout is a bit different from what I'm used to but I'm getting used to it now. The autofocus capabilities have taken my breath away. Superfast and totally accurate. I'm now a 100% Sony fan!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic Camera, Excellent Results

Body Only 16 June 2019 by rafcolt (United Kingdom)

I brought this camera so I can use both my Sony Lenses and Canon lenses with one body. This works like a dream can't recommend it highly enough. Fab results using both Sony and Canon lenses won't buy another Canon body again. The only niggle I have is the button on the body to change lens could do with being re-located on to the opposite side and away from the camera grip.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product, but quality needs to be improved

Body Only 16 June 2019  (USA)

Personally, I love sony A73, it's a great product especially when you taking photos in dark environment like weddings and bars. But most of my friends encountered issues with the IBIS. Hope Sony will properly handle the quality issue in their future products and thus customers can put more trust on Sony's cameras and lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

great low light performance

Body Only 15 June 2019 by parallaxvisuals (United Kingdom)

on all my projects i had the same 2 problems. not enough space and light in the room. coming from a canon cropped camera this sony is a godsend. i wish it was 10bit and the menu was a bit more friendly. other than that it’s the perfect camera for me!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great upgrade from my a6500

Body Only 13 June 2019 by sflhmz (Singapore)

I was torn between upgrading to this camera and staying with a6500. I'm glad I made the right decision. I could not be any happier with larger battery, which is a letdown when I was with my a6500. Full-frame also let me expand my journey further as I'm now able to rent different FE lenses and I can't wait to try out the GM series.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My camera

Body Only 12 June 2019  (United Kingdom)

I’m happy using this camera, it’s making photography easy, it’s handing very nice, feeling great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera. Lousy customer experience

Body Only 11 June 2019 by Tony627 (United Kingdom)

Fantastic picture quality 5stars+ Sony reneged on cashback offer - disgusting

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I retired too early!

Body Only 11 June 2019 by PMP19 (United Kingdom)

I recently retired having been a pro shooter for many years. I shot on Canon 5D111's and L lenses. I have to say that if the A7iii had been around when I was shooting weddings I would absolutely have made the move to Sony. The quality of the camera is obvious as soon as you start shooting with it. I agree that the menus could be a little more user friendly but an hour or so spent setting up 'My Menu' solves this. I have only owned the camera for a week or so and am yet to fully put the camera through its paces but my initial feeling is that I am going to love this camera. I previously owned the A7 and to be honest the focus engine was awful compared to what i had been used to on the Canon 5Diii. The A7iii seems to have resolved these issues. And some! The tracking would have been a massive bonus in those dark churches. I retired too soon!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Worthwhile upgrade

Body Only 09 June 2019 by RonGCC (United Kingdom)

After owning the A7MkII since it was introduced and being so pleased with it, I hesitated before upgrading but I'm so pleased I have upgraded to the MkIII

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very nice with 2 things missing

Body Only 08 June 2019 by EYEup (United Kingdom)

I like the camera, but lenses are a bit expensive. Never mind that though. What I want to say is that what I would like it to have is an articulating screen with touch capabilities and weather sealing. Other than that, I love it! Oh, and I wouldn't mind a bit bigger grip. It's good, but than it would be perfect (I'm nitpicking here really).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A7lll camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 05 June 2019 by Andyone (United Kingdom)

I bought this with 24/105 G lens two weeks ago and I think thy are excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Full Frame

Body Only 03 June 2019 by Ayrshire Bob (United Kingdom)

Bought this a couple of months ago, really happy with it, still learning mainly about the menu's which could be less, but photo quality is top drawer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 02 June 2019 by Danielslinden (United Kingdom)

Fantastic for my video work the footage is very smooth and crisp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A step up in quality

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 31 May 2019 by ade__h (United Kingdom)

Coming from relatively cheap Canon APS-C cameras this is a clear step up in quality. The feature set is very impressive - fantastic focusing, great image quality and fast response. The only slight negative is the Sony menu system but there are enough youtube/internet tutorials to sort that out

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great features

Body Only 31 May 2019 by Robin Zhang (Singapore)

This is a great camera, still some features need to be improved, like screen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent.

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 29 May 2019 by Mike841112333222 (United Kingdom)

Had the camera a month now. Really impressed with the Eye auto focus and low light shooting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great mirrorless camera

Body Only 26 May 2019 by Baaen (United Kingdom)

I bought a Sony A7iii from Jessops on 16/06/19. So far I have only taken photos of my granddaughters in a variety of lightning conditions. The eye autofocus is brilliant! I also love the focus peaking which allows me to use all sorts of old lenses with great results. The camera is also good in poor light. Also, great form-factor. I own a number of cameras and I think that this Sony is the best. Only one thing, the menu system is poor and I hope that Sony could update this. Also, could Sony produce some lightweight lenses for travel? But, overall a brilliant camera, wish I had bought it a year ago.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fabulous Images

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 24 May 2019  (United Kingdom)

I have had this camera a few weeks now, so just getting used to the controls. The only criticism is the menu - its a nightmare, that being said I have now got the custom menu set up the way I want it and that works for me. The quality of the images is amazing, focusing is sharp and most of the time rapid. the auto eye focus works really well on people and animals. Really good low light performance and the built in image stabilisation a real bonus. I work predominately in still images and can't comment on the capability of the video other than to say it looks good to me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Pretty Awesome Camera-- Drop the $2K If You Can

Body Only 23 May 2019 by FattyS (USA)

After hours of researching various full frame cameras and coming from 2 entry level DSLRs (Nikon & Canon 70D), a mirrorless Fuji X100T (which I still love), I'll share my thoughts/comparisons with the A7iii. My background: I took a photography class in high school, appreciate the ability to focus on objects I choose, and am a self-proclaimed entry-level/pro-sumer "nerd." I like to take pictures of people/objects for fun. Please read no further if you're looking for a "professional" review! MY SHOOTING EXPERIENCE- Limited to Entry Level DSLRs First, I started with the Nikon D60 (maybe 70) DSLR about 20 years ago. It felt like a huge upgrade from the previous point/shoot cameras I'd used. About 7 years after that, I switched it up to a Canon 70D. It felt like switching from PC to Mac-- the Canon being more intuitive, user friendly. I got the Sigma 35 ART lens and loved the images it captured. It was by far the most expensive lens I'd invested in at that time. Then, about 4 years ago, I picked up the Fuji X100T. The reviews were amazing, it was more compact that a DSLR. (I'd found myself enjoying & using my Canon most with a pancake lens. I LOVE(d) my x100T. I learned to navigate a "foreign" menu system pretty quickly. The pictures are nice. Honestly, after using the 70D, it felt "faster" and more responsive in terms of autofocus and shooting. But the size and mobility resulted in me using it more. I actually didn't mind throwing it in my purse. I started researching Full Frame cameras years ago. The Canon 5D was on the top of my list. But the size and price point were a deterrent. Given my collection of lenses, it seemed logical to stay within the Canon family. But the reviews for the Sony A7iii caught my attention...made me question whether lenses were a reason to stay? (I had about 4 mid range prime lenses, the sigma 35 being the most expensive and fasted.) The Sony A7iii: A Compact Beast When Sony released the A7iii it seemed like the perfect upgrade from my entry level DSLRs to mirrorless full frame. I love the A7iii. I've purchased the 35mm2.8 lens for it and the 55mm1.8. The AF speed and shutter speed is infinitely better than any camera I'd ever used. The images are clear. The built in steady stability is extremely useful. It works great in low light settings. The relative size/weight compared to its output (depending on the lens) doesn't bother me given its superior abilities to capture images. It is a pleasure to use. Being "tech savvy" I figured out the somewhat convoluted menu system-- online tutorials from other users helped me quickly identify and address "issues" before getting frustrated. My biggest annoyance was the auto viewfinder proximity sensor resulting in unintended EVF views. Now that's fixed to a dedicated custom button setting. This camera can get expensive with lenses, etc. But, if you like clear pictures, want to capture rapid movement, like quick (I mean quick) AF, continuous focus, this is the camera. Today, I tried to use my Canon with the sigma lens, only to find myself so frustrated by its speed. I didn't remember it being, literally, "as slow as a snail"--but it was. It made me appreciate my investment in the A7iii all that much more. After all the research and wait for availability, I'm glad I got it. Features I Love/Appreciate The 600+ AF point selection is amazing. The continuance shooting abilities. The dual SD card slots. I love the USB-C! It makes linking to my MacBook really easy. I love being able to charge through that cable, too. The ability to customize each button/wheel. The tilt screen. The Face Detection is superb! If you have kids, this is great to insure quality/sharp memories for the future. My Thoughts on "Lacking" Features TOUCHSCREEN: Initially, I missed Canon's touchscreen shutter release. Now, I don't mind it as much since it focuses on that touch point so fast, and you can lock it with the shutter. I wouldn't care if Sony ever switched to touch shutter. Also, I personally don't mind that the menu is not touch accessible. The dial is responsive, the Fn key allows you to jump from various submenus quickly. The screen stays cleaner and you don't have to worry about incorrectly accessing the wrong folder. I've had some issues connecting to my smartphone. I've had these issues with Canon and Fuji, too. The Sony App isn't as developed/user friendly as Canon or Fuji. SCREEN: People complain the screen doesn't flip out all the way for selfies. I don't think this camera is supposed to be used for selfies! It's ability to tilt for viewing shooting angles, hip shots, etc., is perfect. CONCLUSION If you're interested in experiencing full frame photography and have $2000 to invest, plus $300+ for lenses, do it now! Can you take great pictures with a cheaper camera? Of course! But if you appreciate speed, reliability, size, technology, lens selection, this is a great investment. This camera makes me want to take it with me, pull out and use! It's just such an incredible upgrade from all the previous models I'd experienced. Sometimes I'd find myself leaving the DSLR at home thinking my iPhone would be sufficient. This puts the iPhone camera to shame. It's night and day. That difference itself makes me want to experience photography with this tool. I will be happy for shooting predominantly with Sony for the years to come.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Better than I could have hoped!

Body Only 22 May 2019 by TWreckS (United Kingdom)

Bought it a week ago and have been blown away by how amazing it is for video and photos!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Wonderful camera

Body Only 13 May 2019 by ChrisO 5900000 (United Kingdom)

I am using this camera with my Leica lenses and the quality is exceptional. The camera body is so much better than Leica’s own. Very pleased with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

AMAZING

Body Only 12 May 2019 by Beni23 (USA)

New to Sony a7iii and I love this camera. The images are unrealistically sharp. Right out of the camera, the quality is amazing. The autofocusing is the top-notch.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent camera

Body Only 12 May 2019 by Narada (United Kingdom)

The Sony A7 III camera is fantastic and I love it. What I appreciate about this camera: excellent image quality, sensor stabilisation, low noise low light night photography and incredibly long battery life. Features like computational photography in the form of eye tracking and real time tracking have made Sony the market leader and this camera has won many awards and accolades. All features come at such a great price point too. I'd highly recommend this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Glad I made the move

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 10 May 2019 by Beefy (United Kingdom)

I have always used Nikon cameras, when Sony came out with the A7iii all the specs and reviews it got me thinking, should I make the move. I took the plunge and brought it and I have not regretted it , focus is incredibly fast specially when I’m shooting marching bands, the hit rate is very high compared to my Nikon. Eye AF is a game changer for me. Still not up to speed with the menu system yet but I’m getting there.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Product

Body Only 10 May 2019 by Win Htut (Singapore)

I bough it last month and the image quality is very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera but thee one thing !

Body Only 05 May 2019 by Goofdog (USA)

I love this camera in every way. The one thing that makes the camera not receive 5 stars, is the fact that the mic jack stopped working before the year. I bought it on 08/07/2018 its 05/05/2019 now and it just stop working out of nowhere and I didnt buy a warranty cause I always take great care of my gear.over all great camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Focus Guru

Body Only 03 May 2019 by Abu Foysol (United Kingdom)

I now have the Sony a7iii as an additional body to a7sii, the Sony a7iii is certainly been improved with autofus features and picture profiles, certainly makes me feel a lot more confident with this bad boy. Must have value for money camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Video auto gain control

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 02 May 2019 by Mantarraya (USA)

For photos it's ok but for indoor real video NO! 1.- In low lights. If you see the low Lights clips indoor recorded (650 iso and firmware 2) from Sony A7III in Sony Catalyst Browser software, in the information of camera master gain adjustment set gain from +9 Db to +33Db (with any control of this setting) generate much noise in dark sites. You Know how set Gain to 0 for video? 2.- With tungsten or other houses lights, has a heavy Banding and flickering on video and can't reduce by shutter speed, if I work PAL at 25 is worst. Any other model, like a9 or a7RIII, it's is fixed that?

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Superb camera

Body Only 01 May 2019 by Joe Rashid (United Kingdom)

Bought a7lll just nearly two months now. Seriously impressed with the features ie silent shutter and eye focus modes. Coming from a7 to a7lll makes a big difference. However I like the size, weight and shape of a7 better

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0