238

4.7 based on 238 customer reviews

194
32
5
3
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

The Best Zoom Lens Available....

SEL24105G 30 January 2018 by Vanderwar (USA)

This lens is, as most photographers know, an incredibly useful focal range, but not only is it extremely useful in that regard... this lens is SHARP. The color rendition combined with my A7R-iii is simply stunning and there is simply no issues with chromatic abborations even in the most harsh environments while testing, even with dark subjects against a snow background in mid day sun at all focal lengths. It is tack sharp at 24mm, and the same at 105mm, and has truly caused me to pull out my primes less often than normal which is extremely unusual for me. I much prefer this lens to the 24-70mm GM, and in my testing it is as sharp as most of my primes at many focal lengths, and in some cases much sharper. An obvious advantage to primes however is their shallow depth of field, especially for portraits and low light, however F/4 combined with the capabilities of the A7R-iii body is more than enough to get stunning photographs even in low light venues and during weddings and events. This lens has become the true "jack knife" of lenses for me, and I have since sold my 24-70mm GM , IMO this lens is simply superior and almost half of the price. As far as color rendering goes compared to the 24-70mm GM, It out performs the GM also, and has much better Micro Contrast. At 24mm there's very little barrel distortion for a lens of this calibur, or any 24mm lens for that matter, making it my go to for a lot of my landscape shooting, and all around I could not be more impressed with the image quality of this lens. As for the build quality, it's truly impressive as well, and includes all of the features that I have come to expect and love from Sony Glass. This lens is 100% what you would expect as a professional photographer in need of professional tools to get the job done well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

44

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Auto focus died after 3 years

SEL24105G 13 May 2021 by Tinkham (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you are considering buying this lens, think again. Many people have had problems with the auto focus dying. Now this happened to me. The lens is useless for my needs.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

239 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent lens

SEL24105G 08 February 2023 by Niguss (United Kingdom)

If you are a traveler, and want to have only one lens in your bag that do everything, you must have this versatile all purpose lens. The image quality is amazing...

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great all around lens.

SEL24105G 22 December 2022 by Ntrevinojr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used this lens for awhile now and I am very Pleased with it. It is one of my favorite lens when I am traveling with my family.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Don't buy this lens if you want the £200 cash back

SEL24105G 21 December 2022 by Runcorn Roy (United Kingdom)

I have been trying for nearly three weeks to get the £200 cashback for this Sony lens bought from John Lewis. Even John Lewis Tech team have been unable to get my cashback, all five claims I and John Lewis have made so far been denied, with no other reason that information is missing, what information neither I or John Lewis Know. This is Why I will never purchase a Sony product again.

Picture Quality

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

4

0

Super compact with super sharp quality

SEL24105G 09 December 2022 by Kevo1 (United Kingdom)

I have never had a bad experience with Sony products and this more than lives up to my expectations. Great images, super fast focus and an affordable price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

24 105 lens

SEL24105G 09 December 2022 by Rod A (United Kingdom)

Excellent lens good focus range for a universal lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Brilliant lens that covers most needs

SEL24105G 09 December 2022 by PhilH27 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens as I wanted one zoom lens that has prime lens level of IQ (it just about does), covers 24mm to 105mm for many uses (portrait, landscape, reportage, street, travel, family photography) yet is relatively compact and not too heavy. This fits the bill, is a joy and is easy to use and f4 as fastest aperture covers most needs whulst a faster lens would be bulkier and heavier. One suggestion for Sony - when updating this lens, please give it an aperture ring to complete the ease and speed of use for aperture priority photographers. All in all a brilliant lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Excellent really compact zoom lens

SEL24105G 21 November 2022 by Gibbo57 (United Kingdom)

Only had it 3 weeks this lens I have used a lot and the results are outstanding

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best price/performance zoom lens

SEL24105G SYX 03 November 2022 by joe3ply (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

No regrets. One would wish for a wider f opening, but for the price, relative to say the FE 24-70 f/2.8 GM2, this lens works for me, especially for outdoor use.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

LOVE it!

SEL24105G 29 August 2022 by dougbraz (United Kingdom)

The only shame abouty this lens is that it is not a f2.8! Other than that, cannot complain about anything - super sharp images even fully open at f4. I love how it zooms in for a really precise manualfocus.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very Good

SEL24105G 23 August 2022 by AHussain (United Kingdom)

This is a fantastic lense it gives that quality and crispy looks. But the lense is very pricey. That's sony for you.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfectly Versatile for me.

SEL24105G 26 July 2022 by Tommy1956 (United Kingdom)

I had several prime lenses, most of which I had stopped using so I traded them all in and bought this. I am just a hobby photographer and I have found my photography has improved since using this lens which covers much of what I shoot without the inconvenience of changing lenses. I have given it 5 stars but I would recommend reading up the professional reviews. I have no doubts that Sony have better zoom lenses if you go to GM so my review is also based on cost.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great range

SEL24105G 23 July 2022 by DavidB47 (United Kingdom)

Bought this a couple of weeks ago. The wide angle end is good and it's really nice that it then zooms up to 105mm making it a very versatile lens. Great quality pics too.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great lens

SEL24105G 15 June 2022 by Jaycat1980 (United Kingdom)

I’ve used this over one weekends shoot so far but I can tell already it’s going to be glued to the camera. Incredible sharpness and versatility.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

My 'Go To' Lens

SEL24105G 25 May 2022 by ACPhotography (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens only a few weeks ago and I fell in love with it. I took it on vacation and it rapidly became my 'Go To' lens for all aspects of travel photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

An exceptionally good zoom lens

SEL24105G 27 April 2022 by ThadeusB (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens with my A7IV very recently. I am very impressed with the overall image quality, the build quality and ease of use. Pin sharp A3+ prints. F4 aperture is generally enough. I can't justify buying a very wide aperture, wide angle prime lens. This lens is an excellent all rounder, with a very handy zoom range.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very sharp

SEL24105G 26 April 2022 by Aelpi1 (United Kingdom)

Very sharp lens. Great with a hi-res camera such as the Sony A7 R4. Good value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great distance cover . Love this zoom lens

SEL24105G SYX 12 April 2022 by Don LLH (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not regret buying this lens. Can cover most of the zoom distance. But if you got budget would recommend getting Sony E mount 28-135 f4

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sony all none lens

SEL24105G 06 April 2022 by Lalitjee (United Kingdom)

Good portable and usable focal lenth.Very sharp and good value

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Day to Day

SEL24105G 07 March 2022 by D8rters (United Kingdom)

I recently moved from A mount to E mount and chose this lens as my day to day use lens, which is great zoom capability and pin sharp optics

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Versatile and Useful

SEL24105G SYX 17 January 2022 by Oogabear (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Versatile in providing a zoom range from 24 to 105 at f4. The bokeh it produces is soft and pleasant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens!

SEL24105G 15 January 2022 by AstroMax (United Kingdom)

I don’t like to travel with several lenses, so this was the right one for me, an all purpose lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Ultimate Travel Lens

SEL24105G SYX 14 January 2022 by Ash176 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens for the sole purpose of travelling only. But as I use it more and more for everyday shoots, I realize it's capability and flexibility in it's focal length to cover most of all the focal lengths that I like to use. And the sharpness of this lens is Good. Lightweight and compact and weather resistant, what else do I want more? F4 is enough for my purpose.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic lens

SEL24105G 10 January 2022 by SL_photography (United Kingdom)

Have this lens few week and a of then great lens to have

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great all-round performance

SEL24105G 10 January 2022 by Langley7 (United Kingdom)

I've only been using this lens for 3 weeks, but I'm delighted by the results so far. Sharpness and contrast are excellent, and vignetting and colour-fringing (with lens corrections enabled on my camera) are completely absent. Hard to fault it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great

SEL24105G 03 January 2022 by meshal (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

my favorite lens for walking around and traveling.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Uneven Zoom average lens

SEL24105G 29 December 2021 by EveningMag (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens with the hope of replacing my kit lens with a better zoom lens. I use the similar Canon lens and thought this lens would have the same attributes. I am sorry to say that this lens has been a disappointment. The lens does not zoom smoothly and it is not as sharp as the Canon or some of my other Sony lenses. I use this lens primarily for video and the zoom especially on a tripod doesn't work as a videographer would expect.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sharp shooter

SEL24105G 18 December 2021 by LEW2021 (United Kingdom)

This lens is a lovely, sharp lens - the range is what I refer to as “all-purpose” as, if you’re only carrying one lens on a trip, this on will cover most bases

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens

SEL24105G 12 December 2021 by Mk677888888 (United Kingdom)

Very pleased. Fast focus. Very sharp. All round great lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

One of the best!

SEL24105G 04 December 2021 by Serk72 (United Kingdom)

A fantastic and very practical lens with superb image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

FE 24-105mm

SEL24105G SYX 26 November 2021 by Steven Yee (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent image quality and sharpness. Moving on, I hope Sony will come out with a 24-240mm G lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Practical and well performing

SEL24105G 31 October 2021 by MWol (United Kingdom)

I have been using this lens with A7 III and A7 R III. The lens is sharp fully open and gets even better with aperture one step down. 24 - 105 mm range makes it very comfortable when carring big bag of lens is not an option. AF in combination with the above bodies is fast and accurate. Just wonder how good it is with A7 IV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent quality and great results

SEL24105G 19 October 2021 by Stoney Guy (United Kingdom)

I've had this lens for sometime now and it's definitely my go to lens for everyday use. On the few occasions I haven't taken this lens with me I've regretted it, so I never go out without it on one of my Sony cameras now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simply brilliant

SEL24105G 16 October 2021 by bearded blunder (United Kingdom)

Recently changed format from Nikon (after many years) to Sony (A7Riii). Took advantage of Sony's cashpack to get this lens. Brilliant! Covers a very useable general range and produces excellent pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens!

SEL24105G 16 October 2021 by Coxie37 (United Kingdom)

I was recommended to buy this lens by a Sony user, and the pictures I get from are brilliant!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Single Lens Option or Upgrade From Kit Lens

SEL24105G 16 October 2021 by NinjaChimp (United Kingdom)

I bought an A7iii which was my first interchangeable lens camera. I upgraded from the 28-70 kit lens to this 24-105 F4 after about a year and have using it for several months. I’m very happy with the upgrade. I mainly bought the camera for travel and family photography (but do like to dabble with wildlife and landscapes). As a single lens option this is very versatile and has sufficient range for most uses. Despite not having the largest aperture at f/4, having it consistent across the entire focal range is a definite improvement and the range itself has slightly more useful range over the kit lens. I have also found it useful having a slider for stabilisation and autofocus on the lens rather than having to dig through menus. The hold focus for manual focus is also a great addition.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great Standard Lens for everyday use.

SEL24105G 13 October 2021 by Caerphillycastle (United Kingdom)

Bought this lens with my new Sony A7M3 camera 9 months ago after extensive research. Have been a Canon user for almost 40 years. Made the switch to Sony,. Very happy with the results too. Use this as my standard lens as it covers the majority of what I photo.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very sharp very versatile.

SEL24105G 13 October 2021 by oldblue 2 (United Kingdom)

Superb lens, sharp versitle focal length, grest stabilization and low weight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning lens

SEL24105G 13 October 2021  (United Kingdom)

Researched thoroughly and finally took the plunge, and I don't regret it. Stunning lens. Expensive, but worth every penny. Very sharp, heavy but well-balanced, and the bokeh!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp and multi functional

SEL24105G 13 October 2021 by Camshy (United Kingdom)

A joy to use for landscape shots. 24-105 covers most of what you will need when weight is an issue, I actually find I seldom use the 16-35 now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

SEL24105G 13 October 2021 by High Noon (United Kingdom)

This is my go to lens and is on my camera for 90% of the time. The additional 35 mm reach is really appreciated. I have found this lens to be well built, easy to use with super sharp images with little distortion throughout the focal length. Can’t recommend this lens highly enough!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good focal range

SEL24105G 13 October 2021 by IC01P (United Kingdom)

Just a good solid lens. On a day's walk this this the only lens I often need.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing all rounder!

SEL24105G 13 October 2021 by Cjbradbury91 (United Kingdom)

This lens is great value for money considering the range and the amazing quality of the image it produces. The vibrancy of the colours captured and the sharpness of the images are outstanding. This lens basically lives on my camera, unless I need a large zoom or extra bokeh. Though at the Lao her end of its zoom capabilities the f4 produces a nice bokeh and can be used to capture very good portraits. I would definitely recommend this lens to others and feel it is great value for money. I use this on my a6400 and it is superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sony 24/105

SEL24105G 13 October 2021 by thinks he knows all (United Kingdom)

exceptional image quality. But if you use a lens protector only use a top quality one, like the sony one! or you will lose some of the image quality that you have paid for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My “go to” lens .

SEL24105G 13 October 2021 by Mk46 (United Kingdom)

Probably the lens I use more than any other. Great for travel , versatile and sharp. It’s relatively light and compact for a zoom also

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Impressive sharpness across the frame.

SEL24105G 13 October 2021 by TobyG (United Kingdom)

I've been very impressed with this lens. At f4 the sharpness is about on par with the 24-70mm f4 ZA, but stopped down it's noticeably sharper at the edges and in the corners. Autofocus is fast and accurate, and the lens is very well built. I would prefer it if it was a bit lighter, it's probably just a bit too heavy to make an ideal travel lens. YMMV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Versatile workhorse

SEL24105G 13 October 2021 by Callunna (United Kingdom)

This lens is almost always on my Sony A7iii because it allows me to capture a wide range of images while retaining an acceptable level of sharpness and portability. I would have liked a slightly less weighty solution to complement my mirrorless camera but I guess quality comes with its own drawbacks. To be fair, it isn't THAT heavy so maybe I'm being a tad overcritical?

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great all rounder lens

SEL24105G 13 October 2021 by Lensloooker33 (United Kingdom)

Good sharp lens . Great all round use . Nice to have switches on lens for manual and auto focus focusing and image stabilisation. Where as competitors don’t .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Lens

SEL24105G 13 October 2021 by Harshad Pisavadia (United Kingdom)

Very good sharpness edge to edge. Easy to handle. Excellent picture quality . Ideal for Video recording as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens Got it when I got my A9

SEL24105G 13 October 2021 by DT9334 (United Kingdom)

Great lens its my work horse lens I leave it on my camera all the time

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant lens

SEL24105G 13 October 2021 by Fed95 (United Kingdom)

Worths every penny, great length, adaptable and quite sharp. Couldn’t be happier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant all round lens

SEL24105G 13 October 2021 by Coopsavid8 (United Kingdom)

This lens stays on my camera pretty much all the time unless I want more reach or macro, though it's pretty good at close ups as well. Zoom not smooth enough for video though.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great all round lens

SEL24105G 13 October 2021 by Tonyspr (United Kingdom)

I use this lens as my all round travel lens when I don’t want to take other lenses with me. Excellent results in all conditions

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp images

SEL24105G 13 October 2021 by GeoffWil (United Kingdom)

This lens gives all the great features the write ups claim. Particularly pleased with results with videos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sold it 2 years ago

SEL24105G 13 October 2021 by Sodoffbaldy (United Kingdom)

Sold it sold it sold it sold it sold it sold it sold it it wasn't for me

Picture Quality

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Fantastic lens

SEL24105G 13 October 2021 by Redplanet71 (United Kingdom)

This is an excellent lens and very versatile with the 24-105 focal range and have used it for various types of photography including landscapes and street photography would highly recommend this lens and the price is reasonable

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quick and silent focus

SEL24105G SYX 12 October 2021 by Alan SG (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used this lens for some landscaping shoots and the result came out satisfactory

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens with a good size

SEL24105G 05 October 2021 by Sasha68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

saw it at a sony shop and finally told to myself: a good lens for my travels is perfect… so i did. and i love it a lot!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best walk around lens.

SEL24105G 22 September 2021 by Thomas LeVasseur (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is a great value for the zoom range and isn't too heavy. Very sharp photos and a constant f/4 is great too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning image quality

SEL24105G SYX 20 September 2021 by Fotogart4to (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the sharpness, clear and the contrast of the image the lens produced. Focus is fast and accurate in most of situations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent all round zoom lens

SEL24105G 10 September 2021 by Dan8592 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent build quality it isn’t the fastest lens but it’s nice that f4 is avaliable through the whole zoom range.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality

SEL24105G 07 September 2021 by Gwespyr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens has proved every bit as good as the reviews said it would, very pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lense

SEL24105G 19 August 2021 by DidoBoz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing lenses with unique zoom and quality of photos!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Lens!

SEL24105G 18 August 2021 by Aricmendonca (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was my first choice of lens that I bought because it covers almost every possibility of styles of photography, since I didn't knew where to start it was a great decision! All the positive reviews that I saw on Youtube were accurate!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love the range and the speed

SEL24105G 02 August 2021 by TGMi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to pair up with my new A7R IV body which it seems to match very well. I previously had a 16 - 55 and having the extra stretch out to 105 makes this so much more use. Autofocus is fine and the F4 aperture lends itself to some good bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0