75

4.7 based on 75 customer reviews

60
12
2
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

My Favorite So Far

SEL90M28G 12 November 2017 by Beland (USA)

I bought this after checking out the DxOMark rating the 90mm F2.8 Macro as the sharpest lens for the Sony E mount full frame system. Compared to other options I rented, it exceeded my expectations. You can really sink into a subject and grab details you wouldn't expect with fantastic bokeh, back up and get a completely different perspective. Subjects are sharp and creamy where you want it. Even banal postcard shots have a depth of detail to them that elevates the image. Despite the size, it's light enough for most handheld situations. The AF/MF ring switch and focusing zone switch is convenient when focusing macro subjects. The stabilization worked great. I want to compare this to the FE 100mm F2.8 STF GM for portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good Macros Lens but bit slow to focus

SEL90M28G//QSYX 24 November 2017 by PaulQ (Singapore)

Bought this lens largely for macro work. The macro photo quality is really sharp. Only downside is the lens focusing speed is really slow especially for normal portrait non macro work. Also lens is quite sizeable and heavy.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

76 Customer Reviews

0

i like the balance of the lens

SEL90M28G 07 December 2019 by kev66 (United Kingdom)

the only thing i don't like is the focus switch on the side of lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality photos, but beware it

SEL90M28G 13 November 2019 by Francisco J (USA)

After 13 months of buying this lens, when I changed the battery of my camera, it stopped focusing. They told me that it has a scratch and is not covered by the guarantee. Although it has some superficial scrape, the failure must be due to another cause... However, I asked for a budget to solve it. - Two months later I received a big budget. Between the price (close to a new) and the reason (literally it only has a scratch), I decided to reject it. After several conversations and mails without getting solutions, they returned it to me with three months of delay. - In the last two years I have invested a lot in photography gear of that brand (three cameras and 12 lens) and I am surprised what is happening at the first issue with a lens under warranty. - After talking with several people of this brand (conversations, whatsapp, mails) and taking another three months without any proper action on their part, they end up telling me they had no solution for my case. It has been more than six months since I started this adventure and, to help future potential buyers, these are my conclusions: 1.- Buy electronics or photography on line - With the same failure, they would have returned a new lens. In addition, they ask for "apologies for the inconvenience caused by the failure". 2.- Be aware of this lens, which gave me many joys (attached two photographs), but a great headache and grief due to this problem.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Macro

SEL90M28G 27 October 2019 by B1ueboy74 (United Kingdom)

Absolutely love this lens, always in my bag and take it with me everywhere. Love the control of it, and it’s a lens you can use for street photography and portrait

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

One of the best lens from Sony's lineout.

SEL90M28G 24 October 2019 by Blindasabat101 (United Kingdom)

The sharpness is fantastic at Macro and Portraiture. Light weight compared to my Sigma 85mm Art lens Fast focusing Pull back the focus ring to go into Macro is a no brainer Eye focus is spot on Feels quality Optical steady shot Full range of focus area Depth of field at f2.8 Lusssssssssh Best of all, the price of this lens, you get 2 lens in one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Sharpness

SEL90M28G 06 October 2019 by PepperMint (United Kingdom)

This lens is amazing, sharp, fast, the colours are great. Beautiful bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Fantastic Lens

SEL90M28G 06 October 2019 by Jace751 (United Kingdom)

I have used all macro lenses and I have to say this lens is brilliantly sharp and provides fantastic bokeh. It is not too heavy and balances very will with my A7R IV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super sharpness

SEL90M28G 29 September 2019 by Yorkie2 (United Kingdom)

Put my Tamron 90mm f/2.8 macro lens, plus a couple of Canon items, in PX for this lens. The Tamron was very good but this is even better IMHO. Sharpnes is very good even wide open and improves on stopping down. Well made and with nice features e.g. push/pull collar for AF/MF switching and a focus lock button. Also usable as a portrait or general purpose lens its only downside is slightly slower AF than say the 24-105mm G

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Absoloutly fantastic lens.

SEL90M28G 17 September 2019 by Danny D (United Kingdom)

I Have had this Lens for over a month now and have to say, it is fantastic. Pleasing to use, nice size, comfortable in the hand and easily manageable weight. It is extremly sharp! welldone sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great macro

SEL90M28G 07 September 2019  (United Kingdom)

Great Macro beautiful focus and colour rendition, very sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautiful piece of glass

SEL90M28G 23 August 2019 by Debsdoodles (United Kingdom)

This is my first full frame mirrorless less , having changed gear from micro four thirds . Not regretting so far . No going back . Loving it . Good features , not heavy .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent macro lens

SEL90M28G//QSYX 13 August 2019 by luxovius (Singapore)

Very sharp lens albeit the AF is a little slow probably due to it being focus-by-wire. Overall it's still an affordable and excellent lens for those who are interested in macro photography.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazingly good!!

SEL90M28G 24 July 2019 by Nick Footprint Photog (United Kingdom)

I only took delivery of this lens a couple of days ago but the shots I'm getting already - all handheld - are nothing short of amazing. Can't recommend the lens highly enough

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

2 in 1

SEL90M28G//QSYX 19 July 2019 by kfp65 (Singapore)

Never had a macro lens. So bot this a month ago. Good for portraits too. Pics are sharp and nice bokeh. Lens a bit on the heavier side though. Overall Good value for the $!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Straight out of the box .

SEL90M28G 03 July 2019 by masterofimages (United Kingdom)

just out of the box, and seems to be working. which is nice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

What a lens!

SEL90M28G 29 June 2019 by penguinclaw (United Kingdom)

I am so impressed with this lens. Fast focus, fantastic bokeh and ease of use. I am now achieving work that I thought was out of my reach.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The sharpest lens period!

SEL90M28G 22 May 2019 by Captured_By_Costa (United Kingdom)

I purchased this lens around 3 weeks ago mainly for some Macro work and boy does it deliver. I now use this more often than I thought I and also use it for portrait work too. This is a no brainer if you are looking to add this to your collection. 10/10!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Love It!

SEL90M28G 12 May 2019 by grif80128 (USA)

I've used the Nikon 200mm f2.8 before. A Macro was a must as I stepped off into the Sony system. It focuses quickly with a hint of searching if the contrast isn't there. So far, I'm enjoying it to the max!!! It inspired me to shoot some of the flowers that I bought for my wife. The early end result was a very nice Mother's Day wish for her. I love having this capability and a mid-level zoom! Recommend that one adds it to their arsenal!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good macro and potrait lens

SEL90M28G 28 March 2019 by Old1Bob (USA)

I've used this lens for about one month and find it to produce sharp images, with accurate and fast autofocus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb macro/short tele lens, great all rounder.

SEL90M28G 06 March 2019 by Chris139 (United Kingdom)

This lens is ideal as a macro lens but also lends itself to use as a short telephoto lens for landscapes, portraits and is perfect for product photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Incredible Detail

SEL90M28G//QSYX 15 February 2019 by Kirubakaran (Singapore)

Great Glass, Captured photos have incredible details. Autofocus speed can be improved.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sharp and beautiful bokeh

SEL90M28G//QSYX 08 February 2019 by yekwyeo (Singapore)

I use this lens on the Alpha A7rM2 and A7rM3 for macro photography, the images produced by this lens is extremely crisp, especially when I compared it with the Nikon 105mm Macro lens. I found the color is slightly warmer than the 24-70mm GM lens. I like the bokeh of this lens, it is creamy and beautiful. When the aperture is wide opened, the bokeh is as smooth as the one produced by the 24-70mm GM lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

wow!

SEL90M28G 28 January 2019 by TedA (USA)

Ive used many marco lens over the years, but this one is tops!! This lens will not disappoint!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

FE90F28 - very good video lens

SEL90M28G 16 January 2019 by Spearman106 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens due to the price v an 85mm prime. Having looked on YouTube for reviews and using it in a local butterfly farm I am totally satisfied with its performance, easy to use, features and quality of build more than meet my demands - an excellent choice!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb sharpness and optics but...

SEL90M28G//QSYX 02 December 2018 by AbrasiveWaif (Singapore)

Been using this glass for a month. The lens uses an internal focusing mechanism which is quick and silent* although you will tend to use the manual focus more. The focus 'pull back' to trigger the manual focus is neat and the scale is clearly shown on the lens barrel. The lens does not extend out as well. 2 switches at the side to toggle the OSS and the other for the focus limiter. The classic focus button that can be assigned to any function is there as well. Have to say that the lens is well constructed although I do wish that the mounting portion could have a rubber gasket to provide a better assurance against weather proofing as this lens will be used frequently in floral areas which tend to have lots of moisture so do note on that. Overall, been a native lens ensures you won't have any focus misses if you are always using full auto and do note on the size and weight, it's not a small lens. There are other third parties out there that has the same image quality but the build and not been a native lens made me purchase this macro lens. I have not regret this purchase and highly recommend for someone who wants to pursue macro photography or even use this as a portrait. *(You are able to hear a buzzing sound in a near dead silent area but in real world usage, you are unable to hear it. Do note for people who wants to use this for video work)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good but not Great.

SEL90M28G 22 November 2018 by Marco55_1 (United Kingdom)

Pro: Super sharpness, good manual focus ring, good stabilizer Cons: Changing the focus point also changes a little the magnification. Slow autofocus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Well built and feels nice in the hand .

SEL90M28G 12 November 2018 by gefrob (United Kingdom)

Excellent macro and portraiture lens at about the right focal length.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Dust problems

SEL90M28G 04 November 2018 by QNTT (USA)

The lens is excellent but my copy is heavily contaminated wit dust between the optical elements. I am returning it for a replacement. Hopefully the replacement won't have the same problem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Niely thought out

SEL90M28G 15 October 2018 by Obscura Photo (USA)

I am very happy with this lens. I like the 'slidein/out' for manual or autofocus. sharpness is excellent and build quality feels very sturdy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Macro madness

SEL90M28G 06 October 2018 by TheOlly (United Kingdom)

Added this to my collection and used on my latest shoot

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

8

0

Very Sharp Images

SEL90M28G 01 October 2018 by Bravanboy (United Kingdom)

This is my First Macro Lens and It's a Great Choice!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

6

0

Good lens

SEL90M28G 18 August 2018 by RichC58 (United Kingdom)

Limited experience of this lens since buying it, but I could tell from the first few shots that it is very good. This came as a pleasant surprise as my previous experience of Sony's own lenses had not been good. I bought this lens to go with my A7lll and Zeiss 24-70 f4 combination. Whilst happy with the 24-70, I needed a little more length, and a closer focus facility. The 90mm 2.8 G would seem to offer both in one package.The only doubt being, as it is designated a "macro" lens, was it capable of delivering the goods at distance as well? The answer to that is, yes! It most definitely is capable of turning in very sharp pictures at both close and distance focus. At 5.6 it is surprisingly good edge to edge, corner to corner. I have yet to try it at 8. AF is good and accurate, reasonably "snappy" OSS works well. I suspect this lens will be getting a lot of use. Anyone looking for a quality short telephoto with close focus facility for the A7 range at a reasonable price would do well to look at this lens. I have tried to find a shortcoming to rate this lens at 4* but I can't, so, a 5* it is!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

The best macro

SEL90M28G 15 August 2018 by AZ Ron (USA)

Have had this lens just a short time. Still learning all the settings but so far it is the best

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Superb Lens

SEL90M28G 11 August 2018  (United Kingdom)

Excellent lens for macro and portrait work. Very sharp, excellent focus and very well built. Not cheap but worth the money I'd say.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

My Go-To Portrait/Macro Lens

SEL90M28G 04 July 2018 by PostMark (USA)

This lens is so flexible. I can shoot the sharpest of macro with the creamy bokeh. I use it on my a6500, A7rii and A7riii I am no professional. But this lens can make you feel like one!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Great Lense! Worth every dollar

SEL90M28G//QSYX 11 May 2018 by Jojo89 (Singapore)

I bought this expecting a great macro lens, and it does deliver and some more! Works really well for potrait as well, superb bokeh

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

two shot in one stone

SEL90M28G 23 April 2018 by Andy2k79 (USA)

i return my 85F1.8 to purchase this lens , is great for macro and portrait. very happy with my decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Very good macro lens, Bokeh could be better.

SEL90M28G 07 April 2018 by Linkmodo (USA)

The Sony 90mm Macro lens is extremely sharp with minimal distortion. The build in OSS works well. The camera body is constructed of mostly metal, including the focusing ring. The push/pull AF/MF switch is convenient to use. This macro uses an electronic focus-by-wire system but with a well implimented physical distance indicator on the lens for those who need it. The focusing speed is average, not too fast but not too slow either. It uses a silent wave motor so focusing is very quiet. One thing I wish the lens would have is some more grip texture, as the lens is constructed of the smooth metal surface it gets slippery when your hand gets sweaty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Sony's most versatile lens

SEL90M28G 28 March 2018 by gwhale_photo (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens a couple of weeks ago and I'm very happy with my purchase. I have used this lens for stills and video on a Sony A7RII and it's overall quality and sharpness is incredible. I can use this lens in various situations such as for food, macro or portrait photography with its telephoto focal length a F/2.8 aperture. This lens also has a really creamy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Great!

SEL90M28G 11 March 2018 by DCCO (USA)

Got 6 4 moths ago. Superb performance on a6500 and 7sII.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent sharp lens

SEL90M28G 28 February 2018 by AshokNair (USA)

The 90 f 2.8 lens is excellent. I have used for my macro and food photography. I am extremely pleased

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

The sharpest lens I have ever touched

SEL90M28G 18 February 2018 by Kmanphotography (USA)

I can't say enough about this lens. The more I use it, the more I fall in love with it. I use it on an a6500 so a 135mm FF equivalent focal length. It's an incredible macro lens and an equally impressive portrait lens. The AF isn't very quick but that's because of obvious reasons. This lens is sharper than anything I have ever used. Sharper than Sony's 85mm f1.4.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Amazing close-ups

SEL90M28G 02 February 2018 by joey005 (USA)

I purchased this lens about a month ago and I have been very impressed with the clarity and bokeh when shooting close-ups. Very easy to lock focus compared to other macro lenses and is sharp from the center to the edges of the focal plane. Although it also functions as a very sharp portrait lens, the bokeh when capturing portraits is not nearly as smooth as it is for close-ups. The further you get from your subject the more "swirly" the out of focus area gets. Nevertheless, it functions amazingly for its intended purpose as a macro lens. There is virtually no distortion, color fringing or chromatic aberration. It is an excellent product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Very sharp macro prime lens

SEL90M28G 02 February 2018  (United Kingdom)

Have not had this lens very long but it is already a favourite lens for my A7R mk1. It is very sharp and it is great to use a prime lens once again after so many zooms which just make me a lazy photographer. Not over keen on the auto focus as it tends to take too long to hunt the best focus - however the manual focus is excellent and is very easy and quick to use especially for macro work. Not as light as I would like but it does produce excellent results. Rather expensive but worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great marco lens

SEL90M28G 30 January 2018 by LG71 (United Kingdom)

Great macro lens, would have loved a 1.8 aperture though.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Excellent macro lens

SEL90M28G//QSYX 22 January 2018 by Bumblebeehome (Singapore)

High-quality materials coupled with state-of-the-art optical components have created this excellent macro lens. The only thing that is not satisfied is the size is too big.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Works great kinda like a 70-200

SEL90M28G//QSYX 09 December 2017 by Nyvrem86 (Singapore)

I’m really glad I bought this with a strong metallic build and good distance to close focusing, it’s a versatile lens to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Macros Lens but bit slow to focus

SEL90M28G//QSYX 24 November 2017 by PaulQ (Singapore)

Bought this lens largely for macro work. The macro photo quality is really sharp. Only downside is the lens focusing speed is really slow especially for normal portrait non macro work. Also lens is quite sizeable and heavy.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

0

a beast...

SEL90M28G 13 November 2017 by BatIvko (USA)

Hi there let me just say that this lens is a beast! Honestly if you can not produce a beautiful image with this one there is something wrong with you camera. I'm using this lens with a6000 and the results are great. I can only imagine what full frame will do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

My Favorite So Far

SEL90M28G 12 November 2017 by Beland (USA)

I bought this after checking out the DxOMark rating the 90mm F2.8 Macro as the sharpest lens for the Sony E mount full frame system. Compared to other options I rented, it exceeded my expectations. You can really sink into a subject and grab details you wouldn't expect with fantastic bokeh, back up and get a completely different perspective. Subjects are sharp and creamy where you want it. Even banal postcard shots have a depth of detail to them that elevates the image. Despite the size, it's light enough for most handheld situations. The AF/MF ring switch and focusing zone switch is convenient when focusing macro subjects. The stabilization worked great. I want to compare this to the FE 100mm F2.8 STF GM for portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL90M28G 09 November 2017 by bbac (United Kingdom)

Have only had a couple of weeks but this is an excellent lens. I have been a Nikon user for some years (previously with Canon) but I am now totally going over to Sony and I am really impressed with the results. Add to that how light the equipment is to carry and this is important these days with reduced in-flight baggage restrictions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

GREAT PORTRAIT/MACRO CAMERA

SEL90M28G 18 October 2017 by APG17 (USA)

VERY IMPRESSIVE 90MM MACRO WORK AND PORTRAIT CAPABILITIES. COULD BE BEST IN MY BAG!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

FE 90mm F2.8 - WOW & MUST HAVE

SEL90M28G 07 September 2017 by rodriguesn84 (United Kingdom)

Sony has got 5 different lenses for Full Frame E- mounts Mirrorless Cameras available when it comes to Macro & Close Ups. If you're really looking to have outstanding images, the Sony FE 90MM F2.8 is the BEST one within the Sony line of Lens for Macro. Please note that this lens can be used as a portrait lens as well, and the results are just as great as macro images. Yes it is very expensive to buy this lens, but I've always said this and will always stand by it. I believe in buying expensive gear, because they will last for a very long time, as long as you take care of it. I've got a huge OCD when it comes to taking care of all my gear, be it musical instruments, video gear & camera gear. They're all in a MINT CONDITION. I am also very grateful that this lens was given to me as a payment for a project that I am currently working on, thank you very much - you know who you are. Bottom line: Would I recommend the Sony FE 90MM F2.8 Macro Lens? YES. Buy it & you won't regret it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

3

0

Amateur Enthusiast

SEL90M28G 13 August 2017 by Zach11 (USA)

Currently shooting with A6500, and just thrilled with overall performance. Mainly using for Macro and it doesn't disappoint. Love the manual focus

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Promising item

SEL90M28G 28 July 2017 by A Rainy Night in England (United Kingdom)

Pleased with the macro image quality, once the focus is established. In low light the MF collar is useful. Yet to be 100% proficient with the lens but will be an ideal replacement for a Zeiss Makro-Planar 60mm f2.8 used with a E-mount to C/Y adaptor.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

An Excellent Macro Lens

SEL90M28G 22 July 2017 by Humfan1943 (United Kingdom)

A good sharp macro lens with useful features, MF and focus freeze, OSS is a real help when slow shutter speeds are needed. A bit pricey, but overall it`s worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

The perfect lens for Macro Photography.

SEL90M28G 14 June 2017 by TheFerdinand (USA)

I bought the a6300 a few weeks ago. I wasn't happy with the kit lens' image quality, so I decided to make an investment on a high-end lens and bought this one. After a few days of playing with the settings in my camera, I managed to get some amazing shots. I am not a professional, just an amateur. I don't know much about photography, but with this babe I feel like one. I am still learning how to shoot in manual. But using the auto mode still produces beautiful images especially when shooting in natural daylight. I am attaching a few photos. Hopefully they can be uploaded in high resolution.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

1

0

The FE90 Macro does it all

SEL90M28G 13 June 2017 by Dave W (USA)

This is the macro lens that I have been waiting for for years. It has 1 to 1 magnification without an extension tube and internal focusing. Imaging quality is equal to the best competition and ease of use in fantastic. It also will double as an excellent portrait lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent sharp results

SEL90M28G 01 June 2017 by Swanney (United Kingdom)

This lens was a replacemnt for a larger 105mm macro which I had used with my previous alpha series cameras. Having moved to the E mount system I needed a suitable lens. This had excellent reviews and has performed bery well so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

0

Fantastic lens

SEL90M28G 02 May 2017 by jl328 (USA)

I really love this lens. The build is solid, easy to use. The optics produce clear sharp excellent photos. I also have the 50mm macro. The 90 mm is my preference by far!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

High quality construction & precise focusing

SEL90M28G 02 April 2017 by Deepfield (United Kingdom)

I bought this from a camera store in Euston London and was given some pretty convincing advise why I should have it. I have used it to take about 150 or so shots and notice that a great deal of precision is required in setting up the scene to get near perfect results which slowly I am getting now. I use a Sony Alfa 7RMII which is quite a new purchase. It is large compared to my go to lens Sony Zeiss 55mm 1.8 but walking around London for a day with it wasn't too much hardship it is quite long but but balanced with the camera. The images from the top of the Tate Modern over London and inside the museum were very interesting as were the ones of family. It focuses very quickly and silently but be sure to set the focus limiter on the left side correctly otherwise the lens hunts to focus to much. The manual focus is an excellent benefit and really allows you to focus right in deep by magnifying your subject then fire your shot for very precise results.The steady-shot switch is a help when the wind was blowing although the focus hold I have not used much at this stage. I am still getting used to it but I am pleased with the purchase and I know it will lift my game further. Try it and you might get hooked.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

5

0

All the features and more of this lens type

SEL90M28G 12 March 2017 by Martii (United Kingdom)

It's in the same class as the 85GM Bokeh not as ball like, it is a good lens for portraiture and macro and usable for street photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

4

0

Very good image qualityand operation

SEL90M28G//QSYX 27 September 2016 by hh3721 (Singapore)

Image sharp, beautiful soft focus, the lens design superb, easy to operate,very good lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent quality

SEL90M28G 10 September 2016 by sgfj (United Kingdom)

Very expensive ! but this is a great lens with a wide aperture (but for macro work, you'd better not use f2.8 since it gives no depth of field whatsoever). I use this on an A6000 body - which it dwarfs - this is physically a fairly large and heavy lens. But it gives excellent edge-to-edge quality and great contrast. On the A6000 it occasionally hunts and cannot find focus - then you have to start again, but this apart, it focusses quickly and surely. There are 3 focus ranges: Full; 0.5m-infinity and 0.28m-0.5m. For photographing butterflies, I generally operate in a range 0.28m - 1.0m so because this falls across two ranges, I often end up shooting on "Full" so I lose some focus speed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

12

7

0

Lovely lens...

SEL90M28G 28 August 2016 by PaddyP (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens mainly for macro and the quality of both the lens and the images is impressive. It's quite chunky on an a7rii, but not unmanageably so. Regarless of where you buy it, there's no hiding the fact that competitors lenses are still cheaper, which is the only downside, otherwise I'd give it 5 stars.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

10

8

0

A Wonderful Lens

SEL90M28G 25 August 2016 by Niggly (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens two weeks ago, and am delighted with it. Its macro facilities are fabulous, but it's also a great portrait lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

4

0

Superb Optics Macro F2.8 90mm Lens

SEL90M28G 23 August 2016 by FDAC (United Kingdom)

Amazing Prime Telephoto (Macro) 90mm lenses I have ever used. The Optics are in a class of there own. Limitless possibilities with one of the very best Camera bodies in its class

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

4

0

Great Lense

SEL90M28G 16 August 2016 by Mike0000001 (United Kingdom)

Fantastic lense, very crisp even at the edges. Manual focus very easy and with nicely placed fix focus button on the side. Use as Macro or 90mm - Highly recommend. Shame about the cost but you do get what you pay for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

6

0

Love this lens

SEL90M28G 14 August 2016 by Barbara_L (United Kingdom)

I have wanting this lens for about 12 months, put off by the price plus other people's feelings about their own (competitor) macro lenses. I needn't have worried. I can finally attempt the sort of macro shots I have been trying for (flowers/bees/bokeh effects). I love this lens, its sharp, easy to move from autofocus to manual focus, good solid feel to it, as have my other Sony lenses. I have used it also as a general 90mm lens and again am happy with the results. More practise needed but that's me, not the lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

Very sharp lens with all the great features

SEL90M28G//QSYX 18 July 2016 by akula98 (Singapore)

Just added this to my stable of macro lens, I am glad I did, works great with my A7R, sharpness and details are exceptional, operation is silky smooth.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

Absolutely LOVE this lens !

SEL90M28G//QSYX 10 July 2016  (Singapore)

The new 90mm F2.8 macro G OSS is absolutely the best I have ever used ! Superb for product photography, it's currently my 'go-to' lens for studio portrait/fashion photography as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0