8

4.5 based on 8 customer reviews

4
4
0
0
0
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

28 Customer Reviews

0

Sounds Great!!

SRS-XB43 16 September 2020  (USA)

I bought my SRS-XB43 in late August and I love it a lot. Sounds great and the bass is great also plus u got so many features packed in the wireless speaker like EQ, ClearAudio+, DSEE, and Lighting Features that are great and gives it a attractive look and design. Definitely worth the price!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice sound!

SRS-XB43 06 September 2020 by Sleku88 (United Kingdom)

I thought it will be more powerful for this size and weight. Overall good speaker but carry strip would be good addition.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing!

SRS-XB43 03 September 2020 by Panthera (United Kingdom)

Sony SRS-XB43 – Portable, Waterproof, Powerful and Durable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker are the best speaker i ever had! So clear sound, so rich and very sturdy in quality! Lovely looking and long lasting battery life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

XB43 review

SRS-XB43/CC SP6 02 September 2020 by ngsan (Singapore)

happy with the performance, however it is not very easy to use because this speaker try to built in a lot of features and for some people they may preferred less features, equal or better sound quality and easy to use cheaper products

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

This speakers is a beast!

SRS-XB43 30 August 2020 by JayC76 (USA)

This speaker is a portable party. Amazingly loud sound without losing sound quality. Regardless of the type of music you listen to this is the best speaker to listen to it with. Party lights are fun when you want a dance party but you can shut them off if you want to be a little more reserved. If you want to listen to EDM or a symphony this speaker will amaze you with sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GREAT INDOOR WIRELESS SPEAKER

SRSXB43/B 30 August 2020  (USA)

I LOVE THE BUMPING THIS LITTLE SPEAKER DOES BUT I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS FOR OUTDOOR USE UNLESS YOU PARTY CONNECT ABOUT 3-4 OF THEM TO GET THE FULL EFFECT.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An improvement over the XB41

SRS-XB43/BC SP6 29 August 2020 by mchue (Singapore)

I rated it 4 stars because of the bulk and less focused base.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great piece of kit

SRS-XB43 17 August 2020  (United Kingdom)

After using this speaker for two weeks now, this is my own personal review. Firstly WOW !! what a fantastic speaker this is, the build quality is very impressive, rubber at the ends with what seems to be a waterproof mesh covering the rest of the body, after all the is an IP67 rated speaker which is water proof and dust proof. It is fairly heavy coming in at 2950g and solid with it too, it has four speakers consisting of two sub woofers and two tweeters, the rubber ends house the bass reflex cones. The sound quality is absolutely amazing, crystal clear even on full volume, the bass sound is really deep so much so you can almost feel it. All the control buttons are on the top for the volume, Bluetooth, on/ off etc. Connectivity is easy whether is through the NFC indicator or via Bluetooth which is what I always use. Once connected to your device, either a mobile phone, tablet, PC etc it stays connected, I have never had it drop out on me. There are led lights around the rubber ends and more inside around the speaker cones all of which can be controlled via the ' Fiestable ' app you need to download from the app store. You can alter the sounds and lighting effects to suit yourselves, there are plenty of different mode there.The battery life is amazing, I have had nearly 24 hours with no lights on so using the lights this time will be reduced. There is a usb point at the rear where you can charge a mobile phone, also the audio in socket and DC charging point. I am sure anyone purchasing this Sony SRS - XB43 speaker will not be disappointed, it is well worth the money. Well done to Sony too for producing another top product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

5

1

0

Extraordinary product.

SRS-XB43 17 August 2020 by Julieharris796 (USA)

I am beyond impressed with my speaker and it’s features. Thank you for taking the time to make a high quality product. If I had to give a downfall, it would the weight but I understand it has to be that way because of that battery. Many blessings.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent unit for pop/party use !

SRS-XB43 16 August 2020 by Vincent (United Kingdom)

This speaker seems to be the 'big brother' of the SRS-XB3 and I have 2 of these. The speaker is somewhat heavy (3kg) to be considered truly portable. Some sort of grips or handles would help as the 'D' shaped crossection is not that easy to handle. Also picking up the unit at the ends, care is needed to avoid damaging the bass end speakers. The controls could be a bit bigger and contrasted against the speaker ; black on black is not the clearest. Sound quality is very good but I would have liked the option to suppress the 'extra bass' as this is not always appropriate for classical music and some jazz. Battery life is good and I am still using the original charge from 2 weeks ago using the unit about 2 hours a day. I was very pleased that the flashing light system could be turned off as this is not a feature that does not appeal to a person using this unit for jazz and classical music. Finally, I would hesitate to spend £200 appx for this unit but can see that for young persons party/pop use it's ideal. I would consider buying a similar unit targeted towards jazz or classical use and possibly incorporating g some of the above.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Just fun everywhere!

SRS-XB43 15 August 2020 by DaniBMed (United Kingdom)

It arrive early at my home a large an sturdy box. Later I found out in my phone a text message was sent from Sony. Well.. Looking in side I found the real Sony packaging with the cool looks of the speaker in perfect conditions with a tight polystyrene base. Power cord cables, manuals and easy set up booklet. The Bluetooth pairing with my Xperia Compact 2 mobile was straight forward and the quality of the sound is mesmerizing. My favourite tracks sounds even better in this unit and the flashing lights are inviting to join the fun. The controls are very intuitive an after a certain time without use the device switch itself off. Wireless or connected with a standard plug jack on the back the unit can serve as the output for my screen or sync-keyboard. Well I like to see music videos in large scale and the sound of the unit and the lights of the unit just maximise the fun. Fantastic bass! great sound unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

SRS-XB43

SRS-XB43 15 August 2020 by Chris (United Kingdom)

SRS-XB43 Extra Bass Wireless Speaker. The ultimate compact party sound machine. The XB43 is the definitive, easy to use, go anywhere sound system. It comes in serious underrated packaging that tells you it’s a wireless speaker with extra bass. Once you take it out of the box and start experimenting you soon find that it would be better described as a Goliath of Sound with Attitude. Sony don’t disappoint with the quality of sound that the XB-43 delivers. Producing quality sound is its primary function and the XB-43’s woofers and tweeters in a passive radiator enclosure do just that. Quality. You quickly realise that it’s a very hefty beast that has been designed as a substantial portable entertainment system. Typically understated are the lighting functions which are one of the things that puts the XB43 in a class of its own and clearly sets it apart from the many run of the mill bluetooth speakers which are currently available. The battery time is a clear benefit. So often you find that wireless speakers have a limited battery run time. With a full charging time of about five hours, the XB43 is set to deliver up to 24 hours good volume when set to ‘STAMINA’ mode, 14 hours with medium volume, lighting and extra bass or around 4 hours with volume set to a staggering ‘50’, party lighting and extra bass. This should prove more than enough for the most serious party goer. So long as you’ve created the right playlist, the XB43 will provide everything that you need for the most memorable get-togethers. The XB-43 is clearly designed to be a portable Bluetooth device but also offers an audio ‘Jack In’ socket for those who are using it as a static speaker connected to a non-Bluetooth sound source. Sony have fully considered this and the XB43 allows you turn off the multicoloured lighting function or set it to ‘CHILL’ for relaxing music. So, you don’t always have to be a music maniac, during more thoughtful moments you can be a laid-back sound connoisseur. The XB-43 continues to prove that it is much more than a bluetooth speaker, it is your all-round entertainment friend. The lighting function is an extraordinary facility which, apart from the ‘off’ setting, boasts five different configurations: RAVE, CHILL, HOT, COOL, STROBE. Its for you to play with these to find the settings that best suit your needs and mood. There will be times when you might want to create a different ambience and the XB-43 allows this by providing a choice of standard sound settings. The settings include STAMINA (Power saving), EXTRA BASS (Heavy Bass Sound), LIVE SOUND (Realistic sound). The choice is yours to experiment with. Many of us use our mobile phones in handsfree mode and the XB-43 allows you to do that by accepting your incoming calls and automatically pausing any music playback therefore allowing you to hear and talk to your caller via the XB-43. Once you’ve finished your call the XB-43 will automatically resume your music playback. You can even recharge your smartphone from the XB-43’s USB power port. Simple! The XB43 also has functions that you may only need on rare occasions but, during those times, can be a real benefit. For instance, at larger functions the XB-43 allows it to be paired with an almost limitless amount of other XB-43’s for a real gargantuan sound. The XB43 is a hefty friend and enjoys visiting a variety of different locations. Its construction means that it is resistant to salt water and can be used safely on the beach. It is also rated IP67 which means that it has resistance to water, dust and rust. What other sound system can claim that? For even more functionality and fun the XB-43 works alongside the Sony Music Center and Fiestable programmes which are downloadable from the Appstore or Google Play. A must for all music aficionados. I haven’t mentioned all of the XB-43’s functionality but it would be wrong to exclude a note on its aesthetics and design. Firstly, the XB-43 does not pretend to be a great heaving beast but it is big enough to deliver a very impressive sound. At about 2.7kg its not something that you would carry about ‘just in case’ but is easy to transport when heading out for a party or function. Its design is simple and functional. Some might say that it could benefit from having a carrying handle but its soft interesting shape makes it aesthetically understated and interesting to carry. It is equally at home in the house, outside on the beach, or beside the pool. Put simply, you’ll love it. The Sony SRS-XB43 Wireless Speaker.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Almost perfect

SRS-XB43 14 August 2020 by _b12 (United Kingdom)

Design/Functions/Buttons: Compact yet big and heavy than average. No flimsy parts, wobbling or creaking when handling the product. 4 speakers, white lighting outlining the speakers and side RGB lights. Can be positioned horizontally and vertically. Beware the side bass vents are sensitive to puncture and will ruin the speaker completely. Very happy to see that there is no plastic feel to it. It feels very sturdy and well made. Buttons on top of speaker and on the back behind a rubber water insulating cover. It is splash/high humidity resistant. Lights can be switched off by the buttons on the back where the charging USB-C port is and the different pairing options buttons are along with the option to charge another device via USB-A connector from the speaker battery. There is also a button to speak out the battery level. It goes: "Fully charged", "about 70/50/30%", "needs charging". Required about two hours to fully charged with the supplied wall charger. The cable supplied is not disconnect-able form the charger. Pretty standard. Mesh is not as tight as I would like it, using in sandy environment might be a problem. Side vents have plenty of space to hold dust and other particles. Power/Battery Life/Charging: No lights & volume 25-50% - got about 24h as advertised. Lights on: "Rave" or "Cinnabar" preset - got about 16-18h on 25-50%. No battery indicator on device. No battery indicator on phone - massive drawback in 2020. Have to use the app to reach the Power Option to see the battery level. You can still use the speaker normally while charging. USB-C port is used for charging. Thats why a charging dock capability would have been nice for this product. Connection: Bluetooth or LineIn cable. Single device, no memory of previously connected devices or one button connected devices swap, which is another major drawback. Competitors had that for years now. When connecting to device it just says "Bluetooth connected". Sony's "Music Center" app is not required to playback music. Have tried on Android 4.4 phone and tablet where the app was not available due to old Android version. Was still able to connect and play my music. Unfortunately the app is very clunky and is a bottleneck for many situations which are out of scope for this review. Once the device is off there is no way to wake it with the app. Need to use the power button on the device itself. Can be paired in stereo mode with one more of the same or in a party mode with one or more of other compatible bluetooth Sony speakers. Sound quality: Due to the presence of tweeters you will appreciate the clarity when playing some of your lossless quality tracks. Very glad for those dedicated high frequency speakers. Doing great job. Bass is really good and punchy, very well done. The passive side bass resonators are really impressive in adding up to the deep bass. Positioning the speaker is a key factor for best bass as with any other speaker out there. Corners or next to wall are always best. There is no way around it with such small speakers. Stereo is way more prominent compare to other similar speakers out there. Sound presets are available via the app and the "Bass boost" is already selected. Also, the app provides a very useful 3-band slider EQ. Keep it real and do not expect the Hi-Fi quality of a stereo. Non-the-less it does sound very good and loud. There is a physical button and a sound preset for "Live" which uses a specific algorithm to play the music in a more spatial concert like way. Mid/high frequencies become more clear and it sounds like the the speakers that advertise "360 sound technology". I kind of like it for some Jazzy songs but not for my preferred genre. Though the stereo effect is even more prominent in this audio preset. Compared to a year long competitor speakers in the same price category this one blows them away - bass, treble, the whole package. Overall it does deliver what is says on the box: long battery life(easy 24h under certain conditions), punchy bass and clearer high frequencies. Can easily turn a 30 squared meters hall into a dance floor for 6-8h without charging and with lights on. It is big and heavy enough to not be very comfortable to be carried along. Speaker lights are very handy if you want to use it night time to set the mood. Everyone can find a good use for them and it is not very taxing on battery. Wish list for future product development: Audio connected device with battery indicator on phone top icon bar for quick peak if possible. Battery indicator on device. More precise battery levels when pronouncing the battery level. Option for charging dock/stand at the bottom of the speaker so that there is no need to (un)plug cables - just lift to go and place back down to charge. Remember last two/three devices connected and easy swap between them with a physical button and through the app. When connecting via Bluetooth pronounce the device name that is connected. Wake the device remotely through the app(could be taxing on battery life though). Change the fiber mesh with one with smaller holes - better water and dust/particle/sand resistance. Make all lights RGB, not just the side ones. Plenty of options for RGB LEDs on the side bass resonators as well. Wish line in was optical as well. Sound is really good, can be used to optical line in from Bluray player/TV/Receiver and used as sound bar. Bonus: Have only one app for all audio/video devices, please.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

A heavy weight in all areas!

SRS-XB43 12 August 2020 by Michaelw77 (United Kingdom)

It's heavy. That was my initial thought when the XB43 turned up on my doorstep! Having not owned a portable Bluetooth speaker before, I was intrigued to find out more about this new device. Reading up about portable speakers, I have been interested in getting one - but will it be good addition to my tech? Upon opening the inconspicuous brown packaging box, I was greeted with a rectangular white Sony box. A phot of the XB43 adorns the front of the box sitting In water, with the sea in the background, a sunset, and splashes of water against the speaker highlighting it's IP67 waterproofing. The photo wraps around the side of the box where a large font reads 'EXTRA BASS' letting you know this is indeed one of the main focuses of this speaker. Behind those large letter the image features a palm tree further invoking those long, warm, summer evenings - a rare occurrence in the UK! Now to get to the product itself! Wrapped in a white protective bag, lifting the XB43 out of the box you can already tell it's a well built product. Opening the bag confirmed this straight away. The speaker cover material is hard and ridged, wrapping around the whole unit. At either end of this are the led light strips which are 6mm wide and also wrap beautifully around the entirety of the speaker. The ends of the speaker are finished in a soft touch plastic which slight tapers down from the top and up from the bottom. A very slight curve indents the vertical sides which give a nice aesthetic and stops it looking like a complete rectangle from the front. A very clean looking front with just the Sony logo sitting in the top left corner of the mesh. Moving around to the sides shows a much more circular rear compared to the front. The sides feature a circular cutaway where the side passive radiators sit. This features the Sony logo but in a a very subtle gloss black against a matt black background. The actual outer soft touch plastic has a nice debossed dimple effect which 'takes you into' the unit. The only feature on the rear is a rubber flap. Pulling this down reveals a USB Type-C connector which can be used to charge your smartphone - ideal for a day (and night), on the beach! There is and an Audio In jack and a 5v DC in to charge the unit. There are then three buttons. The first says Light/Batt. If you press the button and let go a very clear female voice tells you how much charge is left. If you press the button down for about 3 seconds the led lights will come on/off. Next up is the Party button! Press this if you have lots of friends with you and the all have the new XB series of speakers. Apparently you can connect up to 100 speakers which will then all play the same tunes and synchronise the lights! The last button is the ST Pair button which will create a stereo set up with another unit. The rubber flap sits back in place securely and tightly. Make sure you do push it back to keep that seawater out! The top of the speaker features a non descript soft finish plastic horizontal bar. This features the following buttons - power on/off, Bluetooth, play/pause, volume control and Live button. These feature light indicators when being used apart from the volume control. There are also light indicators for when the speaker is being charged and if it is in stamina mode. Lastly with regards the actual construction of the speaker, is the bottom. there are two sturdy rubber feet, and with the weight of the speaker, it won't be moving! As the Led strip lights wrap around the bottom it means you actually have lights in 360 degrees which, depending on where you positions the speaker, could look amazing! Aesthetically, the XB43 is very pleasing. Yes, at the end of the day it's just a speaker. When off it would sit quite happily alongside other AV equipment, on a shelf, home office or anywhere you don't mind a semi rectangular black speaker (other colours are available). I say semi rectangular as it is curved as mentioned previously. This is due to the X Balanced speaker unit. The speaker unit is almost rectangular unlike normal circular diaphragms. Apparently this gives powerful sound pressure for richer, deeper acoustics and improves that all important bass. So let's find out whether those claims are true. Turning the system on for the first time, the gorgeous led strip and tweeter/woofer lights all illuminate. I wasn't sure how they would look but I was impressed. Pressing the Bluetooth button it immediately found my Xperia smartphone. Pressed play on my phone and music blasted out of the speaker, quickly turning the volume down on the phone before I woke up my neighbours! Less than a minute to set up, actually probably about 30 seconds! My initial thoughts were, 'wow the bass is good' and how clear it was. At this stage I just wanted to try a few different media through the speaker. YouTube videos, games and songs from my playlists all came through straight away and I could immediately here high and low frequencies and subtleties not heard through the smartphone speaker. Talking of which when you connect the speaker and press play on the phone it automatically cuts off the phone speaker. Having a look at the instructions (just illustrated), I wanted to check the charge. You can do this via the phone (with the Sony app), or via the unit. As I had yet to download the app I pressed the button the rear. The very clear female voice said 'Battery about 70%'. Lovely to get going! The next thing I did was download the Sony Music Centre app and the Fiestable app. The latter only fully works if you have both apps. Immediately I was informed of a software update for the speaker. The speaker had to be charged more in order for this to be allowed. Now to spend some time with the speaker and find out how good it really is. After using the XB43 for a week I am impressed. Starting with music I have listened to various different genres through the unit. Listening to dance and RnB the extra bass is extremely good with no distortion. It's clear and subtle but gives you a punch and turning the volume up, it definitely travels though the floorboards! There is also a Live mode which gives a three dimensional effect. I listened to some film scores using this mode and it did give a cinema type experience. Obviously this would be greatly enhanced if you had two speakers. Personally if you I would say if you want to get the party started and feel the bass you need to have Extra Bass turned on. There is also a stamina mode which still sounds good but without the full effect of what this speaker can do. I also tried a few films to see how the speaker would manage. Voices are very clear whilst explosions are deep and impactful. No distortion that I could hear and all frequencies from low to mid to high are superb. I thought they would be as the XB43 features a 2 way speaker unit which combines a woofer and a dedicated tweeter for higher range frequencies. I discovered through a phone call that the system can be used as a speaker phone. Again voices are very clear and would be great in an office based environment. Volume control works perfectly through the smartphone as do all other controls with barely any delay. The speaker automatically turns itself off after 15 minutes if it receives no input. This function can be turned off via the app. Moving onto the app I found the Sony Music Centre to be the most useful . From here you can find your different music libraries and the settings in which to control the speaker. Sound Effect is where you choose between Off (Stamina), Extra Bass and Live Sound. You can also adjust Bass/Mid/Treble and there is the DJ Effect from which you can adjust Isolator/notch/Jet/Noise. As a novice I haven't really played around with these! There is also the Power Option where you can turn off standby, switch Bluetooth on/off, stamina, and it also tells you the battery level of the speaker. The next area of interest on the app is 'Illumination'. As I previously said the led lights impressed on first power up. Delving deeper into the function over the past week, has unveiled numerous options. First up within the app is the 'Lighting Mode'. The default setting is 'Rave' and probably chosen as this is the 'flashiest' (no pun intended!), mode. The led strip lights alternate between red, blue, yellow, green and magenta. The tweeter and woofer lights illuminate in white (they are only white leds), sometimes all four will be on, then sequencial, etc. In time with the music the lights will pulsate on and off in various sequences. This is especially effective when bass kicks in and a light/lights come on in time with the beat. I tested the speaker outside at night and the lights are bright and very effective. Having 100 of these all linked would look spectacular and could easily be used for professional indoor and outdoor events. There are numerous other lighting modes so you can choose one to suit your mood or the music your are listening to. I have mainly used 'Rave' and 'Chill'. Some modes will just utilise the strip lights and using the Fiestable app you can even choose your own custom colours or tap or the screen to make a colour flash So after a week of use what are my thoughts. Well the XB43 is built like a tank and beautifully finished. Having had a rare UK heatwave I have had it outside a lot during which time I've had two trees cut down so lots of dust to test it's dustproofing! It also endured a thundery downpour. My only real criticisms are that the top control panel could have been designed better and maybe a handle to carry it. Failing that, a carry bag would have been a good accessory. For a few weeks a year I will use the XB43 out in my garden and the beach. The rest of the year in my home office and other rooms around the house. It truly provides exceptional sound wherever you go, just remember not to fill your backpack with too many other heavy items!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Amazing sound

SRS-XB43 12 August 2020 by rx4927 (United Kingdom)

This is an amazing Bluetooth speaker, with amazing sounds and great lighting effects. The speaker is quite heavy, so not something you would want to carry around with you, but perfect to take outside, to the beach, pool, BBQ or picnic - once you put it in place, you can leave it alone. It's waterproof, too, so perfect for outdoor use. Good quality bass, too. Very simple to set up - just switch on Bluetooth on your phone, and press connect. I wasn't expecting moving lights, but they really boost the party atmosphere. These speakers can be connected to each other to give a surround-sound effect if you have more than one.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Excellent Sound

SRS-XB43 07 August 2020 by Jay body (USA)

compared to the jbl pulse 4, the Sony xb43 is superior in sound quality. If you want a light show, you get that too, with the Sony! Trust me, go with the Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Expensive but really swell

SRS-XB43 29 July 2020 by MasterEL (USA)

I recently picked this speaker up and have really been enjoying it. After fully charging it and having a few issues updating firmware, I was up and running. The sound is definitely not for "purists" and you will see that as a given in most bluetooth speakers, and this is no different. However, this speaker excels in a few things. Firstly, if you are listening at 10% or at 100%, the bass is still crisp and clear and doesn't cut out or get drowned out by mids or highs at higher volumes. I am not a big fan of the internal LEDs that light up the actual speakers and tweeters, but the ambient lighting is excellent, and the fabric that Sony has continued to use is seemingly durable yet transparent to allow sound through with little to no sacrifice in sound. They've also gone ahead and put the radiators on the side, whereas previous generations have one in the front and one in the back, if at all. This really adds a new look to the speaker, and gives a nice visual of the lower frequencies. It's not a bad speaker, perhaps a bit expensive at MSRP, but many major retailers have this on display in store, so you can listen to it for yourself. Definitely loud, and it stays crisp and true to it's relative sound signature at any volume. I would 9/10 recommend this purchase, 10/10 in comparison to any other speaker in it's league.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing bass

SRS-XB43 22 July 2020 by Toto2609 (USA)

I've only had it for a week but the bass is amazing ikay its nlt that big of a speaker but the bass is really good and the sound is perfect for sitting outside with your friends

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A good spear but...

SRS-XB43 21 July 2020 by Matrix1989 (USA)

Is SONY's speaker all about party and loud bass now? People don't party everyday... When we really want to appreciate music in a quiet environment, can we have some product that is more hi-fi oriented? For example a successor of the CAS-1 with better headphone amp that features 4.4mm output?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Upgraded sound with tweeters, usb c, bluetooth 5

SRS-XB43 19 July 2020 by Ryan0001 (United Kingdom)

I have the XB32 and upgraded to the XB43. This has tweeters for improved highs, and playing LDAC audio via bluetooth 5 produces a rich sound that fills the room. Another reason for purchasing this over the smaller XB models this year is the XB43 has a headphone jack. So it's great to use connected via wire for use with watching movies or other video content on a screen.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Live sound is incredible.

SRS-XB43 18 July 2020 by Avi_s (USA)

Sony is known for quality they never compromise on quality i am always a sony fan and this speaker is something out of the box.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A strong, solid, and high Tech wireless Speaker!

SRSXB43/B 25 June 2020 by GEJF (USA)

Let’s start from the most fun part, the setup. It is quick and simple. In just few steps you can start enjoying the wonders of the Sony SRS-XB43. The speaker can be paired using NFC, so if you have an android OS based smartphone, like me, just tap your phone on the NFC symbol that is located on the left side on top of the speaker and that’s it, the connection is done. You will see it in your Bluetooth list as an “SRS-XB43” device or you can manually add it as a Bluetooth device in your phone. This speaker is full of great capabilities not to mention the powerful, steady, clear sound, and punchy bass. Based on some reviews I have read, I think for some of them the design and concept of this powerful and neat speaker has been misunderstood. It is true that the XB43 might be for some kind of heavy or bulky, definitely it is not the kind of speaker you will hold in your hands while you are jogging, or dancing, like the XB21. From my point of view, this speaker is design to keep a steady and powerful sound even in open spaces, where you can enjoy and appreciate the details and clarity of your favorite music, even at a loud level. I remember my old man used to say when talking about selecting a good speaker, “Heavy is good”. By saying “heavy speaker’ it means, big magnets, solid internal structure, that will guarantee the quality of the sound. This one has the right size and weight to carry in your car or boat or take with you to the backyard. 7.5 pounds that feels and look high quality finish, not like the regular Bluetooth speakers that feels cheap and expendable. While smaller speakers are effective in small and closed spaces, the SRS-XB43 is extremely efficient in open spaces, performing clarity and widens the sound stage with powerful bass with less distortion, so the result is a great listening experience. It has all the capabilities and advantage of the previous Sony SRS speaker models, but comparing to the previous models I have notice the XB43 has a big difference in the MIDs section, it is a lot more defined, crispy, with an outstanding vocal clarity and strong bass. Checking the specs I can see why, it is a 2 way speaker with tweeters and dual side passive radiators that performs a resonant bass sound with low end tones. On top of that there is a “Extra Bass” mode, where you can even enjoyed a well define bass even at louder volume setting. The second feature that caught my attention was the Long battery life, the specs states that it delivers up to 24 hours of battery life even with the lighting feature on. But if you choose the EXTRA BASS mode, it will last up to 14 hours. So I tested this big battery for 18 hours in about 75% of the volume level (I didn’t want to try higher, it was too loud for me, while I was working in a project outdoors and then my daughter took it and continue using it when I finished and the speakers continue working). It is cool the battery status notification feature, and the fact that you can have this option enable or disable. While the full charge took about 2 hours. I might be wrong but this is the first time that I can see a IEC standard in a speaker, in this case the compliance #60529. The IP67 will show how protected is a product from a solid or liquid entering, in this case, the speaker. “6” stands for protected against solid objects from entering the unit, including dust, while the "7" indicates the speaker can be completely submerged in 1 meter of water for up to 30 minutes before the moisture penetrates the housing. Then we have the functions that are included with the SRS Speakers Sony Series, like “Party Connect” “ST Pair”, both of them can be set up from the Music Center App or the by the control buttons located in the covered compartment, and will allow you to chain, or work in conjunction with other SRS Sony Series Speaker, a USB-C charging port for the included power adapter, a USB-A output port for charging devices with the XB43 Batt which I have found extremely useful, a 3.5mm aux port, which is another great feature that helps me a lot to chain the XB43 with my big Sony GTK-XB72 wired, and I will explain later, another great addition, a switch for speaker and tweeter lightning and works as well for the Battery life indicator. For more features you can download and install the Music Center app from the play store in the android OS. With those app you will find a lot of different settings that you can adjust for your own preference, like the lightning feature. As a default it comes with the "Rave" setting, but you can enjoy 13 other different combinations, the "Chill" setting for example, if you are in the mood for classical or piano music. The "Hot" setting, which gives you more dramatic and emphasize lightning style for modern music. Other Settings available is the Bluetooth, which you can adjust the type of compression you want or power saving mode connection. The SRS-XB43 supports LDAC, SBC, and AAC codecs. It uses Bluetooth Version 5.0 and LDAC to achieve a frequency transmission range of 20 Hz–20,000 Hz (44.1 kHz sampling) which is way higher than the human ear is capable to perceive. Like the previous SRS models, you can chain speakers. You will find 2 options, add a second XB43 as an extension of the first one, or you can set the 2nd as the stereo speaker, the connection is Bluetooth. The first option is “Wireless Party Chain” (WPC) Function. With this one you can connect multiple devices (up to 100 devices) compatible with the Wireless Party Chain function. The XB43 can only be connected with the following models: SRS-XB43, SRS-XB33, SRS-XB23. For the Stereo Pair function, 2 SRS-XB43 speakers are required. One speaker plays the sound on the right channel and the other speaker plays the sound on the left channel so the final result is a true stereo playback between the speakers. This speaker also includes a microphone, which allows you to use the google app of your phone, this is not an Amazon echo or Google home, but with the mic that this unit has incorporated, and if you have your google assistant or Alexa enable on your phone you can ask or do the same things you do with you google assistant from your cell phone, so it becomes an extension (mic and speakers) of your phone. The hands-free calls is also available with a Bluetooth smartphone that supports the Bluetooth profile HFP (Hands-free Profile) or HSP (Headset Profile) via Bluetooth connection. The Fiestable App is a very fun app, The Fiestable app allows you to dynamically select what colors you want the speaker lights to display. It also has a DJ mode, a Sampler mode and an Illumination mode. You can produce different punchy sounds combining lights and colors, on the speaker, very clever and I am sure the predilection for DJ’s On top of the speaker you will find the most useful and common controls. Power button, Bluetooth, a Play/Pause, Volume, and the Live button. When you hold the Play/Pause button down for a while you will activate Google Assistant on your phone (android based, I have a Samsung Galaxy) or played the audio through the XB43 speaker. Now, talking about range, it is huge, I had my phone in my main entrance and the XB42 in the backyard and the connection was steady and strong. Google Assistant and playing music works flawlessly. The “Live” button option is interesting, when is off, the music is flat. When you turn on it makes the sound in a kind of surround “3-dimensional” sound effect that emphasize the background. For my preference, I like to listen in the normal way my music, even louder if I can get a good quality sound like this case. At last, as I said before I will explain how the auxiliary port was so useful and efficient in my case. I have a XB31 and a GTK-XB72, that I was able to chain together using the “party chain” option. So I was kind of sad at the beginning because I wasn’t able to add the XB43, however with the Audio out that the XB72 includes, so the aux port in my XB43 was perfect to connect them with along RCA/Stereo mini jack cable, and chain together the 3 of them. Every product that Sony delivers has a technology surprise, and this speaker is not the exception, I am really happy with the XB43, quality sound and powerful performance, I give it 5 stars!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Love the sound!

SRS-XB43 11 June 2020 by James7200 (USA)

Normally I’d never buy anything electronic until it’s gone down in price, but after two months of researching all things speakers, I decided that this would be a worthy exception. It looks incredibly sleek, and the light show only makes it better. When it finally arrived, I decided that I needed to know just how loud it could play. It was loud. But more importantly, there was no distortion whatsoever at that volume. There also wasn’t any static or buzz at minimum, but that’s not why you buy this thing. Because I’m me, I also needed to know exactly how low it could play because I thought the 20hz thing seemed kind of ridiculous. My tuner won’t read anything lower than 26hz, but the speaker didn’t lose any volume getting there. I took the thing camping and it kind of (completely) outshone my friend’s jbl. On that trip, it played for about 14-15 hours and never got down to 30%. This was on regular mode, not stamina. All in all, I’ve never heard anything like this out of a theatre setup. It lasts forever, didn’t die when I accidentally dropped it in a lake, looks amazing, and sounds like nothing I’ve heard before outside a theatre. If I had to say anything negative, it would be that the light show acts a bit strange on some songs, but that’s only a few. If anyone wants a loud, durable, and clear speaker with superb bass, stop looking around. It’s here.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A Worthy Upgrade for Speaker Lovers

SRS-XB43 03 June 2020 by MrSteve (USA)

I have both the XB40 and the XB41 (2 of each actually) I really like those speakers, but I've always thought that they could sound a little better, In fact I was using the XB41 and thinking "this needs a separate tweeter" and I was moved to check the Sony site, Imagine my delight and surprise when the XB43 pops up! and as I look at it I realize Sony has addressed all aspects of the XB41 to make a really good speaker and absolutely fantastic speaker, all without increasing the price. So I rushed and purchased one, got it home, fired it up and just like that, I'm in speaker heaven, it has bass and clarity, is just as easy to use as the previous XB4* models and is just a much better speaker in every way. 2 things to note, your music service matters - I was initially disappointed in the sound of the XB43 as I was using a streaming service that doesn't stream in the best quality, when I downloaded the songs to my phone, the sound was immediately MUCH better. Not only does the streaming service matter, the Music app matters, Sony's own Song Pal app is awesome as a stand along music player, even if you don't use Sony's speakers. Second thing, this speaker is VERY heavy, surprisingly heavy, I can't imagine putting one or two of these in a back pack or beach bag, This is no lightweight. One last thing, the design might be too handsome, pictures don't do the design justice, this new design is sophisticated and classy in a way that makes it look just to nice to take to a beach or pool, but they play loud and clear and looks aside they would rock a beach or pool party! Finally, In my opinion these are an exceptional value, so good that I actually purchased a second one the day after I bought the first one.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0