146

4.4 based on 146 customer reviews

103
26
2
8
7
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Excellent speaker.

SRS-XB22 06 July 2020 by Stevie10 (United Kingdom)

After a lot of research for a speaker, I’m really happy I went for this one. Had an earlier Sony model before and it lasted years - outliving 2 others (not Sony) purchased some time later. This speaker has a great sound and features, very happy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good little speaker but could be better !

SRS-XB22 20 May 2020 by Lau30 (United Kingdom)

Sounds good... but the sound could be a little louder for me ! The battery life definitely doesn’t last for 12 hours as advertised I’d say more like 3 hours if that when you have the volume up loud.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

146 Customer Reviews

0

Does what is says on the tin

SRS-XB22 27 July 2020 by DGK1 (United Kingdom)

Just what I wanted. Good price, reliable, easy to use and great sound quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound

SRS-XB22 21 July 2020 by DLaw81 (United Kingdom)

Great sound and love the ability to pair speakers and also do party sound with multiple speakers. Looking to buy a 3rd.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sounds magnificent

SRS-XB22 19 July 2020 by Kath 2000 (United Kingdom)

Easy to use to amplify sound from phone or tablet Good well balanced sound range...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fab little speaker

SRS-XB22 17 July 2020 by Cuppatea (United Kingdom)

Really good quality sound and bass for a little portable speaker. Battery lasts longer than others I’ve had.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent for my needs

SRS-XB22 10 July 2020 by Gerrybhoy47 (United Kingdom)

I bought this online at the end of June as we needed something to play music in the conservatory or garden. Our music system is great but to purchase an additional speaker was financially not viable. This little player gives a great sound for its size and works on Bluetooth therefor I can stream Spotify through it. Will take it on holiday later this year as it is fairly light and very portable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound

SRS-XB22 08 July 2020 by M1chelle (United Kingdom)

Great sound quality. Would like it to be a bit louder though.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent speaker.

SRS-XB22 06 July 2020 by Stevie10 (United Kingdom)

After a lot of research for a speaker, I’m really happy I went for this one. Had an earlier Sony model before and it lasted years - outliving 2 others (not Sony) purchased some time later. This speaker has a great sound and features, very happy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Sound!

SRS-XB22/L 05 July 2020 by Dandandan (Singapore)

I can bring it along with me everwhere! Great Sound and it last alot longer after each charged!

0

0

0

lovely soound

SRS-XB22 02 July 2020 by Sue SC (United Kingdom)

My husband researched this as I wanted a wireless speaker. Absolutely love it. Sounds Gorgeous and so compact. For the price I cant fault it for value

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great value for money

SRS-XB22 28 June 2020 by Tony Gooner (United Kingdom)

Great value for money and such a great out put sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Poor quality and customer service

SRS-XB22 24 June 2020 by johnnyboy96 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this speaker and it does not work, it pairs with devices but does not play the sound properly and works intermittently. I have contacted customer services to try to arrange a repair but they are unwilling to help. Avoid at all costs!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

5

0

Excellent product

SRS-XB22 21 June 2020 by Yido 59 (United Kingdom)

So happy we bought this portable speaker excellent value and a great sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Bass at its Best

SRS-XB22 19 June 2020 by Rico Scorpio (United Kingdom)

I bought the XB22 EXTRA BASS™ Portable BLUETOOTH® Speaker based on a friends recommendation. Not only is it easy to set up using Bluetooth, but he sound features are amazing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

NIce sound for 45 minutes then volume goes down!

SRS-XB22 15 June 2020  (USA)

This is the second one I have gotten because the same problem occurred with the first one. You play them for about 30 minutes to an hour continuously and all of sudden the volume goes down so far you can hardly hear it. I don't thiink I got the only 2 with this problem and don't say it needs charging because it was charging before I turned it on.If that was the cse then the charge only lasts 1 hour? I WILL NEVER BUY A SONY SPEAKER AGAIN! Don't waist your money.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

lovely sound

SRS-XB22 15 June 2020 by badbaz54 (United Kingdom)

Bought this today and tested it out after charging. Quick read of the instructions and away. Was blown away by the sound quality from such a small unit. Excellent product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Bluetooth speaker

SRS-XB22 13 June 2020 by Long1957 (United Kingdom)

Simple device to use with no wires and easy to set up via Bluetooth to any music system that uses Bluetooth.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Its a Sony, however......

SRS-XB22 07 June 2020 by 123456789No (USA)

This speaker refuses to connect via Bluetooth on my LG Stylo 5x, it also didn't connect to the 5 either, any reason, why!? It did fine until I upgraded my phone from the Stylo 4. I don't know I guess I need to upgrade the speaker too!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Terrible

SRS-XB22 07 June 2020 by JL hates sony (USA)

Does not even play 4 hours on a full charge. Can't count on it!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB22 07 June 2020 by Lynne b (United Kingdom)

Just bought this Sony speaker and sound is excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

User Experience Disaster

SRS-XB22 05 June 2020 by Dakter (United Kingdom)

The charge status is only accessible via pushing a button long and it tells you how much it is charged. You can NOT only see it in some kind of led stripe. I guess it was expensive at that time. If you push this button too long the completely useless light function ignites. The charge level is never consistent, sometimes it says 20% than 50%. Anyway, it only knows four levels. 20%, 50%, 70% and fully charged. And again, you have to ask this piece to tell it to you. When synchronizing two piece (Yes I was stupid enough to buy two) it takes several turns of pressing buttons long until the left and right speakers are not in delay anymore and it does not sound like somebody desperately shouting from a cave with huge echoes. When I try to pair it with my device the two piece has the same name so I never know which one is connected. And yes, I tried to download the app and rename it. Then went to the SONY site to register. And now I plan to finish a training course on SONY devices Bachelor and Bluetooth Speaker Master because I still could not manage to rename since the only option I could find is consistently gray. When the charge level is below 20% it becomes so silent that you can not hear if it is heavy metal or the ants are scratching the wall from outside. Pairing two devices for stereo mode is trough holding a button pressed. If you push it too short it loses the Bluetooth signal and starts the connecting all over again. It has amazing features like acting like a drum that you can even customize. Amazing how mankind could survive without that feature sofar. If you want to charge - and you better do it all the time - the plug cover presses the connector and it leads to early death of this funnily annoying creature. I hope it will rest in peace soon so I can make a more wise purchase. The sound is good btw.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Simple to use and terrific sound

SRS-XB22 05 June 2020  (United Kingdom)

I bought this to use in my garage and it works perfectly with great sound I can listen to whilst working on my cars

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great product

SRS-XB22 02 June 2020 by John 11111 (United Kingdom)

I bought this speaker two weeks ago and really enjoyed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great value

SRS-XB22 01 June 2020 by Cookie67 (United Kingdom)

I bought this speaker about a month ago and it’s done exactly what I wanted

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great speaker

SRS-XB22 01 June 2020 by Lucy B (United Kingdom)

Excellent sound quality, impressive bass even at high volume. I haven't experienced any sound distortion. Extremely satisfied with my purchase and would definitely recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Best in its price category

SRS-XB22 31 May 2020 by Rich Pace (United Kingdom)

I’ve had this for a couple of weeks now. It’s great in its class, great value and what puts it above the others is the graphic equaliser. A lot of them don’t which makes them very limiting. I like the standard, live and extra bass feature too. The party mode is a gimmick and won’t use that but that’s fine.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

excellent bluetooth speaker

SRS-XB22 24 May 2020 by woodsmith (United Kingdom)

Bought this to accompany live facebook concerts during lockdown as the sound from my laptop was poor and then gave up totally. Sound quality is excellent, perhaps a bit heavy on the bass at times and the volume is more than we need. Relatively easy to set up and pair with laptop, ipad and mobile phones now we can listen to music from all our devices throughout the house. It tells you it is pairing and when the battery needs charging. Overall very pleased and it has enhanced our listening experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Easy to use

SRS-XB22 21 May 2020  (United Kingdom)

The demonstration was clear and made the speaker easy to operate.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good little speaker but could be better !

SRS-XB22 20 May 2020 by Lau30 (United Kingdom)

Sounds good... but the sound could be a little louder for me ! The battery life definitely doesn’t last for 12 hours as advertised I’d say more like 3 hours if that when you have the volume up loud.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Nice little package with benefits

SRS-XB22 20 May 2020 by EVZMcD (United Kingdom)

I haven't been listening to music much recently, but now I have this neat little speaker, I find myself enjoying albums that have been lurking in dusty corners of my Amazon Prime account for years. I am not a pop or rock fan, I love classical music and I'm very happy with the quality of the sound. When the neighbours are enjoying their taste in music in their gardens, I can put this near me and block their noise with my own bubble of beauty. Getting used to the thing is a bit tricky, you really need the app to access some features and it is certainly worth downloading the user manual.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Just what I needed

SRS-XB22 10 May 2020  (United Kingdom)

I am very happy with my speaker it has help me during lockdown . I live alone

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The extra bass is fantastic

SRS-XB22 09 May 2020 by Ben2000 (United Kingdom)

The quality is good, the battery life fine and the sound effects and quality is very good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound!

SRS-XB22/B 09 May 2020 by OwCK (Singapore)

Bought one in Oct 19 to try on my Sony Walkman player. Love it and bought another one in Dec 19. However one of them had some charging problem. Sent in for warranty repair and resulted replacing with a brand new one. This speaker is light and compact but it deliver a good stedeo quality Hifi sound at low volume. Only area need to improve is on Bluetooth connectivity when connected in groups. I'm very satisfied with the quality of sound at less than S$100.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Go for it, it is personal!

SRS-XB22/B 01 May 2020 by mhulk (Singapore)

I have the SRS-XB2 for the longest time, love the Extra Bass. The piece was getting old, the BT would dropped off now and then. My kid passed me the JBL Flip 3 JSE, great looking product, looks hardy, solid, but I distinctively recognize that lack of the bass, that punch. I finally decided to get the XB22 'upgrade' and WOW! What a world of difference. No amount of equalizer can even get the JBL close without distortion. Extra Bass is now called LINE. Listening to your favourite sound / song without the Bass Boost is a lost of your time, a deprivation of the best pleasure. It's just no comparison if your expectation is the same as mine. XB22, great product!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It does the job sometimes

SRS-XB22 29 April 2020 by Kstils (USA)

I don’t know if I got a dud but this thing does NOT last 12 hours. I’ll charge it all night and it seems the connection doesn’t work with the charger. I have to position the charger a certain way. I get 3 hours of audio at best.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Love the lights!

SRS-XB22 29 April 2020 by Elsie Head (United Kingdom)

I have had my speaker for almost a fortnight and am generally happy with it. Sleek appearance and a sturdy, quality build. I will be happy to take this out with friends. The only downside I would say is that the battery life appears to be not that great-I have since read that this can occur when you use the lighting feature and have the volume relatively loud: both of which I enjoy! Also when you get low battery or 20% the volume is regulated automatically to fairly low so you don’t get the full bass for the last bit of your battery. Other than this I am very happy, would definitely recommend this as a purchase to friends and family and I know I will enjoy for some time to come.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality blue tooth speaker

SRS-XB22 26 April 2020 by Littlegeorge (United Kingdom)

Ordered online after reading a couple of positive reviews and so glad we did.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great with iPad

SRS-XB22 25 April 2020 by Dances (United Kingdom)

It was a gift but Just what I needed to add portable sound to my ipa

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Super speaker

SRS-XB22 21 April 2020 by Nicola J (United Kingdom)

So pleased I bought this speaker...great sound from such a small portable speaker...easy to set up and get running...does what it says on the specification.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Extra Bass speaker

SRS-XB22 09 April 2020 by GrahamDP (United Kingdom)

I found the Sony unit had that extra bass punch which gave it the edge over similar speakers

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

Excellent sound quality

SRS-XB22 01 April 2020 by Don Wilson (United Kingdom)

Great value speaker with excellent sound quality, easy to set up and use. Good battery time between charges.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Transforming

SRS-XB22 29 March 2020 by Aristide72 (United Kingdom)

An unexpected birthday present that has made a wonderful improvement to the sound quality of my main source of live listening, my iPad . Easy to install and user friendly.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

great sound

SRS-XB22 28 March 2020 by kman2812 (United Kingdom)

great product, amazing sound for such a small speaker and incredible bass! sometimes takes a while to pair when switching between devices. battery lasts a very long time too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Easy to set up.

SRS-XB22 28 March 2020 by Kilburn (United Kingdom)

Great speaker, compact, fits anywhere. Easy to use.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Good sound

SRS-XB22 24 March 2020 by LuckyRick (United Kingdom)

Was in doubt whether it would be loud enough but extremely satisfied

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

So good;so easy to use

SRS-XB22 21 March 2020 by Jonah08 (United Kingdom)

spent the evening listening to a little classical. Sound was impressive

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

love the features

SRS-XB22 12 March 2020 by jenniew (United Kingdom)

The speaker gives me the great sound as and when I want

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Item is great!

SRSXB22/B 07 March 2020 by eyeung (USA)

I bought this on March 4th, 2020. I love it, it's an amazon product. But the only problem was the registration, I have to box, the reference guide and the speaker itself, but it's a requirement to show proof off purchase.. I'm unable to show proof because I threw the receipt away, and so this registration process should be updated. Other than that, the product itself is wonderful!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB22 07 March 2020 by TerriS (United Kingdom)

I bought this for my husband for Christmas and we are really pleased with it, it’s very clear and has great feature

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great all rounder

SRS-XB22 06 March 2020 by Mary989 (United Kingdom)

Easy to use , compact design, good sound and good valu

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound

SRS-XB22 27 February 2020 by Sound 1 (United Kingdom)

Bought the previous version. Satisfied with that and bough this for another venue. good sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB22 20 February 2020 by Roger Engineer (United Kingdom)

Just bought to improve quality of sound for our apartment It does!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice piece of kit

SRS-XB22 16 February 2020 by Johnny1948 (United Kingdom)

A very good sound from such a small device. With a relatively high volume

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love this speaker

SRS-XB22 14 February 2020 by Dixy 2 (United Kingdom)

I could not believe the quality of the sound coming from this speaker, a clear and warm sound. The speaker exudes quality in its build and is very tactile. It does come with a lighting system but I have no use for that and it would use up the battery power which does last a long time but I can see it would be fun to use. It was very easy to connect to all my Apple devises so can be controlled from them but it does have a volume control should you wish to use it. Comes with a charge lead to connect to a USB socket, this is a little short though. Can also be connected to several speakers via Bluetooth and it's waterproof. What's not to like ? Great product, goes everywhere with me now. Love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Easy to use

SRS-XB22 13 February 2020 by Bonie (United Kingdom)

Got the hang of it quickly and the quality is amazing

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound & easy to use

SRS-XB22 13 February 2020 by MarkW17 (United Kingdom)

So good I have bought two, one for home and one for work. Good sound quality and easy to set up. Compact and easy to take with you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good quality the best sound and great bass

SRS-XB22 10 February 2020 by Wheelymtd (United Kingdom)

I bought this from Currys a month ago had good service and great price Very good quality and the best sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

GREAT SOUND - ALL YOU NEED!

SRS-XB22 10 February 2020 by DJ23 (United Kingdom)

This speaker does all I want and gives out a super sound, high or low. Just the job

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great price..great bass!!

SRS-XB22 10 February 2020 by Scarborough Ram (United Kingdom)

Bought this to provide some background music at a wedding celebration meal for about a dozen people. With the extensive battery power, the great sound quality and the extra bass and its smart looks it was more than capable of providing what I was looking for. Thanks Sony!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0