106

4.2 based on 106 customer reviews

58
25
14
3
6
Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Good but not great

HT-S40R 27 March 2023 by SteveB48 (United Kingdom)

Bought this largely because my wife is hard of hearing and struggled to understand dialogue in films, etc. The system is very simple to install, even having colour-coded leads and terminals. Although the sound is much better than the integral speakers in our Sony tv, it isn’t clearer for speech and is actually worse for spoken programmes, having no adjustment available except pre-set buttons for cinema, voice, music etc. Also there’s no fade control front/rear. The music setting shows the difference between this type of system and a true hi fi, having good mid-high frequencies but rather boomy frequency selective bass. The cinema setting is the best, when watching films on streaming services, giving good spatial effect. Not a bad system all round but better in smaller houses.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sounded Great for a Month

HTS40R 17 August 2022 by Drew515 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The system sounded great, but now the rear speakers pop. I checked the connection and rebooted the system. Anyone have any idea about a warranty? How do I get working stuff?

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

8

0

106 Customer Reviews

0

Great quality product with a strong sound

HT-S40R 22 March 2024 by Anis Sound Expert (United Kingdom)

Excellent system with a good robust build and feel. Great range sound levels from the deep bass to the high end treble. Easy to set up too.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointed

HT-S40R//Z SP1 12 March 2024 by Rafiuddin (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for about 1.5 months ago and i'm already hearing crackling and popping sounds from the surround speakers, sounds sometimes disappears for a second. Bought a brand new Sony with confidence but ended up disappointed. Now I have to lug the entire system to a service centre, bery inconvenient given how many components there are and the size of them.

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Missing high frequencies

HT-S40R 08 March 2024 by gajdosma (United Kingdom)

Sound is without high frequencies - treble. I hear sometimes cracking in rear speakes.

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome Sound

HTS40R 01 March 2024 by Tullkan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wanted Big sound with a small budget....This is exactly what needed. Thanks Sony !!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not worth the Money

HT-S40R 08 February 2024 by KS648 (United Kingdom)

The instructions only cover the basics and miss out some very important settings. Support is little more than useless; they just send you a copy of the manual. For the money I would expect a far better quality product

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Not met my expectations

HT-S40R 06 February 2024 by Smiler37 (United Kingdom)

I have bought lots of Sony products over the years ..... this was a big mistake. I have an LG SH3B 2.1 soundbar, wanted to upgrade to 5.1, neat and compact ... Arrived next day from Sony, unpacked, looked great, easy to set up that's where my joy ended ! The 3 ch sound bar is cheap n nasty, sound is thin and you have to crank it to get any volume, then the distortion is evident. The sub has as much power as a wet lettuce. I thought i'll give it the benefit of the doubt, but alas, it is pants !!! My LG 2.1 is richer and more powerful at 300w even though it's only 2.1 ! The pic is to prove i had it, and gladly sent it back ! Sony Customer Care is spot on i have to say.

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Terrible length warranty

HT-S40R 05 February 2024 by Coggdave (United Kingdom)

Sony only guarantee this for a year, showing how little faith in this sounds bar I found our this to my cost when the Hdmi connection failed, leaving me an expensive repair at a 'Jack of all trades' establishment..who would rather repair washing machines.... Luckily enough I have my expensive Sony oled TV insured elsewhere....this company I know to be reliable unlike Sony

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great Upgrade

HT-S40R 05 February 2024 by Paul12344321 (United Kingdom)

So far so good. It's a vast upgrade to my old blu-ray Sony system, which was over 10 years old. SEtup is easy and I love the power going to the sub.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not a Bad Buy

HT-S40R 29 January 2024 by K648 (United Kingdom)

The sound controls are little more than useless; the one that changes most is CINEMA, but it is the colour rather thans sound that changes. It would be better to allow the user the ability to vary the sound to their requirement rather than engineers/designers.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Happy with my Sony products.

HTS40R 20 January 2024 by Gordon 75 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I think most of my very positive reviews.are included below. Thank You Sony!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So far so Good.

HT-S40R 12 January 2024 by AmaRo Ronald (United Kingdom)

My first Sony product. Not disappointed, especially with the surround sound. It fills our living room and perfectly separates sounds and instruments, no matter what you're listening to. It's super easy to assemble and delivers right on point. The user and assembly manuals were very helpful and still are whenever I need a reference. The only thing that has still failed is updating it to the latest software. Everything else is 100%. NEXT UP: Getting myself a BRAVIA, 4K, or 8K, 65".

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent quality sound, and value for money

HT-S40R 06 January 2024 by Gadget001 (United Kingdom)

Our TV failed after serving us for 13 years, we purchased a much bigger TV, with android TV built in. Our old surround sound system was also dated, and required constant input from a remote, so with a smart TV, with arc, earc, cec compatible, the surround sound system we had was not up to the job. So after extensive searching, and gathering of information I had whittled it down to just 3 units, using a comparison option on a major retailer site I was able to reduce the list to one. The Sony ht-s40r was exactly what I needed, had all the features I needed, and more, along with a great option menu it can be tuned to suit the room, with a nearly wireless setup for the rear speakers it reduces the number of wires running round the room. After initial setup I tried a few different sources to check out the sound, including a signal generator, with this system able to produce sounds from as low as 10hz and all the way up it makes whatever you are listening to fill the room with sound, the front and center sound bar has a great range of frequency, and the sound is being broadcast wide from the speaker setup, so the sounds appear to come from all around the room, listening to special effects a train sounded as though it drove through my room, from right to left, through the center. And all backed up by the rumble from the sub, which is clear and responsive, and handles deep sounds effortlessly, being able to feel the rumble, as well as hearing it is incredible. All in all I would thoroughly recommend this speaker system, setup was easy, and along with clear instructions on the Sony website and setup manual, it didn't take long to get the sound I wanted. Watching a movie is so immersive, and is a vast improvement from my old system, along with the massive power levels it can be used to pump music over big distances, 600w output is probably not necessary, but is nice. The ability to adjust the output to rear speakers to match distance from listening position is easy to get the sound balanced. Arc , earc, works flawlessly, and means I don't need the remote to hand all the time, as it switches on and off with the tv. my only comments for Sony would be to make it so the standby time could be adjusted, rather than just on or off, the time is fairly short before it powers off, if you pause what you are watching for a period of time, it goes into standby, it will not automatically come back on when the program is resumed, at which point you will need to switch it back on using the remote, I have switched my automatic standby off, it still goes on and off with the tv, but will remain on while the program is in standby. And the other comment would be to supply either as an option, or in the kit extention leads for the rear speakers, I have a power supply nearer one side than the other, so the cable is too long one side, and very short the other side, obviously adapting the cables by shortening one and adding it to the other would fix the problem, but would also invalidate the warranty, when asked my reply from Sony, was not to use after market cables as this would invalidate the warranty, and cutting the cables would also invalidate the warranty, so catch 22, I expect I will ask the question again and see if I get an answer which relates to the original problem, I didn't ask about after market cables, but did they do an extension cable. Other than these minor issues I am more than happy with my purchase, my old system was adapted to fit the room, and wire extended, but had push fit connections on the speakers, so I purchased a roll of high grade speaker cable and replaced them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

HT-S40R soundbar

HT-S40R//Z SP1 05 January 2024 by Cre3dy (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the system last month and like it very much. It was connected to Sony TV. Overall, the sound quality is great. The sound is clear and bass is good. However, it is only supplied with type C plug (EU). Also, volume level for the sound system need to be tuned reasonably high in comparison to TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Powerful little kit

HT-S40R 01 January 2024 by Kariki (United Kingdom)

Powerful for the price. easy to install, makes movies more enjoyable to watch.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bad quality

HT-S40R 25 December 2023  (United Kingdom)

Bad quality Bluetooth does not work well and the sound disconnects and reconnects

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great device

HT-S40R 17 December 2023 by kris241980 (United Kingdom)

Very good device, quality sound .I bought two weeks ago and I recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great system with a few small letdowns

HT-S40R 28 September 2023 by kenny ok (United Kingdom)

Amazing sound from this sound system, ive had the ht-rt3 for a few years. The drawbacks are it says wireless rear speakers and they have wires coming from them to a control box, which is a little off putting. It`s great not to have to run wires round to the sub but now i have to find a plug socket behind me and hide a control box and the wires from the speakers which i found was harder than hiding two small wires from my original system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

excellent sound and simple setup for cheap price

HT-S40R 27 September 2023 by mylo78 (United Kingdom)

replaced 8year old samsung soundbar and sub with 3d surround after the motherboard fried which was excellent for sound but this sony 5.1 wireless Bluetooth centre/l/r rear setup is another level, helicopters, police cars sound like they are outside the frontroom window and my gaming setup has another level of immersion because of all the extra sound effects that are now present all around, it has some hidden sttings also to adjust the distance and volume level of rear speakers to accommodate small medium and large sized living rooms

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice

HT-S40R 22 September 2023 by mmichalowicz (United Kingdom)

Nice home cinema system. Very easy to set up. Sound quality is great, as expected. One thing that could have been improved/implemented is front/back balance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Not what i was expecting

HT-S40R 28 August 2023 by Lee4J (United Kingdom)

This 5.1 soundbar was purchased to replace a 2.1 Creative Stage soundbar. I am so disapointed in the quality, particularly when voice is concerned in movies. The sound is tinny and lacks the depth and bass I got from the Creative soundbar - which was 1/3 of the cost. And yes, i have tried all the adjustments - different sounds setting such as 'cinema', 'standard', etc... even the surround speaker setting such as distance and levels (i understand these dont broadcast the voice in 5.1 setting). The problem is that in the 5.1 input, only the centre speaker is used at some points and the speaker is very weak. I have also got the sub woofer set at max +12 - and it does not match the Creative Stage it replaced. As another reviewer highlighted, this system is missing indepentent bass and treble settings. I have found a way around it - by switching the TV output from 'multi channel' (i.e. 5.1) to 'stereo' only (i.e. 2 channel) - and selecting 'multi-speaker' setting to on (with this setting, when a 2 channel input is detected,the HT-S40R replicates the left and right on the rear speakers). This way, the vocals in a movie or TV prgram has something similar to the bass and depth i was used to from the Creative soundbar - but i have obviously lost the 5 channel surround sound. Very disapointed. Pretty much all i ahve gained from the £80 creative stage 2.1 soundbar it replaced is the wireless rear speakers - but just repliating the left / right channel in stereo mode. It was the wireless rear speaers and cost that drew me to this product - i shoud have known it would not be good for the price. And i am still not convinced it sounds any better than the Creative cheap soundbar. Come on Sony, this is poor. I was expecting so much more. And please dont reply with any comments about using the buttons for different sound modes or adjusting the subwoofer volume, that would be rubbing salt in the wound. I have been through every setting - even checked i had the latest firmware...(and i have a HDMI 2.0 with Ethernet cable using HDMI ARC - which works fine by the way with my Phillips TV)

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

6

4

0

Great for a guest bedroom.

HTS40R 21 August 2023 by Djdmenis (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you're looking for basic 5.1 surround sound then this is your system. Most people on the a budget or people not into pure high quality digital processed sound will be okay with this system, But if you have a home theater like I do, and have been blessed and spoiled, then this system is mediocre at best. Sony makes quality products, but at $299 you get what you pay for.

Sound Quality

Fair

Performance

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Solid, Reliable Quality Sound.

HT-S40R 16 July 2023 by DonQ73 (United Kingdom)

I have been using the soundbar fro a few weeks now and as my title says nit has performed solidly, is very reliable and has provided quality sound. I have strea,med used tv sound and it has been crisp and clear and all at a very reasonable price.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A decent home theater system for the price

HTS40R 11 June 2023 by Steve SS (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The system has an elegant physical design and it fits well in my room with my 55" TV. The rear speakers are wired to a wireless receiver, which is very practical. The unit was easy to setup. All wires were marked properly and the system works flawlessly. My only complaint is that on the product page, it says that I can change the settings by using the Sony Music Center App, but in fact this model is not supported by the app and it won't connect to it. Misleading information.

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good but not great

HT-S40R 27 March 2023 by SteveB48 (United Kingdom)

Bought this largely because my wife is hard of hearing and struggled to understand dialogue in films, etc. The system is very simple to install, even having colour-coded leads and terminals. Although the sound is much better than the integral speakers in our Sony tv, it isn’t clearer for speech and is actually worse for spoken programmes, having no adjustment available except pre-set buttons for cinema, voice, music etc. Also there’s no fade control front/rear. The music setting shows the difference between this type of system and a true hi fi, having good mid-high frequencies but rather boomy frequency selective bass. The cinema setting is the best, when watching films on streaming services, giving good spatial effect. Not a bad system all round but better in smaller houses.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great

HT-S40R 24 March 2023 by Luke Skywalker (United Kingdom)

The improvement was immediate from the dull tv speakers to sharp sound is impressive. Set up is so easy 15 minutes, the rear speakers make a world of difference put on Starwars first it's like having a lightsaber at your ear.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sony high standard

HT-S40R 01 March 2023 by Oldman54 (United Kingdom)

The usual High Sony standard as you would expect from this company

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

Budget Sound Bar System

HTS40R 14 February 2023 by nseney (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few months ago because rearranging my living room prevented adding my Dolby 5.1 THX speaker system. I wanted something inexpensive to fit within the new set up and try out a sound bar. The system has acceptable sound quality, but doesn't really deliver a surround sound experience with the narrow front sound bar. My biggest complaint is that the wireless connection between the front and rear system is often interrupted either dropping the rear speakers or, worse, causing a loud chirp sound through the rears.

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

HT S40R

HT-S40R//Z SP1 31 January 2023 by Redone01 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this on 31 Dec 22 and I’m satisfied with the system as it given the sound tt I required for a 3rm flat.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great piece of kit

HT-S40R 23 January 2023 by Toonbilly (United Kingdom)

Hardest part of fitting it and setting up was unboxing it. Simple set up as all connections are colour coded

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Amazing

HT-S40R 03 January 2023 by 87Lee87 (United Kingdom)

Bought this item yesterday and it's the best sound system I have ever purchased, easy to setup to which I didn't think it would be, highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

4

0

Not truly wireless but sounds good

HTS40R 24 December 2022 by Meme2014 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound is good. Every bit as good as Klipsch 5.1 650 watt that quit working...twice. Setup easy. Bummed that we missed it's ALMOST wireless...2 side speakers have obnoxious black wires that connect to the WIRELESS module. Our mistake. Maybe don't show the picture of speakers hanging on wall with NO wires!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0