121

4.3 based on 121 customer reviews

74
26
8
6
7
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Changes my misconception that small equals poor.

SRS-XB12 11 May 2019 by DazmoG (United Kingdom)

Firstly I have to declare that I'm a big speaker audiophile, and thought I had no use for a prortable speaker, but this changed very quickly when I came across this speaker. The speaker is small, but the size to weight ratio on picking up the box was encouraging. Weighing in around 250 grams for a cylindrical unit 75mm in diameter and standing 85mm tall (Approx) it suggested that quality componentry had been used, but the unit remaining light enough to be truly portable. The speaker is well boxed as you would expect from Sony, with instruction books and setup instructions greeting the new owner on opening. Inside the box was the speaker and the now fairly industry standard USB charging lead. I have multiple USB mains adaptors so finding a charging source was no issue, however this may not be the case for all purchasors. The unit has inbuilt re-chargable batteries which were fully charged in circa 180mins, giving 16hrs of use according to Sony. The unit is also claimed to be IP67 resistant to dust and water such that the unit can be safely dropped in water and survive. Certainly the exterior tactile rubber reinforces this capability and offers an easily held surface whilst protecting from minor impacts. Closer inspection revealed in my opinion a high quality of manufacture with no weak areas. Buttons for: on/off, Volume up/down, multi function button for play/pause/rewind etc, and Add, form depressable buttons in the control area of the outer rubber. Those familiar with the multi purpose button on headphones will immediately know what the various prods on the multi button will do. The add button allows for a second speaker to be added to form a stereo pair. The buttons are marked according to function by bold symbols moulded into the rubber casing, they repond with a positive click but the black symbols on the black rubber background are not easily identified by eye, in low light. That said with only four buttons to remember the purpose of, this isnt likely to be a problem. The unit paired via bluetooth quickly and promptly with my telephone, there is also a socket for audio in via a 3.5mm audio jack behind a rubber sealed panel alongside the charging port. The fist thing to note is the range at which it will work. Indoors most items struggle with indoor walls but this speaker had no trouble where other equipment gave up the ghost. Operation of the onboard buttons were quick and snappy with the phone reacting quickly. The sound from such a small unit was jaw dropping, not music concert pressure bass but sufficient to wonder how it was producing it. Experimentation on different surfaces were all good, but on a firm bit of wood or a table the speaker was capable of passing low frequencies through the base of the unit to use the resonance of the surface. This seems to be assisted by the rubber ring on the units base which secures the unit on the surface, this also protects the surface from scratches. With the speaker at ear level on a good surface it was easily bookshelf speaker quality with tight punchy bass and crisp highs. This speaker has re-educated my old beleifs that a small unit equals poor sound. Certainly the unit is far superior than the telephones hands free mode. The most impressive feature to me however was that the unit has an inbuilt microphone. Voice commands to the telephones virtual assistant were faultless. The microphone also lends itself to conference calls, with the unit in the middle of a table of four people, the dialogue with the the users dialled up was vastly better than the telephones hands free, with nobody asking for the conversation to be repeated. This suggests that the unit can capture and transmit sound clearly to all sat at the table and through the cell network. With so many uses and portability this is now a tech must have in my wish list. Simply Awesome.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Low sound.

SRS-XB12 03 July 2020 by mlboul (USA)

Bought this last month to blue tooth music for my garage workouts. Volume is to low. My cell is all the way up and It's still not loud enough to hear. Very disappointing.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

121 Customer Reviews

0

Good sound

SRS-XB12 16 September 2020 by Alipaul (United Kingdom)

Bought this a couple of weeks ago, very pleased with it, take it with me all round my bungalow

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

They last maybe an hour maybe an hour and a half

SRS-XB12 15 September 2020 by The goofy guy who bought (USA)

I would not buy these I bought two they sound good but they don't last

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Miss the nfc capability

SRS-XB12 12 September 2020 by Thehan R (USA)

Good experience after all, i really enjoying using it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB12 06 September 2020 by Dumbcluck (United Kingdom)

Been after portable stereo Bluetooth speakers for a while. Glad I chose these I think they are brilliant. I am not an expert but they deliver good all round sound and plenty of volume. Not cheap but worth every penny in my opinion.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

worth $15 or less

SRS-XB12 02 September 2020 by stopcollectingmydata (USA)

the battery life of this speaker is absolutely useless. definitely does not play for 16h. even worse, after an 1 hour or so of loud music the speaker volume goes down to half the loudness in order to reserve battery. it’ll die about another hour after that besides that very annoying fact the strap is not only cute but also a necessity, u can not leave this speaker on a counter, table, bureau, etc. it’ll fall right off because when music is playing the speaker trembles and can not hold its up. u have to put it on a door knob of something apart from that the speaker does stay clean or is easy to clean i should say. the compact size is great for travelling. but i wouldn't reccomend this speaker to anyone. The Wonderboom is a much better product with all the same amenities and longer lasting sound and battery

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great for a few months, then battery tanked

SRS-XB12 01 September 2020 by ElGringoDecepcionado (USA)

PROS: I loved this speaker when I first bought it, it's surprisingly loud and it's amazing that it's waterproof/sandproof (great for the beach!). It's so small and perfect for traveling. CONS: It has this terribly annoying feature where the volume suddenly turns down to about 30% when the battery is low. Wasn't a huge deal at first because I could just keep it charged and avoid the problem, but the "16 hour battery life" quickly dwindled and dwindled. Now I can listen at full volume for about 30 minutes before it drops, making the speaker useless. I can't even hear it in the shower, where I should have maximum acoustics. The water is louder than the speaker!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Happy with purchase

SRS-XB12 31 August 2020 by LB85 (United Kingdom)

Bought this speaker to replace a previous which no longer holds a charge. Easy to connect to Bluetooth, handy carry strap and great sound. Pleased with choice.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Awesome sound

SRS-XB12 28 August 2020 by Shrek748 (USA)

For a small speaker Its got great sound. Crystal clear. Connection was easy. It's small enough to carry to carry around. Great product. Just recieved it today. It was on Malboro rewards. Took a chance and happy I did. I would recommend

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing little speaker

SRS-XB12 27 August 2020 by WiggyLuke2019 (United Kingdom)

Have had the speaker for a few months now, am so impressed with both the sound and bass quality and also the battery life. Would highly recommend to anyone that wants a small portable speaker!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

The extra boom with XB12

SRS-XB12/HC E 22 August 2020 by H_W_M (Singapore)

You will get the extra boom of Brass when you plugin the USB power to the XB12!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect for on the go!!!

SRS-XB12 21 August 2020 by Rockhunter (USA)

I purchased this speaker because of it's small size. As an avid hiker I need to keep my pack light as possible so this was an obvious choice. The sound quality is outstanding, however, the speaker isnt very loud outside. At full volume, the battery lasts less then two hours. So I purchased a second xb12 to pair together and that did the trick for the volume issue. To solve the short battery life I simply plug them both into a usb charger I keep in my pack. Overall, I love these speakers. The sound is crisp and when paired with a second, it's even better! If you're looking for a speaker to take on the go, this is it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

SRSXB12/B 16 August 2020 by Chark (USA)

I purchased my Sony speaker a couple of weeks ago for my IphoneX. It has a great sound for such a small speaker. Its easy to carry around and has a super battery life. I highly recommend this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great for outdoors

SRS-XB12 11 August 2020 by Steve_W (United Kingdom)

Bought this unit a couple of weeks ago to use outside in the summer days were having to spend at home due to Covid. Great sound, good size to carry around, easy to connect to my phone. All round a really good unit for sitting outside

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good sound from a small neat speaker

SRS-XB12 05 August 2020 by Red16 (United Kingdom)

Just received this today & really impressed! Great sound, easy to use & looks good too. Nice to have a choice of colours. I got the blue one which is smart looking. Very portable. Happy with my purchase!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice portable speaker

SRS-XB12/BC E 05 August 2020 by jianshun (Singapore)

Sound good for a speaker, this small. However, the Bluetooth connection is not stable, disconnect frequently, tested with multiple devices.

0

0

0

Love it!!!

SRS-XB12 02 August 2020 by JN76 (United Kingdom)

Bought the speaker a month ago - quality sound, easy to use and great battery life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB12 21 July 2020 by OvidiuM (United Kingdom)

When I decided to buy them I had some doubts as I read some unfavourable reviews. I was overwhelmed by the very good sound quality. I used them on my living-room and i have to reduce the volume as they were so loud, and in my garden where I can throw a party using them with great success. They are loud and with greate bass. I bought 2 of them for the stereo sound. The price on Amazon was £39.99. A great price for a great quality. If the Sony logo was embossed as the previous model would be the best ever speaker for its size.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

For its size, a giant

SRSXB12/B 21 July 2020 by idontwantto (USA)

Whatever you are listening in your phone, goes to the XB12 powerfully. I guess you are getting better sound while saving your cell's battery. Super simple.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little gadget

SRS-XB12 16 July 2020 by Len71 (United Kingdom)

Works with both iPhone and IPad and also old iPod with add on Bluetooth transmitter. Used on recent motorhome trip and well happy with purchase!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Design

SRS-XB12 15 July 2020 by Haptonbob (United Kingdom)

Fabulous sound from a small unit. Clever design and. Easy to Use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great bass

SRS-XB12 15 July 2020 by Jancifd (USA)

I bought it about a week ago and so far Im happy with it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I did not expect it to sound so low!

SRS-XB12 12 July 2020 by algov3 (USA)

I bought this to animate my quarantine days, and checked some reviews on the Internet, and saw that it was good. But, surprise(!), two notches below max volume, the speaker becomes irrelevant. So much for $40... Although I like the bass it has for its size, I feel disappointed, and I think I will have to return it. The cheaper Go 2 that I have sounds louder (albeit without as much bass)... as a bluetooth speaker of small size is expected to sound.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Product at Best Price

SRS-XB12/RC E 04 July 2020 by Srinivas Venna (Singapore)

I bought Sony Speaker a month ago. It is so portable and having better Battery Life with Best Audio Quality.

0

0