E 50MM F1.8 OSS

Product Reviews

60

4.8 based on 60 customer reviews

47
12
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

61 Customer Reviews

0

Produces Great Quality!

sel50f18b 22 October 2020 by Sai Jen (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera close to a month ago. Recently had a family portrait shoot and the photos turned out amazing! The autofocus was quick and the lense is light weight. Great and surprising quality for the price!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product for its price

SEL50F18 SYX 05 October 2020 by greenmonster996 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

very happy with this lens so far and very impressed with the pictures I'm able to shoot using this lens with my a6400. Would love to see sony have more e mount zoom lens with OSS and at friendly prices!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very sharp

SEL50F18 03 October 2020 by Millo56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

very sharp super little lens and seems very well made.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing lens for the price

SEL50F18 SYX 15 August 2020 by rahul131 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is honestly one of my favourites for APSC cameras, very nice focal length for portraits and gives a gorgeous bokeh even stopped down to F2.8. Also great low light performance thanks to its fast aperture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

new to Sony

SEL50F18 09 May 2020 by Bbiillll (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Switched over from Nikon due to problems on last 3 cameras. Love the Sony products so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sharp lens

SEL50F18/BC SYX 23 January 2020 by Tomkham (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it a month ago and use it during my trip and I definitely like it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

OSS is amazing

SEL50F18/BC SYX 17 January 2020 by mrkjsn (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

really happy with my purchase! by far my favorite lens for taking video

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nearly Great

SEL50F18/BC SYX 09 October 2019 by Not All Sony Glass is Goo (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

It does what the reviews say, great quality prime lens for my a6000. However, noticed red dots that i can only assume are reflections of some sort, in a number of pictures. Never really noticed this with the kit lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens for bokeh effect

SEL50F18/BC SYX 15 September 2019 by JJBeans (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use. Am an absolute beginner but it gave me the effect I wanted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb sharpness

SEL50F18 16 August 2019 by Mr Miyanji (United Kingdom)

I was long awaiting to buy this lens and boy is it one of the best. It’s sharpest at F2.8-F4.5 and wide open it’s also surprisingly sharp amazing lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great bokeh but poor focus sometimes

SEL50F18/BC SYX 08 January 2019 by simoneku2001 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the sharpness and quality but autofocus tends to focus on the wrong things

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome Portrait pics

SEL50F18 SYX 02 January 2019 by Bapik (Singapore)

I used this lens for the first time (based on the recommendation of one friend). Pics are really awesome, even though they were captured by a "shaky hand" like me!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great shots

SEL50F18/BC SYX 23 December 2018 by FizahH (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it weeks ago and i am so glad that i am able to capture great moments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

50mm FE 1.8/50

SEL50F18 08 December 2018 by Retski_77 (United Kingdom)

Bought this with my Sony A7iii - great, lightweight lens - good low light performance and great for travel and street photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Great overall lens

SEL50F18 29 October 2018 by Jonahelk (USA)

I bought this lens a day ago, overall amazing focus speed, and picture quality!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice and cheap

SEL50F18/BC SYX 30 September 2018 by Pigstalk (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm a beginner at photography and didn't want to spend so much money on a prime lens. This lens was perfect for my budget and is easy to use. The auto focus is a little slow.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fast lens

SEL50F18/BC SYX 29 September 2018  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recommended lens for street photography. Light and ease of use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing value for money

SEL50F18 04 July 2018 by KeithTandy (USA)

After frustration from the kit lens in achieving those creamy bokeh portrait images, I figured I needed this lens. Best decision ever. For this reduced price you're getting some quality glass that has sharp focus, super crisp images, is incredible in low light, and gets those creamy bokeh shots for portraits or any other object. You do have to do the "zooming" with your feet however, but I couldn't ask for more. For this price and what this lens has to offer it is a must have in any persons camera bag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

My Review for E 50mm F1.8 OSS

SEL50F18/BC SYX 06 June 2018 by Nirmal kevin (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Awesome focus sharp pictures best lens better quality

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

nice little lens

SEL50F18 08 February 2018 by Fabro (USA)

I've owned this lens for 3+ yrs and can tell you it is very sharp,,, I don't know if the others are as sharp or sharper because I don't own them! As far as focus distance, I have focused { manually} at 5-6" so their 1.2' distance in the spec's could be off, so you could use it as a macro lens as far as I'm concerned! I do think it does a better job if you manually focus it but even in auto it does a great job! It does seem to be a little sharper at F4! It's also a very small and light lens as well!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Great portraits lens

SEL50F18 25 January 2018 by Jayy123 (USA)

This lens is incredible for the price. Truly a nifty fifty. This was my first prime lens I bought and I didn’t regret it. Lens is a good focal length for portraits and with the f1.8 creates creamy bokeh. It is a good bang for the buck in my opinion.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

A Useful Prime

SEL50F18/B 12 November 2017 by Ash87 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The apsc 50mm matches the field of fiew of the view finder of both the a6000 and the a7s perfectly. The OSS works well with the a7s. It’s a useful prime to use with a apsc sensor or a cropped 35mm sensor. With a 1.4x crop factor it produces images with an equivilent field of view as a 70mm.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

LOVE

SEL50F18 08 November 2017 by Bekah4 (USA)

This was my first lense purchase outside the 16-50mm the Sony a6000 comes with. It has taken some amazing pictures for me so far!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Good but expensive

SEL50F18/BC SYX 23 October 2017 by Jeremy97 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pretty good just that the price was way too high compared to lenses from other manufacturers

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quick and bright.

SEL50F18 25 September 2017 by JimmyWhirlwind (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works really well as a prime lens. Great bokeh and quick to focus even in low light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

50MM F1.8 - Great Lens for Everyday Use

SEL50F18 SYX 30 August 2017 by Thomas Ng (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm glad I selected this 50mm f1.8 lens over the new 85mm f1.8FE. The 50mm serves my purpose for all portrait and food shots! Great buy!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent pictures and video

SEL50F18 12 July 2017 by pbm8 (USA)

I am no expert in photography, but this lens is very easy to use and gives some awesome pictures from the first day of use without too much digging about how to use it. I would totally recommend this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Good, but very specific use

SEL50F18 06 June 2017 by Krav (USA)

Pros: Excellent image quality Great for posed portraits/ stationary subjects Cons: Very slow to focus for a prime, thus unusable for candid/ street photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

9

0

Sharp and good price

SEL50F18 30 May 2017 by Eddie2k2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like this lens nice and sharp, price is reasonable, works perfectly with my a6500

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

beauty of a lens

SEL50F18 03 April 2017 by pugsly (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i have not had it long but the photos i have taken were sharp and crisp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

very sharp

SEL50F18/BC SYX 31 March 2017 by ray1234 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

compares to my power 16-50mm zoom lens, it is so sharp even at F1.8. color is so vivid. i don't want use 16-50mm any more. but quite expensive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

If you're new get this as your first lens

SEL50F18/BC SYX 22 March 2017 by Wirfani (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

A prime that is easy to use, great for learning about basics of DOP and relatively light to carry around. Buy it. JUST DO IT.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great lens

SEL50F18 20 February 2017 by pash47 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

excellent lens very good build and light weight and takes excellent crisp photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Quality images

SEL50F18 08 February 2017 by Davpand (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wanted a decent prime lens for a good price. Great image quality. Ideal for portrait work and low light. You cannot go wrong with this lens and a great addition to my a6000

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great lenses

SEL50F18 06 February 2017 by Lifeishappy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very happy with this purchase. This is a definitely daily use lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

E50mm F1.8

SEL50F18 09 January 2017 by Fergie7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the 50mm f1.8 as I wanted a fast prime lens that I can use for travel and portrait photography. I am please with the compact size of the Sony lens. The built in optical stabilisation system will aid when shooting in low light conditions. As I have on recently bought this lens I have only used it for some family portraits but was please with the sharpness and clarity of these.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

1

0

Great Lens

SEL50F18 05 January 2017 by Phase9 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great prime lens for the price and it's fast at 1.8 so you can really make use of existing light and still get a reasonable ISO level. Perfect for portraits at 50mm (75mm equivalent) and really a lot of city scape shots if you can get away with not going wide.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Great bokeh effect

SEL50F18/BC SYX 07 December 2016 by thseow (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is great and is able to have great bokeh effect on pictures. I used it to take food photos and they come out great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Love it!

SEL50F18 SYX 10 October 2016 by DennisLee (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you have NEX series E mount camera,you should get this.Image quality is good.And the price is reasonable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice lens, great images.

SEL50F18 26 July 2016 by GilesM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this recently, while it offers great images with bokeh produced by the wide range of f stops, the lens is noisy, (as in sound, not image noise) and uses the camera battery at an alarming rate. Something is working hard in the lense. Even with pre-focus turned off, it is still noisy and a real drain on the battery.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

17

0

Great portrait lens

SEL50F18/BC SYX 23 February 2016 by Sony convert (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sharp from f1.8. Pleasantly nice bokeh. Good color rendition. Good built quality. Highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It is nice precise build

SEL50F18 07 February 2016 by Dzeky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I did try some portraits and it did go well, price is good for what You getting, it is way way better in low light than one came with my a6000, for this price point I Am very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

0

50mm

SEL50F18 07 July 2015 by Dr Do (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lovely bright lens great to work with in low light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

4

0

As a prime it does the job well.

SEL50F18 07 July 2015 by Seaton Carew (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this E50mm F1.8 oss fore my A7 so far had excellent results would highly recommend this lens if you are into prime's being an E-Mount fits the A7 perfectly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

0

Amazing!

SEL50F18 24 April 2015 by GreyFoxIndy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For me this is an essential les for all owners of an e mount compatible camera. Stunning clarity and stabilisation. You will also get amazing depth of field and the lens delivers silent focusing at all times. the best 50mm in terms of pricing and features. Very lovely in its construction and design, feels very sturdy and will last forever. The included lens hood is also a nice bonus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

1

0

Great Quality Lens

SEL50F18 18 February 2015 by pjhoughton1976 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good build Quality, Great picture Quality lens far superior than the kit lens, more expense than the canon or Nikon equivalent

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Love it, Value for money and then some

SEL50F18 15 February 2015 by Tikcus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love it, by far my favourite lens. I am not a pro in anyway I own the Alpha 5000 (love this camera as well, so easy to use) I own the 16-50 Kit lens, and the 55-210 Zoom (as well as the 75-300 A mount lens with adapter), along with this fantastic Prime lens. As much as I enjoy taking photos with the 16-50, this has become my default lens for non zoom projects. I just love the separation easily achieved, I uploaded a quick shot to demonstrate that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

0

0

Compac lens with stellar performance

SEL50F18 06 February 2015 by Jackie S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens 2 months ago and have used it regularly, mostly indoors, it being in the winter period. Fitted to the Sony a6000 that it complements perfectly it has demonstrated excellent autofocus and outstanding optical performance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

1

0

sharp results and so smooth mechanically

SEL50F18 04 February 2015 by Pete 394 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens only two weeks ago and so far have only taken few test shots, but the results are very encouraging.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Very sharp, a bargain at the price.

SEL50F18 13 January 2015 by will77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've tried this lens out before and liked it so much I bought it straight away (black version). It's lightweight, very sharp and the image quality is great. I've compared images taken on my A6000 and this lens next to images from a full frame camera with equivalent lens and I cannot tell the difference in image quality. Very impressed indeed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Perfect as expected

SEL50F18 28 October 2014 by Witchine (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Prime lens E 50mm F1.8 OSS a month ago and it's my new toy! I am far from being a professional photographer but with this lens, hardly anything to do to have a perfect portrait. Love it! I think a prime lens gives this little touch that Zoom lens can't have... Even though, I believe my close friends may be a bit fed up of having an objective always so close to their face :D

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Sharpest lens in the bag

SEL50F18 11 October 2014 by Tigg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am an experienced enthusiast. I have progressed from film slrs thru' both Nikon and Canon sales. I recently changed to a Sony A6000 and bought the 50mm lens. It is a fantastic lens and is sooooo sharp. I tried a Sony A7r with a Zeiss 55mm f1.8 and really struggled even with major pixel peeking to see any difference. The lens is that good I carry it around all the time and it has never let me down. OSS is a great help in very low light I would not hesitate to recommend this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Excellent lens. Ideal first prime.

SEL50F18 15 September 2014 by sidneylopsides (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got the a6000 kit with 16-50 and 55-210 lenses. Naturally my next purchase would be a prime. This 50mm doesn't disappoint. It's very sharp, I love how much detail it picks up. The fast 1.8 aperture makes lower light photos easier, and the OSS even more so! It can throw the background out of focus with ease. It even seems very sharp wide open, and only takes a small drop in aperture to be excellent. Very little distortion, and any other issues are easily fixed in Lightroom to give very nice looking photos. Being 50mm on a crop sensor does mean it's a bit telephoto, so not great for indoors, so I think my next lens is the 35mm 1.8. It looks smart in black, feels solid, but not heavy. The hood is a bit plain, I like the look of petal hoods. The large front glass makes it look good! The only thing I've found a bit of a negative is that manual focussing is very slow. Much slower than the other lenses I have. Hopefully that an be changed in a firmware update. Overall it's a great lens for the money! I'd recommend it as the first prime for an e mount camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

2

0

Beautiful Lens and Bokeh, just not for manual focu

SEL50F18/B 07 October 2013 by Yakthar (USA)

This lens is a wonderful purchase for a NEX line camera. I used this briefly on my NEX-3N and the results were excellent. The bokeh is smooth and buttery, and the depth of field at the 1.8 and 2.0 are perfect for portrait work with a beautiful blurred backdrop. Autofocus on this lens was a tad slower than the kit lens, and it seems to cycle in and out of focus at times, but other times it was quick as lightning to focus. This likely was due to light conditions. The main caveat to this lens, and it was a large one for me, is the manual focus ring. The ring itself is beautifully crafted of solid metal with a nice grip on it. The throw is a bit weighted and has a substantial feel to it. The issue is that going from near to far focus with this requires what feels like two or three full revolutions of the focus wheel. I bought this lens for manual focus work not realizing how much turning the focus-by-wire approach would involve. I ended up returning the lens because it was causing me wrist pain to flick it as much and as hard as I needed for focus. However, if you aren't like me and going to be doing a ton of manual focusing, it works wonderfully, has excellent build quality, and is a great choice for portrait work. If the full-frame NEX camera comes out soonish, this would make a great standard 50mm, if that model follows convention and has no crop factor.

25

0

0

Great glass.

SEL50F18 04 October 2013 by Mikethomasad (USA)

The combination of features produce a one-of-a-kind experience, that a few years back would have not been affordable. Compact, efficient and powerful. The 50mm tells it with punched contrast and confident timing. Works perfectly with the NEX, where it was designed to come to life. You have the technical stuff here, so I'll just end with this, the image stabilization is worth the cost of the glass alone. 1.8 plus stabilization lets you do amazing work and reduces all kinds of effort. It's a great buy.

27

6

0

good

SEL50F18 10 August 2013  (USA)

i wish it could double as a macro lens.

3

26

0

Excellent all around lens

SEL50F18 06 August 2013 by AndyFay (USA)

This is a great lens that I have used to take over 5,000 images of food, flowers, people, and much more. The low aperature does a great job at minimizing the focus depth of field, but you need to make sure to keep it far enough away from things to get it to focus (flowers & smaller things). Overall, this is a great lens for the cost.

24

1