FE 85mm F1.4 GM

Product Reviews

35

4.7 based on 35 customer reviews

30
3
1
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

35 Customer Reviews

0

Lens great - not happy with Sony

SEL85F14GM 14 September 2019 by Dave951753 (United Kingdom)

I'm happy with this lens - expensive - but good. Cash back is a problem. You have to wait 30 days (hoping we forget maybe?) Then type in serial number and photography serial number etc. They seem to look for any tiny reason not to pay out cashback. Bit shabby since we pay a lot to become Sony customers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Absolutely beautiful depth of field!

SEL85F14GM 02 April 2019 by NickNick1 (USA)

It is a touch slower to eye focus than the 70-200 2.8 but it produces gorgeous images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

Insane Image Quality!

SEL85F14GM 18 March 2019 by ac058 (USA)

Unfortunately the majority of my camera gear was recently stolen :( However, while I had this lens it was fantastic. The separation you can achieve at F1.4 is simply stunning! It really does make ordinary pictures look phenomenal. One day ill buy another copy of this incredible lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

FE85mm F/1.4

SEL85F14GM 12 March 2019 by Fletcher8 (United Kingdom)

The Sony FE85mm F/1.4 is a stunning lens and is capable of producing some stunning images in relation to portraits. I love the rendering of this lens and how it feels. I hope Sony provide an update firmware to improve the speed of this lens and its low light performance. To be fair though most 85 lenses are not speed demons, but I am sure Sony could improve this lens with a future firmware update.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Fantastic Lens

SEL85F14GM 06 February 2019 by shotbyIV (United Kingdom)

After switching from Canon to Sony and using my old Canon 85 1.2L this lens along with my Sony a7iii focusing much better and is tack sharp! Very sharp and wide aperture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

#BEALPHA

SEL85F14GM 27 January 2019 by multimediamel (USA)

One of my favorite lenses for portraits by far. It was my first G Master lens and it hasn't let me down during my portrait sessions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

My all time favorite lens!

SEL85F14GM 11 January 2019 by babystenerud (USA)

Hands down my favorite lens. It's kind of heavy and the autofocus is a little noisy, but the image quality is outstanding. The bokeh is sooo smooth and the sharpness is out of this world. Owning this lens makes me so happy. If you shoot video or have a limited budget or want to travel light, go with the 85mm 1.8 which is also a super lens. But if your main focus is stills and you want the best out there, this is your goto lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Focusing speed is very very slow

SEL85F14GM/QSYX 26 November 2018 by Tianshu (Singapore)

The image quality is very good. The seal to prevent rains makes it very friendly for a outdoor usage. But the focusing speed is very bad. If the target is keep moving. The only way you can get the clear image is to decrease the aperture. The image quality at F1.4 is still not good enough to a G Master product.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Too Sharp For me

SEL85F14GM 17 October 2018 by Trapboifuse (USA)

Had this Len for bout 2 years all i can tell you is......check out my gallery on Instagram @trapboifuse don’t know why it’s not $2500

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

13

0

Creamy Bokeh and very sharp

SEL85F14GM 14 October 2018 by purephotoni (United Kingdom)

Having recently moved from Nikon to Sony I needed to purchase a new 85mm lens. As a wedding photographer the 85mm range is an important one for me and most of the portraits of our couples are taken using this focal length. I first purchased the Sony FE85MM f/1.8 which is also a strong performer with very quick autofocus and is razor sharp but I missed the better bokeh that I was able to get when using my previous 85mmm f/1.4. After looking in store I decided on 85mm GM Lens after comparing it to another third party lens. This lens was a little more compact than the third party option and also has the focus hold button which I really like as it I assign eye a.f to this button. Since purchase we have photographed a few weddings and engagement sessions with this lens and I have been extremely happy with the performance. It renders out of focus areas beautifully and is very sharp. The autofocus speed isn't as quick as the f/1.8 Sony but that would be the case with most 85mm lenses. For me this is the best 85mm lens available for e-mount. It's an expensive lens but well worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Manual focus won't work

SEL85F14GM 29 September 2018 by cbaillie (USA)

I bought this lens and the manual focus doesn't work. Auto focus will, but in manual the focus ring does nothin.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

7

0

85 1.4 gm

SEL85F14GM 28 September 2018 by Unalom (United Kingdom)

It's not cheap but optical preformance is out of this world.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Remarkable lens

SEL85F14GM 05 September 2018 by phillipsrsk (USA)

It seems that all great glass is heavy and normally expensive. The 85 F1.4 GM is both great and heavy. If you don't want to settle, it is the 85 to get for the Sony FE system. I do have the Sony 85 F1.8 as well if I want to travel light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

One the best portraits lens in the game!

SEL85F14GM 13 August 2018 by AJMCRPhoto (United Kingdom)

One the best portraits lens in the game! Game changer and faster than other brands at focussing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

All I hoped for.

SEL85F14GM 09 July 2018 by Sussexandy (United Kingdom)

After much deliberation I part exchanged all of my APS-C equipment and bought an A7-3 and this lens. The lens is magnificent, it is heavy but re-assuringly so, the quality of the images are all that I hoped for. I take many pictures in low light (dawn and dusk) and prefer to avoid external light sources, absolutely no problem for this lens. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sharpest and Colourful 85 on the market!

SEL85F14GM 20 April 2018 by GMAN2018 (United Kingdom)

Absolutely LOVE this lens! Skins tones and colour pop is second to none - truly beautiful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Very nice focal length

SEL85F14GM 05 March 2018 by BikeVisionScotland (United Kingdom)

Great focal length for head to full portrait. The f1.4 aperture draws my subject out from the diffused background.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Portrait photography

SEL85F14GM 02 March 2018 by Rudy M (USA)

I’ve been using this lens with my Sony A7rii and it’s my go to set up for my portraits photos. Nice solid lens. Amazing bokeh affect

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Paradigm shift in 85mm portraiture

SEL85F14GM 13 January 2018 by muhuai (USA)

The rumors were true, it can be said without exaggeration that based on its incredible sharpness and flawless bokeh rendering this lens marks a new paradigm in 85mm portraiture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing glass

SEL85F14GM 13 December 2017 by Photosbydjj tw (USA)

This is my favorite lens the picture is very sharp and the glass is fast. The drop off is very special. I'm using it with my A6300 and I can't wait to start using it on my A7R3 next year

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great Build

SEL85F14GM 10 October 2017 by DaneIsaac (USA)

I primarily shoot portraits and this was a much needed adition to my line-up. From the creamy bokeh, great image quailty and solid build this is going to be a go to lens for a long time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Glass

SEL85F14GM 22 September 2017 by CameraLaw (USA)

When I purchased my Sony a7R II, the 85 mm GM was the only lens available. It was, by far, the best piece of glass I’ve ever used. It has rapid autofocus and in aperture priority, I’m able to use it wide open in almost any situation and get amazing results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Sony 85mm G Master

SEL85F14GM 10 June 2017 by FearNoMortal (United Kingdom)

Awesome bit of glass. 85mm fixed focal length may not suit all however this is a wonderful lens...... bokehlicious with the 1.4 aperture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

Best Portatrait Lens

SEL85F14GM 05 May 2017  (United Kingdom)

Beautiful lens, very sharp and lovely bokeh. Just an annoying autofocus noise

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

4

0

You get what you pay for

SEL85F14GM 31 March 2017 by KEF 1 (USA)

Magical glass!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

Sharp as a surgeons knife

SEL85F14GM/QSYX 04 March 2017 by Trenyan (Singapore)

I got this recently and no regrets. Never thought I'd ever need or use an 85mm but now realised after first shots with this on my new a7Rii that this is the best portrait combination I've ever had. (Recently moved over from Nikon D810)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

This lens will be legendary.

SEL85F14GM 14 February 2017 by Sspencer (USA)

I plan to keep this lens in my kit at all times. It's an absolute must have for portrait work with Sony E mount cameras. The only issue I can point out is the auto focus noise. It doesn't effect me because I will not use an on camera microphone. If it was a quiet lens then it would be an easy 5 stars from me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Spot on focus & rendering @ f1.4

SEL85F14GM/QSYX 15 January 2017 by AlexCsg (Singapore)

I was looking at a few alternatives but finally decided on this because of the following factors; 1. at 85mm, stabilization is useful and it's stabilized on the A7RII due to the IBIS, 2. at f1.4 and 85mm, DOF is shallow but with Eye-AF, obtaining spot on focus is reassuring 3. while the lens is no lighter than its equivalent from other brands, the total combined weight on the A7RII is balanced and significantly lighter. Overall impression, it's very well made. In use, the combined weight with A7RII is very manageable, the button on the lens can be programmed to invoke Eye-AF and the rendering is superb. In fact I found there's not much edit necessary in RAW and the JPEGs are good enough most times. The ability of this lens to resolve fine details at 42mpx even when shot at f1.4 is excellent. It is a little noisier than my other lenses but during actual shooting, I don't really notice it. It is also expensive but when paired with the A7RII, the combo offers capabilities not found in other equivalent lenses from other brands.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Pro level quality lens

SEL85F14GM/QSYX 30 December 2016 by Agoh38 (Singapore)

Excellently built lens with very fast AF for an 85mm. I am convinced of the Sony's capabilities to deliver pro level lenses with the G Master. I had proceeded to purchase the 24-70mm G Master as well!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

First class lens.

SEL85F14GM 30 November 2016 by Anhow (United Kingdom)

The best lens I've had in 60 years of photography, very pleased with all aspects.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

1

0

very sharp lens but with few shortcomings

SEL85F14GM 25 October 2016 by OlivierLondon (United Kingdom)

I am very impressed with the level of details I get from this lens and I am glad with my purchase. However it is a bulky object that defeats the purpose of my 7RII. Also it is let down by a rather slow autofocus. I thought it would be on par with the best in the business at this price but clearly it can't compete with the likes of Canon or Nikon lenses. I understand it has got a lot of glass to move but stil...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

25

0

Superb glass

SEL85F14GM 25 September 2016 by Aquila1 (United Kingdom)

Stunning Bokeh and pin sharp. Absolute best portarait lens out there.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Excellent bokeh!

SEL85F14GM/QSYX 15 August 2016 by naseermohamedphotography (Singapore)

I'm a portrait photographer. This lens is a beast. I'm totally in awe with the build and the results it can produce. At f1.4, the subject is sharp and in focus together with the help of eye auto focus on A7RII. The bokeh is really cool as it simply melts the background. The 11 aperture blades is one of the features of this lens that convinced me to buy this beast. One thing that can be improved is the aperture ring. Sometimes, I do not realize that i have actually changed the aperture (because my hand is holding the lens) during a busy shoot even though it is in "click" mode. The "click" mode doesn't really make it that difficult to adjust the aperture ring. An aperture ring lock feature will solve this problem for portrait photographers like me because I rarely change from f1.4. I bought this lens to use it at f1.4.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Very sharp lens,I like it

SEL85F14GM/QSYX 08 July 2016 by hh3721 (Singapore)

Dream has outside the focal blur, the sharp imaging,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

probably the best 85 available

SEL85F14GM 29 April 2016 by BAzzFreeman (United Kingdom)

This is probably the best portrait 85mm available right now. The resolving ower is designed far past what todays sensors are capable of which should give it a long useful life. It's a little expensive bu the cost of ownership should even out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

46

35