46

3.9 based on 46 customer reviews

23
10
5
3
5
Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sounds amazing! But drops out a lot ...

HTA9 12 December 2021 by BossmanKB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound from this system is amazing, and I am super happy with that part of it. However they really need to fix the wireless connection capabilities of this unit as I get drop outs all the time. I tried the optimization feature on every bootup, but that actually made it worse. I originally had my Apple TV right next to it and that was really bad (dropped out just about every time I used it), so I moved them apart and now they are about 3 feet apart horizontally. But I still get drop outs. I am now using it in 'Connection' mode as opposed to 'Sound Quality' for the speaker connections and while it drops out less, I still have had a few. Almost tempted to return it and get something different....

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

1

Most Helpful Critical
0

Seems Overrated Everywhere

HT-A9 09 January 2023 by Matt1881 (United Kingdom)

I've been waiting to get my hands on this for over a year. Massive stock shortages as well as the steep price have held me back. Every single review and video though rates this as just about the best you can buy. I'm not so sure. First real world problem is speaker range. You're supposed to be able to put the speakers anywhere but I had terrible trouble with the front dropping signals. I had to move it closer to the TV than I wanted. The control box doesn't like being in a cupboard either as that will make the speakers drop out regularly. The other problem is I'm just not convinced yet about the sound. It's devastatingly loud and clear with the sub and volume up (I only have the smaller SW3) but at normal volumes it sounds a little muffled and confused as to where the sound is placing itself. Some shows where the camera changes quickly and the direction of speech change confuse it, which sounds like speakers dropping out but they're not. I'm torn as I really don't want a soundbar in front of my TV, but this system is far from perfect and a lack of acknowledgement in reviews for it's downsides is bad, especially at the very high price point. I can't recommend it to anyone due to that price tag and the issues.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

48 Customer Reviews

0

Great for music and home theater

HT-A9 01 February 2023 by nbogoslovskiy (United Kingdom)

enjoy high-quality sound when listening to music and watching movies in the home theater!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Sub woofer not included

HT-A9 01 February 2023 by Rondominius (United Kingdom)

Sub woofer is an optional extra. Disappointing, given the c £1800 price tag.got a Samsung sub, but not Bluetooth compatible with the Sony unit.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

New surround system & should have done it sooner

HT-A9 27 January 2023 by Sap006 (United Kingdom)

I have hesitated over this purchase as I had hoped to see it instore for a demo but have struggled to find this anywhere even on display. However, after reading all the reviews & spec I decided to change my existing Sony sound system for this & the added sa-sw5 subwoofer. I am delighted with the product & sound generated. It was well worth adding the sa-sw5 & my music listening is so enhanced, the availability of tracks for playing on the 360 Spatial audio format is good, the control buttons are easy to identify & allow me to increase rear speaker & bass level which I have found great for our living space. The sound within the room is way beyond the clarity at lower level than I expected after my previous system. Will continue to explore various modes & options available from the system but so far after first 2 weeks I am really pleased with this system. The pairing to my Sony TV was so easy & I am not a technical expert so go ahead if you are thinking of buying this system. I agree that cable length for speakers could be improved, or Sony could offer them as an extra over option to buy at same time. The colour of the speakers is ok but again a small negative would be options on colour would have suited my exiting decor. Could Sony not offer a discount if we traded in our old equipment? Sorry if this is already an option I have never come across it with Sony but have used it for other electronic suppliers. The technical support from Sony prior to making the purchase was superb so well done, they are a credit to your company.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Amazing sound but disappointing connection

HT-A9 19 January 2023 by Benji0792 (United Kingdom)

I am amazed by the sound quality of the system. Not only do they produce great sound, they also look neat and more subtle compared to a soundbar. However, I have many issues with the sound suddenly dropping out or the system not producing sound upon exiting stand-by. I have tried all the recommended rectifications issued by Sony and had the system replaced by a new set under warranty but the second one also has issues, perhaps a bit less compared to the first set, but this shouldn't be the case for such an expensive sound system. Nonetheless, I am still happy with the purchase, especially when paired with the SA-SW5 subwoofer (the bass it can produce is astounding!).

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

5

6

0

You get what you pay for!

HT-A9 11 January 2023 by Big boy iain (United Kingdom)

A Christmas treat for myself and what a treat. A couple blips setting up, but I'm no Bill Gates! Once set up WOW . And the guys from Sony Leeds most helpful and patient. See for yourself.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

8

0

Seems Overrated Everywhere

HT-A9 09 January 2023 by Matt1881 (United Kingdom)

I've been waiting to get my hands on this for over a year. Massive stock shortages as well as the steep price have held me back. Every single review and video though rates this as just about the best you can buy. I'm not so sure. First real world problem is speaker range. You're supposed to be able to put the speakers anywhere but I had terrible trouble with the front dropping signals. I had to move it closer to the TV than I wanted. The control box doesn't like being in a cupboard either as that will make the speakers drop out regularly. The other problem is I'm just not convinced yet about the sound. It's devastatingly loud and clear with the sub and volume up (I only have the smaller SW3) but at normal volumes it sounds a little muffled and confused as to where the sound is placing itself. Some shows where the camera changes quickly and the direction of speech change confuse it, which sounds like speakers dropping out but they're not. I'm torn as I really don't want a soundbar in front of my TV, but this system is far from perfect and a lack of acknowledgement in reviews for it's downsides is bad, especially at the very high price point. I can't recommend it to anyone due to that price tag and the issues.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Simply The Best (Forget The Rest.)

HT-A9 08 January 2023 by ToMatter (United Kingdom)

I bought this just before Christmas and Sony dispatched it to me very quickly and even registered it for me. It was the epitome of simplicity to set up and is the absolute apogee of Home Cinema Sound Systems, it does it all from one neat box. Sony have torn up the rule book, gone back to the drawing board and come up with this supreme offering. I always strive to afford myself the very best, when it comes to technology, I'm a big home entertainment aficionado too, when I read the reviews of this my interest was piqued by the universal and unique excellence that was agreed upon by all its reviewers. To start with Sony have removed the biggest weak link in any cinema sound system, speaker cables. The speakers contain two microphones in each, when they set up they exchange sound to ascertain their relative positions and 'Map' a soundstage, they really are not too fussy about where you put them either, we all know rooms are irregular shapes, Sony have clearly borne this in mind when crafting this, hearing this is believing it. Much of it's capabilities are not yet used mainstream so it is future proof. I tried not to buy this, it is expensive, I'm so glad I did, you will be too. Sony are making giant strides on all fronts at the moment, they are far ahead of the curve, the AT-H9 will be the gold standard home cinema system for the rest of the decade. The only downside from my viewpoint is that I'll have to wait until next Christmas to buy the matching Sony Bravia TV. Nothing on the market resembles this, it has singularity of form and function, if you can get it, treat yourself, you're a long time dead.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

10

0

Excellent surround speakers

HT-A9 07 January 2023 by Phill6666 (United Kingdom)

Good product to complement any home cinema but would recommend you pair with the sw5 sub. Good system but nots a flexible as the Sonos arc with a couple of plays 5s and the sun.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

9

0

Sounds very good

HT-A9 04 December 2022 by IanT599 (United Kingdom)

I just wish the included power cables were longer. Or at least give you the option of choosing longer power cables. I got the optional sub with these speakers. In my opinion the sub should not be an optional extra. The setup was easy and the sound setup was easy. Done a software update and there was no sound but a power cycle on everything cleared this up. I was a bit worried at first. I’d recently this unit over in place of a sound bar but I doubt that it would rival a full ATMOS system. I currently have a LG C2 stand mounted and it leaves no room for a sound bar. I plan to move house and a Sony OLED is on the cards so we will then see how good the system will be using the Sony TV as the centre. I hope that the do an update to allow the S-Centre to be wireless. And Apple HomeKit integration.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

17

0

Great sound, build quality could be better

HT-A9 22 November 2022 by Cal90 (United Kingdom)

My first impression of these speakers was formed from a visual standpoint as soon as I opened the box. I could see when removing the polystyrene that all the speakers have the same annoying feature on the top grills. When viewed from above, the top grill has a slight change in paint covering which is presumably from when the grills are dipped or hung to be sprayed. This is quite eye catching and frustrating for a relatively high end speaker. The sound is very good and has sufficient settings to enable an over the top cinema experience or dial it down to be a more relaxed sound for less intense viewing. I would recommend but do think the reoccurring imperfection could be designed out with a little more thought.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

18

0

GREAT SYSTEM WORKS AS SHOULD!

HTA9 21 November 2022 by GNICHOLS (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

WE BROUGHT OURS ABOUT 6 WEEK AGO AND SO FAR IT HAS BEEN GREAT.. NO DROP OUT AND NO PROBLEM AT THIS POINT WE COULDNT BE ANY HAPPIER. GLAD WE SPENT THE MONEY!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Awesome Sound!

HTA9 19 October 2022 by Huge music Fan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound is pretty incredible, especially when coupled with Dolby based sound. You have to get the technique to dealing with dropouts in sound, once you learn the system and it's quirks, then you can use the speaker optimizer in a couple of different eays to recalibrate the sound back to great, which only takes a few minutes. I moved my router away from the control module box so I have to recalibrate every so often. Also because I do move speakers around depending on where im sitting depending on if my girlfriend is woth me or not. So, depending on your space setup with other hardware and how patient you can be at learning how to positively work through the dropouts if they happen, this system sounds amazing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

1

0

Amazing

HT-A9 26 September 2022 by Studs929 (United Kingdom)

Been waiting 8 months well worth the wait sound is amazing works great with the sony bravia tv

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

22

0

Sony HT A9

HT-A9//M1 SP1 20 August 2022 by Hummer Guy (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the Sony HT A9 abt a month ago with the SW5 sub. Sound is pretty good. Ease of setting up is 5 stars. BUT sometimes the drop off is irritating, intermittent connection.. thus cant give more than 3 stars.

Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Near Perfect Experience

HT-A9//M1 SP1 14 August 2022 by Disappointed9889 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The HT-A9 and 90K Tv were installed in June 2022. Immediately there is a loud hissing sound from the TV speakers whenever it is plugged into the A9 processor via a single cable and center channel is turned on (this is seriously a flawed design using a cable on a wireless system). After several months, the problem was solved via a board improvement on the TV and a new TV was delivered. HT-A9 should have been designed with a wireless center speaker.

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Best Affordable Speakers without breaking the bank

HTA9 09 August 2022 by Enas007 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the speakers and subwoofer a bit over a month now. I'm extremely satisfied with my purchase. The SW5 subwoofer is a must have with this speakers. I wish for an option to add one more subwoofer to the system

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great immersive sound

HTA9 03 August 2022 by Modernliving (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been waiting for this product for close to a year. I finally got it and absolutely love it! I have a dedicated tv room (den) and the HT-A9 with SASW5 subwoofer sounds banging. I've been re-watching GOT on HBO Max which is now in Dolby Atmos...fantastic! Book of Boba Fett, A Quiet Place II...all sound amazing, totally immersive - the phantom speakers are pretty impressive. The Apple Music catalog of Dolby Atmos keeps growing and I find myself only wanting to listen to Dolby Atmos recordings now. My room is only 14x14' with 9' ceilings so that may make a difference. I do think a firmware update to control speakers will benefit most people though. I bought a pair of Mounting Dream speaker stands on Amazon for $80 and they are perfect for these speakers (you'll need a couple of M5 30mm screws). I also had to purchase longer power cords for these two rear speakers on stands (12') because the included speaker power cords are less than 4'.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great alternative for A7000 Soundbar...

HT-A9//M1 SP1 22 July 2022 by Sonytle (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hope Sony comes up with a Additional Centre channel Speaker, just like the additional the additional subwoofer. That will make it the best buy for Sony.

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Feast for the ears!

HT-A9//M1 SP1 18 July 2022 by nccng2001 (Singapore)

When optimised in its calibration, the audio, I would say, is better than the audio generated in cinema. Don't believe me? Try it. It is a beast that is a feast for your ears! Without the wireless subwoofer, its bass is okay. However, if coupled with the expensive subwoofer, it roars! No, it thunders! No, it surrounds you! The 2 main reasons why I am getting this set of speakers is, firstly, the audio super quality with great volume and, secondly, simplicity in wiring. The audio loudness is the one that gives you the power of audio that makes it so much better than the cinema. The wireless concept for the speaker is actually a good thing but it is still not well done yet, which I will elaborate on the next paragraph. Imagine if I have to run the audio cable across the living room, my wife will kill me for that. But you will need a power socket for each of the 4 speakers. I guess that is much an easier problem to solve than routing the audio wires to the TV. The only problem I face is the need to recalibrate very often as audio keeps dropping. It is super irritating. This is BIGGEST issue I have. I believe if the system can calibrate intelligently each time it is being switched on, that will solve the issue. But once done, I need not say anymore how good it can be.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best surround I have ever had!

HTA9 09 July 2022 by Rusty53 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The hta9 surround sound system is truly the best. I have others in the past that were a pain the neck to set up, with wires running across the living room. This wireless systems sets itself up at the push of a button. I have had this system for about a month now and am still amazed at the sound. The sound quality is amazing. The separation is amazing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Does a good job

HTA9 02 July 2022 by Bobisi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was very easy to connect. The sound is excellent with no lag when someone is speaking. I added the optional sub woofer which upped the quality of the bass by a lot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Amazing Sound!

HTA9 22 June 2022 by RW77 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Waited patiently for them to be in stock soooo, glad I did can't wait to listen every day to my new sound system, Love it!

1

2

0

Great product, but tinny sound

HTA9 20 June 2022 by TaxBear (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this, with the optional 300W subwoofer and was very impressed with the sound coverage. Odd-shaped room and was able to hear sounds from where you would expect to hear the sounds. The only downside for me was the tinniness of the sound, even with the subwoofer, which I thought would help (which it did, but not enough for me to keep the system). I returned it after one week of listening, as my old system still sounded better to me, but without the coverage of the HT-A9.

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Unparalleled

HTA9 09 June 2022 by LightningSShhaaddooww (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing. Extremely happy with purchase. No drop outs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Works great when there is no sound cuts

HT-A9//M1 SP1 02 June 2022 by Dumbledore6 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The speakers sound great when watching movies and does mostly as advertised. However, there seems to be frequent sound cuts everyday. Doing the RF optimization multiple time does not help much as the issue just crops up again after some time. Moving my wireless router further from the control box did not help much as well. Also, the rear speakers aren’t as loud as the front speakers even at max rear volume. These issues should be fixed because it’s starting to get annoying and this product should not be working this way for the price. As every home is now filled with wireless devices, I expected this product to be able to accommodate the interferences and work properly regardless, but guess not..

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

Not working well with my A80J TV

HT-A9//M1 SP1 29 May 2022 by Vunjick1 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Most of the time my TV cannot detect the HTA9 or not sound at all. Have to restart my TV to get it work again everything. Also HTA9 sound cut off from time to time. Poor execution else is a very nice sound system. Surprise that not working well with Sony A80J TV.

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

4

2

0

Look mom no center channel, lol .

HTA9 18 May 2022 by ltmoe1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am extremely happy with the HT-A9. The sound stage is wonderful; and before you ask, yes you need to purchase the sub, there's no way around it. If you can get the HT-A9 home you will enjoy it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Sounds really great.

HTA9 07 May 2022 by Ranok (USA)

It’s been a week I have the hta9 with sw5 sub. They both sound incredibly good. No connection issue at all. Using a80j as center channel and I can hear any dialogue clearly. Sound coming from all directions fills my living room.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

2

0

Game changing sound and simplicity

HTA9 08 March 2022 by SPandey (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I chose the HT-A9 after extensive testing of Sonos Arc, Bose 900, Samsung Q950A, and Sony HT7000 systems in the same room with the same input sources. The simplicity of design, integration with Sony TVs, homogeneous immersive sound with excellent Atmos performance were the top reasons for the choice. The lack of a sound bar helps the listeners focus on the audio content and not on the specific source of sound channel. The phantom center channel eliminated the need to connect the audio cable back to the TV separately. Few expert reviewers do not turn on all sound optimization features which makes them miss out on things like Immersive audio enhancement which is the key difference this system has vs others. I am not an expert or paid reviewer but a life long Sony fan. Bought multiple Sony TVs so far and Sony has not given a reason to switch. Highly recommended if you want to experience the next level of immersive audio and 360 reality sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

I am delighted with this product.

HT-A9 11 February 2022 by Mehrdad62 (United Kingdom)

I am delighted with this product. Sony has always been good and at the forefront, and this set is revolutionary in the field of home theatre.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

57

0

Poor quality control

HT-A9//M1 SP1 02 February 2022 by Dr Deepak (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got delivery after 3 months of full payment. Sounded great, till it did. One of the speakers died in a week. Service centre not responding due to local holidays. Apparently there is a long wait for replacement due to supply problems internationally, but I need to test this. Very disappointed by the poor quality control as my set is not the only one with this issue, if you read the forums. I’m scared to even try and buy the additional subwoofer if the quality issues are going to persist across the line. Luckily there are no supplies for the next couple of months, giving me an opportunity to see how Sony responds to this issue.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

9

0

Excellent sound

HTA9 31 January 2022 by Bria19 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It does what is says! Once it goes through its set up the sound quality is fantastic! Especially when paired with the TV. Everything connects and it accepts all forms of sound forms. Looks clean and sharp!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

90% there - awesome product that could be perfect

HT-A9 06 January 2022 by TechReviews (United Kingdom)

The HT-A9 is a fantastic system. I’ve had it a few months now and am more sad overall. A few improvements could be made however that would make it a truly must own product. 1, The height channels could have more oomph we have a relatively low ceiling and some of the effects come off as muddled, we’ve tried the immersive sound, dts x and dolby virtualizer- all sound quite similar although the dts x is the clearest and has the best surround sound effects and volume overall. 2, There should be an option to add 2 more speakers to the set up retroactively making 6 Ht-A9s and a tv center channel this would create a soundstage that could be even more fine tuned. 3, I own a Sony KD85 85inch 4K tv from July 2020 which new by any standards and yet I cannot use it as the center channel, this is particularly frustrating as it means I’ve just spent thousands of pounds on a set and yet cannot use it with the latest Sony theatre system. I’m sure this could be updated to be used as a centre channel via a firmware update to then connect to the speakers wirelessly via blutooth.  These minor improvements would make a huge difference overall. I do plan on getting a new set but am waiting for the QD OLED in a 97 inch of which you announced you currently only produce at a maximum size of 65 inch.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

20

58

0

Disappointed

HTA9 28 December 2021 by Pga4trp (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

No matter where I move the module it continues to cut out. It is in our basement and our wifi device is on main floor. For the amount this costs it is disappointing. I also purchased the larger sub woofer to go with it. The sound is not at all as all those you tube reviews said. They all must be getting compensated.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

6

3

0

Sounds amazing! But drops out a lot ...

HTA9 12 December 2021 by BossmanKB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound from this system is amazing, and I am super happy with that part of it. However they really need to fix the wireless connection capabilities of this unit as I get drop outs all the time. I tried the optimization feature on every bootup, but that actually made it worse. I originally had my Apple TV right next to it and that was really bad (dropped out just about every time I used it), so I moved them apart and now they are about 3 feet apart horizontally. But I still get drop outs. I am now using it in 'Connection' mode as opposed to 'Sound Quality' for the speaker connections and while it drops out less, I still have had a few. Almost tempted to return it and get something different....

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

1

0

what should be amazing is disappointing :-(

HTA9 22 November 2021 by AZRonC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although the system sounds amazing when it works... it cuts in and out every few minutes (or seconds) throughout the play time... both movies and music. Definitely a malfunctioning "brain/box" and now we will see how promptly the warranty works. So sad! The set up wasn't bad but the simple daily on and off of the system and TV is a bit complex. Not sure why everthing is not saved so you don't have to tell it what to do every time.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

19

1

0

Very clear

HTA9 13 November 2021 by prussiaHawk (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very happy with the increased voice quality with this speaker system. The pseudo center channel gives a very good impression that the TV is producing the conversations. It was very easy to set up and adjust to room.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

7

0

Best sound ever!

HTA9 05 November 2021 by Slaviky (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Praise but worth every penny .sound quality is amazing with no distinction.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

7

0

Not worth the Hype, especially the price.

HTA9 02 November 2021 by Oriss (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overhyped. Too expensive. Why buy four speaks for 1924 with tax. Yet not have a subwoofer. Trust me at that it’s overpriced. And the super hyped “up to 7 phantom speakers” would have you listening hard to hear it. Tried it in a large ‍‍Space, wasn’t blown away, it sounded good, but it that impressive. Then I tried it in a smaller room, still wasn’t. I’m keeping it, only because of the easy set up, and the aesthetic. Aside from that, the atmos effect doesn’t meet the hype. Not at all meet the hype.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

14

12

0

Great Sound - Easy Setup

HTA9 27 October 2021 by Don1955 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased the HT-A9 a couple of weeks ago and it was very easy to setup. The sound is amazing on 5.1 and Atmos programs. I have really enjoyed streaming 360/Atmos music via Amazon Music. One problem that continues to plague this product is the occasional “skips” of sound. I have followed all of the recommendations from the Sony Support App and have been able to reduce the number of “skips”, but the issue still exists. Hopefully a software update fix is forthcoming as I have seen this issue documented from other users.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

5

0

Poor Quality

HTA9 27 October 2021 by TigerCub (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wireless connection issues. Audio continuously drops out. Purchased on line for $1800. Sony can do better..

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

21

6

0

Exceptional audio!

HTA9 27 October 2021 by GrayWolf51 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The HT-A9 (w/SA-SW5) is the best home-theater I've ever owned. Great work Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

5

0

Great sounding system when it works properly.

HTA9 24 October 2021 by Famililyguy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

One speaker was having problems connecting to the head unit and the LED light never came on when it worked, the head unit never link to my wifi router and I had to return it for a new set. The new set have worked flawlessly for the last 2 hours we will see how long it last, hopefully for few years, I gave it 2 stars because the hassle to get the first one to work and the hassle to get a second set was painful, hopefully SONY puts mor attention on these problems.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

25

2

0

A9

HT-A9//M1 SP1 21 October 2021  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Set was delivered on 30th September and set up on 1 October. Set up was super-easy and as described. However, if you are planning to use speaker stands, most of the available speaker stands cannot fit this speaker properly as the bolt hole at the back is about 20.5cm from foot base. Sony, please produce an official speaker stand for this speaker..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

4

0

Better Than Expected

HTA9 19 October 2021 by Pirate 21 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the HT-A9 for about two weeks now. Setup was real easy. The sound is better than expected. Not using the TV as center channel and the dialog is still spot on. Surround effects are realistic. I am real happy with the setup. They are wife approved also because they look nice and clean. I do have a full Home Theater in a different room with a 120” screen that sounds better, but for my family room within a 65” Bravia where I used to have a soundbar this is night and day better.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

3

0

Faulty system Faulty Design and SONY KNOWS IT

HTA9 17 October 2021 by Madiboughtthis (USA)

*BUYER BEWARE 2 SYSTEMS BOTH FAILED. so I bought this system THE 1ST TIME from Electric Express via Amazon. I received serial #2000593 right out of the box the the rear right speaker would not stay connected longer then 10 seconds. I trouble shot every possible scenario and no luck so I returned it. I thought to myself, maybe this is just a 1st run issue, knock off, B stock ect. So then I ordered the system DIRECT FROM SONY which is the one I have now, 1st time I ran the sound optimization it worked and the system was up in running. The next day I changed the position of the speakers slightly and re ran the sound optimization and now it FAILS ever single time at 55%. I'm every single possible scenario it fails at 55% rendering the system basically useless because the whole point of this system is the sound field optimization. This is absolutely ridiculous and this system is SNAKE OIL at the highest level. My back ground is sound engineering and I have many years experience with audio manufacturers and this is just unacceptable. There is no way Sony has any kind of legit quality control going on here, anyone who buys this system is going to have some problems if not immediately they will come for sure within weeks or months. This all boils down to what are parents told us, if something sounds to good to be true, it probably is! If someone from Sony would like to contact me to talk about this I'm all ears*

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

21

38

0

Poor wireless speaker connection

HTA9 13 October 2021 by KAP61 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this 3 weeks ago. Setup was easy and I liked the room EQ feature. However I continually hear audio drop outs. Not what I expected for $1800. The sound quality was ok, but expected much better at this price point. You definitely need to purchase the subwoofer for better bass response. I've heard ATMOS systems before with Upfiring speakers and found the effect hard to hear on the Sony system. Not sure what 360 is or does so I can't comment. In the end I wish I would have purchased a different wireless solution. I've heard the Klipsch wireless systems which worked flawlessly and sounded great! I was told by the Best Buy sales person it used the WiSA standard.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

61

60

0

Perfect sound system for condo living (As-Is)

HTA9 08 October 2021 by Bobert63 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this last month and finally relied the product today. I paired it with my Sony BRAVIA XR A80J, and connected the Center channel Sync cable. Movies sound incredible, and the surround is amazing! I don't have the sub-woofer, because I am in a condo and don't want my neighbors banging on the ceiling or floor during action scenes, but if I was in a house I would definitely add the sub, for the full-on theatre experience. One thing I want to add is the 360 Reality Audio sounds amazing, and Sony gives you a code for a free 30 day trial - DON'T PICK AMAZON MUSIC!!. There are literally only 39 songs available, and while they sound really good, they are all perfect for the spa or a massage. C'mon! If you decide to check it out, and I think you should! Research each option to see who has the biggest catalog. I basically threw my free coupon away by picking Amazon, so I have to decide whether or not I want to pay for a month on the other services. I will find out who has the most content first! Back to the system. Pairing this with my BRAVIA XR A80J makes the integration seamless. Only one remote is needed (makes the spouse happy), and it is aesthetically pleasing in the room.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

25

5