62

4.8 based on 62 customer reviews

53
7
2
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Very impressive

SEL100400GM 29 September 2017 by Yervant (USA)

After shooting with Nikon for 40 years, I just recently switched camera systems from Nikon to Sony. For starters, I bought the Sony a7Rii along with the Sony FE 24-70 F2.8 GM and Sony FE 100-400 F4.5-5.6 GM OSS. I have to say, I love this Sony system. The ease of capturing images, especially fast paced images, is surprisingly easy. The images attached were captured with the outstanding 100-400 GM. The focus system on the a7Rii never missed a beat with this fast moving Waverunner. The viewfinder is just incredible. I love being able to see exactly what I am capturing at the exact moment I pressed the shutter release. The detail of 42.5 MP's is unreal. My only regret is that I didn't switch systems sooner.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

R3_100-400GM

SEL100400GM 03 August 2018 by Fitz Michael (USA)

I had this lens for couple months now and I've noticed the lens sometimes it won't focus. I have to turn off the camera and it the lens works again. I updated the software to the latest one available to download and that did not fix the problem. also, the manual focus to infinity is not calibrated correctly.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

63 Customer Reviews

0

Ticks all the boxes

SEL100400GM SYX 21 August 2019 by tntrue (Singapore)

Bitingly sharp across the frame, even at 400mm, where it counts most. Surprisingly contrasty for a zoom. No discernible loss of sharpness when used with the SEL14TC and retains contrast amazingly well for a zoom paired with a teleconverter. Acquires focus quickly and, when using Real Time Tracking, maintains critically accurate focus on a moving subject. A bonus is that it's equally good at minimum focus distance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality Lens

SEL100400GM 25 July 2019 by Cordless (United Kingdom)

I have had this lens two weeks used on the A7 iii pleased with results without a doubt a quality lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fast focusing

SEL100400GM 20 July 2019 by Davey445 (United Kingdom)

Bought this - replacing my Canon 5DMk3 camera with A7Mk3 and Canon equivalent 100-400 Mk2 lens. For me - as a wildlife photographer - focus acquisition time / speed / accuracy is key. My new Sony camera + lens combination meets all my needs, plus providing a “complete integrated package” with following additional benefits . . . . . . ** superb sensor performance, not seen on Canon SLR cameras ** excellent low light capture, matching any SLR performance ** superior focus tracking ** burst shot rate equivalent only to expensive SLRs. ** small, light & compact camera footprint / unlike this lens which is solid but weighty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

The Best in it's class, The SEL100400 G Master

SEL100400GM SYX 18 July 2019 by RC86 (Singapore)

Rented this lens once and I was throughly impressed by what it could capture! That reach at 400mm was amazing and you can ALWAYS count on a G Master lens to give you that beautiful sharpness and clarity! If you are in the market for a long range FE lens, you can always rent one from Sony first and experience the quality of the lens and Trust me, you will get hooked :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome lens

SEL100400GM 14 July 2019 by Theforth9 (USA)

Great lens still adjusting to the weight, it has a great range of focal length. Some might say a little overkill for a a6400 but a must have for wildlife.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A brilliant lens, excellent quality and optics

SEL100400GM 13 July 2019 by PatJF69 (United Kingdom)

I have been upgrading my system to full format and this lens completed the upgrade. It was an excellent choice. A very good lens optics and response are very good, tracking with the A7iii is superb. This gives me the longer focal options for the photo choices I make. Excellent lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Another superb lens

SEL100400GM 22 June 2019 by Broono (United Kingdom)

Superb quality both in build and image. Perfect companion for my A7r3.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact and sharp

SEL100400GM 22 June 2019 by aamirsab (United Kingdom)

Bought a couple of weeks back to give me extra reach

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome Lens

SEL100400GM 19 June 2019 by GeeDaDa (USA)

I purchased this Lens, along with the a6400 mirrorless camera, and I am getting some very sharp photos. I am pleased with this set up and would recommend for wildlife photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Masterful lens

SEL100400GM 29 May 2019 by JulianS (United Kingdom)

A very good all-round lens as well as excellent performance as a telephoto lens. Versatile and adaptable in a range of conditions. Image quality produced is excellent and I am very pleased with it so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Incredible lens

SEL100400GM 21 May 2019 by angelsodyssey (United Kingdom)

I recently switched from Canon to Sony but kept all my Canon L lenses. I was so impressed with my A7RIII that I sold all my good lenses for the 100-400mm GM – I am not disappointed! This lens is super sharp and the focusing is very fast. I mainly photograph wildlife and this lens is perfect for the sort of environments I photograph (mainly around ponds and woodland). The OSS seems to work very well, and I have no problem shooting at 400mm handheld. Having the programmable button(s) on the barrel is fantastic and it is great being able to have focus lock right where I am holding the lens. The only downside is the colour (not the best for wildlife photography), but thankfully there are third party neoprene camouflage sets available. While it is an expensive lens, you get what you pay for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fast Autofocus

SEL100400GM SYX 13 May 2019 by Ycpaul (Singapore)

I brought the 100 400 mm G master len about a month ago . I like the Autofocus is fast and sharp. Pls noted that the Photo is not being edit by Photo Shop .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Fast focus & pin sharp

SEL100400GM 10 May 2019 by JLS1 (United Kingdom)

Delighted with the quality and performance of this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent in all aspects

SEL100400GM 07 May 2019  (USA)

Finally a lens with effect stabilization and excellent optics. Years of using a variety of Canon super telephotos resigned me to thinking I could only get sharp images if I spent 10k dollars or more. This lens is perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

First was worst but now it's wow!

SEL100400GM 07 May 2019 by Cutthroatangler (USA)

I bought this lens at the end of December and did not have much opportunity to test and use it for the first couple of months. When I did, I was frankly disappointed in the sharpness of the lens across the field. Finally I called Sony about it and they decided that we should send it to Precision Camera for warranty service. It came back to me in a week. They returned it to factory specs and updated the firmware. The lens is now incredibly sharp. Now it's wow! So I'm very impressed not only with the lens, but with Sony's warranty service. Thanks so much Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent image quality

SEL100400GM 11 April 2019 by Photo2001 (United Kingdom)

Had this some time, excellent image quality, fast focus, well made. Expensive but good things are.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superlative

SEL100400GM 20 March 2019 by Steveah (United Kingdom)

Phenomenal long distance image quality when paired with my A7Rii I have been a keen photographer for over 30 years, using some seriously good kit and this lens still managed to blow me away with its results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great quality

SEL100400GM 13 March 2019 by merlot (United Kingdom)

it has improved my photography know end and renewed my enthusiasm

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Very sharp and fast

SEL100400GM 11 March 2019 by Jellybelly1960 (United Kingdom)

The first time I used this lens I was shocked on how sharp and fast it was the lens produces great quality images and well worth the price I paid I would definitely recommend this lense

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Very sharp lens!

SEL100400GM SYX 28 February 2019 by tnjx (Singapore)

Photos shot using this lens is extremely sharp. Great value for money!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Outstanding sharpness from a super telephoto

SEL100400GM 26 February 2019 by DavidHogg (United Kingdom)

I've used the original Canon 100-400 lens before and always knew that its sweet spot was around f/8 or thereabouts ... but by contrast this lens seems to be razor sharp wide open at any focal length! It's truly astonishing ... the sharpness at f/5.6 at 400mm is as good as you'd get with a 400mm prime. If you can afford it, go for it, there's no way you will be disappointed!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Good

SEL100400GM 22 February 2019 by worldaviation4k (United Kingdom)

I like the sharp and clear quality. I used it on my Tokyo Haneda Airport live streams at night time (the ones that look brighter as i used to switch sometimes to my camcorder) for my worldaviation4k channel

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL100400GM 19 February 2019 by dnfb (United Kingdom)

This lens is focuses very quickly and has amazing resolution

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Great

SEL100400GM 16 February 2019 by kimkim90 (United Kingdom)

Is a great great just expensiv I recommend to evryone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Sharp and clear at times

SEL100400GM 16 February 2019 by Go britexit (United Kingdom)

I changed my set up from a canon to Sony last year. Generally you can get some really sharp images with this lens, yet one of the most frustrating parts I find as it’s a variable length same with the Canon L series variable lens, is that that it doesn’t hold securely when you change the length of the lens. The lens is quite heavy to compliment the mirrorless range of full frame cameras.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Ultra fast to focus and tack sharp even at 400mm

SEL100400GM 10 February 2019 by DMTh (United Kingdom)

Sharp at every length, and super fast to focus when paired with my A9, this is a very versatile tele zoom. It's great for picking out detail in general shooting as well as the obvious use in wildlife and sport. No compromises here!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A super lens, right in there and as sharp as a pin

SEL100400GM 03 December 2018 by Mark Poly (United Kingdom)

A lot sharper than the Zeiss lens that I bought with the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Quality for the Price

SEL100400GM SYX 07 November 2018 by kiabohe (Singapore)

Great optics and allows a great focal range of possibilities and flexibility from 100mm-400mm (140mm-560mm with 1.4x TC / 210mm-840mm with 1.4x TC and crop mode) for a full frame A7 series or A9 camera. It is sharp sharp sharp and fast focusing. Though it is not as fast a lens rendering the smoothest of bokeh, it is a great option for birding and sports. If regularly using the 40mm focal length of the lens, it is important to get proper long lens support combination of tripod and lens support.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Sony Lens Ever

SEL100400GM 06 November 2018 by KP2000 (USA)

Super sharp! It's my favorite lens. Fast focusing and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

superb lens.

SEL100400GM 19 October 2018 by Frank171 (United Kingdom)

Always had a 200mm lens but upgraded to the 100-400 cant rate it enough, super fast and pin sharp focusing, a superb companion for the A7riii. Amazing results, and very acceptable with the 2x converter.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fabulous resolution and clarity

SEL100400GM 14 October 2018 by MarkM (United Kingdom)

Very impressed, even with the 1.4 teleconverter, image sharpness and focussing is impressive

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL100400GM 27 September 2018 by Mel1of4 (United Kingdom)

I use with a7rii and have added 1.4xs converter. Reducing to APC delivers as much as 896mm focal length at f8. Autofocus can still cope and I have good results. The lens is even manageable hand held. Do not be greedy and go for 2xs converter unless you have the a9. A7 and 2xs will drop to f11 and you will be manually focusing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Lens

SEL100400GM 31 August 2018 by Bob_Riach (United Kingdom)

Great lens works well with the A9 still waiting fro the 1.4 extension the lens is also not heavy to carry

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great telephoto but a little husky!

SEL100400GM 10 August 2018 by cvctiger (USA)

I bought this lens because I needed the focal range for my action photography. Nice sharp photos through out its focal range. Only thing I probably have to get used to is its heftiness at just over 3lbs.....that's me coming off an APS-C format camera setup with kit lenses that weigh much lighter. I guess this is where monopods and tripods will help. Lastly I think the price is a little on the high side when comparing it to other mfgs that have similar focal lengths and specs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

R3_100-400GM

SEL100400GM 03 August 2018 by Fitz Michael (USA)

I had this lens for couple months now and I've noticed the lens sometimes it won't focus. I have to turn off the camera and it the lens works again. I updated the software to the latest one available to download and that did not fix the problem. also, the manual focus to infinity is not calibrated correctly.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Brilliant for wildlife.

SEL100400GM 28 July 2018 by Robonova (United Kingdom)

Just the job for nature walks because you can use it for distant birds etc. or because it focuses so close at 400mm macro's of butterflies etc. & its light as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fast and sharp lens for action photography.

SEL100400GM 06 July 2018 by BikeVisionScotland (United Kingdom)

Used this lens for the first time for action-shots four days ago. The results are amazing, even when used during sunset. All at 400mm f5.6 1/1000sec ISO640.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

0

Super sharp lens

SEL100400GM 17 June 2018 by Humfan1943 (United Kingdom)

An expensive but high quality lens that works well with the Alpha A7R3 giving good auto focus performance and good sharpness, colour rendition and contrast. Works well with the 2x converter. A good lens for wildlifeif you can afford it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Amazing lens. Far better than my previous 600mm

SEL100400GM 15 June 2018 by Maaggiem (United Kingdom)

The best lens I have bought. Picture quality and sharpness is fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best purchase

SEL100400GM 10 May 2018 by Pro Papa (USA)

Bought this to photograph my little ones, sports in the future and some nature/animal shots. Love to be far away and get their pure joyous smiling faces. Highly recommended if you didn’t mind the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent performance

SEL100400GM 06 May 2018 by IkeG (USA)

I am happy with performance, very sharp images at the right light of course. Bit slow but that what to expect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

5

0

Top Class

SEL100400GM 01 May 2018  (United Kingdom)

Best super telephoto zoom for your E-mount Sony. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sports and wildlife lens

SEL100400GM 20 April 2018 by Chutch (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens together with the 2x extender for most of my nature and distance work as it is an ideal combination ie a 200-800mm lens. I am well pleased with this purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Exceeds expectations

SEL100400GM 09 April 2018 by G1ITV (United Kingdom)

Tremendous capability for hand held use in Bird photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic IQ

SEL100400GM 08 April 2018 by Viramati (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens mostly for landscape use and I have to say that the IQ that it delivers even at wide open apertures across the frame is simply stunning. Focus is very fast and silent and is still good in low light on the A7rIII. Build quality would appear to be excellent and all the controls are well placed. It is not a small or light lens but that is to be expected. My only serious issue with it is that they have not included a zoom lock as my 70-300 G lens had and this means that even when set to the 'tight' position front of the lens can extend if it is hung at your side and you are walking about. There are work arounds to solve this but I would have thought that on a GM lens they would have thought of this. Apart from this it is indeed worthy of the GM rating and though expensive (as all Sony lenses are) I am happy to have it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing Quality!!!

SEL100400GM 23 March 2018 by SeaSir (USA)

Rented this lens before buying and was extremely happy and impressed with speed and quality. Great for wildlife..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

1

0

Nice clear photos

SEL100400GM 09 February 2018 by Bird Man (USA)

Got this lens at the end of November and have really been enjoying it. Nice clear images. Little on the heavy side but still better than my Tamron lens. Most of my photos are birds and other wildlife. So glade Sony came out with a lens with good reach for my e-mount. On my smaller format a6500 it reaches out to 600mm. I’m a happy camper.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Best Buy

SEL100400GM 06 February 2018 by WeeMalky (United Kingdom)

Hard to believe that this is a 100-400mm lens the weight is great after having had other manufacturers.Using it on a A7mk2 not the fastest but at the moment suits my needs.If you have the A9 I envy you because this would be stellar if you can afford it go for it you will not regret it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great clarity

SEL100400GM 18 January 2018 by Bird Man (USA)

I brought this in November and very happy with it’s performance. Very clear sharp images. I use it with my a6500 and the focusing is very fast. I photograph mostly wildlife.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

15

0

0

Great quality Lens and perfect weight.

SEL100400GM 06 January 2018 by Topper1 (United Kingdom)

At last a 400mm lens I can use with my Sony Alpha 6500.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Excellent Quality Lens

SEL100400GM 11 December 2017 by Barbara_L (United Kingdom)

Owned the lens for about a month and have done quite a bit of hand held bird life and surfing photos. I am delighted with the quality at all focal lengths. Only negatives are the price, which is the most I have ever spent on a lens, and the weight, but I guess without that the quality of construction wouldn't be possible. Am yet to try it on the tripod.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Great lens, except for Zoom tensioning method.

SEL100400GM 13 October 2017 by KimKn (USA)

Very sharp, especially for a long zoom. Tension ring not so great. After a few trips looking for birds, the zoom starts slipping. Now, after a couple of months, I have to move the lens back every few minutes when walking with the lens pointing down.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

7

1

0

Great Lens

SEL100400GM 07 October 2017 by jandtkane (USA)

Bought this for taking photos of birds. It's fast and clear. I really like it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Very impressive

SEL100400GM 29 September 2017 by Yervant (USA)

After shooting with Nikon for 40 years, I just recently switched camera systems from Nikon to Sony. For starters, I bought the Sony a7Rii along with the Sony FE 24-70 F2.8 GM and Sony FE 100-400 F4.5-5.6 GM OSS. I have to say, I love this Sony system. The ease of capturing images, especially fast paced images, is surprisingly easy. The images attached were captured with the outstanding 100-400 GM. The focus system on the a7Rii never missed a beat with this fast moving Waverunner. The viewfinder is just incredible. I love being able to see exactly what I am capturing at the exact moment I pressed the shutter release. The detail of 42.5 MP's is unreal. My only regret is that I didn't switch systems sooner.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

0

Stupendous when matched with the a9 body

SEL100400GM 26 September 2017 by dcstep (USA)

I've had this lens a few days and have shot about 2,000-shots, with it mounted on my Sony a9 body. I'm comparing it to my Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II. The image quality of the Sony and Canon is very close. Shooting wildlife, neither is leaping ahead of the other in IQ. I'll trust DxOMark when they say that the Sony is slightly better. What is stunning, is the quick and accurate autofocus, even when using all 693-autofocus points of the a9. When I at the Sony 1.4x teleconverter, there's no slowing. It's amazing. The performance is an order of magnitude better than the Canon on a Canon body. Someone was comparing to a Sigma lens. There's NO COMPARISON of the Sigma 150-600mm. The Sigma's image quality is several steps behind the Sony and the Canon. If you crop the shorter lenses to match 600mm, the Sony image will be sharper than the Sigma image. Oh, did I mention, the Sony is noticeably lighter than the competing Canon. Okay Sony, send us a 600/f4 G Master lens and I'll be totally crossed over from Canon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

0

Superb quality

SEL100400GM 09 September 2017 by MicroPete (United Kingdom)

I have been waiting for this lens for some time and the wait was worth it, fantastic optical quality and also excellent with a 2x, the only negatives for me is at f40 the images show any dust on the sensor and the A9 really attracts dust and there is an issue with manual focus when using back button focusing, I have highlighted to Sony and it should be fixed with a firmware update (the problem is not on the 70-200), still really love this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

A very fine lens

SEL100400GM 31 August 2017 by MagW (USA)

After having this lens for a few weeks, I am impressed. I had the A-mount 70-400 mm (and also still have the Minolta APO 400 mm f:4.5), and the E-mount lens is better than it's A-mount zoom sibling in every respect. This lens even focuses fast with my old A7 camera, and can successfully be used for action, like birds in flight. I also like how the tripod socket foot can be removed from the lens, very clever design. Sharpness and contast is excellent wide open at 400 mm, which is the main reason I bought this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Nice lens

SEL100400GM 26 August 2017 by 0824 (USA)

Like the focal lengthened the size wish it was fixed aperture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Just wanted to add a photo to my previous post.

SEL100400GM 21 August 2017 by Gordon M (USA)

I shot with an a9 on full auto with stock settings straight out of the box.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

0

Excellent Lens!

SEL100400GM 15 August 2017 by Robert45 (USA)

I bought this wonderful lens a week ago. It focuses quickly on the Sony A7R. So far, I have used it to photograph a swallowtail butterfly. I shot handheld at 400 mm, f/11 aperture preferred, and the camera set the shutter speed over 1/1000 sec. The attached photos are edited and cropped. It is a delightful lens to use. The lens uses a lot of power, so I bought a vertical grip and another battery (now 4 total).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

9

0

Great Lens.

SEL100400GM 13 August 2017 by Gordon M (USA)

I've been waiting for some time for Sony to make a quality e-mount zoom telephoto lens I just wish they done it sooner. One thing is for sure this is a very good lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

4

0

Excellent Optics; doesn't zoom smoothly though

SEL100400GM 31 July 2017 by Yitzchal (USA)

The optics from this lens are first-rate; as good or better than the Canon 100-400 L ii lens and better than Sony's 70-200 F4 offering. However, my copy of the lens has a definite grinding feel when zooming down from 200-100mm in focal length, and that concerns me that the gearing might have a problem or need lubrication.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

15

2

0

Great lens

SEL100400GM 13 June 2017 by Datboi34 (USA)

This review is not complaining about the lens itself, it is a very good lens, I am just saying that you can get just as good lens quality and more focal length With the sigma 150-600 and it costs less than half. The reason you would buy this lens is because the sigma Mc 11 adapter is very bad with af.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

144