99

4.3 based on 99 customer reviews

60
22
7
5
5
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Changes my misconception that small equals poor.

SRS-XB12 11 May 2019 by DazmoG (United Kingdom)

Firstly I have to declare that I'm a big speaker audiophile, and thought I had no use for a prortable speaker, but this changed very quickly when I came across this speaker. The speaker is small, but the size to weight ratio on picking up the box was encouraging. Weighing in around 250 grams for a cylindrical unit 75mm in diameter and standing 85mm tall (Approx) it suggested that quality componentry had been used, but the unit remaining light enough to be truly portable. The speaker is well boxed as you would expect from Sony, with instruction books and setup instructions greeting the new owner on opening. Inside the box was the speaker and the now fairly industry standard USB charging lead. I have multiple USB mains adaptors so finding a charging source was no issue, however this may not be the case for all purchasors. The unit has inbuilt re-chargable batteries which were fully charged in circa 180mins, giving 16hrs of use according to Sony. The unit is also claimed to be IP67 resistant to dust and water such that the unit can be safely dropped in water and survive. Certainly the exterior tactile rubber reinforces this capability and offers an easily held surface whilst protecting from minor impacts. Closer inspection revealed in my opinion a high quality of manufacture with no weak areas. Buttons for: on/off, Volume up/down, multi function button for play/pause/rewind etc, and Add, form depressable buttons in the control area of the outer rubber. Those familiar with the multi purpose button on headphones will immediately know what the various prods on the multi button will do. The add button allows for a second speaker to be added to form a stereo pair. The buttons are marked according to function by bold symbols moulded into the rubber casing, they repond with a positive click but the black symbols on the black rubber background are not easily identified by eye, in low light. That said with only four buttons to remember the purpose of, this isnt likely to be a problem. The unit paired via bluetooth quickly and promptly with my telephone, there is also a socket for audio in via a 3.5mm audio jack behind a rubber sealed panel alongside the charging port. The fist thing to note is the range at which it will work. Indoors most items struggle with indoor walls but this speaker had no trouble where other equipment gave up the ghost. Operation of the onboard buttons were quick and snappy with the phone reacting quickly. The sound from such a small unit was jaw dropping, not music concert pressure bass but sufficient to wonder how it was producing it. Experimentation on different surfaces were all good, but on a firm bit of wood or a table the speaker was capable of passing low frequencies through the base of the unit to use the resonance of the surface. This seems to be assisted by the rubber ring on the units base which secures the unit on the surface, this also protects the surface from scratches. With the speaker at ear level on a good surface it was easily bookshelf speaker quality with tight punchy bass and crisp highs. This speaker has re-educated my old beleifs that a small unit equals poor sound. Certainly the unit is far superior than the telephones hands free mode. The most impressive feature to me however was that the unit has an inbuilt microphone. Voice commands to the telephones virtual assistant were faultless. The microphone also lends itself to conference calls, with the unit in the middle of a table of four people, the dialogue with the the users dialled up was vastly better than the telephones hands free, with nobody asking for the conversation to be repeated. This suggests that the unit can capture and transmit sound clearly to all sat at the table and through the cell network. With so many uses and portability this is now a tech must have in my wish list. Simply Awesome.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Low sound.

SRS-XB12 03 July 2020 by mlboul (USA)

Bought this last month to blue tooth music for my garage workouts. Volume is to low. My cell is all the way up and It's still not loud enough to hear. Very disappointing.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

99 Customer Reviews

0

Good sound from a small neat speaker

SRS-XB12 05 August 2020 by Red16 (United Kingdom)

Just received this today & really impressed! Great sound, easy to use & looks good too. Nice to have a choice of colours. I got the blue one which is smart looking. Very portable. Happy with my purchase!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice portable speaker

SRS-XB12/BC E 05 August 2020 by jianshun (Singapore)

Sound good for a speaker, this small. However, the Bluetooth connection is not stable, disconnect frequently, tested with multiple devices.

0

0

0

Love it!!!

SRS-XB12 02 August 2020 by JN76 (United Kingdom)

Bought the speaker a month ago - quality sound, easy to use and great battery life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SRSXB12/L 23 July 2020 by ayouya4 (USA)

The sound quality is so good!! and also the size, since it's very small, you can easily take it anywhere and still get the same bass and sound, I love it!

0

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB12 21 July 2020 by OvidiuM (United Kingdom)

When I decided to buy them I had some doubts as I read some unfavourable reviews. I was overwhelmed by the very good sound quality. I used them on my living-room and i have to reduce the volume as they were so loud, and in my garden where I can throw a party using them with great success. They are loud and with greate bass. I bought 2 of them for the stereo sound. The price on Amazon was £39.99. A great price for a great quality. If the Sony logo was embossed as the previous model would be the best ever speaker for its size.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

For its size, a giant

SRSXB12/B 21 July 2020 by idontwantto (USA)

Whatever you are listening in your phone, goes to the XB12 powerfully. I guess you are getting better sound while saving your cell's battery. Super simple.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SRS-XB12 20 July 2020 by alyshabucci (USA)

This speaker works very well and is loud for being a small product. Its portable and easy to bring places!

0

0

0

SRS-XB12 17 July 2020 by daniels41 (USA)

Bass on this speaker is intense yet amazing it is pretty affordable and I like the Bluetooth aspect. I would improve this product by making it more scratch resistant. I would recommend to others.

0

0

0

Great little gadget

SRS-XB12 16 July 2020 by Len71 (United Kingdom)

Works with both iPhone and IPad and also old iPod with add on Bluetooth transmitter. Used on recent motorhome trip and well happy with purchase!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Design

SRS-XB12 15 July 2020 by Haptonbob (United Kingdom)

Fabulous sound from a small unit. Clever design and. Easy to Use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great bass

SRS-XB12 15 July 2020 by Jancifd (USA)

I bought it about a week ago and so far Im happy with it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I did not expect it to sound so low!

SRS-XB12 12 July 2020 by algov3 (USA)

I bought this to animate my quarantine days, and checked some reviews on the Internet, and saw that it was good. But, surprise(!), two notches below max volume, the speaker becomes irrelevant. So much for $40... Although I like the bass it has for its size, I feel disappointed, and I think I will have to return it. The cheaper Go 2 that I have sounds louder (albeit without as much bass)... as a bluetooth speaker of small size is expected to sound.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

SRS-XB12 05 July 2020 by rubenp2 (USA)

Is a good product, but his big brothers are so much better, for NOT so much money, good quality sound, great bas, water resistant, is for a bathroom or something, I think is you want to spend some money go further with his brothers

0

0

0

Great Product at Best Price

SRS-XB12/RC E 04 July 2020 by Srinivas Venna (Singapore)

I bought Sony Speaker a month ago. It is so portable and having better Battery Life with Best Audio Quality.

0

0

0

Low sound.

SRS-XB12 03 July 2020 by mlboul (USA)

Bought this last month to blue tooth music for my garage workouts. Volume is to low. My cell is all the way up and It's still not loud enough to hear. Very disappointing.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Bass!!

SRS-XB12 23 June 2020 by Eskimosound (United Kingdom)

Lovely shape and feel, quality sound. Used as just a mono speaker for fill sound rather than anything technically correct. Love the fact that it's splash proof, reminded me of the old Yellow Sports Walkman range, would look brilliant in bright yellow. Has a tendancy to move across table at high volumes so best hanging from something

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Bluetooth Speaker XB12

SRS-XB12 19 June 2020 by Ken82 (United Kingdom)

Very good product , but previous XB10 purchased now only works as Headset , not as Speaker ( Awaiting info from Sony as to solution )

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

SRS-XB12 19 June 2020 by yesim1 (USA)

These speaker has a loud sounds and the quality is vey clear and great!!! Its also easy to carry around, and it fits anywhere.

0

0

0

SRS-XB12 19 June 2020 by mmmmmmmmmmmmm (USA)

This speaker from Sony is stylish and small. It's small enough to take anywhere you want, and gives close to the the promised 16 hrs of run time. The speaker is about the size of a half-height can of soda, so it's easy to grab and throw in a bag or just carry by hand (or by wrist using the strap). The body is coated with a rubberized coating and the controls are well separated and easy to find, even without looking. Like some of the other Sony speakers, this speaker allows you to add an additional speaker to either broadcast the same signal or to create stereo sound; the only down side is that it has to be the same model. The sound from the speaker is good; music is reproduced without sounding tinny, and the Extra Bass is quite evident. Although the sound is good, I found the volume to be a little disappointing. The speaker will easily fill a relatively quiet room with whatever you want, but I found I had to max out the volume on the speaker and run the volume of my phone almost to max if there was any competing noise (eg. mower outside, vacuum in adjacent room), and at that volume, the bass began to distort. All in all, I like the speaker. In my opinion, it's size, convenience, and overall sound make up for the lack of volume.

0

0

0

SRS-XB12 18 June 2020 by angelicat28 (USA)

For something that small it worked very well. Its a perfect size to have in your purse

0

0

0

Easy to use

SRS-XB12 17 June 2020 by Derek1 (United Kingdom)

I bought this rather than an alternative and have found it an excellent purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A1 5*

SRS-XB12 15 June 2020 by Bandsman909 (United Kingdom)

Wanted compact quality unit with a big sound. Sony didn’t disappoint. Really impressed with everything about this product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SRS-XB12 15 June 2020 by ana_valeria (USA)

This is a very good product the price also matches the good quality use it on a daily very easy to use the battery lasts long if you need something quick to use this is def a good option:) recommend.

0

0

0

Bought 2 of these!

SRS-XB12 14 June 2020 by Gill1066 (United Kingdom)

Easy to operate and bought 2 to beable to listen to music in different rooms without having to move speakers around. Only slight criticism is the instructions in packaging on how to pair 2 speakers, but the online instruction manual with step by step guide is much easier to follow!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little speaker

SRS-XB12 11 June 2020 by Adrian11 (United Kingdom)

Nice compact speaker, easy to set up, very good sound

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SRS-XB12 08 June 2020 by adaleydip (USA)

I absolutely LOVE the sound of this lil speaker and the deep bass is just perfect !! Also the connectivity to an iPhone was so easy and it's the perfect size, as well as the it having a 16 hour charge !!! I would buy it all over again for all the features it offers and the sound couldn't be any better and, of course, you can never go wrong with a Sony !!!

0

0

0

SRS-XB12 06 June 2020 by ering66 (USA)

This speaker is amazing I love everything about the quality of the sound is perfect it is so easy to use I love how its Bluetooth very easy to handle it is amazing the price is affordable I would definitely buy it again.

0

0