183

4.4 based on 183 customer reviews

128
29
10
6
10
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Awesome

SRS-XB21 05 March 2019 by Marvel man66 (United Kingdom)

Excellent base speaker, so powerful, going to get another one

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Battery won’t hold a charge

SRS-XB21 28 April 2019 by Kenzie1988 (USA)

I bought my speaker about 6 months ago at Best Buy and only got to use it about 10 times before the speaker battery stopped charging. Now I can’t listen to it for more than 30 minutes without it dying. The sound is good but I can’t even use it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

184 Customer Reviews

0

Glad I bought it

SRS-XB21 21 July 2019 by Nickyboy1 (United Kingdom)

Good compact sound. Easy to use. Not easy to clean due to covering

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound. Poor battery. Gimmicks. Expensive.

SRS-XB21 19 July 2019 by Call me H (United Kingdom)

I bought this about two weeks ago and I thought my previous Sony bluetooth iPhone dock speaker from a few years ago (Bluetooth v2.1!). I thought this was quite expensive, it was six tons. I feel it is worth less than that. The sound is very loud and seems to have too much bass for normal day to day use, but is useful for parties and when the mood fits. It seems to penetrate The battery life seems to be far less than quoted. Even with the features turned off and the lights, it's about 4-5 hours at most! The battery monitoring button does not seem to provide any accurate readings. Often it will say it's 50% when in reality it's about to reach the low battery status which causes the sound volume to be automatically lowered. The app seems quite rough at the edges and often decides to detect an additional speaker which doesn't exist. The sound tapping music mood is a silly gimmick, the novelty wore off after a few minutes playing with it. It could have been replaced with some other useful features. Multi coloured LED lights would have been better than the single white LEDs occupying the top and bottom strip - one each. But the lighting is a nice touch for those of us who do like lights synchronised to the music. It is built well and feels solid. I like the dust and water proof chassis, which means i don't have to worry about taking it in the bathroom, by the pool, beach, etc. Or worry about the weather, as here in England, it does rain a lot! For the money I would have expected a carry case or a built in strap to be included besides the micro USB cable.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

It's good

SRS-XB21 14 July 2019 by Afro86 (United Kingdom)

I was torn between three speakers. My favourite was unavailable. Sony made this one difficult to compare because it was the only speaker which didn't measure output in wattage. When the battery is low it speaks to you over the music, I'd prefer if it didn't. It does a lot of things but I can't remember all of the different combinations of buttons to get it to do them all. Sound quality is good. I like the extra bass feature, I'd prefer if it were louder. It is weighty, but I understand that is the sign of good quality. It will link to other Sony speakers. Be warned, it will only last 3 hours on full volume. It's a good speaker. It wouldn't be loud enough enough for a party though, maybe a small barbecue.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Standard speaker

SRS-XB21 13 July 2019 by Deepdiver77 (United Kingdom)

The battery runs out very quickly, needs recharging frequently

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant little speaker

SRS-XB21 08 July 2019 by Samlad (United Kingdom)

Brilliant little speaker, nice bassy sound it is dust and splash proof, easy to use! I would reccomend

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good for music but not good for speech

SRS-XB21 07 July 2019 by Dart126 (United Kingdom)

I bought the speaker 5 weeks ago. I wanted to use it for music and also for speech. The "extra bass" is good for music but very poor for speech. Although the instructions show that you can shut down the "extra bass" by pressing two buttons together - this simply does not work.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great Sound

SRS-XB21 07 July 2019 by NORM45 (United Kingdom)

Can't believe the quality of the sound for the size of the speaker. Good bass response and excellent across the whole sound spectrum. Light and easy to carry and will accept a 3.5 mm lead id your playing unit doesn't have Bluetooth.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Appaling battery.

SRS-XB21 30 June 2019 by Fab2507 (United Kingdom)

Great sound. Awful battery. Nice looking unit. Last model was better.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent quality

SRS-XB21 30 June 2019 by Cormac (United Kingdom)

Received this yesterday, unbelievable sound quality. Many fun features, very compact

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Speaker sound &clarity

SRS-XB21 27 June 2019 by Woody12345 (United Kingdom)

Amazing product reliable excellent sound & clarity and small and portable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good volume and sound quality

SRS-XB21 26 June 2019 by Nocciola (United Kingdom)

Just bought this to use in teaching and for Opera Appreciation class. So simple. Can simply switch it on, pair it with my ipad... in seconds. No lugging heavy speakers around. Highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ticks all the boxes

SRS-XB21 24 June 2019 by SuperSix (United Kingdom)

Having listened to in a friend’s caravan this little device became a ‘must buy’ for me - and I can confirm it is money well spent - I’m delighted with my purchase!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound

SRS-XB21 23 June 2019 by Grevo (United Kingdom)

Very impressed by the sound quality. Small and transportable with a decent battery life. Bluetooth connection is flawless.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sounds good, but...

SRS-XB21 22 June 2019 by M703 (USA)

I bought this speaker around May 15th, 2019 and I like the sound and features, but the battery life is nothing close to what the description claims. Not using the light or other features I am only able to get around 4 hours from this speaker. Sony, I would like you to provide me with a speaker that does provide up to 12 hours of music on a charge. Thanks.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharing my sounds

SRS-XB21 20 June 2019 by Morto (United Kingdom)

Had this bought for me as a secret Santa gift perfect for holiday balcony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good sound quality!

SRS-XB21 19 June 2019 by Dren (United Kingdom)

I am very happy with my purchase and i love it ! Sony you did imrpove youre bluetooth speakers, well done!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB21 17 June 2019 by Vixster (United Kingdom)

Sounds much better than expected, really good bass, well worth the money

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect gift

SRS-XB21 15 June 2019 by MrMRA (United Kingdom)

I bought this product in May as a replacement for an earlier gift

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality Speaker

SRS-XB21 11 June 2019 by Jom41 (United Kingdom)

Really decent speaker, I was surprised with how great the depth of sound is.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A great buy!

SRS-XB21 10 June 2019 by Kjmoyles (United Kingdom)

This turned out to be a great purchase. The sound is very good. I bought it to take on holiday to play music on the beach and hotel room. But I use it all the time! We love it. Easy to use. 10 hour battery life too. And it speaks to you when it needs recharging!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice size

SRS-XB21 09 June 2019 by Nikki08 (United Kingdom)

This product is ok, it's not loud enough for me, the base is ok, I did think you had an option to control the base but its just built in.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Love the base and sound

SRS-XB21 25 May 2019 by Momozile (United Kingdom)

Bought it a few weeks ago and I love it however I don’t understand why it lowers its volume sometimes without my command

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it

SRS-XB21 19 May 2019 by Archer 1066 (United Kingdom)

I bought this speaker as it has no wires and can be taken anywhere. Its great to take in the garden or around the house. I !ove it when we do archery, either inside or outside. The battery life is really good and lasts a whole day. A bonus is lovely colours

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB21 17 May 2019 by Cilla12 (United Kingdom)

I was given the Bluetooth speaker as a gift & it’s absolutely brilliant

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mrs Happy

SRS-XB21 04 May 2019 by bluebird 55 (United Kingdom)

It has amazing sound and very easy to use also very good value for money

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice

SRS-XB21 04 May 2019 by Roadrunner7777 (United Kingdom)

Bought three weeks ago, it's a very powerful little speaker with great bass

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Battery won’t hold a charge

SRS-XB21 28 April 2019 by Kenzie1988 (USA)

I bought my speaker about 6 months ago at Best Buy and only got to use it about 10 times before the speaker battery stopped charging. Now I can’t listen to it for more than 30 minutes without it dying. The sound is good but I can’t even use it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Looks good and sounds great

SRS-XB21 23 April 2019 by Jojet (United Kingdom)

Bought this a month ago to use with a turntable it was very easy to set up and sounds really good. The charge has lasted for a long time.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great sound

SRS-XB21 20 April 2019 by Carlos7fandango (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago for work and I'm very happy.terrific sound and Bluetooth so can play all sorts of spotify.highly recommend!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Hi-quality sound

SRS-XB21 18 April 2019 by Sandyman77 (United Kingdom)

So compact and portable, great value for the price

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound quality

SRS-XB21 16 April 2019 by Pete61 (United Kingdom)

The sound quality from this speaker is really good and i can recommend it to anyone. The speaker is small enough to take around the house inside or out or even on holiday with you to enjoy music from your Bluetooth device anywhere.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Speaker

SRS-XB21 12 April 2019 by Absolute beginner (United Kingdom)

Hadn’t a clue what to look for but very pleased with this

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb

SRS-XB21 09 April 2019 by Stratty (United Kingdom)

Bought this to replace a Jam and couldn't believe the difference. Size, build and sound quality are of the highest order, for the price. Highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

little gem

SRS-XB21 25 March 2019 by Andre1950 (United Kingdom)

I bought this speaker around 2/3 weeks ago and it's brilliant. sounds bigger than it's size suggests. perfect for my needs. I can ask no more.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

really good features

SRS-XB21 23 March 2019 by loolipop (United Kingdom)

Bought as a present and both myself and the lady i purchased it for are happy with the speaker and the quality of sound roduced.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great rich sound

SRS-XB21 18 March 2019 by GeePolly (United Kingdom)

Love this little speaker. I was pleasantly surprised with the deep and rich sound quality even at high volume. Packs a fair punch. I’m used to Bose speakers and would say thus comes close. Sounds great even with the bass boost off. Not interested in the flashy lights and party booster though.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good sound doesn't charge horrible return policy

SRS-XB21 17 March 2019 by mgbgt68 (USA)

Two months ago I bought one of these. It wouldn't turn on or charge so I called Sony and they said return it. I did an exchange with Best Buy, got the new one home, charged it and had not needed another charge until last week. Again, though, it would not take a charge. In trying to return it Best Buy said it had gone beyond the 15 day return window. It's a lot of trouble for something that obviously has an issue. My suggestion is to avoid this product. We did enjoy the sound it produced when it was working.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Battery life is not as advertised

SRS-XB21 12 March 2019 by Syd8888 (United Kingdom)

Keeps giving different announcements for amount of battery left. Waste of money

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Good sound quality but problems connecting

SRS-XB21 11 March 2019 by ReginaldHopscotch (United Kingdom)

It never finds my Sony laptop (Windows 10). I have to go through the Actions/Notifications icon on the right of the taskbar, and slowly click the bluetooth square four times, changing it from blue to grey to blue to grey to blue. Before I worked that out, it was a nightmare. I think the first two clicks get the headset function, which I'll never use. If I click too fast, it takes another two or four clicks. It worked OK with a laptop with an HP badge, and Sony say the speaker meets the specs. My laptop worked fine with the Anker SoundCore 2. Maybe it's just hit-and-miss whether or not Bluetooth works between two devices. I could have returned the XB21 but I didn't because I need the sound quality (for the price).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great features and affordable price

SRS-XB21 07 March 2019 by Nat27 (United Kingdom)

The extra bass is really great! I like it a lot! The sound quality is good. Everything is quite good except the battery life is not that good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great bass

SRS-XB21 06 March 2019 by Tracey j (United Kingdom)

Bought this for my 17 Yr old. Impressed with the quality and volume of sound for small box. She loves the bass. Has used this in bedroom but also for house party which gave impressive surround sound. Lights added feature, would like to be able to change colour of lights.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome

SRS-XB21 05 March 2019 by Marvel man66 (United Kingdom)

Excellent base speaker, so powerful, going to get another one

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great sound clarity.

SRS-XB21 02 March 2019 by Crazy hands (United Kingdom)

Great sound clarity from such a small device. Powerful and clear.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing Sound

SRS-XB21 01 March 2019 by Chezie (United Kingdom)

I bought this yesterday, easy to connect and great sound quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great little sound bar, real quality .

SRS-XB21 01 March 2019 by Spud 123 (United Kingdom)

Bought it about a month ago connected to my phone straight away. Brilliant. But alas it wont work with my laptop which it was originally bought for.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Lovely little sound box

SRS-XB21 27 February 2019 by Lamarche (United Kingdom)

Great item. Quite powerful considering its small size. Just one minus point, the battery seems to need recharging quite frequently, but then again, it is a small item!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect

SRS-XB21 26 February 2019 by Nelson211005 (United Kingdom)

Just what we have been looking for to listen to our music outside. The setup was simple and we were "listening" within a couple of minutes of unpacking the box !! Highly recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good sound

SRS-XB21 23 February 2019  (United Kingdom)

I was given this for my birthday .... good sound and really easy to set up!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0