157

4.2 based on 157 customer reviews

84
45
12
7
9
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

HDRCX405/B 28 April 2015  (USA)

easy to work, little problems on the menu otherwise very functional

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Be cautious with the reviews!

HDR-CX405 21 May 2018 by Kel1203 (United Kingdom)

I feel I have been cheated by the reviews - the sound is rubbish and some say it's brilliant! Such a lie. I used it to interview people and you have to max the TV/PC volume to hear it, the camcorder is generally ok and easy to use, but this is a massive let down. And you can't even attached a mic. If you want it for anything closeup, then this is a winner. I bought this because it can film for a longer period than my max of 30 minute canon camera, but if you 'pause' enough it will be fine - I wish I used my camera instead and certainly will do so in the future.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

160 Customer Reviews

0

Good Features!

HDRCX405/B 15 October 2019 by Tho Le (USA)

I bought it four months ago, and I've been in like with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Feels cheap and nasty.

HDR-CX405 09 October 2019 by BGFR (United Kingdom)

I bought this video camera recently. It really does feel cheap and nasty although it produces reasonably good videos and snaps. I am surprised at Sony compromising their good name by marketing such a plastic and flimsy product.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

First use impressions

HDRCX405/B 06 October 2019 by KGKSYR (USA)

Bought if just before a wedding, user's manual could be more helpful but overall was fairly easy to record videos. The screen images while shooting in low light conditions seemed better than the playback images and the autofocus was having some difficulty but overall I was pleased with the results. The zoom feature was great, really zoomed in well considering how light and compact the unit is . Still need to figure out how to edit and splice all the segments into one smooth flowing video. It is almost too small and too light to keep steady and controls are pretty small for anyone with large hands. Excellent picture quality in well lit conditions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb range and quality images on video

HDR-CX405 23 September 2019 by Reidyclan (United Kingdom)

We bought this for a long planned bush safari where we would be travelling a lot and needed lightweight products. The video features and zoom are great. Very lightweight and superb to use , even for a left handed. Photos were a lot trickier and needed more practice so suggest do that before leave so you know how to get razor sharp images, otherwise you will be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awsome

HDR-CX405 07 September 2019 by Stiggs (United Kingdom)

Awesome cam loads of options in the menus easy to use check out my review on YouTube the Drone novice.... And the Urban Cook....... Excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact and powerful

HDRCX405/B 03 August 2019 by Kim G (USA)

I absolutely love this handycam and the clarity of the video/photos is great. The zoom feature is good as well.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

great video quality!

HDRCX405/B 13 July 2019 by Anthony10101 (USA)

this camera is amazing for youtube and other video sharing sites.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

good images

HDR-CX405 09 July 2019 by Dixon5 (United Kingdom)

Only purchased this recently and, as a first time user of the product, it is taking some time to get familiar with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

what a sweet unit you are!!

HDRCX405/B 05 July 2019 by scraps 855 (USA)

great camcorder!!!! light,compact,60xzoom is wonderfull.clarity when recording is as sharp and clear as my tv.thanks sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good camera for a cheap price

HDR-CX405 29 June 2019 by Dsfinnegan (USA)

I no longer have this camera anymore, as I have sold it, however, I did have a good time using this camera. Very good video quality and good image stabilization. However, I wasn't huge with the autofocus clicking noise during video. It's not loud, but it is noticeable when you listen closely. For anyone looking for a cheap camcorder with good video quality, I would recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camcorder

HDRCX405B 26 June 2019 by BDT24 (USA)

This camcorder is easy to use and video is awesome

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Litle Unit

HDR-CX405 26 June 2019 by Lemac (United Kingdom)

I bought this for a specific event and I have not been let down by the ease of use and clarity of recorded items

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good Quality HD video

HDRCX405B 16 June 2019 by CeP CIO (USA)

I wish it had a WIFI and remote included as items shipped and not something to try and find and buy as after thought

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Handy and efficient

HDRCX405B 27 May 2019 by characterShort (USA)

Easy to use, great image. 26 character too short huh? Well don't get so snippy!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing camera for the price

HDR-CX405 08 May 2019 by Gusgib (United Kingdom)

Twenty years ago I purchased a Sony Mini DV Camcorder for Nine hundred pounds...it was brilliant! It had loads of features and I loved it but technology moves on and for a fraction of the cost I have a better picture with a fantastic optical zoom.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

simple operation

HDRCX405B 02 May 2019 by old goat (USA)

got this camera when my grandson started jv baseball, then onto varsity ! I have filmed 8 games so far with excellent results. easy to use great zoom and very good quality video ! for the price can't be beat !

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

what abt mic input...

HDR-CX405 17 April 2019 by JacobA07 (USA)

i have not had this nor used it, but i can already tell that it does not have a mic input, and am ery dissapointed, would like to see the same cam, but with a mic input for like, 20 more bucks...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Has staying power

HDRCX405/B 14 April 2019 by Sucks2bu (USA)

Left it out in the rain and frost. Works like new

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small, good quality picture.

HDRCX405B 31 March 2019 by Billlll (USA)

Nice size camera but it was impossible for me to transfer the movies onto my iMac. This even after downloading the program and spending an hour on the phone with tech support.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

simplicity

HDR-CX405 10 March 2019 by jd1234 (United Kingdom)

great camera does it all ,great pictures and video .light and easy to use even for a novice .had the older version did look at cheaper 4k alternative,but went with sony as its always been reliable recommended

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

JUNK Do not waste your money

HDR-CX405 10 March 2019 by dc255 (USA)

Camera does not read SD card correctly. Keep getting the same error with different cards "reinsert card" Camera is not even a year old.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great for expedition

HDR-CX405 10 March 2019 by Hammy Hamster (United Kingdom)

I bought a similar earlier model 7 years ago for expeditions and used successfully on Kilimanjaro in freezing temperatures and again on Mt Kenya, in heat and dust of African bush. I bought this new one for Mt Meru as mobile phone technology has improved and I wanted better quality videos. My old one is still in good working order I gave to my Kenyan guide friend - he is thrilled with it and we used the zoom feature to spot animals as well as filing. How does the new one compare to the old model. It does add more clicks to start filming which makes it slower to use but quick button to take a still whilst on video setting is useful. The lens cover is manual on this model but auto on old model. Only fault with old model was dust made lens cover stick open so happy to have manual. I took several batteries and high resolution media chip. Changing batteries was easy but did not need to change chip even though took loads of lengthy videos. I am pleased with the quality of the stills and videos which is what I wanted, better stability on zoom. This is a very affordable handy cam. A bit lighter and seems less substantial than earlier model, but performed well. Ideal for wearing strapped over shoulder for mountain trips with easy to get out and film quickly so just what I wanted. Enjoying sharing with my friends thousands of miles away and keeping memories fresh. Very happy - the picture is mobile phone shot of Samson and I both happy with 7 year old and current purchase- we are now sharing great pics and videos thousands of miles apart but close in great memories and planning our next expedition

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good value for money

HDR-CX405 07 March 2019 by Ella1812 (United Kingdom)

Have used this twice to record sporting activity both indoors and outside and very happy with it. Would prefer not to have to download into Sony specific software on computer but overall very happy. Its very lightweight and doesn't feel like it would cope with many knock and bumps, but thats easily handled by decent carrying case.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Terrible auto focus for hockey games

HDRCX405B 12 February 2019 by StrikingBerserker (USA)

I live stream high school and youth hockey games. I purchased this camera to replace my Sony HDR-CX260 as I broke the HDMI port in the older camera. The HDR-CX260 did a very nice job of videoing hockey games and I was able to stream at 1080P with very sharp results.But the auto-focus for the HDR -CX408B is horrible. The only it focuses when I zoom in tightly on something on the ice, but when I zoom out, it loses focus. Yes, it is in auto focus, not manual. I sent it in for repair and came back "calibrated" but with the same problem. I have sent it in again. So I have to run out and buy a different camera, a Panasonic HC-V180. This camera does a nice job of auto-focusing during hockey games, but it does not out-put to the HDMI when recording. This was a nice feature so I could record shorter segments live, during the live stream.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

4

0

It Does What It Said

HDRCX405B 21 January 2019 by dreynolds (USA)

It is serving the purpose. I have to educate myself on cameras. I needed one with a mic input, that was the $400 one.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Slow to focus

HDRCX405/B 18 January 2019 by StrikingBerserker (USA)

I bought this camcorder to replace a Sont HDR-CX260 as I broke the mini HDMI port. This new camcorder is slower to focus and loses focus as compared to the older sony camcorder.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Stops recording randomly.

HDR-CX405 19 December 2018 by Htown878 (USA)

I liked most everything sbout this camera but over 4 times as I was recording the screen turns off and the recording stops after only a few minutes of recording. I always have full charges so im pretty sure it is not a battery issue. I have to fold the screen down and close and then reopen the lens to try to get the screen back on and then try to press record again. Sometimes even then I have to try to restart it all together. I do not move the camera much when recording either so I don't think a loose flip screen sensor or ill-fitting sd port either. Idk. Maybe mine is just defective. I would like support to contact me on this matter as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Cant get MTS converted to DVD. Makes this junk.

HDRCX405/B 04 December 2018 by Spotty (USA)

Great pictures and audio but CANT GET MTS CONVERTED . This is junk it is so diffucult to transfer to DVD. and as of yet you software does not work either.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Light Weight and easy to use

HDR-CX405 12 November 2018 by Nccollector (USA)

This is an awesome camcorder. Small enough to take anywhere and very easy to use. Purchase to take vacation videos instead of using smart phone. Not much bigger than my S9 and takes excallant video.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Nice compact camera

HDR-CX405 12 November 2018 by Mavis66 (United Kingdom)

Bought this for a recent holiday and it was very good. It is very light and compact and very easy to use. As soon as you open the side cover the camera starts up and closes down when you close it. Very simple to use and not as complicated as our previous one. The only downside is that you have to manually open and close the lense cover and it is easy to forget when you have finished filming and it would be easy to damage the lense. Also it would be handy to have some kind of strap on it and we had to buy a case for it too. However I suppose that would be normal for the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good Camera

HDRCX405/B 12 November 2018 by Josekamey (USA)

I bought this camera because before that, a friend bought one and showed it to me and I liked it ... The only thing that my friend connected to the Internet via a Gatolink, And I do not know if you can connect to the internet directly through my laptop , and in the specifications I can not find that information or if I need an app to be detected on my laptop.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

HDRCX405/B 11 November 2018 by Playmaker (USA)

So easy to use and show great pictures and videos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No Pause

HDRCX405/B 11 November 2018 by Brigittec7 (USA)

Just bought today, because my iPhone 6s Plus has no pause via video recorder. Neither does this SONY! Very annoyed with sales people at Bestbuy.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

simple to use

HDR-CX405 07 October 2018 by 78max (United Kingdom)

A fine example of ingenuity in this technical world that we live in, this Handycam has all the features that you will need for every video recording you make, the results are outstanding,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Camera Good- Sony Micro card a Disaster!!

HDR-CX405 28 August 2018 by Clive16 (United Kingdom)

Have bought this camera for a once in a lifetime family trip to Australia. All went well - camera easy to use- compact and captured some great family moments. Then disaster. Had specifically bought a Sony micro sd card 32gb and the camera said I had another 52 minutes recording time left. Had a meeting with an old school friend and the following day on our hotel roof pool area and recorded as normal with no obvious issues. But when I went to playback, all the meeting video and pool top area were not on the card. Took it to a specialised camera shop in Sydney. They confirmed the camera was fine and that there was 10gb left on the card but could not explain why it did not record, as I had not touched any editing buttons. Had to but a new 32gb card for this evenings family meeting, but all that with my old school friend who I will not be seeing again is lost.Not what I expected from a Sony product.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

2

0

Loving my video camera

HDR-CX405 11 August 2018 by Vlassya (United Kingdom)

I am using my Handycam HDR-CX405 since December 2017 when I got it. I love how it works. It just does a great job. It takes very good video shots, and also very good photos. I'm happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good Camera For the Money

HDR-CX405 23 July 2018 by DSHinNC1969 (USA)

My JVC that I have had for 9 years, suddenly died, and I needed another one quick, with a vacation coming up in just a few weeks. I wanted to get one that I could experiment with for a few weeks, so as to be familiar with it by the time we go on our trip. I have been looking at several camcorders, and finally decided on this one, due to the price. I was afraid I was going to "get what I paid for", as I had read several mixed reviews on this particular camcorder. Some reviews said it was GREAT, considering the very fair price it has, and others said it was terrible. Even among professional reviews, one gave it an "F" for picture quality, and the other went on and on about how great the picture was. Even on YouTube, some people did their review, with the video quality looking very nice, and others had a video that did not look good at all. So, I decided to take a chance on it, and if I didn't like it, I would just return it. Well, I have been trying it out today, and even burned a Blu-ray disc with the files. I have to say, I am satisfied with the video quality. It does not look any less clear or crisp, than my JVC, which I paid $649.99 for. Now, whether or not I will get the same length of service from this one, remains to be seen. I do a lot of recording. We shall see. But as for now, I would recommend this product, as a great value for the money. A few negatives... I found the menu somewhat confusing to use, and to find how to change the shooting modes to various scenes..."Sunset", "Landscape", etc. I would have thought that the shooting modes would be listed and changeable under "Shooting Modes" on the menu. But no. Its under "Camera/Mic". A couple of other minor issues with the menu, as well, that I am learning and will eventually figure out. One thing about Sony, in particular...I like their products, and have always had good results with their stuff. But the User's Manuals they supply you with, are a joke. I purchased a Sony DSLR camera in 2016, and it was the same way...a camera with a lot of features, that you are just expected to "know", and Sony sees no need to give you a User's Manual worth anything. I wrote to them then about that, and they gave me some online links with further information that was helpful. But why can't that be IN THE USERS'S MANUAL?? Just one good reason? Sony told me then, that I can "go online" for more information. But what about when I'm on vacation, and don't have internet handy, but I COULD carry my User's Manual in the camera case, and have it handy?. Evidently, Sony didn't take that to heart, because the User's Manual in this camcorder is about as much of a joke as the one I got with my DSLR. Come on, Sony...This isn't rocket science. When people buy your product, they might want to know of its features, and how to utilize them. With the manuals you give people now, I don't see why you bother. Just enclose a sheet of paper that says "Thank you for purchasing our product. Good luck figuring it out".

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Great for international travel

HDRCX405/B 20 July 2018 by MissBetsy (USA)

We bought this for a trip abroad instead of taking our larger camera and it was perfect - compact and easy for packing - took excellent photos and videos - love it! Charging it the first time was a challenge due to the compact design, but once you know how, it is a genius design!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

easy to use

HDRCX405/B 01 July 2018 by netterboy (USA)

have had other older versions of camcorders and was surprised how well this is working out. would have preferred more instruction on how to edit on camcorder or computer but camcorder is working great and battery lasts a long time. great value for money. not sure wifi or projection capabilities are needed so went with entry level camcorder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Really like this camera!

HDRCX405/B 30 June 2018 by TMS1 (USA)

Just took this on a cruise ands shot lots of spur of the moment video and still pictures, and everyone was a quality shor and the video was crystal clear. Really easy to use and editing with it was easy to do

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great product

HDR-CX405 29 June 2018 by Monika12 (United Kingdom)

I got this camera for Christmas. Using very often mainly home videos. Very happy so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sony cx405

HDRCX405/B 20 June 2018 by Solepia (USA)

So happy with this camera and easy to use and pretty light to carry around

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Easy to handle

HDRCX405/B 16 June 2018 by Eleere (USA)

Great images, good photos, good zooming and easy to manage

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really easy to use

HDR-CX405 12 June 2018 by DaddyBear123 (United Kingdom)

Bought this last month to video our school's sporting fixtures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sucks...Never purchase Sony again

HDRCX405/B 08 June 2018 by JohnP123 (USA)

I bought this a month ago for a trip overseas. Coukld not use the zoom featuyre because the video shook uncontrolably. Even when using a tripod. Sucks. Very upset because I relied on this to record important details and could only pan out to the widest to make is usable.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

3

0

easy to use and very light weight camcorder!

HDRCX405/B 22 May 2018 by Eugene 2000 (USA)

very easy to use and light weight camcorder. Good and sharp image quality with such a low price to invest.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Be cautious with the reviews!

HDR-CX405 21 May 2018 by Kel1203 (United Kingdom)

I feel I have been cheated by the reviews - the sound is rubbish and some say it's brilliant! Such a lie. I used it to interview people and you have to max the TV/PC volume to hear it, the camcorder is generally ok and easy to use, but this is a massive let down. And you can't even attached a mic. If you want it for anything closeup, then this is a winner. I bought this because it can film for a longer period than my max of 30 minute canon camera, but if you 'pause' enough it will be fine - I wish I used my camera instead and certainly will do so in the future.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Top class product

HDR-CX405 10 May 2018 by bern the bolt (United Kingdom)

This camera is light to carry,easy to use and produces outstanding results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Just the right size!

HDR-CX405 01 May 2018 by lululu cannock (United Kingdom)

I have had this a couple of weeks but the weather has not been good so I have not used it. It looks good and seems simple to operate and easy to switch from video to photo= the easier the better for me. The size is just right to slip into you pocket or a small bag - ideal for holidays. Wish it had come with a case!

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

1

0

0

great features

HDRCX405/B 21 April 2018 by izzy652468 (USA)

great for recording, easy to use and nice look. love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Youtube Starter Camera

HDRCX405/B 09 April 2018 by Myri Jaz Perez (USA)

Nice Xmas present to start off my Youtube channel.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Easy use, good quality.

HDRCX405B 30 March 2018 by basketball mom (USA)

I bought this camera to video my son's high school basketball games. Quality is great. I don't use a tri-pod, too much to drag in and out of gyms with sometimes no space. videos are very smooth. The camera is super light to hold the entire game, sometimes even two games, JV and Varsity. Love it. Downloading is easy, I am not a tech person. Quick off and on. Occasionally I would need to close the view screen and open it again to start back up, this took only seconds.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent product

HDRCX405/B 21 March 2018 by Juanma88 (USA)

i bought this a three months ago and its amazing. good quality, very slim and confortable to use.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A little early to comment but.....

HDR-CX405 18 March 2018 by Roc the Curmudgeon (United Kingdom)

I have only had the camera a few weeks and so far it performs adequately compared to my old Sony Camera. I am concerned that it is so flimsy whilst it is very light weight will it stand up to everyday knocks that my old camera sustained without damage?

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

ok - kinda cheap - difficult to transfer files

HDRCX405/B 12 March 2018 by 3426 (USA)

ok - kinda cheap - difficult to transfer files to computer

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great product

HDRCX405B 03 March 2018 by Darrell8 (USA)

Great product! User friendly, great picture quality and love the design.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small and simple to use

HDRCX405B 01 March 2018 by Davidd108 (USA)

I have had it for a few weeks and it is just hat I was looking for. Simple, small, takes good video and audio is good even without a mic port.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Cool light weight camcorder

HDR-CX405 10 February 2018 by Geoffnewblue (United Kingdom)

A great little camera super light weight and easy to use. Auto settings with face detection is a pain so turned it off but the other features work well

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

HDR-CX405 25 January 2018 by MaryDC (United Kingdom)

This camera is so easy to use and light in weight too.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb easy to use product

HDR-CX405 08 January 2018 by Mylakotachris (United Kingdom)

Brilliant, used it at Christmas and for a party afterwards, uploaded and set to disc with so much ease.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Using it for my Karate curriclum

HDRCX405B 08 January 2018 by agelesskarate (USA)

I am quite impressed with this product. Only because most cams are from the 90s we all use our phones now. So its nice to have something from the balst of our past. But its very modern and sleek and affordable for what you can do with it. Its handheld and you can move around with it too. The micro chip you can get at 64 gigs and extra batter packs is recommended if your doing big projects. Anyways thanks SONY love your products you can check out our curriculum at Ageless Martial Arts Las Vegas on youtube for more info about us.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great basic camcorder.

HDRCX405B 27 December 2017 by ScottInSC (USA)

All the reviews on this camcorder were great and it has lived up to it. Great video quality, lightweight, easy to use... Can't believe that you get all this for the price. WIFI connectivity would be nice but that is in the next model.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ease of use

HDR-CX405 25 December 2017 by Avalon (United Kingdom)

I bought this product to video my great granddaughter's growing progress

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony camcorder

HDRCX405B 04 December 2017 by Tommy1947 (USA)

a good HD camcorder. Sony is what was on my mind when I went looking.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

GOOD CAM, NEED MORE PIXEL AND WIFI CONNECTION

HDRCX405B 03 December 2017 by SIDDIQ (USA)

GOOD CAM, NEED MORE PIXEL AND WIFI CONNECTION TO TRANSFER FILE ONLINE, NEED TOUCH SCREEN

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

for my son's soccer games

HDRCX405B 19 November 2017 by moon7sun6 (USA)

I don't know yet I will use it tomorrow for my son's soccer games

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

5

0

Great little camera

HDR-CX405 17 November 2017 by SallyAction (United Kingdom)

I bought this for business use to film short video clips for our website and it is very easy to use, produces excellent quality video footage and is ultra light weight. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a good quality basic camcorder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

So easy to use

HDRCX405B 12 November 2017 by Dave747 (USA)

I was surprised at how light in your hand this camera is and the controls are right where they should be.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great features and simple to use!

HDRCX405B 12 November 2017 by Mazola (USA)

I needed a video recorder to record my daughter's concerts at college. This was very inexpensive and does everything I need. The instructions are very easy to follow and the playback is very clear, both video and audio. I have had more expensive camcorders before, but they had features that I never used. I really like the USB cord attached directly to the camera. This helps prevent having to search for cables! I can just record the concert and when I get home, I just plug in the camera and download the video. I can even edit the video with the free software!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome for short films

HDRCX405/B 04 October 2017 by Darrell J (USA)

This is an awesome product, very easy to use very awesome

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I am happy with the cam.

HDRCX405/B 25 September 2017 by Muscle man (USA)

It is easy to use. It offers great value. I highly recommend it to any one who wants a cheap cam.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very stylish

HDR-CX405 20 September 2017  (United Kingdom)

This will replace a very old Sony camcorder that has seen better days and stopped working

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0