43

4.7 based on 43 customer reviews

34
5
3
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

43 Customer Reviews

0

Sharp lens

SEL70200GM 11 June 2019 by Topshotfoto (United Kingdom)

I have owned versions of both the Canon and Nikon 70-200 f2.8 lenses previously, but I jumped ship to Sony last year in an attempt to decrease the weight of equipment I lug around airshows. This lens is not significantly lighter than the above and it carries a price premium. The easy answer would have been to go for the Sony 70-200 F4 but I admit to being a "pixel peeper" and my 100-400 GM Sony lens is so sharp I decided to pull the trigger on the 70-200mm F2.8 GM. In the month since purchasing it I have used it in different situations and bravely in light rain! I am genuinely impressed with the sharpness of this lens. The central areas are stunningly sharp at all normal apertures and the edges likewise once shut down to F4. It is expensive but if I had bought a different lens I know I would always have regretted not paying the extra for the sharpness. I was tempted to only give four stars due to the cost but decided I was reviewing the lens not the purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A7III Perfect Mate

SEL70200GM 05 June 2019 by Edofcle (USA)

Perfect for most shoots. If you're a wedding photographer, you need this in your bag!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Item is great, sharp and quick focus,

SEL70200GM/QSYX 02 June 2019 by Xylvis (Singapore)

Bought this a month ago, item is sharp and quick focus, but came with cosmetic defect, paint peeling near the zoom ring circle, because lens is white, the paint peel became obvious, disappointed because I spend $3200 to buy a brand new lens that came with a scar

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent image quality

SEL70200GM 13 May 2019 by ianwatt (United Kingdom)

Brilliant quality paired with my A7R3, it has improved my photography know end and renewed my enthusiasm.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best lens ever!!

SEL70200GM 08 May 2019 by Bob Brooks (USA)

Simply the sharpest lens I have ever used. It is a must have.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

i have to give 3 stars,i will recommend 135GM

SEL70200GM/QSYX 29 April 2019 by JackiePanSingapore (Singapore)

As i mentioned in another review, if i bought 70-200Gm alone, then this lens is very good, sharp, fast AF and many good features. Because i bought 135GM together, this 70-200GM have to put its head down, bow to 135GM. After all, it is SONY initial GM products, can't be compared with prime lens.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony FE 70-200 mm F2.8 GM OSS

SEL70200GM 08 April 2019 by Eagles41 (USA)

Other than the weight it is a superb lens and IQ wise compares well with the fixed focal length lenses I own.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony 70-200GM For Equine Photography

SEL70200GM 12 March 2019 by Fletcher8 (United Kingdom)

I have been using the 70-200GM for a year now for the majority of my equine work, it produces stunning images and it's auto focus on the A7lll, A9 & A7Rlll is a joy to use and just gets the job done.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good lens rather expensive

SEL70200GM 19 February 2019 by BGeeGee (United Kingdom)

I've used the lens extensively. It is very sharp and focusses fairly quickly. I've tried using the Canon 70 200 2.8 with an adapter, really not worth it if you want reliable autofocus. The Sony lens is rather overpriced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good quality...£800 overpriced

SEL70200GM 10 February 2019  (United Kingdom)

This is an excellent lens. Good image quality. Comparing to my old Nikon glass I’d say this should be a 1500-1700 lens. Does not feel as solid and weather sealed. Mount is not as solid. Don’t get me wrong great lens for system just overpriced for overall build quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Outstanding Lens

SEL70200GM 23 January 2019 by Bonekicker (United Kingdom)

I have owned several zoom lens over my long years and not found one of them to be any good--until now--I changed from Fuji to Sony mirrorless system and just recently bought this FE 70-200mm F2.8 GM OSS lens-- the range is perfect for me and Quality as got to be seen to believe--Just Stunning Results 10/10 -5Star

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Worth every penny!

SEL70200GM 10 January 2019 by 1slandgirl (United Kingdom)

I use this lens mainly for sports photography and it is just about perfect. It is fast, pin sharp, well balanced and I particularly like the 'internal' zoom, which keeps the lens balanced across the 70-200mm reach. Being able to zoom the full range in a single wrist action makes this lens perfect for shooting under poor conditions and using a rain cover. I have a number of Zeiss and G-Master Sony lenses (55mm, 90mm 24-70mm etc.) so I am used to quality glass but this is quite possibly the best! Very happy!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Unlock your photos

SEL70200GM 03 January 2019 by JohnandSue (United Kingdom)

I hesitated buying this lens ever since I moved to Sony mirrorless but took the plunge recently. The lens is fantastic. Its so fast and accurate and brings even the most lifeless pictures to life

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very Sharp Lens

SEL70200GM 31 December 2018 by Rnevert1 (USA)

This lens is sharp at all apertures. I am very impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens even in Low light shooting

SEL70200GM/QSYX 08 December 2018 by Ycpaul (Singapore)

I am happy to get this lens with 2 x tele converter . I had may great shot seen I am just a beginner

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Durability and quality

SEL70200GM/QSYX 12 November 2018 by Edmund 1 (Singapore)

This lens perform well with a7 series camera. Image sharpness ok. But, the quality build of this lens externality and internally are questionable.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Superb!

SEL70200GM 11 November 2018 by jmthomas (USA)

Sharp, fast, a bit heavy but stout. Upgraded from the 4.0 and the sharpness, contrast and and colors are such an improvement. Granted so is the price but a much needed tool for the working professional.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pretty much perfect

SEL70200GM 22 October 2018 by Designic (United Kingdom)

After experimenting with using Zeiss Batis primes (which are superb, no complaints) as an alternative, I ended up getting the Sony FE 70-200mm F2.8 GM OSS instead. It's like having a bag full of prime lenses. Yes, it is big and heavy, but for an event photographer like me, it makes perfect sense. I have previously owned the Can and Nikon equivalent lenses, both excellent, but this Sony lens is next level. The only thing I'd change in the colour of the barrel - it makes it very conspicuous compared to the all black of Nikon's lens. But overall, this lens is pretty much Perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing

SEL70200GM 05 October 2018 by Empathphotographer (USA)

Amazing it is so sharp ! Love the f 2.8 ! Really easy to fill frame and it is stylish!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

High Quaility Product

SEL70200GM/QSYX 01 July 2018 by Win Myo Htwe (Singapore)

This lens is very sharp and amazing quaility give me. I am so happy with this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing

SEL70200GM 25 June 2018  (USA)

I got this lens just over two months ago, I'm in love with this lens. Sure, it's a really heavy, so if you look for a light weight lens, this is Not for you and it's Ridiculous Expensive, Sony really need to review it's price, it's way above competition, but the Quality, it's amazing, it's Crazy Sharp, the AF it's a dream, works really well and fast and the Hold Buttons, man, I can't see my self without anymore, when I get my 24-70 GM I really miss the three buttons that my 7-200 has it. I highly recommend this lens if you can afford it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Very intuitive

SEL70200GM 24 May 2018 by buja (USA)

Bought in 01/29/2018 and have been happy since. The screws on the lens mount were loose, and I had to tighten them

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sony 70-200 f2.8 ((My prefered Lens)

SEL70200GM 23 May 2018 by Amanjain (USA)

I bought month ago I love using it . Go and buy if you can ?? ..,,.sorry.... tooo expensive toooo goood

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

7

0

Very sharp, wonderful build quality.

SEL70200GM/QSYX 14 May 2018  (Singapore)

Bought this lens 2 months ago and just took it for casual shoot at the beach two ago. Was very happy with the build, fast focus and sharpness. Works well wonderfully with my A7R3

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

amazing shallow depth of field and beautiful bokeh

SEL70200GM/QSYX 11 May 2018 by michael997turbo (Singapore)

I bought this lens 4 months ago as my first tele zoom lens for the new A7r III and it blew me away. It costs a lot, but also delivers beautiful results. In terms of build quality it also beats the competitors and I understand it belongs to every pro selection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Takes great pics

SEL70200GM 25 April 2018 by wss25 (USA)

Had for a few weeks now and very impressed with quality of pics being taken. however, the zoom ring is loose compared to the 24-70 mm F2.8 gm, on the 24-70 the zoom is where you have to actually turn it to move it while on the 70-200 you can accidentally bump it and it will move with no effort. I don't know which one is correct but I prefer the tighter ring.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent optics

SEL70200GM 28 February 2018 by David1000 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens to go with 16-35 and 24-70 GM lenses and specifically wanted excellent optical quality on an A7Riii and it doesn't disappoint. I also wanted excellent autofocus. I haven't had a chance to test this fully yet but it looks promising so far. The only matter that has put me off slightly was a LensRentals strip down of the lens that shows a comparatively soft metal joining ring at the centre of the lens construction and I imagined the lens splitting in half! I waited three months to see whether any reports of this happening before buying and there don't appear to be any such reports, so went ahead with the purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

The best 70-200

SEL70200GM 21 February 2018 by Paulinfocus (United Kingdom)

I have owned and used 70-200f2.8 lenses from all the major manufacturers but the Sony version is the best. Coupled with my a7r3 the results are nothing short of spectacular.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Diminishing enthusiasm

SEL70200GM 16 January 2018 by Mike in ANC (USA)

Initial impressions very high in first weeks of use. Found out the hard way that the manual focus ring will override all auto focus setting selections, i.e. on lens and in camera. This has a negative impact when inadvertent rotation during action sports causes out of focus images. Customer support suggests this is part of lens design which is indifferent performance of my Sony FE 2.8/24-70 GM (SEL2470GM), where the manual focus ring is isolated when in "AF". Lens was used in manual focus once since new for landscape stills.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

5

20

0

Lovely piece of kit

SEL70200GM 16 January 2018 by Spotteddog (United Kingdom)

Bought this for a job and I wasn’t disappointed, focusing was quick and precise and the images were great. Love using it with my new So y A9 R II

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Excellent Lens

SEL70200GM/QSYX 21 December 2017 by yeshwanth (Singapore)

I have owned this lens for a month now & it's very fantastic piece of glass..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Only buy the best

SEL70200GM 15 December 2017 by Dinky (United Kingdom)

Only buy the best The G master is a great lens but expensive not quite as sharp with the teleconverters on but overall great lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Outstanding product

SEL70200GM 07 December 2017 by Chris7W (United Kingdom)

Purchased this lens approximately 6 months ago and have used it on numerous occasions with my Alpha A9, main reason I bought the A9 and this lens was the weight, compared with the Canon 1DX and the Canon 70 to 200 its an excellent lens in all aspects.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Lighning speed autofocus

SEL70200GM 07 December 2017 by dynot (United Kingdom)

Excellent product that suits my photographic needs perfectly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Sharp and Fast!

SEL70200GM/QSYX 13 November 2017 by LandofSnow (Singapore)

This lens is sharp and fast. It outperforms many FE-mount prime lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing lens!

SEL70200GM 30 August 2017 by MPount (United Kingdom)

I've done a few shoots with this lens so far, attached to the A7RII, fast AF producing clear, pin sharp images in low light conditions. Amazing lens, expensive, heavy but Great Quality!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Super sharp !

SEL70200GM 21 July 2017 by MPics (United Kingdom)

Expensive but top quality and can focus on moving subjects, delivers on all counts !!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Love the small window on the lens hood

SEL70200GM/QSYX 28 June 2017  (Singapore)

I can now attach lens hood all day even I need to PL filter on it allow me to fine tune my end result .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

White Wonder

SEL70200GM 14 May 2017 by kensom (United Kingdom)

Hardware - Sony FE 70-200 2.8 GM OSS and A7R2. Stunning results and coming from the Nikon (almost) equivalents! Colours, bokeh, sharpness and I am just speechless at how this combo performs. Nothing in this range of equipment, no matter what brand, can compare. Every penny spent on this lens will be repaid in your satisfaction at the end of the day. As they say; 'Forget the rest, buy the best' - and it is!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

0

Amazing lens.

SEL70200GM 12 May 2017 by TomB11 (United Kingdom)

Amazing sharp, great colours. Only hitch for me is that the tripod mount isn't completely removable collar.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Stupendous!

SEL70200GM 02 May 2017 by aorobert (USA)

Exceeds my wildest dreams. I have shot all the best lenses, this one tops them all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

8

0

A Great Lens

SEL70200GM 19 April 2017 by Freddyboy (United Kingdom)

I've only had this lens for a week but already I've had some amazing results using it on my A7RMk2 !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

Winchester 73

SEL70200GM 17 March 2017 by Sydney2 (United Kingdom)

This is my Winchester 73, because it's the Best of the Best. At times I use it with the 1.4 converter, and sometimes with the 2X. The image quality is just awesome.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

38

3