187

4.3 based on 187 customer reviews

109
53
10
5
10
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

4K is here to stay !

FDR-AX53 28 April 2016 by Jonnie1266 (United Kingdom)

This camera replaces my nine year old Sony HDR-SR1E which was one of the first 1080i camcorders available, I only changed because the LCD monitor touch screen failed. I sincerely hope this camera can last as long. Firstly, as ever in my experience with Sony it has a great feel of quality and build. Secondly, the functionality is way beyond where I was with my older camera, WOW ! This I believe is the third generation 4K model and I have no doubt will be soon be superseded, but for now it is almost full proof for my purposes. Sony have addressed several issues over the last model. The microphone I am not yet sure about. I am used to AVCHD recording mode and 5.1ch surround sound setting, this is certainly available on this model but not so if you select 4K or HD XAVC S mode. In these modes only 2ch stereo is available which is a shame for those who own home theatre systems. I used to find my voice quite loud from behind the camera but now I struggle to hear myself during playback in 2ch stereo. There is a 'my voice cancelling' feature on this camera but I have not activated it, I have activated the built in zoom microphone function though which may have something to do with it ? I recorded in 4K 60Mbps mode at 25fps and plugged the camera straight into my 4K television using the supplied HDMI cable, WOW again ! The first actual raw 4K I have seen on my television set and not one pixel showed anything but sharp, clear definition and I had my nose pressed to the screen. Brilliant. I was impressed with the BOSS system also, I had mine set to 'Active' which is the greatest stabilisation mode available when in XAVC S format, it was weird whilst recording as the lens position appears to have a mind of it's own when compensating for any untoward movement by the user. Initially one would think the camera was broken inside as the lens can move when you shake the camera around - gently ! It is still early days for recording and storing 4K for the consumer, I use the Sony PlayMemories Home software which is great in my opinion. This comes available free with the camera via a download from the Sony UK website. It is extensive enough unless you are a pro editor. It can store 4K and HD XAVC S and allow some editing. I have bought a 4TB external hard drive to store 4K, 2hrs worth can eat 64GB memory ! I do not know when it will be possible to burn 4K to disc to watch on the recently available Ultra HD Blu-ray players so we are left waiting for now. The HD XAVC S mode will allow up to 50Mbps at 1080p which is great definition and can be burned to Blu-ray disc using PlayMemories Home, I will try this out as my old camera could only achieve 15Mbps at 1080i. I recorded in my living room in fairly low light and the result was better than my old camera which would have needed a light fitted in the same conditions. Speaking of which I bought the Sony ADPMAC Shoe Adapter which fits directly to the multi interface shoe and adapts to the Active interface shoe to allow the fitting of older Sony accessories. However, my light was "device not supported" on this camera - shame. Intelligent Auto appears to be a good feature which can easily be selected from the LCD monitor screen by touching the icon. This can switch several functions on automatically if required such as face detection, scene detection, camera shake detection and sound detection (for auto wind NR). The touch screen works well, my old one was the (push) resistive type whereas this one is capacitive, it is like a mobile phone screen which is certainly easier to clean. The menu systems are intuitive and become very user friendly. I also like the fact that the camera is on and ready upon opening the LCD monitor or pulling out the view finder, great for those quick shot moments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Camcorder that could be improved

FDR-AX53 06 January 2019 by steambuff (United Kingdom)

The picture quality is excellent but it is limited on ability to tailor the video to your requirements. If you choose one manual setting you sacrifice the rest. Also: 1. some of my more expensive accessories do not work as LANC (developed by Sony) has been abandoned on this model. 2. You must open screen to insert HDMI cable 3. Zoom button is badly placed and difficult to work smoothly without moving camera 4. No rubber eye cup for viewfinder 5. Hot shoe cover flimsy and easily broken when open Otherwise, for the money, an excellent camera. It is a camcorder that could be superb but has been built down to a price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

187 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent battery life

FDR-AX53 13 September 2020 by Shurst (United Kingdom)

We bought this camcorder to film our wedding with reduced numbers to play back to family that could not attend it was really easy to set up and the battery life is really good will be using this a lot it even has an external microphone socket the only down side it will only record stereo in 4K not the 5.1 but so far is a really good video camera for the price.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Outdated information on abilities

FDRAX53/B 03 September 2020 by KTD123 (USA)

I bought this camera for mobile streaming and all this info says its possible but all the apps and services it says to use have been discontinued.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

I love it, but it has one flaw

FDR-AX53 28 July 2020 by Anji18 (USA)

I've had the handycam ax53 for about 3 weeks now and i love it, the images are clear, the videos are clear. My only quarrel is that i have to pay $99 in order to be able to stream live, which i feel is a bit much esp being that the handycam advertises that it has wifi capabilities. Other than that I love the camera, but one of the main reasons i bought it over others was bc of the decent price as well as the night mode feature. I hope that any newer models allow for free live streaming.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Overall terrific with some suggestions for Sony...

FDR-AX53 15 July 2020 by MartinS45 (USA)

This camera upgrades (not replaces) my CX760 which continues as a terrific performer after 10 years or so in the field. I'll keep it to use occasionally as a second as well as a backup. I understand the AX53 is current production replacement for the CX760 and EVERYTHING is better but for two things... The feel of the CX760 is considerably more solid than the AX53; more like a 'professional grade' vs. a 'consumer grade' kind of thing. Many have complained about the flimsy hot boot cover on the 53, of which I agree. The other thing disappointing to see is that while the CX760 was built in Japan, the AX53 is made in.......China. The price point reflects these things as the CX760 10 years ago was nearly double the cost of the AX53 today. So I applaud Sony on the unit and encourage consideration for the future...build a pro-grade unit in this size & weight configuration, bring manufacturing back to Japan and charge what you need for that package.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Sony FDR AX53

FDR-AX53 07 July 2020 by Mick 19 (United Kingdom)

I have had the camera a week. I purchased it from Park Cameras with a very good discount and £80 cash back from Sony. After considerable research I came to the conclusion that it’s features it’s price and the excellent reviews were a good reason to buy. The camera does not disappoint, light, and easy to use in both manual and auto mode. Over the past 20 years I have owned Canon and Panasonic top end cameras, and this is the first Sony . Colour accuracy is excellent as is audio quality. For those people who are looking for a small top end 4K camera packed with features, I have no hesitation in recommending it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Excellent handycam.

FDR-AX53 03 July 2020 by Socky (United Kingdom)

A very recent purchase, so I am still learning its pluses and minuses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great Features

FDR-AX53 16 June 2020 by DaveHD (United Kingdom)

Very pleased with this camera. I've spent my life as a TV cameraman so I wanted a camera with some manual features available and a decent zoom range. I also needed it to be small and easy to carry around. The 4K quality is excellent and gives a great finished video after editing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great Quality!

FDRAX53B 13 May 2020 by Zinbad (USA)

I needed a camcorder for streaming and the AX53 fits the need!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Very Professional

FDRAX53B 03 May 2020 by Fairway (USA)

High quality and fantastic stabilization. Excellent lens, the best.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Easy to use and awesome videos

FDRAX53B 26 April 2020 by MikeK895 (USA)

I purchased this camera to record church services during the COVID crisis. It is very easy to use and has awesome quality video and stills. I would recommend this for excellent quality videos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awsome long distance focuse

FDRAX53/B 07 April 2020  (USA)

Great camera. You can pick it up and go and film all day. Or take some time lapse photography. Or even still shot it's all around great camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great choice for 4K video

FDR-AX53 15 March 2020 by Dick1234 (United Kingdom)

Thought long and hard about which video recorder to buy and I am pleased with this one. Easy to use, good quality 4K and value for money

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good video

FDRAX53/B 28 February 2020 by drodly (USA)

I like everything about it but moving files to computer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

AX53

FDR-AX53 22 January 2020 by TB2359 (United Kingdom)

I bought this product just under a month ago and so far, so good.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

AX53

FDRAX53B 20 January 2020 by Spyguy (USA)

Had some technical issues with the camera not shutting off and having play back issues. Sony did take care of repairing it under warranty. It’s overall all a really good camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

I wanted the best and I got it in the Sony AX53 Ha

FDR-AX53 10 January 2020 by Dancing Dennis (United Kingdom)

In the past I have used 35mm and 16mm & 8mm film, both professionally and as a general member of the public, as well as an assortment of Video cameras but it was time to update. I was using a fantastic Canon but this used mini tapes and so I wanted to move up to the next step without hitting the bank account too much. I searched the internet as well as speking to other people who use video and the Sony was always the highest up the list of recomendations. I have only had the Sony AX53 since christmas but have already made two videos which have been up-loaded to YouTube sand Facebook. I am very pleased with the results. We have a trip to India coming up and am really expecting the very best of video recording for this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camcorder !

FDR-AX53 19 December 2019 by E456 (United Kingdom)

Bought this very recently. So far I’m very happy with it. Helpful to have stereo mic input jack to connect with mobile receiver and 2 radio mics. picture quality and usability are great. One wish.... more detailed instruction manual. At the moment you have to work through menus and some of the things I just don’t know really what they do or show.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Excellent value

FDR-AX53 21 November 2019 by Hymer1 (United Kingdom)

Still early days, but the features used to date, i.e automatic focus, zoom, wide angle lens and the brilliant stability system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Handheld masterpiece

FDR-AX53 06 November 2019 by Dommyp (United Kingdom)

I brought this to replace a DSLR for filming, and I could not be happier. It’s super fast auto focus, lowlight quality and just general ease-of-use, not to mention how long the battery lasts

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Super 4k handycam

FDR-AX53 02 November 2019 by Videoman of Leeds (United Kingdom)

Owned this fabulous AX53 over two years now, so happy to confirm it has lived up to, and beyond my expectations. It has never missed a beat. Perhaps the best thing is the ability to record 4k images, say a stage widescreen, and then to zoom and crop in post production to feature specific areas of the stage. Doing so still allows a full HD image to be created for burning to blu-ray disc, for example. While manual control is somewhat limited, the auto functions, such as focus and colour balance work seamlessly in the background, allowing glorious 4k images to be captured. I am delighted to see that this model is still available to purchase. Usually such products have a shelf life (before the launch of 'the latest' model) of around 9 months. Well done Sony for keeping what is a superb compact Handycam available for the long run. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic features, not confident about body.

FDR-AX53 25 October 2019 by Lenseman (United Kingdom)

I purchased the FDR- AX53 about two weeks ago. It's got superb feature's and the results are amazing. I love the time-lapse facility and the steady shot is truly amazing. I am sure that there are many more things I will love about this camera and hope I get many years service from it. My only concern is the actual build quality. The door covering the hot shoe seem very fragile and if an external microphone is used the door just flaps in the breeze just waiting to be ripped off, also the tripod mount appears to be very flimsy and not really fit for purpose. there is one shown on you-tube that is being repaired with plastic metal. whether the damage was caused by an heavy handed user or average use I don't know but it does pose a question. The night shot facility failed to impress me compared to the night shot on my ancient but still functional Sony DCR-TRV320E. I hope the AX53 proves my initial concerns are totally wrong, only time will tell.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Could be great, But!

FDR-AX53 04 October 2019 by Pack4now (USA)

This camcorder has so much potential, but with the focusing issues after the firmware update, this thing becomes a bear to use. I try to use manual focusing but because of the firmware update, now it will loose focus and it won't come back. The focus ring is almost none usable in a video type situation as you have to turn it so many times to get it back in focus. I would not recommend this product to anyone until they fix it, which it doesn't seem like they are at all. Last firmware update a long time ago. you should take these off the shelves or fix the problems. Last Sony product I plan on buying until quality become better.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great pictures at a value for money price.

FDR-AX53 24 September 2019 by ColCGE (United Kingdom)

I bought the FDR-AX53 HandyCam primarily because my previous tape-cassette camcorder had become problematic due the tapes attracting moisture and dieting the Rec/Playback heads. This being a record to disk model it is really up to the task I wish it to be used for. Its steady shot design is a great boon and the Zoom is - for the price paid - impressive. Two niggles I have, are a microphone jack-input that is placed too near the space required for 'Zooming' and other recording tools needed whilst videoing events. The free software (for MAC's) seems pretty good, but would seem in need of an update - particularly in its 'How to/Help' department. Summary, a value for money product which just misses being really GREAT c/o finishing touches from Sony's design and aftermarket departments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Pleasantly surprised

FDR-AX53 24 September 2019 by RetinaGuyInLubbock (USA)

I was a little leery about purchasing a camera released some 3+ years ago, but this thing is a true “prosumer” beast. I have long shot family/recreational videos on various micro 4/3 cameras, but found the zoom capabilities insufficient for capturing my middle child’s Little League baseball exploits. What a pleasant surprise to stumble upon such a well-constructed product absolutely fit for purpose. Pluses: 1/ image stabilization— BOSS is exactly that... boss! 2/ 4K picture quality- looks great on my 75” Samsung TV. Minuses (small gripes); 1/ Monitor is VERY hard to see in bright sun, almost mandating use of the eyepiece; 2/ Sony PlayMemories is an absolute shambles. It took a bit of internet sleuthing to figure out how to upload video files to my iPad/iPhone. Sony and its codecs have never played nice in the Mac universe that I inhabit. Having said that, I LOVE this camera and am altogether delighted that I trusted the reviews of other happy fanboys and girls to take the four-figure plunge. (So delighted, in fact, that I am writing this review... almost never do that.)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

AX53

FDR-AX53 20 September 2019 by Xxxxlllll (United Kingdom)

Excellent video quality, and surround sound recording, but surround recording doesn't work when you are using 4K.. Plus no internal hard drive..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Camcorder

FDR-AX53 18 September 2019 by Sensualize (United Kingdom)

I was looking for a quality camcorder for some time and my loyalty to SONY contued to bring me back to not only the brand but the AX53 which I can't fault! Amazing piece of kit! I love it and it's ease of use!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great 4K Handycam

FDR-AX53 30 August 2019 by JLT55 (United Kingdom)

I brought this handycam a month ago mainly because it has a view finder, so far I'm very pleased with the results.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camcorder

FDR-AX53 24 August 2019 by RanaImage (United Kingdom)

I am really happy with this camcorder. It does what it says on the tin.Great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

website

FDRAX53/B 18 August 2019 by Ron Ron (USA)

your website is terrible. i can't access my account after password resets.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

slow motion

FDR-AX53 26 July 2019 by whatatodoo (United Kingdom)

Very disappointing as a casual videographer. The three second auto slow motion is very poor quality. High speed recording shows very poor frame rate despite choosing the recommended format I can only see MP4 files recorded. This is after hours of trying to figure it out from various instructions. What I wanted was a point and click at say half speed with a 100fps say but it requires a degree in videodigital photography to do what is shown in utube examples. I get better results with my £126 CANON legria hf r606 where I choose half speed and point and click but the wings on large sea birds flying show multiple positions, but at least its quick, simple and good resolution.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

focus ring

FDR-AX53 24 July 2019 by Jarapah (United Kingdom)

PExcellent pice of equipment great value for money I would also add that this camera could be used proffesionalally

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good compact camcorder

FDR-AX53 18 July 2019 by Vds1 (United Kingdom)

I bought this because it had a viewfinder as I have struggled in the past to use screens when videoing in bright light. The image stabiliser works very well Sadly I was unable to edit the XAVC S HD and in with my Roxio NTX 7 software However, it did work ok with Windows Moviemaker and Windows 10

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GREAT FEATURES

FDRAX53/B 05 July 2019 by JORTHAN (USA)

AWSOME OPTICAL ZOOM AND NIGHT VISION. ALSO, THE STILL PICTURES ARE VERY HIGH QUALITY.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

decent camcorder

FDRAX53B 03 July 2019 by Yama1 (USA)

I bought this for personal use. The HD video is shot in AVCHD is amazing. However there is not much support 4K XAVC-S. Even my Sony PS4 does not play the files???

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features, quality Sony product

FDR-AX53 01 July 2019 by lenzo (United Kingdom)

I chose this product after buying other Sony equipment and have not been disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Well appointed easy to use

FDR-AX53 13 June 2019 by Stompanato (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera for general use but it has many features that would allow me to use it to make a real movie. It is not a Pro camera but it is close, considering it is a hand held "Point & Shoot" it is quite amazing & with the best Steady-cam type suspension I've come across. the only difference between this & a real pro camera is that on the pro model you can operate it manually, with this camera you can choose one manual setting for the video & put the audio into manual mode that's it everything else is automatic. that is the type of camera it is & it truly is excellent, playback the content on your 4K TV & it is as good as a broadcast picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Plane filming

FDR-AX53 10 June 2019 by nobbyt (United Kingdom)

Bought this camcorder for Aeoplane filming as the stabilizer is the best for the price out there.Would prefer the zoom rocker to be two finger rocked from front to back not side to side.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Gret upgrade from my TRV-900

FDRAX53B 05 June 2019 by spt87 (USA)

I've had this about a month now. Picture quality is amazing. I stuck with my Sony TRV-900 for a long time due to its great low light and 480i quality. I've seen video from newer cameras the the TRV-900 beat them The FDR-AX53B camera definitely blows the TRV-900 away though. Mostly I've used an external mic with it but the internal mic seems capable. Great to have modern features and 12 hours of video on 128G micro SD card

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just what I needed

FDR-AX53 04 June 2019 by Arty 67 (United Kingdom)

I haven't had it long but already I can see that it fixes a lot of my issues such as manual control of exposure and focus at the touch of a button along with the great stabilisation

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Does almost everything that I wanted

FDR-AX53 23 May 2019 by Cornish Lad (United Kingdom)

I bought this last month in order to video family celebrations, holidays and for producing short videos for my YouTube channel. The camera is much smaller and lighter than my previous models which all date back to pre 2000! Optics are great, control is simple, results are fabulous either in 4K or HD. Does almost everything that I wanted except for two small niggles and that is why it only gets 4 stars instead of 5. On all previous purchases of Sony camcorders a remote control was included as standard but, for this one, I had to search the internet in order to find and buy one. There is no onboard memory so a SD card is necessary for the camera to operate and there was not even a basic card included in the package so, again, an additional item had to be purchased just to get it to work.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very nice camcorder

FDRAX53B 29 April 2019 by VaSquire (USA)

I purchased this Sony FDRAX53 the end of March 2019. It is a very nice camera although I have only had it a month. I like the size and weight of it. Fits my hand perfectly with the adjustable hand strap. The LCD screen is very clear and bright. I did purchase a screen hood for times in direct sunlight. The pictures are bright and clear with natural color. The zoom works great as well as the focus. The sound is very good from the built in mic. I did however, purchase the extra Sony microphone. I have not, as of yet, gone through all the features of this camera but will in time. This is my first digital camcorder after having a VHS camcorder purchased in the 1980's.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Detailed, dynamic colours, limited manual control

FDR-AX53 04 March 2019 by Jedster (United Kingdom)

Only used a couple of times, solid unit, lot's of YouTube views to get a shortcut to advised settings... Surprised Lens Hood not included (for sunlight), but I like the features and sockets

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome cam

FDR-AX53 28 February 2019 by SWFLaccountabilityNews (USA)

awesome quality, the B.O.S.S system is amazing at providing a stable video while moving.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Disappointment

FDR-AX53 20 February 2019 by Fudrus (United Kingdom)

This camera makes great videos, and the sound is fairly good. But it has a fatal flaw - it is tied to a particular region. If you buy it in a PAL region, such as Europe, it records only at 50/25 FPS (plus 24 FPS). There is no way to set it to 30/60 FPS. The same is true if you buy it in an NTSC region - it records only at 60/30 FPS (plus 24 FPS). Why hobble a great product with this limitation? I want to use it for online videos, and most monitors are 60 FPS. So It would be better to record in 60/30 FPS. But I can't get the camera to do this. The other main flaw with the cameras is the zoom control over the viewfinder - very awkwardly placed and hard to control. The rest of the camera is OK, though the sound quality could be better - tends to pick up sounds from the camera. Use an external mike.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

4

0

Could do (even) better

FDR-AX53 17 February 2019 by nhm1 (United Kingdom)

I have only had this camera a few weeks and Sony are already asking for a review, which I feel is premature. I bought it mainly because I wanted to move up at least to HD, with some headroom for 4K in the future. I wanted a dedicated video camera with a viewfinder, and the current options for that are limited without going to pro level. I tried out a couple thoroughly in store and the AX53 was the one I felt most comfortable with. So far I am very happy with the quality of the video produced under a variety of conditions. The auto-focus is generally good and the stabilisation excellent. For me the poorest feature is control of the motorised zoom, which I had already identified before purchase. It is impossible to start this really gently, and quite difficult to maintain a very slow smooth speed. If you switch to zoom via the lens ring, control is better but it is well nigh impossible to zoom the whole range unless you are on a tripod. Also if you are hand holding at the telephoto end of the zoom range it is difficult to stop recording without camera shake, so you'll probably need to trim every clip. I feel these are things Sony really need to address in their control system - they are surely basics. One other silly thing which could easily be fixed is that there is an external lens protection shutter, but it is incredibly fragile and could easily be damaged even by something in the camera bag, putting the unit out of action. The first thing I bought was a filter and a lens cap - you would think Sony would at least run to including the latter for a few pence! Finally the camera produces quite an elaborate structure of folders and files on the flash card, and so far as I can see Sony offer no explanation of this anywhere! Yes I found my videos and stills but I had to go on the Forum to try to discover what some of the other stuff might be for...

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Great features

FDR-AX53 11 February 2019  (United Kingdom)

Has all the features that I want. Great picture quality at a good price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fine camera - with a few drawbacks

FDR-AX53 11 February 2019 by RB_59 (United Kingdom)

I have owned this camera just over a week and I am thrilled with the picture quality but there are a few 'operating' issues I've got to overcome: - the wind noise when outdoors in even just a breeze necessitates the use of an external microphone, I expected this; - the built in monitor has a highly reflective finish which makes for VERY difficult viewing in sunlight. I'm short sighted and the adjustment on the EVF eyepiece is insufficient to correct for my vision so I have to struggle with glasses, again making it very difficult to use. It's a shame everything is menu driven (I understand that on screen buttons mean not having to pay for hardware and therefore keeps the cost and size down) so making changes always necessitates folding out the screen. I'm still getting used to navigating my way round the menu structure but the layout is quite logical. As I said at the start, I'm new to this camera and I'm sure I'll find ways to work around the problems I've encountered, I'm very pleased with the results I get and I will be keeping the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Sony AX53

FDR-AX53 06 February 2019 by AllCarsChannel (United Kingdom)

I bought a second AX53 because i droaped my first and i damege it (after two years of using). For 800 £ it is the best camcoder wichh you can buy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great stabilisation

FDR-AX53 05 February 2019 by airshow22 (United Kingdom)

I bought this on the promise of superb stabilising for the lens, to give smooth filming of aircraft in flight. And it delivers. The smoothest I have ever seen, I think the best possible. Optical Zoom is decent, at x20, with intelligent digital still good quality around x30. Focus can be set to my choice, to avoid autofocus switching from the subject to any post, tree, cloud, etc that the subject passes by. Microphone also has settings to suppress sound close to the camera and wind noise. All features that are important to my chosen subject. Very pleased.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent pictures

FDR-AX53 25 January 2019 by Timbo55 (United Kingdom)

Can't praiuse picture quality enough, sound is great using a remote mic plugged in, less brilliant from the internal one

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera, terrible software and support.

FDR-AX53 20 January 2019 by Very disappointed user (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera to replace (update) an old Sony camcorder that I'd had for over ten years, which used old HD mini cassettes. I was very pleased with the new camera. However, when I downloaded the PlayMemories software it told me it was an update of the old Motion Picture Browser I was using and that it would remove the existing software. I already had 35 files uploaded onto my PC and assumed these would be readable by the new software (as it was said to be an "update"). However, once I loaded it, the new software refused to recognise these. I contacted their customer support who initially seemed not to understand the issue. Finally, after some chasing on my part and taking advice on theirs, they came back saying that I would have to reload all 35 tapes recorded on the previous camera, although they noted that if I did this they would only load as MP4 files, which would not maintain the quality of my original files. They specifically told me to "please be advised that these two cameras are from two different generations and it won’t be easy to transfer all the contents with the same quality." Fortunately, because I am always cautious when loading new software which removes existing software, I had backed up the old Motion Picture Browser. Once I reloaded this it sits alongside the PlayMemories software quite happily and continues to run the old files perfectly (although I can't run both programs at the same time). Sony should have been aware of this issue and I see it as very poor customer service that they remove Motion Picture Browser when their new software is incompatible with any existing files. Providing the ability to maintain usability between "different generations" is very basic customer support. So, great camera but appalling customer support. I did ask for my email exchange to be passed up to a higher level as a complaint but was told I could only do this by by writing to the European Head Office.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

3

2

0

Great quality videos especially in low light.

FDR-AX53 16 January 2019 by Electric Phil (United Kingdom)

Had this for a couple of weeks and experimented with the settings to find out what works best for me videoing bands and artistes often in low light. I am delighted at the quality video results which look a great deal better than my previous Sony CX405. Even the built in mic give very good results but I will be buying the Sony ECMXYST1M.CE7 Stereo Microphone for better stereo seperation which isn't very good on the 53. Check out my youtube page Bands & Venues Burnley & Pendle for my recent vids taken using this Handycam.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

almost a very good camcorder

FDR-AX53 09 January 2019 by pitney77 (United Kingdom)

3 months old and used to record football games. Lack of full manual controls lets this cam down plus recently auto focus has been letting me down

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

4

3

0

Very impressed it has some fantastic features

FDR-AX53 06 January 2019 by Maltabus (United Kingdom)

It was a Christmas present although I haven’t had the opportunity to use it to its fullest I am very impress and after consulting the Sony help line because of a small problem which they rectified the next day I can only say thankyou sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Camcorder that could be improved

FDR-AX53 06 January 2019 by steambuff (United Kingdom)

The picture quality is excellent but it is limited on ability to tailor the video to your requirements. If you choose one manual setting you sacrifice the rest. Also: 1. some of my more expensive accessories do not work as LANC (developed by Sony) has been abandoned on this model. 2. You must open screen to insert HDMI cable 3. Zoom button is badly placed and difficult to work smoothly without moving camera 4. No rubber eye cup for viewfinder 5. Hot shoe cover flimsy and easily broken when open Otherwise, for the money, an excellent camera. It is a camcorder that could be superb but has been built down to a price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Fantastic

FDR-AX53 24 December 2018 by lawrence1952 (United Kingdom)

I Ibought this a month ago so glad I did would recommend Sony to anyone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use excellent quality footage

FDRAX53B 24 December 2018 by Mcmt108 (USA)

This camera does more than the average person needs it to do. But the switch to 4K is a must if you broadcast video to your big screen tv or larger size pc screen. It is unacceptable to view blurry footage when the technology exists to view it in a sharp form. That is what 4K gives you. So get rid of the old camcorders and make the switch to 4K. But don’t expect to be able to easily transfer this type of footage. It takes a huge amount of memory and requires reconfiguration of the s drive to format the card to transfer the video. However you can film simultaneously in mp4 and 4K and transfer the mp4 with ease. As a young person with children I would only buy a 4K camcorder. Sony makes excellent film equipment because they are in the movie business.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very pleased

FDR-AX53 18 December 2018 by echo mike (United Kingdom)

Have this a month now and it is living up to expectations. best of all the batteries are the same type as my older model . it is a great idea that Sony keep using the same type of connection

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing picture, easy to use.

FDRAX53B 13 December 2018 by JimboD (USA)

I bought this camera for recording my children's basketball games. I was using a Handycam before I purchased this one. There is a dramatic difference between the two. When reviewing games with my kids and team, we can see the picture clearly without any difficulties. I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Perfect Camcorder for 2016

FDR-AX53 14 November 2018 by GaryX1001 (USA)

i bought this Camcorder 2016 and it was worth every penny. I want a new one now with HDR, 4K 60/50p and the great Video stabilization!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Quality product

FDR-AX53 12 November 2018 by bob 001 (United Kingdom)

I was looking to upgrade my present camcorder to a 4k with viewfinder.This was the only model in stock with viewfinder which is essential for videoing motor sports.The quality of image is brilliant but the best feature is the stabilisation system,rock steady picture even at full zoom! Also i recorded the local firework display in fireworks display option,amazing picture and sound quality.So far very pleased with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very good camera, low light exceptional shots

FDRAX53/B 10 November 2018 by Ogreworks (USA)

Took a bit to understand things but overall this is a really good camera. Lowlight and night vision . Autofocus doesn't struggle and I"ve done alot of concerts and moving shots. Can't complain at all. Hand grip is a tad uncomfortable for the larger hands.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Getting to grips with its many (Clear) features

FDR-AX53 09 November 2018 by Newtonairds (United Kingdom)

I have only begun to try my new AX53 but already find it so easy to operate. The still photographs are just so clear. For me - A worth-while buy

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

1

0

0

Hk sony

FDR-AX53 02 November 2018 by Ian37 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a week ago and I am very pleased with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome Surprise in a Handheld 4K

FDRAX53/B 07 October 2018 by Michaelangelo (USA)

I'm just a novice videographer, all thumbs. I bought this 4K Handycam because I saw it had a Zeiss lens and when I was using cameras in The Bronx, as a child, I knew it was good. Well, it was more amazing than amazing. The resolution rocked my New York socks.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Better than the AX33

FDR-AX53 22 September 2018 by Toastandjam (United Kingdom)

They’ve managed to improve something that was already good. Like the extra zoom capacity and the active steady shot support.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

One of the very best photo tools for any occasion

FDRAX53/B 05 September 2018  (USA)

Linda tasked doing the videos while I aimed at the stills for our trip to BOTSWANA last year and ALASKA WILDERNESS this year. The AX53 could not have been more effective, easy to use, somewhat easy to upload to our iPAD and computers. The 600MM ZOOM is awesome. Able to reach the distant leopards, lions, wild dogs in BOTSWANA and to reach the bald eagles and bears and all kinds of water animals and birds... ALSO ... great to capture young grandchildren...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

A good camera but a couple of things to highlight.

FDR-AX53 30 August 2018 by Geek Street (United Kingdom)

I'm a YouTuber and was looking take my recordings to 4K and improve stability / quality. This camera is pretty good in terms of picture quality and has amazing zoom with optical and digital you get 250x zoom, but I was let down by a couple of points you can't select the intelligent stabilization in 4K and also recording in 5.1 Dolby surround in 4K which is a bit of a disappointment, but in general I'm still pleased with it. I've done a review of this camera including sample footage for YouTube you can find it by searching for ‘Geek Street Sony FDR-AX53’.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Quality high end camcorder!

FDRAX53B 29 August 2018 by grainfarmer (USA)

I bought this to digitize our old family home movies taken back in the 1960's. Wow, did it ever do a great job recording with great clarity and vibrant colors. It is easy to use and has many features to allow creativity. I am so impressed with the feel of the camera in my hand, made with quality and precision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SONY YOU CAN FILL ME

FDR-AX53 25 August 2018 by Aibek (USA)

SONY YOU CAN FILL ME, Sony is my favorite electronic company.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1