23

4.5 based on 23 customer reviews

17
4
0
0
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

25 Customer Reviews

0

Right price for eager beginner

FDR-AX700 07 October 2019 by Mould (United Kingdom)

Not very complicated, and there is plenty of help online to choose from. Great to further one's understanding of Video recorders, and has slow, and fast motion along with night shot. There is also available lens'

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great video quality

FDR-AX700 30 September 2019 by ginger707 (United Kingdom)

I think this Camcorder is easy to use. It has lots of useful features like ND filter and manual Zoom ring. I like the video quality. I am very pleased so far with the product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good build quality

FDR-AX700 30 August 2019 by Panhandle (United Kingdom)

This is a well made camcorder looks good and delivers excellent videos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Professional features

FDR-AX700 08 July 2019 by onfilm (United Kingdom)

I am an experienced videographer and have used lots of cameras and camcorders. This is excellent for me because it allows you to use manual features easily and quickly. Auto setting is so good too. I love it! Quality superb. Physically, a little bit wide at first sight but so comfortable and not too heavy. Really pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Picture quality excellent

FDR-AX700 07 July 2019 by BillP70 (United Kingdom)

I have only had this camera for a few days. Such good quality for a small camera. Excellent features giving it a professional touch. My only issue is with the ‘joystick button ‘ near the record button. It is a bit fiddly using this to select menu options. Just a minor matter. Overall I am pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good

FDR-AX700 30 June 2019 by Kev1965 (United Kingdom)

Very happy with this. Great holiday videos to keep for ever

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fantastic product

FDR-AX700 30 April 2019 by Jeff58 (United Kingdom)

Highly recommended best buy easy to use and operate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just Awesome

FDR-AX700 27 April 2019 by Kamal21 (United Kingdom)

This is my second Sony camcorder and I am really thrilled using it. It's only two weeks since I bought it but so far I am impressed with the results straight out of the box. I have now started using the manual mode and the results are mind blowing, very professional.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Wonderful camera

FDR-AX700 17 April 2019 by johndxxx (United Kingdom)

Lovely camera - produces excellent videos. Looking forward to getting out and about with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

good features

FDR-AX700 18 March 2019 by bob2019 (United Kingdom)

pleased withproduct recomend to other film makers

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent FDR-AX700 camcorder

FDR-AX700 20 December 2018 by tindeanboy (United Kingdom)

I've only had this FDR-AX700 camcorder a few days, so it's still a bit of a steep learning curve. But what I've taken so far (mostly in low light) has been stunning. I've found the best setting for me is 1080p at 50fps, which still produces very sharp video images, but with much smoother results. The advantage of 50fps is that I can slow the video down a bit in places where I want the video to linger a bit. My only criticism of the camera would be that I find the menu and menu toggle buttons a little awkward to use. Although I've re-assigned the menu button to the stills photo button, and that has helped quite a lot. But apart from those minor niggles, the camcorder is an absolute gem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

Excellent Camcorder

FDR-AX700 04 December 2018 by Chris J G (United Kingdom)

I bought this camcorder about 3 weeks ago and pleased with the overall appearance and how easy it is to handle. I have yet to use this camcorder to it's full capacity but look forward to seeing the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

very, very nice camera

FDR-AX700 24 November 2018 by Fred588 (USA)

I was pleased with my two AX33's. I was very pleased with my AX53. And I am delighted with my new AX700, which I have had now for six weeks or so. There is just one thing I wish was different (in all four) and that is only because I always shoot with at least two at the same time and sometimes all four. I really wish Sony would make it possible to change the "DSC_ " portion of the file names produced by each camera. If I could just change those to different values, such as CAM1, CAM2, etc then I would be able to offload all four cameras to the same folder. I also, by the way, use a Nikon still camera and it DOES allow me to make this change. It seems like it would be an easy thing to change.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Excellent 4K movie shooting tool

FDR-AX700 01 October 2018 by Arijit (USA)

I bought it about 5 months back and is using it for mostly for making travel videos. The weight and size factor is a great plus, love the manual options for exposure and focussing ( since I shoot mostly manual ). I hope that Sony would be able to provide a software upgrade for 10bit output....that would be a feather in the cap of this excellent camcorder

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

A brand new world for me!

FDR-AX700 18 September 2018 by LePapyDuWeb (United Kingdom)

Really excited by the manual features but slightly disapointed by the image stabilization

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

8

0

0

great camera

FDR-AX700 16 September 2018 by Pambos (United Kingdom)

everything is ok except the hot shoe is too deep and I can't put a video light

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Poor Still Photo Capability

FDR-AX700 24 July 2018 by Hanra (USA)

I made the error of trusting that Sony would appreciate the value of the one button switch from Video to Still Photo, as well as the built in flash, that were built into previous camcorder models. The FDR-AX700 requires six steps within a drop down box to move from Video to Still, then not only is there no built in flash, there are no external flashes that are even compatible. My error in research, in combination with what I believe to be faulty market research, means that, in my opinion, this camcorder design is not well suited for any busy family trying to quickly capture various modes of sporting events, school dances, amusement parks, etc.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

17

0

Love everything Except!!!

FDR-AX700 04 June 2018 by BriTur (United Kingdom)

Upon opening the box I was suprised at the size, it is the length I was expecting but it is a lot fatter, making it wider than other camcorders I have used. The weight is less than I was expecting and it should not be a problem to hand hold for long periods. The lens is amazing with outstanding clarity and brightness and a massive zoom even before you get into digital degradation. Video quality again is outstanding even on full auto but with all the pro tweaks it is broadcast quality. The new menu system is a little better with a little joystick to navigate, the touch screen functionality seems to have been reduced to very little. The microphone is OK but an external one would be better. Then we get into the stills which are fixed at a very compressed jpeg and sadly ruined by the compression, why did sony not allow for raw shooting which the sensor obviously can manage!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Almost perfect....

FDR-AX700 22 March 2018 by parovo (United Kingdom)

Slightly too large, does Sony think we need to see something substantive for our money? Slo motion could with auto-focus rather than manual. Stabilisation is ok but not when walking and videoing, how come my gopro Session5 can do that in the software? Needs a dedicated photo button rather than programming one to do it. Also, to toggle between 4k to 1080p ( to do slo mo for instance ) means going into the menu and toggling features, why not just have a slide selector on the outside to do this? eg. the ND filters work well for this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

14

0

Same as my AXP33.

FDR-AX700 21 March 2018  (USA)

Bought it but sent it back. Why? Despite of superb colours and superb sharpness, I saw on different places in the footage irritating glittering. The same problem with my AXP33 and I saw on Youtube the same issue. The other problem was maybe only the camara which I ordered, but the hinge fastening of the screen was very weak. Put the camcorder in your fotobag and the camera goes automaticly on, so the battery is empty before you know it. The screen did not close properly. The coil spring was too weak to close it tight to the body of the camera. Rotate the camera to the left side and the screen came off the body and the camera was active on. Are there other owners who has this problem?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

6

0

fantastic camera

FDR-AX700 18 March 2018  (United Kingdom)

love this camera small with fantastic picture quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Excellent camera

FDR-AX700 15 March 2018 by TonyG73 (United Kingdom)

I bought the ax700 as an upgrade to the already brilliant ax53 camcorder and really pleased with the initial results. Excellent manual controls and stunning 4k picture quality. The hybrid autofocus is excellent. Now awaiting for the release of the Rx100 mark 6 (hopefully with a longer reach) to compliment my line up. Brilliant camcorder!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Better grip, amazing autofocus, superb!

FDR-AX700 18 October 2017 by lacobo (USA)

Owning 7 FDR-AX100's I know all ins and outs of that cam. Now I bought an FDR-AX700 and am very pleased with it. The grip has improved tremendously and the autofocus is very good and fast (the only disadvantage of the AX100 is the slow autofocus after a theater-blackout). The menu is now the same as the pro-line (like the PXW-X70), witch is a good thing. I'm so pleased with the AX700 that I buy another one tomorrow.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

22

8

0

Great video camera

FDR-AX700 06 October 2017 by Erick79 (USA)

Had a chance to try it. Feels very solid, and above all very ergonomic, just like it's predecessor. Loved the quality in low light.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

24

4

0

Sad it doesn't add 4k 60p

FDR-AX700 19 September 2017 by Jrva82 (USA)

I bought and I'm totally satisfied with the fdr ax100, it's so sad that almost 3 years later Sony won't improve this line to 4K 60p, I'll stick to my old hardware

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

36

80