303

3.9 based on 303 customer reviews

140
84
34
13
32
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great mini Sony Walkman digital sound machine

8GB 26 May 2019  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought the player to a holiday at Turkey and had a wonderful time listening to my favorite songs. I had downloaded so many songs for the journey by air to Turkey (11 hours or so) and similarly long hours back to Singapore. On the land journey to any location needs a variation of 1 to 4 hours and I had my personal Sony Walkman Digital music player as my personal entertainment device. I have set my vision on owning the Sony Bluetooth Digital Player so that I have my hands free to perform other tasks and need not have to rely on the ear piece although the music from the ear piece was astoundingly clear and crisp.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Gone bad to worse

8GB 18 July 2016 by shadowflare88 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Cons: 1) Display is not as vibrant and clear as the old model 2) Unable to create playlist straight from windows explorer. Have to go through tedious process through windows media player by syncing music. 3) Fewer functions as compared to old model, e.g. no podcast. 4) Feels very plastic and cheap for the price.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

7

0

304 Customer Reviews

0

Not up to my expectatoons

4 GB 12 May 2021 by Jkarak (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have returned this to Amazon and have now got the NW A45 which is much better. I am currently testing it.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Usual Sony features

8GB 18 April 2021 by Saudisteve (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to replace my aging old Walkman, very disappointed with the quality and feel of the new one compared to my old one

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Just what the doctor ordered

8GB 11 April 2021 by Nonesuchlikeever (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good sound quality. Used only for classical music and practise my singing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

high quality, easy to handle, looks perfect

4 GB 15 March 2021 by wolf329 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

what I miss: output too low for beeing used as external player connected to my radio no SD card slot to extend capacity

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Bit disappointed

8GB 02 March 2021 by StormClouds (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a version of this Walkman years ago and it was brilliant, worked with Windows Media Player etc. I am disappointed with this version, doesn't seem as good quality and cannot get it to play my playlists off Windows Media Player. Sorry Sony.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

can not get it to work

8GB 26 February 2021 by cherbear (United Kingdom)

boughgt it and the ony thing that works is fm wouldn"t recomend to anyone

1

0

0

Sony Walkman

8GB 22 February 2021 by Beat master (United Kingdom)

I bought this product this month and very happy with it I listen to it while travelling to work

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Rubbish

8GB 11 February 2021 by biker89 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Worked for one day, now will not load any music. My iphone will not load pics, so it could be Microsoft Edge that was loaded onto my PC without permission. Will be sending it back to Argos.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Such a small thing, such a lot of pleasure!

8GB 19 January 2021 by Chopsuey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my 3rd one and it is used every day. The only thing is that sometimes it doesn't charge. Whether its the USB plug, or the cable fitting into the player or something else I don't know but this has happened on all three, usually at the end of the battery life, but its happening on the new one this time. Otherwise I have never had such a reliable, multifunctional entertainment device. I have lots of talking books which I can listen to whilst doing my knitting, crochet, sewing or gardening. This has been a lifesaver during the lockdown. Sue

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use

8GB 05 January 2021 by Lin56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as a present from Argos for a great price and with good delivery and collection options. It is easy to use and charge, download music and tune the radio.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

disappointed

8GB 26 December 2020 by khaledgomaa (United Kingdom)

very disappointed bought 2 for my kids Christmas present . but i cant connect them to pc tried all the methods they said to do but nothing is working. wast of money. also i tried to contact support very poor regarding the name of sony.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Good Value

8GB 17 December 2020 by Benny Hill (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

An excellent piece of equipment, had one before so know a bit about it's capabilities.All tuned in and working well. Recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Clever device

8GB 19 November 2020 by Mike300 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this recently and was able to download all the music I had on my PC. It was a painless task and very quick to carry out.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

First Impressions

8GB 12 November 2020 by Gentleman John (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace my old Sony NWZ-E444 which has given me many years' good service, but is now clearly failing. In truth I was a bit disappointed when I first examined the NW-E394- it does not seem to be as substantial as the older unit, and the screen display resolution is poorer. That said, the audio quality impressed me, and the FM radio works well, so I am happy with the purchase. I have not yet transferred any MP3 files so my review is a bit tentative.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good sound, easy to use

8GB 12 November 2020 by Floss2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The included instructions were awful but once I found out how to input music from my computer, I found it easy to do and play and the sound reproduction is very good. Finding albums and songs is easy. The provided earphones are horrible and won't stay in the ears so I use my old ones. I haven't tried to use the FM radio yet so cannot comment on that.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Poor battery life, earpods, tactility

8GB 17 October 2020 by Nikkosouth (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Battery life much shorter than expected. Earpods uncomfortable and lacking left/right tactile identification. Also lacking tactile pips or shaping on front controls for blind use. Sound is good once repalced with better earpods.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great little machine

8GB 04 October 2020 by gmfp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A small yet powerful mp3 player. Simple to use - merely connect to PC to add/delete songs. I had to create individual folders for three files as I wanted to play them alone - but again a simple matter to do so.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great player

8GB 24 September 2020 by Steve1234321 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent player does the job perfectly plenty of storage..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Needs more

8GB 20 September 2020 by Gandulph (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A useful item which could really do with a bluetooth capability. I loaded mine with audible books and found that having heard the first chapter of the first book it went to the first chapter of the second book. I have had to wipe all the other books off to listen to one. I expected it to play each book in turn.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

User friendly features.

8GB 13 September 2020 by Hillary123 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Rather disappointed as the battery life is very short. The Instruction Manual suggested to charge 2 hrs and the MP3 could run for 135 hrs. However, each time can only run for 3 hrs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

simple to use

8GB 01 September 2020 by GAZAR (United Kingdom)

easy to use and the music play back is brilliant..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good Sound

8GB 27 August 2020 by Tifa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

very pleased with purchase only slight concern that battery life does not seem quite as long as advertised

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Simple high quality mp4 player.

4 GB 22 August 2020 by Razvan EPN (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have bought it for music and to listen to podcasts. The quality of the sound is high, i love the design and i love the menu. I am very happy with it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Walkman

8GB 21 August 2020 by LiverBirdLFC (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent sound. Will be good if have Bluetooth function.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

need booklet to find out how to use

8GB 04 August 2020 by none but the brave (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

will not buy any more gadgets from anywhere without instructions and they are not available either on line its baloney searching out the impossible and contact button isn't really contact its all a bit of a farce really as contact should mean contact like text or email... from disappointed customer.

0

2

0

Poor follow up

8GB 24 July 2020 by Sueann (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am sorry to say that this is not as good as my last Walkman. Very plasticky, screen not very clear, no date or time feature , sound quality very poor, does not have as many nice features as the NWZ-S616F. Very difficult to load music and poor earphones.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

You need to be techno savy

8GB 06 July 2020 by Daunted but not beaten (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for my husband do that he could listen to his favourite music while he is having chemo It took ages to decipher the diagrams on how to download music but eventually worked it out. Now it is very useful and the sound is a good quality. .

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Great product

8GB 01 July 2020 by lop2lol (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great mp3 player. Very easy to load songs onto and sound is great. It has a warning for if you turn the volume too high so that protects your ears. Earphones are lovely fit and comfortable to wear. Sound on radio is great not tinny like another reviewer posted. All in all a great product. Would definitely recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great product

8GB 29 June 2020 by peter 621 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought as a second player so I could take most of the albums I have and I like the little switch on the side to stop the player from being switched on or off by mistake. I can't fault the player as the other one I have is about 5 years old.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good for lockdown

8GB 26 June 2020 by Vald17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this on my birthday it's a great machine, light and easy to carry when out walking. Not a fan of the ear plugs but used my own comfort ones and it's great. Only thing I find is it's takes only a light touch to turn it on and I sometimes find just grazing my hand against the buttons can move the music on. Not a major problem though.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Absolutely Ideal

8GB 10 June 2020 by Silver Surfer 12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the MP3 to replace an i-pod. I found the Walkman an absolute joy to use. Setting up was easy, and making sure that I used folders meant finding what I wanted to play much simpler than the i-pod. As someone who is hard of hearing, I would like in ear headphones if possible, but that's the only criticism.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

rubbish

8GB 27 May 2020 by Very unhappy Sony buyer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Cannot say anything about this product, it has been put in the "rubbish drawer" having spent hours trying to get it to respond to Sony's Music Centre for PC. Wish I hadn't wasted £60 on it. Bought a sim free phone (not Sony ) which is great to use

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Great portable audio unit.

8GB 20 May 2020 by Bigpat60 (United Kingdom)

Had this a while now and it's great. Easy to set up and use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Think twice before buying

8GB 19 May 2020 by Teesside woman (United Kingdom)

It's nice and compact so fits easily in my pocket. Unfortunately I am going to have to buy other earplugs as the ones that come with this model are too big for my ears, which makes this product even more expensive. The only way the plugs will stay in place is to keep a finger over each one. Not a good look or practical when exercising. Radio sound is a bit tinney as well. Wouldn't mind but it's not a cheap item.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0