76

4.2 based on 76 customer reviews

36
29
3
4
4
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

The best single lens FE solution at this time.

SEL24240 22 March 2015 by ebookman (USA)

SONY FE 24-240mm f/3.5-6.3 on A7s The lens, appears to me, to be surprisingly sharp for a super zoom. I think I am going to stop reading graphs and charts. After several days out on the desert with this single lens I am really impressed with the convenience of framing shots quickly over a broad focal range. Many shots would be very difficult to obtain in the rough terrain without a backpack full of lenses and a lot of hiking time. I never go on the desert alone and I almost never go with fellow shooters who would be patient. You can make the shot and keep moving. It is also easier to protect a single camera and lens from wind, dust and rain. As to the images themselves, the SONY FE 24-240mm f/3.5-6.3 on A7s creates an amazing raw file with wonderful shadow detail. I keep forgetting that I am working with smaller images than my A7r. There is also an image quality that I can not describe. This lens likes this camera. Having said that, the lens is certainly not perfect. It has a very stiff zoom. Wide aperture enthusiasts need not inquire. It is a great landscape lens. If the lens performs as well on the A7r, a compact super wide along with this lens would (pardon the pun) cover the whole landscape in a small package.

33

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

FE24-240 Lens

SEL24240//C SYX 24 October 2016 by Andypad (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good piece equipment. Provides good range for an all in one lens for traveling. Feels solid and well built. Need to use it more before giving more feedback.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

76 Customer Reviews

0

The Moon

SEL24240//C SYX 25 November 2020  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I took the First Quarter Moon last night, the lens was fantastic, I couldn't believe i took it without a tripod and the pictures came out to be great!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice zoom range but lacks sharpness at full zoom

SEL24240 30 September 2020 by photos4uuuu (USA)

I bought this lens at expensive price assuming Sony lens reputation is excellent. However this lens falls far short of my expectations. Firstly the focusing ability is not quick. I need to constantly zoom out and then zoom in slowly for live action shots. By this time the special event was missed. Secondly, the zoom at full zoom 240mm results in pixels which are slightly blurry and not pixel sharp. This occurs even when I’m shooting 20 ft away and for objects 300 ft away. For a lens that costs four figures I expected much better. Lastly this lens doesn’t have a AF/MF (manual focus) switch. It’s too late for me to return the product to seller. Wish Sony had some firmware upgrade or customer return policy.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

A Happy Bunny

SEL24240 13 August 2020 by Rosko535d (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as a gamble as I wanted to have a lens that would cover a wide focal range for my motorsport shooting. I have been shooting MS for over 10 years now and during that time I have worked my way up in my equipment. I started out with Nikon and over the years built myself up to pro spec glass across all focal lengths (including a 500mm F4) but early last year I decided to move to Sony for MS (I had already made the jump to Sony for my landscape work in 2016) and have not looked back. I have two A9 bodies and got the amazing 200–600mm at the start of the year that blew me away. I wanted something that would cover the lower focal length and to have the lightest possible bag to carry around the track. If you had asked me a couple of years ago to consider what is essentially a fancy kit lens for what I do I would have laughed but I took the leap having read a couple of reviews and I am more than happy. The lens is used for panning and nothing else and for that purpose it serves me very well (bearing in mind that I’m using it on an A9). I am sure that if I was using a 70-200mm 2.8 (which I had in my Nikon setup) there would be slightly more punch and sharpness to the image but the weight gain would negate it for me. If there are any negatives I would say that having a steady shot switch would be a bonus (leave it switched off in the camera menu if you are panning) and I wish that the zooming action was smoother but that’s about it! I am coming back from a days shooting with so many more keepers than I used to with my Nikon set up and have probably lost half of the weight (maybe more), which matters a lot when you are at a race track. I find myself wondering around more as everything is in one rucksack and easy to carry. As I said, I am a happy bunny.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

GREAT OVERALL LENS.

SEL24240 01 June 2020 by MASTEROFIMAGES24 (United Kingdom)

THIS IS A FINE LENS, ONLY NIGGLE IS A BIT OF PLAY HAS DEVLOPED ON THE ZOOM RING AND THE LENS IS ONLY A MONTH OLD

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Qaulity

SEL24240 15 March 2020 by Hairybeast (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought this at the beginning of March and from the moment I took it out the box I knew I had bought a quality product. Felt amazingly sturdy and compact. For a trail run I took it down to the local fish quay to get birds in flight. The focus was extremely fast, the zoom was smooth and silent and the size made it easy to point.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great all purpose lens

SEL24240 03 March 2020 by elaine mary (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens for a trip to Costa Rica. Whilst I would have liked a longer reach; size, weight and practicalities meant I chose this lens. Great advantage being able to take landscape shots and close ups of wildlife without having to change lenses in humid conditions.. V pleased with my photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great build and versatility

SEL24240 23 February 2020 by MarkyC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first and only lens for my new Sony Alpha 7 mk2. Took it with me to Costa Rica to take wild life photos and was so glad I did. Most photos were taken on full zoom and I had to use the manual focus so that animals were in focus instead of the leaves and branches in front / behind. The lens makes this much easier with the focus ring. Lens is not suitable for close up macro photos, although if you step back and zoom in you can still create macro shots with a very steady hand or tripod. Portrait photos are also gray with this lens. A good all rounder, particularly useful for beginners like me.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Excellent Gadget

SEL24240 11 February 2020 by Frankie4 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a couple of weeks ago to kind of replace my 2870-brilliant!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An all-purpose travelling lens

SEL24240//C SYX 04 February 2020 by Candice (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens together with the A7R3 a few months ago and brought it along for my immediate trip to Sichuan then. Love the Aperture range of f3.5 ~ f6.3 built for a decent zoom range between 24-240mm. It is quite a versatile E-mount lens and suitable for landscapes and street photography genres. If only that the wide Aperture can be widened to f2.8 at 24mm, it would be a perfect all-rounder! On the downside, I reckon the lens a little heavy for me to lug around all days in the mountains and city streets though.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL24240 31 January 2020 by Tog53 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve only had this one month, I really like it so far. I’m looking forward to using this on my travels this year and learning to use it and see what photos I can get and how much I can improve my photography skills.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Power

SEL24240//C SYX 18 January 2020 by Doctor F (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautiful lens on my A7 and powerful on my A6400 ... yipee

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Way too soft

SEL24240 14 January 2020 by panamamom (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sorry, I actually returned this lens, unless I used F.8, 11+. It was just too soft for my taste

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Versatility and quality

SEL24240 12 January 2020 by alpha6300 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very impressed by the quality of the images and the versatility of the lens. I use my Sony a6300 mainly on holiday and it's a joy to be able to have one lens for all types of shot, whether it's landscape, portrait or anything else. It can feel a bit bulky when compared to the size of the a6300 but I quickly got used to it and don't find that it has hampered me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Light weight.

SEL24240//C SYX 08 January 2020 by Jlmy2003 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this before heading for my Chiba trip, am happy with it. Light Wt, good price.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Wide range

SEL24240 13 October 2019 by Dblais4 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having one lens cover such a distance eliminates changing lenses in the field.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great travel lens

SEL24240 13 October 2019 by gonzo49 (United Kingdom)

bought the as my lens late August and is nicely balanced with the body and will be great for travelling I do a lot of long haul travels so keeping weight down is key , the lens operates smoothly and have had some great photos so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

So far so good

SEL24240 02 September 2019 by Steph400183 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been asked to review this lens far too soon and have not yet had the opportunity to have a good session with it. So far though with the shots I’ve taken I’ve been very happy. Nice and sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Meets expectations

SEL24240 31 July 2019 by Huwcin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Big, bold and versatile. Heavy but perfectly suited to the A7 mk3. Especially well balanced as a unit for carrying in one hand by fingertips. Photo quality is maybe not as sharp as the best primes available but not disgraced in any way either. A great choice for everyday and travel.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Nice versatile lens

SEL24240 04 July 2019 by Ree101 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens as I wanted something versatile. Very happy with it's performance so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Useful Lens

SEL24240 28 May 2019 by Leveler (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good value for money lens that serves my purpose, would like to have had longer zoom but pleasantly surprised with the quality and overall results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Not to good

SEL24240 28 April 2019 by Henry36 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Focus slow sometime I took the pictures not sharp,need updates version.

1

1

0

Great for travel

SEL24240 20 February 2019 by Archibald R (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Transportability and quality of outcome were the two dominating reasons for the purchase and both achieved for an amateur photographer like me. Economic purchase for the range offered was also a consideration.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Versatile all-rounder

SEL24240 10 February 2019 by Kenny7357 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

In today's cheap and easy travel get-a-ways and escapes, all is not really that cheap when it comes to baggage. I have been caught many times for extra payment, primarily as I travel with 12 -15kgs of camera gear,(includes underwater housings, strobes, etc.). This lens allows me to cut my weight without too much compromise on getting the quality shot. It is wide angle enough for landscapes and a great zoom range for getting in a bit closer or pulling the frame in. I'm not a pro, so I can't go into techie speak, but this is my main lens for land based pics. I have taken shots of a village near Exmoor from a hill 1200m from the church, to zoom in on camera screen and read the time on the clock. A great feature is the lens has a very positive wind in and out for zoom. I use a quick fire shoulder strap and despite the camera dangling, there is no lens creep.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Sony FE 24-240mm

SEL24240 08 February 2019 by JosV (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very useful walk-around lens, a bit heavy. Great picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

24-240mm lens

SEL24240 27 January 2019 by philslizzy (United Kingdom)

Compact for what it does and quite heavy. I bought it to use as my 'standard' lens. But the AF is sooo slow. I've pretty much gone back to using a manual focus 28-200 for many things

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Exellent versatile lens

SEL24240 25 January 2019 by Paul7745678 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the lens over a year ago and have been very pleased with the picture quality and sharpness. The wide zoom range means I don't need to carry a variety of lenses around. The steady shot works well. I have just changed to a A7M3 from a A7M2 and so far results have been just as good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Fe24-240 - excellent travel lens

SEL24240 15 January 2019 by Spearman106 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased to compliment my Video equipment and pleasantly surprised at its versatility, edge to edge sharpness is great from f4 to f11 - that said in difficult low light it still gives usable results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good all round lens

SEL24240 15 January 2019 by Mauve (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and have used it in low (winter) light and bright sunlight, across the full zoom range and haven't found any problems.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Almost perfect

SEL24240 08 November 2018 by Jean Luc Oregon (USA)

I love the versatility of this lens and the image quality. I wish it was lighter weight but I can live with that. However I am disappointed in focus speed as it has a hard time keeping up with my a6000’s ability. I have three other lenses which are very rapid focus which I use when I need fast focus speed. A little disappointing.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

From Wide to Telephoto

SEL24240//C SYX 17 October 2018 by ShenYL (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is the only lens that covers what I am used to on the A6000 (18-200 = 27mm-300mm in 35mm equivalent). But the weight is twice that of the APS-C 18-200mm lens. Sharpness is good from wide to tele. When wide open there is a little CA on the edges, esp on the wide side. I am bringing this for my 3 weeks trip to Japan for the autumn coverage, but frankly I am worrying of carrying this heavy weight for some of the days where I have to hike for several Km.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Many features but unfriendly manual

SEL24240 03 October 2018 by Manny c (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After one month I am learning the many features of this camera and lens combination but the instruction manual is hard to follow and using the camera built guide is very unfriendly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

0

Great All Round Lens

SEL24240 20 September 2018 by msp0924 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was the first lens I've ever bought. I bought it for my Sony a7rIII camera. I've only used on one road trip in the US. I had a lot of fun using it. Very comfortable and easy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Everything I wanted and more...

SEL24240 25 August 2018 by Longbowman (United Kingdom)

Was looking for a good quality lens better that the 24-70mm f4 that I bought with the camera. This is that lens. Better reach and image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

One lens for all type of photography.

SEL24240 01 August 2018 by Ajay P (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens, 20 days back, just before going on vacation and used it on my Sony A7iii. +Ve: Excellent performance. Amazing focus tracking. Very sharp, Vibrating colour reproduction. -Ve: Very heavy to carry. Little soft at 240mm Lens jets out at longer range- so difficult to rotate polarized filters if one is using

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Much heavier then expected!

SEL24240 08 July 2018 by Sam552 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lens is awesome. Too heavy. Wish it did not wiegh so much. Hard to change big lens on small a6500 body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

10x Zoom

SEL24240 23 June 2018 by Shakey Bluesman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great quality lens for a 10x zoom. I bought to use on holiday and as a walk around lens on my Sony a7mk2 and possibly my a6300. It's a surprisingly large lens and heavier than expected but I'm pleased with the AF speed and sharpness. It's the best 10x ish zoom I've used. On the a7mk2 it's reasonably well balanced. On the a6300 acceptable. APSC focal range is 36-360mm so pretty good for wildlife and nature. Great addition to my e mount lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Great Travel Lens For Daytime Non-Tripod Use

SEL24240//C SYX 22 June 2018 by Tri Sukamoto (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

24 mm wide end is very useful and at telephoto end of 240 mm it's very useful for travelling. I just wish the lens doesn't have to stop down all the way to 6.3 at telephoto end. But reasonable price for the performance and zoom range making this a very good value buy. I experienced some vignetting in my first use, not sure if it could be due to the CP-L filter I attached, haven't tried just with UV filter yet. Pros: 24 mm wide end, 10x zoom, good pricing for FF lens, good image quality Cons: stops down to F 6.3, a bit heavy but should be expected for this zoom range

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Super functional

SEL24240 11 June 2018 by mikeygrn (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently switched from Nikon D700 to a Sony A7II. Over the years I had acquired a lot of lenses for my Nikon. Starting over was rough but I am so happy I did. I know I will invest in some quality primes over the next few years but because of my previous experience I knew that starting with a long range telephoto zoom was a no brainer. It’s the type of lens that was kept on my Nikon 80% of the time. Dxomark has the 24-240 ranked last for all of the tested Sony full frame lenses. I have never been a pixel peeper. I am an avid hobbyist and I primarily shoot my family, vacations and the awesome activities we get to do living in Alaska. Whatever technical quality and sharpness you sacrifice with a long range zoom is easily outweighed by the convenience of having one lens that can do it all. Another feature that I appreciate is that the barrel extends ever so slightly (maybe 2-3mm) as you widen out fully to 24mm. This prevents the possibility of lens creep without the need for a locking switch. The A7 series of cameras are amazing and the photos that I get out of Lightroom definitely exceed all of my needs for quality. I have yet to take a picture and think to myself, I wish the corners were a little sharper. By winter I will pick up an ultra wide prime because the only photos that I take where I value that corner to corner sharpness are of the night sky and the aurora. For the first lens after the kit however, unless you have a primary type of photography that you shoot an overwhelming majority of the time, it only makes sense to start with a decent quality lens that can do it all. I can’t imagine any photographer not having use for a lens like this in their collection.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Takes great pictures

SEL24240 01 June 2018 by Millerhill (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

One of the best zoom lenses I've bought. Takes great pictures!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

A great fit for my sony alpha

SEL24240 15 May 2018 by vwbeetle (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed this lens for my new sony frameless camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

7

0

General purpose zoom

SEL24240 30 April 2018 by Delboy321 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently bought a Sony Alpha 7ii body and wanted a broad range zoom to go with it. This 24-240mm zoom lens was the perfect solution given the limited supply of zoom lens designed to work with full frame camera’s. The lens is slightly bigger, and heavier, than desired but still gives me the versatility that I wanted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great multi purpose lens

SEL24240 11 April 2018 by Ralston88 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought it to travel Thailand with, got some fantastic shots on the A7ii, only issue is that there is heavy vignetting on certain zooms / aperatures, although easily corrected in post editing can be annoying to some. Buy a pack of Globe fliters, essential add on.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great lens!

SEL24240 17 March 2018 by Gehr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens to use on my Sony a7r. This is a great, all-around lens. It resolves the 36mps quite well, and the fact that I don't have to keep changing lenses is a super reason for my buying this lens. I am quite pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

VERSATILE BUT HEAVY

SEL24240 15 March 2018 by Urleyn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this versatile lens for my A7Rii body because it offered a wide range of focal lens and because, given Sony prices, it was the only one I could afford. In use, its proved its worth with excellent quality shots across its range.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Like very much

SEL24240 11 January 2018 by Mojazz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought in December I really happy with it a good lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Overall good for every situation

SEL24240 06 January 2018 by DukeJ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A fantastic lens that covers any situation.Landscapes, Portraits and even some macro situations. Could be a tad sharper, though.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great travel lens

SEL24240 25 December 2017 by Island scot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needed a zoom lens to take photos of red squirrels that come into my back garden Great with my A7ii

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Superb

SEL24240 12 December 2017 by JayAP (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very handy as a travel lense with no need of carrying different zooms. Very good picture quality and solid built. Very much impressed with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Lens does not produce sharp photos

SEL24240 21 November 2017 by dobrorod (USA)

The lens does not produce tack sharp images that I would expect from Sony equipment. It is good for snapshots but not for art work.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

8

5

0

Great versatility

SEL24240//C SYX 10 November 2017 by Keithtty (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this one month ago. Originally worried not fast enough, not sharp enough. So far so good. Concerns have proven unfounded.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very versatile

SEL24240 28 September 2017 by Mangerj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sharp enough across the zoom range on both full frame and APSC.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Very slow

SEL24240 11 July 2017 by Ashuuk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compared to the cannon very slow very basic and not very easy

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

24

0

Good zoom range lens

SEL24240 03 July 2017 by Marcus67 (USA)

Excellent zoom range and very good picture quality. Not excellent, but very good. Build quality superb. The only minus "is big and heavy"...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Way Better than Expected! I'm Very Impressed!

SEL24240 13 June 2017 by AFREEMAN (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was the first lens I bought for the A7RII when I switched over from Nikon June of 2016. I was amazed how sharp and how fast the focus was. It got even faster after the software was updated on the camera. I have seen some youtube reviews of this lens where they try and talk down it's abilities due to the fact it's not a 2.8 lens throughout the zoom like on the G Master zoom lens. Don't listen to this as this lens performs fantastically! Well worth every penny! You will use this on every trip you take where you don't want to keep swapping lenses! Also I shot in the rain, at night, holding an umbrella, at DisneyWorld during the fireworks at a 1/50th of a sec, 6400 ISO and the shots were excellent! Get this lens! (OK, it is a bit heavy but you won't miss the shot!)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

0

Great All-Around Lens

SEL24240 26 May 2017  (USA)

After soaking my and frying my NEX-5, and selling my Nikon stuff, I decided that the a7 was the choice for me. A quick stint with the kit lens left me disappointed, a new lens was needed. The 24-240mm F3.5-6.3 OSS immediately caught my eye. I love the extreme versatility of the lens, and the 10x zoom makes it great at tackling all types of challenges. I use it form sports to astrophotography, and everything in between. The only downfall is the weight, but I only really notice it after a full day of shooting, so nothing that hinders the lens too much. It was my only lens for about 1.5 years, and even now, with two other lenses in my kit, it still likely spends the most time on my camera than any of the other two. If your looking for one lens to cover all bases, this it the one for you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

13

0

0

Excellent versatile lens

SEL24240 24 May 2017 by Dashy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A heavy lens with a good solid feel, I use it with my Sony a6500 camera. Slightly heavier than I would have liked but worth it for getting close to the subject. You can also take reasonable wide shots without changing the lens. So far I have not used a tripod with the lens and find the photos straight from the camera need very little sharpening if any. Glad Paul at UK Digital recommended I buy it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

0

All in one

SEL24240 29 March 2017 by Garethwmj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just got too tired carrying three or four lenses around to get that one shot. Truth is it took too long to fit the correct lens to my camera then the moment had gone and a truck load of dust and stuff ready to invade the optics. Sure the lens is big and perhaps too heavy but lighter than my previous set up. The lens is sharp from portrait to landscapes. A better than expected solution.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

5

0

Solid Lens ideal when travelling light

SEL24240 20 March 2017 by Alfie1942 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had the lens a few weeks and have not really put it to the test. However I am sure it will fulfil the role I bought it for - maximum versatility when travelling and really only want to carry camera body and one lens, as I shall when in Italy in May. The good feature are that it is full frame - hard to find in "travel" lenses. The consequence is a relatively restricted (10x!) zoom range and size and weight.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

13

0

SONY 24-240MM LENS

SEL24240 15 January 2017 by Bogeybuster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the quality of this lens and it's construction. The only reason I did not award 5 stars was because it erred a bit on the heavy side but that can be a good thing meaning it is well constructed. It covers a wide range from 24-240mm which is basically all I need for what I do.However if I am shooting a very special occasion then I would put on my Zeiss 55mm f1/8 lens where the quality is just outstanding although it is limited to what you can photograph.The 24-240 gives me all the range I need with more than acceptable results. I would definitely recommend this lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

17

5

0

FE24-240 Lens

SEL24240//C SYX 24 October 2016 by Andypad (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good piece equipment. Provides good range for an all in one lens for traveling. Feels solid and well built. Need to use it more before giving more feedback.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Very Poor

SEL24240 10 October 2016 by WeeMalky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Kept the lens over a weekend and sent it back to the supplier probably the worst lens I have ever had. Sad really thought this was my answer to a great travel lens on reflection the varying reports on line were correct some were good others bad I might have had a bad copy who knows. I have a great variety of Sony lenses both E-& FE mount and could not be happier with them we really need a good travel lens like a 18/24 to 105mm Sony are sadly lacking in this range and you cannot rely on Sigma to cover what you don't have.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

42

0

Practical focal range

SEL24240//C SYX 23 July 2016 by Blackgold (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wide angle coupled with just the right focal range allows for freedom in composition.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Versatile lens for all the purpose

SEL24240//C SYX 07 July 2016 by Klifex (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens for travel, i like the versatility of this lens because it gives me the range i want for travel purpose. The sharpness is best < 150mm.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

Mostly good but not completely

SEL24240 13 May 2016 by Nilacop (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Zoom ring very stiff to turn. Slight radial movementioned between lens and camera body when zooming in and out.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

11

0

One lens for all

SEL24240//C SYX 07 March 2016  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good, no need to change lens, just the zoom scrolling is a bit tight

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Useful range

SEL24240 19 September 2015 by MicroPete (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this for the A7r ii, for the price its a good lens, I didn't want lots of lenses to carry and this fits nicely.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

13

5

0

Fantastic Travel Kit

SEL24240 02 August 2015 by georgemeow (USA)

This is a fantastic lens for travel! It's silent, quick, and reliable. This lens is very sharp for photographing objects from the size of a grapefruit to a statue. If you're going for tons of detail and challenging situations (low light, complicated contrast) you may want to stick with your primes... but you know that already. If you're looking for a single lens to take day-time photos of a hike or tour a city, this is perfect.

19

2

0

Versatile

SEL24240 14 July 2015 by Bigboytwin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only just bought it and so far have not used it apart from in the garden so cannot give a review.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

53

0

Flimsy mount

SEL24240 09 July 2015 by Mikefocalpoint (USA)

This is a great all-rounder lens - no doubt. But that is downplayed by the flimsy mounting system that shakes, rattles and disconnects the electronics. Had turn off and on once in every half hour to reconnect the electronics between the camera and lens. Decided to return the lens.

29

13

0

Disappointing image quality

SEL24240 07 July 2015 by AAG1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

While I wasn't expecting prime quality from this lens I was expecting it to at least be on a par with similar superzoom I've used with other systems. While not terrible the image quality is not great and the slowness of the lens at longer focal lengths means in anything other than bright light you have to use high ISO settings which further compromises image quality.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

15

28

0

Nice Glass

SEL24240 17 June 2015 by GHUT (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a lens that stands alone when you consider zoom range, weight, and sharpness. It's maximum aperture leaves a bit to be desired, but, If you combine it with the Sony Alpha 7S - this is a combo that can go anywhere and shoot in any - and I mean ANY situation. This is a perfect example of a modern, well designed, high tech piece of gear.

12

0