566

4.2 based on 566 customer reviews

309
155
50
16
36
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Customer is thrilled

DSC-W800 26 January 2018 by Smudgei (United Kingdom)

I am so glad I bought this camera. I am a bit of a technophobe so I was hugely relieved to be able to understand the instruction leaflet. Additionally, I have had no problem working out how to use its various functions by myself. It is a small, compact camera and I love using it. I would recommend it to anyone. Especially to the more technically challenged!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Super slow. Poor Pictures unless optimal light

DSC-W800 14 December 2019 by maps (USA)

I bought this at Target while I was in Florida about a month ago, In 1 weekend I took over 400 photos an I can use about 20. The picture quality is that poor. Unless light is optimal don't expect much at all. The camera -in every setting- also tries to correct and essentially ruins the point of capturing a true image. My hands, perhaps due to disability and other issues actually get very tired in between shots, it takes a second a more in between shots. I have never had a camera operate this slow -. If you want to capture important moments forget it. I trust and use Sony as a brand consistently. I will not be buying another Sony pocket camera.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

566 Customer Reviews

0

Nice compact little camera

DSC-W800 18 May 2020 by Evie 63 (United Kingdom)

Takes lovely photos,but as yet have not developed any.so handy to put in your pocket,nice size screen very happy with it.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little Camera - Excellent Lense

DSC-W800 08 May 2020 by Rbh27 (USA)

I've had this camera for about 6 years and it is great ... I use it for work and it gets knocked around in breafcases and backpacks, Lense quality is outstanding and easy to use vs my little Lumix. and other fullsize cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Can't figure it out!

DSC-W800 02 May 2020 by CherylD (USA)

This was a Christmas gift from my son because he thought I needed an upgrade from my Nikon cool pix. Well, for one thing, I took it on a walk with me and after a few pictures got a message that there is no internal memory space remaining - and so I thought I would download on my computer to get what I took off, and it doesn't connect?? Glad I didn't get rid of my little Nikon which doesn't require a memory card and I can download to my PC with no problem.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Not the best

DSC-W800 30 April 2020 by DD Almighty (United Kingdom)

Bought it and sent it back, picture quality was worse than my Iphone6S. I bought a Canon G9X MkII at a lot more money but pictures are superb.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Better than using your mobile!

DSC-W800 29 April 2020 by Cardman (United Kingdom)

I have just got this excellent piece of kit and, for the price, I am astounded by the quality of the pictures! The quality of the build is very good too! Simply removing the memory card, plugging it into a dongle, and, connecting it to my iPad is simplicity itself. Will never not take it with me in future!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

can not connect to my computer

DSC-W800 29 April 2020 by notwen (United Kingdom)

about 7 years ago and is old but the camara works ok but i can not connect it to yhe computer

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Great Camera

DSCW800/B 25 April 2020 by Richp2 (USA)

I just bought it and the photos are excellent. I just recommended to a relative.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Never took so many blurry pictures

DSC-W800 24 April 2020 by Feraltamer (USA)

Seems the camera needs to be braced against something so the image doesn't end up blurry. Looked on the camera menu for image stabilization. No go. Looked on the help guide, still nothing. My Kodak easyshare (rest its soul) did much better than this. Flash is too bright, and washes out subject.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact and Easy to Use

DSC-W800 20 April 2020 by Wisim (United Kingdom)

Very pleased with this camera. Easy to use and compact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

ease of use

DSC-W800 20 March 2020 by ginty1950 (United Kingdom)

I brought this about a month ago, and tbh not used it that much, as been self isolating, so nowhere to go to take pictures

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small, compact and easy to use

DSCW800B 09 March 2020 by cmills33138 (USA)

The DCSW800B camera comes in handy for taking quick tourist photos with a better zoom and photo quality than my mobile phone. No drivers were necessary and the device was immediately recognized by my system running Ubuntu Studio.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value camera with many features

DSC-W800 28 February 2020 by Benny 99101 (United Kingdom)

Received as a birthday present just what I wanted will definitely put it to good use

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant little camera

DSC-W800 22 February 2020 by JennyT (United Kingdom)

Purchased to replace an old compact camera. Really pleased with the Sony. Automatically adjusts for type of shot being made eg. close up, landscape, indoor etc. Really good pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W800 13 February 2020 by Stiz (United Kingdom)

I bought my Sony camera this month and it has not yet malfunctioned, which is good...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice size camera for traveling

DSCW800B 09 February 2020 by Lee72 (USA)

I received this as a gift because I accidently left my 8 yr old Sony on the plane and still waiting to hear if it was found. My sister & Brother in law in Florida whom I was visiting bought it for me.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Lovely looking camera

DSC-W800 28 January 2020 by Cherry B (United Kingdom)

This was a Christmas present from my husband and I am looking forward to using it to photograph my great grandsons christening.

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Good small camera

DSC-W800 23 January 2020 by Heclantis (United Kingdom)

Had this for Christmas and delighted. Good results but would like to turn off the flash. It also takes a long time to do a flash picture as it goes off 3/4 times!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony cybershot

DSC-W800 11 January 2020 by Jen20 (United Kingdom)

Lovely little camera. Was a Christmas present. Fits in my handbag and takes great photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simple to snap with !!

DSC-W800 08 January 2020  (United Kingdom)

Wanted a small camera that I could carry in my handbag for taking quick but quality photographs at events. Look no further. Small enough to fit easily in a handback, and really easy to use. You don't really need the instruction, if you're had camera's before, its simple to pick up and use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Response Time

DSCW800B 04 January 2020 by Happy Jack MO (USA)

Being vastly old school, I miss the eyepiece in any camera, but this little Sony is very easy to use, has a very clear view screen, and a snappy response time so what I picture is what I capture. Bright, crisp images. I tested it on several "ugly sweaters" and got good resolution on convoluted patterns. Colors conform nicely both on screen, on computer screen and in print.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small and Compact

DSC-W800 02 January 2020 by Lindy19 (United Kingdom)

A no complicated camera, just the way I like modern tech. Easy to use, including the various programmes.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

W 800 Camera

DSC-W800 30 December 2019 by Greggo (United Kingdom)

It's ok but has to many options on it . can't say anymore than that .

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Easy to Use

DSCW800B 28 December 2019 by lfno (USA)

I bought this to replace a similar Sony camera that finally died. I was so happy with my first purchase, that I looked for the same camera. The features have been updated and this model is easier to use. It is easy to recharge, easy to upload photos, and takes tremendous pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great disappointment.

DSC-W800 23 December 2019 by simplefool (United Kingdom)

After reading the item description on Amazon; I was looking forward to receiving and playing with a new toy. I was to be very disappointed with both the product and the whole shopping experience. The camera was tiny. There was no mention of a memory card in the item's description page; which I felt was an error of omission. Because, it really required a memory card to fulfil it's purpose. Having charged the battery; this particular camera wouldn't function beyond displaying what would become an annoyingly ironic message, asking me ''What Language Do You Want'' or words to that effect . . . After reading, and following the ''Quick Guide'' instructions; I came to the conclusion that this particular camera was defective. Void of function. Then began an epic saga of world wide web travels and adventures, involving Spaniards (in their European context) Indians (In they're hub of communication guise) . . . dare I mention the Chinese (as manufacturers!?) Yet another carbon footprint, involving global and local deliveries. Bus journeys, and return deliveries. Then the time factor. However, the person on the Amazon Messenger Assistance Service (or whatever it's called) was excellent. The camera was very disappointing. The shopping experience was disappointing.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

1

0

Instructions are USELESS

DSC-W800 18 December 2019 by databoy (United Kingdom)

The instructions imply that this camera can use Internal memory, Memory Stick PRO Duo, Memory stick micro, SD and micro SD cards for storing media. I really doubt this is true. I can only see space for an SD Card. The option of using internal memory also seems to be false as I have tried taking photos without an SD inserted and cannot find them by either playing back on the camera or connecting the camera to my laptop.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

easy to use

DSC-W800 18 December 2019 by gofree (United Kingdom)

happy with purchase easy to use instructions easy to follow

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super slow. Poor Pictures unless optimal light

DSC-W800 14 December 2019 by maps (USA)

I bought this at Target while I was in Florida about a month ago, In 1 weekend I took over 400 photos an I can use about 20. The picture quality is that poor. Unless light is optimal don't expect much at all. The camera -in every setting- also tries to correct and essentially ruins the point of capturing a true image. My hands, perhaps due to disability and other issues actually get very tired in between shots, it takes a second a more in between shots. I have never had a camera operate this slow -. If you want to capture important moments forget it. I trust and use Sony as a brand consistently. I will not be buying another Sony pocket camera.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-W800 01 December 2019 by Turbotrev (United Kingdom)

This is a great pocket size camera. Loads of features nd easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bit disappointed

DSC-W800 08 November 2019 by chegga (United Kingdom)

I bought this as a replacement for my Cannon Sure Shot which was lost. The photo quality so far is ok but navigating the menu is far less user friendly. One particular disappointment is that try as I might I cannot get the date stamp on my pictures

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Fantastic camera

DSC-W800 29 October 2019  (United Kingdom)

Takes lovely photos and very easy to use. Menu sounds are very nice and a super bright flash mode is available for extra dark shots. Although normal flash is quite bright. Excellent. Thanks

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use.

DSCW800B 24 October 2019 by porkypine52 (USA)

Easy to use, but still trying to get images into my computer.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Easy to grasp

DSCW800B 05 October 2019 by Glorybee (USA)

It’s great for keeping at hands reach using the strap.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

greatcolour

DSC-W800 25 September 2019 by sue77 (United Kingdom)

this was bought for us has a gift for our annervesary

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good compact little camera

DSC-W800 25 September 2019 by Johnnie2 (United Kingdom)

Good camera with all that you need in one small item, haven't used it much but appreciate it's little items inside.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very compact and handy.

DSC-W800 23 September 2019 by JulieHT (United Kingdom)

This was bought as a gift and is very much appreciated!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very neat, compact , easy to use.

DSC-W800 16 September 2019 by Mariaobe (United Kingdom)

I have got any photos yet, i am just learning to use it, as an older person, but i would recommend it to my elderly friend, as i am very pleased to have it been given as a birthday present by my kids.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect!

DSCW800B 13 September 2019 by PaulaT (USA)

Not my first Sony. User friendly, gorgeous shots!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super practical compact camera at great value.

DSC-W800 13 September 2019 by Islander 2 (United Kingdom)

Super, practical compact camera with terrific features at great value.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Compact and small

DSC-W800 05 September 2019 by Blessing (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago as I needed a camera for my holiday trip abroad. I liked the camera because it is small and compact. At first I was not fond of the camera as I felt that the quality of the pictures did not come out as clear as I hope. I am getting to like it now, but I wished that it could be clearer and a lot sharper, especially at night.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Alright for snaps but needs a proper manual.

DSC-W800 02 September 2019 by Oldblandford (United Kingdom)

Good pictures in easy mode but the online "manual" is not helpful. The menu offers some interesting features but I need more guidance. Disappointing since it seems basically to be a good little camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

A good functional camera

DSC-W800 27 August 2019 by Geoffc (United Kingdom)

This is a very practical camera, for people who want pretty good photos and videos.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Pleased with new camera

DSC-W800 27 August 2019 by Wendy a hamer (United Kingdom)

Very pleased with my new camera now to take to poland in 2 weeks time

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best thing bought in ages

DSC-W800 26 August 2019 by June all year found (United Kingdom)

Excellent price, small enough to slip in a bag but takes great pictures. Easy to use, just right for me!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Operating instructions terrible

DSC-W800 01 August 2019 by Archie39 (United Kingdom)

I bought this and had great difficulty setting it up. The date and time did not work on what instructions there was. The various settings are unexplained and I can not get of different setting that appear on the screen

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

nice little camera

DSC-W800 23 July 2019 by bill55 (United Kingdom)

bought this to take on holiday, trying it out, having problems with night time shots,(fuzzy lights) cannot add sample photo's images to large, and don't know how to reduce them

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Present for 9 year old

DSC-W800 16 July 2019 by Carrotflan (United Kingdom)

Excellent- she found it easy to use and good result.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice and easy to use

DSC-W800 12 July 2019 by woodie69 (United Kingdom)

Remember to buy a memory card for this great little camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice little camera

DSC-W800 03 July 2019 by SteveUU (United Kingdom)

Was looking for a low cost but capable little camera for a 3D Stereo picture project. I bought two. The 20 Mpixel option is insane (my old SLR is only 8Mp) but I find the 5 Mpixel returns stunning pictures and excellent prints without needing huge SD cards. Operation is simple point and shoot but with scope to play with options.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lovely style ....but

DSC-W800 28 June 2019 by Goatsrant (United Kingdom)

The camera is acceptable but given its price it is a tad disappointing. Colours are too vibrant and menu is not simple to navigate. All this may improve after regular use

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent purchase

DSC-W800 27 June 2019 by Dorabella (United Kingdom)

I bought this last week and already pleased with my purchase. Good value, light weight and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wonderful pictures and good colors

DSCW800B 15 June 2019 by Bettina69 (USA)

This camera was a Christmas present from my husband and I used it for the first time for vacation pictures. Great videos and pictures!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great gift

DSC-W800 07 June 2019 by Dizzy Dee (United Kingdom)

We brought this for our 11 year old daughter, she had shown an interest in having her own camera so we got her this as a starter she has taken no end of photos and loves it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very compact

DSC-W800 30 May 2019 by JennyMP (United Kingdom)

Not used it much yet, but have found it easy to take pictures, download them and get good prints. Have not managed to attach the wrist strap!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not up to the great Sony standards I expected.

DSC-W800 28 May 2019 by Geeshot (United Kingdom)

I realise that this is not one of the more expensive cameras I have used, but as a basic product am disappointed with it. On pressing the shutter the camera is slow to react and you get the actual shot a fraction of a second after. Often after the person has finished posing for the photo and is walking away!

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A Simpler directions

DSCW800B 25 May 2019 by watch4it (USA)

Was rather confusing with the instructions, Had to try numerous search and select before I was actually able to talk to a live technician to accomplish the finalization on the install. Now I just hope that I can remember the steps to transfer the pictures from the camera to the PC. Was very confusing, had me baffled.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great Camera

DSC-W800 24 May 2019 by Megan1 (United Kingdom)

Purchased to keep a record of our lovely litter of Jack Russell pups and for a trip to Malta. Easy to use and good quality pics.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good camera

DSCW800B 10 May 2019 by Photo guy (USA)

I wanted an extra camera, one that could easily fit in a flight bag. This one is small and compact and versatile.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Dissapointed.

DSC-W800 30 April 2019 by BLEASIE (United Kingdom)

I purchased this in a hurry as I was told Memory Cards were no longer available for my existing camera I have had for over 20 years. When it arrived I was surprised how flimsy it looked

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great wee camera with easy to use features

DSC-W800 21 April 2019 by jp1970cat (United Kingdom)

Great small camera with easy to use features and software.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0