139

4.8 based on 139 customer reviews

121
15
1
1
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great image quality but with loud aperture noise !

SEL55F18Z 03 January 2019 by ctanir (USA)

I just bought this lens after seeing so many good reviews, comments and also watching many test videos. Everything is fine except for one thing. The aperture blades are chattering, making noise every time I change them. After a bit of search on internet I found out that many people had this issue as well. I'm still not sure if my lens is faulty or is it just the way this lens is. I'm kind of disappointed because even my kit lens with Sony a7 iii didn't make such noises. Considering many people say it's an almost silence lens I doubt mine, then again there are many people facing the same issue. Hope someone could give some information on this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Has manufacturing fault.

SEL55F18Z 07 February 2019 by benthechimp (United Kingdom)

The focus failed on this lens, £200+ to repair. I think it had been faulty since purchase, make sure there is no noise when focusing at high aperture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

139 Customer Reviews

0

Little lens, big performer

SEL55F18Z 24 November 2019 by jloz (USA)

This lens is lightning fast and easy on the wrists while delivering IQ expected of Zeiss. I mainly use this lens for poorly lighted indoor/outdoor portraits. Even at high ISO (up to 6400), IQ is still good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A eternal classic

SEL55F18Z 17 November 2019 by CARLOSANDRADE (United Kingdom)

I just bought it a week ago anyway I have already some pics that confirm why I choosed theese lens as premium lens for my A6400. Quite sharp, and colour rendering fantastic. That's why passing years they are one of the best...a classic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

My first Prime for Sony

SEL55F18Z 15 November 2019 by MarkIsMe (USA)

I bought this lens 4 years ago when I purchased my a7r2. Now that I’m on the a7riv, It is still my “go to” lens when traveling a new city or only have the chance to carry a single lens on the camera. While in Boston I happened to be snapping away at the skyline in Boston Common. A squirrel caught my eye. Had to be 10 meters away. I clicked over to continuous focus and caught several images of these guys. This is cropped in at 100%. This is such a fast lens, it keeps autofocus and gorgeous bokeh. Just buy it!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Why buy the 50mm?

SEL55F18Z 09 October 2019 by noahthomas03 (USA)

I bought this lens after reading comparisons between this one, and the Zeiss 50mm. Needless to say I'm very happy I saved some extra cash and went with this one. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great construction

SEL55F18Z 11 September 2019 by Just55 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lense around a month ago and I am very pleased with the outstanding results it gives me especially when doing night street photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Best lens I have ever had! expensive but the best!

SEL55F18Z 08 September 2019 by GrégoireC (United Kingdom)

Trials, first time using the lens, great fun to experiment..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Zeiss Nifty Fifty

SEL55F18Z AE 07 September 2019 by W C Tan (Singapore)

You cannot go wrong with Zeiss standard prime lens although the focal length is 5mm longer. There is no auto/manual switch and a higher price as expected on Zeiss. Lens focus is fast and sharp even in low light situations. My only dislike is the minimum focus distance is more than 1.5 feet which means you cannot focus closer in tight spaces. This lens is more suitable for portrait and scenery photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Most versatile lens!

SEL55F18Z 20 August 2019 by Noornuri (USA)

This lens can do it all, from micro to macro. A must have!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Quality Images

SEL55F18Z AE 22 July 2019 by Edwin K (Singapore)

It gives real quality images.. Light weight to give a perfect on the Sony A7R III body

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The best prime lens for the A7iii

SEL55F18Z 05 July 2019 by Rookwood Productions (United Kingdom)

Tax sharp and a great all rounder lens. I use this lens most on my camera. Quickest auto focus I’ve ever seen. And stable as any thing I’ve ever used. Now looking at the 35mm prime

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

amazing

SEL55F18Z 12 June 2019 by PeterHT (United Kingdom)

small, beautifully made and deadly accurate .. it's my current favourite

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

First month on hands review

SEL55F18Z AE 09 May 2019 by GordonDi (Singapore)

Most advanced points: Sharp photo. Fast, silent and accuracy focus. Likes points: Good build quality and light weight. Disadvantage: Price too high.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Portrait lens with lovely bokeh

SEL55F18Z AE 23 April 2019 by kennethtwk (Singapore)

I bought this to replace my FE 50mm F1.8, and was absolutely glad I did. This is weather proof, so unlike the last one, I didn't need to keep cleaning dust. Also, the Zeiss lens is just gorgeous. Love this lens to bits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The sharpness of picture is really amazing!

SEL55F18Z AE 29 March 2019 by Seng Siong (Singapore)

I bought this last month and used it during my dating with my girlfriend. The sharpness of the photo is really amazing and I like it very much. It provides a lot of details in the picture captured. Thumbs up for this quality product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL55F18Z 23 March 2019  (United Kingdom)

Very nice lens. Sturdy built and super sharp. Highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Love it!

SEL55F18Z 14 March 2019 by Atabales (USA)

Bought it a month ago and I am so happy with it. Can wait for more Sony lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Quite outstsanding superbly sharp prime lens

SEL55F18Z 14 March 2019  (United Kingdom)

As an advertising photographer I require critically sharp images for my clients. This prime delivers on this requirement and is a pleasure to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sharp, small and fast

SEL55F18Z 16 February 2019 by Davidreidphotography (United Kingdom)

Great lens a welcome addition to my kit bag, small light and sharp. A great all round prime

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Has manufacturing fault.

SEL55F18Z 07 February 2019 by benthechimp (United Kingdom)

The focus failed on this lens, £200+ to repair. I think it had been faulty since purchase, make sure there is no noise when focusing at high aperture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Excellent photo quality in all conditions

SEL55F18Z 07 January 2019 by docv (United Kingdom)

Shipping worked perfectly. I used the Sonnar now about one week - with really good and really bad light and weather conditions. The photo quality was excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Lens

SEL55F18Z 04 January 2019 by Lowbox (United Kingdom)

This is not a newly released lens but it one of the best in my kit, fast, focused and a pleasure to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Great image quality but with loud aperture noise !

SEL55F18Z 03 January 2019 by ctanir (USA)

I just bought this lens after seeing so many good reviews, comments and also watching many test videos. Everything is fine except for one thing. The aperture blades are chattering, making noise every time I change them. After a bit of search on internet I found out that many people had this issue as well. I'm still not sure if my lens is faulty or is it just the way this lens is. I'm kind of disappointed because even my kit lens with Sony a7 iii didn't make such noises. Considering many people say it's an almost silence lens I doubt mine, then again there are many people facing the same issue. Hope someone could give some information on this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

0

0

Best prime I've ever used!

SEL55F18Z 02 January 2019 by Scott SW (United Kingdom)

5 months in with this awesome lens (on A7iii) and absolutely loving it. I'm at wedding photographer and switched from Nikon to Sony this year, so glad I did! This lens is tack sharp at all apertures, lightening fast, beautiful bokeh, great contrast, tiny, light and great build quality. The only con - no manual focus / auto focus switch but hey that can be mapped to a custom button. If you're worried about the price over another 50mm you will be pleased you took the plunge on this one. Ref. I've owned Nikon 50mm f1.4G & Sigma Art 50mm f1.4. Many thanks, Scott

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

F1.8

SEL55F18Z AE 02 January 2019 by Tjagat83 (Singapore)

I bought this and used it.. I’m very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp as Heck!

SEL55F18Z 30 December 2018 by Sierra NV (United Kingdom)

Super sharp. Solid build yet light and compact. Overall, great prime lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Tack Sharp & Fast.

SEL55F18Z 11 December 2018 by Teotizon (United Kingdom)

I bought it last 1stDec'18 with A7III as a package after I straight swap it with my Nikon arsenal D300, battery grip, nikkor 24-70f2.8, 105f2, Tokina 100 macro, Tokina 11-18, SB800, nikon tele 2X, R1 macro flash.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Technological Marvel

SEL55F18Z 26 November 2018 by Hillclimber (USA)

I've owned this and several other Sony/Zeiss lenses for a while now, and this lens is special. It's not the sharpness that everyone talks about. It's the color rendering and bokeh that make it so special. The size and weight are also a big plus. It's just the most reliable producer of interesting images of any lens I've used. Can't say too many good things about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

So sharp it cuts

SEL55F18Z AE 10 November 2018 by Wilson L (Singapore)

I've heard good things about this lens. Seeing it for myself however is a different matter. I am not a professional photographer by any means but I do feel that this lens will be a great gem in any photographer's arsenal. It is extremely sharp! At it's price, it's a no-brainer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small but well-formed

SEL55F18Z 01 November 2018 by Leftyrex (United Kingdom)

I had a Sony 850 from some time back, decided to upgrade to an A73R. Most of my lenses are ~1kg apiece, and part of the point is to reduce the weight for everyday photography. The 55mm is small, and seems very well made. From what I can see - limited experience so far - the product is producing nice images.

3

2

0

The focus ring needs to redesign.

SEL55F18Z AE 23 October 2018 by Tianshu (Singapore)

The focus ring needs to redesign or at least re-thinking. It's an electric focus ring. So why not to give the option to the user. To choose which focus method we would like to use? You can simulate the mechanical focus method. And if we set it to auto-focusing mode. Could you please assign another function to the ring? Like change ISO/ Speed/aperture/none. Just give users the option, please!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Possibly the sharpest lens I've ever owned

SEL55F18Z 20 October 2018 by Dylthedog (United Kingdom)

When I got my A7R3 I planned to build up a set of primes to go with the zoom I purchased with the camera, and this was first on my list. If I'm honest before buying I would have preferred a 50mm, but I'm happy to say the 55mm has worked out OK for me; in practice I've not noticed the extra 5mm. The title says it all - this is lens is amazingly sharp. It also focuses very quickly, and I've found it to be excellent for portraits and as a general walk-around prime where wide shots aren't needed. I've noticed some lateral chromatic aberrations (colour fringing at the point focus drops out) in certain circumstances, but it isn't a deal breaker by any means - I'm sure most people wouldn't even notice it. I wouldn't hesitate to use this lens for paid work at all. Contrast is great, as is colour rendition, though I'd say its more neutral than saturated. Camera settings can change this, of course. I like that the lens is relatively compact and very light, which makes it easy to carry as an alternative to a heavy zoom. It's also nice to see that it includes a lens bag and hood, but then it isn't a low cost lens at all. It's pricey but well worth the cost in my opinion, and I stand by my comment about sharpness - it's amazing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

An excellent lens for all Sony user

SEL55F18Z AE 13 October 2018 by AbrasiveWaif (Singapore)

The compact size to its performance is a marvel. This is a lens I will highly recommend for all Sony E mount users. Fast and silent focusing. Superb optical quality. Creamy smooth bokeh. The lightweight size makes you want to carry it around with you all the time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony 55mm F1.8

SEL55F18Z AE 07 October 2018 by psp710 (Singapore)

Good for value ... I love its bokeh images quality

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great lens

SEL55F18Z 24 September 2018 by Spitfire7950 (United Kingdom)

outstanding pictures and sharpness of the lenses The camera feels like a extension of your hand

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Super sharp and super quiet.

SEL55F18Z 07 September 2018 by Andyvalver (United Kingdom)

Fantasic little lens. Silent autofocus and a super sharp image. Really impressed with it. I just wish there was a 35mm 1.8 for around the same price or less.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Stunning lens.

SEL55F18Z 23 August 2018 by Mark C (United Kingdom)

This lens is truly stunning.Vibrant colours,the detail is amazing across the frame. The handling is superb,small,light with super fast accurate focus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Awesome Lens!!!

SEL55F18Z 03 August 2018 by Ray Picart (United Kingdom)

This is the sharpest and the best lens money can buy. You will never regret buying it. Portable, light, durable and fast. Definitely I would recommend to a friend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

nice photo quality

SEL55F18Z AE 23 July 2018 by joonhung (Singapore)

just tried once, noted better photo quality compared to default 28-70 lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New Zeiss 55mm lens

SEL55F18Z 15 July 2018 by Jim4848 (USA)

This my first Sony Lens and it is wonderful and very sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sharpness

SEL55F18Z AE 09 July 2018 by hainhtet (Singapore)

Just bought two weeks ago , like this lens for portrait

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super sharp, versatile, lightweight

SEL55F18Z AE 09 July 2018 by Jamestan (Singapore)

Brought it out for shoots for 2 months, love it. easy to use, quality of images are sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small portable lens with great image quality!

SEL55F18Z AE 05 July 2018 by Boxedfish (Singapore)

everything is great about this lens, from the small size to the sharpness of the image. build quality is good too! only complain is the amount of Chromatic aberration/color fringing. if not i would give it 5 stars!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning lens, amazing sharpness

SEL55F18Z 29 June 2018 by Pete Lonsdale (United Kingdom)

This has to be one of the sharpest lenses you can buy. but for me it's not just about that. With great micro contrast, beautiful colour and the Zeiss "pop" you will love the images. It's small enough to work well with any of the a7 models and unlike some other lenses out there you can use it wide open a f1.8. Such a lovely walk about lens if you don't want the bulk of anything larger. Well worth the money paid.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

It will not disappoint

SEL55F18Z AE 12 June 2018 by thechirana (Singapore)

This is the only lens I own since purchasing the A7III, and I am glad I chose this. It is extremely sharp, awesome bokeh and lovely for filming B-roll and taking portraits. I highly recommend it, it's gonna stay with you for a long time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Definitely worth the price!

SEL55F18Z AE 05 June 2018 by Alangohqs (Singapore)

I bought this lens to pair with my a7ii for travel and some casual photography. Fe 55mm performance is really good for it image quality, bokeh and contrast. No regret!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Lens

SEL55F18Z 21 May 2018 by Asela (United Kingdom)

Really please with this lens. It's lightweight and portable. The pictures are crisp and sharp, autofocus is fast - overall a very good versatile lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

If You Love Street Photography, Must Have.

SEL55F18Z 15 May 2018 by Whyment (USA)

Great prime lens for street photography, food, people and any daily use. Pro: Sharp, excellent pic quality Beautiful Bokeh Light weight Tiny size Con: N/A

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Compact lens

SEL55F18Z 05 May 2018 by Lees123 (United Kingdom)

A very high quality lens which is not only light but I’ve found it be very sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice lens

SEL55F18Z 13 April 2018 by Clived (United Kingdom)

It is a lovely lens, images are really crisp with nice bokeh. Focus is fast. It is everything I hoped it would be.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Gorgeous Lens!

SEL55F18Z 13 April 2018 by craigbrandau (USA)

Extremely bright, light and feels solid. I just got it and it will use it everywhere!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

outstanding fast prime

SEL55F18Z 01 April 2018 by drewp (United Kingdom)

The Zeiss 55mm f/1.8 is sharpest lens I've experienced in 50 years of photography. What would make it better is to have non focus-by-wire, because (occasional) manual focus is tiresome. Small compact light fast and extremely high performance. Love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great lens. Wonderful pictures.

SEL55F18Z 29 March 2018 by PCPhil (United Kingdom)

Great lens for all styles of pictures. Wonderfully sharp and wonderful bokah. At first look it seems pricey but this is one lens that wont gather dust.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compact brilliance

SEL55F18Z 24 March 2018 by Jim64 (United Kingdom)

Brilliant image quality in a compact size. Amazing resolution and IQ. Lenses are generally getting larger in order to achieve the resolution figures required for today's high megapixel sensors, but this lens proves that it can be done in a compact design.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent all rounder

SEL55F18Z 11 February 2018 by Grandysandy (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens primarily for portraiture, but it excels in most situations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

One of the best lens ever !

SEL55F18Z 30 January 2018 by Nick1212 (United Kingdom)

Very satisfied with the optical quality . A very precise lens .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Well designed

SEL55F18Z 26 January 2018 by Ceeque73 (USA)

Light, easy to use, excellent image quality! Can use for portraiture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp lens

SEL55F18Z AE 13 January 2018 by Win Myo Htwe (Singapore)

I like this lens after I bought and shoot outdoor in night time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Solid

SEL55F18Z 03 January 2018 by gater27 (United Kingdom)

very pleased with overall quality and images, if I was to ask for one more thing it would be a slightly closer focussing distance

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Silent Killer; top notch IQ

SEL55F18Z AE 14 December 2017 by Sheng (Singapore)

Product perform as marketed Top Notch IQ Silent focusing Super Sharp image Nice Bokeh effect

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing lens at a sensible price

SEL55F18Z 12 December 2017 by morse4 (United Kingdom)

Simply put this lens is stunning and the image quality does not match the way it looks. When I first saw it I thought it might be a kit lens .... how wrong could i be. I tend to shoot weddings with 35/85 but I occasionally switch and use the 55mm 1.8 and i am never left disappointed. The focus is fast and when paired with the A7R2 or 3 the image quality is very professional. Something I really love about it is the size.... again something that I thought in the old days was a negative but now I know clients could not care less I use it a lot as a versatile lens. If I could only have one lens it would be this one, and I have some amazing G master and Ziess glass. The only downside is for manual focus for video. Focus by wire is not good to rack focus or be creative as its just strange.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Stunning contrast, colour and sharpness

SEL55F18Z 07 December 2017 by Mangerj (United Kingdom)

Excellent and relatively lightweight prime for full-frame Sony cameras. Beautiful IQ.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super sharp images

SEL55F18Z AE 19 November 2017 by vtan (Singapore)

The lens was a good combination with my 16-35mm lens and A7R2. The images turned out really great. The lens is very handy and portable to carry around. Low light images were great too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great portrait lens

SEL55F18Z 12 November 2017 by Andrydeen (United Kingdom)

With Sony 6500 it is perfect combo , especially for portraits

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent picture quality - noisy focusing

SEL55F18Z 18 October 2017 by Greg007 (USA)

The only negative I can say about this lens is it can get a little noisy when it's focusing. Coming from G Master lenses which are completely quiet, this may be important for video people. For them I would recommend the ZEISS Loxia 2/50 which is manual only focus lens. Little cheaper. About the same small size and weight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Bokeh

SEL55F18Z AE 08 October 2017 by Awesomeisjoseph (Singapore)

Quick focus light and sharp pictures, great for portrait pictures, definitely gonna buy my next lens in near future

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very sharp lens

SEL55F18Z 28 September 2017 by OwenP (United Kingdom)

I needed a low light lens for filming on my A7RII and this is the perfect solution. The Lens is sharp wide open and produces decent bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Clean and Clear.

SEL55F18Z 01 September 2017 by ScottPhotoNYC (USA)

I bought this now knowing if I would use this on a regular basis. I actually find this to be a go to lens for me. It's small enough to use almost anywhere. I find it to be fast and give me the clean results I'm looking for. It worked great on my A7 & A6300.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lightweight

SEL55F18Z 26 August 2017 by Stables3 (United Kingdom)

Nice lightweight lens on my A6500, good sharp image with nice contrast. Too early to give a long review as just had the lens a few couple of weeks.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Sharp

SEL55F18Z AE 12 August 2017 by Fat Man (Singapore)

The imagine quality is great. Fast lens for auto-focus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very Sharp Lens

SEL55F18Z AE 06 July 2017 by Steven Y (Singapore)

Bought this lens two weeks ago and the photos taken with the lens and the Sony A7 Mk II were very sharp. The background blur effect is good when isolating the subject. If OSS is included in the Lens it will have stabilization when use with A7s. Overall rating would have been Excellent if there is OSS.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0