193

4.6 based on 193 customer reviews

151
28
6
3
5
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

This Camera is SERIOUS!

ILCE7RM4/B 25 November 2020 by Picsmiths (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a So y a7iii a couple years ago & just bought another one but got the new a7r4 & WOW! The a7iii is an awesome camera but this one is next level! If you’re thinking about buying a camera DO NOT BUY A NIKON OR A CANON! Spend the extra money & get a Sony Alpha & you will not be disappointed. Pictures equal space saving memories & Sony clarity is where it’s at! Thank you Sony for helping me take my photography to the next level, @picsmiths

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Not sure was it a right choice

ILCE-7RM4 09 August 2021 by Mulgersson (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not so sure I am happy about this. Well image quality is quite good. However, things seems to get quite complicated with Sony. For instance, I would like to tether it with Lightroom, but it does not work with it. Of course, I can use imaging edge, yet it does not support my laptop´s 32b system. Furthermore, Imaging Edge neither support android 6 and I can´t use it with my Samsung tablet. And I already had to buy new Godox flash trigger because Sony have decided not to use universal hot shoe. And so on... Honestly, I think I should have stayed with Canon and not to change the brand.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

193 Customer Reviews

0

Superb images

ILCE-7RM4 03 April 2024 by Gangreen (United Kingdom)

Such a beautiful camera to use. I’m doing a lot of football photography and the images I’m getting are superb even in JPEG format. My only criticism is the menus are far too complex. I stick to aperture priority with ISO set to determine speed for the light available. Simoles

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant Camera,s

ILCE-7RM4A 17 January 2024 by Suzuki Will (United Kingdom)

Been using for over a year now, Been awesome compared to my old canon d5, Carnt complain at all, Other than the price of lenses

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent camera

ILCE-7RM4 29 October 2023 by HuwWG (United Kingdom)

First class sensor, allows significant cropping whilst maintaining adequate resolution. Impossibly complicated menu and poorly designed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Really Great Camera over the Moon with it

ILCE-7RM4 07 September 2023 by JamieandAngela (United Kingdom)

I got this Camera this month and am learning new things every day. I am starting to enjoy changing settings by touch screen, this is really grwat technology. The quality of the photos is amazing. I have very happy I got the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good lens

ILCE-7RM4A/QAP2 20 August 2023 by Rssandhu (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good customer service at Wisma atria. camera is good , still testing as hobbyist. Upgraded from ZV e10. Recommend anyone to buy with very good picture quality. attached sone pics taken in low light. Good dynamic range

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent camera - my view after 2.5 years of use.

ILCE-7RM4 23 July 2023 by Sparky F987 (United Kingdom)

This camera is not, of course, now the latest model but I don't anticipate upgrading again just yet as the M4 version is adequate to my needs just now. Firstly, about the increased pixel count: Did I feel the need for 61MPx? No. But, now that I have it, I am happy to get the benefits. Lenses that were good enough for the 42MPx A7RIII have proved perfectly adequate for the greater pixel count camera. Also, the ability to crop more than before is used and enjoyed. I have not found any significant loss of dynamic range or per-pixel quality in the newer sensor. Here are some other aspects of the A7RIV that I really appreciate * Better screen than the A7RIIII - seems larger and with greater pixel count. * I love the My Menu facility which allows up to 30 selected items from the full menu across 5 'pages'. You can also set My Menu to appear first by default when you press the Menu button. I actually use this more than the Fn button, which I also like. * I also love being able to allocate three groups of settings to the 1, 2, 3 positions of the Mode dial. I have position 1 set for action photography with shutter speed pre-set to (say) 1/1000th, aperture to F/2.8, ISO on Auto, focus mode set to C, and focus area set to subject tracking. Position 3 is set up for manual focusing at 1/00th sec, F/4, ISO 320. I can, of course, alter these shooting parameters on-the-fly using the front and rear dials (which does not alter my pre-set values). By the way, subject tracking is really good in reasonable lighting and still useful in poor lighting. I have owned each of previous three version of the A7R and have welcomed the improvements with each model.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Astonishingly good camera.

ILCE-7RM4A 19 June 2023 by Padgreen (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera just over three weeks ago, it's a fantastic camera that has totally exceeded my expectations. I bought the camera to shoot a mix of urban landscapes, street photography and street portraits. The camera doesn't get in the way, it just facilitates the pictures I want to take. The audio focus in unbelievably good. The continuous focus with tracking is really handy when taking pictures on the street. And with camera set to Eye AF priority when the camera sees a face it just locks on and focuses on their eye. The tilt rear screen is excellent and is very useful for composing pictures on the fly when you don't want someone to notice that you're taking their picture. Throughly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I'm happy

ILCE-7RM4A 18 June 2023 by Happy Jojo (United Kingdom)

In the few weeks since purchasing my Sony A7R4a I believe the camera has enabled me to up my game as a professional photographic artist. Initially I wasn't sure I could afford the upgrade from my sony a7r2 but now I believe I couldn't afford not to. Since starting photography in 1996 I have used an Olympus, Cannon, Nikon and Fuji but my current camera is my favourite.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing high resolution sensor, quality loo&feel

ILCE-7RM4 02 June 2023 by BartRijvers (United Kingdom)

I won this in an ebay auction for a fair price. Coming from Canon 6D Mark II I use a Metabones adapter for my Canon lenses but find the autofocus is slow with respect to sports kind of photo's (dog running toward me, bird in flight). I recently got my Tamron 28-200 f/2.8-5.6 which is a great small and lightweight combination. High ISO produces a similar noisy image compared to my Canon but the noise reduction seems to work much better and the high resolution provides plenty of cropping or scale-down options. I love having dials for all variables of the exposure and customizable buttons, menu and quickmenu. Downside is the limited touch functionality, having to browse the many somewhat unsorted menu's for the options I need and the lack of a fully articulating screen especially when shooting low in portrait orientation. Also dust collecting on the sensor which is always exposed is annoying. This is all compared to the Canon I was used to for the past 5 years

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Stunning image quality from a great camera

ILCE-7RM4 30 May 2023 by Peterlons (United Kingdom)

I upgraded from a A7R3 wanting the new design and grip and not really thinking about image quality. 42MP files were great from my old camera. Having used the new model now quite a lot I find the detail in the files fantastic along with the huge cropping ability very useful. The series 4 camera bodies from Sony are just fantastic whether you choose the R models or not. Well worth the upgrade.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony a7r4A

ILCE-7RM4A 23 May 2023 by Sonyphotter (United Kingdom)

My third Sony a7r now, previously had the a7r3 and the a7rIv which was stolen so a slight upgrade to the A model. 61mp suits landscape photography and other styles, a very versatile model.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So far so good

ILCE-7RM4A 18 April 2023 by Papafixit (United Kingdom)

The A7iv would be my first camera and I have second camera. I have taken the A7iv to basketball and I have got some good results, working with sport hall lighting is challenging and the fast action also requires quick focussing. The results are above expectations and I have some learning to do with the settings. I have also used on birds and with the long lens that images are fantatic in their clarity and detail which is helped with the 61mp sensor

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb camera. . focus fast and excellent picture

ILCE-7RM4A/QAP2 28 March 2023 by ArtLEE (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this 3 weeks ago. . took those photos paired with the SEL200-600mm G len. Super sharp images. Great camera and len!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

AWESOME

ILCE-7RM4A 10 March 2023 by Davian (United Kingdom)

From the Nex.to the A7 ii and now this. Its all I thought it would be and then some. The only down side Sonys poor manuals

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Upgraded frpm a7r3

ILCE-7RM4 05 December 2022 by black isle (United Kingdom)

Swapped from canon to sony. No regrets. Started with A7R3.Upgraded to A7R4a

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera

ILCE-7RM4 21 November 2022 by Gibbo57 (United Kingdom)

Only had it 3 weeks bur researched all cameras for about a year and narrowed it down to 3 cameras but it kept on creeping ahead as I researched so had to purchase it also 2 new lenses

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera which produces stunning results

ILCE-7RM4A 30 September 2022 by Simon74 (United Kingdom)

I've the camera a month or so and have managed to work out the complex menu structure - like many others I found this challenging. After 24 years with anotehr brand its taken a little time to grow familiar with the different ergonomics, but I'm very happy with this aspect now. But - please add multiple exposures!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best camera I have ever owned

ILCE-7RM4 25 September 2022 by peter Burne (United Kingdom)

Love this camera does everything I wanted it to. would give it 10 out of 10

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome camera

ILCE-7RM4A 23 September 2022 by Steven p (United Kingdom)

My first Sony camera, and I love it. Great pictures quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

SONY A7 IV RA

ILCE-7RM4A 13 August 2022 by St4v (United Kingdom)

Only 2nd week of owning this new body, I wish I had bought it before the a 9 ii. I'm loving it not got used to having to shoot a lot steadier but will get there . Really impressive camera

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great resolution and flexibility.

ILCE-7RM4 14 July 2022 by NMJ1 (United Kingdom)

Bought this just under a month ago. I had been a little concerned about the huge file sizes but that is the price you pay for fantastic resolution. This gives great flexibility to crop images and I now no longer need to buy a converter for my 200-600 zoom and no need to cope with the associated loss in maximum aperture. If smaller file sizes/ max resolution are needed, you can adjust the jped quality or swap to the aps-c mode. Low light performance is excellent having just photographed our local theatre group's dress rehearsal with no flash. It would have been nice to have retained the top left hand dials thjat I have on my A9 Mkii

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Incredible image quality

ILCE-7RM4A 14 July 2022 by Des2022 (United Kingdom)

Only used a couple of times but the quality is incredible.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony a7r4

ILCE7RM4A-B 05 July 2022 by Austin_D_C (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera in April and love it. Highly recommend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not being able to receive my lenses codes.

ILCE-7RM4A 30 June 2022 by micky2004 (United Kingdom)

I bought my camera apron a month ago registered the camera and not received my codes for future savings on lenses cash back. I did plan purchasing more lenses costing thousands but without the codes i won't be now without the codes i have already purchased the 50mm, 1;2 at 2000.00 but carnt get £100 cash back . I have had calls if sony for weeks sent emails of conformation of registration and screen shots of receipt. I aim getting tired fed up and it angers me how son can be so incompident sorting this matter out.

0

1

0

Wonderful camera

ILCE-7RM4 17 June 2022 by rolfy (United Kingdom)

Long time bird and wildlife photographer I've been able to go through the menus and set it up properly.. Still early days changing from Nikon but happy I have.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A masterpiece

ILCE-7RM4A 15 June 2022 by Rog7 (United Kingdom)

For me, this is an upgrade from the A7R3 for no other reason than to find out why everyone says it's so good. And, yes, it is. It is brilliant. With the help of a couple of You Tube videos I set up memories 1, 2 and 3 for Portraits, Sport and Landscapes and buttons C1 to C4 for most often amended items, Fn key for lesser amended items and My Menu for least often needed items. There is so much that's positive to say about this camera but I think it's all been said by others. However, two relatively minor things to watch for are: Don't set RAW images to uncompressed or you'll be filling up your SD card with 120M images! Keep a spare battery because it doesn't seem to last quite as long as it did in the A7R3.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Can’t pair with Sony.com/iem app on latest iPhone

ILCE7RM4/B 22 May 2022 by Sauris (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been trying to pair for one hour but the app needed to transfer photo and 4K video to the iPhone 13 does not work. Bad user experience for such an expensive product :(

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Stunning image quality

ILCE-7RM4A 18 April 2022 by Beardy Pete (United Kingdom)

Fantastically fast and easy to use camera. Mostly due to the major and ground breaking upgrade to the sensor. I wish my old and venerable Minolta lenses would work as well but the truth is that they do not, sad but inevitable really. Inbuilt stabilisation and image corrections produce outstanding results. Having the lock feature on the exposure compensation dial is a welcome improvements, as are the slightly larger front and rear wheels. New monitor in the sunny mode is outstanding. Biggest single problem and negative are the ergonomics and the spacing ( or rather lack of space ) between the handgrip and the lenses. THis might suit small hands, but always ends up being painful for my own hands. Do I love it ? YES Would I buy the A1 if I could afford it ? YES

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A mature product that’s come on leaps and bounds.

ILCE-7RM4A 31 March 2022 by MrTea (United Kingdom)

I bought the original A7R when it was released back in 2013/2014. Conceptually the camera was a brilliant idea but practically there were compromises. Fast forward and the 4th iteration of the A7R has matured into an incredibly practical camera. Handling is much improved, battery life is better, autofocus is very fast, finally we have touchscreen focus capability and more customisable buttons. People complain about noise but typically these are apple to oranges comparisons - downsample your photo and the noise control is actually pretty good. 3rd party AI de-noise technology makes this largely irrelevant for me. I didn’t buy this camera for the increase in resolution, I bought it for the quality of life improvements, the rest is a bonus. What I would have liked to have seen is the ability to select a sliding scale in quality for uncompressed raw’s. Hopefully this can be addressed in future firmware. Lastly removing the apps was disappointing - smooth reflections was very useful app when I didn’t have my ND filters with me. Overall I’m very happy having upgraded from the original R1 to the R2 and now the R4. It’s a revelation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A7RIV and excellent all-round choice

ILCE-7RM4A 24 March 2022 by Joaon (United Kingdom)

I bought this a few weeks ago and I am happy with it, with one notable exception. The documentation that accompanies the camera is very weak and the online manual is laid out in the most chaotic fashion (all 700 - odd pages of it). It more or less forces the user to buy a third party guide, since the camera is so configurable and powerful

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A7r4a Good Camera but it needs EXPERIENCED SETUP

ILCE-7RM4 24 March 2022 by fastphil200 (United Kingdom)

I been around cameras,from 6x9 boxcamera thru Contax/Rollei/Nikon/Canon and now my first mirrorless here.I struggled with the menu logic and setup.Yes,it's a good camera but with notable needed adjustments. 1 Please intro a reduced quality RAW size (without having to switch to aps c crop mode!! - just like Nik with two smaller size raw options! 2 Please introduce one switch that will activate movie mode. 3 Please introduce one switch to activate and deactivate liveview screen. 4 I do NOT need the screen on continuously and only really need it to automatically review my images. 5 The fact that the touch control is on and I use the evf means that the camera focuses where my nose hits the screen and not the central figure which is then out if focus. I'm used to Canon/Nik setup logic and I do believe that you should aim to standardise to this protocol and LOGIC. This will improve speed of operation and win you more sales for this otherwise good camera.Yes,I like it but it needs tweaking to get it right for the wider pro and experienced hobbyist The battery power reserve can be an issue for reportage snappers and PLEASE FIX IT SO THAT, like Nik,I CAN ACTION/deactivate LIVEVIEW FAST !! I was lucky to meet Japanese media reporters expertly set my camera up for me and without this chance meeting I would have struggled. I know that this camera can be better and I'm happy to assist in making it so.Im @fastphil200 on IG and eager to engage.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great landscape camera

ILCE-7RM4 19 March 2022 by andrew23920 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a while ago as an upgrade from an A7R2. It is an excellent camera for shooting detailed subjects on a tripod or handheld in good light. It's highly configurable and has lots of useful features. It only has two weaknesses - very poor IS and an oddly shaped grip. Even with Dual IS it can only match smaller sensor cameras with good IBIS when you use very large and expensive cameras. It's odd that it lacks features like focus stacking that are common on other cameras, so you probably would want to pair it with another camera with more features. I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best camera I’ve owned

ILCE-7RM4 19 March 2022 by Darkmarkpics (United Kingdom)

I’ve had this camera about a month now and it hands down better than my previous system (lumix) in all ways bar 1. Lumix ergonomics have the edge. But where it matters the a7R IV is just amazing. The tracking is spectacularly fast and accurate. The live view finder shows you a stunningly accurate picture. I love the custom buttons to get quick access to changes on the fly. Finally the 61mp are staggering. Zoom in to any image and the details remain sharp. Buy this camera and you won’t regret it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing camera - wildlife, birds in flight, sports

ILCE-7RM4A 20 February 2022 by Johnowildlife (United Kingdom)

This is an amazing camera for wildlife and birds in flight, especially in good light conditions but it can be a bit noisy in low light conditions or high ISO. The 60mp full frame allows you to drastically crop and still retain a quality image and you can also use the aps-c sensor and still have an amazing quality of image. When the set up is done correctly for birds in flight it will track amazingly, unfortunately it lacks real time AF bird eye shooting but there is animal and human which is able to track the body of a bird. The rear screen is clear even on a bright day and EVF is clear. There is a slight lag when initially focusing but it is superb when using continuous shooting. The build quality is sturdy, easy to handle due to size and weight. The buttons/dials are accessible and you can customise a variety of buttons to suit the style of photography. I highly recommend this model of camera for anyone wanting to upgrade their camera or purchase a new mirrorless camera for sports, wildlife, birds in flight, landscapes or general photography. Simply put - I love the Sony A7R iva especially on a bright sunny day!!

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Beast of a camera

ILCE-7RM4 06 February 2022  (United Kingdom)

I was unsure about moving from a DSLR to a smaller mirrorless camera body but once in my hands I knew I’d made the right choice. This camera is full of features and has a much higher resolution sensor than my previous camera. Have fallen in love with photography all over again.

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good update from the A7r3

ILCE-7RM4A 28 January 2022 by jadp90 (United Kingdom)

Good update from the A7r3. Faster & more responsive. Looking forward to the images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great product for Professional Photographers

ILCE-7RM4A 15 January 2022 by FidelitosPIX (United Kingdom)

Brilliant investment if you’re serious about photography; check YouTube reviews and you’ll understand why!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mind blowing good

ILCE-7RM4 13 January 2022 by TiggerP (United Kingdom)

I’ve own this for about 6 months and I’ve not yet managed to discover something it’s not good at

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Exceeds all my expectations

ILCE-7RM4A 18 December 2021 by Kev James (United Kingdom)

Superb, love this camera my go to for everything. A must for all photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

High resolution image and fast autofocus system

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 24 October 2021 by Take a step back (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a7r IV one month ago. I used my new a7r IV with new FE 200-600mm telephoto lens for bird shooting. The camera autofocus system is very fast and accurate, with 61MP high pixel cmos, I am so happy can get sharp and nice bird photos even for some small and fast flying birds.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

As expected from Sony

ILCE-7RM4A/QAP2 20 October 2021 by Earl Of Atlantis (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my 4th Alpha series and has not disappoint so far. However I think Series may be 'overcooked' with too many variants. Stick to basics with the technology and your supporters will keep coming back. Don't make cameras too complex for mass market.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Much Faster

ILCE-7RM4 18 October 2021 by gt49 (United Kingdom)

On the face of it it has about twice the resolution of the alpha 7Rmk1 but that is not the reason I bought it. The major advantage is the speed of focusing (and its accuracy).

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

'Over the moon' with my α7RIV!

ILCE-7RM4 15 October 2021 by Bruce74 (United Kingdom)

I’m ‘over the moon’ with my Sony Alpha 7RIV! The image stabilization is superb as the hand-held shot of the moon testifies. The 61.0MP sensor and incredible auto-focus performance make it a great camera for wildlife photography. With its resolving power and colour rendition the 7R4 is awesome for landscapes too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Very good

ILCE-7RM4 14 October 2021 by Bri5 (United Kingdom)

Excellent build quality ,ease of use ,touch screen would have been the finishing touch

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great results if you can find its sweet spot

ILCE-7RM4 14 October 2021 by N10CKK (United Kingdom)

I was torn between this camera and the A9ii as a wildlife photographer. I opted for this high resolution camera in order to get better results from cropping. I would say that it has taken me at least 6 months to learn how to use this camera in a way that gets the best out of it. When shooting wildlife, it needs good light levels, especially when teamed with a telephoto lens; and this means that you have to challenge all your assumptions about speeds and ISO levels and balance them in quite a narrow range for best results (I find 1/3200 and ISO around 1600 with the 200600G lens is the ideal window). Noise reduction software is therefore a must but you would be amazed at how images clean up with ISO up to 8000. When in the operating range the detail is amazing. I would love it to have better AF for birds in flight and (bizarrely) you cannot use animal eye detection on continuous shooting mode, only human eye detection. Sony need to address this and also include bird eye detection in future upgrades as with the A1 In summary, a great camera if you are a confident photographer. If you are not, better opting for the A9ii

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great Camera

ILCE-7RM4A 13 October 2021 by MikeW53 (United Kingdom)

I had the earlier A7R2 which was good but not great for action shots of aircraft. Moved up to the A7R4 which as hoped was a massive improvement in speed and the added pixel count for great cropping capability. Fully programmable options are a nice facility which helps when taking action shots. Amazing camera. Thanks Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Got to be the best camera on the market

ILCE-7RM4 13 October 2021 by Scouser56 (United Kingdom)

To coin the word one of my American colleagues uses a lot “this is truly awesome”. Picture quality far exceeds my expectations, the image stabilisation has made hand holding my default option, which is good since I do a lot of trekking and keeping things light is essential, on that note the lightness of the camera and quality lenses makes all-day treks a pleasant experience (I was a Canon DSLR and L series lens user prior to this and didn’t look forward to whole day photo shooting since the combination was extremely heavy and thus tiring. The complicated menu system aside (Sony please simplify the menu system) setting the custom buttons and the preset options makes life a lot easier to get the camera set up for a specific use (I do a lot of B&W photography so setting the no 1 to my preferred camera settings makes it easy to swap to that mode.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Stunning image quality and amazing Autofocus

ILCE-7RM4 13 October 2021 by Msp1 (United Kingdom)

A year of using this camera and it’s still a joy to use, images are breathtaking and razor sharp. The autofocus especially the eye autofocus is brilliant. Never looked back since switching from Nikon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I love this camera...

ILCE-7RM4 13 October 2021 by BKDWW (United Kingdom)

I am an absolute amateur so this amazing camera is way better than I need but it is just fabulous. Having had various Sony's over the yrs the controls were very familiar and I bought David Busch's guidebook to this camera...worth every penny...as is the camera. Beautiful piece of kit. Now saving for a new lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic, way more than I expected!

ILCE-7RM4 13 October 2021 by TMC21 (United Kingdom)

The Sony a7R4 is absolutely superb; stunning resolution & great features wrapped in camera body oozing quality & excellence. So many features I'm not sure where to start but you can read those in other reviews. For me I particularly like being able to switch to APSC mode when using my prime lenses - gives me additional 1.5 crop reach (e.g. 85mm lens becomes 127.5mm) which is really useful. The massive resolution means I can crop heavily if necessary & the results are still impressive. I'd like to be able to select the RAW file size as you can with JPEGs, not a deal breaker as it makes me more considered when shooting. Customizable buttons means my priority features are at finger tip & adding those plus other key features to the My Menu tab reduces the need to search through the menus. Size & weight is good, not overly large or heavy which makes carrying it around a doddle, grip size is just right. The camera has encouraged me to explore my photography further using the many features the camera offers & has helped me understand the intricate photographic process in doing so. Recommend spending time setting it up (there are some great tutorials on the Sony site) & revisit the functionality every so often, there's plenty to get to know on this camera & plenty to enjoy. Really pleased & impressed, thanks Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Lots of pixels

ILCE-7RM4 13 October 2021 by GeoffWil (United Kingdom)

This camera produces the clearest photos and videos so far taken with SLR cameras I have owned.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM4 13 October 2021 by SinaPro (United Kingdom)

I used this camera for more than 18 months, I am very happy with it. This camera is beast for a fair price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love this camera body

ILCE-7RM4 13 October 2021 by sjr1403 (United Kingdom)

Great camera, packed full of features.............

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony A7riii

ILCE-7RM4A 03 October 2021 by JaynCookie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My 2nd a7riiii I love this product I use both cameras professionally

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The future of Photography!

ILCE-7RM4A 01 October 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

moved over from traditional SLR systems to the newer Sony mirrorless system, exceptional image quality, and it feels good in the hand too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Still the best high resolution camera out there

ILCE-7RM4A 23 September 2021 by VdM photo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you want the absolute best image quality then you can’t go wrong with the A7R IV. Overall a 10/10. If I was being nit picky i wish you could track in animal eye AF and the high iso was slightly better but other than that a perfect camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Astounding

ILCE-7RM4 20 August 2021 by Jazzy Bizzle (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve owned the camera for a little over two months. I am astonished at its capabilities. I’ve moved from canon and everything is superior on the Sony. A quantum leap in performance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Some very good upgrades but at a price

ILCE-7RM4A 17 August 2021 by Feverstockphoto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

There are a lot of little changes to the camera that make it a worthwhile upgrade for me coming from the previous model AR3. Exposure compensation lock welcome. A decent jump in mpx is welcome but wish it had a medium Raw lossless option and less noise at the higher iso settings 3,200/6,400 upwards. It has better focusing, dual UHSII cards, better grip which if rounded would be a perfect fit for my smallish hands. Viewfinder and screen are good improvements. The pixel shift and time-lapse functions need better implementation and processed in-camera to be more useful. Having the shutter curtain down when camera is off would be helpful to keep dust out while changing lenses. Focus stacking would be handy as well. Hopefully they can bring some of these through firmware updates and keep us costumers happy and loyal.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Mind blown

ILCE-7RM4A/QAP2 15 August 2021 by pvkr (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The quality of pics and the amount of control it puts in your hands, coming from a DSLR blew me away.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic resolution

ILCE-7RM4 12 August 2021 by Stickman 1 (United Kingdom)

I purchased the Sony a7riv in May this year and have found it to be a superb camera in the quality of the results achieved. I am strictly a nature photographer using both the Sony 90mm macro and 200-600 lenses both these lenses give work well with the a7riv body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Met my photography needs !

ILCE-7RM4A/QAP2 11 August 2021 by Philip Loh (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera for birding and wildlife photography. Hope to see future improvement in the animal eye detection via firmware update. With 61MP, you get sufficient headroom for cropping and this is especially useful for bird photos. Hope Sony can release more super telephoto lens of light weight in the future so that user can pair them with this camera to experience the full capability of this A7RM4a.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not sure was it a right choice

ILCE-7RM4 09 August 2021 by Mulgersson (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not so sure I am happy about this. Well image quality is quite good. However, things seems to get quite complicated with Sony. For instance, I would like to tether it with Lightroom, but it does not work with it. Of course, I can use imaging edge, yet it does not support my laptop´s 32b system. Furthermore, Imaging Edge neither support android 6 and I can´t use it with my Samsung tablet. And I already had to buy new Godox flash trigger because Sony have decided not to use universal hot shoe. And so on... Honestly, I think I should have stayed with Canon and not to change the brand.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Outstanding image quality

ILCE-7RM4 03 August 2021 by Andy Wasley (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Moving to Sony after a decade shooting professional photography and video with a different brand. Blown away by the image quality I’m getting from the α7R IV - the sensor gives me so much space for creativity in post, with incredible dynamic range and detail. I wish I’d changed to Sony years ago.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Camera

ILCE-7RM4 29 July 2021 by Alantq12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera but you will need the best lenses to get the most out of it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great so far

ILCE-7RM4A 26 July 2021 by TGMi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first full frame digital camera having had a A6000 for the few years. So far the difference has been impressive, picture quality, auto focus speed, flexibility/ customisability and robustness. I am still finding my way around it but there is plenty of different support resources on line. Biggest learning point so far; with continuous focus tracking on, and fast burst speeds you can fill up a very expensive fast Sd card very quickly. The results are worth it though.,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Brilliant but complex

ILCE-7RM4 25 July 2021 by Greeny79 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased 2 months ago and still learning it I have a good book on it but it’s learning not to forget something when setting it up. By that time the subjects disappeared

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Excellent camera with good results

ILCE-7RM4A/QAP2 14 July 2021 by porkini (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really happy with this camera. The design is well executed and it's easy to change the main settings that you use while photographing. The eyepiece viewfinder is really good and everything you need to know is there and the clarity and resolution of the screen is fantastic. The auto focus is really good, very fast and almost always gets it right. I wish the continuous shoot could hold more shots in the write buffer as I sometimes take wildlife which can require a lot of rapid shots to get the right one though by admission, I'm shooting in full raw so am not helping myself out! The camera can be a little unforgiving in not being able to quite get the right exposure settings but the full auto mode is always there to rescue you if you can't work it out. It's as much to do with my own limitations rather than the camera as I'm new to photography. A lot of people complain about the menus and yes they are a little complex but most of the settings you only use once and the custom buttons let you make quick changes, e.g. setting continuous shooting so I don't really find it as much of a problem as the reviews say. I love the picture quality and though there is some debate whether 61mp is too much, all I can say is that I love looking at the pictures that I've taken and feel that the quality is amazing. Anything I can't do on the camera, I can do with Lightroom and some of the bad shots have turned out to look really great - artistic good fortune. Ultimately, without getting into the 61mp debate and whether it's too much - all I can say is that I'm really enjoying my camera, it's getting me outside and is letting me take some really good shots that I like to edit and look at afterwards.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

All round performance supetb

ILCE-7RM4 13 July 2021 by Jimmy one shot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

All aways had sony cameras and the A7r iv is the best by far

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0