295

3.8 based on 295 customer reviews

123
81
35
25
31
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Needs rear speakers

HT-ST5000 20 January 2018 by Fordster (USA)

I bought this in December and the sound is great is you crank it up . Need rear speakers to get the full surround sound . I hope they come up with a fix because the sound bar was not cheap and I would like to buy rear Sony speakers for it..

113

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

PLEASE PUSH A FIRMWARE UPDATE FOR REAR SPEAKERS

HT-ST5000 30 March 2018 by MJConte (USA)

I’ve read every single review on this page and 95 % of owners are begging, pleading for the same thing-REAR SPEAKER SUPPORT!!! Why aren’t you listening to your customers Sony? Giving us the same canned answer over and over “We’ll pass this along....we take your input seriously, etc., etc. is meaningless. Actions speak louder than words Sony. Push a firmware update and make this sound bar truly top of the line. Why wouldn’t you want to sell more surround speakers to pair with this sound bar?? Even if you don’t care about your customers, you have to care about revenue.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

86

0

295 Customer Reviews

0

Works great

HTST5000 24 July 2021 by ccwyland (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been using it for almost a year now. Works great and Im very pleased!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sounds great

HTST5000 22 July 2021 by Andy1947 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my 3rd soundbar and I was looking for something that sounded great and you could hear the voices on the tv. This fits the bill. Plenty of inputs, well made, it’s the old story you get what you pay for.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Featured

HT-ST5000//MSP1 18 July 2021 by Climte (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought less than a month. Unfortunately, not able to support or add in surround sound speakers

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

LEMON!

HTST5000 12 July 2021 by Eircheard (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this product less than a year ago and now it is unusable. Whenever someone talks there is a static backing note. It will randomly cut sound for a few seconds. I've adjusted setting, changed cables and inputs, even tried a different tv (which shouldn't be an issue because I'm using a Sony x900).

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great product

HTST5000 10 July 2021 by Thomastheman1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Loving the audio and well built design magnetic cover

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Product

HTST5000 30 June 2021  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this at November 1st 2020, I love this product I recommended!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Second unit subwoofer crackles

HTST5000 30 May 2021 by PeterO1982 (USA)

Purchased two. Both units the subwoofer crackles. Seems to be a known issue but have been waiting over a year for a software update.. Take a pass on this one. I bought the most expensive thinking it would be the best. Big mistake.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Need rear speakers ability!! PLEASE!!

HTST5000 29 May 2021 by FauxFancies (USA)

For what these cost, there needs to be rear speakers possibilities! This is nuts! It will make Sony even more money - PLEASE!! If I have an STR-DN1080, can I add rear speakers??

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

8

0

0

Amazing sound quality

HT-ST5000 26 May 2021 by Sound_Alchemist (United Kingdom)

This is a serious piece of kit! If you value versatility, rich dynamic sound, and a bass so powerful that it makes the whole building shake, then this is definitely a worthwhile investment. Connects wirelessly to the TV, phone, tablet and computer. It conveniently replaces the need for a hifi and if you have access to online film streaming services, then you will never want to go to the cinema again. I’m extremely pleased with the quality of this sound system and would thoroughly recommend it, although if you have any neighbours, I'm not sure they would agree!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Great features, ok sound, disappointing lifespan

HTST5000 19 May 2021 by Nemo904 (USA)

Purchased the flagship of Sony soundbars in January 2018 and for 3 years I was very happy with it until suddenly it stopped working. It would still transmit sound but that is about it. It would take a very long time to power up and to shut down and I could not access the menu with the remote. Hard reset didn't work and the firmware cannot be updated. So I am left with a fairly expensive piece of equipment from Sony that gave me 3 years of service. Very disappointed with this soundbar.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sony Sound bar

HT-ST5000//MSP1 23 April 2021 by Sony 8 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a month and few weeks ago. It sound great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Main board failed several times

HTST5000 21 April 2021 by Meryl24 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Returned it twice while under warranty for repair and now same part failed after a few months of getty a new main board installed Very very very unhappy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Sounds good. Rear speakers?

HT-ST5000 18 April 2021 by JimS619 (USA)

I like this bar. I like sony products. It's paired with my 75 in. 900h. However need rear speaker support. I assumed since the Z9 had ability to add rear speakers. The ST5000 would. NOPE! You guys need to figure this out. Jim

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Great Sound

HTST5000 06 April 2021 by Mike1950 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought two additional rear speakers to use with this system for room filling surround sound! My only critique is the control buttons on the top of the unit. If mounted on an “ under TV mount it is impossible to access them. Sony would do well to add them to the front behind the magnetic speaker cover

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Best Sound Bar Ever@

HTST5000 04 April 2021 by VideoClarity (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I decided to take the plunge and spend more and get the best. I couldn't be happier. So easy to setup and use. Best sound in the world. I've been using many surround sound products for 20 years and nothing compares to this!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great when it works

HT-ST5000 04 April 2021 by Dave85711 (USA)

Bought this a little over a year ago and sound was great. Now having issues with the sound bar taking about five minutes to power on with annoying video and audio coming on and off with neither one staying on for more than 10 seconds. Have a premium Sony tv and Bravia won’t sync with the sound bar. Disappointed would be N understatement.

Design

Fair

0

0

0

I love it but...

HT-ST5000 13 March 2021 by Serge128 (USA)

When will you update software to add wireless speakers????

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Excellent sound!

HTST5000 07 March 2021 by Curtis2233 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this soundbar at my local Best Buy. I am pleased with the sound and the features. It still has most features you need today and the 3 HDMI inputs are greatly appreciated. The bass is powerful and I found the best response was during music playback. I played several movies and the sound is awesome. I do have one huge request.....****REAR SPEAKERS**** Please Sony provide an update to make it compatible with your SAZ9R rear speaker PLEEAAASE! The system sounds great, but this move would make it even better with your own rear speakers. Anxiously awaiting, and ready to spend!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Fabulous!

HT-ST5000 21 February 2021 by HalsM5 (United Kingdom)

I bought this as a birthday present to myself and I am very, very happy that I did! It makes you feel as though you're in the cinema, it's a fantastic system that I'd thoroughly recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

AN EXCEPTIONAL SWITCHING HUB FOR AV SYSTEMS

HT-ST5000 10 February 2021 by FDW1 (USA)

My review of the Sony HT-ST 5000 is somewhat different because I have a surround sound system as well as a sound bar to use for routine TV activity. Having two audio systems in one AV pathway is always a challenge but using the HT-ST 5000 as an ARC enabled hub greatly simplifies its setup. The HT-ST 5000 is an outstanding and versatile sound bar that outperforms most other high end sound bars. Construction is the best I have seen and there is no plastic or fabric in sight. The high frequency detail and response are excellent and the sound stage can be modified in numerous ways to satisfy most listeners. The subwoofer is well-integrated with the audio response of the sound bar. However because it has a limited low frequency response, its audio output is overly directional and thus it should be placed as near to the sound bar as practical. Overall the low frequency response of the system is good but it could be improved. The following will be of interest mainly to those who have an AV surround sound system but who also want a sound bar for general use. Simply said, the HT-ST 5000 acts as an audio switcher and will automatically turn off its audio when a surround system is active. The HT-ST 5000 is an HDMI ARC enabled hub for all ARC enabled components in the AV system. It can also process non ARC components such as a satellite or cable receiver. With ARC enabled surround sound components, audio is output only by the AVR even if the sound bar stays on. When the AVR is powered off, audio switches to the sound bar. In surround mode the sound bar can be powered off but to allow continued video pass through, its HDMI setting must be at 'Standby Through - On'. Using a non ARC satellite receiver in surround mode, audio is then output at the same time from both the AVR and the sound bar and thus the sound bar must be powered off. Sony has not promoted these important capabilities but audio switching and video pass through are very useful sound bar features in an integrated AV system.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Popping noise

HT-ST5000 22 January 2021 by Ben in CO (USA)

I have seen in a few reviews issues with a popping noise coming from the sounbar. This started last week (purchased the soundbar less than 6 months ago) and is very annoying. Did anyone resolve their problem following Sony troubleshooting (unplugging devices and plugging back in or changing cables), or is this manufacturing issue and the unit needs to be replaced?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Great immersive sound... but

HT-ST5000 10 January 2021 by Andrestarz (USA)

Let me start off by saying this sound bar is an absolute beast when it comes to immersive content. It does a great job with projecting sound around you. The subwoofer is also very deep, and loud! My only complaint when it comes to this sound bar, is the center channel. I don't know if its the DSP but I feel like the treble is muddy. I don't blast this bar that loud so I know none of the tweeters are blown. But overall I really like it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Immersive Sounds !

HT-ST5000 07 January 2021 by RS1980 (USA)

Brought HT-ST5000 in 12/2020 and is connected to, 65X900F (brought 12/2019) and Apple TV 4K (brought 12/2020). Initially had 4K connection issues, Sony online chat helped me resolve issues, Apple TV 4K to HT-ST5000 to TV on HDMI enhanced and HDMI ARC ( enhanced ).  Rest of the connection is easy and uses 4K HDMI cables. Real plus is the settings for adjusting the height and distance, since I have a 2 floor high ceiling and the added benefit of increasing/decreasing the db adjustments. The sound from the sound-bar is excellent, clear and provides good bass. As many pointed out it would be really nice if it can be paired to 2 Hi-Res Atmos compatible rear surround speakers to get the full theater effects. Since this is my first premium Hi-Res sound system apart from couple of high quality noise cancelling headphones, this system stands out for the same music/cinema sounds, it definitively envelopes oneself with sounds even with high ceilings and is now compelling me to try/compare WH-1000XM3/XM4 or HIFIMan 360 degree immersive sound. Also it would be great if the display reads out Atmos/DTS content passed through Apple 4K TV. TV remote can be used to control all devices and works seamlessly. MOST IMPORTANTLY it is a must now that SONY should provide a few demo's with this Soundbar and also for TV's so that most of us can confirm the experience that we get at stores at home as well. Demo's online are not always high quality. Overall, so far it has been living up to expectations, a little pricer, and will come back again to update long term performance, hence 4 out of 5.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Immersive Sound

HTST5000 05 January 2021 by RS1980 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought HT-ST5000 in 12/2020 and is connected to, 65X900F (brought 12/2019) and Apple TV 4K (brought 12/2020). Initially had 4K connection issues, Sony online chat helped me resolve issues, Apple TV 4K to HT-ST5000 to TV on HDMI enhanced and HDMI ARC ( enhanced ).  Rest of the connection is easy and uses 4K HDMI cables. Real plus is the settings for adjusting the height and distance, since I have a 2 floor high ceiling and the added benefit of increasing/decreasing the db adjustments. The sound from the sound-bar is excellent, clear and provides good bass. As many pointed out it would be really nice if it can be paired to 2 Hi-Res Atmos compatible rear surround speakers to get the full theater effects. Since this is my first premium Hi-Res sound system apart from couple of high quality noise cancelling headphones, this system stands out for the same music/cinema sounds, it definitively envelopes oneself with sounds even with high ceilings and is now compelling me to try/compare WH-1000XM3/XM4 or HIFIMan 360 degree immersive sound. Also it would be great if the display reads out Atmos/DTS content passed through Apple 4K TV. TV remote can be used to control all devices and works seamlessly. MOST IMPORTANTLY it is a must now that SONY should provide a few demo's with this Soundbar and also for TV's so that most of us can confirm the experience that we get at stores at home as well. Demo's on The 4K Media Group on youtube are not always high quality, however i assume their downloads are true 4K (4kmedia.org). Overall, so far it has been living up to expectations, a little pricer, and will come back again to update long term performance, hence 4 out of 5.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

HT-ST5000 Sound Bar

HT-ST5000//MSP1 02 January 2021 by AMSCHUA (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this sound bar 3 weeks ago, after using it for 2 weeks, the performance is just average as sound quality & effects is just slightly better than the TV speaker. Dolby Atmos effects cannot really be felt as recommend Sony to include a pair of back surround speakers to improve sound performance.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

made great

HTST5000 30 December 2020 by jrd2021 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

sony ht-st5000 7.1.2 has the best sound. sub-woofer it built better than any other on the market.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Solid sound with great bass

HTST5000 27 December 2020 by Tronkel (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I replaced my Receiver/Floor Speaker/Center Speaker combination with this soundbar and I am not disappointed. The sound quality for movies are great. The only downside is that for a regular over the air news type channels, the sound is mediocre. I believe it depends on the input quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great song bar

HT-ST5000//MSP1 26 December 2020 by Lim1959 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy with this product and it audio quality.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I really enjoy this Dolby Atmos Soundbar.

HT-ST5000 23 December 2020 by Techy Steve (USA)

It would aid me if there was a Dolby Atmos Sony video available I could use as a benchmark for testing my home setup. It's difficult for me to troubleshoot home audio/video/app/cables/streamer issues without a certified benchmark. My HDMI cables are solid colors with fainted tech specs. I use Belkin 48Gbps passive hdmis, Sony included cables and amazon 3rd party cables that are very eye appealing "snappy white color". Some cables lag under stress and some lack support for 120mhz refresh rate. My wifi router supports WPA3. I'm looking forward to testing Dolby AC4 codex in the future. Awesome soundbar and georgeous sound. (Thumbs up emoji) (θ‿θ)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Excitedly Mine !!

HT-ST5000//MSP1 09 December 2020 by Jasontan288 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have been searching for a perfect sound bar to replace my AV system, with the right number of I/O, and the latest media connectivity technology so that I can enjoy audio sound and movies at the comfort of my home. Well done Sony. Thank you Sony !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great sound... with bit of issues

HT-ST5000 08 December 2020 by J_Eclipse (USA)

I connected this soundbar to Sony Z8H eArc input/output with a $100 HDMI cable. Music that I stream through android phone or Sony Walkman through bluetooth sounds excellent. It's also connected with Sony X800M2 4K player, and no issues there also. The big issue is the sound cutting/skipping while viewing streaming movies through TV apps, including Disney+ and Amazon Prime. After trying different configurations, the only way to minimize...or (almost) prevent the frequent sound cutting was to disable the DHEE HX and Soundfield features. I'm happy to change the rating to 4 if Sony can patch/rectify the sound cutting issues via update. 5 if they allow adding the dedicated rear speakers. The subwoofer is already wireless; why not allow 2 small rear wireless speakers?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Great when it works!

HT-ST5000 07 December 2020 by Tilly Tilly (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am now on my second unit in the space of a month. Really unsure when I bought but Sony assured me these were old reviews and the model has been updated a lot since (these were 2018 reviews mainly). Ensured firmware was up to date but the first sound bar was replaced within a fortnight as started making high pitched noise and no other sound. Just called retailer again this morning to say replacement unit has started doing the same! Otherwise, it's amazing what can come out of a sound bar these days but would not describe it as a fully Atmos unit as it lacks real overhead wow factor.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

1

0

Excellent build quality

HTST5000 07 December 2020 by mdechgan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very solid build quality. Enclosures are heavy, built with thick heavy wood. Subwoofer booms, plenty of bass for a large living room. The setup and compatibility is quick and seemless. Only flaw is lack of rear speakers. Very difficult to get the surround sound immersion compared to other systems with rear surrounds.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great when working

HT-ST5000 06 December 2020 by jsohn (USA)

I purchased this soundbar a few weeks ago and was immediately impressed by the powerful sound, especially with the subwoofer. Unfortunately, within a few days I started experiencing issues while watching something where the sound would cut off and I would only hear a high pitched tone from the speaker. The only way to fix it seems to be to completely turn off the soundbar and restart it. I already updated to the latest firmware, but this issue happens at minimum once a day. I'm not sure if I'll be able to keep this product unless this issue gets resolved.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Needs rear speakers

HT-ST5000 03 December 2020 by Rod G (USA)

This soundbar is GREAT. Sound, clarity, bass, effects, all that you can ask for is there. I’ve been told several times that a rear speaker update will be available soon. At the end of the day, you CAN NOT cheat physics. Sound coming from behind you will always be more clear when it is physically there. Sony HTZ9F is much better buy, if you are looking for rear sound GUARANTEED!!! Otherwise, the HT5000 can be the best soundbar in the business.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Good bass , poor atmos

HT-ST5000 03 December 2020 by Chevis (USA)

For what I paid i was expecting a good atmos experience which I haven't. I've had it for over a user and adjusted all the height and distance settings and still get no atmos effect. And yes im going through E-Arc with chocolate 4k hdmi. I am getting dolby atmos when I'm watching movies. As it pops up on display if your connected right which i do like. But Can someone please help with there calibration settings if you have any success with atmos.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

So disappointed! Needs rear speakers!

HT-ST5000 27 November 2020 by Ziner (USA)

I purchased the Sony’s 85” Bravia X950H and wanted to pair with a good Sony audio setup. The lack of rear speakers in this setup is laughable. You should 100% be able to purchase additional speakers to add onto the setup and give you that full 9.1.4 experience you expect from one of the best TVs Sony has to offer. It’s such a huge miss on Sony’s part.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Sony needs rear speakers for this sound bar set up

HT-ST5000 26 November 2020 by Not hally (USA)

I’ve had this sound bar and sub for 1 year. It would be great IF Sony would come out with compatible rear speakers. The 3d advertised sound just isn’t there without rear speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

I'd give more than 5 stars if I could

HT-ST5000 24 November 2020 by RB238 (USA)

I don't understand how anyone can not like this. The sound output is amazing with the sub and way better than the Bose sound bar that I got before this. It's a little bulkier than the Bose but you get 7.1 versus 3.1 and the sound is excellent. Highly recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

A Little Disappointing at Price Point

HT-ST5000 20 November 2020 by Yabadabadoo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had for a few months. Nicely designed & certainly improves on any tv speakers. However the upfiring Atmos effect is not noticeable & I wish I had gone for a proper surround sound system with wireless rear speakers. I am sure that for this money I could have bought a very good quality 5.1 system (I was probably too swayed by reviews which I should have avoided). Build quality is excellent, as it should be at nudging £1k and it certainly looks the part. One particularly frustrating feature is having to scroll through all the sound modes to get to the required one rather than just being able to 'one click' select it. In hindsight I shouldn't have spent this sort of money on a 2.1 system.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

8

1

0

Not perfect, But darn good

HTST5000 08 November 2020 by cadmiumeye (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Several things bug me about the product. I wish there was an LED on it to let you know it was on or off. I wish the remote had input selections without having to turn on the TV to select the input desired . I wish there were wireless back speakers you could add on for surround. I wish there was an analog connection that was easy to access for connecting portable devices. I love the punchy base movies and music sound great. The sound is crisp and clear at maximum setting.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Sound cuts out and pops

HTST5000 18 October 2020 by Sonny68 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this sound bar 3 months ago and after a short period of time we heard popping noises. The sound bar is connected to a Sony 75" 950H 4K TV. At first we thought it may have had to do with streaming content (e.g. Netflix), however, the popping sound started occurring while watching TV (Fios) as well. Also, for at least the last month, every morning after watching about an hour of TV the sound just cuts off. To resolve both issues, we turn off the TV and sound bar then turn them back on and the problem goes away. We tried unplugging the TV and sound bar from the wall, but that didn't help with the popping or the sound cutting off. Very disappointed, I've never had a problem with a Sony device until now. Having said all that, when its not popping or cutting off, the sound is great. We listen to Pandora, watch sports, stream movies, the sound bar fills the room. The TV and sound bar are connected via eARC. We purchased new 4K TV HDMI cables at the same time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

disappointing surround performance

HT-ST5000 04 October 2020 by Tim86 (USA)

The sound bar has disappointing surround and atmos performance. When will an update for rear surround speakers be done?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

0

Sony HT-ST5000

HT-ST5000//MSP1 26 September 2020 by Weizh (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall the sound quality is good and acceptable. However, you will need to turn it up to very high volume to be enveloped with the sound. For movies, the sound are quite messy it is quite hard to graps the detail. However, the bass and the woofer are solid. Verdict, the soundbar cannot stand side by side an AV Receiver, but it surely enjoyable if you don't mind detail.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Very easy to use

HT-ST5000 25 September 2020 by Faz mulla (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the product and good quality sound would recommend it to friends and family

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

5

0

Begging for rear speakers

HT-ST5000 24 September 2020 by Niebs (USA)

I love my Sony Sound bar the sound is amazing but it lacks rear speakers and I feel it could be fixed with a update. Anyways I hope you guys add the option soon!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

0

0

Need Rear speakers

HT-ST5000 03 September 2020 by klan_WI (USA)

I got this set to be compatible with my new Sony 900H TV. The sound quality is good but can be better if we can get the rear speakers - SA-Z9R connected, Actually i also bought them too, but then saw the reviews that it cannot connect with them. :( Can Sony provide an firmware update to get that fixed, it would be the best thing ever Hoping to hear a positive reply from Sony

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

19

1

0

great sound but needs rear speakers update

HT-ST5000 01 September 2020 by makavely56 (USA)

Im happy wuth sound quality and some features . i also very unhappy that i cant use rear speakers for . hoping sony does make an update soon

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

20

0

0

Connectivity Issues

HT-ST5000 22 August 2020 by James27540 (USA)

Everything installed by the pros at Best Buy’s Magnolia. Included the 85” Sony tv and I constantly have connectivity issues in which the sound at will not connect and play the sounds from TV. For $6500 between the two components I sure would expect a better experience. Done with Sony for life.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

0

0

Worked great for about a year, then stopped.

HT-ST5000 18 August 2020 by Pascal2000 (USA)

I bought this expensive unit, top of the line from Best Buy. Worked fantastic for about 9 months, then all the sudden, the TV sound would not come out, blue tooth would not pair up, and if it did no sound came out. I was unable to access any menus, the unit didn't perform commands and I was not able to use it again.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

1

0

Great when working

HT-ST5000 08 August 2020 by MilesC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about 2 months ago to pair with a new 77” Sony Oled, which is comfortably the best TV I have ever seen. The sound bar has had an intermittent fault of clicking and powering off. I need to get it replaced, when working it is a special experience. Looking forward to swapping for one that works all the time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

8

9

0

Great stuff !

HT-ST5000 18 July 2020 by meszizsolt82 (United Kingdom)

Absolutely love it, fall in love with first time ! Amnazing sound, "Sony Quality" like every Sony product !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

8

0

HT-ST5000 - Sound was not as good as it is said

HT-ST5000//MSP1 15 July 2020 by Francis Neo (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product a month ago from Courts after comparing it with the Samsung HW-Q90R. All Youtube review puts both product on par and I choose to buy this HT-ST5000 unit as I also have the HT-Z9F sitting in my living room. The sound was a massive disappointment; even at volume 40 (out of a maximum of 50), it sounded so soft, voice not really clear (even up 2 with voice feature), background sound like door closing, background music really soft . The same movie watch over the HT-Z9F at volume of 30 sounds much better. I don't know what is wrong with this unit really. Maybe it has defects but I do not know but it is definitely a major disappointment. I probably will not buy anymore soundbar from Sony based on this experience. If Sony is really keen to understand my feelings, perhaps a call to me will help.

0

3

0

The Perfect Sony Soundbar System

HT-ST5000 14 July 2020 by Prophete1 (USA)

The 7.1.2ch Dolby Atmos/DTS:X TM Soundbar with Wi-Fi/Bluetooth Technology HT-ST5000 is one of the best soundbar speakers I have ever purchased, it even supports 4k devices. The soundbar is sibilant, rich, and has a modern look that compliments any room. There are many sound effect options to select from based on your entertainment activity and it is very easy to make a selection, such as music, movies, Clearaudio+, 3D surround, Sports, etc.. I love the input options, such as wireless, I can play music from my phone and any of computers/Laptops that are connected to my home network. I am able to listen to music with the USB option, the Bluetooth option, and the HDMI eArC, all work great. Listening to the same music was a very attractive feature for me. Listening to sound by pairing with headphones and sound effects made this a great buy. The 7.1.2ch Dolby Atmos/DTS:X TM Soundbar with Wi-Fi/Bluetooth technology HT-ST5000 is an impressive soundbar, to say the least. The size and weight are perfect for its location in my home. It is sleek in design and goes well in the living room or any room for that matter. As for functionality, the sound effects option allows you to make a selection based on your desired entertainment I.e. movies, music, sports, etc. More importantly, the sound is vibrant and rich. There is no distortion at all, even at its highest level. Overall, this appears to be one of the best soundbars on the market right now. It is a purchase I am more than satisfied with.

1

3

0

Great

HT-ST5000 14 July 2020 by AQ8591 (USA)

Easy to set amazing sound no mater the source slim design

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Transformed the sound and fixed sync issues

HT-ST5000 12 July 2020 by warobbo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a replacement for 2 previous Sonos soundbars as neither of them would play without creating lip sync issues with the lg tv. The Sony fixed all that, we now not only have perfect sync but the most amazing sound. This thing really comes into play when watching movies when it does actually feel like your at the movies. The only negative is the menu and operating system should be moved to an app like Sonos it seems such an antiquated way of having to go into menus to change settings.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

3

0

Not Happy

HT-ST5000 30 June 2020 by myles1962 (USA)

Product has trouble syncing with the TV Also Sony, Does not play loud enough.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

2

2

0

Great Sounding Soundbar

HT-ST5000 24 June 2020 by mystermo31 (USA)

Sony HT-ST5000 sound bar creates fantastic sound for both movies and music. By default though, it is configured for people who love weighty bass; which is bit too heavy to my taste. I had to spend some time to tune it to my liking, and good news is that it is very easy to achieve that. While the soundbar has impressive set of features, my favorites are following: 1. Sound quality; very crispy voice and fine detail of instruments during music listening. 2. Impressive Dolby Atmos surround while movie playback 3. Hi-Res audio playback works great with my 24-bit music collections. And it works flawlessly with my NAS music storage (Synology). 4. Seamless integration with Spotify and Google Chromcast music service 5. Great input options: 3 HDMI inputs, 1 ARC HDMI out, optical Toslink, and 3.5mm audio jack While HT-ST5000 is impressive audio device, I have few minor nitpicks: 1. Outdated remote control; I am not particularly use it much, but could be nicer. 2. Would love to have additional wireless rear speaker option, but does not exist.

7

2

0

the best in surround sound!!!

HT-ST5000 24 June 2020 by denisealexandra (USA)

Audio quality: First of all, I'd say it's one of the best you've heard to date, the quality of the sharpness is maintained even if you turn the volume up to maximum, no detail of the song is lost, the clarity of each one of them tones and chords, its high frequency bass makes it more powerful as it brings strength and life to the song and creates surround sound throughout the room with its sound. Great definition in the mids and captures that make it fit perfectly into the sound. Design: The design is quite simple but very modern and one of the best things that this equipment has is the ease of connection since it does not need cables, which makes it fantastic just connect it and connect it, in our case via Bluetooth for the phone And that's it, the bass is quite big but with an elegant design and the bar has a casing that you can place if you want to give it a more aesthetic touch, we did not put it because we liked how it looks without it, in terms of connectivity, I can tell you that it has everything you need to connect on all your favorite platforms from one place, it has a simple design remote but it has everything you need to adjust your sound bar from the comfort of your bed or sofa, so I can say without a doubt that it is one of the best sounds that I have tried so far and that will certainly leave you satisfied and happy with this investment, since your whole family will be able to enjoy the sound quality surround either watching a movie or playing a video game

0

1

0

Excellent bass, almost perfect sound

HT-ST5000 24 June 2020 by Freeman504 (USA)

This soundbar produces some amazing sound. The install was quick and easy to complete. Simply, connect the HDMI into the ARC input and you're ready to go. I was very much surprised by the power of the subwoofer. Many times I could feel the vibration from the subwoofer going through the floor. This brings a lot of movies to life when watching. The controls are easy to use especially with the remote. Music sounds great as well when connected through Bluetooth. The sound from the soundbar itself was great but not always perfect. There were a quite a few times I had to keep adjusting it while watching programs because the voices would become too low to hear compared to the other sounds. However, when I did get it right, I was impressed with the quality. The manual suggested using Clear Audio+, the voice button on the remote and Night mode. These settings help make vocals more clear when watching different programs. I would strongly recommend using them. It made quite a difference for me. This improved the sound on all the things I watched as well as gaming. The soundbar is pretty big but doesn't obstruct the view of my television. Mounting it might be a great option for some though. Google home compatibility is here and well as works seamlessly. Overall, I love the quality of sound I get from this soundbar and would recommend it for those who have the budget.

0

1

0

Like in the theater

HT-ST5000 24 June 2020 by davidyu7777 (USA)

This is a new level of the cinematic audio soundbar. First, the setting up process is straightforward. I just need to connect HDMI to the TV audio out to optical in on my soundbar. Second, the small Sony ST5000 800W Soundbar with the wireless subwoofer provides a three-dimensional surround sound that transfers my living room into a movie theater, especially the Dolby Atmos technology delivers 360 degrees sound effect. Besides, the Sony soundbar has multiple connection ways, such as 3 of HDMI inputs, HDMI ARC, USB, aux, SPDIF, and the Bluetooth. So, I can easily connect my Samsung S9 cellphone to play my Spotify, or I can connect my MacBook to watch movies. Third, Sony ST5000 is built with Chromecast, so I can stream music and radio anytime to enjoy the rich, detail of Hi-Res audio. Impressive Sony ST5000 soundbar.

0

1

0

Please update firmware for Rear speakers

HT-ST5000 22 June 2020 by VirginiaT (USA)

I purchased the Sony H TST 5000 and over all the sound is very good however it needs the addition of rear speakers to balance it out with some of its competition. This is a deficiency with this speakers and please come up with a solution.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

14

0

0

Nothing special for the money and unreliable

HT-ST5000 21 June 2020 by Nigey (United Kingdom)

First one purchased had issue with subwoofer. Replacement would cut out part way through movies and be replaced by high pitched shrieking tone. Went in for repair and told that Sony no longer have the parts to repair it and don’t have any new ones to replace it with. Had to have refund in the end which I was happy about as disappointed with the sound for the money and clearly being discontinued. No overhead ATMOS effects I could hear so complete waste of time buying. I suspect the HT5000 is now at the end of its life. Let’s hope it’s replacement is a proper surround soundbar with rear speakers as people have asked for from the start.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

10

2

0

Amazing

HT-ST5000 15 June 2020 by ashley138 (USA)

I am very happy with this sound system. It gives an excellent surround sound effects. Movies are so much more fun with this sound system and it gives cinema like sound effects. Setup was simple and easy! It took around 10 minutes total to read the very detailed directions and set this up! The process was fast and easy! Sometimes, I feel sound is coming from the back and from sides. This is very highly recommended. I love all the functionality and how well it plays with my TV, 4K player and Google home. It is very easy to use and connect to the Google Home! It's nice that it connects and I am able to hear my Google Home through it! Overall, this is a wonderful product!

0

1

0

Disappointing. Over promised and under delivering

HT-ST5000 13 June 2020 by SimonD (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have been living with mine for a few months now as a replacement to a 5.1 system and I’ve been pretty disappointed overall. Sound is ok but not brilliant- quite muddy, even with voice enhanced. Atmos is not very convincing. Options for customising sound are pretty limited. The Music Center app is absolutely dreadful, and disappointing that it won’t connect with Alexa. Over promised and overpriced.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

8

2

0

Theater Quality in your home!

HT-ST5000 09 June 2020 by KharmenM (USA)

I was a tad bit nervous that I wouldn't love it because of the size of my living room, but let me say that I was wrong. The Sony HT-ST5000 Dolby Atmos® Sound Bar is perfect. In comparison to my normal tv audio its beyond amazing. My normal audio is flat and muffled taking away from the experience. The Sony ST5000 enhances the total sound. I makes you feel as if you are in the action. The purity of the sound makes listening to anything on any other device depressing. The sound bar comes with a wireless sub woofer so there's no worries about finding a compatible one. The multiple hmdi ports makes it easy to have all of your devices connected at the same time. And there's also a usb slot so connecting a drive directly is also an option. Bluetooth connectivity is great, I was able to connect my smart phone in seconds . I highly recommend the Sony HT-ST5000 Dolby Atmos® Sound Bar. It was a great buy!

2

0

0

Amazing Sound

HT-ST5000 09 June 2020 by Damato510 (USA)

The Sony ST5000 has amazing sound quality. I upgraded from a 5.1 full surround system to this sound bar. I was a little skeptical at first how I can get the same sound quality. Well I didn't get the same quality, the Sony ST5000 has superior sound quality. It was extremely easy to set up to my TV . Right out of the box it took me about 15 minutes to set up completely and start enjoying the amazing sound. The Box is very heavy and odd shaped and you need two people to lift it. Once out of the box the two main pieces are heavy but manageable by one person. The Sony ST5000 is very easy to use once set up. I did not put the removable grill on because I like the look of the speakers. I also connect my tablet and phone to play music via Bluetooth. The connection range is far and I don't have a problem staying connected. The quality of the sound is amazing via Bluetooth, better than I have experienced in the past with other devices. I highly recommend this sound bar to anyone looking for a high quality system.

0

0

0

Definitely needs rear speakers

HT-ST5000 04 June 2020 by Another Josh (USA)

The sound is great, clear and decent bass from the sub. However, with the 7.1.2, I thought it would have the ".2" and rear channel capability. It would be great is Sony presented an option so I could truly capture the depth of ATMOS.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

14

0

0

Great features

HT-ST5000 02 June 2020 by ExFederal1 (USA)

Lots of connections! Unfortunately, no real stereo, surround, or Atmos. Just loud. And after being on for 1 to 1 1/2 hours, starts distorting in certain frequencies. And no rear speakers. Sony doesn't seem to care about all the customers who have asked for them.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

8

0

0

Very nice sound quality

HT-ST5000 29 May 2020 by blondiemeg18 (USA)

This Sony sound bar is a very expensive sound bar because it provides very high quality sound. We were not disappointed (as we usually are not with Sony) at all after getting it all set up. Unlike other sound bars I have used this one makes it very easy to hear clearly in game chat and game cues while gaming. Great clear crisp sound during movies almost a surround sound quality without having to do the work of installing surround sound system. We love this sound bar and would highly recommend it to those who can afford and are wanting to upgrade to a better and simple to install sound system.

0

1

0

That’s coming out of the sound bar?!

HT-ST5000 29 May 2020 by Asserbassyouni (USA)

Let me start off by saying that before the ST5000 I had yet to try a sound bar that was as immersive and my traditional in ceiling surround sound. I have tried many different types 2.1, 4.1, 5.1. Some were ok just barely better then the TV speaker and others actually made the situation worse... each time I would just go back to my traditional set up and the sound bar would go to a secondary tv room. However the ST50000 blew me away both figuratively and literally (this thing has bass)! It was very easy to setup with clear onscreen instructions and a provided HDMI Arc cable in the box to connect right to your TV. Bluetooth, wireless and NFC connections make connecting to my phone and IPad a breeeze. I really like the look of the sound bar with the magnetic cover and I installed the subwoofer behind our couch so that we can really feel the bass. There is a dedicated music button that instantly plays the last thing you had playing on Spotify and the integration of Google assistant was really useful to connect with all my Nest products. The position of the front and top speakers paired with Dolby Atmos really gave a phenomenally immersive 3D surround sound experience. The DSEE HX really maximized the audio quality that we streamed and you could hear and feel every bass and treble. If you have a traditional surround sound setup and have been hesitant to try a sound bar I would definitely recommend checking out the Sony ST5000.

1

1

0

Unmatched Champion

HT-ST5000 29 May 2020 by sudoroot (USA)

The ST5000 is the ultimate all-in-one experience. No other Atmos soundbar delivers the experience this one can -- by supporting an incredible variety of audio codecs AND being jam packed with smart features that anyone can use, it's easy to see the ST5000 reigning supreme in the hi-fi audio realm. Setting this sound-bar was up a breeze! The wireless sub was ready to go the moment I powered on my soundbar. The initial setup was really quick too -- I definitely liked the options where you can set the height of your ceiling and listening distance so the soundbar can deliver the ultimate experience catered to the listener. I connected this to my 4K Bluray and played Mad Max -- my, oh my. It was such a THRILLING experience! It's as if you had front seat tickets to the wild post-apocalyptic as the cars dart across the desert. As an added bonus - because the soundbar supports Google Cast, you can use services like Spotify, Soundcloud or even Youtube Music to cast your music to it wireless and most importantly, without losing quality (as users might with bluetooth). You can also use your Google smart speakers and say "Hey Google, play The Beatles on Sony soundbar" and it'll do so without you raising a finger!

0

1