92

4.6 based on 92 customer reviews

70
12
4
3
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

"AWESOME ZOOM LENS!!!!!"

SEL200600G 20 June 2020 by Patrick1954 (USA)

First off, this SONY 200-600mm 5.6-6.3 G OSS lens looks and feels like a $5,000.00 DOLLAR Lens. I bought this along with the OUTSTANDING SONY 2X Convertor. This lens is an EXCELLENT VALUE! Extremely Sharp with FAST INTERNAL Focusing. It is built like a TANK but doesn't weigh like one.The following photos were taken all on my Sony A6500 The Wood Peckor was taken in very low rainy light @ 4000 ISO

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Beware if you are pairing with Ar7IV

SEL200600G 13 November 2020 by ADP62 (USA)

There is an issue I and many others are having only when using this lens with the Ar7iv. Firmware update has not addressed soft focus and sharpness on stationary objects. Appears to work fine for many however there is an issue not is not being caused by the settings.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

92 Customer Reviews

0

Beware if you are pairing with Ar7IV

SEL200600G 13 November 2020 by ADP62 (USA)

There is an issue I and many others are having only when using this lens with the Ar7iv. Firmware update has not addressed soft focus and sharpness on stationary objects. Appears to work fine for many however there is an issue not is not being caused by the settings.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

The Bokeh Equates to GM Lens

SEL200600G 11 November 2020 by Wildlife photographer (United Kingdom)

I’ve been using this lens for almost a year in various situations to know it’s strengths and weaknesses. Firstly, the reach of 600mm at this price is amazing. I also would like to commend Sony for making this lens fully compatible with both of its tele-converters. The quality of bokeh you get from this lens is very close to that of FE 600mm GM. What kind of bokeh you get is dependent on shooting situations such as distance to the subject and how far away the background is from the main subject, but when such parameters are spot-on, you get creamy bokeh. The focus-hold buttons are good to have, too, although the placement and the material of which can be improved. The AF is silent, and doesn’t cause any vibration. In terms of picture quality, it performs admirably provided you get plenty of light. You get sharp images under the sun. I use this lens exclusively for wildlife, and based in the U.K. we are not lucky with natural light all the time. Especially as the days get shorter, and the sun weaker, this lens’s small aperture becomes a problem. The camera bumps up the iso settings, and you get noisy photos. But I guess it’s a trade-off. The resolving power is another area where I felt I was let down compared to the previous zoom lens I used, Canon EF100-400mm L USM II. This Sony doesn’t resolve as much. This impression didn’t change when I tried different focal lengths. Of course, I shouldn’t be comparing a canon L lens to a Sony G lens, as they are not in the same class and the focal lengths are different but I thought I would include that just so that you know if you are considering making a similar move.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent Long Zoom Lens

SEL200600G 10 November 2020 by DBHayes Art (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife & I each have this lens. Hers for her a7RIV and mine for my Sony a7RII. Both lens have been performing as we'd hoped.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing quality for price

SEL200600G 26 October 2020 by b12vjn86 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as part of my move over to Sony from Nikon and I’m blown away by the build quality and image sharpness of a mid priced zoom lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great overall performer

SEL200600G 25 October 2020 by Brian 66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for motorsport and wildlife. Happy so far with the bird photography but no motorsport yet due to Covid rules. Unfortunately the 1.4x TC won't fully function with my 7Riii. Hoping SONY do a firmware update to rectify the issue. Works well with the 7iii and results are superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Wow!!!

SEL200600G 23 October 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only had chance to use this lens once since purchase, but I was absolutely blown away with the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

beautiful lens

SEL200600G 22 October 2020 by Big Kahuna (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens has everything I want in a 200-600 zoom lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Phenomenal in every way

SEL200600G 11 October 2020 by Minister of the Bay (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this primarily for landscape photography with an occasional bit of wildlife. First of all - It is supremely sharp. Secondly - it renders a nice bokeh for bird photography. Thirdly - it handles nicely. There is nothing not to like about this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

All Rounder Fast AF

SEL200600G/CSYX 10 October 2020 by LionelLCH (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a month ago and started to explore a few genres such as wildlife and sports. Love the fast AF and the even weight distribution. Would be perfect if the tripod collar was fitted with one that could fit Arca-Swiss tripod directly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent product

SEL200600G 04 October 2020 by Pyke (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and so happy with this. At least it is a Sony product and get excellent result from photo.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

suit my style of photography

SEL200600G/CSYX 03 October 2020 by lim lim (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought a month a go for bird photography ,since than i am spending more time on photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

High quality telephoto zoom

SEL200600G 01 October 2020 by Idonothaveanickname207 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent sharpness allied to quick and accurate autofocus. A perfect match with the A9 for action and wildlife. Combination of lens and body IS allows for good hand held shooting experience. Internal zooming a pleasure to use. Lens hood "lock on" could be a little more positive and secure.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Super light lens

SEL200600G 28 September 2020 by 37sqd (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Awesome lens fantastically sharp using this on my Sony Fx9 camcorder for my wildlife films perfect!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

An excellent super telephoto lens

SEL200600G 23 September 2020 by BruceNE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens mainly for photograhing wildlife. As yet, I've not had an opportunity to test it thoroughly. But I was delighted with its performance recently at Washington Wetland Centre, taking handhold pictures of waders.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great zoom lens

SEL200600G 21 August 2020 by deevee312 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pluses: Small, light, affordable Internal zooming solid build Sharp optics Fast zooming IQ still good with 1.4TC Minuses: No Arca on tripod mount Heavy hood causing front lens element to detach Could be sharper AFC slower than 100-400mm and primes Bokeh so so too dim is used with 2X TC Not sure of differences with OIS modes

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens but:-

SEL200600G 09 August 2020 by Swanie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased about 6 weeks ago heavier than anticipated quick n sharp My main issue is the location of focus lock buttons they are positioned exactly wear hand goes for hand holding not great kept accidentally pressing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

200mm to 1800mm WOW!!!

SEL200600G 16 July 2020 by Echo Aux (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this because the 150-600 (to 1800) was not giving proper lens or mm info with teleconverters. The other lens was sharp and auto focus was good. after watching many reviews I chose the SEL200600 over the SEL100400 mainly for its internal zoom that limits dust into the lens but also I like critter, birds and some moon photography. I have the SEL24240 (360mm APS-C) and it is super sharp with a lot of reach but there are times you need 600mm or even 1200mm and then there is that 1800 (2x plus APS-C) that when you are 200 yards away and up high but want that closeup of a White Pelican in flight or Great White Egret in mating plumage that or a Buck in velvet in the morning fog is where 1800mm comes in. And you want the correct shot info in Metadata and that is where this lens combo with 1.4X and 2X teleconverters shine. For the good stuff is the AF and IS...On July 3rd night the Buck Moon was out so I put the lens on my A7iii just regular single shot settings... it lock on AF and IS kept it solid "HandHeld" then pressed the APS-C button and again another clear clear capture at 900mm. The next night the 4th it was out and this time with 2X, a clear 1200mm then APS-C a clear sharp 1800 "Handheld" and I am almost 70 to me that is impossible and that was my first use, WORTH EVERY PENNY to me!!! Look I have been using Sony since Sept. 2014 and the one most important selling point is value per $. Sony knows it is not the pros that keep them afloat and climbing but the guy saving pennies, nickels, and dimes for a dream of good gear that will last and will break that bank open when he has it. Every camera (A7S,A7Rii,A7ii) and from my first lens E 1018 (APS-C) used on the A7S in full frame @ 12mm for Astro Milky Way had pinpoint stars and no distortion with IS/AF and screw on filters $700 now $900+ (everyone FF or APS-C wants or has) 5 years and going strong and value +++. I still have my Canon Ftb from the film days and use FD 20mm f/2 and 24mm f/1.4 on my Sony as well as 35/50/80/etc, Sony made sure there were adapters for other gear when they started to bring other over. That is how Sony Thinks, way way out there. You will pass this lens down to someone and they will also. As soon as I took those first shots I ordered a Lenscoat for it with everything else and is like a bug in a rug. The last shot is with the E 1018 @ 12mm full frame talk about great lenses and cameras bought in 2015 still strong!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

Precise focussing, excellent images

SEL200600G 14 July 2020 by PMCD3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had for only a week but absolutely love my new lens, super quiet and quick to focus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great value for the money...

SEL200600G 12 July 2020 by hoasjoe (USA)

A great value compared to the next closest 100-400 lens. The images came out sharp all the way up to 600mm. With a tripod bracket on the lens, it's easy to align the horizon and switch between horizontal & vertical for landscape shots. The auto focus tend to be slow and sometimes unreliable for a lens this size.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

What a Fantastic Lens !!!

SEL200600G 05 July 2020 by S2020L (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I first rented this lens for a weekend. When I returned it I wanted to have a little fun so I told the guy I didn't get one good picture. He was quite surprised and said "really ??? " Then I told him I actually got a couple thousand GREAT pictures :) So I then returned the rented lens & walked out with a new one. Getting this photo of the moon was what made me decide to buy this lens And here is a cropped in pic of the head of a Sandhill Crane

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Love it but!

SEL200600G 03 July 2020 by SteveIOM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the lens which I twinned with a new A7iii. Photos sharp, verry happy. Others have seen it and also considering change to Sony. Only disappointment is the fit of the lens hood. It keeps falling off. Have resorted to carrying gaffer tape to secure. Hence only four stars. It would also help to include more detailed instructions to include birds in flight tips etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Image quality is outstanding!

SEL200600G 01 July 2020 by gabrady46 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am using this lens on the A6300. I don't know why I waited so long to buy it. I was content with my Sony 70-300 but just couldn't fill the frame with my subject sometimes. The 200-600 FILLS the frame. I have used it exclusively handheld and couldn't be happier with the results. Make no mistake this is a 600mm lens and feels every one of its four pounds. But after several days of practice I feel comfortable with it. Two important points: learn to use the zone focus for birds in flight and flexible spot small for stationary animals. Even with the lowly a6300 this lens just plain works.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

N.A

SEL200600G 30 June 2020 by DRHA (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought last week, have not had time to try in the field but seems to be good quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

"AWESOME ZOOM LENS!!!!!"

SEL200600G 20 June 2020 by Patrick1954 (USA)

First off, this SONY 200-600mm 5.6-6.3 G OSS lens looks and feels like a $5,000.00 DOLLAR Lens. I bought this along with the OUTSTANDING SONY 2X Convertor. This lens is an EXCELLENT VALUE! Extremely Sharp with FAST INTERNAL Focusing. It is built like a TANK but doesn't weigh like one.The following photos were taken all on my Sony A6500 The Wood Peckor was taken in very low rainy light @ 4000 ISO

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

0

0

Magnificent lens

SEL200600G 14 June 2020 by Stac (United Kingdom)

This lens is a masterpiece, such a sharp lens, I highly recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Very versatile lens

SEL200600G/CSYX 12 June 2020 by hj123 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as a travel lens as it’s very compact yet packs good performance. Very smooth focusing and feels solid. Only minor flaw is the lens hood assembly. Comes off quite easily. Room for improvement but nothing serious.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent piece of kit

SEL200600G 12 June 2020 by Dave2020 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an excellent lens and I found that after an hour or two practising I was taking really good images with it. I enjoy wildlife photography and this lens will help me do that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exactly what I need for wildlife photography

SEL200600G 10 June 2020 by Philbute (United Kingdom)

Still getting used to it, so far I'm delighted. It pairs superbly with my A7R3.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Meets my expectations

SEL200600G 09 June 2020 by Rob 38 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only limited use in my garden because of lockdown but satisfied with pictures taken

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not too heavy long lens

SEL200600G/CSYX 07 June 2020 by KG Teo (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it after testing my friend’s lens during’Stay at home period’. Also took it to work n case something interesting pops up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Outstanding lens!

SEL200600G 04 June 2020 by JRIDLEY1 (USA)

Picked this lens up in March 2020. I traded in my Nikon gear. And now have a Sony A9II.This lens is fantastic super sharp focus very fast. I just love it. Just as sharp or sharper then my Nikon 500mmf4.So far it has been a joy to use. also Sony support freaking blows Nikon away. Great lens for birds in flight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great feature and very sharp lens

SEL200600G/CSYX 01 June 2020 by Henry73 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I m happy with this lens which I can have longer focusing and it very sharp and great photo which expected.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Smoothly sharp

SEL200600G 31 May 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a big lens. Got a big lens. Job done. Not buying for professional use, the cost of the lens was on the edge of affordability.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome lens!

SEL200600G 16 May 2020 by WarGriff (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have not taken it off My A9II since I got it! Picture iq is outstanding at all focal lengths, Af is faster than My 100-400 GM. You guys (SONY) hit a home run with this lens and I'm very pleased with everything about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Perfect combo of Optics and Prize

SEL200600G 10 May 2020 by hargou23 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

You might but tamron or Sigma for lesses prize, but the auto focus on this lense is extreme, and matches 90 % to its big brother ,600mm F4 GM( prize 12000$)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great lens, but with a problem

SEL200600G 10 May 2020 by thegreyfox (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product about six months ago and was extremely impressed with all aspects. I particularly like the programmable buttons on the lens, which I used for the DMF function for fine tuning focus. However, over the last two weeks the lens has developed a fault, in that it will not focus at maximum ( probably between 550-600mm) zoom, and you have to reduce the zoom in order to focus, which defeats some of the lens purpose!. The camera makes a whirring sound, which suggests the focus motors are at fault. Because of Covid, I have not taken things further as yet, but am extremely dissappointed that my "go to" lens" requires some fudging before you can use it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great wildlife lens.

SEL200600G 30 April 2020 by Fatbobby1226 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A sharp well made native lens from Sony. I really like that the zoom is internal which improves the weather sealing.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent Wildlife Zoom

SEL200600G 28 April 2020 by jloz (USA)

Finally an "affordable" option for shooting (photos) wildlife. This lens performs great in well lit environments and focus is fast and accurate. When zooming in and out, the lens feels steady since the lens extends internally. The focusing mechanisms are quiet which is a must when taking photos of easily startled wildlife. The only issues I have with the lens is the lens hood and the weight (to be fair this is a 200-600mm lens). The lens hood does not lock like the 100-400 GM. It can easily unmount when hand holding the lens. The weight will affect when shooting handheld. Although, I recommend using a monopod or tripod when shooting for long periods of time. All in all this lens is fantastic. The IQ is GM quality. This lens pairs well with the α9 or α9II. I use it for my α7RIV and it works great. I highly recommend this lens for wildlife and sports action photography. You will not be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent quality and good price.

SEL200600G 28 April 2020 by Seekyman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent quality, light weight, internal focusing. Just what you need for bird, aircraft and nature photography. A very good addition to my lens collection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sharp

SEL200600G 17 April 2020 by button (United Kingdom)

Heavy to hold but the sharpness at full zoom is outstanding. Works much better on my a7riii than my a6300 which struggles with focusing with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Wildlife Lens

SEL200600G 16 April 2020 by Houseman75 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this "today on 4-15-2020" but the registration page it says this lens was bought in February, I don't really get that unless it was when Roberts Camera bought it along with two other new ones they had in stock.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome telephoto lens

SEL200600G 13 April 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm an amateur photographer and needed a lens with more zoom than my current 200mm lens. I spent a good few months watching reviews on youtube and finally decided to go for it. I've taken some great photos or birds and the moon with amazing detail and clarity. I have been using this lens hand held. It's quite heavy so takes some getting used to but it's worth it. Remember to set the camera to a fast shutter speed when hand held! I'm super happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Depends on which camera you are attaching it to.

SEL200600G 10 April 2020 by cnaray123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

There seems to be a incompatibility with the A7R4 for a lot of users. I'm hoping that the next firmware Sony issues will correct this. The hit rate of good photos to bad is a 3 in 10. I understand it works best with the A9M2 for tracking. It's really not the lens, I think. I am having a problem, but that might be because I use it on my A7R4.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Very Good

SEL200600G 02 April 2020 by P_C_L (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had the lens a month now, and used in conjunction with my A7R IV, I'm really pleased with it. Very quick focus, very accurate focus, very sharp, very low distortion. Excellent lens for the money, thoroughly recommend ☺♥

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sony 200-600 G Lens - Best for aviation & wildlife

SEL200600G/CSYX 29 February 2020 by JF Liu (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens 1 month ago for Singapore airshow 2020. Autofocus was quick and sharp and track onto the subject accurately. Very good lens to be use in the zoo as well, allow you to capture closely on the subject which you will never get to do with a normal lens. Great lens!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Still exploiting its capabilities

SEL200600G 27 February 2020 by subs57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my 1st large lens, and I am still getting used to handing this physically large item, and while the hand held shots are good, they can be a lot better. I will improve with experience of course, but my opinion is that to get the maximum results out of this lens, a sturdy tripod and mount is required to fully exploit its capabilities. (Hence 4 *)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing performance telephoto

SEL200600G 27 February 2020 by Engineria (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Acquired this last month, and the performance is great, the lens is very compact for 600mm and measures less than 330mm with the lens caps on, so fits in my lowepro flipside 200 bag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent build quality

SEL200600G 25 February 2020 by Johnwildlife (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens because I heard that it was good build quality and excellent for wildlife photography. I have changed my whole system to Sony after being a Nikon photographer for 35 years. I believe you are more advanced in you Mirrorless system and the sharpness of your lenses is excellent. I am waiting for the 600mm to arrive in the next week or so.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

The best budget option for wildlife!

SEL200600G 25 February 2020 by MEARNGCSM (USA)

Excellent sharpness and ease of use! I paired this lens with the A7RIV and have been very pleased with the results. Not the best for low light but overall I love this lens!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Really Like the Lens

SEL200600G 12 February 2020 by rvsparky47 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this mainly for taking Bird In Flight photos where I could hand hold the camera & lens combo. This has worked out better than my expectations since I have a hand tremor to compensate for as well. I'm getting probably a 85-90% in focus shots. The other 10-15% is mostly the guy behind the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Incredible with the a6400 for BIF and Wildlife

SEL200600G 08 February 2020 by Ramjet31 (USA)

What a fantastic lens. I have only owned it for a couple of weeks and have already taken some of the best images I've ever captured. I moved to Sony from Canon (5Ds) and will never go back. The autofocus and image quality are both exceptional. I will be buying a Sony full frame body to accompany the excellent a6400 very soon!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

sony 200-600mm

SEL200600G 06 February 2020 by Wingnut photos (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens Sony! Portable and light weight for size! Zoom action superb!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

If it were only perfect!

SEL200600G 01 February 2020 by Nancy 474 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my lens in November, but couldn't find an a9II camera to buy until a month later. So it took a while for me to get to use the lens. At first I used the camera and lens hand held and was pretty happy. But when I tried to attach it to my tripod, it seemed I couldn't tighten things up enough to hold it perfectly steady. It wasn't until I got a Really Right Stuff (RRS) lens foot (LCF-102) to attach lens to the tripod that I realized it was the lens attachment apparatus' problem, not my tightening. The attachment for the the Sony foot to the lens collar didn't fit well. And it didn't fit well with the RRS foot either. We attached both my Sony foot and my RRS foot to my husband's new Sony 200-600mm lens. Each one worked perfectly. No play or wiggle. It was then that I realized this wasn't about my not being able to tighten things down enough, the problem lay with the Sony part of the lens collar that attaches to the lens foot. The Sony person I spoke to said they will send me a shipping label to send the lens to a repair facility in CT. I am not happy! These are expensive items, and now I have to go without my lens for at least two weeks and maybe longer, and see whether their "repair" (replacement of a basic part) works satisfactorily. I might add that I was looking for the emailed shipping label when I got this questionnaire. I don't understand why it has taken more than 24 hours for them to email it to me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Reach But Poorly Constructed Hood

SEL200600G/CSYX 23 January 2020 by steventheadventurous (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lense some months after its release date after I had the opportunity to read more reviews. I was previously using the 100-400GM with both TCs to good effect. However, the opportunity to gain some extra light (2/3 f stop cf to the 100-400mm GM with 1.4TC) and extra reach (additional 40mm cf to the 100-400mm GM with 1.4TC) was something that attracted me to this lense. The trade-off being the extra weight - 2,115gm without hood and tripod collar cf to the 100-400mm with 1.4TC (1,562gm) making it about 1/3 heavier. It does get tiring carrying this compared to the 100-400mm GM lense with TC. The compromise is that I have to use higher shutter speeds most of the time to get sharp images which then increases the ISO. Compared to the 100-400mm with TCs, the image quality is quite similar. On its own, the image quality of the 100-400mm beats the 200-600mm which is expected of a GM lense. If you want to use this on long treks or for travel, I think the 100-400mm with TCs might be a better option. Will try this lense on a long trip so that I can get a better feel of taking this on the road. Using the 200-600mm with the 1.4TC makes this a difficult combo to shoot handheld. It would need a tripod or some other bracing support as it is unwieldy to handhold. The image quality is quite good with the 1.4TC compared with the 100-400mm GM paired with the 2.0TC (840mm vs 800mm) - see the last pic shot with the 1.4TC. With the 2.0TC, it is difficult to get crisp images. I found most of the time, the images were soft - See my second pic shot with the 2.0TC. A tripod then becomes mandatory unless you have some other support. The one thing wrong with this lense is the lense hood. The lense hood doesn't seem to lock properly and can quickly become undone. I lost mine on my first outing which is disappointing. Spoke with the Sony Ambassador and was told Sony knows there is a design flaw. When I contacted Sony, they didn't offer me a free replacement but only 20% off. Why would I want to buy a flawed hood? Sony should have offered to replace my lost hood for free after they have completed their re-design. Anyway I bought a third party rubber hood which is lighter and retractable - its screw on so it won't drop off easily.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

OOS doesn't work properly in video mode

SEL200600G 21 January 2020 by Matej 1 (USA)

Hello, weeks ago I bought new sony FE 200-600mm lens but I think the OSS doesn't work properly on my sony A7R IV photo camera in video mode. If I start shaking camera on tripod OSS start working properly after 3 or 4 seconds and hold image very well but not for long time, maybay only 10 seconds. After that is image again shaky. I try everything and the problem is still here. I went to my friend and test his new lens FE 200-600mm on my A7R4 camera but the same problem even with his lens and on his camera A7R IV. In photo mode (M, S, A and P) both lenses start working immediately if I press shooting button and OSS stabilize image excellent. Only in video mode it's not working immediately. I think this is not mechanical problem but software problem, because both lenses behave the same in video mode. This problem happening to other Sony video cameras like A7S, FS7 and FX9 I tested. Big downsize for such a good lens. I had to sale my lens to photo user. I hope Sony will soon release new firmware for this lens and solved the problem. Regards, Matej

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

sharp!

SEL200600G/CSYX 18 January 2020  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

so far so good! happy with the lens except the weight

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent fast focusing lens

SEL200600G 18 January 2020 by Jumbo 57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great coverage for nature and sports photography. Internal focusing is great to have. Works brilliantly with my Sony a9.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

The most versatile Sony lens (Sports/Wildlife)

SEL200600G/CSYX 18 January 2020 by TargetEFX (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The 200-600mm is an amazing lens that this very sharp. If it had better edge-to-edge sharpness I would truely beleive it was a GM lens. Yet, it's still very sharp throughout the entire zoom. Of course, it would be great if it was faster, but I think it would have been too big and heavy. This is a great lens that is really light for a reach of 600mm. The best aspect of the lens is the throw of the zoom. It's very easy to go from 200mm to 600mm with just a 1/4 turn. Also, there is no extension when you zoom. The length of the lens doesn't move, so it's all internal. Better weather seal, better balance, and it fits in a normal camera bag. The only negative for me is the lens foot. I wish they would make the foot arca swiss compatible. I hate having to screw on another tripod plate. I just replaced mine with a RRS foot for this lens, and it works amazingly well. I would have also loved a better locking lens hood with felt lining on the inside. The hood is okay, but it's not the same quality as the GM lens hoods. However, these are small issues for a great lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect sports lens

SEL200600G 17 January 2020 by Sharpysurf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I shoot surfing for a living so when Sony announced this I ordered one straight away. I loved the 100-400 but for surfing this lens is hard to beat. The non-extending design is a real help as I often shoot in terrible weather. AF is incredible and for stills and video this is my go to action lens. It’s also good for lifestyle, assuming you can shout directions at your subjects. Super impressed so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Design n Super Portability

SEL200600G/CSYX 14 January 2020  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Being a new wildlife photographer (only had a Sony RX10M4 before), I bought this lens with the Sony A9ii as the best in class combination after careful review, discussions and advise by friends. No regrets after using for about 2 months.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent results

SEL200600G 11 January 2020 by Mr P H (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only been using this for a couple weeks with the A7III and I have been very impressed with the photos that I've been able to take of distant wildlife. The autofocus works great, the build quality feels solid and I'm getting the photos that I wanted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great lens

SEL200600G/CSYX 09 January 2020 by Tan PS (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this for about 2 months and paired with the A6400. Previous lens was a SAL70-400 with the LA-EA2. Huge advantage that the auto focus and tracking of the A6400 now works flawlessly. The compact size and internal zoom design helps in the handling. The short zoom throw is helpful for a heavy lens where you cannot release your zoom hand to reposition. Overall, very happy that Sony filled this focal length gap for enthusiasts.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb Quality Lens that Never Fail you !

SEL200600G/CSYX 08 January 2020 by EJ SG (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Glad to own this superb lens that give Splendid and Sharp shots. All shots are hand held and the autofocus is very fast. Just love this lens and you will never regret to own it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Need times to practise

SEL200600G/CSYX 08 January 2020 by VO12345 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Don’t really know how to use this lens, perhaps need more practise, so far I only can a7iii auto mode to shoot it. Manually not in good shape. Till now only bring out twice for photography.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

4

0

A sharp tele that won’t burn a hole in your pocket

SEL200600G/CSYX 08 January 2020 by thebirdingdude (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I first test shot with the 200-600, my first impression was this lens really delivered sharp pictures. And ever since it had been at the back of my mind if I ever get my Sony setup. This lens is great for birding and wildlife photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

600mm with internal zooming, grate image quality

SEL200600G/CSYX 08 January 2020 by kassa (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really like the size of this leanse and internal zooming feature. Image quality at 600mm is very good and this lense is Best value for money. I was able to capture handheld moon shots with grater image details.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Lens! Shockingly Good!

SEL200600G 31 December 2019 by PV23 (USA)

I went back and forth about buying this lens- I already I own the 100-400GM, 70-200GM as well as the 1.4X and 2X teleconverters. However, on a recent trip to Sri Lanka it quickly became my go to lens for wildlife and birding. Even with the 1.4X converter under heavy canopy it still performed incredibly well. While the speed of the 600mm F4 GM would have been nice, flexibility as animals moved closer would have been comprised. I found the build quality to be great and the lens itself light compared to other lenses I've owned. Bokeh is great! Autofocus with the A7Riv was unbelivelably fast and devivered razor sharp images- even shooting handlheld at 600mm!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Excellent lens

SEL200600G 24 December 2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you need 600mm and can't justify the prime, this lens is excellent. Importantly, it's very strong at the long end between 400-600mm, with excellent sharpness at f6.3 and superb sharpness when stopped down to f8. The internal zoom is a nice feature of the 200-600; the lens doesn't extend. Build quality feels just okay, with the general body not feeling particularly solid, but for a G series lens rather than GM this is fine by me. The zoom and focus rings feel great; smooth and no significant play. I own a 600mm f4 from another manufacturer and the sharpness of this 200-600 zoom at 600mm is amazingly close given that it's not really intended to be in the same 'class'. Overall, I'm very happy with it (I primarily use it for birding and moonscapes).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

200-600 with A7r4 is made for birders.

SEL200600G 22 November 2019 by Ebird (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought an A7r4 and this lens a month ago, waited until yesterday for the lens, as it is quite popular. and there is a waiting list. This is my first Sony full frame, and I have spent the interval learning the system and setting the camera up. (I also got a Zeiss Batis 18mm, amazing lens) First impressions: I would not classify this kit as lightweight, but it is substantially lighter than anything else similar capability. Image quality is simply awesome, in FF or crop mode. I suspect most birders will use the crop mode more than the FF mode, particularly for small and/or distant birds.The lens becomes a 300-900 in APS-C mode (Called super 35mm here). First order of business is to assign this to a custom button. Cropability of the images is also eye-popping. Resolution is reach, and this oozes resolution. Image stabilization is amazing, I can't hold this rig all that steady, and yet it is tack sharp at relatively low shutter speeds. I haven't started playing with the three modes on the lens yet. So far I am using silent shooting for everything but BIF. Works great, but there is a risk of shutter roll with the tracking focus, hence regular shuttering for BIF. I am using hi-speed shooting mode (10fps, but am thinking about slowing it down except for BIF.) Auto Focus is also highly capable. As a start, I am using DMF with center mode for perched birds, or birds in clutter (often the same). Also have a set up with C-AF and Expand Flex spot. For BIF I am using C-AF with wide focus area, so far in limited action grabs right onto the bird Rear focus button is your friend; use it, and disable the shutter release focus. I also have an Olympus ee-1 red-dot sight for BIF, where has this been all my life?? Makes tracking BIF so much easier. (Note to Sony, build something like this into the view screen, make it assignable to a custom button, or just make it standard above 200-300 mm or so.) As for the infamous menu system, it is really a reflection of the extremely customizable nature of the camera. You aren't really going to use most of it, but you need to know what it all does. It is fairly easy to assign the settings you actually need in the field to the custom buttons, dials, fn menu and the "my menu" slot in the top menu row. I also recommend backing settings up to both the in-camera card(s) and to another (old) card that you carry in your bag. And copy them to your computer as well. And as you set the camera up, keep a chart on what you did, and keep that on your phone. (Note to Sony: you should have an option in the camera to offload something like this as a PDF) (Additional note to Sony: you should provide an option to make ANY setting a favorite from the setting itself. The process of going to the "my menu" section and using an add function is not only cumbersome, but impeded by the fact that the add function uses a different numbering system than the actual menu tree). Couple of random notes about the lens: The tripod foot is not Arca-compatible, you might want to get a third-party one. Look for one that will allow it to mount to the tripod without removing any carrying strap attachment. (Note to Sony: ????!!?). I got a set of camo lens-coats, the lens is pretty white to point at birds. Also, you should buy some lens caps with built in leashes. You can attach the leash to the tag on the lens coat section that covers the hood, using a couple of small cable ties. (be sure that said tag points toward the ground with when locked into place). The leash will reach the lens with the hood in either position, and keeps the cap always at hand. Couple of random notes about the camera. The FF files are very large, a reason to use the crop mode if you are going to crop the photos at least the much anyway. I am recording compressed RAW plus JPEG, given the size of the RAW files, having the JPEGS speeds up workflow considerably. Best advice seems to be that unimpressed RAW is only better for night shooting and astrophotography. Setting can be put into one of the easy to reach places if you want to switch it, for birding it seems superfluous. High capacity UHS-2 cards are NOT an option, unless you like watching your buffer write. The ergonomics of the camera are really excellent (I am average size, wear a mens large glove). It feels great in the hand, and the buttons are well-placed and easy to ID by touch. So, basically happy with it so far, will post some more when I have used it awhile.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

Focus issues

SEL200600G 04 November 2019 by Imastarkidder (USA)

I was so excited to finally receive this lens after waiting a month. Unfortunately, the lens I received hunts focus and when it does focus, as soon as I press the shutter to snap the photo, the lens loses focus and the image comes out blurry. At some focal lengths it doesn't do this but the longer lengths it does it most of the time. I found myself either having to use the focus hold button on every shot or just using manual focus. The images that are in focus are very good, but I think I got a defective lens and am returning it to the seller. Very disappointing. I researched and can't find any other related issues on the internet. All reviews rave about how fast and accurate the lens focuses. I will try again after they have been in production longer and hopefully any problems have been resolved. Love my other Sony lenses and AR7IV!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

10

0

Superb lens.Exceeds all expectations.

SEL200600G 23 October 2019 by eddiejpeg (United Kingdom)

Exceeds all expectations.I have been using the lens with the latest Sony A7RIV and the resulting are simply stunning.The photos that i have included are all very highly cropped j pegs fine.The details are simply remarkeable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0