659

4.4 based on 659 customer reviews

468
95
46
22
28
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

outstanding OLED TV display

164 cm (65") 30 June 2021  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This Sony BRAVIA XR Series A80J has an outstanding OLED display that is HDR10, HLG, and Dolby Vision compatibility which offers a wide color gamut. This is my 4th OLED screen and it is the biggest among my devices. For details review you can easily search them in the web but right now, I just want to share my personal option after owning it for 2 weeks. The OLED display delivers intense contrast with pure blacks and natural colors at its best, no question about it, but the screen brightness can better even though the spec says it is higher than its predecessor. Not sure about the all new Cognitive Processor XR but it seems to be on par with other brand’s processor. The TV comes with BRAVIA XR HDMI 2.1-enabled 4K / 120 Hz ports which is great but only 2 out of 4 HDMI ports are capable of delivering it and one of it is the ARC/eARC which to me is a huge let down. It comes with total 3 USB ports and even a button to switch on/off the mic for google search. With Acoustic Surface Audio+, the screen is the speaker and it is outstanding. I can’t imagine how it sounds from the TV panel that produce sound from the entire screen until I personally experience it. I must say it has more realistic sound and exceptionally clear dialog than my old TV and I don’t really miss my sound bar. The remote has an average placing of buttons and shortcuts but how I wish it is back-lit just like the Sony higher model. I tried to wall-mount the TV and due to the placement of the “VESA” port, it will be higher and that leave a big space between the TV and the console table. It can be bad or good, depending on how big your sound bar is. Overall it is a good Sony OLED TV and I have no regrets getting it. Due to this COVID-19 and WFH status, I found myself consuming more contents from A80J than my old TV and so do my family members for many years to come. Cheers

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Problematic TV, great with set top box!

164 cm (65") 30 October 2021 by DocN (United Kingdom)

I bought this Sony Bravia XR65A84JU mainly to use connected to a Humax PVR, rather than as a TV, as we like being able to pause and rewind live TV. We bought this model for the quality of the picture and the sound, along with the fact that you get decent sound without the need to buy an additional sound bar. With that in mind we have not been disappointed and, in combination with our Humax box, we have a really good system. However, if you are buying this just for use as a TV, then are things you need to be aware of. Currently, it may provide less then your old TV, as, firstly, there is no YouView, just a form of Freeview, so no catch-up TV apps, no BBCi player and ITV Hub. There was meant to be an update this year to provide catch-up TV, but there is no sign of that (now end of October, 2021) and the year is nearly over. Also, there is no BBC red button, so no tele-text either. Not all the additional Internet Internet Data Channels you get with freeview are available either while others do not always work. The built-in apps , such as Netflix, Amazon TV, etc. seem to work OK. However I am not too sure about apps that you add in. I have had some problems with the Plex app playing some of the recording/films on my server, that my Roku and Amazon Fire sticks have no problems with. Overall, for the price of the TV it seems very limited and far too “buggy”. Not what you may be expecting from a Sony and certainly not at this price. It seems that Sony, in concentrating on excellence in picture quality, may have forgotten about the more basic aspects of this range of TVs. So, in summary if you are using it with a set top box you will be pleased, but if you want reliable, bug-free, smart TV with catch up then this is not it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

687 Customer Reviews

Models

0

Superb picture and at last a true smart tv!

139 cm (55") 08 December 2021 by sonytony (United Kingdom)

As per the title, great tv. Only shortcomings - iplayer not available yet or other tv apps, really need all options including media players.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Outstanding TV

65" class (64.5" diag) 08 December 2021 by MimiDRC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Such an outstanding 65" TV, model XR-65A80J. Sony is the best for all consumer electronics. The picture is so exact and clear we see expressions or motions which went unseen on our Samsung. It feels as though the movie characters are the room with us. Also, no other speakers are needed with this sound quality. We are thrilled!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great tv

164 cm (65") 08 December 2021 by trev3009 (United Kingdom)

Great picture and features. I would highly recommend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

ony - A80J | BRAVIA XR | OLED | 4K Ultra HD | High

164 cm (65") 08 December 2021 by LB2022 (United Kingdom)

I bought the Sony TV a few weeks ago, the screen image, detail and sound are great. The sound is great just using tV without an additional soundbar. really great for watching movies and sport.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb quality

139 cm (55") 08 December 2021 by Orris53 (United Kingdom)

Just 'window shopping' for a future TV purchase. We were blown away with the quality of picture and sound offered. The ability to adjust sound quality is so important to assure good viewing with some of the drama's being aired. We now watch shows without deafening the whole house! And it's made in the UK.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it

139 cm (55") 08 December 2021 by Jocean (United Kingdom)

Bought this couple of weeks back, absolutely love it, picture is brilliant, especially with my PS5.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony 65inch OLED HDR Smart TV

164 cm (65") 08 December 2021 by Rabk (United Kingdom)

I purchase this of Currys a Nov 2021 been running it now into 4th week I still have not discovered all what this TV has to offer Sound and Picture are on a different level than your standard 4k TV say the least I am gob smack at the quality of this TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Google TV

139 cm (55") 08 December 2021 by Jobra77 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Picture and color quality did not meet expectation. In fact very disappointed having paid so much. Sony workshop for cameras, why not high end tv.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great

164 cm (65") 08 December 2021 by Az tech77 (United Kingdom)

I am enjoying its picture quality and ease of use and sound is good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV

77" class (76.7" diag) 07 December 2021 by ultrahawg (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an upgrade from a Sony 65" LED TV. Larger size is nice and the colors and contrast is amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony tv

164 cm (65") 07 December 2021 by Lee 73 (United Kingdom)

I recently purchased this tv ,great picture and sound but very disappointed that this tv doesn’t come with the catch up tv like bbc i player and itv hub.would have expected these as standard.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

TO DIFFICULT TO SET UP

139 cm (55") 07 December 2021 by ANOYED OF TAUNTON (United Kingdom)

PICTURE AND SOUND ARE GREAT EVERY THING ELSE IS SHOCKING

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

fab u lass

139 cm (55") 07 December 2021 by johnny253 (United Kingdom)

having always bought sony after research i decided on A80j oled easy to set up brilliant picture sound great recommended

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Outstanding picture and sound quality at the price

139 cm (55") 07 December 2021 by AB61MCL (United Kingdom)

I bought the A80J to replace a 6 years old LG 4k OLED TV that gave up the ghost. My no. 1 priority is true to life picture quality and this gives the best picture I have seen. Plus the sound is also exceptionally good and I don't see the need for a sound bar in my installation . On a note of minor criticism it is a nightmare to adjust the picture settings on initial set up and you will need a LOT of patience. But they say the latter is a virtue and it is well rewarded in the end.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Brilliant picture

139 cm (55") 07 December 2021 by Dheonxbrirbfbdkxndjdncfne (United Kingdom)

Amazing TV, the picture is so good it occasionally distracts you from what you're watching. Sound is great as well. Shame Sony haven't got BBC iPlayer or other UK catch up yet as that's the only negative.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony 55" Oled tv

139 cm (55") 07 December 2021 by Nu66et (United Kingdom)

Very happy with the TV, excellent picture and great sound, no need for my old sound bar.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb Picture Quality

139 cm (55") 07 December 2021 by ATP86 (United Kingdom)

Easy to set up via the Google Home App. Picture quality superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great audio and visual output

139 cm (55") 07 December 2021 by maplezen (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this Sony model for its great audio quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great TV

164 cm (65") 07 December 2021 by Michael S Scotland (United Kingdom)

Immersive picture and sound, Brings nature films to life and art films have accurate colours. Very happy with purchase....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Quality TV - Needs UK Catch up apps

139 cm (55") 07 December 2021  (United Kingdom)

Great TV, Superb Picture and Sound quality, alongside the design. No issues with the hardware so far. The lack of UK Catch Up Apps, such as BBC Iplayer is a big disappointment and still awaiting an update to amend this!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Experience

164 cm (65") 07 December 2021 by Bannu (United Kingdom)

I bought it 2 weeks ago, it is as we expected Great experience visually..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great TV

164 cm (65") 07 December 2021 by Bez197502 (United Kingdom)

I bought this TV a month ago. I love all its features. One of the best choices in the market.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture and sound

164 cm (65") 07 December 2021 by Gribble (United Kingdom)

Picture brilliant but had to fine tune to get the best picture after initial set up not so user friendly, sound great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Looked great in the shop. Terrible at home.

139 cm (55") 07 December 2021 by Magnarez (United Kingdom)

Really bad up scaling. Blury, out of focus image. Screen brightness washes out colours. Tried at length to adjust and optimise settings but to no avail. Then TV developed a fault within a day, so it was taken back. My first Sony TV and my last.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Amazing picture, played havoc sound system

164 cm (65") 07 December 2021 by didgdog (United Kingdom)

After months of research, I went for this TV and was not disappointed. The most amazing picture ever. Only down side I am struggling to get it to work smoothly with my Denon 1600H AV system via the eArc cable. This could well be down to me rather than the TV. Still working on it. Regardless of that, I have still given it 5 stars as the picture is stunning.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent TV

139 cm (55") 07 December 2021 by Dutch1963 (United Kingdom)

The picture is insane, so pleased with it, I’ve been buying Bravia for 20 years now and am also happy to do so

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Bravia OLED

55" class (54.6" diag) 07 December 2021 by Bob191 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV a 3 weeks ago. The 4K PICTURE QUALITY IS UNBELIEVABLE!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Wonderful

164 cm (65") 06 December 2021 by Mickey9475 (United Kingdom)

Complete package, display, sound, interface are all amazing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb image quality

164 cm (65") 06 December 2021 by Mickey9475 (United Kingdom)

Love it, and the satin (semi-glossy) finish of the 65 inch version really helps diffuse light, meaning no distracting reflections even with light right opposite the screen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV

139 cm (55") 06 December 2021 by Omar2 (United Kingdom)

I am very pleased with my Sony A80J it has been a revelation and easy to use. Picture quality is first rate and options easy to navigate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing clarity and contrast.

164 cm (65") 06 December 2021 by Darryl Worthington (United Kingdom)

I bought the 65 inch a80j to replace a 50 inch Samsung led. Intially I was a little disappointed as it wasn't as bright as the Samsung but as dusk turned to night I realized I'd made the right decision. This TV is so good for night time viewing. The blacks are the deepest I've seen and the detail has to be seen to be believed. Also the sound quality as the best I've heard from a flat screen TV. You can actually hear bass!. The Google operating system is very good also. I haven't used my fire cube for streaming since getting this TV. The only thing is there is no British catch up services yet. Hopefully these will come in an update soon. I use a ps5 with this TV as well and it has performed perfectly so far. I was so close to buying the x90j and even though this TV cost another £500, I definitely think it was worth it. If you can afford it, I'd definitely recommend this TV . I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Unbelievable

139 cm (55") 06 December 2021 by Jackabeano16 (United Kingdom)

Decided to upgrade our old working 40” Samsung TV to this Beauty. Can’t state how pleased the whole family are with the TV. Because we decided to have this on a glass table we did have to turn the feet the other way round to fit which is not entirely clear on the instructions but found a clear explanation on you tube. Setting up is easy enough but you will need your mobile phone and Google password but it was quite easy even for someone non technical than me. Apart from obviously the fabulous picture the sound is awesome, we really don’t miss the old sound bar and the Netflix, Amazon and you tube buttons are instant. It took a while for us to get used to a 55 inch TV as we don’t have a massive living room but we all agree we would not want our old one back. You get what you pay for and that’s exactly what we got. A fabulous TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

it looks good

164 cm (65") 06 December 2021 by jimrebos (United Kingdom)

I took 2months to buy this as I looked around to find the best one for value for what I wanted to spend and this was the one for my house hold

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Beautiful picture & sound

65" class (64.5" diag) 06 December 2021 by Yard (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought this TV about 5 months ago and love watching it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Outstanding picture. Love this TV!

164 cm (65") 06 December 2021 by Chim_Richalds (United Kingdom)

I have now owned this for a couple of weeks having bought it to replace a Sony 65X90J. I really was underwhelmed by that TV and not happy with the bad blooming that was present so I thought I would take the leap to OLED. Whilst still being nervous about long-term image retention and burn-in, the trade-off in terms of picture quality is well worth it. Not as bright as the X90J, it still holds up in our room which is fairly light and the detail on show really is unsurpassed. Easily the best TV i have owned and I'm now looking at what sound peripherals I can get to optimise my viewing experience. Yes, this TV is expensive but I haven't regretted it for a second, whereas the X90J never quite cut it. It was a toss-up between this and the LG C1 and, given my good experiences with Sony in the past, I decided to stick with it and am thoroughly glad that I did. I can't wait to keep enjoying this TV and watching films on there makes it feel like I'm watching them for the first time all over again.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Light adaption, great audio, very defined image

55" class (54.6" diag) 06 December 2021 by Hemmersan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We've always had great performance & long-term use of Sony TV for the last 17yrs Builds great confidence in Sony TV's

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic television

139 cm (55") 06 December 2021 by Bazz47 (United Kingdom)

I brought this television two weeks ago it replaced a 13 year old Sony television, was easy to set up and the picture is fantastic. we would only buy Sony products They are the best.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Quality pic / Sound

164 cm (65") 06 December 2021 by The Firs (United Kingdom)

Great quality picture & sound also lots of add on apps easy to setup high price but worth every penny

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic picture

139 cm (55") 06 December 2021 by Allen 65 (United Kingdom)

Decided to treat ourselves for Christmas, and boy are we happy we did. Went into curry's for a Samsung, but after looking around decided on a LG. But after having a closer look around and talking to a store assistant, he showed us the Sony range and was very impressed with the picture quality, and the sound quality which comes from the screen,so impressed we bought it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quite Perfect

164 cm (65") 06 December 2021 by Dell6531 (United Kingdom)

I bought this set late November to bring more of a cinema experience to home (replacing a good in its day [2013] Samsung LCD 49"). I'd auditioned the 80J against the LG C1 and G1 in a bright lit (JL) shop and whilst all 3 were excellent upgrades, the Sony had the best installation options and edged the others on picture quality and most definitely on sound (I don't have sound bar). It was easy to set up at home and I can honestly say it provides staggeringly good performance and I'm so glad that I bought it. If you are wavering on purchasing, please don't - just buy it- it's outstanding.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent TV With a Major Failing.

139 cm (55") 06 December 2021 by Scooter27 (United Kingdom)

This TV is really good with exceptional picture but it has one big let down. I hoped as Apple TV was built in I could get rid of my Apple TV box and the cables that are required for it. I am going to have to keep it because this TV does not have BBC player, ITV hub or Channel 4’s all4. Allegedly Sony have been saying that they are coming but looking at forums they have been saying it for some time. I bought this TV after buying a Sony three years ago so took for granted the new TV would have them in like the older Sony. If Sony want this TV to be perfect they need to sort it out. In the meantime if you are looking at TV’s and you want those apps built in I would look at Samsung.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sony bravia tv oled

139 cm (55") 06 December 2021 by MJeetley (United Kingdom)

We bought Sony oled today tv last month, the tv had poor picture quality, no replacement within 21 dats available due to no stock, rubbish after sale service, Sony give you virtual assistance but won’t send engineer to sort problem out.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Fantastic TV

164 cm (65") 06 December 2021 by JABCAZ (United Kingdom)

Purchased this TV 3 weeks ago and instantly impressed either the sound and picture quality.Dolby sound through sound bar and wall speakers add to the viewing experience. Always been a Sony supporter and this TV is my best purchase to date. Five star rating.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not worth the money

139 cm (55") 06 December 2021 by Smb123 (United Kingdom)

The tv does not support Dts or Imax Enhanced or Imax enhanced as the company incorrectly states on its web site and in the manal.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Amazing screen and superb user interface

195 cm (77") 06 December 2021 by Ralsters (United Kingdom)

I bought this TV (77 inch A80J) TV last week after dithering between it and the equivalent LG model. The Google OS and speaker technology won me over and I’ve not been disappointed! Love the way the OS aggregates the various streaming apps content and displays in one place - shame it doesn’t pull through Netflix, but heyho. Love the voice search and easy to use remote, though again the remote isn’t infrared, so forget using it to control my Sonos Playbar, which means I’m still having to use 2 remotes. Not major issues as overall the package is worthy of your money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Always reliable and good quality product!

139 cm (55") 06 December 2021 by Dick1011 (United Kingdom)

I bought my Sony TV to replace my previous Sony TV which I had for about 15 years. Great quality products and always reliable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound

139 cm (55") 06 December 2021 by Pop12 (United Kingdom)

I bought the TV a month ago and it has an absolutely stunning picture and sound quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp oled tv

139 cm (55") 06 December 2021 by Dan8282 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought during 1111 sale. No regret. Was contemplating between this and LG c1 oled. Thankful I had gotten this, the sharpness, the brightness is goof for an oled.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture, bad production quality

55" class (54.6" diag) 05 December 2021 by Roberto360 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautiful picture, seems like an awesome tv. However, a pixel died after only 3 weeks of intermittent use. 55 inch is no longer available from bestbuy. Returning to the store for a refund (although I’d prefer an exchange). Won’t be buying another Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Delighted with A80J TV

164 cm (65") 05 December 2021 by Ron48 (United Kingdom)

Pleased with the excellent picture quality on this 65 inch Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing TV!

139 cm (55") 05 December 2021 by Matty15 (United Kingdom)

The picture quality on this TV is amazing, sound quality is really good too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great TV

195 cm (77") 05 December 2021 by Adi7G (United Kingdom)

I have had the TV for a few weeks, it looks awesome and quality of the screen, colours out of the box are awesome

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture, but no BBC iPlayer!

139 cm (55") 05 December 2021 by Weave2021 (United Kingdom)

I bought this TV as a present to ourselves, and even though I'm of the generation that occasionally finds itself challenged by technology, I found this pretty easy to set up. The picture is brilliant, clear and well defined with good depth and the sound is excellent, does not really need a sound bar. But, as offered in the UK the lack of instant access to BBC iPlayer and other catch up services is really disappointing. I would have given it 5 stars if it had this facility.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

disappointed

164 cm (65") 05 December 2021 by freemason (United Kingdom)

I bought the above product in November 2021 right from day one I had a problem with it rebooting all the time got onto sony they said try this option tried it made the problem worse, went back to Currys and rejected the tv, I got a new one same model as I had a previous Sony for five years with no problems however using the same cables that I have been using for years I got a blue screen stating that my HDMI cable was not suitable even though it was suitable for all my other sony products had to change the HDMI

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Fabulous Television

164 cm (65") 05 December 2021 by DudleyD (United Kingdom)

Have only had the TV for a couple of weeks - but definitely not disappointed so far. I LOVE it and am sure I have only scratched the surface of its performance and ability. I carried out a lot of research before hand and filtered my selection down to this XR A84J as it can be controlled just by speaking or by using the handset remote control. I am looking forward to getting to know all the settings and adjustments in order to refine the TV to answer to my specific requirements. Picture and sound quality are unrivalled. Well done Sony - thank you!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Terrible TV that you can downland on demand APPS

164 cm (65") 05 December 2021  (United Kingdom)

Bought this TV and installed it. However, soon found out that the Sony software is not compatible and you cant download BBC iplayer, ITV and channel on demands. Just Amazon & Netflix and randomly channel 5. So pointless having the TV - cyrrently trying to return it as it is pointless in the UK if you cant have these vital apps.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Sony tv

139 cm (55") 05 December 2021 by Neilf (United Kingdom)

I have had the TV for a couple of weeks . I am very happy with my purchase. The TV was very easy to set up and mount on its stand. The picture and sound quality is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning pictures

139 cm (55") 05 December 2021 by Shafique (United Kingdom)

Quality of my life just when up 100% perfect size easy set up

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Almost perfect

139 cm (55") 05 December 2021 by Mister_G (United Kingdom)

Bought this TV in 55inch guise and absolutely over the moon with the features it has, the vibrancy and dynamics of the picture etc. I have a PS5, and it works a treat with that. My only disappointment is in the standard UK catch up apps not being available yet (iPlayer, itv hub, etc) although I do trust they'll come. Also the inbuilt tuner not being able to pause and rewind watched TVs is a pain, not setup a HD as I only have ones recognised as USB drives, but from what I've read that only allows you to record, not pause and rewind live TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Tv

195 cm (77") 05 December 2021 by Moses2505 (United Kingdom)

Bought the TV a few weeks ago and love the look of the TV and the Picture quality is excellent. Very happy with the product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it

139 cm (55") 05 December 2021 by Jonesy 1 (United Kingdom)

We brought this TV about 3 weeks ago and we love it great sound and picture with lots of features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony A80J 65"

164 cm (65") 05 December 2021 by JEWANG (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the A80J 65" last month. TV picture quality is good but it is over priced in Singapore market. Profit Margin for this TV is too high.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Setting the bar

55" class (54.6" diag) 05 December 2021 by Jamiekiwi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the A80J | BRAVIA XR | OLED | 4K Ultra HD | High Dynamic Range (HDR) | Smart TV (Google TV) for my room for streaming local tv and movies. It's perfect for that. Clean crisp quick picture great sound perfect size.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mr

195 cm (77") 04 December 2021 by sarf910 (United Kingdom)

Excellent quality we're good sound quality good pictures quality

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very slick TV

139 cm (55") 04 December 2021 by 276motorsport (United Kingdom)

Bought this to replace my 3 year old LG what an improvement.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great

164 cm (65") 04 December 2021 by Bal k (United Kingdom)

Great TV, highly recommended. Quality excellent, design perfect

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great

164 cm (65") 04 December 2021  (United Kingdom)

I buy last mounth It is what you want to see when relax whaching TV It's more bigger = more good Perfect for movue

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simply stunning imagery!

139 cm (55") 04 December 2021 by Johnthe Makem (United Kingdom)

I already owned a 4K tv but a standard model, about 6 years old and of course the technology has moved on considerably in that time. I was thinking of buying a bluray DVD player when I discovered 4K disc players are now available and after some research, I bought the excellent Sony UPB X-700 player. What a revelation! Even on my old tv I was finally seeing what a 4K tv can do with 4K content. I decided I wanted more and since my wife wanted a TV upstairs I used it as an excuse to buy a top end 4K tv and move our already good quality tv to the other room. After a lot of research I decided on the Sony Bravia A80J, it had excellent reviews and it seemed to give good value you for money - you get a lot with this tv! Three things that stand out for me; Firstly, the image on my "old" 4K tv was very good, the images coming from the Sony A80J are breathtaking! For example, a "restored" version of The Guns of Navarone movie in 4k played only reasonably on the previous tv, the problem being the dark section at the start of the movie - I couldn't see anything. The Sony A80J picked them all up, I could see clearly the dark sections of the movie, they were atmospheric, moody and stunning, a real jump in quality. The HDR technology in the Sony is exceptional and I really feel as if I am getting a cinematic experience. Secondly, the sound. The Sony A80J doesn't have speakers as such, the sound is projected directly from the screen. I had heard of this technology being consided several years ago but this was the first time I had heard it put into practice and I must say it is far better than I expected. Voices seem to be clearer, the overall sound is exceptional and I get far more bass and botton end sounds than I am used to and so I don't feel the need to invest in a sound bar - in my opinion the tv simply doesn't need it. Thirdly and finally, included free in the package, is the Sony Bravia streaming service. As a new owner of the A80J I can chose 5 movies which are mine permanently (I saved a fair bit of money as four of the movies I chose I had intended to buy) and also I can stream other movies from the hundreds available to watch as many times as I wish at my leisure. And so I find myself having a "movie night" most nights of the week. That's a big free bonus for me! I would like to finish by stating that a few members of my family have asked to see the tv in action and so we've chosen a movie, played it and I've watched their jaws drop at what they're seeing. Therefore it isn't just a case of me being impressed by the quality, everyone who has seen the A80J in action loves it too! To put it into a few words, the Sony A80J is the best TV display I have ever seen, I love it, it was worth every penny I paid for it and I would suggest if you are upgrading from a TV say five years old, you too will be stunned. In my opinion this is a real winner from Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning picture

139 cm (55") 04 December 2021 by Good times (United Kingdom)

I bought this tv after careful consideration. I wanted a gaming monitor for my PS5 and the other half wanted just a tv. This certainly does both in epic proportions. The PS5 is stunning in 4K with 120fps, films, sport and general viewing are just as good with deep blacks, bright whites along with excellent depth of colour. The viewing angle is wide and the smart features are simply to set up and use too. The tv communicated effortlessly with Sky Q, our Bose sound bar and my PS5 alike. A very impressive purchase indeed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Delivers on high expectations

195 cm (77") 04 December 2021 by stewyo (United Kingdom)

Bought the 77 inch so used professional installers to hang on the wall. Delivers a vlass leading cinematic experience and I can finally read the on screen phone messages on crime dramas! It's a lot of money but a lot of pleasure.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Picture good

139 cm (55") 04 December 2021 by Mad99 (United Kingdom)

Bought two weeks ago still not right.hatd to set up.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great picture, great UI

164 cm (65") 04 December 2021 by Kamash (United Kingdom)

It's been 3 weeks with the TV and I am stunned watching HDR content on YouTube and Netflix. It's worth every penny and more. Google TV is snappy and fast in this TV!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0