79

4.4 based on 79 customer reviews

51
16
8
2
2
Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Good all round sound.

HT-S40R 22 October 2022 by TandBuns (United Kingdom)

The back speakers give a third dimension. Being partially deaf,I can now enjoy watching the TV without the need for hearing aids. The selections on the remote for Cinema, Music and Standard improve the quality of sound when synchronised with their respective subject programmes. A valued addition to my Sony TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sounded Great for a Month

HTS40R 17 August 2022 by Drew515 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The system sounded great, but now the rear speakers pop. I checked the connection and rebooted the system. Anyone have any idea about a warranty? How do I get working stuff?

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

8

0

79 Customer Reviews

0

HT S40R

HT-S40R//Z SP1 31 January 2023 by Redone01 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this on 31 Dec 22 and I’m satisfied with the system as it given the sound tt I required for a 3rm flat.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great piece of kit

HT-S40R 23 January 2023 by Toonbilly (United Kingdom)

Hardest part of fitting it and setting up was unboxing it. Simple set up as all connections are colour coded

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing

HT-S40R 03 January 2023 by 87Lee87 (United Kingdom)

Bought this item yesterday and it's the best sound system I have ever purchased, easy to setup to which I didn't think it would be, highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Not truly wireless but sounds good

HTS40R 24 December 2022 by Meme2014 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound is good. Every bit as good as Klipsch 5.1 650 watt that quit working...twice. Setup easy. Bummed that we missed it's ALMOST wireless...2 side speakers have obnoxious black wires that connect to the WIRELESS module. Our mistake. Maybe don't show the picture of speakers hanging on wall with NO wires!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony Sound Bar

HTS40R 03 December 2022 by NISEE (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound bar provides movie-like sound in my apartment. What a difference it makes to the sound quality of watching a movie or listening to music on YouTube. I absolutely love it and I am so glad I purchased it. I always loved Sony products because they are of high-quality!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great but one minor issue

HTS40R 25 November 2022 by The Bees Knees (USA)

I love these speakers! The surround sound is amazing and I can hear my television very clearly. It’s great when hooked up to my PlayStation as well. I never know all the sounds you could get from some games. My only issue is that when watching certain apps like YouTube, the speakers screech and make high pitched noises. I had to do a full reset on the system for it to stop. It goes away but will always come back. There was nothing support would do besides tell me to reset but at this point all the other times it’s great. I’m glad Sony finally started selling full sound systems again but just be aware.

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Genuine surround sound

HTS40R 07 November 2022 by Amalo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was skeptical when I bought this 5.1 soundbar. Didn’t think it would deliver true surround sound but it did! Very balanced and clear sound with good bass too!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent sound system

HTS40R 06 November 2022 by IronWill (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Makes our 75 inch tv a theater experience. The surround sound makes you jump out of your seat.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good all round sound.

HT-S40R 22 October 2022 by TandBuns (United Kingdom)

The back speakers give a third dimension. Being partially deaf,I can now enjoy watching the TV without the need for hearing aids. The selections on the remote for Cinema, Music and Standard improve the quality of sound when synchronised with their respective subject programmes. A valued addition to my Sony TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Yeah it’s best home base

HT-S40R 22 October 2022 by Gharsaneh (United Kingdom)

Yeah bought it for good price it’s really good for home cinema

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

A Bit Disappointing

HT-S40R 10 October 2022 by Frankie047 (United Kingdom)

Although I bought this for a reduced price I am a bit disappointed. I bought this system to complement my Sony XR65A75KU television. I didn't realise that Dolby Atmosphere is not supported. Although rated at 600 watts I found the loudness or volume on the low side with a lot of programs. The test tone is not distinct & has to be done manually. In hindsight I wish I had spent a bit more for a better system to benefit my television..

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

3

0

Sound from Rear Speables Inaudible

HT-S40R//Z SP1 07 September 2022 by Fierydragon28 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago, and upon hooking up the system found the rear wireless speakers way below what I expected. Te Sensurroud effect from the rear spekers was hardly audible , and there is no control to increase the volume of the rear speakers

Performance

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

0

Great buy

HT-S40R//Z SP1 07 September 2022 by Derek S (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound with wide range of options for sound output n was very easy to install

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sounded Great for a Month

HTS40R 17 August 2022 by Drew515 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The system sounded great, but now the rear speakers pop. I checked the connection and rebooted the system. Anyone have any idea about a warranty? How do I get working stuff?

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

8

0

0

Great Sound

HTS40R 29 July 2022 by barbsuma (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We purchased this 6/28/22. We had previously purchased a JVC System, returned it for lacking the ability to add rear speakers. After this, we purchased a Samsung system, but it had unacceptable limitations thus it too was returned. To meet our needs, (a large living room) we had to have rear speakers. Sony has met that need. It has been our experience that the "Sony" brand has never let us down, thus it continues.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Awesome !

HTS40R 08 July 2022 by SlashI (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had this for about 3 weeks , use in my living room with a 75” Samsung TV. Wish it had more power ( WATTS / CHANNEL ) or control over the equalizer, than the preset channels, customization should be left to the buyer! Overall it’s awesome and it’s a SONY .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Great Soundbar

HT-S40R//Z SP1 03 July 2022 by Derrick9516 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this a month ago, I liked it so much as it has the 2 rear speaker maybe the soundbar surround sound so great

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor product and very poor customer service

HT-S40R//Z SP1 26 June 2022 by Ashu0518 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Product is not easy use. Product is not wireless. It's very messy, also sound quality is bad given the price. Other products like JBL has better sound quality in cheaper price. Surround sound is bad. Over all highly dissatisfied with the quality of the product.

Performance

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

5

0

Sounds great

HTS40R 12 June 2022 by Jimover (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Finally upgraded my system and with all Sony. It sounds great and easy to use. Integrates with my TV so only 1 remote needed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features!

HT-S40R//Z SP1 29 May 2022 by 2007H (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall satisfactory. However procedure of sound setting I feel bit complicated.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing home cinema

HT-S40R 22 May 2022 by Foxas (United Kingdom)

Amazing product from Sony. Wireless rear speakers, and sound quality for low price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

16

0

Issue with Bluetooth

HT-S40R//Z SP1 04 May 2022 by NadyaQ (Singapore)

Value buy but there’s an issue with Bluetooth within one month of purchase. Troubleshooting such as reset has been done but to no avail. Whole set has been sent to Sony Service centre for a diagnosis and repair. Price reasonable for the set and sound is ok, a bit heavy on the bass.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Sound System

HT-S40R//Z SP1 06 March 2022 by Fende (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Among one of the better sound system I ever bought so far

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

0

Home cinema it is not

HT-S40R 21 February 2022 by fidget (United Kingdom)

Best thing about this is that there are no cables from front to back ,apart from that ,yes better sound from sound bar over tv , arc does not work ,but if you want cinemasound don't bother , i have had a cinema system where you could here the bullets fly around the room or the aircraft like on top gun filling the room ,there is no adjustment to rear speakers hey just produce sound , but not with this system. your better off buying a complete wired system or spending £2000 for a decent system

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

16

13

0

Great sound and features

HTS40R 05 January 2022 by Elver Gudo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is great for $300 you can’t go wrong with this one

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very well made

HTS40R 31 December 2021 by Beachcricket69 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Rear firing speakers are not loud enough to match the front sound bar.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Good value

HT-S40R 09 December 2021 by Ian247 (United Kingdom)

I brought this a few weeks ago and I am well happy with it

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

11

8

0

HT-40R

HTS40R 22 October 2021 by cradad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I called Sony to find a surround system that had wireless rear speakers and the agent I talked to recommended the HT-40R. I purchased the HT-40R to replace a BVD-E770W DVD surround system with wireless rear speakers. With the original system I could adjust each individual speaker for distance from the listener and the db level for each speaker. The new system you can only adjust the distance for either the right or left set of speakers. Most people are sitting closer to the rear speakers. The sound is decent but could be better if the adjustments were individual for each speaker.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Did not work out of the box

HTS40R 05 October 2021 by masterj (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound bar did not work right from the box hdmi or optical zero sound need to ship it for repairs should be replace not repaired

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

3

0

What it says on the box!

HT-S40R 11 September 2021 by Mike2311 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very easy to set up, straight out of the box. It took about 10 minutes no more. Instructions were simple to understand, no problems. Looks good, much smaller and neater than my previous sound system. No wires between front and back speakers. The sound is good as well and certainly loud enough. The various modes, cinema, music etc all work well with audible differences between them. Overall very pleased

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

31

0

Disappointed with clarity

HT-S40R 08 September 2021 by DeltaY (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The system is of the usual high standard which one expects from Sony. The system worked and synchronised straight out of the box, and when connected with an HDMI ARC connected cable is controlled from the TV remote and goes into standby when the TV is switched off as described in the literature. However I find the dialogue sometimes is muffled and when speech is important, such as on chat shows or news reports, I have to turned the system off and revert to the TV speakers which have greater clarity; In addition, irrespective of which setting or 5.1 source I use, from DVD or broadcast film, the sound from the rear speakers is not unique or different just a lower volume from the front sound bar. I have owned a surround system before which actually makes you feel you are the middle of the action or film - this system does not, it is more like 2.1 not 5.1 but perhaps I have yet to find the ultimate setting.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

25

19

0

Phenomenal Sound Quality

HTS40R 14 August 2021 by Dombomb (USA)

This sound system is nothing short of excellent. Super sharp quality. Crisp, clear sound all throughout the audio. The bass within the speakers are perfectly tuned. The Dynamics are all just perfectly pitched. The setup was simple as can be with wireless setup and color coded connections. Both movies and music sound flawless coming through the speakers. The surround sound with multiple speakers is similar to that of being in a theater or I can simply adjust through the enhancement for a simpler sound effect. I couldn't ask for more. I'm stunned by the quality of sound that comes through this system. Absolutely phenomenal. My entire family is loving the setup!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

4

1

0

Great sound, minimal wires

HTS40R 08 August 2021 by Dallasdave (USA)

Had this for about a month. Admittedly I am not tech savvy so the length of time (2 or 3 hours) to set everything may seem long. Overall not difficult, wires fit together with a simple push and everything was color coded. I didn't find the syncing to my TV via HDMI audio return channel all that easy, after reading instructions twice I figured out that I had to turn tv on first then the speakers. 5 stars on sound from a low profile minimal wiring setup, minus 1 star overall for technical setup and trouble pairing the rear speakers. Otherwise I do like the installed product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

2

0

Excellent sound quality!

HTS40R 03 August 2021 by Ben R (USA)

I really like this Sony Home Cinema. It was really easy to install by just pairing to my smart tv via Bluetooth. The two back speakers connect to the amplifier by wire but via Bluetooth to the subwoofer which is nice, less wires to run and hide. The sound is great when watching TV and my wife likes to connect her phone and play music. I like that it turns on and connects to my TV as soon as I turn the TV on. I don't have to have the remote to turn it on, and the volume is controlled with my TV. Best experience when watching movies with the kids, definitely feels like a home theater.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

1

0

Great surround sound system for the price!

HTS40R 01 August 2021 by Jeremy81 (USA)

I've been wanting a nice surround sound system for awhile now and decided to give this one a try. I like that there are no wires to run between the tv and the subwoofer. There is a little box that you attach the side speakers to so they are attached to that and not the subwoofer giving more flexibility for speaker placement. I had a much more expensive system years ago that was very difficult to set up and now no longer works. This system is extremely easy to set up only taking about 30 minutes. Love that I can also use the Bluetooth feature to connect it to my phone to play music. The overall sound and quality is wonderful for the price!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

1

0

Not wireless speakers.

HT-S40R 01 August 2021 by Dizzy di (United Kingdom)

Bought this a week ago. Looking forward to being able to place speakers back of room in desired place but unable to do because of wires, and where mains plug is situated in house.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

34

43

0

Nice sound.

HTS40R 30 July 2021 by Alaoiswolf (USA)

It's a great little system for those not looking for super explosive sound. I love the look of the sound bar and sub. Speaking of the sub everything is control thru it, minus the rear speakers. The only negative I can give it is the rear speaker are very light weight so if you have a busy home with kids or animals, it would be a good idea to wall mount them. Overall I'm very pleased with the unit.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

1

0

Immersive Cinematic Experience

HTS40R 29 July 2021 by Felix (USA)

I absolutely love our new Sony HT-S40R sound bar system! This slim profile sound bar is perfect for our setup as we lack ample wall space. The wireless amplifier can also be wall mounted or just resting on a table or shelf. Setup between the two satellite speakers is simple and pretty much mistake proof with the color coding. I do wish the wires were perhaps of a thicker gauge though this doesn’t seem to impact performance. The sync between the amplifier and the subwoofer is seamless as I did not have any issues with pairing. The sound quality is superb with the 5.1 surround setup. Our master bedroom tv is a bit dated so the sound quality passable but really needed some help. With the addition of the Sony HT-S40R, it feels like it’s practically a whole new television (while display quality hasn’t changed, the sound has dramatically improved). While I appreciate the feature with USB Bluetooth connectivity, this is not really something that I find myself using but is certainly a nice perk. The remote works well and is responsive but I think a bit over complicated with so many different buttons/features. All in all, this truly is an immersive sounds bar system that’s not only powerful, ergonomic, but also aesthetically pleasing. This is definitely a good value and priced reasonably where you won’t have to break the bank for superior sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Works great

HTS40R 28 July 2021 by Christa17_81 (USA)

It works really great. It was pretty easy to set up. We did have a few issues but to me that is normal. Like at first out tv had no sound at all but we were able to fix it. I personally do not hear as well as I used to so I love it. My kids say it shakes their rooms and is too loud. It's a great addition to our livingroom.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Sounds good

HTS40R 28 July 2021 by Jennka (USA)

This is a pretty solid surround sound system. I like the bass that this gives as well as the sound all around. This was very easy to install and really gives me a more clear sound when watching tv, movies, and listening to music. I do wish though that the rear speakers were actually wireless. Due to them having wires, I had to put them on a platform so I didn't have wires coming down my wall. There are times where when I am not watching anything, random beeps come from the rear speakers, but it may be just some interference with other chords. Overall a very nice system.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Huge upgrade from 2.1 soundbar

HTS40R 27 July 2021 by sgrr (USA)

Initial setup was a pain with HDMI ARC. I had problems getting it to connect through HDMI-CEC Anynet+ on my Samsung TV. Finally got it connected, but the next time I turned on the TV, it couldn't even read the soundbar. Tried to get it working, but it just wouldn't connect. I have a lot of patience, and this was really testing it during setup. Not sure if it was my TV or the soundbar that was having issues with HDMI ARC. Switched over to Bluetooth because I didn't have an extra optical cable. The back speakers would make popping noises, ruining the surround sound experience. Plus, when switching apps (within Amazon FireStick) the soundbar would switch inputs for some reason. I was about to give this a bad review and switch back to my old soundbar. But.. Got an optical cable a few days later and it has worked flawlessly ever since! Even got the FireStick remote synced up because Amazon makes it extremely easy to do. What I like: Sounds great! It's a huge upgrade from a 2.1 soundbar. Instruction booklet is comprehensive and very helpful. I recommend keeping the manual close for awhile - there are many settings you can calibrate. What I didn't like: Bluetooth connection wasn't stable with rear speakers. The text interface is on the subwoofer - not the soundbar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Great product and super easy to setup!

HTS40R 27 July 2021 by Aaron (USA)

I got the product several weeks ago and just got around to setting it up. I was blown away by how easy it was to setup and how great the sound quality is. The sound bar is low profile and fits very neatly on my media stand. Setup was a breeze and the system immediately integrated with the tv. The rear speakers were automatically linked to the woofer and sound bad so there wasn’t the typical troubleshooting headaches that I’d normally have with something like this. Very happy with this product and would definitely recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

I love my home cinema!

HTS40R 26 July 2021 by zacg6 (USA)

I have been wanting to purchase a speaker system for our living room for quite some time. I don’t know why I waited so long, because it is a total game changer! Setting everything up was what I was looking forward to the least— but it’s truly a piece of cake. We host movie nights and having the awesome sound quality from the sound bar, the subwoofer, and the two rear speakers makes such a difference. I can’t recommend this product enough.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Great Quality Sound

HTS40R 26 July 2021 by Jwyand1 (USA)

This home cinema system is simply amazing! The quality is so good and really does give you a cinema experience right from your own home!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

3

0

Nice solid home theater system

HTS40R 23 July 2021 by Matt278 (USA)

I was excited to get this set up and compare to my Bose Cinemate 15 single sound bar and subwoofer system. I was impressed how easy the installation was and the Bluetooth and USB integration. Unfortunately it did not compare to the quality and clarity of my Bose system but to be fair it cost $100s more. I decided to keep the Bose in our living room and setup the Sony in our bedroom which with a smaller space and positioning the rear speakers on each night stand proved to be an impressive upgrade in our bedroom. Using the ARC HDMI input was a single input connection which is great and best of all my TV remote controls the volume and power of the system. My biggest complaint is the lack of clarity more treble is required to my ears and the sound is a bit muddy even with the subwoofer turned down. After a few days I adjusted and a huge upgrade over the TV speakers.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

0

0

Just wow

HTS40R 23 July 2021 by Chrissy11 (USA)

Got this a few weeks back and let me me tell you movie night had gotten more exciting. The sound is crisp and clear. What I like about this product is that is isn't too bulky and goes with any rooms decor..This product is definitely a go to for a over all great sound system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0