490

4.5 based on 490 customer reviews

317
135
19
11
8
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Awesome except doesn't support iOS8

Body Only 13 October 2014 by gmanjapan (USA)

I really really want to use the WiFi features but apparently the software broke with iOS8. Please update your software Sony! Otherwise so far I love it. I had an RX-100 for 2 years. Just upgraded to the model 3. That in itself is a glowing review because if I didn't like the RX-100 series I wouldn't have been willing to upgrade.

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony RX1003M A Great Camera if You Have a Ph.D.

Body Only 18 January 2017 by muskturtle (USA)

We got this camera in 20150505 and it's currently 20170117. I'm writing to offer this up in hopes it might be of some benefit to those considering one. The operating system for the camera is quite complex. Granted, considering I come from a film background, for years having used a top of the line competitor's camera, I learned about f-stops, shutterspeeds, exposure values and ISO and so a jump into the foray of things digital was, for me the second digital camera we owned. The first was a point and shoot. This camera, the Sony RX1003M is hardly a simple point and shoot. The imaging technology is excellent as would be expected however, the operating system is challenging and hardly intuitive at all. There are many videos on youtube that can be viewed and I suggest watching as many as possible. I suspect other manufacturers have similar problems. It would be useful if Sony had a series of video tutorials on this camera. The camera as I said is excellent for what its capabilities are. But if you want to set up the camera using Manual settings be prepared for let's see, using mathematical combinations 10 modes x 118 Menu Items! Meaning if you factor this out there are 118 menu items possible (not in reality) factorial. So for you mathematicians out there, correct me if I'm wrong, that means (118x10)! different possibilities. Still, all in all the camera is truly amazing considering one eventually begins to grasp its capabilities. The problem is how to set up the camera with the way one wants to make photographs since it has so many wonderful features. The other problem is recalling exactly where everything is in the event one wishes to 'tinker' with things like shutterspeed, ISO, f-stops and so on. For example finding the photographer can set up the 'control ring' which can be set to govern f-stops or aperture and other things is a challenge. Finding that the Menu button brings up icons like the Gear icon and then on page 4 of the Gear icon, finding Custom Key settings and then clicking on Shutter Speed gives the photographer the option to select it, or Aperture or Creative Style (I thought Creativity was in the eye of the photographer). But given the complexity of choices and how much is possible with this camera at best it is a challenge for users to remember all it is capable of doing. Clearly the developers are attempting to appeal to as many markets as possible. It should appeal to those who are familiar with the Sony product line and also to very advanced digital photographers. All in all this is an excellent camera. The technology is first rate. The camera feels solid and seems responsive and yet it is light and appealing to me and would seem the ideal camera to carry around. It's WiFi abilities are amazing. But again, this requires considerable tinkering once the cell phone operating system is aligned with its Sony Play Memories software, which can be put on the phone, desktop or tablet in accordance with the operating system. My experience was with the Android system on the HTC 626 Desire Cell Phone. The ability to turn the phone into a WiFi hot spot the phone can recognize was somewhat challenging but do-able. The camera's logic seems convoluted and deviates from historical film photography with its many nuances. It is a great camera if you need one to carry around with great still and movie capabilities. Just be prepared to spend a lot of time learning your way around the ropes. Perhaps upwards of 1000 hours. At least that was my experience. And consider this. My view is based on my experience as an amateur. Pros no doubt will have their opinions. Considering all the work that went into its design and production, the quality of the electronics and the legendary quality of the Zeiss lens and the machining involved, it is a first rate camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

490 Customer Reviews

0

Sleek Little Camera

Body Only 31 July 2019 by Sandy Beach (United Kingdom)

Great little camera takes crystal clear pictures. Love the flip screen great for taking selfies.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing details

Body Only 30 July 2019 by Walkaholic (United Kingdom)

There is a lot wrong with this camera, the lens isn't particularly wide and far from a zoom. Macro isn't close enough as far as I'm concerned either and the feel of it is cold and uninviting. However the image quality and features are outstanding, the lens produces a sharp image and the bracketing and hdr is amazing. I think most people wouldn't need as high a quality image as this camera produces, there have been a few shots I've taken that I've gasped at when I've seen the result. Price is a bit high, wait for a sale to get a bargain.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Overall fantastic compact camera

Body Only 29 July 2019 by 1PacMan (United Kingdom)

Pros: Slim, able to fit in your pocket. The 180 degree flip screen is useful Autofocus from video is very efficient and quick to respond Fantastic video quality Excellent lowlight performance Stable imagery is good Packed with plenty of features. Cons: No Mic-In Jack/input Weak battery life Rolling shutter

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Perfect pocket camera

Body Only 27 July 2019 by Amman95 (United Kingdom)

I bought this because every time I put a photo taken on a phone on a large 4k screen, it lacked detail and became very noisy. The photos on this camera look excellent ion a 4k screen. The camera is really easy to use, has more features than I can use, the viewfinder is great, battery life is really good and the build quality is excellent. My only slight issue is to get 60p video, the camera has to be set to NTSC and every time the camera is turned on there is a notification to say it is running on NTSC.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just about perfect walkabout camera.

Body Only 26 July 2019 by shoarthing (United Kingdom)

Bought to replace an RX100M1. I shoot RAW, using mostly manual settings. Pleased & surprised by quality of shorter, wider, & quicker lens . . . . it’s so good that I shoot almost entirely at f1.8. This means using the built-in ND filter - indeed, in this un-British & summery summer have bought & fitted a magfilter adapter & surprisingly often use an ND8 filter. Unless your primary use is to shoot video - & I use an RX10 for that - this M3 is probably the sweet-spot in the RX100 range as your walkabout camera: compared to earlier models it has an decent quality pop-up viewfinder & an improved sensor, while retaining the quality-oriented basic design.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A camera that challenges my DSLR

Body Only 25 July 2019 by tonyh53 (United Kingdom)

The camera is small and compact but provides me, an amateur camera club ability photographer with all the features I need for high quality photographs in RAW. Holidaying abroad with hand luggage meant that a big camera and three different lenses was not on for a three/four day break, but this gives me the flexibility to get great shots without the weight of a camera bag or the look of a tourist. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great photos, video - poor sound for qualitycamera

Body Only 23 July 2019 by Moridura (United Kingdom)

Great photos, video - poor sound for quality camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lightweight marvel

Body Only 20 July 2019 by Carolyn23 (United Kingdom)

This is my 2nd RX100, love it. I have already recommended it to a number of friends.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fab, small take anywhere camera.

Body Only 14 July 2019 by Wignut (United Kingdom)

This camera is great for everything. It will suit novices and more experienced photographers. Small enough to put in your pocket, but great on quality photo’s. Would recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact Beauty

Body Only 11 July 2019 by Richard200 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera after reading a review in Tech Radar. I wanted a compact camera with a viewfinder. It is easy to take great pictures but there are a lot of features which I have yet to explore. The only thing I would have liked is a booklet on the camera to fully understand all the features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

No ordinary point and shoot!

Body Only 09 July 2019 by JRPHOTO (United Kingdom)

Chose this camera after looking at lots of reviews/ratings. Only had it a week so still someway to go and a truly mind blowing amount of options if you want to go manual! I have had to watch a lot of youTube videos to get the hang of settings as manual provided is useless. By the time you have purchased a screen protector/stick on grip/case it is an expensive package. Shame there was no separate battery charger which was another expense.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent pocket camera.

Body Only 06 July 2019 by Simonkoh (Singapore)

Had a RX100-M2 before. Excellent high end pocket camera. Great picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent, well-featured camera for outdoors

Body Only 25 June 2019 by MunroMan (United Kingdom)

I needed a new camera for hillwalking. The RX100iii is perfect. Excellent piece of kit - lightweight, great sensor, lots of controls and modes - both manual and programmed as required, good access to all controls. Having an excellent electronic viewfinder is a huge help in bright conditions. The high-quality, tilting screen is also a big help. I have been shooting in RAW + JPEG - camera does a great job in processing and produces excellent JPEGs as required. Very pleased indeed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

camera

Body Only 24 June 2019 by how to manuel (United Kingdom)

I brought this camera from PC world ,they did not help at all. Camera is fine had to purchase a book on the dsc-rz100m3

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Heavy, Solid Pocket Camera

DSC-RX100M3 12 June 2019 by zoomu1 (USA)

camera takes beautiful pictures and video. you can tell the difference with the one inch sensor. a down side of the camera is the stereo microphone quality, the sound is tinny sounding, cheap microphone. my cell phone video microphone sounds better than this. That's why i gave it a 4 star. Other than that i love the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lots of features, perhaps too many.

Body Only 09 June 2019 by Bryan72 (United Kingdom)

I have not had the camera for long. The camera provides well detailed images with reasonable depth of field. The options allow for complete control or point and shoot as desired with the usual options in between. The movie option seems straightforward. I must admit that the number of possible settings is daunting so it will take some time to get to grips with them all. The main selling point for me was the integral viewfinder and it works well. The articulated rear LCD screen could do with being fully articulated rather than just tilt up and down. A way of connecting an external flash would be useful but there doesn't appear to be any way to do so unless there is a flash that can be triggered via USB or Wi-Fi. Connecting to the computer is a problem. The display on the back of the camera when connecting via USB is confusing, at first I didn't realize that it had connected and on the computer it shows up as just another hard drive. I found it impossible to connect to the computer via Wi-Fi. The information in the help guides and on the internet refers to registering via superseded software. I have not found a method of registering it via the replacement software. I have however been able to connect via Wi-Fi to my tablet although I did have to disconnect the tablet from my internet hub first. In summary it is very easy to use for a beginner with the intelligent Auto option but the number of menu options appears daunting and the integral viewfinder is aboon in bright light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A clever little camera that deserves more respect

Body Only 07 June 2019 by Johnnie 95 (United Kingdom)

This camera was bought to be a companion to my existing camera equipment. It is capable of producing competition quality images and I predict that it will probably get more use than my cumbersome DSLR. However, it is seriously let down by the instruction manuals that Sony provide. In my opinion, Sony is not giving this camera the respect that it deserves. I would have given a five star rating if there was a proper instruction manual.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great take everywhere compact

Body Only 24 May 2019 by Jomoma (USA)

own high end dslr Nikon that gets less use since I bought compact rx100m3

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera!

Body Only 23 May 2019 by Barb66 (USA)

I just bought this camera and so far, I love it! It's small enough to fit in my purse. The pics I taken so far ad very good. I'll know more after a month or so.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New camera

Body Only 19 May 2019 by Kiraabel (United Kingdom)

Bought this model as my dad had one and easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality

Body Only 04 May 2019 by JPilling (United Kingdom)

Not had long so can't do in-depth full review yet, but excellent so far. Did quality lens tests compared to my digital SLR and excellent quality. Only moan, come on Sony let's have a proper good old fashioned instruction manual included, especially for the price we are paying for this camera. Also better grip rather than having to pay for accessory.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

The Camera is excellent

Body Only 25 April 2019 by Pedro M (United Kingdom)

Not suitable if you want a long lens. Downloading pictures to an Apple I-phone or I-Pad without removing the card and using an adaptor has so far been beyond me. NFC only works with suitable android devices. WiFi - entering password data is laborious.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great pictures

Body Only 15 April 2019 by Glen1 (United Kingdom)

Delighted. If not somewhat weighty but the results outweigh this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great product

Body Only 08 April 2019 by Donkeydick (United Kingdom)

Bought as a replacement for the Mark 11 version and glad I did

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Brilliant!

Body Only 03 April 2019 by Pelyn (United Kingdom)

Bought this a month ago and have to say on opening that the software is very user friendly. The camera is easy to handle, comfortable to hold and the quality of picture upholds it’s price tag. The only issue and this is probably not the cameras fault, is the video, which has three modes, will not replay on my iPad Pro. Windows ok but you will probably need a converter to get them to work on iPad.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Crystal clear images, easy interface

Body Only 26 March 2019 by IdahoDad (United Kingdom)

I purchased this M3 used after using my son's M2. I was so impressed with the M2, but having the same with the eyepiece and wifi additions put me over the top. I love the quality of the images, the super fast lens, and the easy to learn interface. My work DSL is my Canon d700, but the quality I get from this M3 makes it hard to pull out that big gun. The only thing missing for me (personal preference) is a scale display for the meter rather than numbers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Incredible!

Body Only 16 March 2019 by Lucie2019 (Singapore)

After so much information available on various cameras I was recommended this one and there is a clear reason it still pops up in the TOP 10 cameras - it is amazing! So user friendly and the ability to just point and shoot is amazing but also great that you can adjust everything yourself too. Super quick to turn on and be photo ready and also with a Super responsive shutter so you don’t miss a thing. The colour isnpicks up is amazing and it’s variability st great portraits, landscapes and while moving is incredible. Can’t recommend it highly enough

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Versatility, in a small package.

Body Only 04 March 2019 by GrantGB (United Kingdom)

When deciding to buy a camera like the RX100 III you have obviously, already, decided to make compromises with the camera, in this case, probably in the favour of having a compact camera which can easily be carried around. I wanted a camera which was small and portable, but still retained the creative flexibility of a DSLR/Mirrorless camera. This was why I chose the RX100 III. OK, it doesn't have the interchangeable lens facility, but when I looked at the photography I do, a 'long zoom' is rarely required. That said, this is where the RX100 III does have a bit of a surprise. The optical 2.9x zoom, which is great for adjusting composition, can be extended, with the clear image digital facility, to 4.9x, with little effect on image quality. OK, the RAW facility is lost when any digital zoom is used, but that was the reason I chose this camera. I wanted to have the freedom to compose the image, in camera, as I wanted it to be, due to not being a great fan of post processing using software. Owning such a versatile camera as the RX100 III means I can create the images I want and know that post processing can be kept to a minimum!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fast shutter speed

Body Only 01 March 2019 by Ross J (United Kingdom)

I had a Sony camera previously and although happy with it the shutter speed was too slow. I spoke with several friends and a knowlageble shop assistant and all advised that Sony make the best cameras so I confidentally bought another one which I am very happy with.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome for travel - great overall quality

Body Only 27 February 2019 by THEO805 (USA)

Have used for both photo and video - my only complaint is the hinges that hold the screen on, they have both come undone buy easy to repair myself

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Many good features

Body Only 25 February 2019 by gillk (United Kingdom)

Very happy with results looking forward to many more pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Programme Guide poor

Body Only 13 February 2019 by X357 (United Kingdom)

All good, except the fact that the programme guide is too small and cannot be enlarged for those without 20/20 vision. I see that many other people have the same problem and as I do not wish to have a screen the size of a wall, I would probably not buy another Sony only due to this problem.

0

0

0

Great little camera

Body Only 09 February 2019 by Magsy May (United Kingdom)

Purchased very recently, bought the Sony A6000 last year, wonderful camera, this I wanted as a smaller pocket/handbag size camera. Quickly realised the menu is very similar to A6000. very pleased , absolutely delighted

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

loads of functionality

Body Only 03 February 2019 by Cornishman (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera to take to my son's wedding so that I didn't have to worry about a DSLR and all the equipment. Small size, functionality, controllability and quality were important factors for me. The RX100 III meets all requirements - so far. As I have only had the camera for 2 weeks and the wedding is yet to happen I cannot say much more.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very programmable

Body Only 02 February 2019 by Nils 19 (United Kingdom)

Purchased this 10 days ago and love the “Picture effect” where a colour can be chosen. However I had to search internet a lot to learn how to use it. Choose “P” on ring, click camera symbol, go to page 4 then picture effect. This opens a lot of settings. Would be nice if Sony had a set of tutorials ( unless I’m unable to find it!) instead of having to use YouTube all the time. Can’t wait to take it on holiday!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Takes really good pictures

Body Only 02 February 2019 by nebulous (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera for my partner, and I wanted a really good camera that was simple to use, and one that had an optical viewfinder. With the combination of Sony electronics, and Zeiss optics, I was expecting this camera to be good, but it has exceeded all my expectations. Apart from technical features and specs - which are impressive; the best thing about this camera is that it takes great pictures, effortlessly. Very glad I bought it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

Body Only 01 February 2019 by Mistyph (United Kingdom)

Bought this for my wife and she loves it. Uses it regularly and is planning to use it to learn more about photography.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

a compact camera that is well designed, well made

Body Only 31 January 2019 by Rosquilla (United Kingdom)

My daughter chose the camera because it is beautifully designed, well made with a viewfinder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

RX100 M3

Body Only 28 January 2019 by RX100 M3 owner (United Kingdom)

Bought in October for a trip to India. Really pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very impressive amazingly capable camera.

Body Only 28 January 2019 by TonyM42 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this camera following a conversation with a friend about the capability of small, pocketable cameras - and several false starts with other brands and models. I am / have been a long-term Olympus M4/3 fan but have been seeking better alternative than Smartphones for a camera that I can take anywhere at any time. I finally settled on the RX100iii and am more than delighted with the capabilities and performance of this amazing little camera under a wide range of conditions. I'm still finding my way round the menu system (which is far easier than the Olympus labyrinth(!)) but have nothing but delight so far.

1

0

0

Excellent Camera

Body Only 26 January 2019 by Pedroc9090 (United Kingdom)

I have just had this camera for a couple of weeks and am still getting to grips with its more advanced features. A little expensive for a compact camera but worth it for the many focus and shooting modes. The camera can be used as a point and shoot camera (still giving excellent images) or using the more advanced modes. The inclusion of a pop up viewfinder is a bonus. The couple of photos included were taken using the auto mode.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent feature.

Body Only 23 January 2019 by Martin18 (United Kingdom)

I am still at the early stages of getting to know how to set up for the best use of the camera due to it's many features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Stuck shutter problem

DSC-RX100M3 18 January 2019 by Sony rx100 owner (USA)

I bought this camera 2 years ago. Love it for travel/vacation. Recently the shutter sticks and has to be manually pushed to open. Sony wants $400 to repair - this does not make sense to pay 50% of the camera cost to fix a stuck shutter.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best compact camera range

Body Only 17 January 2019 by rjp3 (United Kingdom)

Previously owned the original RX100 and loved it - including in a water housing - and this is a significant upgrade. Not a huge difference in image quality the original was so good, but the M3 is better and the slightly wider angle lens more useful. The biggest difference is the tilty screen and the viewfinder which transforms it into a truly useful machine. Use it right and it is capable of results used professionally ! but do spend the extra few pounds on the rubber grip, transforms the handling !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera to have with you at all times

Body Only 12 January 2019 by Crystal1 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera as a companion to my bigger main camera, one to have with me in my bag or pocket at all times

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best Value of the RX100 Series

Body Only 12 January 2019 by Michael_100 (United Kingdom)

I was looking for a small but high-function camera to supplement my DSLR. An electronic EVF featured high on my list and the Sony RX100 series fitted the bill, especially with the excellent reviews of the image quality. Not being a huge fan of video, the Mark III was the best compromise of price and performance. I have not been disappointed - the images I obtain are excellent and its pocketability is outstanding.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great camera - small but mighty!

Body Only 12 January 2019 by Henri62 (United Kingdom)

Received as a Christmas present. It’s light and small - which is exactly what I wanted. A camera to compliment my existing DSLRs. As a mainly Canon user this is taking a little while to get used to. The deleting of images is slow and the menus are fiddly. But at the end of the day it’s what the pictures look like that counts - assuming there are no real nagatives in handling - and so far they look pretty good.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Small but powerful.

Body Only 03 January 2019 by Raybel (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera at the end of November 2018. I have probably taken 500 photos between then and now 03/01/19 and really enjoy using this little gem. I mostly take landscape, nature or urban photos and this camera is packed full of high quality usable features for the armature through to the professional who doesn’t want to carry round masses of equipment. It can be fully automatic through to fully manual. I cant comment on the video feature as I am not interested in video so don’t use them, however photo quality is great. The menu system, I find is intuitive although this is a personalised opinion and of course the great thing is the size! Tiny but with a sturdy feel about it. Not plasticy, worried it might break if you put it in your pocket or bag, but solid, light enough to carry as you would maybe you phone, but heavy enough to feel like a camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality Product

Body Only 02 January 2019 by Torchlight (United Kingdom)

Well put together and functional. Picture quality is excellent. Price was fair and included Sony promotional offer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

User friendly compact wizard

Body Only 31 December 2018 by Popoff (United Kingdom)

It's a real camera with all the features that will fit in your pocket!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to find settings

Body Only 30 December 2018 by chris227 (United Kingdom)

After doing searches for a compact camera that had a 1 inch sensor and wide lens and reading different reviews I am so far very happy with my purchase it is much easier to find your way around different settings than my previous camera so looking forward to trying the different scene settings out so far I'm very pleased with results that I have tried and would recommend this camera to friends

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent for low light

Body Only 22 December 2018 by Seeohelay (Singapore)

I wanted something that could fit in my pocket and work well in low light situations for a trip to Iceland. This was perfect

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent pocket camera

Body Only 19 December 2018 by imagesBV (United Kingdom)

I've wanted a pocketable camera capable of high quality results good enough to sell through stock agencies....but all I've tried before are too large or too limiting in focal length or have smaller sensors which generate too much noise. The RX100M3 ticks all the boxes and has the advantage of a pop up viewfinder. The lens is very sharp, controls customisable and the camera has full manual and auto controls. Images from the RX100M3 have passed QC first time at stock agencies and on the screen compare well with APS-C sensor cameras up to moderate ISO settings. I would rate the picture quality as excellent though its never going to compete with my full frame system - although it does within limits!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic

Body Only 18 December 2018 by Lisa72 (United Kingdom)

Bought rx100 for my partner he’s over the moon. Never shuts up about it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A super pocket camera

Body Only 07 December 2018 by Mattalan (United Kingdom)

Bought this to replace my RX100 because of extra features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant little camera

Body Only 04 December 2018 by Caerphilly Castle (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera to slip into my pocket for travel weekends. I wanted Professional type results & features like Manual control etc a DSLR for my serious work with interchangeable lenses. However the kit is heavy to carry around e.g holidays. I am a keen enthusiast & belong to a Photographic Club so results & quality is important to me. I opted for the Mark 3 model because I don't require 4K video or telephoto lens. The 3 has all the features I require plus it was in my price range. Have used it this past weekend with great results from record shots. I had researched reviews on this camera incl. other Sony RX100 models. The mark 3 suited my needs the best for the money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact

Body Only 30 November 2018 by Wenwen (Singapore)

Viewfinder and the cover for charging the battery so delicate n fragile....will spoil easily

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 28 November 2018 by Wolvo11 (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera for a forthcoming trip to Norway in December. Wanted a good camera in low light conditions and this was recommended in Jessops, Birmingham. I'm not a real photography expert but good results so far and plenty of settings to tinker about with.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Some poor features

Body Only 22 November 2018 by Babachan (United Kingdom)

I bought my new Cybershot RX100 III in Japan in October on Osaka. I should have waited until I got back to the UK where I could have bought it it for £100.00 less! But two complaints about the camera itself. 1) It does not come with an external battery charger unit and if you buy one from Sony or elsewhere as as add-on it is about £50.00! All previous digital cameras have come with a fully external battery charger unit, like two separate Panasonic Lumix cameras. 2) It just has an incredibly short lead that runs from the camera itself to a power socket which can create problems such as when using a convenient socket, with such a short lead you have to put the camera on the floor! 3) the connection point for this power charging lead has a tiny, flimsy flap, difficult to open and likely to snap off at some point. So, in summary I am not at all happy with Sony for not supplying a separate external battery charger unit, particularly bearing the price of the camera in mind!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

one nervous-making feature

Body Only 18 November 2018 by fotomind (United Kingdom)

The optical viewfinder doesn't works well; on sunny conditions the viewfinder is failing and this is a very annoying matter. The Sony RX100 III is still the best compact camera, but I would not buy it again because of this nervous-making feature.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A quality pocket-sized camera.

Body Only 17 November 2018 by Yodder (United Kingdom)

I am not a professional, not even a talented amateur, but I walk the mountains a lot and I need a small, quality camera that I can put in my pocket - and this is it. It has optical zoom and digital zoom which I find useful. The viewfinder is excellent, albeit a bit vulnerable to damage if you are not careful. The Zeiss lens produces superb detailed images of mountains, etc. I can't comment on reliability, but all in all I am very pleased with it. It has a "Quality" feel about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Photo’s & Easy To Use

Body Only 25 October 2018 by Gealy (United Kingdom)

Bought this from Jessops in September 2018, and there was a £150 Cash Back deal on, so this made it not only a high quality, aim & fire camera, it was also an absolute Bargain!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Top quality compact

Body Only 22 October 2018 by steclarke56 (United Kingdom)

Bought it to replace my old RX100.Far superior model

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lightweight camera with stunning images

Body Only 22 October 2018 by spt101 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this 6 weeks ago and have been so impressed with the results I sold my micro four-thirds camera to use this exclusively.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointing

Body Only 20 October 2018 by steve1234567890 (United Kingdom)

I bought this as pocket camera when I want something better than a 'phone, but less bulky than my SLR kit. Previously used a Canon S120 which was used extensively but finally broke. The values I looked for were: lens quality; good sensor; not a “super zoom” to avoid the bellows effect sucking dust in to the sensor; manual options; quality product from prime camera supplier. The RX100 M3 may be capable of good pictures but: - Manual is too minimal. Online manual not much better. Needs proper explanation of the many different options. - Menu is clumsy and non-intuitive. - Included software didn’t work properly. WiFI file transfer to Mac only worked by hacking links to files then it is incredibly slow to transfer pictures. - Cashback system was tortuous and felt like it was designed to be evasive. This is an expensive (premium?) product with what is apparently an excellent lens, sensor and ruggedness. I’d rather Sony prioritised resources on getting the core functions right - taking great pictures easily rather than adding “toys” such as trick picture functions, a flimsy flip display and I’m not particularly interested in video capabilities although all cameras push video now as well as stills. I have managed to take some good pictures with this camera but it feels like hard work every time. It will probably take time to get used to it but two months in, it’s a chore to use it, not a pleasure.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great point and shoot camera

Body Only 14 October 2018 by Balgor (Singapore)

No regrets buying this point and shoot camera....very compact/small with 1inch sensor picture quality is at most. I am supprise the image quality it can produce

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

x100 a 100%Winner

Body Only 10 October 2018 by Roymac (United Kingdom)

Great product but little disappointed by cash back let down. I could not trace where to find my cash back deal offered in Jessops.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

What a Fantastic Camera !!!!

Body Only 02 October 2018 by Chad P (United Kingdom)

I currently have a Sony A6000 but I don't always have it with me so I looked for a compact camera that could deliver great photographs and that it was small enough to always keep it at hand.The RX100III met all my requirements and gives excellent sharp photographs that are almost as good as the Sony A6000 and to be honest I now use this camera more than the A6000 its that good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Is missing a user manual

Body Only 29 September 2018 by istar75 (United Kingdom)

I only took a few pictures all jpeg to get the feel of the camera: a few flowers, a hawk moth hovering over them, the full moon, a few people, a few landscapes and city landscapes. Everything was shot in the "auto" setting but for most of the the moon shots that I shot in manual and a couple of city landscapes that I shot in "P" . I was very happy with the resolution, the colors (but for the moon that should not have had any) and the sharpness of the pictures. I was faced with some curious reactions ( a blue moon!?!) the fact that (when not blue) the moon was yellow, I had expected a near to black and white picture like the one I get with my Nikon D500. The camera failed miserably with the moon in auto, the rest of the scenery, the lighted houses street light etc. were fine, so I assume it's a reasonable decision of the camera software. All in all the camera behaved as I had hoped it would and I am very satisfied for that part. Where I am NOT satisfied AT ALL is the lack of a usable handbook explaining CLEARLY what is on the screen and the meaning of all the hieroglyphes that are displayed. The menus are extremely confusing, I would have expected something better than the "Help Guide" I even contacted my prefered writer for cameras guides (David Busch, he had published something for the m5) He is in the process of writing a book for the m6 which he also likes a lot and was nice enough to send me the page with the screen and explainations for the symbols. I do realize that due to the size of the camera it is not possible to put as many controls as on larger SLRs but I found myself taking too long to try to convince the automatic to use a different aperture, speed or ISO while keeping the exposure.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

A handy camera with good performance

Body Only 25 September 2018 by Emjaykay (United Kingdom)

Having owned the camera for a month or so, I find the size is convenient, the electronic viewfinder good and the image quality excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very Handy

Body Only 22 September 2018 by Crock (United Kingdom)

Bought a couple of weeks ago, very pleased, excellent quality photos. It took a wee while to figure out the view-finder but google worked wonders ! Still playing with various features but generally very pleased with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0