5

3.8 based on 5 customer reviews

2
1
1
1
0
Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Good all round unit

HVL-F45RM 08 June 2019 by Rjmc01 (United Kingdom)

Bought this for use with Sony A58 camera and it fits straight on. Good size and weight for camera and so far resukts have been great. No intention to use off-camera or as part of lighting system at the moment but good to know it has the capability. Compatible with newer camera such as Sony A7 I have eyes on. Relatively new to photogaphy the unit appears simple to set up and use.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Missing the quick shift bounce

HVL-F45RM 15 December 2018 by Atsuico (USA)

I'm not sure why the quick shift bounce feature was removed but it is a design I really miss. Have been working with the f43 for quite some time I loved how easily it was to handle. The menu system works well but I'm having a hard time getting used to the traditional head movement again.

Performance

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

6 Customer Reviews

0

Works great - but expensive

HVL-F45RM 02 October 2019 by Sonyconvert2019 (United Kingdom)

Does everything it should very well. Particularly like the strobe. Starts and recycles really quickly with rechargeable batteries. On a balancing act it is more expensive than 3rd party flash guns but you on the other hand it is designed specifically for the camera and so the risk of a missed photo is reduced. Really like it!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good all round unit

HVL-F45RM 08 June 2019 by Rjmc01 (United Kingdom)

Bought this for use with Sony A58 camera and it fits straight on. Good size and weight for camera and so far resukts have been great. No intention to use off-camera or as part of lighting system at the moment but good to know it has the capability. Compatible with newer camera such as Sony A7 I have eyes on. Relatively new to photogaphy the unit appears simple to set up and use.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Cannot be triggered optically.

HVL-F45RM 16 April 2019 by Vallabh (United Kingdom)

Followed the steps provided in manual. But was not able to trigger optically. While my old M320 triggers optically. Awaiting technical resolution.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Missing the quick shift bounce

HVL-F45RM 15 December 2018 by Atsuico (USA)

I'm not sure why the quick shift bounce feature was removed but it is a design I really miss. Have been working with the f43 for quite some time I loved how easily it was to handle. The menu system works well but I'm having a hard time getting used to the traditional head movement again.

Performance

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Amazing for Low Light Situations

HVLF45RM 11 January 2018 by Galation (USA)

Have been using it almost non stop for low light shoots and it greatly improves the autofocus and isolated capabilities of my 7rii!!!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great speedlight for a7rii!

HVL-F45RM 11 October 2017 by Daniel V (USA)

I purchased this flash specifically for my a7rii for on-the-go applications when I don't want to carry my bigger light. I'm happy that the flash pattern is nice and round and light is soft which surprised me in a good way of course. I used to own other Nikon flashes before I switched to mirrorless (happy I did) but this one from and for Sony is just awesome! The features like installed radio, which is super easy to pair with FA-WRC1M, focus assisting LED/video light and off course the perfect size for a7rii are worthy of investment!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0