28

3.9 based on 28 customer reviews

16
2
4
2
4
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Exceptional Pocket Radio

ICF-P26 03 July 2017 by Ken Indy (USA)

When I was a kid, a "transistor radio," as we called them then, was my constant companion on the go, on my bike, by my bed, and everywhere else. Now in the era of smartphones and tablets there are a variety of other personal entertainment options, but sometimes a pocket radio is exactly what you want, and this one is fantastic. It sounds great for a radio of its size, the batteries last essentially forever, it's simple to use, it looks sleek, and it gets excellent reception on both the FM and AM bands. A lot of the other small radios available now are cheaply made and barely work, so it's great to see that Sony is still making a high-quality one.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Broke within 6 months

ICF-P26 10 October 2018 by NSK2016 (USA)

I've had numerous radios from Sony over the years and loved all of them. This is the first Sony radio I've had that was a dud. The reception is fine and the sound is fine, and I like the design, but the volume knob broke within 6 months of ownership. I was on my second set of batteries and the volume knob stopped working. The slightest touch of the volume knob either makes the radio go full blast or so quiet it's not worth listening to. There's no in between. I bought this radio at Best Buy and unfortunately did not save the receipt, but I really wish somebody from Sony would get in touch with me for a warranty replacement. I can send in the defective radio. Like I said, I've been buying Sony literally my entire life without the slightest problem until now. I hope Sony steps up to the plate and takes care of this.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

28 Customer Reviews

0

Clear music

ICFP26 12 June 2020 by Deb71 (USA)

It works great in my office; can get the radio stations I like

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Volume Problems

ICF-P26 09 June 2020 by ThomasY (USA)

I have purchased two of these radios and I love every thing about the radio except the Volume control has gone bad on both of them. Both have uncontrollable volume, it goes from quite to very loud while trying to adjust the volume control. They both seemed to operate OK for a little while then both ended up doing the same thing. Would like to have another one but unsure after buying two that have had the same problem. I like SONY but have ad very bad luck with these two.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An AM/FM pocket size radio still comes in handy !

ICFP26 01 June 2020 by rcv1951 (USA)

Great size & style. Sony is a company you can trust ! Radio has nice clear sound. The "wheel" tuner works great (I prefer it so much more than the "digital)." Puts out a nice clear sound with my headphones too ! I looked at a lot of radios on-line, and this was definitely the best value for the money. I would highly recommend it to anyone !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

DO NOT BUY THIS RADIO!!

ICFP26 21 April 2020 by meshugganeh (USA)

I have 3 if them and they do not work properly. $60.00 wasted. I request a refund!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

FM reception is horrible!

ICFP26 11 February 2020 by SowbellyCanoe (USA)

I bought this radio for its long battery life and because I heard it has great AM reception. It does. I`m very happy with AM on this radio. However, FM is utterly defective with one station covering most of the dial with images (I`m out in the country too!), and this is the 2nd MADE IN CHINA radio in a row that I`ve bought which was defective. Amazon has a great return policy. Unfortunately for me the nearest UPS store is an hour away from my home. I would have to travel aprox TWO HOURS to return this. The other radio I bought from another company was defective on AM. I still have it. The company refused to send me one that functioned properly. I left a 5 star review for this Sony radio on Amazon because of the incredible AM reception. I should have tried the FM band first. Please send me a radio that works. I have an AM/SW radio blog and I sing the praises of radios I love. I love the AM reception on this Sony but I can`t recommend it to others as an emergency radio if the FM band is defective. Are all of them like this?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

WORST RADIO EVER

ICF-P26 23 January 2020 by apostolis b (USA)

it is the worst radio ever made!!!! Dont spent your money, dont buy it before listen it. the sound with headphones DOESNT WORK !! You cant hear anything! The volume quality is so poor by headphones and so low too.The station roll button lost the position all the time!! You cant hear the station clearly. When you change the volume you hear annoying noise ! All these are factory and built problems.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Very Good Sound.

ICFP26 19 January 2020 by Herb78 (USA)

I bought this SONY AM/FM Pocket Radio today, because I have previously your Product and I am very satisfied with it, despite, it is an older version of this Pocket Radio.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good reception, clear sound, great for listening

ICF-P26/BC E 19 January 2020 by Ken 1106 (Singapore)

Settle down with SONY portable radio, it is reliable, clear sound and stable reception. Very ideal for everyday listening

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great quality radio

ICF-P26/BC E 18 January 2020 by Lim CK (Singapore)

Sound quality and reception is clear and crisp, very sharp tuning.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Calming and relaxing. Excellent Radio

ICFP26 17 October 2019 by Hi2019 (USA)

Very pleased with the quality of Sony's personal radio.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

unacceptable

ICF-P26 11 October 2019 by Jim of NY (USA)

This radio has some good features - tuning in stations is easy, for example. But I've had two of them, and in both - soon after the warranty expired - the volume control failed. I'm using one of them now, but when I turn the volume up, it may go down, and vice versa. To get the volume I want, I have to cover the speaker with the palm of one hand (to protect myself against unwanted blasts of sound) and fiddle with the volume control, and eventually I'll get the volume I want. What a piece of garbage.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

5

0

0

Poorly designed volume control for am/fm -ICF-26

ICF-P26 04 August 2019 by Cop509 (USA)

Sony replaced with new unit, but same problem within a year for each. Volume will not go beyond mid-range without "breaking up". This unit has not been abused in any way.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Well Built

ICFP26 25 June 2019 by QUEVOY88 (USA)

Bought this unit to replace an older model and for it's features.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Awesome product!

ICFP26 03 May 2019 by Lenslady60 (USA)

Sometimes you just need an old school radio. This little Sony fits the ticket perfectly, with extras.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Nice portable transistor radio

ICFP26 10 March 2019 by Dannno (USA)

Nice portable radio to use anytime. Clear sounding speaker has plenty of volume for a portable. Nice features are the low battery indicator and the station strength lights, Also the fact that the batteries last 100 hours!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1