9

4.8 based on 9 customer reviews

7
2
0
0
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

9 Customer Reviews

0

The Best!

TA-ZH1ES 11 June 2019 by FCAhound (United Kingdom)

This is an expensive pice of kit, but oh so worth it. I am delighted and have it paired with its sister Walkman and headphones. Unbelievable quality HD listening!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

detail while sounding natural

TAZH1ES 09 May 2019 by ecamel (USA)

pairs well with my HD800S and Focal Utopia, jazz and classical are my music of chlice

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

DSD, I finally heard it

TAZH1ES 20 March 2019 by Basisunus (USA)

I bought an SACD almost 20 years ago, but was never able to hear the DSD music (it was a hybrid) because I never own an SACD player. I didn't say this model finally allowed me to listen to the SACD. It supports all the DSD formats so I could finally start gathering DSD and SACD iso files, including an iso file for the SACD I bought 20 years ago. Previously, I was only able to listen to DVD-Audio music. An early Creative sound card I had already supported it. Since most of my other music playing devices are Creative sound cards, I can say that the TA-ZH1ES amplifier does do something special comparing to the sound cards. Of course, I bought a pair of relatively good headphones to use with it. The headphones I use are Audeze LCD-MX4, at least having a matching price tag to the TA-ZH1ES. The reason I didn't get the MDR-Z1R is because I already own a pair of the MDR-7520. I never enjoyed the treble of the MDR-7520. I was afraid that the MDR-Z1R sounds similarly, especially after reading one review mentioning something like that. I think the Audeze fixed that problem for me. I can feel the touch of some of the songs I'm listening to. I think the feeling sometimes is like drinking alcohols. The soul comes out of the body and starts dancing with the sound of music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great DAC

TAZH1ES 17 January 2018 by D Rudd (USA)

I’ve owned this DAC for a few months now and even though I have yet to use it for headphones “I’m waiting for the new HD 820 from Sennheiser...I use this DAC with the Sony STR-ZA3100ES and it’s great USB connect to Mac mini, as well as toslink connects to T.V as well as PS4pro....I would like for Sony to Update the USB connect on the PS4pro to take advantage of this DAC so we can have even more uses for this great DAC....Sony did this with the HAP-Z1ES high res player with a software update for the USB to take full advantage of this DAC....Sound quality from this DAC is very nice indeed and the DSD upscale is great two thumbs up....Thanks for such a great product, I hope you allow other products to take advantage of using this DAC as well.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

Great Headphone Amp Plus

TAZH1ES 30 November 2017 by Wyatt494 (USA)

Though the years have a a few Sony items. This headphone amp is excellent, and doubles as a DAC for a system, as well as streaming. Only four starters as a ES product and cost, it should include a balanced output for connection to a system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Stunning with headphones and walkman

TA-ZH1ES 13 October 2017 by BudH (United Kingdom)

Having used (WM1Z) walkman for a while i took the plunge and went for the full desktop setup with matching Z1R headphones. Nothing short of spectacular results on all formats - even when fed digitally and used to listen to "regular" internet radio etc

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

2

0

Superb finishing & performance!

TA-ZH1ES 01 June 2017 by KKLeung218 (USA)

I haven't got much interest for headphone listening initially. So I just intend to buy it as a DA converter for my 2-channel home system. Having it for months and I never get disappointed about its performance! You would absolutely miss its potential if you just function it as a headphone amp only!Sound is stunning all the way round and I really love it so much! But one "star"will be deducted regarding the cosmetic design of the unit. It should have an acrylic cover or something like that in front of those headphone input which would undoubtedly make it looks more tidy and dust free when we supposed not to use all inputs!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Superb electronics engineering

TA-ZH1ES 20 April 2017 by jirams (United Kingdom)

I bought this amp to replace my Sennheiser HDVD800 amp and it has not disappointed me. My only negative is that the HDVD can drive up to 4 sets of 'phones at same time. The Sony is used mainly with MDR Z1R 'phones and the combination is breathtakingly good. Expensive is a relative term. It is just such a beautiful musical experience hearing them together.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

18

2

0

Super sound

TA-ZH1ES 11 February 2017 by Pavlova (United Kingdom)

Excellent headphone amp. Produces superb sound. Very happy with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

6