14

4.4 based on 14 customer reviews

10
1
2
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Perfect Quality, Perfect Design

SEL50F14Z//QSYX 24 June 2018 by Bumblebeehome (Singapore)

This is a focal length that makes me headache. I have to choose between Planar T* FE 50mm F1.4 ZA and Sonnar T* FE 55mm F1.8 ZA because both are great lenses, whether focused accuracy or image quality, Bokeh, etc. There is no absolute winner. But extremely extreme in terms of size and price. The final deciding factor is the aperture adjustment function on the Planar T* FE 50mm F1.4 ZA lens, which I really like. The size and weight are still acceptable, and the price is actually less than half of Otus, so this baby is now my good companion.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

loud motor, WHY AREN'T THERE ANY REVIEWS ABOUT IT

SEL50F14Z 20 May 2019 by Elliotthowe (USA)

OK, so 1400 dollars lens right? right, should be made really well. I get it's big its large etc. but if it's supposedly the best on the market For Sony. should it not be silent AF. when it focuses, it makes a whirring noise.... like what, it should not make this noise, I called Sony and they told me that it shouldn't do this. however I went to my local camera shop and tried their lens, and it makes the same noise. so clearly it's just the lens, because it's moving so much heavy glass... put a better motor in it? like come on... so if you're looking for a dead silent focus this is not it.... aperture ring is also easily accidentally moved, which I find annoying

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

14 Customer Reviews

0

loud motor, WHY AREN'T THERE ANY REVIEWS ABOUT IT

SEL50F14Z 20 May 2019 by Elliotthowe (USA)

OK, so 1400 dollars lens right? right, should be made really well. I get it's big its large etc. but if it's supposedly the best on the market For Sony. should it not be silent AF. when it focuses, it makes a whirring noise.... like what, it should not make this noise, I called Sony and they told me that it shouldn't do this. however I went to my local camera shop and tried their lens, and it makes the same noise. so clearly it's just the lens, because it's moving so much heavy glass... put a better motor in it? like come on... so if you're looking for a dead silent focus this is not it.... aperture ring is also easily accidentally moved, which I find annoying

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Fantastic image quality

SEL50F14Z 18 May 2019 by Jodek (United Kingdom)

I had my first shoot with this lens, along with my A7III and the images produced are absolutely beautiful. My model was over the moon with them. I would recommend this lens to any portrait photographer, whatever their experience.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

From Sonnar to Planar

SEL50F14Z//QSYX 15 February 2019 by Suddenlee (Singapore)

After 3 years of using the Zeiss 55mm and also getting a Zeiss 35mm 1.4 Planar, I was interested to switch to the 50mm Planar especially since the 35mm was an impressive lens. However, there are a few things I did not like about the 50mm. Weight balance is terrible, lens hood is very flimsy and feels cheap in comparison to the 35mm and also the lens is overpriced. I hope to see a lighter lens design like the 24mm 1.4 GM which is a very good design lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lens Gives True To Life Pictures & Video

SEL50F14Z 15 January 2019 by Les864 (United Kingdom)

I Just Purchased This Prime Lens And Found It To Be Brilliant For Creating Good Bokeh. I Will Be Using It Now For Stills & Video. Feels And Is Well Made

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great Bokeh, very sharp!

SEL50F14Z//QSYX 20 November 2018 by Nurasya (Singapore)

I bought this lens a month ago for my trip as I was trying to level up my skills. Receive good review online and I thought I should try out myself. Going overseas is the best time to hold and try out camera capabilities. I was shocked by it's outcome to give out sharp images and good quality bokeh just as what I wanted it to be. My friend was tempted to buy this lens too!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Best IQ of all Sony's lenses

SEL50F14Z//QSYX 09 November 2018 by ErikB88 (Singapore)

You won't regreg it. It's the best lens for pure inage quality if you don't mind the price and weight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Too heavy!

SEL50F14Z 24 August 2018 by emi2018 (USA)

I bought this lens and it worked great with Sony A7iii, but returned it because it was too heavy along with the camera. I love Sony cameras...but the lens with bigger aperture are way too big and heavy. Could you make them a bit more portable? Thank you!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

18

0

lens keep hanging

SEL50F14Z//QSYX 01 August 2018 by Wei123 (Singapore)

Bought this lens recently, and for the past few weeks, it kept hanging and freezing both my A7iii intermittently. The lens hunt in dim lighting, much slower focusing when compared to sony 55mm f1.8. Sent it to sony svc centre, their technician said its a mount issue (they werent sure whats the issue), changed the mount. Afterwhich, i used it for a few shoots, and the problem became worse.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Perfect Quality, Perfect Design

SEL50F14Z//QSYX 24 June 2018 by Bumblebeehome (Singapore)

This is a focal length that makes me headache. I have to choose between Planar T* FE 50mm F1.4 ZA and Sonnar T* FE 55mm F1.8 ZA because both are great lenses, whether focused accuracy or image quality, Bokeh, etc. There is no absolute winner. But extremely extreme in terms of size and price. The final deciding factor is the aperture adjustment function on the Planar T* FE 50mm F1.4 ZA lens, which I really like. The size and weight are still acceptable, and the price is actually less than half of Otus, so this baby is now my good companion.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

The story so far

SEL50F14Z 27 April 2018 by willow walk (United Kingdom)

I purchased this lens a few weeks ago, I am not sure yet where this lens sits in my collection, too short for my liking in my studio for portrait work, too long for my commercial property work and too heavy in my opinion for street photography although this is where it excels, it has only had a couple of outings on the street so far and I have been blown away by the quality at all apertures, wide open for candid people shots can yield very good results with pleasing bokeh.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

7

0

Perfect

SEL50F14Z 07 June 2017 by Sup3r (USA)

50mm is my favorite focal length. It's very versatile and great for travel, street photography and portraits. The images I get from this lens is truly amazing with very good sharpness throughout the frame, especially the center, even when shot wide open. CA is controlled well, distortion is almost non-existent and while there is obvious vignetting at f/1.4, it doesn't bother because it's correctable in Lightroom. The build quality is amazing. I love the aperture control ring that Sony has been adding with their current lenses and the focusing ring is super smooth. The AF/MF switch is such a welcomed addition as well. Overall, if money is no object, and you're looking for a bokehlicious lens with excellent light-gathering capability, this is the way to go. Albeit it's more expensive and larger than both the 50mm f1.8 and 55mm f1.8, it's really the best native 50mm lens for the FE mount I have used to date. It's permanently affixed on to my A7II.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

3

0

Simply Stunning!!!

SEL50F14Z 26 May 2017 by Stephen5393 (USA)

Ever since my purchase (January this year), it has become the Best companion in every photo sessions. Portrait/studio, as well as outside and street shots are just stunning!! Light intake is phenomenal, extremely sharp and well balanced. Feels good (with exception of its a bit heavy weight) and looks lovely. I use it with A7II body, ..and it enhances the camera body/look(!). (Do get lots of compliments!) Premium quality. ..and yes, 11 blade makes stunning bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

3

0

Sharp with excellent bokeh

SEL50F14Z//QSYX 24 November 2016 by satsutkia (Singapore)

Simply phenomenal with the few shots i took. Pictures were sharp in the centre and the bokeh was fabulous.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL50F14Z 17 September 2016 by A doctor (United Kingdom)

Looks and feels great. Premium quality. Very well ballanvlced on A7rii and amazingly quick and silent focus. 11 blade makes bokeh look stunning. Very sharp and bright. Great contrast. An amust lens for a7rii and a7sii.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

20

23