209

3.9 based on 209 customer reviews

86
64
24
13
22
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Needs rear speakers

HT-ST5000 20 January 2018 by Fordster (USA)

I bought this in December and the sound is great is you crank it up . Need rear speakers to get the full surround sound . I hope they come up with a fix because the sound bar was not cheap and I would like to buy rear Sony speakers for it..

106

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

PLEASE PUSH A FIRMWARE UPDATE FOR REAR SPEAKERS

HT-ST5000 30 March 2018 by MJConte (USA)

I’ve read every single review on this page and 95 % of owners are begging, pleading for the same thing-REAR SPEAKER SUPPORT!!! Why aren’t you listening to your customers Sony? Giving us the same canned answer over and over “We’ll pass this along....we take your input seriously, etc., etc. is meaningless. Actions speak louder than words Sony. Push a firmware update and make this sound bar truly top of the line. Why wouldn’t you want to sell more surround speakers to pair with this sound bar?? Even if you don’t care about your customers, you have to care about revenue.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

83

0

210 Customer Reviews

0

Speakers blown after only 2 years

HT-ST5000 31 March 2020 by 4Kmaster1 (United Kingdom)

I’ve had this soundbar for just over 2 years and already one of the speakers has blown which I find extremely poor specially when it’s Sony’s flagship soundbar costing £1400

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound

HTST5000 26 March 2020 by Ostro68 (USA)

Sound is great. Dialogue is very clear and the subwoofer can be adjusted to one's liking.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Soundbar

HT-ST5000 25 March 2020 by ravinders (USA)

This is one of the best Sound Bars Available in the Market, I think I had made good choice by choosing this soundbar. I always knew Sony would produce quality products that lasts longer, but when it comes to Soundbars, Sony was able to produce on par with other best brands available in the soundbar electronics. This Product comes in three pieces, Soundbar, Subwoofer and Soundbar front cover. Front cover can be attached easily to Soundbar as it has Magnets and it attaches perfectly. I liked the Sound quality from this Soundbar, this perfectly syncs with Subwoofer and produces sound as if you were sitting in cinema theater.This is perfectly fits to High celling homes. Set up was so easy and immediately started as soon as played the video. This soundbar has 3 HDMI ports, one Analog port, one USB port along with it has bluetooth connectivity and WIFI capability. one HDMI is for ARC in and others can be used for Blu-ray Players or any other HDMI capable devices such chromecast, firestick. Soundbar has options for HDMI input on the back, with an HDMI (ARC) option on the back to connect to the TV. This allows you to turn the tv on with your normal remote. Soundbar has clear Audio+,Sound Field, voice and night sound modes. It works seamless while changing the sound modes. Liked the quality of the sound it perfectly suited for high ceiling roof. Subwoofer automatically get sync with Soundba as soon as turned on the soundbar. Using the 3D sound effect, living area comes alive with what sounds like have few speakers surrounded. I recommend this product, though it is expensive product worth to spend.

0

0

0

Awesome audio!

HT-ST5000 25 March 2020 by Hilsc81 (USA)

I have definitely stepped up my sound quality at my home! Wow! I have never had a sound bar before and it makes such a difference! The sound quality and clarity is out of this world. I had zero issues with connectivity too! Definitely ups the game for my audio experience! The multiple HDMI Ports, enables me to connect the various devices I have to hook up to make my audio experience amazing when using various devices (ie. Video game consoles, watching tv shows, movies etc).

0

0

0

Why would anyone need anything else?

HT-ST5000 25 March 2020 by Nycinpolk (USA)

Just got my new Sony ST-5000 a couple days ago. I can say it was super easy to put together. One wire into my ARC in my TV that goes it in back of the sound bar as well. Plug it into the wall. Plus the Bass into the wall and boom your done! The setup that walks you through how to add streaming service and connect your Wifi was easy as well. The only issue I have is the remote, Sony make such beautiful looking audio equipment. The remote though is very cheap feeling. For the premium you pay for the soundbar song should at least have a nice remote with it. I still gave it a 5 star review though because you hardly need to use the remote with it, I connected my Apple TV and use that remote with no issues. I only use the Sony to change the levels of the bass, or go through the modes to hear the sound. One issue I did have was with the bass. After watching a movie I noticed the bass sounding really bad like it was broken. I looked up only and seen can be caused by interference from a couple things. One being the Wifi, you can actually go in and change a couple things allowing it to use 5.2 or 5.8. If that does not do it you can do a reset of the system by holding down the power and minus directly on the soundbar. I did that and it seemed to work for now. The ST-5000 looks amazing especially with the grill off! The grill comes on and off easily since it attaches with a magnet. The sound is amazing for a soundbar you really do not need to get any other speakers if your placing this in a bedroom. We spend the most time watching movies there and that is where we put our soundbar. The bass sounds great when it does not have any issues, it is rather large but fits with my furniture so no problem for us, but if you are placing it somewhere it may stick out. So far so good, one small issue fixed with a reset, as long as that does not come back I will be very happy with my purchase! Thank you Sony for another amazing product!

0

0

0

Bring the movie theater into your house

HT-ST5000 25 March 2020  (USA)

The Subwoofer has a lot of power like a lot. It makes the ground tremble as if it were a earth quake. The Dolby Atmos Effect is amazing, you can hear the overhead sound which is awesome. All in all pretty happy with the Dolby Atmos effect . A huge positive for me is that this soundbar has 3 Hdmi inputs and HDR and Dolby Vision passthrough and supports DTS X. The negative point i have of this soundbar is that there , is no Rear Speaker Support. Even though it’s 7.1.2 but I feel like having rear speakers will definitely create a true cinematic experience. Important note: make sure you go through the setup to update the distance of your speakers to calibrate the system to get the best sound.

0

0

0

Sound that makes a difference

HT-ST5000 21 March 2020 by dlhowrd1 (USA)

In our family, TV is a way of life. My husband and I have always enjoyed our movie nights and we still do, only now the content is a bit different since adding our daughter to the family. I've always been that person who didn't really care about the quality of sound as long as I could hear, but that opinion has definitely changed since our purchase of the Sony ST5000 sound bar. I can honestly say that I immediately noticed the difference between the volume delivered by our decade old TV and that delivered by the Sony ST5000. Pros - Installation was simple and straight forward. - Quality of product is great and sound quality is excellent - You can really feel the bass from the subwoofer (funny note on that is our dog did not know what to think at first and he barked at the TV during the times that the bass came through). - My funny story leads in to the next pro of being able to separately adjust the subwoofer versus the volume from the remote control. - The sound actually fills the room and we have an open concept house and a vaulted ceiling. - Bluetooth is also really easy to pair. Cons - The only real con that we see is that there are only three HDMI ports and we could use at least one more. - It's too big for our current entertainment center (this is personal to me, but only barely and we are in the market for a new entertainment center anyway). All in all, my family is very happy with our purchase and we would recommend the Sony ST5000 to anyone we know if the market for a sound bar.

0

0

0

Movie Theater sound at home

HT-ST5000 21 March 2020 by Charlesle (USA)

I wanted to upgrade my current 5.1 sound bar and this was definitely a worthy upgrade. I have amazing sound without the hassle of back speakers needed! Pros: Quality and Design: This quality of this speaker is really good. the subwoofer and speaker has a good heft to it, i would recommend if you're thinking wall mounting it, make sure to definitely find stubs to mount it! The design is very appealing, i found that I like having the individual speakers shown off without the speaker grill. Easy to setup: There was very little setup time, it was plug and play. once I turn on the speaker, it instantly paired up with the subwoofer. The actually setup part is based on the sound you want for the speaker such as the distance where the speaker is from the couch, how tall is the ceiling and how loud you want the speakers to fire. I found that i want the ceiling speakers to fire louder to get the best effects, out the box sounds great too. Sound: The sound is superior to what i was listening to before! I can hear every detail of dialogue to the rumbling of the engine to a car. If you are able to get UHD movies and able to take advantage of Dolby Atmos, do it! The combination of Dolby Atmos of the speaker with a Dolby vision TV like mines is a game changer, I have no need to go to the movie theater anymore if it wasn't for the stagger release. Cons: The UI The UI for the sound bar is very clunky. In the time of easy to use and fluid UI, this is a pain point to this speaker. It is very manageable but I wish it was smoother and easier to use, they should ask Playstation for pointers. Remote Very basic and I wish i could have a better control on an app on my phone like my TV Dolby Atmos This isn't the speaker's fault, but to experience the best, you will have to search for Dolby Atmos content that has all the right codecs. I thought I hearing Dolby Atmos, but in reality it was dolby 5.1. Still great but I wanted to hear the best. Also setup of your room is key, it all depends on the acoustics of your room, the ceiling height, and where to position the speaker. Verdict: Very worth-wide investment in upgrading your speaker, once you set up the speaker and have the perfect content, its worthy of your living room.

0

0

0

Great Sound Quality

HT-ST5000 21 March 2020 by jasonlee (USA)

Don't think these speakers look that sleak to fit into the rest of my TV setup, but these sound amazing. Setup took less than a hour and everything was fairly intuitive. Tried watching couple movies with it and really notice the depth of surround sound of these speakers. Definitely recommend the speakers if you can afford these high quality sounding speakers.

0

0

0

My first soundbar and I am not disappointed a bit

HT-ST5000 19 March 2020  (USA)

Firstly let me start by saying, this is my first soundbar and subwoofer. I am very very happy that I made the right choice in buying the Sony Ht 5000. I could not have made a better choice. I have a very specific choice for music and this soundbar just elevates the experience. I live in a condo and I was worried if a 7.1 surround system with a subwoofer is going to be too loud for the small place but it blends well with space and it has settings for a smaller apartment too. The audio quality for watching movies and tv shows is out of the world. The wireless subwoofer a big plus because it avoids the wire clutter, the setup of the subwoofer was as simple as plugging the cable in the power outlet and boom, its all setup. Pros : the look and feel of the speakers are real high quality The 10'x20' room is filled with sound compared to my tv speaker sound The bass of the subwoofer is really good and you can control the subwoofer volume separately which is a plus. It has an optical output as well as the ARC output which helps when you have an old TV A single unit system without having to deal with multiple wires and multiple speakers It has 3 HDMI inputs for different consoles to be connected The 4K sound compatibility is the biggest plus as a lot of speakers today don't have the capability Built-in Chromecast is a huge plus Dolby Atmos surround is really good The NFC pairing is really easy to set up, which allows you direct playback The night-time mode is a plus as it helps to keep the volume low Cons : The remote control has to be used separately as the soundbar is not connected to old tv's using the ARC The connectivity of the remote is a little choppy at times as it has to be pointed precisely to the soundbar, does not happen all the time. Manual setup for the volume levels based on the height Verdict: This is a good choice for you to have if you want to experience the Dolby Atmos surround sound.

0

0

0

Crank Up The Volume

HT-ST5000 19 March 2020 by bradybunch5 (USA)

As soon as you unpack the box you know the Sony Sound Bar just screams quality. The sleek design will make a great addition to your home theater. The soundbar is quite heavy, about twenty pounds for the bar alone. The subwoofer adds another 30 pounds to the system. You have 3 HDMI Inputs with a HDMI(Arc) option on the back. The sound bar comes with a magnetic grill, which can be on or off, either way the sound bar looks fantastic. The set up was quick and easy. It practically set itself up. A minute or two to set up Wi-Fi, a few more minutes to do the obligatory software update and you are on your way. Full disclosure, I am not a sound connoisseur by any means. My review is not scientific; it is not being dissected by an engineer. I am an average guy who enjoys the movie theater experience. I am not sitting in a home theater, just a regular “family/living room”. My setup is simple, a Sony 55” Brava and a TiVo Roamio for this review. The soundbar has all the features I want and a whole bunch of features that I do not know that I really want. To begin the sound is crisp and clear, you can feel the sound. You will notice how the soundbar by far exceeds your built-in speakers from the TV. The immersive sound makes this well worth the soundbar upgrade. A virtual surround soundbar that combines digital signal processing and S-Force Pro Front Surround to deliver amazing sound. The Dolby Atoms delivers a 360-degree surround sound. The dedicated music service button allows me to pick up exactly where I left off, so, I never miss a beat. The NFC one touch connection allows me to stream instantly from my smartphone. Connects to the internet with the built in Wi-fi. The soundbar has 9- coaxial speakers built into the soundbar. The different built in sound settings give a good mixture for movies, music, sports, gaming and standard. Playing with them gives a nice variety of adjustments. Then hit the 3D Sound setting and put your seatbelt on. The manual is quite thick and will join a lot of other stereo manuals in a drawer somewhere. The remote has plenty of buttons that I will probably never intentionally touch. I want this set up perfectly the first time and hopefully never touch the remote again. I tuned in to some music from my cable company package, the sound was, to my ears, quite good at high and low volume. Switching to a broadcast HD movie and the subwoofer came alive!! Thor never sounded so good. I was sitting @ 10 feet away, ears slightly above the soundbar and I felt sound all around me, literally bouncing off me! WOW! Bluetooth (LDAC), sounds a lot better than any Bluetooth speaker I have heard before, big fancy names included. I Have seen some reports about crackling from the subwoofer, nothing problems here. No drop offs either. Most problems I assume are from people who do not look at the manual AT ALL. I have not investigated rear speakers, but so far, I did see no reason for them (yet anyway). Bottom line, love it, great sound, excellent stereo (after all this is what it actually is). Will probably learn more about it over time, but for now I want to finish watching Thor save the world.

0

0

0

Sony ST5000 (HT-ST5000) Exceeded My Expectations

HT-ST5000 10 March 2020 by SunniShine (USA)

Being that #OnFleek is a hashtag used for only the most worthy of products & results, this definitely applies to my Sony ST5000 (HT-ST5000). My husband and I both enjoying vegging out in front of the television and also enjoying music so this was a perfect addition to our home entertainment center and a much needed replacement for the Vizio, which apparently sounds nowhere near as good as what we thought. The sound from our Sony ST5000 (HT-ST5000) is phenomenal and works from everything to movies, TV shows, music channels and music TV. It works in tandem with the audio you currently have available to enhance. This fits beautifully on my entertainment center and easily hooked into all necessary devices to ensure my sound is maximized. The Sony ST5000 (HT-ST5000) is simple enough my 9 yo can operate it and all sound is perfectly enhanced. The Sony ST5000 (HT-ST5000) definitely receives Two Enthusiastic Thumbs Up!

0

0

0

Perfect companion for my Sony smart television

HT-ST5000 10 March 2020 by oneofusgrays (USA)

I have had many soundbars made by various brands and none of them come close to the features and sound of this unit. Unboxing was simple and it was packaged well arriving in perfect condition. The Sony HT-ST5000 set up was no more difficult than soundbars produced by other brands, the remote is definitely easier and more user friendly than most. As far as looks, fit, and function go there are things I absolutely love about my new Sony soundbar. The open platform at the bottom of subwoofer produces a cool look though I am certain it was designed to allow air to freely move to make the great lows it does. The easy removal of the magnetically attached grill shows off beautifully designed coaxial speakers on the all metal soundbar. This system produces real 3-D sound from an easy to set up soundbar and subwoofer, the sound is crisp, clear, and the bass is excellent. Having DTS, multi-room listening and Chromecast built-in at this price point really impresses me. The Bluetooth connectivity is flawless and sounds as good as music that is playing directly connected to other devices. I am a big gamer and this literally brings my gaming to life, I really cant believe a soundbar can make all this sound. Streaming is also great with this soundbar, voices and other sounds don't drown one another out making the experience great. overall I just cannot find anything negative to say about this soundbar, it is bulletproof.

0

0

0

Sony ST5000 is amazing!

HT-ST5000 05 March 2020 by Harmz2481 (USA)

I am impressed with this unit. Having tried the prior brands, this one seems much superior. Set up was a breeze and this unit does have a very clean look. I love how it has so many options for hook up. Sound quality is amazing for such a small unit. Atmos is pretty amazing out of this unit. I just wish they would have made a little bit better remote for such an expensive unit. I have enjoyed streaming music to this unit and have amazed all my friends that this small of a unit can provide such clarity and so much volume.

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-ST5000 05 March 2020 by rachmach (USA)

The Sound bar is amazing and the clarity of it is crispy clean ! It has a lot of features and one of them is connecting with a different programs some of them can be downloaded from the App Store ! The design and interior is sleek and it is a great additional feature for my home ! I love it so much . I use it daily before going and after coming from work and I’m absolutely happy and satisfied!

0

0

0

Soundbar that provides complete home theater feel

HT-ST5000 05 March 2020 by vsatyakarthik (USA)

Had been using Sony HT-ST5000 for for few weeks now, and can't say how amazing the sound is. To start of with, didnt expect that it would be that heavy to lift it, so had to be lifted by two people. Just the soundbar was about 20lb and total was little over 60lb. The design of the soundbar was sleek with glossy finish and the front grill for speakers can be removed and fixed with ease. The soundbar has 9-coaxial speakers inbuilt into the soundbar, and it does provide complete immersion of Dolby Atmos 3D sound. This was connected to a TV which has Video Upscaling, and since the soundbar has Audio upscaling, while playing 4k videos, the sound is amazing as the picture. The soundbar has some new features that I haven't seen before, one of them is the NFC feature, which allows direct music playback by a single tap on the right side of the speaker(while facing it). Since the soundbar was a bit heavy and also bigger in size, had to get a custom wall mount plate that can hold upto 25lb to mount the soundbar to wall as the TV is placed on fireplace. The Front Surround technology can be easily noticed while playing any video. The soundbar has enough ports(3 HDMI In,, 1 HDMI Out, Optical and Analog) almond with NFC connectivity, bluetooth, USB and chromecast Playback. Setup of the Soundbar to TV/wifi was tricky as setup failed multiple times as the setup would just get stuck and the soundbar had to be unplugged and plugged back in and setup restarted, but once setup, tv remote was able to control options on soundbar, to either change input or to adjust sound settings. Cool feature was the NDC connectify, just tapping phone, was able to connect phone to soundbar, to start playback, on soundbar. The Music Service playback button helps with spotify playback with just click of a button. Tapping the button, the music was resumed from last playback on any other device. Also having Chromecast option helps quickly cast audio to the soundbar. All in all, the best soundbar that I had used, and since puppy likes to sleep while listening to music, puppy approves the soundbar as well Pros: 3d Dolby Atmos with full immersion Audio Upscaling Dedicated Music Service button NFC, USB and wireless playback Puppy approved(puppy can't sleep without music and the soft vibrations from the sub-woofer) Cons: Setup tricky and failed multiple times Doesnt go to standby when audio input switched on TV

0

0

0

Theater quality sound

HT-ST5000 05 March 2020 by Lbsnowman (USA)

My family has been so impressed with the sound quality of this speaker! We upgraded a 5 year old speaker with this and the difference was fantastic. The quick and easy setup was truly simple and fast. Im actually surprised how slim the speaker is verses how much sound comes from it! The setup prompts where precise and simple to follow without any confusion and the remote and voice command capabilities allows us control regardless of situation. I do suggest having a secure spot for remote because it is quite small and easily lost.

0

0

0

Awesome quality

HT-ST5000 05 March 2020  (USA)

I love the Sony ST5000 modern and high end technology design, expecially it has Dolby Atmos 360 sound surrounding function. Also, it has 3x HDCP 2.2-compatible HDMI inputs, so I can easily connect with my TV easily. In addition, It has bluetooth wireless function, I can connect with my phone to play any my music playlist. Moreover, the Sony ST5000 has two built in speakers bounce sound off the ceiling to reproduce overhead sound, which makes my home like the theather. No matter from low base to high tone, it does provide the best sound quality. I love it.

0

0

0

Powerful and clear sound

HT-ST5000 05 March 2020 by Dangerman (USA)

The Sony ST5000 speaker is really top class. As I unboxed this soundbar, I immediately felt it was substantial and well made as the weight and build quality are top notch. The design is typical for a soundbar in terms of style but this one is a bit larger in all dimensions and has a lot more weight. It also includes a magnetic screen that covers the front but still allows you to see the display that shows which input the speaker is on and the volume level. The soundbar has options for HDMI input on the back, with an HDMI (ARC) option on the back to connect to the TV. This allows you to turn the tv on with your normal remote and have the speaker start up without using a second remote. This is a huge plus and perk. The setup took about 5 minutes and included measuring the distance from the tv to the area you are watching and also measuring from the subwoofer to the seating area. This allows the speaker to optimize the sound for your space. After connecting my devices to the speaker and the speaker to the tv, I tested the sound with Amazon Prime which offers excellent audio with its shows. The soundbar was turned down but I could immediately tell the richness of the sound compared to the standard built-in speakers from my tv. Not only was it rich and full sound, the soundbar also allows you to watch really loud, which makes it feel like you're in the scene you are watching. When I tested the speaker with Spotify, the playlist sounded better than anything I've listened to in a home setting. Overall I'm extremely satisfied and impressed with the speaker and would recommend purchasing it. The only downside is the price, and this one is not cheap. That said, if sound quality is important to you and your entertainment center, you'd be hard pressed to find a better and easier to setup soundbar.

0

0

0

Family Movie Night Just Got An Upgrade

HT-ST5000 05 March 2020 by probrien3 (USA)

I have two kids, a nice TV, and really comfortable chairs, so the opportunity and desire to spend $50-100 on a movie is limited. That has been the main driver for me building up my own media library and server, and on Friday nights, my family all sits down to pick and watch a movie together. I owned a 2.1 channel surround soundbar, and my kids would get annoyed as I would spend half the movie trying to adjust to get the sound perfect. Enter Sony's ST5000 7.1.2 soundbar. Now we can literally feel the movie. We have a great room to allow the sound to bounce off the walls, so it feels as if all of the action is around you. What is really impressive is how the sound can be immense, but you can clearly hear each individual aspect, specifically the dialogue. My family loves the upgrade to Friday nights, but every night is not a Friday night, and the soundbar can be intense for our house at other times. This is why I love the fact that Sony provides the Night Time mode, which still provides crystal clear listening without the walls and floor shaking. If you stream movies, you will love the fact that you can adjust the delay to match the picture. This can often be frustrating when the dialogue from the soundbar and the action on the screen are not in sync. The look of the soundbar with the built-in tweeters is very cool, and I like that they provided a cover, which I use when I am not around (I still don't fully trust my kids). Finally, I am a huge fan, of the built-in Chromecast. I have Google speakers throughout my house, and this is truly a nice addition to listening to music throughout my house. The ST5000 is certainly a premium soundbar with a price tag, but it is well worth every cent (and then some). For the price of a few trips to the theater, I can create more excitement, more enjoyment, and more memories with my family for years to come. Thanks, Sony!

0

0

0

Worth It - Don't Know What You Are Missing!

HT-ST5000 05 March 2020  (USA)

Honestly, I was skeptical of whether the Sony ST5000 (HT-ST5000) was worth its cost; we didn’t need it, but did we even want it? Now I know we NEEDED it and we never even knew we did!!! We had no idea what we were missing! The soundbar arrived and was easy to unpackage, install and set up with our television. As soon as we turned on the television, we noticed a complete difference in the sound of just normal television shows. We immediately checked out a few streaming concerts and movies, and its ability to turn our living room into a theater is truly breathtaking. Honestly, we are hearing sounds that we never would have heard with just the television speakers. Now, I can’t imagine watching television without the soundbar. One issue we had was that just placing the soundbar on top of our stand blocked the power sensor for our television, so when we would go to turn on the system . . . one would turn on and the other would not. Full disclosure this is also because we are using a sideboard as our television stand, so it is a little higher than our seating. We simply got a shelf to lift our television a little higher and that problem was resolved. The only drawback is that the wall our television (and therefore the soundbar) is on is shared with our neighbor. While it is our living room, it is her bedroom. So, we are hesitant to take it to its maximum capacity all the time, but it is still amazing! I highly recommend!

0

0

0

Expensive, but worth it!

HT-ST5000 03 March 2020 by bsimons23 (USA)

The quality of the sound on this thing is outstanding. You start to seperate the good speaker systems from the great when you reach high volume levels. Good speakers still can put out distortion when the sound is turned way up, but this system does not distort or disappoint. Its pricey, and will not replace your 5.1 or 7.1 sourround sound systems but its perfect for rooms where you will be watching tv/movie/listening to music but you dont want or can't put in a full surround sound system. The set up was easy, once my TV found the soundbar under my ARC discovery, and has been easy to navigate ever since. It really is a great soundbar and highly recommend it if you are in the market for one...and you have the means!

0

0

0

Sound bar overheats

HTST5000 02 March 2020 by AML48 (USA)

Terrible system! with this sound bar one does not need to turn on the home heating system!!!It generates so much heat.Sent it for warranty check was told that system was operating according to specifications.What a Joke.Sony does not stand behind their product.I have been a loyal Sony customer to this point , but i will never buy anything else from Sony.The customer service is terrible and his not willing to help.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Great sound bar!

HTST5000 20 February 2020 by fajardo23 (USA)

I bought this soley was a replacement to my previous soundbar and to reduce the amount of speakers in my apartment, but was it worth the money? YES ABSOLUTELY!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great replacement for components based home theatr

HT-ST5000//MSP1 18 February 2020 by babychin (Singapore)

From components based home theatre with AVR, speakers and cables running all over your living room, I replaced all of them with another competitor’s wifi based wireless speakers. Alas, these speakers did not have the “impact” when you watch movies as its bass was only so-so. Jo support for Atmos & DTS. After one year, I replaced it with Sony. Boy, just realised the bass I was missing! Could do better with add-on surround speakers to enhance the rear-fill.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Slightly above average

HTST5000 09 February 2020 by finfan (USA)

Had an older Definitive Technology Sound Bar, wanted Atmos and some other features that my current sounder was lacking. The Definitive seems to have better quality speakers and overall higher quality system, but the Sony looks nicer and the Atmos is pretty amazing. The sound Quality is good but not sure its worth the price tag compared to the Definitive Soundbar.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Voice or vocal is soft

HT-ST5000//MSP1 29 January 2020 by enquirelim (Singapore)

Is there a way to adjust the Center channel for louder voice or vocal

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony 7.1.2 Soundbar Thunders!

HT-ST5000//MSP1 21 January 2020 by Chia Chia Chia (Singapore)

Love it! Enjoying it! Solid Sub Woofer! Family favourite mode is the 3D Sound selection.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No worth your hard earned money

HTST5000 20 January 2020 by rvdp (USA)

If it is ATMOS (or 5.1 for that matter) you are looking for, please do not buy this product. if it works, it sounds great and the Subwoofer is awesome (I will have to give them that)... but when it warms up, the front firing drivers of the soundbar start to distort.. Please see/hear the attached video. I am not the only person who is having this issue and Sony is unwilling to provide me with proper support (Other than me shipping it to a 3rd party repair center at the other side of the country) This is a inherent flaw with the device.. I suspect related to a firmware update.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

4

1

0

Brilliant Soundbar

HT-ST5000//MSP1 18 January 2020 by dbak (Singapore)

Absolutely brilliant Soundbar that handles multiple formats with ease. Wireless streaming, hi def music, Dolby Atmos. Comes with wireless subwoofer for ease of placement.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Subwoofer occasionally cracking sound

HT-ST5000//MSP1 08 January 2020 by Simon lyc (Singapore)

Subwoofer occasionally produce cracking sound otherwise this is an excellent product from a soundbar I ever heard thus far. Hopefully there will be a firmware update in near future to eliminate the subwoofer issue.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Worst Sound bar we bought!

HT-ST5000 31 December 2019 by Lopez Family (USA)

We are Sony customers through and through, from our TV's, xperia phones, playstations, and sound bars. So when Sony said that they were coming out with a sound bar that made the movie watching experience better we were all over it. After only a short time from purchase, we started experiencing some crackling sounds from the sub woofer. Every time we did, we would call Sony or best buy and they would give us trouble shooting tips and they would work for a short time but than the crackling would return. We finally took the sound bar into Best Buy and after they could not find the issue, let us trade it in for the same sound bar (thinking it was just that sound bar). We had the new speaker for about a couple weeks before we had the same issue. Frustrated we called Sony and they had us send the speaker in (costing us $65 in shipping costs) for repairs. It took about a month and we received our speaker and thought it was over. But no later than a couple days was that pesky sub woofer crackling sound was back. We have to do all the trouble shooting again and now they want us to send it back in again to check for issues. ENOUGH!!!! we are so done with this entire mess!!!! We are just going to keep sending it back to Best Buy until they deem it "junked out" and trade it for a different speaker, probably not a Sony. After all the run around and about a year of this back and forth we are just tired. Sony cannot admit that the speaker that was put out has issues and anything can cause interference even though it is only a couple feet away from the bar itself. Just disappointed with the speaker and the run around that we have been given throughout this process. I understand having to check everything but when a customer pays that much money for a product and we still can't get the help we need or quality we paid for. We are willing to pay the difference to get a better product but it has been so difficult to just get a working soundbar to enjoy the movies that we purchase. From the sound of it my husband is just tired of what Sony has done and has put out. The image of Sony that he held so high has now been tarnished. He used to call Samsung "Sam-sucks" but it is looking like he is ready to go to the darkside and purchase one due to this whole experience.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

1

0

Overpriced, poorly defined sound and NO support

HT-ST5000 24 December 2019 by XISBURGER (USA)

I was HYPED after reading all the amazing reviews the product got in SEVERAL websites. It is extremely clear now that ALL of them where totally paid to praise the bar. No serious reviewer would agree that this is a premium quality HIFI soundbar. Mids are distorted and shallow no matter the volume. All sound scenes sound extremely artificial. You either get something that feels to be coming out from an cheap ear but but pushed by 800w of power or just a massive BOOM from the subwoofer. At least, the sub woofer and overall volumes deliver. But if the sound is distorted, out of pitch, from the get go, what us is it? Not happy at all. Shame on me for missing the return windows on this one. I own the product for a year now. Also, web functionalities are not helpful. Nothing connects. I wrote to Sony support asking for help several times only the get the same poor untrained and unhelpful response of a copy and past from the troubleshoot web page and asking me to call them if the problem was not solved. CALL? THERE IS A REASON I AM WRITING for Gods sake. I don't have time to be on a call during working hours as I am also WORKING. No updated firmware in a year, old chromecast version, no support from other streaming services. It's a joke for a flagship product. Anyhow. Do not recommend the product. Will not buy a Sony sound bar again.(although I like my TV) Get a Yamaha or Sennheiser AMBEO Instead.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

1

0

Sounds great! Needs rear speakers

HT-ST5000 22 December 2019 by Kyleg25 (USA)

I've had this for a few weeks now, love the sound but the fact it doesn't have rear speakers is probably going to lead me in just selling them and going with someone else. If there's no rear speaker support their only as good as the cheap ones. At this price point I expect the most features. Your cheaper ones have this option so it really made my purchase feel like a bad mistake.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

excellent sound bar

HT-ST5000 13 December 2019 by Harry529 (USA)

I want to know , what speaker setting is best for large rooms? I have did set the ceiling height and distance . Just want to know the figure settings for all the speaker in sound bar .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

5

0

It's ok.

HTST5000 08 December 2019 by Smith00 (USA)

We moved to a smaller living room with a fireplace and needed something that could go on the mantel. I've tried adjusting the height setting, but I'm not getting what I should out of the price I paid for it when it comes to atmos and surround sound. We're military, so we'll move again in a few years, this will end up in the bedroom next. Probably a better spot for it. As for the quality: Mid's are shallow if there at all. Wireless sub frequently has interference despite trying all the frequency options, sounds like a loose wire. The bar itself is pretty good for its size when it comes to separation and filling a room.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Great Projector

HTST5000 06 December 2019 by CarlGable20 (USA)

This projector was great unfortunately a burglar stole it but I will definitely recommend it to someone else

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Wireless Problem With Sub-Woofer

HT-ST5000 05 December 2019 by Occam (USA)

Having issue with interference with wireless sub-woofer. 2nd unit with same issue. Sony CT-260 works fine in 'same' application. My SWAG is 'shielding' missing that is present in CT-260, or new component not shielded. https://us.community.sony.com/s/question/0D50B00004IL27gSAD/htst5000-stutteringpopping-noise-from-subwoofer?language=en_US&t=1575562998295&searchQuery=

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Best Sounding Soundbar

HT-ST5000 03 December 2019 by Tdizzle67 (USA)

I have had the HT-ST5000 for a little over 10 months and I continue to be amazed by how good this sound bar is. I recently made some configuration changes to the HT-ST5000 and all I can say is Wow! I found the best setting for me is once you dial in the distance, height and DB adjustments. Turn off the sound field option and let the effects from the source take over. IMHO this will give you the best listening experience. Also make sure you enable DTS. I watched Hacksaw Ridge and Blade Runner 2049 and was absolutely amazed by the sound. Dolby Atmos is amazing with this setup. Also please understand that mileage will very based on your room. Would the HT-ST5000 be a total kick-butt SB with rear speakers yes, but don't let that lack of rears stop you. Voices are clear, explosions and effects are realistic and 3 dimensional. If you are in the market for a SB please go get the HT-ST5000, you will not be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Drivers are buzzing after 1 year

HT-ST5000 29 November 2019 by Jack007shaken (USA)

This sound bar was great the first 11 months or so of ownership, but then right before the warranty expired the speakers started buzzing. I had to pack it up and send in for warranty repair but they could not duplicate the issue. The first night I received the sound bar back it still buzzed after playing a movie. After playing content on level 30 to 35, like a blu Ray movie, vocals begin to develop a buzz distortion. Tapping on the driver temporarily fixes the issue but it comes back. Now the sound bar is barely out of warranty and I can’t enjoy movies.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

This bar really is easy to use

HT-ST5000 27 October 2019 by 2mike6 (United Kingdom)

I’m still getting used to all the features but delighted so far, set up was easy including the bluetooth connections. I have seen reviews moaning about the woofer unit mine works well and can be adjusted to play music of all genre just as they sound in reality. Pleased with purchase despite the price tag it IS WORTH IT !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Product is a lemon - not sure what to do

HT-ST5000 13 October 2019 by V Mendi (USA)

We purchased our Sound Bar from Magnolia at Best Buy less than a year ago, and the speaker randomly shuts off, there is a popping noise while the speaker is on, recently the speaker has been sending out a high pitch screeching noise, and now it has fully stopped working. When we called Best Buy to try and exchange the product, they directed us to Sony's "warranty" service since we've had the product for a while. For $1500, we expected this sound bar at LEAST a year, but it has not even done that.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Spectacular

HTST5000 03 October 2019 by Mgobugsy (USA)

Spectacular. Couldn't be happier. Replaced two outstanding Polk fronts, center, and surrounds.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Humming

HT-ST5000 16 September 2019 by bruce95 (USA)

Is it normal to hear a humming noise while sitting close to the subwoofer?

Design

Good

0

1

0

Dope sound

HTST5000 12 September 2019 by CarlGable (USA)

this has the best sound from a soundbar that I ever heard

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Sound Bar

HT-ST5000 07 September 2019 by Henry L (USA)

I bought this Sound Bar to pair with the XBR85X850F TV. The sound is great but the it takes about 2-3 seconds to switch from one Input to another. The biggest complaint I have on this Sound bar is that the unit comes with out wall mounting bracket/hardware.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb Sound

HT-ST5000 05 September 2019 by BenLLLLLL (United Kingdom)

I have had this for a couple of years and the sound is amazing. It really ramps up the movie experience as Dolby Atmos and DTS X fill the room with sound and helps create the atmosphere of the image on screen. Only downside is connectivity hiccups when changing devices. I have Sky Q, Sony 4K Bluray and PS4 connected and sometimes takes a while for the sound bar to register which device is playing. Not a major issue but a little annoying.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

Great products

HTST5000 06 August 2019 by Gokuss17 (USA)

I bought this but lately I been having trouble with the subwoofer.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Best but far from perfect

HT-ST5000 28 July 2019 by Viktorf3 (USA)

This is definitely one of the best sound bars on the market. Features and sound are very good. Despite the enhanced voice control, voices still not great a low level. I wouldn’t recommend it because it doesn’t support rear speakers which I wasn’t aware of at the time of purchase. I would not have purchased it if I knew that. I expected more from Sony but won’t assume or trust Sony again.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

2

0

My sound bar sounded great until...

HT-ST5000 24 July 2019 by Chrisl113 (USA)

The reviews are right about the sub sounding great. The soundbar is impressive, considering it’s a soundbar. People expecting this to replace a full set of separates will be disappointed. Rear speakers would be nice. My unfortunate problem is that after running for a few hours the bar gets a distorted sound in the main speakers, (not the center, or up firing speakers). My tv runs a lot sometimes because my kids watch Netflix a lot. At first, I thought the sound was a Netflix problem, because if you research sound problems from Netflix you’ll find a lot of ppl having problems. So I just suffered through it thinking it was software related. Unfortunately for me, the problem first presented itself at the end of the first year (within warranty period). A few months later, I was watching a 4K blu ray. (My only connected components are the Sony 4K player, this Sony soundbar, and a 75” Sony tv. The soundtrack from the 4K Blu-ray still had the distorted sound, which pointed me towards the actual soundbar. After contacting Sony, they said since it was now out of the 1 yr warranty, there was nothing they could do. After making my case to them, they agreed to send it to the authorized Sony repair company in New York. After they had the bar for a week, they couldn’t replicate the issue... this was very frustrating. So they sent it back, and sure enough, the problem persisted. It got to the point where I just disconnected the soundbar and just started using the tv speakers. Last week I finally mustered up the time to troubleshoot, to make sure it’s the sound bar and not the tv, or 4K player, or a connection. So I plugged the bar into another tv, with no other connections, and sure enough it still has the distorted sound. The sound is similar to the distortion of a vinyl record. I feel it gets worse with time on, like the amplifier gets hot or something, and it’s especially noticeable on louder scenes. But even voice dialogue has the distorted sound. It’s bad enough to where my wife started to complain about it, and that’s really saying something. At this point I’m really frustrated and don’t know what to do, I spent almost $5k on an all Sony setup, hoping that same brand products work better together. This $1500 sound bar has really let me down, and I just want it to get fixed, because it really does have some of the best sound you can get when it doesn’t have the distorted sound. I’m hoping someone from Sony can help! (The video I’m attaching is an example, and almost sounds like a bad cell phone sound, but is 100% the soundbar distortion)

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

9

1

0

Amazing Sound - Especially with Netflix

HTST5000 15 July 2019 by SD Werewolf (USA)

We bought the HT-ST5000 roughly a month ago with a new Sony 75" 950G TV. I must say, the sound bar is awesome with our Apple TV but it seriously shines when used with the Netflix mode on the 950G. The sound is spectacular. This TV/Soundbar combo is the best AV purchase we've ever made.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

sucks

HT-ST5000 12 July 2019 by ronnie 71 (USA)

Dont waste your money on this sound bar, such a disappointment!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

15

0

Great Sound but missing full Surround Sound

HT-ST5000 12 July 2019 by jim993 (USA)

This is a great soundbar. The audio quality is excellent but the Dolby Atmos is lacking full effect. As others have stated, Please add support for rear speakers(like HT-Z9F) to give Full surround experience.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

1

0

Excellent Sound but Have Wifi-Interference

HT-ST5000//MSP1 07 July 2019 by Patclay (Singapore)

I bought this set in June 2019. It sounded great when I first connected, however after 15 mins, I could hear intermittent “pop” sound from the subwoofer. I tried to shut down and turned the soundbar on and off a few times but the “pop” sound was still audible. In the end I called Sony to bring the set back for repair. Days later Sony replied the fault was due to interference from my home wifi device, and Sony suggested I shift my subwoofer to different locations in my home to identify the best placement. I found the reply ridiculous because almost all household are equipped with wifi devices nowadays, and being a set that is in the market for less than 3 years old, the R&D of Sony should have anticipated this problem. Nevertheless I tried putting my subwoofer as far I could at a corner of the living room, and for this one week, the “pop” sound issue did not surface, and I hope to keep it this way. Apart from the “pop” issue, the ST5000 is actually a superb soundbar with powerful bass and clear midrange audio. I mostly listen to vocal music and I was amazed how engaging the sound is by playing music contents from YouTube. I was using the manual settings to set the distance between the soundbar and subwoofer to my sofa for optimal listening experience, and I am quite satisfied with the performance. I would recommend if you do not have the luxury or space of adding a surround speakers at the back of your sitting position. If there are no wifi interference issues, then this would be one of the best soundbar to get,m.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The Sound is Awesome

HTST5000 03 July 2019 by BenDiesel (USA)

This is the sound that I was looking for this is great with my Projector or my television from Sony I am extremely pleased with my decision at first I was skeptical because it was expensive but I am glad I purchased two of these

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Looks good and feel good

HT-ST5000//MSP1 28 June 2019 by LauTer (Singapore)

I tried a few different brands with about the same price range and finally decided on Sony as it looks pleasing aesthetically and sound quality is very good too.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Surround Sound without tear channels.

HTST5000 19 June 2019 by Tator78 (USA)

Clear and loud when it is wanted. Night mode is good for when the kids are in bed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Excellent Sound

HT-ST5000 08 June 2019 by Oyodin (United Kingdom)

This soundbar has excellent sound and clarity but let down by not being able to add rear Sony speakers which it desperately needs when cheaper soundbars in the Sony range can! I did not realise this at the time of purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

19

3

0

Could have, should have, would have!

HT-ST5000 23 May 2019 by LDDC7080 (United Kingdom)

I have owned my sound bar for nearly 2 years. I jumped onto the band wagon of wanting this 3d sound or atmos as its called. from my point of view getting the effect to stand out is difficult and i needed to boost the top firing speakers upto maximum level to hear it. a positive of the soundbar however is the dialogue. my experience of surround sound systems has always been that the dialogue can be washed away by the effects coming from the Front and back stereo speakers. not in this case. the clarity of the voices are very clear there is also an option to boost it like the top firing speakers. the effects can be a little bit underwhelming, but this is a soundbar and its never going to portray something behind you without a speaker there. The sub unit is very impressive(when it works) the unit has 2 drivers in the cabinet a forward facing speaker 8" i think and a oval shaped down facing one. the bass is room shaking if you wish and very powerful. one tip i have found from owning the soundbar and if you can i would advise you to do the same is to have the unit at your eye level and obviously the TV above it. it makes the sound feel much wider because the unit is over 1m wide getting something to put it on may be a challenge, but i used my dining room sideboard which was of the right height and wide enough to fit the unit on. it really makes a difference. The last point is no option of rear speakers! Sony now sell a unit that is capable of this, why do they not make a software fix so that users of the HT-ST5000 can also add the option rear speakers? a shame if you ask me. If i had my time again i think i would have taken my £1500 and purchased a group of separates but only hindsight is twenty-twenty

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

16

0

0

WOW DISSAPOINTED

HT-ST5000 07 May 2019 by Roygjr (USA)

PURCHASED THIS SOUND BAR TO REPLACE A TRADITIONAL HOME THEATER SYSTEM. BASED ON PUBLISHED INFO AND THE PROMISE OF IMMERSIVE ATMOS EXPERIENCE I WAS EXCITED TO ADD THIS TO MY HOME. IAM TOTALLY DISSAPOINTED IN THE LACK OF THEATHER SOUND, SURROUND SOUND EFFECT, OR SO CALLED DOLBY ATMOS EXPERIENCE. BASICALLY THIS IS A REALLY NICE EXTERNAL SPEAKER...…..DOES NOT PERFORM AS ADVERTISED. PROMISES MADE BY SONY AND THE RETAILER JUST DONT LIVE UP TO THE HYPE. HONESTLY FEEL MISLEAD BY WHAT THIS CAN DO. FOR THE COST I TRUELY EXPECTED MORE! DISSATIFIED TO SAY THE LEAST.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

7

0

0

Awesome Sound Bar! Great features

HTST5000 28 April 2019 by Wolfman Jack (USA)

Bought this a month ago and I’m so happy with the purchase. I can now game/hear movies/ hear music to my Bose Q35 Blue tooth headphones via the sound bar...I live in an apartment and can now truly enjoy all types of media quietly without bothering others around me. Sound is beautiful and sound thru the sound bar is amazing. Great Purchase and highly recommend

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great Soundbar

HT-ST5000//MSP1 28 April 2019  (Singapore)

Great Sound,get hot if use after 1 hour, turns on and off the system is slow,I hope next firmware update auto sound,wireless surround to add rear surround speakers like ZR5

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Video upscaling, non existent Dolby ATMOS

HT-ST5000 24 April 2019 by Nickname Goes Here (United Kingdom)

The audio visual aspect of this speaker is very good - read other reviews for specifics. I want to point out however that the Dolby ATMOS from this sound bar is non existent. There is zero 3D sound and any claim that you will hear sounds above you (bouncing off the ceiling) is pure marketing. The rest of what is provided in this package is very good - I have no regrets purchasing it, I just wish I'd know how effective the ATMOS was before buying as I would have opted for a multi speaker option instead.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

6

0

Best soundbar(incomplete) with missing rear!!

HT-ST5000 17 April 2019 by Tauhid (USA)

I have been using this over 2 months. I am very please with the quality when it plays Music. I bought a Dolby Atmos soundbar to watch movies and have immersive experience. Without the rear speakers, it seems to be missing, incomplete. While watching a movie, there are so many times I would feel for a need of rear speakers. I would have given these 5 starts with the rear wireless speakers. It's an expensive soundbar, I would have expected more or it to be complete.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

0

0

Has Sound Issues

HT-ST5000 14 April 2019 by Jimmer001 (United Kingdom)

I bought this December 2018 and it is fantastic sounding soundbar.........but and this has to be software related it will not play DTS or DTX sound without part through a film just randomly start playing a very loud continuous tone. Unfortunately this means half my 4k bluray collection is unplayable i have tried factory resets as recommended by the Sony Community but nothing works...frustrating for such a high priced product i have seen others on YouTube and here with the same issue so it's not just me.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

6

0

Unhappy

HTST5000 04 April 2019 by upset32 (USA)

Left speaker bad after a few months horrible solution to repair.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

2

0

Great soundbar sad remote

HT-ST5000 29 March 2019 by RI Mike (USA)

First I want to say I have only had the bar a couple days. The sound is amazing and I can't wait to keep playing with it and dialing it in. BUT IR Remote. Serious? Even my cable box isn't IR anymore

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A Well Thought Out Product!

HT-ST5000//MSP1 26 March 2019 by SeismicVerse10 (Singapore)

I am not a big fan when it comes to sound bars. After listening to several premium and not so premium soundbars, I think Sony has managed to pull it off with HT-ST5000. Depending on the content and soundbar placement where your tv should not block your up firing atmos speakers, the frontal atmos effect is convincing, exciting at times. Ready Player One, the chapter 2 race scene is a great example of this! Front speaker effects are clear and detailed! Sheer Seismic power of the subwoofer, not a boombox though, articulates precisely to the requirement of the sound recording. Very agile and versatile indeed. Having said that, future iterations could improve the mid range bass of the coaxial drivers and add 4 or 5 hdmi inputs. There is still room for improvement in the TV audio and musical stereo. Dialogue and vocal should sound louder where I feel is a little to the soft side even though u can increase 2 notches up. Options to tune left, centre and right speakers would be wonderful! I would definitely welcome the addition of treble/bass tuning options in the next firmware update which I hope happens soon with the option to add rear atmos/normal surround speakers just like the Sony Z9F. The last missing piece/link to this already fantastic product is definitely the option to add rear channels which I believe Sony will be able to do so very soon. This soundbar is the perfect solution for home theater enthusiasts who just dun have the space or room size for a dedicated full range discrete Atmos or DTS X system for now.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

0

HT-ST5000. Needs Rear Speakers

HT-ST5000 11 March 2019 by not applicable2 (USA)

I purchased HT-ST5000 a month ago. The front speakers are heads and shoulders in power above the BOSE 300 and lifestyle 650 which I replaced. The setup was very easy (almost plug and play) compared to the effort to get BOSE to work. Love the HT-ST5000 bluetooth transmitter for my BOSE head set. No need for an external transmitter anymore The Atmos/DTS seems to be just a lot of hype, not effective. The HT-ST5000 requires rear speakers to make it an excellent system. Was hard pressed to give a four star (good) rating without the rear speakers, but the sound coming out of the HT-ST5000, base module, and features are very good. Rear speakers would make HT-ST5000 excellent to exceptional. Sony get on it and please provide rear speakers.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

36

1

0

Has Issues

HT-ST5000 10 March 2019 by Tk426 (United Kingdom)

It’s a bit of a beast and when I got it I was impressed off the bat, it feels the room with a great immersive sound. The wireless sub was easy to setup and had been a solid performer. Sadly my disappointment started when the unit started emitting a high pitch sound randomly when watching movies, in the example attached 40mins into LoTR this happened, it’s not just this film and always at different times. I’ve replaced cables and my Blu-ray player. Now I dread having anyone over to watch a film

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

5

0

Top sound bar

HT-ST5000 01 March 2019 by nirrom (United Kingdom)

I bought this soundbar after reading reviews about it and i must say that it is every bit as good as reviews suggest. The only downside is the price is very expensive but if you can afford it buy with confidance

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Good product

HT-ST5000 01 March 2019 by Pete3460 (United Kingdom)

Bought this item 2 weeks ago. For the price, i am not impressed

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

6