238

4.6 based on 238 customer reviews

161
59
10
6
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Good all rounder

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 02 March 2020 by dvr1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still getting to grips with it as new to Sony but love the compact, light but sturdy build.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Early days

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 30 May 2022 by AndyPix (United Kingdom)

Only had this for a couple of weeks, so not quite used to it. The menu system is complex but YouTubers have helped with the basic settings. The software is pretty poor to use. Sony need to have a look at Apple. The battery life is poor too compared to my Nikon D3300. Image quality is good as is the speed of focus.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

1

238 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Autofocus

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 15 January 2023 by Paulrs (United Kingdom)

Love the autofocus. Snaps on to my dogs eyes every time. So pleased I chose it.

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

GREAT CAMERA

Body Only 10 January 2023 by mikedaf (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this camera as a gift. This was an amazing gift, to start up my photography/videographer career.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Features

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 26 November 2022 by Ravipati (United Kingdom)

It is the best camera you can have at this price range.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy enough to set up

Body Only 14 October 2022 by Howard B (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the day after it arrived. My hands aren't as steady as they used to be so I am pleased with the quick autofocus. I have accessed the online help page and it is showing how to get around. In a month I will be able to writ a more meaningful review, but you know how one is nagged to immediately write something when you register your product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Light and Easy to use...

Body Only 29 September 2022 by Edwin K (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

this is a good walk around camera because of its weight and size, though it is a little dated. Perhaps Sony can introduce some firmware updates to keep it nifty,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Beginner or enthusiast, this camera is perfect

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 17 September 2022 by Tris76 (United Kingdom)

Had the A6400 2 months now, as an enthusiast I couldn't not be happier. Typical Sony high quality, feature packed camera at affordable price. Perfect for photos & vlogging, Ideal for beginner or more experienced user. Until at a level when a professional, expense of full frame unjustified when results of this little.box of wonders so great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Best Bang for Buck

Body Only 17 September 2022 by Danny9728 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera a month ago to encourage myself to take more pictures but was truly impressed by how much more it offered. Love the sturdy body. Love the ease of customizable quick menu Love the impeccable image and video quality Love the Sony E mount ecosystem with such great sipport from amazing Sony and 3rd party lenses

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

High quality images

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 01 September 2022 by Picturethis (United Kingdom)

Only had ita few weeks but very impressed with quality of images. Manual could be more helpful in explaining what/how the settings interact with each other.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing camera

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 17 August 2022 by Clivesony (United Kingdom)

This month I got my first Sony, I am so pleased I made the jump from canon..m6-

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony A6400 Camera

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 08 August 2022 by S1000 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera just about a week ago and am extremely happy with the product. It's well built and has many standard features that make this camera an excellent choice, and I especially like the Fast Auto Focus which was one of my top reasons in buying it. The build quality is what I expect from Sony with easy to reach control functions. The adjustable LED touch screen is excellent but surprised that the touch screen isn't used to complete the choices as you have to press the OK button to confirm, and the Menu button to return. I'm still trying the camera out, but as it stands right now, the picture quality is excellent as is the video, the sound however isn't going to impress anyone, but at least it's ok to check the sound has been recorded.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great camera!

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 21 July 2022 by Darshana (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera couple of weeks back and I am enjoying the amazing features of the camera and the picture quality is superb. Compacted and lightweight.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

I could not have decided a better camera to buy

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 19 July 2022 by bsalesc (United Kingdom)

As my first camera it has been great, I am loving it! I had some lag when browsing through the photos although happened only twice but I have been using a lot so that’s fine to me!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Early days

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 30 May 2022 by AndyPix (United Kingdom)

Only had this for a couple of weeks, so not quite used to it. The menu system is complex but YouTubers have helped with the basic settings. The software is pretty poor to use. Sony need to have a look at Apple. The battery life is poor too compared to my Nikon D3300. Image quality is good as is the speed of focus.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

1

0

Amazing quality and features

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 26 May 2022 by Ramdown (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera, a bit more than a year ago. I am very happy to have it as it has all the necessary features for still and video. It has a lot of advantages, for example the crop factor of 1.5x makes my 70-200m G lens be an effective 105 - 300mm G lens. This is great because I can have basically the 10-18 F4, the 18-105 F4 and the 70-200 (effective 105-300mm) F4. You can also have the 200-600mm which would be an effective 300-900 mm and most of them would be at a constant F4, internal zoom and image stabilization across the board. I have most of these lenses too and I couldn't be happier about them! The crop sensor is brilliant, it takes amazing stills and the density of pixels means sharper images. The only addition I would make to this camera, would be the ibis. That would be an amazing feature. I guess that's why they made the A6600. As a first proper camera, it has a big learning curve but I enjoy it every time. One of the moat enjoyable objects I have ever bought in my entire life!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautiful and powerful

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 28 April 2022 by Zhushi (United Kingdom)

I have had several film and digital SLR cameras but this is the one I can most easily get that special photograph. Small but I don't have big hands, light and fast to get into position and get that shot. I am seriosly considering selling off my DSLRs and investing deeper into the A6400.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Crop sensor with superb eye focus

Body Only 05 April 2022 by sebasong (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to use a smaller camera without the full frame heaviness. I was glad I did. Very light camera and with so many lens selection(both sony and 3rd party)!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing Camera

Body Only 05 March 2022 by Nicholas K (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I fell in love with this camera when i first used it. It helps you take photos and videos the way you want to with its incredibly versatile UI. My only complaint is that the lenses for E-Mount are quite expensive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Upgrade

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 03 February 2022 by rak121 (United Kingdom)

This is a HUGE upgrade from my bridge camera and my first into the Sony world. Very easy to use and great features. It has taken my photography to the next level. The only one criticism is that it doesnt remember settings from different modes. I switch a lot between video and pics when on a shoot - so this can be a little frustrating. Hoping this is on the roadmap to fix in future firmware upgrades

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good performance...

Body Only 09 January 2022 by yujin005 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this last month. I was going to buy a full frame camera, but I bought it without any price burden, and it seems to be an excellent choice. I am satisfied with the easy use and excellent performance. Soon I will also buy other lenses for Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great for a newcomer to photography like me

Body Only 15 December 2021 by Railgun (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought this as my first interchange lens camera. It's fantasticly simple and easy to use. YouTubers online make it even easier for me

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Added features do not work

Body Only 11 November 2021 by DaveU225 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Can't 'verify connection' when attached via USB - although the connection is working to transfer files. Stuck in an endless loop trying to get it to connect so I can add and update apps. Nothing online that matches the ''error' message. So all of that USB/software stuff is useless to me.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Feeling Good with the outcome

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 30 October 2021 by Eugene62 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Much lighter and handy compared to my old digital camera. The quality of still shots and video was way above my expectation. It is a great camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great autofocus in a compact body!

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 28 October 2021 by Ronchamp (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’m shooting photo with a6400 and Sigma 56mm F1.4 lens for portrait. Autofocus is great and almost all the time I get the focus on what I want to focus on instantly. Great portability considering the quality of the image. Battery is small so if you are shooting whole day you will need extra battery. Very happy with the purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Auto focus

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 16 October 2021 by Rodney88 (United Kingdom)

I loved the camera by seeing the reviews on YouTube and started doing research about it. I must say that the auto focus is something special.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A semi-pro camera in a small body

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 15 October 2021 by Travelman (United Kingdom)

This is one of my favourite cameras. I bought it to replace my ageing NEX 7 and there seems to be nothing that this camera can’t do in practice. I’ve found it a very responsive camera under demanding conditions. It would have been nice if it had a higher maximum shutter speed and built in image stabilisation but for the price it’s hard to complain. For filming the 4K videos are fantastic. They are so detailed. I just hope Sony in future moves away from the 8 bit video files to 10 bit files for greater flexibility in video post production. For many applications this could be considered a pro camera. I’ve found the AF responsive enough for my wildlife photography as the AF tracking works a treat. I find the video button to be in an awkward position but fortunately the customisation feature allows another button to be used. I find that overall the a6400 is a great all round camera for stills and video.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

"How good is this Product?"

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 13 October 2021 by Peter Rixon (United Kingdom)

I find my Camera useful because it uses several functions which I can edit pictures differently whenever it's for my work or leisure.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing camera for a beginner like myself.

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 13 October 2021 by Stormtrooper (United Kingdom)

Now owned for 18 months. Ive gone from knowing nothing about camera and photography, to now being obsessed with photography. Ive had some great images from this camera and some people even think I am a professional. Fairly easy to use once you get used to it. It has some limitations, but I guess thats why all cameras are not the same price.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

8

2

0

Its really does have great features

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 13 October 2021 by geoff27 (United Kingdom)

Ive have the camera for a few months now it really is a very good camera its light to carry i have a 70 350 lens on it and its very very light

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Super camera. Super results.

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 13 October 2021 by MrSmoothy (United Kingdom)

Had this about a year. Had some great results and still only scratched the available features. Great enthusiasts camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product!

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 13 October 2021 by Barry76 (United Kingdom)

I've had this camera for about a year now, and haven't been able to use it as much as I have wanted. it is a great product, but with so many features I have found it a bit of a mine field to understand it. I need to watch a Youtube video when i want to do something specific like time lapse. I also find the download and sharing software hard to use. Syncing to my iPhone or iPad is very difficult, and not sure I've mastered it yet.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Everything i needed for streaming and photography!

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 13 October 2021 by brunomiranda (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera about 2 years ago, search a lot of info about it and im really happy with the product because its easy to use, has wireless connection to my phone, RAW pictures, 4k video and a great focusing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great Camera

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 13 October 2021 by Jamie49 (United Kingdom)

I bought this as an upgrade from an A6000. I have now used it for a few months. It takes a while to get used to all the menu options, but I have finally settled on options to suit me. I love the eye focus, it is truly great for making sure the eyes are sharp.. I love "Tracking Expand Flexible Spot" for trying to shoot birds in flight. I couldn't get on with the touch screen, so disabled it. I normally use the camera with the SEL18135 lens and the SEL70350G for bird and animal photography. Overall a great light camera, with possibly too many menu options to choose from..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love it

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 13 October 2021 by Johnymango (United Kingdom)

I use the A7Riii a lot but when walking in the country with my 200-600 telephoto, the A6400 does the business. Excellent, accurate, and quick AF. Lovely IQ. Not many downsides except, perhaps, lack of IBIS. Handy for street work too. .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent auto focus small camera

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 13 October 2021 by CaptainK (United Kingdom)

I purchased this camera as I wanted to mount to a gimbal, so it had to be compact with a good auto focus. As I currently own several Sony photography products I’m always confident of their reliability and stable performance. Although this model has been updated, I would highly recommend this or indeed any other Sony camera or lense.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A very solid start for under a grand

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 13 October 2021 by daniellearmouth (United Kingdom)

The version I bought comes with a simple 16-50mm lens to get started, and having owned it for a year, it's served as primarily a video camera with photography on the side, and has even been used as a webcam. Compared to what I was using before, this is a marked improvement as the quality of the video is substantially better. Photos are also very good, although you may want to invest in some better lenses, as the one that came with mine - although perfectly sufficient for the camera to work - results in pretty soft images with a few problems around the edges (though if you have photo editing software, that won't be too big a problem). The menu is a bit finnicky, however; it can be a bit awkward to find certain settings, but it's still reasonably navigable. The only real downside to this camera is the audio; if you want good audio, you simply need an external microphone, because the camera's mic is very tinny and not very pleasant to listen to. It's also accepts USB Micro-B instead of USB C, so that's something to take into consideration. In all, it's a very good camera for the price I paid at the time, and if you happen to upgrade to a different camera in the future, it'd be wise to keep this as a B-camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great but...

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 13 October 2021 by Dairis31 (United Kingdom)

Don't have new software update. Dont have bird eye focus. Photos what are taken with silent setting sometimes damaged. but everything else is super.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Simple enough for starting and advanced for pros

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 13 October 2021 by Patryk M (United Kingdom)

Bought it over half a year ago as a replacement to A5100 and it never disappoints, easy to use intuitive interface and great camera in overall, simple enough for starting photographer and camera will progress with your skills and when you discover all advanced functions and possibilities with this little powerhouse. Great quality product with loads of lenses to choose from. Mirrorless cameras are definitely a way to go. Next upgrade on my wish list A7 mkIII

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 12 October 2021 by Alfa 2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Share only this photo others are private ??????????

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very Happy with this camera

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 11 October 2021 by Barb85 (United Kingdom)

I love it, the quality of pictures/movies-awesome!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy learning

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 01 October 2021 by Fish27 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been wanting to get into videography for a while now and just used my phone for little clips. But after being recommended this camera a few years ago and noticing that it is still recognised as one of the leading cameras today I had to purchase it finally. Since this is my first digital camera, all the controls and buttons were completely new ground for me but within a few days the interface became a second home to me and now I’m starting to learn the many shortcuts and secrets of this camera. Using Sony’s dedicated how-to-videos helped so much with the basics and technical jargon on the camera itself. I can’t fairly compare this to other cameras as this was my first one but I can very easily say this little beauty won’t be leaving my side for a very long while!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 16 September 2021 by dizzydazzy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this little camera, I have used a nex6 for ages but now treated myself to the new sony 6400, really like it, I bought the kit with the 18 - 135 lens, very nice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Kit - BUT

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 12 September 2021 by RevAlbertMMartin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this just a week or so ago. However, I'm about to return it as the "Pop up Display" is showing an "Upside Down Image" which is proving from the internet to be a especially pronounced fault on many of the A6400 Units without apparantly a cure. It really makes a mockery of it being for vlogging if you only see yourself upside down when it is flipped out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Great pictures

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 03 September 2021 by RussKFS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace my a6000 which was damaged. I love the way they handle, and they have certain picture quality that I love.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera but still learning focus modes

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 01 September 2021 by StevieB63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had this camera for a few weeks now. Build quality is superb. Features are great. Picture quality is excellent. Video quality has exceeded expectations. Autofocus is amazing. However, although I have been an amateur photographer for over 50 years and owned dozens of cameras in that time, I am struggling a bit to use the right focus mode for the situation. Some of my pictures have been frustratingly out of focus. I guess it’s a case of practicing.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A very good camera but let down.

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 18 August 2021 by Rick_A (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this mainly for astrophotography but I find it frustrating that it is not supported by most of the best imaging software, which I believe is down to Sony not supporting developers which is strange as Sony make the chips used by a lot of astronomical cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Does the job

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 10 August 2021 by Aging amateur (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera body as a replacement for an 8 year old Nex6. As I already have a selection of compatible lenses it made sense to just buy a body. It does all that I require of it, and more, and no problems with setting up or operation so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Amazing camera

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 07 August 2021 by Jechereweare (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this 3 weeks ago and am getting to grips with the complicated computer system of the camera.First impressions. Takes great pictures and video, works very well with external mic, is lightweight and relatively robust. Downside: the shutter button isn't in the best place, but that might be a personal preference. Overall, very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

11

1

0

Simply the best

Body Only 05 August 2021 by Anon41 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Exceeding my expectations, A Sony is still a Sony after all

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality Build is better than A6000

Body Only 25 July 2021 by Derrickwthip4 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I sold my A6000 that I bought in 2017. This A6400 got more features to let me adjust and control. I need to use more often to master in photography skill. Sharing some of my photos that I took using this A6400

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Entry Model

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 13 July 2021 by charlestay (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this DSLR to replace my webcam to improve the webcam video quality from Logitech to Sony DSLR. On weekends, I can use this camera for photo shooting.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Feature rich

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 04 July 2021 by Gerarbara (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I previously had a bulky DSLR which I sold. This is a compact system camera with the emphasis on compact but the same size of sensor.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

31

57

0

Wish I had the 6600

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 14 June 2021 by Owlist (USA)

This is my first interchangeable lens camera and I bought it 5 weeks ago alongside the 70-350mm G OSS super-telephoto lens (SEL70350G). There are two things I wish I knew when I bought this camera: (1) There's almost always noticeable blur in my shots. On a tripod and with a wireless remote or a 2-second delay, I can get stunningly gorgeous shots, but that’s about it. Because I am brand new to taking photos, I didn’t realize that I would love photography as much as I do! Now, I deeply regret not getting a camera with in-body image stabilization (ibis), such as on the 6600. I want to shoot hand-held without the 6400's blur and I want access to a wider-range of lenses--namely, those that don't have Optical SteadyShot (OSS) which helps compensate a bit for the lack of ibis in the camera body. (2) Because I only own slower lenses and often shoot at dusk at 350mm and thus F6.3, virtually all my images must be at high iso's are thus grainy and noisy. In bright light the noise is fine, but I am often frustrated with my image quality. In summary, now that I want more form my equipment, specifically a body with ibis and faster (lower f-stop) lenses which may not come with OSS, such as the 16-55mm F2.8 (SEL1655G), I feel stuck with a sub-par product in the 6400 that limits how much more I can pursue my new-found passion for photography. Hopefully, I can sell this 6400 for a decent price and invest in a 6600 and faster lenses (even those that lack OSS). It is my own fault, but I'm still frustrated that Sony doesn't do a better job of communicating that you'll always want either ibis or OSS at all times. I wish I wasn’t past the 30-day return window, or I’d return this camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Great camera with half price range of full frame

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 26 May 2021 by Moe Hnget (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it this month. Happy with the camera because unlimited video recording and same battery with my a7rii camera. Yeah good camera in APSC lineup.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Exciting equipment purchase

Body Only 22 May 2021 by Gav6 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently got this for my graduation upon the recommendation of several peers. I love it so far, however, it did not come with a body cap (I have the ILCE-6400 - it should come with a body cap). Puzzling.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 21 May 2021 by SofiasSlave (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera with the 18-135mm lens. Was a bit uncertain, being a long time user of a competitor brand for my old DSLR. Read loads of reviews, but certainly think I made the right decision. Its relatively easy to use (still learning the many auto focus modes!), the photo quality is fantastic - the amount of post processing I've needed to do is greatly reduced. Colours look realistic, and even at ISO6400 I get images with little noise. I was concerned about having the view finder off to one side (initially what put me off this camera), but that was unfounded. It works perfectly well, although I haven't yet made use of my other eye whilst shooting. Its very light as well compared to my old DSLR - definitely a convert to mirrorless. All in all, I love my new camera and am pleased I bought it. Should add that the 18-135mm lens is also great, I would recommend that lens. Good bokeh, good lens of zoom for walk about, great quality pictures. Overall, would recommend this camera and am definitely a Sony convert.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

41

62

0

Fun to use.

Body Only 16 May 2021 by noviceperspective (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the a6400 as an upgrade from my a5100. Wow, is this thing fun to use! I went out for spring bird migration and shot 943 photos in 2 days. 99% of the photos were in focus. Speaking on focusing, this thing seems to focus instantaneously on the smallest of warblers. The eye autofocus feature is also amazing when working with models. I've only been shooting with this camera for a little over a week now and there is so much more that I can't wait to learn about. As amazing as the older models are if you are still shooting with one you owe it to yourself to try one of these newer models. Wow!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great features

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 06 May 2021 by geoff27 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera as is very light and easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

61

84

0

This is amazing

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 25 April 2021 by adnu (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got it one months ago and I feel so good that I did it

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

86

90

0

Great bit of kit

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 21 April 2021 by Captainchaos6000 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I absolutely love this camera I really can't put it down. Light weight compact or extendable if you need it to be without any real sacrifice in picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

99

137

0

Perfect camera for everyone!

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 19 April 2021 by Rekles (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been thinking about buying a6400 for a while and after I finally did buy it, I think it was a great choice. This camera has a lot to offer for advanced user and for beginners too. I love recording 4K videos with it, but taking photos it more fun compared to my old DSLR. I would recommend this camera to everyone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

92

164

0

Mini - Mighty - Go

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 12 April 2021 by BorisDebauhauzen (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great compact portable camera, amazing features like interval shooting, so finally I can start building my adventure time-lapses! The quality of the photography is just astonishing, if you do know how to play around manual shooting then this is the winner over all the smartphones out there on the market. Still issue with the battery, it's just draining off within 20 min on the video mode; I wonder if Sony has a solution to this or at least working on it, as caring multiple batteries when you climbing 4000m above the se level, not that cool..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

46

85

0

Dissatisfied

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 11 April 2021 by Evren Dede (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I used the camera for shooting videos it turns itself off due to overheating. I’ve had this problem more than four times. Dissatisfied.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

65

188

0

great camera

ILCE-6400 / ILCE-6400L / ILCE-6400M 23 March 2021 by raunak (United Kingdom)

its a great camera. am a casual photographer, i find it amusing

92

163