32

4.1 based on 32 customer reviews

15
9
5
1
2
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Changes my misconception that small equals poor.

SRS-XB12 11 May 2019 by DazmoG (United Kingdom)

Firstly I have to declare that I'm a big speaker audiophile, and thought I had no use for a prortable speaker, but this changed very quickly when I came across this speaker. The speaker is small, but the size to weight ratio on picking up the box was encouraging. Weighing in around 250 grams for a cylindrical unit 75mm in diameter and standing 85mm tall (Approx) it suggested that quality componentry had been used, but the unit remaining light enough to be truly portable. The speaker is well boxed as you would expect from Sony, with instruction books and setup instructions greeting the new owner on opening. Inside the box was the speaker and the now fairly industry standard USB charging lead. I have multiple USB mains adaptors so finding a charging source was no issue, however this may not be the case for all purchasors. The unit has inbuilt re-chargable batteries which were fully charged in circa 180mins, giving 16hrs of use according to Sony. The unit is also claimed to be IP67 resistant to dust and water such that the unit can be safely dropped in water and survive. Certainly the exterior tactile rubber reinforces this capability and offers an easily held surface whilst protecting from minor impacts. Closer inspection revealed in my opinion a high quality of manufacture with no weak areas. Buttons for: on/off, Volume up/down, multi function button for play/pause/rewind etc, and Add, form depressable buttons in the control area of the outer rubber. Those familiar with the multi purpose button on headphones will immediately know what the various prods on the multi button will do. The add button allows for a second speaker to be added to form a stereo pair. The buttons are marked according to function by bold symbols moulded into the rubber casing, they repond with a positive click but the black symbols on the black rubber background are not easily identified by eye, in low light. That said with only four buttons to remember the purpose of, this isnt likely to be a problem. The unit paired via bluetooth quickly and promptly with my telephone, there is also a socket for audio in via a 3.5mm audio jack behind a rubber sealed panel alongside the charging port. The fist thing to note is the range at which it will work. Indoors most items struggle with indoor walls but this speaker had no trouble where other equipment gave up the ghost. Operation of the onboard buttons were quick and snappy with the phone reacting quickly. The sound from such a small unit was jaw dropping, not music concert pressure bass but sufficient to wonder how it was producing it. Experimentation on different surfaces were all good, but on a firm bit of wood or a table the speaker was capable of passing low frequencies through the base of the unit to use the resonance of the surface. This seems to be assisted by the rubber ring on the units base which secures the unit on the surface, this also protects the surface from scratches. With the speaker at ear level on a good surface it was easily bookshelf speaker quality with tight punchy bass and crisp highs. This speaker has re-educated my old beleifs that a small unit equals poor sound. Certainly the unit is far superior than the telephones hands free mode. The most impressive feature to me however was that the unit has an inbuilt microphone. Voice commands to the telephones virtual assistant were faultless. The microphone also lends itself to conference calls, with the unit in the middle of a table of four people, the dialogue with the the users dialled up was vastly better than the telephones hands free, with nobody asking for the conversation to be repeated. This suggests that the unit can capture and transmit sound clearly to all sat at the table and through the cell network. With so many uses and portability this is now a tech must have in my wish list. Simply Awesome.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Not working

SRS-XB12 20 October 2019 by Eugene28664 (United Kingdom)

I was happy with the item until I recharged it. After that I couldn't turn it on. I just keep getting the rapid flashing orange light. I emailed your help centre who responded by saying an assistant would call me. I still haven't received a call. This is over two weeks ago.

2

1

40 Customer Reviews

0

Nice and Compact

SRSXB12/B 05 December 2019 by easyjet_29 (USA)

Music is clear. Love the feature that you can hear & communicate when Bluetooth with a cell phone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A small speaker with a really big sound.

SRS-XB12 15 November 2019 by Toots3D (United Kingdom)

A friend of mine has the XB10 and I was impressed with that. A great sound from a small speaker. As the XB12 was only a few pounds more, I purchased it. I am very glad I did. The sound from it is extraordinary. Very punchy bass and clear middle / high notes. I do have a lot of Sony products in my home and they never fail to impress. If you want a small speaker for convenience, then buy yourself a bargain. The Sony XB12 , a small speaker with a very big sound. Move over JBL.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Sound

SRS-XB12 12 November 2019 by Big Ratt (USA)

Bought this to replace Mini jam Box that got wet and failed.This is speaker is perfect for streaming music, is portable and WATERPROOF. I love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small package, quality sound

SRSXB12/R 10 November 2019 by Plem1234 (USA)

The sound and volume blew my mind when I heard it for the first given the size of this product! Impressed by Sony! Would recommend to friends for cost effective Bluetooth speaker for everyday use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A great exprience

SRS-XB12 04 November 2019 by Navid1m (USA)

I think that from eternity to forever "Sony" is the best in the world.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact & Great sound

SRS-XB12/LC E 24 October 2019 by billythl60 (Singapore)

For its size this compact speaker perform very well. Bass is solid, good mobility can bring along Everywhere. Highly recommended for its class

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not working

SRS-XB12 20 October 2019 by Eugene28664 (United Kingdom)

I was happy with the item until I recharged it. After that I couldn't turn it on. I just keep getting the rapid flashing orange light. I emailed your help centre who responded by saying an assistant would call me. I still haven't received a call. This is over two weeks ago.

2

1

0

Not a good product

SRS-XB12/VC E 06 October 2019 by Raxit (Singapore)

The sound is bass all the time and can not use this product more than 15 min. Its not up to the mark of Sony product.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

SRS-XB!2 Has The Bass!

SRSXB12/B 14 September 2019 by Dcarroll (USA)

Purchased 9/13/19 and I love the sound quality. I purchased for use in the shower. I'll hang it on the supply tube behind the shower of water. I am impressed with the base response.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great as a travel companion

SRS-XB12 07 September 2019 by Joolsie53 (United Kingdom)

Really useful as a travelling companion and a stay at home buddy - this is my second one as I couldn't find a replacement USB charge cable (the one I bought on EBay had a different fitting) - be good to know if you supply spare cables - especially longer ones?!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Change request

SRS-XB12 04 September 2019 by Highfalutin (United Kingdom)

Please change the software to allow me to change the Bluetooth name of the units as I have more than one

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Beyond my expectations!

SRSXB12/B 02 September 2019 by Printman (USA)

I live in an area with bad FM radio reception, so I got the Sony Extra Bass Wireless Speaker. Easy to Bluetooth to my Android phone. All I can say is WOW!!!!! This speaker for its size and low price is a super must have item!! Now I can listen to my classic rock FM radio stations while in my bathroom or garage. I'd give 10 stars if available.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality build; Good sound

SRSXB12/B 29 August 2019 by George23456 (USA)

Very nice construction and even better sound. I was worried when I opened it that the sound wouldn't be the best due to the speaker only being on the top but sound fills the room. Highly recommend. Set up took seconds unlike some BT speakers where you have to play around with the pair button for a minute.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little speaker

SRS-XB12 27 August 2019 by JaneyJay (United Kingdom)

My son bought me this and I am so happy with it. It’s quite powerful and very easy to use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB12 24 August 2019 by Kazza66 (United Kingdom)

I have had this speaker a few weeks now and am really impressed with the sound quality for such a small item. It seems to have a long charge and would highly recommend this. Looking forward to trying it out by the pool in the villa in Cyprus!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing soind for amazing price!

SRS-XB12 21 August 2019 by Piderski (United Kingdom)

I just bought this Speaker yesterday and so far i'm very pleased with the compact form factor and the amazing soind quality. Me being an audiophile on a budget i would recommend this product to any basic person lokking for a good, cheap speaker or another audiophile on a budget like me.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

My first speaker

SRS-XB12/BC E 21 August 2019 by Fung13 (Singapore)

Bought it impromptly mainly for my MacBook Pro loving it

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great sound

SRSXB12/B 19 August 2019  (USA)

This is an excellent product I recommend it to my friends and family

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Tiny little wonder.

SRS-XB12 17 August 2019 by Dirty Tony (USA)

I wanted a compact speaker for audiobooks and podcasts. After watching product reviews online, the xb12 stood out, so I grabbed two at the local big box store. Turned out to be a solid choice. They don’t get super loud, even after a short break-in period. But, the price/sound quality ratio is solid. I really think they should’ve had 5.0 Bluetooth, but they don’t; my only gripe. And yeah, SONY does offer bigger stuff, but these fit in my backpack or my gym bag with ease, so I’m good. One more thing: while they certainly work for podcasts and such, if you’re going to listen to a lot of music, they need to be isolated; it really helps stereo imaging. I cut two coaster size pieces from an old carpet remnant; you’ll be surprised how well this works.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Buy 2 Make Stereo!!!

SRS-XB12 13 August 2019 by Kaiz (USA)

Make it stereo the sound is amazing!!! u can put at pilow side . I love it .small and sound quality is great!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Hangs from my hip and I can barely hear it.

SRS-XB12 29 July 2019 by Mravrgejoe (USA)

It works fine for maybe 3-4 hours but then the volume drops to a whisper. I tried to find a decibel rating when shopping for a Bluetooth speaker, I guess I will just know not to buy Sony.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

7

0

Undecided

SRS-XB12 29 July 2019 by Dog1955 (USA)

Got this Sony Bluetooth speaker. Sound quality and size is great. But how do you shut it off? Blue light stays on for a long time with numerous times pressing the button and Bluetooth button off

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

5

0

So far so good except for the buttons

SRSXB12/B 16 July 2019 by StmpJmpr (USA)

The buttons blend in with the speaker and hard hard to find. I recommend you paint the buttons to make them easier to find

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

5

0

Small and Compact

SRS-XB12 13 July 2019 by Keith T B (USA)

For a compact speaker, the sound quality and value are great . This product is easy to pair with my Apple devices ..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Solid little speaker

SRS-XB12 04 July 2019 by Trocars19 (USA)

Great sound and bass from this Sony unit. Best suited for a small room or office, or if you're outdoors but in close proximity. I bought this speaker because it is the perfect fit for the water bottle mount on my bicycle. However, it is not loud enough when riding. My JBL Charge 3 is much louder and better suited for outdoor listening.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

easy to operate

SRSXB12/B 24 June 2019 by Tom52 (USA)

Just setting up my new audio system for my apartment was so easy. I thought it would be more complicated but that was not the case. I plan on buying another speaker for my total audio listening gratification.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Speaker - Well suit my purpose

SRS-XB12/RC E 20 June 2019 by zhang (Singapore)

I need a speaker that I can listen to music while cooking in the kitchen. I can hear the sound of the speaker quite clear from beyond all the noise in kitchen, including gas stove, water boiler, and also my kids.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

GREAT SOUND

SRSXB12/H 15 June 2019 by Westfel (USA)

Love the XB12 Extra Bass . It has great sound. My husband was doubtful but when I connected to my music he was impressed!! Nice and compact and easy to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Easy set up and decent sound for small speaker

SRS-XB12 10 June 2019 by Raz_of_3dc (USA)

Just bought this little travel speaker. Super easy connection and pretty darn good sound especially given the tiny size of it. Base boost is impressive for a tiny guy.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Changes my misconception that small equals poor.

SRS-XB12 11 May 2019 by DazmoG (United Kingdom)

Firstly I have to declare that I'm a big speaker audiophile, and thought I had no use for a prortable speaker, but this changed very quickly when I came across this speaker. The speaker is small, but the size to weight ratio on picking up the box was encouraging. Weighing in around 250 grams for a cylindrical unit 75mm in diameter and standing 85mm tall (Approx) it suggested that quality componentry had been used, but the unit remaining light enough to be truly portable. The speaker is well boxed as you would expect from Sony, with instruction books and setup instructions greeting the new owner on opening. Inside the box was the speaker and the now fairly industry standard USB charging lead. I have multiple USB mains adaptors so finding a charging source was no issue, however this may not be the case for all purchasors. The unit has inbuilt re-chargable batteries which were fully charged in circa 180mins, giving 16hrs of use according to Sony. The unit is also claimed to be IP67 resistant to dust and water such that the unit can be safely dropped in water and survive. Certainly the exterior tactile rubber reinforces this capability and offers an easily held surface whilst protecting from minor impacts. Closer inspection revealed in my opinion a high quality of manufacture with no weak areas. Buttons for: on/off, Volume up/down, multi function button for play/pause/rewind etc, and Add, form depressable buttons in the control area of the outer rubber. Those familiar with the multi purpose button on headphones will immediately know what the various prods on the multi button will do. The add button allows for a second speaker to be added to form a stereo pair. The buttons are marked according to function by bold symbols moulded into the rubber casing, they repond with a positive click but the black symbols on the black rubber background are not easily identified by eye, in low light. That said with only four buttons to remember the purpose of, this isnt likely to be a problem. The unit paired via bluetooth quickly and promptly with my telephone, there is also a socket for audio in via a 3.5mm audio jack behind a rubber sealed panel alongside the charging port. The fist thing to note is the range at which it will work. Indoors most items struggle with indoor walls but this speaker had no trouble where other equipment gave up the ghost. Operation of the onboard buttons were quick and snappy with the phone reacting quickly. The sound from such a small unit was jaw dropping, not music concert pressure bass but sufficient to wonder how it was producing it. Experimentation on different surfaces were all good, but on a firm bit of wood or a table the speaker was capable of passing low frequencies through the base of the unit to use the resonance of the surface. This seems to be assisted by the rubber ring on the units base which secures the unit on the surface, this also protects the surface from scratches. With the speaker at ear level on a good surface it was easily bookshelf speaker quality with tight punchy bass and crisp highs. This speaker has re-educated my old beleifs that a small unit equals poor sound. Certainly the unit is far superior than the telephones hands free mode. The most impressive feature to me however was that the unit has an inbuilt microphone. Voice commands to the telephones virtual assistant were faultless. The microphone also lends itself to conference calls, with the unit in the middle of a table of four people, the dialogue with the the users dialled up was vastly better than the telephones hands free, with nobody asking for the conversation to be repeated. This suggests that the unit can capture and transmit sound clearly to all sat at the table and through the cell network. With so many uses and portability this is now a tech must have in my wish list. Simply Awesome.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

9

0

0

Easy paring with my devices

SRS-XB12 09 May 2019 by Doug1954 (USA)

Recently purchased from Best Buy. It easily paired with my IPad and iPhone. Sound great for the price. Controls are not that difficult to work. Just what I need to listen to music while relaxing. It beat having to plug in my Sony headphones or earbuds all the time. Sound a lot better that the speakers that are on my ipad. It is a great price for a Sony speaker wireless speaker.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Small and compact with nice sound

SRS-XB12 08 May 2019 by Steve62m (United Kingdom)

I was totally surprised by the small size of this product and was sure the sound was going to be tinny. But after playing various types of music ( trance, electro mechanical, vocal and instrumental ) the sound was very good for the size of the device. A brilliant feature is you can link two of them to have left and right hand channels, and would of liked to give that a try. The instructions are easy to follow and the Bluetooth sync to my iPad less than 20 seconds , also sync to android phone was straight forward. Overall I was shocked how good this device is , well done Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

6

0

0

Solid Bluetooth Speaker with wide sound range

SRS-XB12 03 May 2019 by Steve125 (United Kingdom)

I found this to replace an older Bluetooth speaker. This is a bit larger and gives a wider range of sound. Pairing was easy and worked with iMac, Windows PC and mobile phone. I liked the sound quality, but my wife preferred the lower top-end frequency of the old product. Buttons are easy to use and USB port easy to access for charging. Longer battery life is a real bonus. I like the rubberised finish and the slight tacky circle on the base to increase stability and bass transfer. I haven't tested the waterproof capability, but it looks like it would survive a dip in the pool. Hands-free facility is something that I don't think I would use, but can see where it might be useful.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

3

0

0

Take music everywhere

SRS-XB12 02 May 2019 by hobbsy (United Kingdom)

Just taken delivery of my new XB12 Extra Bass speaker First thing that impressed me was the cool colour of my speaker a reddy orange, very new look The speaker has a great tactile feel with its smooth rubber finish. Once fully charged I switched my speaker on and linked it to my Walkman very easily. I carried the speaker using the great colour match carry strap. The sound is exceptional for such a compact speaker Noticeable is the sharpness of the top line. The clarity is excellent. The bass line is great and in spite of the powerful bass there is no distortion whatsoever I used the speaker both inside and outside and in the open the sound of the music was still sharp and crisp. I got rained on, sudden shower, but water did not bother the speaker. Although the speaker is not stereo this fact is not really a negative, I hardly noticed.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

0

0

Go Anywhere

SRS-XB12 02 May 2019 by Hobbler (United Kingdom)

Been all over the place with me Background music whilst working Used it in the garage and in the garden Really sharp sound all the top end was crisp and clear Nice bass not too heavy but good and driving beat Even though the signal is mono the sound is spread and makes the music sound great The speaker has a great tactile feel to it The funky colours are great mines orange/red Holds its charge really well Really great speaker highly mobile Bluetooth link perfect

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1