423

4.2 based on 423 customer reviews

223
125
21
24
30
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

love the autmatic focus and smile detector

DSCH300B 08 November 2016 by momahen87 (USA)

i got this for my birthday to take pictures of our new baby and i love it. the automatic smile detection is so neat but could use some work because the focus goes out when its in use. great camera for close ups

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Very poor battery life

DSC-H300 10 September 2016 by notahappychappy (United Kingdom)

Very nice camera spoilt by poor battery life. Packaging on the box boasts of 350 pictures from the set of batteries supplied. I got 41 ! Even when using a fresh set of a well know brand I only got 52 shots. It went back for a refund

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

423 Customer Reviews

0

Easy to use

DSC-H300 18 August 2020 by Jill hacker (United Kingdom)

Takeing lots of pics easy to use nothing more to say

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Know what you want it for.

DSCH300B 04 August 2020 by Andrew0000000 (USA)

I got it thinking it would make a good camera for shooting tripod based video. It only did 720p and would not stay focused. Sadly unlike expensive DSLR cameras this is not good for video. I ended up getting a $70 camera that did just as well with the video. Sony makes camcorders but none that I could find that can stream the video to a computer.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

SUPER CAMERA. EASY TO USE.

DSCH300B 27 June 2020 by BUD 001 (USA)

THIS CAMERA IS A SUPER INVESTMENT. I WISH I HAD IT WHEN AT MY GRANDSONS WEDDING.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Focus has problems...

DSC-H300 24 June 2020 by A Sanchez (USA)

I bought this for myself about 1 month ago, I am not impressed with the camera and wish I would have saved my money. The Focus is not manually adjustable for more effect on shots. It will actually blurr when changing from photo to camera setting. You actually have to cycle power to hopefully get it back in focus but beware if you are trying to use the advertised 35x zoom, because chances are you will blurr and have to restart the camera. Not a fan of no rechargeable battery, it is annoying how little life the batteries that came with the unit had. It didn't even come with an SD card. This is basically a throw away camera. No sport mode to capture actions shots either. The continuous shot mode is extremely slow as well. I recommend looking for something else, the $200 was better going towards a more expensive model from a different maker.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

The color purple looks blue in the picture

DSCH300/B 16 June 2020 by tehachapi (USA)

I bought this 3 days ago, and I am not real happy with this camera

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

AMAZING

DSCH300/B 11 June 2020 by LUCERO76 (USA)

I BOUGHT THIS A MONTH AGO AND AM SOHAPPY THAT I DID

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features and easy to use

DSC-H300 10 June 2020 by Athlete (United Kingdom)

I was given this as a gift a month ago and am really happy with how easy it is to use and its great features enabling me to take really good photos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

not so setisfied

DSC-H300 08 June 2020 by Bebe88 (United Kingdom)

batteries are sh**! and have problem with flash.. I hope I ll find to buy a charger and set of batteries..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great thus far!

DSCH300/B 02 June 2020 by ahvienda (USA)

Overall I am happy with my purchase, however the set up was a bit extensive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features!

DSC-H300 30 May 2020 by Aki01 (United Kingdom)

I bought this product a year ago and I'm so happy whit this. I highly recommend for beginner photographers and other person who love to take photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My First Camera

DSC-H300 13 May 2020 by Kooky Creator (USA)

I bought this and am NOT disappointed. It's the first camera I've ever had. I wanted something that could take some great stills of my sculptures and random insects I find as well as record me sculpting and stuff. I LOVE this thing!! It's very lightweight and easy to use and navigate. The images come out amazingly clear and I love toying around with the zooming. I have a lot to learn about using it but I am enjoying the journey!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great product for a great price

DSCH300B 12 May 2020 by his1981 (USA)

I bought my camera used on Ebay and have used the video more than the photo and have been very happy with it.

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

completely let down

DSC-H300 03 April 2020 by Scotty2727 (United Kingdom)

My girlfriend bought this camera for my birthday as we were going on safari holiday in South Africa - it turned on and worked when I checked it first time. Say before I left I turned it on and it kept turning off after initial start up. I sent away for repair and then repair team sent back. On turning it back on it still wasn’t working. I had to email support team at Sony again and they then said batteries weren’t official batteries and wouldn’t hold charge. These were the original batteries that came with camera. Really poor service and ruined my holiday as I couldn’t take pictures.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

3

2

0

Great features

DSCH300/B 27 March 2020 by Melinda87 (USA)

I bought this and enjoy the features and how light weight it is

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Features

DSC-H300 24 February 2020 by Gapman1970 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a few months ago & I'm happy that I did.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good

DSC-H300 24 February 2020 by Wumbo05 (United Kingdom)

Very good product, recommend for amateur photographers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Nice camera..

DSC-H300 23 January 2020 by Wildwolfy (United Kingdom)

Wicked Zoom and lenses tracking, anti tremor could be better. As I have camera shake, keep hoping to buy a camera that will take wicked pictures even if it's like I am in a earth quake it's it's freezing and my hands shake cause I am cold. But I can't complain about the quality of the image even the zoom is very nice. For the price it's a good starter camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

terrible video

DSC-H300 01 January 2020 by B3ast (United Kingdom)

terrible video, the auto focus is slow but it takes great photos and has amazing zoom

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great features

DSC-H300 14 December 2019 by Mick2996 (United Kingdom)

I am so happy with it and i will really appreciate

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

nice colour

DSC-H300 04 December 2019 by cookchef (United Kingdom)

Still playing with it and I like it a lot more than I expected

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Most affordable

DSC-H300 30 November 2019 by Partha S (United Kingdom)

One of the best bridge camera with high zoom.Easy to handle with various setting options.Very useful for casual photographer.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy too use and good features.

DSC-H300 07 November 2019 by JamesTia (United Kingdom)

Good camera all round. Easy to use for a beginner.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Always shuts off!!!

DSC-H300 02 November 2019 by Rhino12345 (USA)

Extremely mad (had to remove profanity, give me a break). Haven't had it very long and now when I turn it on, it powers off! Batteries are new. Read solutions from other people saying to hit it to get it to work, seriously?! What a waste of money. Thanks

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Cost effective package for the casual photographer

DSC-H300 21 October 2019 by Alan 25 (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace a Canon "point and shoot" which had failed after about 5 years and meets the requirements I have for a camera. I always found the Canon too small to handle easily ("fiddly" would be the best expression) but that is matter of personal taste. Thus the spec was physically larger, better definition and simple to use (ie basically an updated "point and shoot"). This provided a competitive package at the price I was prepared to pay, retained "point and shoot" and gave the advantage of considerably higher definition. One word of warning there is no card sold with this camera and the sales person did not alert me. However the card from the old Canon worked so no problem. Battery life appears to be an issue with this model but I have had no problems and carry 4 additional AA batteries with me in the camera case anyway. Overall I view this as a good package for the casual photographer taking snaps. If you are a professional or a serious amateur you will have your own preferences.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Really poor heavy battery usage

DSC-H300 30 September 2019 by Dads (United Kingdom)

Really felt let down after using this product the picture quality was abysmal and the battery usage terrible. After about 15 photos needed batteries replacing. Not what you would expect from a sony product at all.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

7

0

Great Camera

DSC-H300 16 September 2019 by Crewcut98 (United Kingdom)

Bought this for a first camera ready for a holiday and really pleased with it, quality of the pictures is excellent and the camera looks the part. I initially got advice from my brother in law on the best first time camera to buy and Sony was a recommendation as a good quality brand. Really pleased I bought this and good price as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

cumbersome and battery hungry

DSC-H300 10 September 2019 by Dorothy57 (United Kingdom)

This was a gift otherwise I would have returned it. It is far to clunky to carry around when touring. Batteries drain very quickly and I could not find our whether or how to recharge batteries in the camera. Batteries became a very expensive item of my month long holiday. Photos were OK but I needed to refer to the user manual very often to get best shots. Not a great camera and not recommended for any amateurs, even a fairly competent one. I've had this for little short of a year but don't have the receipt as it was a gift. I would willingly send it back/exchange it if that was possible

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

H300 performance

DSC-H300 10 September 2019 by loughash (United Kingdom)

I bought this Camera a few weeks ago and I am very impressed with the pictures and quality, This camera is very easy to setup for any occasion. Let it be out and about taking snaps of wildlife or landscapes. This camera is a excellent choice for anyone getting into photography. I have not used all of the setups on the camera yet, But with the pictures I have taken so far it is just absolutely Fantastic, It gives a very professional touch to all pictures. It simply takes you from a amateur photographer into a professional photographers may of taking pictures.....The DSC-H300 is a fantastic camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Wont take pictures!

DSC-H300 05 August 2019 by Derek01 (United Kingdom)

This is my second attempt at this camera. the first had to be returned because it just cut out mid shoot without any battery warning and the batteries lasted no time at all. The replacement model asks me to set language, dates etc and then switches off. When I switch on again it starts all over again with the language settings. Ive registered it but still have no idea how to switch it to taking pictures. I'm sending it back to Amazon for a full refund. This was a gift for my daughter who is now so discouraged, she's giving up photography. Why do you make everything so complicated that it doesnt work? It's iphones for us from now on.

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

3

0

Poor Product

DSC-H300 03 August 2019 by aFiZ (United Kingdom)

Returned immediately. Won't get past start loading screen. Shouldn't have to troubleshoot a new product.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Good

DSC-H300 22 June 2019 by Sue13xxxxx (United Kingdom)

.. very good ......................................

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

great zoom feature.

DSC-H300 18 June 2019 by Graham 8 (United Kingdom)

I upgraded this camera from a Sony DSC-W810, a disappointing, low budget camera which developed a fault very early on. The Sony -DSC-H300 on the other hand has the feel of a good quality camera and controls were in easy reach. The picture display screen has good visibility and the zoom is excellent with fine optics. Even I found importing images on 'Play Memory' straight forward. The only disadvantage is alkaline batteries. You can buy rechargeable batteries but it would have been nice to have a rechargeable feature on the camera. Also Sony should avoid including cheap Indonesian alkaline batteries which are very poor quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Not What I Expected

DSC-H300 08 June 2019 by willav 56 (United Kingdom)

battery door was always coming open.When did stay closed the camera hen stopped working halve way through taking a photo. I sent it back for a refund.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great product

DSC-H300 05 June 2019 by Badboy 46 (United Kingdom)

Birhday presant ican wait to use it when im on my days off

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Not so good

DSC-H300 08 May 2019 by Jacko1952 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this camera for use during my upcoming cruise, and was very disappointed. The camera looked good and felt fine when gripped for use, however, it would shut down whilst taking pictures, I thought this could be due to the batteries originally supplied being out of date. Therefore I purchased new batteries hoping to improve the usage. Sadly this did not happen, it still shuts down when in use. I will now consider changing for a more reliable camera

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Simple to Use

DSC-H300 10 March 2019 by jamesron (United Kingdom)

I brought this a year ago and am happy with the ease of use. but wish it had a chargeable battery sustem/

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

An absolutely fantastic camera

DSC-H300 07 March 2019 by Hammy94 (United Kingdom)

I bought this the other week on a very good discount price and when i saw it at home i unboxed it and i instantly fell in love with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

It does what it is supposed to do.

DSC-H300 04 March 2019 by me11953 (United Kingdom)

Bought to replace water damaged camera. This fits my large hands very nicely and so far takes great pictures.Excellent value for money, SD card + case + camera bought together cheaper than camera alone (Currys).

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Good product from Sony as always

DSC-H300 04 March 2019 by Ferdie (United Kingdom)

The only criticism I have is that the lens cover nor camera appears to have nowhere to attach the the supplied cord.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Good Camera

DSC-H300 03 March 2019 by Andy886 (United Kingdom)

Had this camera a few weeks now takes good pictures and is easy to use once you figure out the settings. Batteries that come with it though are no good recommend you get rechargeable ones.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Defective Camera

DSC-H300 18 February 2019 by Christa358 (USA)

I bought this and it only lasted a week! One week later, my camera wouldn't turn on, and when it did it was a white screen. I took it back and got an exchange of the exact same camera, and it did the same thing not even a day later! One of the biggest waste of my time and money. I will never be buying a Sony camera again. Please do yourself a big favor and never buy this camera!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Amazing quality on pictures and fantastic zoom qua

DSC-H300 13 February 2019  (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and have been happy with it been doing photography of animals and landscapes

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great camera BUT

DSC-H300 18 January 2019 by Mimi284 (United Kingdom)

Bought this and will need to send it to sony for repair ASAP as from the start there have been issues just turning it on. The few pictures I have managed to take have been good but a lot of hassle to even get to that and even more hassle to send it off for repairs.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Value for money

DSC-H300 17 January 2019 by Carpy123 (United Kingdom)

Haven’t really used it yet but happy with the photos I’ve taken

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Disappointed with camera

DSC-H300 14 January 2019 by Philz1974 (United Kingdom)

Camera didn’t start up when my daughter opened it on Christmas Day , instructions poor , took it back to curry’s on Boxing Day for the store to replace it , the computer lead is wrong and needs to be changed , but I have yet to take it back to curry’s to change it over again

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

So easy to use

DSC-H300 12 January 2019 by Brian 21 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera for my wife it overall ease to use,and the brilliant features and of course the photos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Easy to use and good value.

DSC-H300 12 January 2019 by Chelz (United Kingdom)

My 8yr old granddaughter bought herself this camaraderie with her xmas money and she lives it..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

autofocus is ridiculous

DSC-H300 08 January 2019 by AnonAnonAnon (USA)

The autofocus is ridiculously slow and makes photos blurry. Video (using a tripod) is slightly better, but it constantly readjusts unnecessarily, which makes the resultant video difficult to watch. The two stars is solely for the fact that it is better than the "nothing at all" I had before. I received this camera as a gift from someone who only looked at the total star rating.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Might be great - if it would stay on

DSC-H300 05 January 2019 by Lauren36759 (USA)

I’ve had several Sony Cyber-Shots over the years and I was so excited when I received this for Christmas. However, the excitement was short lived. It would randomly cut off while zooming and taking pictures. Randomly cut off and reset while adjusting settings. The screen even went white several times and wouldn’t come on without taking the batteries out. I followed the troubleshooting on the website, but it didn’t help for long...maybe 4-5 minutes. So, I took it back tonight and exchanged it. Well, this one doesn’t stay on for more than 5 minutes either!!! It hasn’t randomly cut off on me, but the BRAND NEW, OUT OF PACKAGE batteries go dead while zooming. I turn it back on and a full battery display pops up, but after 3 minutes and 5 pictures (not zoomed), it goes dead again! So I came here looking for ways to troubleshoot it, but I’m not the only one who has had these issues, so I’m just returning this one too and going with something else. Extremely disappointing because the few pictures I’ve been able to take were pretty good and I was really looking forward to using this with the all of the features it has.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Easy to use

DSC-H300 01 January 2019 by Me Andy (United Kingdom)

Only just got but we'll worth the money I paid. Will be using on my holidays

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing focus

DSC-H300 24 November 2018 by Jessity (United Kingdom)

I got this camera for my birthday and am absoloutly amazed at the quality of it. Im very pleased of how my photographs turned out!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

My H300 camera

DSC-H300 31 October 2018 by KYHW (USA)

I was given this camera as a gift two years ago, we love it. It's easy to operate. The quality of the photos are great if you take your time and focus. I only wish it had WiFi connect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Don't waste your money

DSC-H300 09 October 2018 by Jenl7575 (USA)

Bought this not quite 2 months ago. Pictures are awful. Camera will not autofocus nor can you manually focus. I have a 15 year old Panasonic that takes much better photos. Pictures come out with lines and a pink hue. Don't waste your money.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Great camera

DSC-H300 25 September 2018 by Barry61 (United Kingdom)

Great, easy to use camera with useful features at a good price

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Bad lLens

DSCH300B 18 September 2018  (USA)

Bought this camera in May for my 18 year old daughter and it stopped working in August. Was told it was the lens and to send it back. I receive it back 2 weeks later with a letter stating it was Unrepaired and didn't have the parts anymore. I'm still waiting for something to get done.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Value for money

DSC-H300 13 September 2018 by Stupot 123 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera on recommendation. Easy to set up and easy to use. Various settings again easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Decent quality pics but overheats alot

DSC-H300 12 September 2018 by Ciara (United Kingdom)

Fairly priced in comparison to similar cameras on the market. Good quality pictures but tends to freeze and overheat alot. Easy to use which is good if u are not a pro photographer (like myself).

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Bcoz I like Sony

DSC-H300 06 September 2018 by Faiyaj (United Kingdom)

I m happy I like & I m buying another Sony product

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not bad

DSC-H300 05 September 2018 by Krogellruz (United Kingdom)

Great pictures but some issues on the power while using on a trip

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Exellent

DSC-H300 04 September 2018 by Vele (United Kingdom)

Exellent camera i recommended for everyone who like photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent product

DSC-H300 30 August 2018 by Margaret13 (United Kingdom)

I always buy sony products because of the quality and reliability. Great choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Value

DSC-H300 27 August 2018 by Ursa minor (United Kingdom)

It has all the features that I want, plus many more

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

H300

DSC-H300 24 August 2018 by Phil671 (United Kingdom)

Had H300 few months now still getting to grips with it, over all not bad for price as a point and shot. Found instructions a little confusing and had to go back to where I got to ask questions.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Done no favours by the retailer

DSC-H300 24 August 2018 by BevH (United Kingdom)

I have rated neutral because it has taken more effort to set up. The box seal was broken and the camera had clearly been used. I was told to demonstrate it to another customer. I did not get the same favour and still to take a photo with it. I would recommend it as I researched it thoroughly before, but have no basis.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Very good Camera

DSC-H300 21 August 2018 by ahagem (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera a month ago I am very happy with the Camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

DSC-H300

DSC-H300 18 August 2018 by madcapsyd (United Kingdom)

Great camera. Budget price. Only let-down is lack of accessories

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

My new camera

DSC-H300 14 August 2018 by jumblybird (United Kingdom)

This was a birthday present and although I'm still working out how to get the best from it most features seem to be fine. I would have liked a trimming feature to enable photos to be cropped and saved on the camera but apart from that it's great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not good.

DSC-H300 10 August 2018 by Oidest (United Kingdom)

Worked once. Then stopped functioing correctly. Rubbish. Sent it back and bought a Canon instead.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

My first real camera!

DSC-H300 07 August 2018 by Esteban H (United Kingdom)

Having had two compact cameras I decided to go for something a bit bigger with a proper zoom lense and I am not disappointed with this relatively cheap Sony H300. Simple to use and great photos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Zoom & Takes High Quality Photos

DSC-H300 05 August 2018 by Jbutton (United Kingdom)

I Got this Camera for my birthday last year to take Pictures of Far away objects which it is able to do unless the objects are extremely far away and very fast moving .However the tripod hole on the bottom of the Camera does allow for more stability when taking pictures or videos of far away objects so I imagine this is possible and the built in the features for optimisation for taking pictures of certain things e.g. pets allows for crisp Photography to be preformed. However the Camera is not rechargable and Requires AA Batteries and eats through them fairly Quick unless you use DuraCell Batteries or Duracelll Ultra Power; they have lasted the longest on my camera allowing me to take around 100 20 mega pixel photos(Not continuously over a few weeks) and around 1 hour of 720 P Video (not continuous) mutiple videos which is very close to what is specified in the manual and requires 4 *AA Battaries and consumes 25% of the Ultra Power Duracell battaries Before the battareries need changing and the battaeries can then be used for lower power drained wireless non recharable devices such as a wireless mouse and keyboard; the powercheck on the battery allows you to check how much power is left in the batteries for the Ultra Batteries. Furthermore the camera has built in smart sense mode which you can select when taking photos and the camera will decide which is the best optimisation for the photos your taking e.g. if your taking a picture of a landscape. Also theres a button which brings out a light for a large flash if your taking a picturtures in the dark.Overall the camera takes high Quality Photos that Im satfied with as long as I focus the lense by holding down lightly the trigger button to focus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Large screen, brill .

DSC-H300 03 August 2018 by Larry1 (United Kingdom)

My wife bought it 2 weeks ago a gift for my Birthday, it is an upgrade from the camera I have at present.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Whit Screen & Turn Offs

DSC-H300 30 July 2018  (United Kingdom)

I bought this to go on a cruise last week. On day 2 the screen was white when the camera turned on. On coming home I read that you can push on the right hand of the screen whilst turning on to prevent this, or give it a tap where it say cybershot, and this could help also. This is supposed to be brand new! It caused undue stress on holiday and I had to revert back to my phone camera to feel confident I was going to get the snap I wanted. Also the battery went very quick, more so when you're turning it on and off every few seconds because of a white screen!!! However I'm not even sure that was the problem. It did give me a battery warning a couple of times but generally the camera would turn on and off straight, or turn off as I take a photo (which it hadn't taken). I have now read that the batteries you get with it, and the extra ones I bought (ensuring I bought the same type) generally aren't good enough and you need a higher quality rechargeable NiMH battery. I don't remember reading this in the very limited info you get with the camera. And even if/when I pay out for these I'm not sure this will sort the problem anyway, for the reasons just stated. I bought the camera via the internet, but from Curry's, so I'd still expect a genuine, problem-free product. And another thing, I was out at sea, so I couldn't get online to look up problems, why doesn't Sony include the basics in a little brochure? Or as you order, ask if a paper version is required? The one you can get online is just far too big to print off. So at the moment I feel like I've encountered problems I shouldn't, and right from the off. They will hopefully be resolved easily, but they left a negative impact on the cruise I bought the camera for (I only came back yesterday). So not (yet) impressed.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1