164

4.2 based on 164 customer reviews

94
39
14
6
11
Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

The best Atmos per pound

HT-X8500 25 September 2020 by Sean_W (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having finally bought a new TV after 12 years, I was looking to get an eARC HDMI compatible soundbar with Dolby Atmos for virtual surround sound straight through the TV from the upcoming PS5 / XBox Series X releases. Getting a suitable TV was expensive, so I was relatively low on budget and ended up finding this. For the price you wont find another futureproofed soundbar with more features. The only drawback is that eARC overrides the passthrough of sound from an external device to the soundbar, so one device I had using digital optical output to completely bypass the TV (and potentially any lag) just always automatically goes back through the eARC HDMI instead

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

No Dolby Atmos for me!

HT-X8500 17 November 2020 by Beach Boi (USA)

just purchased this bar to pair with an LG CX for surround sound. The Dolby Atmos light is lit up on the bar but there is no feeling at all of surround sound or sound bouncing off the ceiling. Yes, speech is better with this bar than with the tv's built-in speakers but I expected to hear surround speech. Can't figure out if i have a bad bar or just bad marketing or human error.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

164 Customer Reviews

0

Good sound effects

HT-X8500 15 January 2022 by Rwd9 (United Kingdom)

Bought to go with new UltraHD to. Great sound reproduction and facilities for various formats eg music, cinema, news etc. Also looks good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love the sound!

HTX8500 14 January 2022 by Bazedog (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ought this to match up with my A9f and am happy so far. Only issue is sound pauses during streaming ( Prime, Netflix, YTTV, etc.). Have tried some troubleshooting but no help yet. Otherwise happy!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great & Portable Device

HT-X8500 09 January 2022 by JesseJ (United Kingdom)

I bought the HT-X8500 a couple of days ago. It’s a cool sound bar, so far I am loving its productions. A few setbacks, connecting the Arc HDMI - from the TV to the sound bar has not been working, I got an HDMI cable from Sony yet no sound or display from the HDMI ports. Apart from these setback which I will try and figure it out, the device and production is amazing .

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Good sound

HT-X8500 08 January 2022 by PB50 (United Kingdom)

Easy set up with Sony TV Good sound. Decent value for money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

poor sound

HT-X8500 04 January 2022 by Mr Rickard (United Kingdom)

i purchased a sony htx850 sound bar beginning of Dec, sound quality is poor played through my sony kd49xh9505 direct but perfect played through my Panasonic dvd recorder, can you explain why

0

0

0

Very neat soundbar

HT-X8500 03 January 2022 by Skulldog (United Kingdom)

Excellent sound with many features, would highly recommend for a medium sized living room.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great

HT-X8500 20 December 2021 by Nerijus78 (United Kingdom)

Perfect bar for this price. Good for small room. Recommended

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ht-X8500

HT-X8500 14 December 2021 by Soups 88 (United Kingdom)

I thought I would wait a couple of weeks before leaving a review. The good..it's easy to set up, it fits under my new Sony TV, the sound is decent for the price and size. The bad, bass is not good, but was not expecting this too as it's built in to the bar. There is also no led screen to review settings etc. The sound does not go high as it states. But on the whole it's not bad for the price and if you have a small room to fill up with sound.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Much better than expected

HT-X8500 16 November 2021 by James 111 (United Kingdom)

Again another well designed product with enough features at a price point that makes it very compeling piece of kit. Having it hooked up to my Sony XH9505 & Sony bluray player UBP-X800 you do get the max AV experience when playing UHD discs that streaming can't match. Also with it's bluetooth means you can beam the radio or other devices through it without the TV being on, again less clutter, no seperate speakers. A very solid and weighty component.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Smaller Room & TV Speaker

HTX8500 21 October 2021 by FMS82 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best all-around small room and TV speaker! Boosts volume and sound projection, decent subwoofer. Sleek looks! Excellent value!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sounds

HT-X8500 24 September 2021 by Rjjjj (United Kingdom)

Works well wired, less so Bluetooth - too many RF devices in small area.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent sound quality, great overall

HT-X8500 14 September 2021 by arpan57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really like the sound quality, surround sound system. Comes with a set of presets on remote which is quite handy. Sometimes, dialogues are not too clear and sometimes there is a lag in lip sync. However, I like this soundbar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Loved it!

HT-X8500//M SP1 11 September 2021 by Shoedog96 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this month ago, had initial problems connecting it to my older Samsung TV. But once connected with the required cables, worked reliably and wonderfully!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

So far I love it.

HTX8500 06 September 2021 by DonJW (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had a couple of months now and am happy with the sound it plays. Haven't been able to test the Atmos yet as I currently have an older Samsung tv that does not have an eArc input. I have a new Sony 77 inch tv coming which has one and can't wait to get that hooked up to the soundbar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound in bedroom

HTX8500 26 August 2021 by James808 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Added to my Sony x90j in bedroom. Speakers surprisingly come close to surround sound. Sound has some height to it and at times sounds come in from left and right beside you. Used in a smaller space like a bedroom or office type space is probably best for this model. Bass hits quite well for being built in. I would like a few more bass level settings then just 3 though. Only issue I’ve had arise is when watching HBOmax movies that have Dolby atmos sound will blip then turn off. I have not had this issue with any other apps that I use that offer Dolby atmos though. So I’m pretty sure it’s something to do with the HBO app not the soundbar itself. Over all excellent product great for movies, video games, and regular viewing shows.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

It was great for 1.5 years, then got worsen

HT-X8500 17 August 2021 by Ice_machinE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound wise, it has a wonderful sound and very good bass. Performance wise: I connected everything through it so I could have 1 source of sound (everything goes through an HDMI splitter because I wanted all of my devices to work through it), for the first 1.5 years, it worked flawlessly, then it started giving me crackling sounds and turn off the sound all together with all the lights flashing. The only way to fix this was to either disconnect all the cables from it or pull the power plug from it and turn it back on.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor performance.

HT-X8500 16 August 2021 by Juanmaizq (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Makes the TV slower to work and the quality of sound is not much better to compensate for this.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Nice soundbar

HT-X8500 14 August 2021 by Dekker54 (United Kingdom)

I bought this mainly for Dolby atmos and Iam extremely impressed. I know it’s a 2019 model but it perfect .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good mid priced Soundbar

HT-X8500//M SP1 05 August 2021 by clishic (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quite good sound reproduction. Dolby Atmos works great too!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just dandy

HTX8500 02 August 2021 by Oink (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had it a month......... cccvv v. Bb no. No. Mmm

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not bad

HT-X8500//M SP1 22 July 2021  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far the sound quality is good. Value for money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Disappointed

HT-X8500//M SP1 16 July 2021 by Fllim (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Less than a month from date of purchase, now I need to send for repair. I can’t on the sound bar. I’m quite disappointed as I trusted SONY!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

3

0

Improved sound on TV 100% right out of box!

HTX8500 11 July 2021 by Bob 74 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This Soundbar is exactly what I needed for a Toshiba C350 Fire TV. This is used in a bedroom and improves the sound of the TV dramatically. Sony hit a home run with this unit. Could not be more pleased! Currently using all default settings with a HDMI earc connection. Have not even tried any options and still very impressed with this unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent Sound

HT-X8500 25 June 2021 by Mary the Cat (United Kingdom)

Easy to set up, looks good, great sound. good value for money

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Life is never the same again!

HT-X8500//M SP1 16 June 2021 by Kate2021 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

We had the previous model for 3 years and only went into the SONY shop for a stroll and didnt intend to buy anything, but the salesman is very patient, courteous, meticulous and has answered all of our questions without being pushy on the new model. So we went back to the shop 1 month later and bought it instantly from the same salesperson! Life is never the same again when you watch your SONY TV, and we can never go back to the old and traditional sound again especially when we watch any films on Netflix or Amazon, or even watch any news. The 3-D sound effect adds another layer of listening-ability and pleasure to the ears and heart.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Awesome

HT-X8500//M SP1 10 June 2021 by B Tay (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound quality was great even though it had a built-in sub-woofer. Perfect for a small apartment like mine.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Very detailed controls tailor listening

HTX8500 05 June 2021 by Ldmaster (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Mulriple configuration options are truly best in class. Ive owned some expensive audio bars - wish I'd found this first

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great compact design

HT-X8500 04 June 2021 by Ray56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as a replacement for my old but larger Sony soundbar and the quality is as good if not better . Really happy!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Quality Product

HT-X8500 13 May 2021 by Jmalcol (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very impressed with Sony sound bar. Good value for money great sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great surround sound system

HT-X8500//M SP1 12 May 2021 by Rambro (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy and friendly. Sound quality is good. Most function available to adjust to your hearing

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-X8500 10 May 2021 by GRE59 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quality product. Looks good. Sound good. Great value

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great Features & Sound …

HT-X8500 06 May 2021 by ST151266 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A good budget range intro. Into sound bar territory!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy setup

HT-X8500//M SP1 04 May 2021 by CHPear (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got it in April & a month later the device is performing flawlessly. Great sound quality especially in streaming TV platform like Netflix & Amazon Prime. Slick design & easy to setup.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound quality

HT-X8500 18 April 2021 by Superpikeangler (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought together with 42” tv rouse in conservatory Although excellent sound disappointing to find that 2 Sony products bought together on curry’s recommendation are not compatible via Bluetooth. Works fine from phone and tablet etc.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sound bar

HT-X8500 10 April 2021 by Hijacky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Disappointed.by the dialogue feature..................

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A little disappointed

HT-X8500 13 March 2021 by Wan27 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good, would like to be able to adjust the sound. Bass is a little weak.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Garbage product

HT-X8500//M SP1 11 March 2021 by HRSG (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

1 month of testing.Regret to buy this garbage...........,

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

3

0

hand set only works with in a meter of box

HT-X8500 28 February 2021 by tommyyy (United Kingdom)

Hand set only works with in a meter of the box is this normal

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Expensive for what you get

HT-X8500 27 February 2021 by cool1000 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Im not sure if it's the sony TV 55in or the sonud bar but when i turn the tv on the sound bar comes on but does not activate on with the tv it uses the tv speakers till i manual turn speakers on with tv.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

2

0

Nice soundbar but lacks simple features

HT-X8500 19 February 2021 by Cdot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound is alright once you've pressed about a million buttons but the bar is really let down by some minor things. Also some sound setting seem to be useless, maybe its what we're listening to so that is open to investigation. 1. Remote layout - are all the sound mode or special affect buttons placed together.. No they're not 2. On screen display - managed to have this when you change the volume but for anything else you either use which LEDs have lit up (the ones on the left or right) or just a guess because the same LEDs indicate when turning on and off. Its like a game bit a really awful one 3. Connection - want to add to your sound bar no can do. I mean the thing is huge, surely there was room for some extra ports, or just use the existing wireless connections. This was a fair bit of money for us and the little thing really do take away from the excitement of finally getting a sound bar.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

2

0

Great sound quality with good base

HT-X8500 09 February 2021 by Chrisi123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this soundbar for a double sized bedroom 40" TV, and wall hung it accordingly. I always struggled to hear voice through the TV speakers and wanted something that would give clarity, a bit of base and any effects would be a bonus. This soundbar ticked these requirements with abundance. And I don't need to have it up loud either....which I am sure will be of some relief to the neighbour. In a room this size the Atmos effect works remarkably well too. Whilst I paid more than I might have meant for a bedroom amplifier, I am glad that I did and well pleased with the purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Very average

HT-X8500 08 February 2021 by tophers49 (USA)

really thought it sounded much better at Best Buy, and knowing bets buy it was probably another speaker system I was listening to. The control is very unresponsive and it cuts in and out. I have always tried to purchase the top brands any Sony was almost always on top the list. As with most things these days I believe they are selling their name from bygone days when they were on top. Trust me , for the money one can do much better and it the future that will be my direction, away from the name and more into research.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Great sound system

HT-X8500//M SP1 07 February 2021 by Wirandri (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought in Dec 2020. I like the functions and overall sound of this soundbar. The soundbar is compatible with my TV remote.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound Bar

HTX8500 05 February 2021 by Jcbeno72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just purchased, have all Sony TV's and Audio set up. This was for the bedroom. Sound is very clear and fills the room. Super easy to set up and has some cool audio features. I love the voice feature which amplifies the speech on the movies. Great buy and value for the price point

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great piece of kit

HT-X8500 31 January 2021 by Amackem (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this for my conservatory as as was sick of not being able to hear the tele when it rained. I needed a boost and this fits the bill I placed it onto of my TV and it works perfect Looks good and blends in

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Really good, nearly as good as my previous one

HT-X8500 23 January 2021 by Jimbo47 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I used to have a wired surround sound with a sub woofer, but my wife didn't like the wires so we went for the all in one. The surround sound is really deceptive, sometimes I hear sounds and wonder where they come from. It sounds like the other room, but its coming from the soundbar straight in front of you.The only problem is the led display on the top, you can't see it, it should be on the front.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Superb sound

HT-X8500 22 January 2021 by Jimbo 99 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Two weeks into use very happy with product sound great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

looks good under my Sony tv

HT-X8500 18 January 2021 by Vulcanb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound coming from box in my apartment ,sport sounds good because I have dolby plus UHD

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0