FE 28mm F2

Product Reviews

32

4.6 based on 32 customer reviews

22
9
0
1
0
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

32 Customer Reviews

0

Great street lens

Lens Only 28 December 2018 by Bryank67 (United Kingdom)

Small light fast aperture F2.0 fast focussing and sharp 28mm a little wider than what I would normally use but my 35 and 50mm are f1.4 big and heavy tiring to use all day this Sony is ideal very pleased

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Flyweight Champ

SEL28F20 14 September 2018 by MSC Photo (USA)

Very light weight makes it ideal for hikes. Quiet and super fast focus on the A7iii. Image quality is great for the cost, not as sharp as the Zeiss and Sony G series, but pretty darn good. Wide open aperture is a little softer, but by 2.8 its sharpened up. Good bokeh. Very good on the flare and coma. The only con - astrophotography is hard with this lens due to the in-camera manual focus (clutch). There is no way to find set point and mark it on the body, so you are having to fine tune it every time. I had to make a Bahtinov focusing mask to help speed up the process. I've attached some examples (no lens correction or noise reduction)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Superb Walk Around Lens

Lens Only 14 September 2018 by Vince78 (Singapore)

The FE 28mm f2 is a superb walk around lens with is small size factor and sharp input it is perfect on my Sony A7ii, I want my camera set up to be simple, light and small but will take sharp and clean photos and the lens answer all my needs from street photography, portrait and landscape photography this lens covers it well. I would like to praise also that the auto focus is fast and accurate also. Overall I am very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Prime Lens

SEL28F20 10 September 2018 by Amriel (USA)

I purchased this product on the 15th of August to be a prime lens with my brand new AR7 III. I didn't have a lot of funds after purchasing the camera body and since I am using my camera primarily for video I decided the best way to get started was with a prime lens. I am extremely pleased with the results. Using an ND 8 filter, I am able to shoot almost exclusively in the F2 range never going beyond F2.8 under full sun conditions. This lens also kills in low-light situations. A few nights ago I was listening to a podcast on how to configure settings for my camera. I had the camera in front of me, and I decided to let it record as I was playing with the settings. The only light in the room was coming from my computer monitor. I started playing with the settings and once I adjusted the shutter speed the camera could clearly show what the rest of the room looked like including a resin statue with a lot of detail. The picture clearly showed the darkness along with everything in the darkness. I couple of classmates got to see this video, and they were like "Holy smoke your camera does night vision!" I recommend the following things to get more mileage out of this lens: 1. Invest in a UV and Polarizing filter (the lens is a 49 mm lens). 2. Get yourself a ND filter set: at least ND8, ND32, and ND 64. These will serve you well when you are shooting in full sun because they will let you keep your aperture open at its maximum setting. 3. Take advantage of the hood that comes with lens. 4. When shooting at night don't use any of the ND lenses, consider the Polarizing filter. 5. Definitely use a tripod, rig or gimble when shooting with this lens because it doesn't have image stabilization.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Nice crisp lens for landscape shots!

Lens Only 26 June 2018 by andy88 (Singapore)

I bought this for shooting landscapes but I need a wider lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Light & sharp

Lens Only 11 May 2018 by Lowey (Singapore)

Extremely happy! I really like the non-distorted 16x9 perspective. It was light and sharp.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb lightweight lens

Lens Only 11 May 2018 by ClickerClick (Singapore)

having the 24-70 gmaster this liggtweight but sharp lens was a welcome for my video work using a gimbal. its filter thread is alao only 49mm so the filters are quite cheap.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very good wide angle lens

Lens Only 03 April 2018 by PCPhil (United Kingdom)

Bought in conjunction with the 21mm Ultra wide conversion and very happy. 28mm is one of my favorite focal lengths and this gives very pleasing results. The Ultra wide is a simple attachment for those specious scenes when required. Great price as well.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great lens for video and stills

Lens Only 30 November 2017 by wardenet (United Kingdom)

This is a great lens i brought it mainly for vlogging and needed something that would be good enough to focus and also give good depth of field, i do use it every now and again for stills.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great for street photography

Lens Only 13 May 2017 by JRH46 (USA)

Clarity across. I was disappointed at first until I realized that not all software reads raw images the same. ACDSee for example opens the raw image but the image is slightly blurred compared to the JPG that I thought I had a camera or lens problem. Then I used Capture One software for Sony Cameras and the images are crisp and clean and when converting from raw to JPG is excellent using Capture One. Just keep that in mind.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Great but has a clunk noise to it when focusing

Lens Only 30 March 2017 by PhillyPho (USA)

I use it on my a6000 and the pictures are sharp but there is a noticeable clunking noise. Not sure if that is normal but the images are great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

0

Great prime lens with impressive bohkeh

Lens Only 29 March 2017 by herculie (Singapore)

Bought this as advised by my friend as apposed to 35mm1.8f. no regret. instantly impressed by the bohkeh with 9-blades shutter to achieve near perfect circular bohkeh lights. there are option to add on wide-angle adapter to this lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony FE28mm f2.0 lens

Lens Only 22 February 2017 by Altrekkie (United Kingdom)

I bought this over a year ago to fit on my Sony A7m2

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

21

0

Cracking lens

Lens Only 14 February 2017 by Jacko Jackson (United Kingdom)

This is the first lens I bought for my A7ii and I am very, very pleased with them both. The lens is very quick to focus the images are very sharp. The wide F2 gives me great control over focus. I really love the 28mm focal length. What I particularly like is that it gives me the right size frame to use a landscape as a background for someone that is near to me or something that is happening near to me. There is plenty of space to capture a subject right in front of me but I still get plenty of background too. The above coupled with it being small and light means I can take it running in the hills to capture the action & the hills! Awesome value, high quality lens, takes cracking pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

34

3

0

Good Len

Lens Only 08 January 2017  (Singapore)

It is a full frame len and works perfectly on my A7II.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

A very good len, sharp images

Lens Only 07 December 2016  (Singapore)

A good companion for travelling and tourist, especially for elder like me. Light in weight, fast focusing with good color rendition. The end cap can dislodge out very easily. The body is too plastic in feeling

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good sharp little lens

Lens Only 13 September 2016 by bullterrier (Singapore)

Bought the 28mm f2 lens after using my A7ii with a 3rd party manual lens for a year. The 28mm is a sharp performer with minimal distortion at the edges even when shot fully opened. There is no fringing or vignetting as far as I noticed. If you are a pixel peeper closing the lens down to f2.8 will clear up all the errors if any. Reasonably priced for the performance and deliverables I only wish for more background bokeh like my other f1.4 lens but its a f2 and wide angle at that. Very happy with the lens and would not hesitate to recommend to friends.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens,perfect

Lens Only 08 August 2016 by Senser (Singapore)

Bought it after recently buying the 50mm f1.8. Serves it's purpose for environmental portrait very well, silent and internal focussing, perfectly small and light! At a good price point despite being a f2 prime.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

LIGHT, SMALL AND SUPER SHARP

Lens + Ultra Wide Converter 01 August 2016 by chrisraph (United Kingdom)

SUPER SHARP, FAST - EXCELLENT great value for money

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

1

0

Great lens

Lens Only 29 July 2016 by Jeff 1214 (Singapore)

Good travel lens and value for money. My wife is happy to use it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great general purpose lens

Lens Only 25 July 2016 by John Doe of SG (Singapore)

Personally I find the focal length just about right for general photography using an aps-c sensor camera especially if you can't afford the sel24f18z. It's wide enough for general environmental shots, events and street. Not so great for big groups though. Auto focus is quick on the a6000, and the wide aperture at f2 is pretty good for subject isolation and for shooting at faster shutter speeds. Distortion and vignetting is also minimal on an aps-c sensor. My only wish is that it has OSS. Overall this is still my favourite lens in my kit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Does not work in continuous focus mode

Lens Only 15 April 2016 by Juzcat (Singapore)

Terrible.; Does not work in Continuos focus mode I took it oberseas new as my only lens and was very disappointed

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

8

0

FE28/2 - small light and able

Lens Only 06 April 2016  (United Kingdom)

Bought a few months back, great little lens to keep in the bag

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

5

0

Very Sharp

Lens Only 03 April 2016 by Notginvok (United Kingdom)

Very happy with this lens, good allround performer and nice sharp results even wide open.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

2

0

Great optics at affordable price

Lens Only 29 March 2016 by Springf (Singapore)

The lens is compact, sharp and value for money. Only two shortcomings I found so far: 1. out of focus fringing at high contrast edges (not easy to remove at post processing) 2. heavy barrel distortion (can be easily corrected in lightroom)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens

Lens Only 13 February 2016 by la46 (United Kingdom)

Excellent additional lens to my Sony A7, great wide angle

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Great value lens

Lens Only 13 January 2016 by Russtafab (United Kingdom)

I initially had my doubts about this lens. Since purchasing my Sony a7Rii camera I have spent a considerable amount of money on E mount lenses which cost far more money that this FE28mm F2 lens. I love this lens and it really fits that specific niche for me. With the recent price drop of the Carl Zeiss Vario Tessar T* FE 24-70mm f/4 which is next on my list, I will still be using this 28mm lens a lot. I am not a professional but merely a keen photographer. What I really like with primes is that I have to "work hard' to get the shot and this often captures much better images for me. Also the Sony a7Rii is a really great Video camera. I work in Post Production and will be using this 28mm quite a bit for shooting video. Great lens, do not underestimate it, nor think less about it just because it is cheaper than most of the other E mount lenses. Really recommend this lens, always has a spot in my "kit bag"

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

17

0

0

28mm f2 full frame e mount

Lens Only 28 November 2015 by Seba84 (United Kingdom)

Worth every penny, quick autofocus, crisp sharpness even wide open, you do not gonna be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Great for street photography

Lens Only 27 November 2015 by Dr Paddy (United Kingdom)

I've been using this lens for the last couple of weeks and find it great for street photography. Though Raw files show a lot of edge distortion, Lightroom sorts it out very effectively. Once shut down to f8 or f11 it's very sharp throughout. Very good value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Excellent Value and versatile lens

Lens Only 15 October 2015 by Jackie S (United Kingdom)

Just acquired this lens 10 days ago. Little usage but pleased with performance, handling and ergonomics.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

6

0

Beautifully crafted piece of kit.

Lens Only 11 September 2015  (United Kingdom)

The quality of the images are outstanding and it meets all my expectations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Such good value for money

Lens Only 22 June 2015 by Sydney2 (United Kingdom)

I own the FE55 F1.8 the FE35 F2.8 and the FE28 F2 completes the trio Although the FE28 F2 is not a Carl Zeiss it has the image and build quality to match my two other primes. I now use these 3 lenses with the A7R to shoot weddings.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0