94

4.3 based on 94 customer reviews

51
27
12
2
2
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Superb quality lens that is sharp and well made

SEL2470Z 08 September 2018 by Iansky (United Kingdom)

This lens compliments the A7iii very well, it is an all metal lens with Carl Zeiss glass that delivers super sharp images in a size that compliments the camera and makes it an easy carry unit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good but not awesome.

SEL2470Z 26 September 2014 by AlfredoG (USA)

The quality is good but nothing out of this world. Lots of distorsion at 24mm (because it is a wide angle). My review would have been higher if the price would have been lower.

6

0

94 Customer Reviews

0

Smooth

SEL2470Z 16 September 2019 by Phil88 (USA)

This lens is tiny, sharp & with a super smooth zoom action!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great compact standard zoom.

SEL2470Z AE 29 August 2019 by AbrasiveWaif (Singapore)

For my copy of this lens, it's able to have the sharpness increased with the smaller aperture. Decent corner to corner sharpnes. The build quality is of metal and feels premium, nice smooth turning when zooming and when using the focus ring. It is light weight and compliments well with the 16-35 F4 Zeiss. It's a keeper in my kit.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good lens

SEL2470Z 02 August 2019 by borolr (United Kingdom)

Good lens but not as good as the G Master lenses..

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent but not perfect.

SEL2470Z 08 July 2019 by Yin008 (United Kingdom)

After using this lens for a few times, I find it's quality is amazing, with good contrast and smooth to use zooming operation also takes stunning photos . It is also light and not too large to carry as it's my reason to buy this good Zeiss lens. But there are compromise that distortion contribute to the edges of the frame from 24mm and colourisation is much more exaggerate. I have used Canon 24-70 f4 USM, as it simply oozes quality to beat this Zeiss in terms of clarity and quality if I have to choose. Overall I'm happy with it and will keep it because it's a Zeiss.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Early Days

SEL2470Z 15 April 2019 by notyet100 (United Kingdom)

Excellent Lens - Have yet to give it a proper test but so far Excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good focal range, bad distortion

SEL2470Z 23 March 2019 by Chrismark1959 (United Kingdom)

I have been using this lens for several weeks and the results beyond 35mm have been good, clear and sharp. However, from 24mm to 35mm there has been some severe distortion which I have not been able to correct.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good, but could be better

SEL2470Z 17 February 2019 by Lorbizzzz (USA)

It's very sharp and it has very good auto-focus which makes it very useful for shooting with gimbal. It' also very robust. On the other hand it has very bad bokeh and also manual focus is almost impossible to use due to manual focus acceleration which can not be turned off.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Quick and easy

SEL2470Z 03 February 2019 by Dickinson59 (United Kingdom)

Excellent lens . I have moved from nikon to Sony best decision I have made

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great lens for the price

SEL2470Z 24 January 2019 by altaf (USA)

I wanted to purchase 24-70mm F/2.8 lens which was out of my price range so I settled for this F4 lens and am very happy with its quality and constant F4 for action photography and or in low light situation, I have to use higher ISO due to faster shutter speed or low light but Sony's higher ISO & noise reduction is quite impressive. So having a F4 lens vs. F/2.8 isn't really a big deal and saving is enormous

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice Lens at a good price point

SEL2470Z 15 January 2019 by Heart of Chaos (USA)

Good lends for the money. Great clarity. As Always Sony makes great products.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

So far, so good.

SEL2470Z 20 December 2018 by idiot1 (United Kingdom)

Contrary to some reviews it functions well and is good value for money.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Upgrade over the A7iii kit lens

SEL2470Z AE 30 November 2018 by Konain Saif (Singapore)

Reasons I bought this 1. F4 thru out the focal distance range 2. Zeiss Glass sharpness 3. OSS 4. Upgrade from the kit lens Things to consider 1. The price tag is 20% higher than it should be 2. It would be worth the price if it could do f1.8 instead of F4

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Lens

SEL2470Z 22 November 2018 by Brunobear (United Kingdom)

Only used a few weeks but fantastic results, focus fast and sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp and Awesome Lens!

SEL2470Z AE 09 November 2018 by AceBen (Singapore)

Very good quality lens. It’s a Zeiss lens, hence, need no other comments... German precision

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great image quality

SEL2470Z 05 November 2018 by PLST (United Kingdom)

Haven’t had a chance to give the lens a proper workout yet, but I can see from the test shots I’ve made so far that the lens is going to outperform me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb lens

SEL2470Z 15 October 2018 by RichC58 (United Kingdom)

I've had this lens for about 3 months now. Right from the start it suited my purposes well. A very good walk about lens which covers my most used range 24-70. Its sharp! Very sharp! Centre is superb throughout the range, its a zoom so one has to expect some fall out toward the edge and corners, which in my opinion is acceptable. Not so great wide open, 4.5 starts to improve noticeably, 5.6 is my optimum for what I do, 8 slightly better again. I have found it to be very good around the 35mm, 50mm and approx 68mm. That said, 24 to 28 does a good job on my architectural shots, no complaints! Slow at f4 but, I don't do much low light stuff and if I do I crank the ISO up, deal with any noise in PS/LR and shrink the file slightly, job done, perfectly acceptable. Downsides, few. Expensive! Build quality ok, alloy outside plastics inside, don't like plastic! Bulky, but not necessarily heavy. Close to hitting the 5* but, I think for the money I would expect slightly better from a lens with the name Zeiss on it. Good all round lens. If you're getting into Sony full frame, I would say go for this lens as a starter, you are unlikely to be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Superb quality lens that is sharp and well made

SEL2470Z 08 September 2018 by Iansky (United Kingdom)

This lens compliments the A7iii very well, it is an all metal lens with Carl Zeiss glass that delivers super sharp images in a size that compliments the camera and makes it an easy carry unit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

so clear

SEL2470Z 27 August 2018 by glynnejh (United Kingdom)

great lens shame about the cash back scheme it spoils it with all the rubbish you need to do to claim it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Amazing!

SEL2470Z 06 July 2018 by FF78 (USA)

Excellent sharpness throughout the range, beautiful colors and fast AF! Love this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL2470Z 23 June 2018 by LizzieO (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens about 2 years ago and have used it nearly all the time since then. It is a great lens and produces great photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Pretty good

SEL2470Z 19 June 2018 by Martsla (USA)

Coming from canon L glass quality is slightly inferior. But like the size and weight

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautiful colours, quality glass

SEL2470Z 19 June 2018 by Pete Lonsdale (United Kingdom)

Having moved over to a7 cameras completely this lens was the perfect choice between size, quality and price. I know the GM version is better but it’s much larger and pretty expensive! This lens hits the sweet spot for me

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great overall lens

SEL2470Z AE 16 June 2018 by Charlesy (Singapore)

A great versatile lens of wide and mid ranged views.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Review after 3yrs of use....

SEL2470Z 29 April 2018 by Brian1972 (USA)

I picked this lens up to match up with my A7ii for a travel camera as at the time I was driving across the United States. I use this lens for anything from portraits, smaller landscapes, photographing events, and for feature photos when I’m photographing properties. It’s been a great travel and all around lens that captures dimension very nice images. But... during my last event shoot I decided to shoot in Auto as it’s easier when trying to photograph a lot of people in a short period of time, I noticed a grinding type noise within the lens as the lens was trying to focus. I tried turning on/off my camera, firmware update, etc but nothing helped the noise and the focus hunting. I took the lens to a couple repair shops to compare repair costs and both places quoted me $300 just to take the lens apart and investigate with what I was told would most likely be a part in the focus mechanism that will need to be replaced. The total repair cost would be around $700-800. Well why would I pay that much when a new lens is a few hundred bucks more... And most importantly why is there an issue with my lens after a few years use when my other Sony/Zeiss lenses with the same amount of use do not have the same issue. Sounds like an assembly issue and there should have been a recall on them as I’ve read numerous other reviews with people having the same issue. And no I never dropped the lens and it lives in a heavily padded case when not in use or during transport.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Feels good on the A7 M2.

SEL2470Z 04 April 2018 by Seaton Carew (United Kingdom)

Would like to have bought the F2.8, two reasons i didn't expensive, and balance on the A7 m2 not good. Overall very pleased with the F4.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Glass

SEL2470Z 03 April 2018 by Shakey Bluesman (United Kingdom)

So glad I bought this lens over the 28-70. You get that little bit extra at the wide angle and the build quality is superb. Focusing is ultra fast and photos razor sharp particularly when stopped down a stop. This is my walk around lens of choice and complements my Sony a7 ii perfectly .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Quality Lens

SEL2470Z 01 March 2018 by flyingal (United Kingdom)

I got this lens for closeup work. The quality is excellent. Zeiss lens is great, well made and images are sharp and crisp. Used with Sony A7II, it has a very smooth connection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

still doing the job

SEL2470Z 28 February 2018 by yorkey (USA)

I Bought this lens two weeks ago and had used it several times and formed an opinion that it is not an exceptional quality lens but it is half of the price of 2.8mm and still doing 80% of the job instead 50% it is.Good enough for candid photography.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Compact and lightweight for an excellent lens.

SEL2470Z 08 February 2018 by Stoneyguy (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens very recently to pair with a new A7RII bought at the same time. I got them to reduce weight and enable me to carry around absolutely top quality kit when I don't want to be weighed down with other DSLR equipment. Combined with my FE 55 F1.8 ZA this is perfect combo for my needs and I can already see this will fast becoming my 'go to' kit for street, landscape and general photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Sony

SEL2470Z 13 November 2017 by Pedunki80 (United Kingdom)

I bought this product and haven't put it down it's the best purchase I made in a long time

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Just OK

SEL2470Z 01 October 2017  (USA)

Bought this to replace the 16-55mm kit lens. I'm disappointed with the relatively small improvement for the cost. For a Zeiss lens I expected much better IQ compared to the kit lens- it is a modest improvement but should be much sharper especially in the corners.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Ziess glass

SEL2470Z 28 September 2017  (United Kingdom)

I have wanted some Zeiss glass for a long while and have been very please not only by the quality of the image but also the great design, it feel good in the hand and has a very smooth action

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Do "good copies" really exist?

SEL2470Z 24 September 2017 by Rick DS (USA)

I've returned or resold 4 copies before giving up. I would buy another instantly if I thought it might be as good as some tested on DXO and other websites - even or close. The lens is small, well built, and with excellent IQ in the center of the field at most apertures. 3 copies we too soft at the edges and corners for printing large at both ends of the zoom at all apertures. The 4th copy was noticeably better only in that the edges sharpened up a little at f8-11 at wide and telex settings. All brands of 24-70mm f2.8 lenses are significantly sharper across the field at all apertures. The distortion level is another story that may be of greater concern to some. Hopefully a lens maker will come up with a small standard zoom that lives up to the abilities of the A7r/A7rII cameras like they have with primes.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

Average Lens

SEL2470Z 29 July 2017  (United Kingdom)

Expected this lens to be sharper. Am disappointed in the quality of the pictures I get from it. Paid a premium for a Zeiss badge!

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

2

0

SEL 2470 VARIO TESSAR LENS

SEL2470Z AE 24 July 2017 by Mangesh (Singapore)

It's a versatile lens which covers most of the General photography shots. Even good for close up portraits. Limited application for macro and zooming.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Versatile Standard Zoom Lens

SEL2470Z 22 July 2017 by ipollen (United Kingdom)

This is an ideal lens for travel photography as the focal lencth range of 24mm to 70mm will cover 80% of my needs. There are plenty of reviews out there complaining of poor image quality but I have not found this to be the case. I will say it is a little over priced but at present there are not many alternatives.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Focus lock

SEL2470Z AE 06 July 2017 by Tflex (Singapore)

If they have the convenient of the focus lock on the lens itself.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A lens to go everywhere with.

SEL2470Z 03 July 2017 by anthony71571 (USA)

I bought this lens a couple of months ago to shoot a volleyball game out of a A6300. The results were great even under poor lighting. I did edit most of the pictures on Lightroom, but that's just more for artistic interpretation. Great lens and highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

8

0

Good

SEL2470Z AE 15 May 2017  (Singapore)

Bought it awhile ago and it works great. Sony produces good quality products.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Awesome Lens

SEL2470Z 10 January 2017 by ac058 (USA)

This was the very first lens I bought for my Sony A7r. I've been using it constantly for the past 2 years and I have to say it's one of my favorites. The new 24-70 G master might be better but, for the price you can't beat the sharpness you get with this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

4

0

Solidly Built

SEL2470Z 27 November 2016  (United Kingdom)

I bought this as part of a light weight solution for my outdoor photography, I cover some miles and need high quality but at a lighter weight. This along with the A7ii body has more than achieved this. Initially this was for test shooting and site surveying, it has now become the main camera for the shoot saving me a lot of back ache! Each opportunity it gets it shines.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

2

0

THE LENS THAT MADE A6000 more AWESOME !!!!!!!

SEL2470Z 15 November 2016 by dexdor (USA)

This lens brings out more detail..with the a6000 for me it's well balanced.. even when I need to use digital zoom pics are acceptable .hard to add photos to this review.. as the files are tooo big ...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

Versatile lens

SEL2470Z AE 19 September 2016 by Raven Ng (Singapore)

This lens is definitely the first and only glass you need for street photography and even travel too. Smooth zoom, lightweight, creamy bokeh and constant aperture certainly a bang for every bucks!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Lens

SEL2470Z 11 August 2016 by A Rainy Night in England (United Kingdom)

Good to use although it would be nice if maximum aperture was f2.8.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

11

0

Great Lens

SEL2470Z 11 August 2016 by Jacquib (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens before going to India for a wedding...the lens performed great and the photos were precise, sharp with beautiful colours. Focus is easy and precise..love this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

3

0

24-70f4 review

SEL2470Z AE 07 July 2016  (Singapore)

The bad: The lens is not too sharp at f8 and image distortion at 24mm. Not really up to mark of a zeiss lens compared to the 55mm. The good: the color rendering is good and it is lightweight. The lens is slightly overpriced for a normal Lens.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Some decent OSS

SEL2470Z AE 07 July 2016 by rws732 (Singapore)

Clear and decent picture when taken yet its heavy for travelling.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Good for the money

SEL2470Z 02 May 2016 by keefiman (United Kingdom)

It's a delight to own, as a light weight moderately priced walk around travel zoom. Not as sharp as expected but good colour rendering. Not bothered about bokeh myself, but it can deliver in the right conditions. uf you want an 'ace' 24-70 go for the G.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Lens for Sony a7RII

SEL2470Z 02 April 2016 by Malky6 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens at the Photography show just over 1 week ago. Recommended by retailer. It has so far proved to be a great buy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

Best lens ever purchased

SEL2470Z 03 February 2016 by Cacey (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens to complement my new camera, a Sony A7r ii. It was important that I produced great photos the first time I used my new camera and wow, was I pleased. Amazing quality fron a great Sony pairing and I know I will get endless endless enjoyment from this lens through its great build and top top quality. Do yourself a huge favour and purchase one as soon as you can you will not regret it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

8

0

Great walk about lens

SEL2470Z 11 January 2016 by chasby (United Kingdom)

I use primes most of the time but as a reliable no luggage, no nonsense lens with great glass this more than does the job.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Great standard zoom lens for full frame

SEL2470Z 16 September 2015 by Pauld77 (United Kingdom)

I recently upgraded to Sony full frame. This lens is beautifully balanced on the A7 body. It is smooth to operate and gives beautifully sharp images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

1

0

Super sharp

SEL2470Z 11 September 2015 by fboleto (United Kingdom)

I am a new Sony user, coming from a canon world, I must say this lens is super sharp and versatile from macro to portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

3

0

The best of the best

SEL2470Z 11 September 2015 by Ray Bilcliff (United Kingdom)

This is my first Zeiss lens and I have to say is it is quality. I know you have to pay more, but it is worth every penny you will spend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

fits the bill

SEL2470Z 06 July 2015 by warwick72 (United Kingdom)

Having upgraded an A6000 + sony 16-70 f4 zeiss for an A7ii and the sony 24-70 f4 zeiss and having read numerous reviews beforehand, I was slightly concerned as to whether the 24-70 would at least equal the 16-70 in performance. But I should not have been concerned for the 24-70 surpasses my expectations and is the perfect companion for the A7ii.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

It's just OK

SEL2470Z 23 April 2015  (USA)

I love this focal range but not this lens. I'm shooting at ISO's of 500 and 800 and I'm still getting noisy images, way more noise than I feel one should get at these ISO's. At this price I'm disappointed with it overall as it is not nearly as sharp as my ancient Nikkor 28-70 f/2.8 D lens which I bought used two years ago at $200 less than what this one cost. It just doesn't perform nor give me the Image Quality I desire and at this price I feel that it should offer better. It could have something to do the a6000 I'm using the lens on too. If you hold the lens in one hand and the grab camera with the other just as you when shooting, you can feel a slight give back and forth between the lens and the camera. At least once or twice during shoot I've done the camera drops the aperture setting as if there is no lens connected any longer and a slight turn between the two as mentioned above bring the lens back to life on the camera. I've also heard the squealing near 70mm today as if it was stuck in a rut trying to focus. I zoomed moved the focal ring all the way to 70 and the squealing continued, so I moved the focal ring back towards 24 and it stopped thankfully. So yes I seem to have an issue with the lens and or the camera I own which is why I give this lens the rating I do but I've also read numerous review about this lens and not praised as a top performer at all so until a better one is released this is what you'll have to accept, well I hope that you won't have the issues I'm having.

4

24

0

Not a fantastic zoom lens by Zeiss as I expected.

SEL2470Z 20 April 2015 by Lingham (United Kingdom)

Bought this lens some months ago and had used it several times and formed an opinion that it is not an exceptional quality lens as I expected from Zeiss.Good enough for candid photography.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

7

0

Questionable to purchase

SEL2470Z 13 April 2015 by FergusM (USA)

This lens can really disappoint with it's surprising lack of sharpness... misses expectations for the price!

4

9

0

Great crisp lens.

SEL2470Z 29 March 2015 by Muddly (United Kingdom)

I always think there isn't much to say about a lens. But this does the job and works brilliantly with my A7 II.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

STUNNING LENS...

SEL2470Z 16 March 2015 by John Batten (United Kingdom)

This excellent lens lives on my a7ii. The combined weight of ±1,000gms puts no strain on my neck. Results on my 30" Apple Cinema Screen at full size are pin sharp. The attached snaps were nearly all grabbed on a dull morning within 200yds or so of Nelson's Column in London

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

3

0

It is OK for the money

SEL2470Z 10 March 2015 by Skyviz (United Kingdom)

It is an OK lens. I think the distortion is a little high and I don't like the focus by wire. It is pretty sharp and chromatic aberration is OK. I have so many Zeiss ZF lenses and this lens has a lot to live up to. Slightly disappointed it is not f2.8 even if the price is a lot more, but the OSS works well. I have the A7s and the A7ii and it works well with both

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

Everyday Lens

SEL2470Z 09 March 2015 by simonog (United Kingdom)

I bought this with the camera rather than the lower specification 28-70 mm kit lens. This lens is an excellent everyday lens for amateur usage. Crisp, clear, stable.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Happy with it, really good results

SEL2470Z 10 February 2015 by BarneyB (United Kingdom)

I bought this a few weeks ago with my new A7 II. I have sent back the first copy because the sides on 24mm were really bad. This second copy is better, but it is still far from perfect. I have tested it and over 30mm everything is super sharp, and even at 24mm stopped down is useable. So I decided to keep it, because I will get the 16-35 as well, and that will cover the weak 24mm part. So apart from this it is a really good lens, really sharp and lots of detail. I recommend it! And if you are a street/portrait/family photographer, you won't even notice this problem, it will be a perfect lens. I like the colours it produces, and the built is really high quality as well.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

A Great lens for a great camera!

SEL2470Z 01 February 2015 by jeremiahgelles (USA)

The Sony A7 is a wonderful little camera that avoids the hassle of lugging around a DSLR. This lens gives the camera a nice versatility and, because it is a Sony-Zeiss, is of the finest quality. Unless you are a professional photographer, you won't stop using this camera except for occasions such as wildlife shooting that require special equipment.

1

1

0

Ideal Lens for A7S

SEL2470Z 17 January 2015 by palaoa (USA)

In general I prefer single focal length lenase, like the 35mm f2.8 Sony/Zeiss E mount lens that I used on A7R earlier today of a whale leaping out of the water. It was a very long way away, but the high resolution of A7R made this image possible. The 2nd image is cropped from the 1st; the inset image is from the 2nd. On A7S which is the high-iso champion, but with 1/3 the resolution of A7R, this 24-70 mm Sony/Zeiss zom lens is ideal because the "cropping" can be done in camera.

5

6

0

Best lens for a7

SEL2470Z 09 January 2015 by Lopusnak (USA)

I bought the a7s and this lens is sharp and just great. Highly recommend it. Light weight and just is perfect fit for the a7 series. Love it.

3

3

0

NOT enthusiast grade glass!

SEL2470Z 02 January 2015 by TJer (USA)

I'd hoped for a better experience from this lens than I had ... Had to return the first iteration and try several others in store to find one that didn't have: excessive vignetting, overall image softness across the range and especially in the corners between 24-35mm. In addition, when I found a lens that seemed to be a better representation I still had to tune the lens in camera when I got home to eliminate excessive back focus (which may be the cause of so many of the lenses looking "soft" while trying to find an acceptable lens)! This lens is "hit or miss". Be prepared to accept a mediocre version and then having to do some tuning in camera to get it where it should be out of the box. Now I can enjoy the lens but this is frankly an unacceptable experience for a product with this cost and coming from a company like Sony while wearing the Zeiss badge. I'd also considered the 28-70mm kit lens in the beginning but unfortunately had heard that it is much, much worse (typical kit lens performance!).

13

2

0

Great lens, wish it was an F2

SEL2470Z 30 December 2014 by Easttexasonyuser (USA)

Title says it all. I just wish it was faster.

3

8

0

Excellent, sharp

SEL2470Z 28 December 2014 by Mayie (USA)

This lens is sharp in most of its focal lengths. Suffers a bit of edge distortion towards 24mm. Otherwise its the go to lens for most of my photos.

9

2

0

Exceptionally Nice Piece of Glass

SEL2470Z 28 December 2014 by bearmusic (USA)

We've just switched from full-frame Canon gear to the Sony a7r, and part of the reason why, aside from general compactness, is these wonderful Zeiss T* lenses. I'm a retired professional photographer, and I can't stand mediocre glass. This lens has exceeded my expectations.

7

2

0

Great lens

SEL2470Z 27 December 2014 by JeffL (USA)

This lens is a great all purpose walk around lens. This is not a prime lens so don't expect the specs you would get with a prime. I use this on my a7 and it's great, lightweight package. Did two weeks in the Pacific Northwest and came back with 1800 images. Overall I'm very pleased with this somewhat overpriced zoom.

0

2