20

4.3 based on 20 customer reviews

13
4
1
0
2
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

20 Customer Reviews

0

Solid Surround Sound System

HT-G700 31 August 2020 by Iron Hoe (United Kingdom)

This is a great solution if you want a solid surround sound system but do not have the space or budget for a multi speaker system. The surround sound effects cant compete with a full blown system but for someone like me who wanted great quality audio for music, TV and films, this bar and subwoofer combo really delivers. Dialogue is clear thanks to the centre speaker, and the subwoofer is extremely adequate for a small to medium sized room. Set up could not be simpler, its as near to plug and play as you could expect to get for this kind of system. It just require you to connect the two power cables from the soundbar and subwoofer and an optical cable. It’s as simple as that. The sound bar has a quality look that would look great with most TV’s and a discreet display that tells you what changes you are making when altering the volume or the mode. The remote is simple and easy to use but it is however sometimes difficult to tell the difference with some of the modes. All in all, I am extremely happy with the audio, with everything I listen to feeling a lot more crisp and clear while at the same time having depth and fullness. It seems to decode sounds that just simply aren't there on our TV's speakers. To summarise, its indisputably a great quality 3.1 system with surround sound processing at an affordable price and at the same time being very simple to set up. It’s an awesome replacement to TV speakers, whilst also having both Dolby Atmos and DTS X support.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

3

1

0

Minimalist, robust sound

HT-G700 27 August 2020 by Yilvel (USA)

Overall this soundbar sound great. The Dolby options sounds awesome. Definitely is an upgrade from tv speakers and fro HTC-390. My main concern is with the Sub woofer. I got them close enough but bass output does not sound. The woofer always turns on when the Soundbar is turned on but the sound does not come out, I have to click manually the link button at the rear end of it to disconnect and connect for it to sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sounds good when working

HT-G700 27 August 2020 by Zacht26 (USA)

I bought this several month ago to pair with my Sony 75” X950G because that is what I was recommended. We get it home and set it up super easy and no problems. Then a few days go buy and it will not pair to the TV and there is no sound being put out. It would switch to Tv and audio system and the would say that audio system is unavailable. We called Magnolia and they said to bring it back since it was only a week so we are now on our second system. We have still had trouble with the sound being put out to the system. It has trouble connecting off of any thing we use to watch Tv. I will have to turn the system off. Then unplug the hdmi from the sound bar then turn the tv back on and plug it back in then change it in the setting to the audio system and it only works sometimes. So I have no clue what to do but for the price it should not be messing up!!!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great sound, always the best from ages

HT-G700 23 August 2020 by Phoebe (United Kingdom)

I got it three weeks ago, never stop listening. Works like magic. Kudos!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

4

0

Impressive for what it is!

HT-G700 20 August 2020 by MJBALTIC (United Kingdom)

It was a great experience right from a start. Packaging is great, colourful and well presented. Design: Sony HT-G700 soundbar is very stylish 98cm long, with a matte grey top surface and a front metal grille. The soundbar is accompanied by a wireless subwoofer - all TOP build quality as usual. Sony is always impresses me with a quality. The bar’s height is 6.5cm, so it's perfectly fits in a front of your TV without abstracting a view. It has 2 IR passthrough transmitters on the rear, so even if it does block your TV infrared receiver, it will relay remote commands through, so Sony ticks all the boxes here. Connectivity: Set-Up process was quick and easy, thanks for included Start-up guide. This system has a wireless subwoofer, so it's the best you can imagine in terms of connectivity. It connects with a click of a button and works very well. I was impressed with technology and simplicity. Also, having Bluetooth connection on board will allow you to connect any devices like your phone or tablet and stream directly to your soundbar. 2 HDMI In and Out connections, Infra red pot (cable provided). If you have a Sony TV the ARC-TV HDMI connection will be extremely useful, as it totally integrates with your TV and works like a dream. Cinema & Virtual Engine Sound: Yes, this sound bar is at it's best for watching Movies, Netflix content or Amazon Prime, and a great companion for your Sony Bluray player. I was impressed that standing above soundbar I could hear a direct vertical sound. This system kind of replicate rear sound speakers and create virtual sound stage. The bass is great and punchy and dialogues pretty clear too - very good sound! Yes, vertical sound engine is impressive and kind of work, but not as good as dedicated vertical Atmos speakers would be. Sure, you would actually need 5 to 7 speakers to archive that. So, you get a great product for a reasonable price and Vertical Virtual Atmos sound - All-In-One. it's a great attempt from Sony and I'm impressed. Music: It's average for music, definitely not as great as for cinema, but good sound quality overall. I would suggest not to use Immersive AE feature for music and set-up auto sound. I found the sound quality much better when you let it tune itself... Practicality: It's great for smaller living spaces. It definitely will safe some space for you and provide ultimate cinema experience. Don't expect it to be on a level of High-End cinema, but it will impress you! Pros: Compact & Practical Design Great Build Quality Dolby ATMOS & DTS:X Immersive AE & Vertical Surround engine Wireless Subwoofer & Bluetooth Connectivity Cons: No dedicated Atmos height and surround speakers No Google Assistant or Amazon Alexa support

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

12

7

0

Great performer

HT-G700 17 August 2020 by Skelly (United Kingdom)

From the moment I opened the packaging and unpacked the contents, It was easy to see that just from the initial look and feel that the HT-G700 it is a quality, premium product. It is a much higher quality than I was expecting and is a significant improvement compared against my existing, but slightly old Sony Sound Bar. It also compares very favourable to a number of the brands I have looked at in the past, some of which are significantly more expensive than the HT-G700. The unit was unpacked and installed in under 15 minutes using the “Startup Guide”. My initial set-up is connecting the HT-G700 to a Sony HDR TV using a premium quality HDMI cable and another premium cable connecting directly to a Sony UHD BlueRay player. The optical connector provided is not used. (Its disappointing that HDMI cables are still not provided in the box) The HT-G700 is positioned on a TV stand and not wall mounted. This positioning did interfere with the TV remote control operation but initiating the Sound Bar IR Repeater function rectified this easily. When switched on, I was immediately impressed with the significant improvement in the sound quality comparing to my current, older Sony Sound Bar. The sound from a TV signal is improved out of all recognition. The clarity, separation and bass is really impressive. Adjusting the sound effects using the pre-sets on the remote and changing the sub volume gives even more impressive results. The “voice” button really works and makes any dialogue based programme much easier to hear. Activating the Immersive AE function transforms the sound even more, giving you a wrap around experience with far more clarity and definition. It is a highlight of the system and really does showcase the advances in the technology. The Bluetooth connectivity works well and connecting the HT-G700 to an iPhone was easy and quick. The sound quality from either my audio streaming service or my own music collection both give very impressive results either at background music level or wound up to almost full. But, press the Music sound field and the result is a significantly change to the output of sound-bar giving you a fully immersive concert like delivery. A really impressive feature for music lovers. So far so good, the Sound Bar performance from the TV is extremely impressive, but then I played a Dolby Atmos UHD BlueRay (Mission Impossible Fallout) from my Sony UHD BlueRay player connected directly via the second HDMI connector, and was just blown away by the performance of the HT-G700. The Sound Bar just came to life. Suddenly you are totally immersed in the most impressive wrap around sound giving a real cinema like experience, which from a compact 3.1 system is just amazing. The sound was such that you really did think you had multiple speakers placed around the room and the ceiling. In addition, the impressive sub handled everything that I tried with only a little distortion at max volume. Equally, the Sound Bar also handled everything I tried and is really impressive at both low and high volumes. In conclusion, highlights include premium build quality, overall general performance, remarkably impressive UHD BlueRay Dolby Atmos performance and the price. I have a couple of minor criticisms which are the remote control included just feels a bit disappointing as it’s not quite the same premium build quality, the technically biased instruction manual is quite difficult to understand if you don’t have a technical background and, finally, the lack of HDMI cables.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

4

5

0

Big sound, big piece of kit

HT-G700 16 August 2020 by Duncan (United Kingdom)

I was sceptical if the HT-G700 could improve the experience of watching and listening to TV as I own a Sony Bravia KD-55AF9 which has the best sound I have ever heard from a flat screen TV. However I was wrong as it does improve it. Firstly, the box is quite large once you open it you are greeted with a large sub-woofer, the sound bar, remote control, and relevant wiring (no HDMI cable supplied) The first picture you can see is with the sound-bar in front of my tv cabinet as it is too big to fit in. Also, as my TV has almost no edge putting it in front of the TV blocks the lower 7 centimetres of the screen. You can put it behind the screen, but this does affect the projection of sound from the bar. The sub-woofer is also large but can be positioned behind the cabinet with no reduction in the bass effect. I would suggest checking the dimensions before purchase to ensure it will fit. You can feel by the weight the quality of both components that they are going to be good and the external finish is very high. Set up is simple enough with the sub-woofer automatically connecting to the sound bar. You have four basic settings of sound effect, standard, auto sound, music, and cinema. All give different and distinctive sounds and the difference is very discernible. Then you have a button called voice which enhances the sounds of speaking superbly. Even with the bass bin turned up to a high level this setting allows the speech to be heard with superb clarity. My biggest criticism of other system I have owned is that the voice level is always quite poor compared to other sounds The immersive AE again enhances the sound and is extremely pronounced in action movies. It does give a small feeling of true surround sound but does not give the full effect of having separate speakers behind where you sit. Having said that the sound quality is brilliant. The separate sub- woofer control is a nice touch so if you love your bass turn it up to full and if not, you can select the level. If you turn it up to full you may wish to warn your neighbours first though as the bass is tremendous !! The night button enhances clear sound at low volume, but I could not tell the difference significantly. The remote control is small and does what it needs to do and is simple enough to understand for an amateur like me. If you are lucky to have a TV with quality sound like I have then this will enhance your viewing and listening experience by around 30-40% I would say. However, if you have a cheaper TV with the normal poor quality speakers this will enhance your experience by 100% it is that good. I would definitely recommend it to anybody but just be aware what a big piece of kit this is before buying it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

6

0

Fabulous Sound Bar

HT-G700 16 August 2020 by Graham35 (United Kingdom)

This sound bar is a quality piece of equipment both in design, build and also the sounds that it reproduces. When unboxing, it was great to see that everything I needed for my set up was included (cables / batteries etc) to get you up and running straight away. The sound bar and sub woofer units are beautifully designed and would compliment any set up. I was a bit disappointed with the remote unit that was supplied, although very well laid out and functional I felt it was a bit "plasticky" and didn't match the quality and the feel of the sound bar or the sub woofer units. The instructions were really simple to understand with easy set up guides included. All the connection ports were well and easily identified on the sound bar and I was set up in no time. Again using the easy to follow instructions switching on and running through the various features of the new sound bar was really straightforward. This sound bar has a number of sound effects built in dependant upon what type of program you are watching e.g Music, cinema etc and that make a subtle but effective difference to the sound output that really does compliment the viewing experience. In terms of the sound features the Immersive AE is in my opinion by far the best feature. With this switched on the room is filled with even more quality sound from different angles, giving you that real cinematic experience. The all round quality of the sound that is produced by this sound bar is excellent, but the clarity of the voice and dialogue that comes through really is crystal clear, genuinely the best I have heard. The sound bar has lots of features that enable it to integrate seamlessly with your audio /visual system. I connected it to a bluetooth player and streamed music from the music player to the sound bar. I did this literally in seconds with the sound bar being found and connected straight away. This sound bar is a fantastic addition to my entertainment system, with easy set up and use. The quality of the sound is superb for any type of viewing, for me the cinematic experience using the immersive surround experience together with the clarity of the voice dialog is second to none. Overall a really great sound system which I look forward to using for a long time to come and would have no hesitation in recommending to a friend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

3

6

0

Superb Sound Quality

HT-G700 16 August 2020 by Mark26 (United Kingdom)

It was so easy to set up this Sony Soundbar and Subwoofer. Within 5 minutes of opening the box and checking the instructions, I had it connected to my TV and was exploring the sound options. The Soundbar immediately linked wirelessly to the Subwoofer. It is well built and looks, sleek and smart in my living room. Most importantly, it brings my TV to life as with the Immersive Audio Enhancement it feels as if you are right in the action as the clear sound engulfs you. With sound options to suit different types of TV programmes and films it covers everything I need; and when I'm not watching TV, it's now my speaker of choice for playing music via it's bluetooth connection. Superb sound quality and so easy to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

4

9

0

A must have addition to any home entertainment.

HT-G700 15 August 2020 by Rocky (United Kingdom)

A 100% improvement to my viewing pleasure; the HT-G700 takes you to another world. Review of Sony HT-G700 soundbar Disclaimer: The Sony Corporation is not paying me for this review, nor is it influencing my opinion. Reviewed over a ten-day period. The range covered: poetry, speeches, old films with limited special effects, modern films with loud soundtracks, classical music, popular music, TV soaps, TV films news broadcasts, DVDs played from a DVD player, Dolby Atmos demo videos, 4K and 8K demos. My TV is not 4K or 8K so I could not benefit from the Immersive Audio function, but this did not lessen my pleasure of the Dolby soundtracks. I am testing the soundbar with a Panasonic TV; this confirms that the HT-G700 will enhance any TV output, so don’t panic if you have another make of TV, this soundbar will work seamlessly with it Concept: TV sets are very thin therefore the speakers in them are very thin, so they are unable to produce the quality of sound to match the quality of the picture. The remedy is to install a soundbar; but which one? Read on. Unboxing Full marks to Sony for all their packaging to be recyclable. The soundbar weighs about half a stone. Inspection showed that is is a premium product. Well made and balanced with a mat black finish which will not clash with any other equipment. The join between the case and the mesh is uniform, all edges and corners are smooth, showing good design and manufacture. The S/W is a black affair weighing just over a stone. Careful handling is needed due to its weight and all edges and corners being very sharp. Set up Forget the Sony picture; it was most likely taken in a studio setting and probably does not equate to any domestic setup. The picture is misleading by not showing the supply cable which the (S/W) requires, also the S/W will not fit flush to the wall as the supply cable goes in the back and requires at least six inches of clearance so as not to damage the connection. The soundbar goes in front of and below the TV. The S/W position is not critical, so can be positioned to suit your seating arrangement and furniture layout. I placed my S/W centrally in front of the TV and soundbar. Bear in mind that in a normal speaker, the subwoofer is in the same cabinet and underneath the mid-range and treble cone. Take into account the type of floor; mine is floorboards covered with underlay and carpet. Underneath my S/W will be solid joists and spaces between the joists. To mitigate vibration between the S/W and the floor, I have fitted sound damping feet; these also allow a small space beneath the S/W to allow it to disseminate sound from all its surfaces. At full blast, the S/W cabinet vibrates only slightly, proving that the speaker cones are well-damped, but also showing the benefit of sound damping feet. Connections are: HDMI cable (not supplied) and an optical cable (supplied) between the bar and the TV and a voltage supply to the rear of the S/W. The optical cable is like a piece of spring steel and has a mind of its own. Match the optical cable plug by the curved surface on the cable and socket, do not just do it by trial and error and risk damaging the plug or socket. I fitted a high-quality HDMI cable and joined a film streaming supplier so as to test as many films as I could. Match sound to picture The essential requirement for a soundbar is that the sound and picture are precisely coordinated; the HT-G700 achieves this perfectly. The speaker arrangement ensures you experience the pleasure of surround sound. Films I have played all types of films, as that is probably when the HT-G700 will be most often used to its best advantage. The HT-G700 uplifts all my DVD’s when playing them from my DVD player. Old films with limited special effects (e.g.: Casablanca) have their dialogue improved by the crystal clear central speaker Music videos I have tested the HT-G700 with all aspects of music, so I included opera. My opinion of opera was that it is music for people who don’t like music. I’m glad I did play some opera, as it has changed my opinion dramatically, I have become a fan of some of it (but not all). The arias from Madam Butterfly, the Flower Duet from Lakme, and Nessun Dorma, are all worth a listen. Makes no difference who the orchestra or singers are; they are all totally professional. The songs all mostly sung in Italian, but do not be tempted to use subtitles; the music is superb, but the lyrics are laughable. Old recordings of popular songs are played to today’s standards and probably sound better than they did when played back on record players in use years ago. Overall sound quality is excellent. Voice Male voice: Richard Burton gives a perfect demonstration of the HT-G700’s ability to bring out the best of the spoken word. Play a clip of him giving his ‘To be or not to be’ monologue; and as Henry the Fifth giving his Saint Crispin day speech (apologies to any French reader). Female voice: The ultimate female voice is anything by Tara Fitzgerald. She and the HT-G700 complement each other beautifully and bring out the best in both. Sound effects I played all of the demo pieces available: thunder and lightning, a walk in the forest, surf, or jet planes taking off, the reproduction is totally realistic. A film with Dolby Atmos has a terrific soundtrack, so be ready with the remote control to raise the sound when there is dialogue and lower it again to suit the sound effects output. Remote control The remote control is a slim device, well laid out with clear engraving. It pays to test all the different choices when playing anything on the TV. Additional benefit My wife’s idea of compensating for her diminished hearing is to play everything loud, causing me a great deal of discomfort. The HT-G700 makes it possible to hear the sound at much lower levels thanks to its crystal clear central voice and surround sound, thereby improving marital harmony. Minor quibbles: Misleading picture, the instruction book could be bigger, the text is very small None of these quibbles affect the performance of HT-G700. Summary A treat for the ears, and a great addition to the viewing pleasure; a must-have for anyone wanting to improve their home entertainment. If I have influenced anyone to buy this, then I have done them a great service.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

11

0

very good sound

HT-G700 13 August 2020 by mazda (United Kingdom)

Positives: From opening the box, to final setup was so easy, virtually plug and play, it’s that easy. The sound from the soundbar is detailed and gives the impression of a very large soundstage, whilst giving a very good Atmos surround sound experience. The sound quality is very good, bright, but not harsh, transition from soundbar to subwoofer is seamless, and provides a full and powerful sound. The subwoofer is very easy to setup and like the soundbar plug and play. The sound from the subwoofer is powerful and controlled, producing deep controlled bass lines. Watching action movies is so good, with huge detailed sound, almost like being there. Negative: none Overall: Very impressed with the build quality, and sound, brilliant, well done Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

7

0

Great Sound and Simple Operation

HT-G700 12 August 2020 by Craigy1631 (United Kingdom)

Soundbar and subwoofer arrived in a well protected box and packing. For me the first proof point of any new tech is my ability to get it up and running without reference to any user manuals. Pleased to say that two power cables and one hdmi connector later and the soundbar was up and running. The supplied optical cable would have done the job but my preference is hdmi. Bluetooth TV connection is also a useful option. My intention is to use for both TV and music so next up was Bluetooth mobile phone connection. Again this worked first time and I really liked the way the soundbar display showed the make/model of my phone to avoid confusion. Streaming my favourite tunes in HD greatly exceeded expectations as soundbars often struggle with music quality. 50% volume filled a medium sized room with clarity and depth. If required the different speakers and sub can be adjusted independently but I have to say the default options sound right to me. The difference between the TV native speakers and the new soundbar is remarkable. For me the speech clarity on basic programming is exceptionally good. The volume can be adjusted using the soundbar or TV remote for flexibility. With Dolby blockbusters the surround sound comes into its own. The multichannel recordings are well handled and deliver a really engaging atmosphere. At present I have limited access to Dolby Atmos content however what I have gives a noticeablely wider soudstage which I was skeptical would be the case. Overall this is a high quality soundbar which will significantly enhance your listening for both TV and music. While not an issue for me both the bar and sub are aesthetically pleasing if using in your main living room.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

8

0

Great

HT-G700 10 August 2020 by Krejzi_manki (USA)

For gaming and movies GREAT, for music: not so great, it sounds the same as every other "cheaper" soundbar.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

SONY ONLY

HTG700 02 August 2020 by Allstr2love (USA)

I recently bought a NEW Sony XBR65X900H TV. I've done my due diligence and research and decided to get the Sony because I wanted a tv with ATSC 3.0 ready to go.Upon purchase of my new tv, I come to find out it's not compatible with my existing soundbar that had. I was looking already to upgrade my soundbar too when I bought my tv. So I went with an ATMOS soundbar. My tv works with sony only products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Great sound

HT-G700 31 July 2020 by MarvelManiac (USA)

Had it for two weeks, bass is great for my apartment, the sound really fills the room and feels like you are really immersed when watching a movie. Watching Marvel movies are awesome! Maybe doesn’t have the best “surround sound” but good enough for me as I do not have enough room for extra speakers in my living room. Definitely a better upgrade over my LG C9 Tv speakers! Definitely recommend you getting this especially for this price I think It’s a great sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Difficult to use with Sony TV

HT-G700 30 July 2020 by disappointed is me (USA)

I bought this sound bar two weeks ago. The remote is difficult to use and the instructions are very poor and hard to follow. I would like to adjust the bass, but cannot

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

It has a glitch

HT-G700 30 July 2020 by AR415 (USA)

Sound turns off for no reason while watching movies.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

nice sound for the price!

HTG700 02 July 2020 by criovoly (USA)

I like it, is my first soundbar and so far I do not have complaints!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Awesome Sound

HT-G700 28 June 2020 by Sonyfamily56 (USA)

I bought this over a week ago and it sounds incredible. It was a little tough to get my Sony tv sound settings to align with the sound bar. However there once these were tweaked the sound came though like a movie.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

3

0

Amazing Sound!

HT-G700 01 June 2020 by Tarantulo (USA)

Lots of different sound options. Great sound quality for movies, music or just listening to audiobooks. Everything works, and it sounds great. I would like to say yes, Sony HT-G700 was the right choice for me. If you do not have enough space for rear speakers, have tall ceilings and you want to experience Dolby Atmos. This soundbar is terrific. Easy to control. All the latest features.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

12