589

4.2 based on 589 customer reviews

325
160
50
17
37
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

greatcolour

DSC-W800 25 September 2019 by sue77 (United Kingdom)

this was bought for us has a gift for our annervesary

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Super slow. Poor Pictures unless optimal light

DSC-W800 14 December 2019 by maps (USA)

I bought this at Target while I was in Florida about a month ago, In 1 weekend I took over 400 photos an I can use about 20. The picture quality is that poor. Unless light is optimal don't expect much at all. The camera -in every setting- also tries to correct and essentially ruins the point of capturing a true image. My hands, perhaps due to disability and other issues actually get very tired in between shots, it takes a second a more in between shots. I have never had a camera operate this slow -. If you want to capture important moments forget it. I trust and use Sony as a brand consistently. I will not be buying another Sony pocket camera.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

589 Customer Reviews

0

Camera

DSC-W800 29 November 2020 by h1833 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great little camera . Small size fits into pocket . Very easy to use with different programs and noo need to buy batteries

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use.

DSC-W800 29 November 2020 by RAS12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although I am a technophobe I found this camera very easy to use. Also, it is light weight so can comfortably be carried in a pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not What I expected

DSCW800B 28 November 2020 by Thomp56 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I puchased a song Cyber-shot 10.1 camera few years back for our business (Great camera). I decide to get another one, since this cyber-shot was old, so I purchased the above DSCW800B, it's not the same, trouble with the setting and picture taking in and outside and the program for downloading pictures are not working well, constantly having problems with this issues, called and sent emails to Sony for help. Their customer service is terrible. I sent another email a couple of weeks ago, got a reply back, saying will get back with you soon, no one yet... Terrible, Terrible. I really would like my money back or something better for our business.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Easy to Use!

DSCW800/B 20 November 2020 by jamq19 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it on a Monday, I received everything that Thursday! Everything works fine and I'm excited to have this technology at use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good cheap and simple

DSC-W800 20 November 2020 by Nicklink4 (USA)

It is one of the best cameras for someone getting into photography, or just for fun!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great little camara

DSC-W800 18 November 2020 by Ascotmm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

great compact design, picture quality and ease of use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

...Ideal pocket camera...

DSC-W800 12 November 2020 by Old48 Kangaroo (USA)

This is the second one I've bought,this one as a gift for my wife.It's an inexpensive camera that easily fits in a pocket and takes good photos.For some one like my self or my wife who aren't heavy use camera people this camera is a great fit,especially for the money.For anyone getting into photography this an excellent starting camera.I've taken video with sound and have to say I was impressed with the quality of both image and sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Only Sony for me

DSC-W800 10 November 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as a replacement and I am so glad I did.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good buy

DSC-W800 29 October 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

gives a good picture,very handy to fit in hand and pocket,yes very good compact camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features and portability

DSC-W800 15 October 2020 by JRenner702 (USA)

I bought this for my birthday and I absolutely love it. It’s small and portable, yet just as powerful as my dslr

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-W800 14 October 2020 by Bell 11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for my husband as he wanted a smaller one so that it could fit into a bag as his main one is quite large. He is very happy with it good clear picture easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great camera

DSC-W800 03 October 2020 by spud75 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple f weeks ago just what I wanted fr taking quick photos when I am out walking

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W800 23 September 2020 by Gorbet (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given this as a present and very pleased with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good little "Shoot and go" camera

DSC-W800 07 September 2020 by Stuart44 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the second time we have purchased the same model, having worn the first one out by continually swapping data cards which eventually damaged the mechanism. We had no hesitation in choosing another one and resolving to make more use of the usb cable to interact with our computers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Compact and easy to use

DSC-W800 07 September 2020 by Blueovation (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great for everyday use. We use this at our factory for recording accidents, taking pictures of machine parts that are worn or need replacing and use the video function for recording short clips which we use for training purposes. The compact size and ease of use makes it ideal as an everyday item that slips easily into a pocket. The picture quality is good and the flash function gives a clear bright light that doesn't blur the image.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

smart looking camera

DSC-W800 16 August 2020 by hobbitboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i got this camera a short time ago, its the best compact camera i have ever bought .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Nice Sony Digital Camera!

DSCW800B 12 August 2020 by Sujoy7635 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a new Sony digital camera online. It is a nice camera, small, easy to use menu and taking pictures. I registered my product. I like photography. Sony is a cool company.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GREAT PURCHASE!

DSC-W800 07 August 2020 by RUTHIE60 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a month ago. Looks good. Easy to operate. Neat sharp photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Very portable

DSC-W800 05 August 2020 by Dave the rave 123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as I wanted a good pocket camera, and I am not disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Fun little toy!!!

DSCW800B 03 August 2020 by Skinhorse (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this little camera to replace a bigger bulky one. Is lightweight and fun little camera with enough buttons and whistles.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Purchased believing I could download pictures to m

DSCW800/B 28 July 2020 by Husker1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased believing I could download pictures from camera to my computer so I could enable my ability to send them to my daughter and family in Italy

0

3

0

Small camera that packs a large punch!

DSC-W800 27 July 2020 by Rob 104 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Looking for a compact "Point & Shoot" camera to carry around every day, this more than meets my requirements. Clear pictures every time, with excellent zoom facility. Hopefully this will serve me well in the future.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Handy Little Pocket Camera

DSC-W800 09 June 2020 by marjon46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I always carry a small camera in my pocket because a photo opportunity can present itself at any moment. This camera is handy for such times and can be activated and the photo taken in seconds. Colour resolution is excellent and photos are sharp enough to be enlarged to 13mm x 18mm but no further.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice compact little camera

DSC-W800 18 May 2020 by Evie 63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Takes lovely photos,but as yet have not developed any.so handy to put in your pocket,nice size screen very happy with it.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little Camera - Excellent Lense

DSC-W800 08 May 2020 by Rbh27 (USA)

I've had this camera for about 6 years and it is great ... I use it for work and it gets knocked around in breafcases and backpacks, Lense quality is outstanding and easy to use vs my little Lumix. and other fullsize cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Can't figure it out!

DSC-W800 02 May 2020 by CherylD (USA)

This was a Christmas gift from my son because he thought I needed an upgrade from my Nikon cool pix. Well, for one thing, I took it on a walk with me and after a few pictures got a message that there is no internal memory space remaining - and so I thought I would download on my computer to get what I took off, and it doesn't connect?? Glad I didn't get rid of my little Nikon which doesn't require a memory card and I can download to my PC with no problem.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Not the best

DSC-W800 30 April 2020 by DD Almighty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it and sent it back, picture quality was worse than my Iphone6S. I bought a Canon G9X MkII at a lot more money but pictures are superb.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Better than using your mobile!

DSC-W800 29 April 2020 by Cardman (United Kingdom)

I have just got this excellent piece of kit and, for the price, I am astounded by the quality of the pictures! The quality of the build is very good too! Simply removing the memory card, plugging it into a dongle, and, connecting it to my iPad is simplicity itself. Will never not take it with me in future!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

can not connect to my computer

DSC-W800 29 April 2020 by notwen (United Kingdom)

about 7 years ago and is old but the camara works ok but i can not connect it to yhe computer

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Great Camera

DSCW800/B 25 April 2020 by Richp2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought it and the photos are excellent. I just recommended to a relative.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Never took so many blurry pictures

DSC-W800 24 April 2020 by Feraltamer (USA)

Seems the camera needs to be braced against something so the image doesn't end up blurry. Looked on the camera menu for image stabilization. No go. Looked on the help guide, still nothing. My Kodak easyshare (rest its soul) did much better than this. Flash is too bright, and washes out subject.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Compact and Easy to Use

DSC-W800 20 April 2020 by Wisim (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with this camera. Easy to use and compact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

ease of use

DSC-W800 20 March 2020 by ginty1950 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this about a month ago, and tbh not used it that much, as been self isolating, so nowhere to go to take pictures

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small, compact and easy to use

DSCW800B 09 March 2020 by cmills33138 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The DCSW800B camera comes in handy for taking quick tourist photos with a better zoom and photo quality than my mobile phone. No drivers were necessary and the device was immediately recognized by my system running Ubuntu Studio.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value camera with many features

DSC-W800 28 February 2020 by Benny 99101 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received as a birthday present just what I wanted will definitely put it to good use

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant little camera

DSC-W800 22 February 2020 by JennyT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased to replace an old compact camera. Really pleased with the Sony. Automatically adjusts for type of shot being made eg. close up, landscape, indoor etc. Really good pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W800 13 February 2020 by Stiz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my Sony camera this month and it has not yet malfunctioned, which is good...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice size camera for traveling

DSCW800B 09 February 2020 by Lee72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a gift because I accidently left my 8 yr old Sony on the plane and still waiting to hear if it was found. My sister & Brother in law in Florida whom I was visiting bought it for me.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Lovely looking camera

DSC-W800 28 January 2020 by Cherry B (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a Christmas present from my husband and I am looking forward to using it to photograph my great grandsons christening.

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Good small camera

DSC-W800 23 January 2020 by Heclantis (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this for Christmas and delighted. Good results but would like to turn off the flash. It also takes a long time to do a flash picture as it goes off 3/4 times!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony cybershot

DSC-W800 11 January 2020 by Jen20 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lovely little camera. Was a Christmas present. Fits in my handbag and takes great photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simple to snap with !!

DSC-W800 08 January 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wanted a small camera that I could carry in my handbag for taking quick but quality photographs at events. Look no further. Small enough to fit easily in a handback, and really easy to use. You don't really need the instruction, if you're had camera's before, its simple to pick up and use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Response Time

DSCW800B 04 January 2020 by Happy Jack MO (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Being vastly old school, I miss the eyepiece in any camera, but this little Sony is very easy to use, has a very clear view screen, and a snappy response time so what I picture is what I capture. Bright, crisp images. I tested it on several "ugly sweaters" and got good resolution on convoluted patterns. Colors conform nicely both on screen, on computer screen and in print.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small and Compact

DSC-W800 02 January 2020 by Lindy19 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A no complicated camera, just the way I like modern tech. Easy to use, including the various programmes.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

W 800 Camera

DSC-W800 30 December 2019 by Greggo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's ok but has to many options on it . can't say anymore than that .

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Easy to Use

DSCW800B 28 December 2019 by lfno (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a similar Sony camera that finally died. I was so happy with my first purchase, that I looked for the same camera. The features have been updated and this model is easier to use. It is easy to recharge, easy to upload photos, and takes tremendous pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great disappointment.

DSC-W800 23 December 2019 by simplefool (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After reading the item description on Amazon; I was looking forward to receiving and playing with a new toy. I was to be very disappointed with both the product and the whole shopping experience. The camera was tiny. There was no mention of a memory card in the item's description page; which I felt was an error of omission. Because, it really required a memory card to fulfil it's purpose. Having charged the battery; this particular camera wouldn't function beyond displaying what would become an annoyingly ironic message, asking me ''What Language Do You Want'' or words to that effect . . . After reading, and following the ''Quick Guide'' instructions; I came to the conclusion that this particular camera was defective. Void of function. Then began an epic saga of world wide web travels and adventures, involving Spaniards (in their European context) Indians (In they're hub of communication guise) . . . dare I mention the Chinese (as manufacturers!?) Yet another carbon footprint, involving global and local deliveries. Bus journeys, and return deliveries. Then the time factor. However, the person on the Amazon Messenger Assistance Service (or whatever it's called) was excellent. The camera was very disappointing. The shopping experience was disappointing.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

4

1

0

Instructions are USELESS

DSC-W800 18 December 2019 by databoy (United Kingdom)

The instructions imply that this camera can use Internal memory, Memory Stick PRO Duo, Memory stick micro, SD and micro SD cards for storing media. I really doubt this is true. I can only see space for an SD Card. The option of using internal memory also seems to be false as I have tried taking photos without an SD inserted and cannot find them by either playing back on the camera or connecting the camera to my laptop.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

easy to use

DSC-W800 18 December 2019 by gofree (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

happy with purchase easy to use instructions easy to follow

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super slow. Poor Pictures unless optimal light

DSC-W800 14 December 2019 by maps (USA)

I bought this at Target while I was in Florida about a month ago, In 1 weekend I took over 400 photos an I can use about 20. The picture quality is that poor. Unless light is optimal don't expect much at all. The camera -in every setting- also tries to correct and essentially ruins the point of capturing a true image. My hands, perhaps due to disability and other issues actually get very tired in between shots, it takes a second a more in between shots. I have never had a camera operate this slow -. If you want to capture important moments forget it. I trust and use Sony as a brand consistently. I will not be buying another Sony pocket camera.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-W800 01 December 2019 by Turbotrev (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great pocket size camera. Loads of features nd easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bit disappointed

DSC-W800 08 November 2019 by chegga (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as a replacement for my Cannon Sure Shot which was lost. The photo quality so far is ok but navigating the menu is far less user friendly. One particular disappointment is that try as I might I cannot get the date stamp on my pictures

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Fantastic camera

DSC-W800 29 October 2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Takes lovely photos and very easy to use. Menu sounds are very nice and a super bright flash mode is available for extra dark shots. Although normal flash is quite bright. Excellent. Thanks

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use.

DSCW800B 24 October 2019 by porkypine52 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use, but still trying to get images into my computer.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Easy to grasp

DSCW800B 05 October 2019 by Glorybee (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It’s great for keeping at hands reach using the strap.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

greatcolour

DSC-W800 25 September 2019 by sue77 (United Kingdom)

this was bought for us has a gift for our annervesary

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good compact little camera

DSC-W800 25 September 2019 by Johnnie2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good camera with all that you need in one small item, haven't used it much but appreciate it's little items inside.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very compact and handy.

DSC-W800 23 September 2019 by JulieHT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was bought as a gift and is very much appreciated!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very neat, compact , easy to use.

DSC-W800 16 September 2019 by Mariaobe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have got any photos yet, i am just learning to use it, as an older person, but i would recommend it to my elderly friend, as i am very pleased to have it been given as a birthday present by my kids.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect!

DSCW800B 13 September 2019 by PaulaT (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not my first Sony. User friendly, gorgeous shots!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super practical compact camera at great value.

DSC-W800 13 September 2019 by Islander 2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super, practical compact camera with terrific features at great value.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1