217

4.6 based on 217 customer reviews

159
46
7
2
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

The Best Camera I ever owned

ILCE-7RM2 29 October 2015  (United Kingdom)

I am an ex-professional photographer and have owned many cameras over the years. One month ago I changed from my usual brand to Sony and purchased the a7R II - Wow! What a camera. With 42 mps and Auto ISO that copes with all lighting the results are stunning. I visited a stately home where no flash was allowed and the photos I took are amazing. All details were captured and no noise problems are apparent. I have heard that there may be a problem with overheating on the video capture but I am a stills photographer and this does not concern me. I you want perfect video then maybe choose a dedicate video camera. The a7RII is the best camera available for stills and I have no regrets in converting to Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Manufacturer's abandoned camera

ILCE-7RM2 28 January 2019 by ManWithCamera (USA)

Sony doesn't update camera firmware for a long time (few years) and doesn't listen customers. Could be perfect camera but Sony limited its functions for selling new cameras. - Hybrid AF doesn't work after F8. - Card reader sits on USB 2.0 bus - slow works with memory card (big RAWs). - There are no build in functions like timelapse or photostacking. - No pixel shift (could be easily added by fw update) - Apps market is abandoned by Sony - Bad menu structure (could be fixed by firmware update) - Star eating problem (could be fixed by firmware update) - Low capacity batteries + High resolution + Small sizes + Build in stabilization + 14 bit RAW

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

10

0

218 Customer Reviews

0

Great full frame camera

ILCE-7RM2 28 September 2019 by 7om 7hum (United Kingdom)

I put my Olympus gear in for part exchange because I wanted a system with full frame sensor and higher resolution. This camera suits my requirements, at an affordable price. The manager at LCE Taunton couldn’t have been helpful, with help and advice. I have gone back to that manager for other items and advice for future sales.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 12 September 2019 by HotRod98 (USA)

I have had this camera for over a week and I love it. Although, I'm just starting in photography i feel that I have plenty of tools to work with, with this camera. The image quality is amazing and the eye auto focus is awesome. I would recommend this camera you will not regret it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera

ILCE-7RM2 07 September 2019 by BobD99 (United Kingdom)

Bought it 3 weeks ago after looking and checking reviews for last 6 months

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing camera

ILCE-7RM2 28 August 2019 by aaphotography (United Kingdom)

Amazing camera for lot of things , i use it most of the times for weddings and food photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

What a Camera!? Couple big issues

ILCE-7RM2 23 June 2019 by ClickBang (USA)

I have now been using this camera, along my 5Dm3 for over 3 years. There is a reason I always take my Canon on shoots. After a few embafrassing glitches.... As soon as I have to swap lenses, Respond time in fast paced work, I am happy to put this down and grab the 5Dm3. (Canon does not glitch in electronics. ) Sony changes settings in the middle of battery or lens change. Sony takes time to zoom in or change pictures Sony stutters on bootup with LCD screen. The menu system on the Sony is bad. Zero color coding used in menus. You have to read everything. . I understand the battery life is not so good, but why can't it store the current used settings on a secondary memory so that when the battery is changed the settings dont get lost as well? This is a error in design. One more error is the "sloppy" mount. There is slight play with Metabones and the FE lens'. Repair fixed this mostly, but still slight bit, accepted. This is not acceptable in engineering the way camera was delivered. USB & HDMI ports feel cheap and fragile. My USB port DID fail.Sent in for repair. Works now, but still flimsy feel. (Canon does not have a flimsy HDMI USB ports. ) Weather sealing is non existent. For a travel camera in different temp conditions in short times, this can be a issue. Lens UNlock location being at the shutter release side that gets most contact action is a design ERROR. It is where the fingers rest, and a number of times I find my lens unlocked due to this error. It also makes putting the lens on slightly cumbersome and less direct. A7RII SD slot is not a feel of confidence. My SD slot needed repair that cost me $900 from Zero fault of me. (In comparison, my 5Dm3 was dropped in 6feet of a Columbia Gorge river water in Oregon, and camera was DEAD and it required a number of parts and a new motherboard, repair was $480. I think the Sony would be non-repairable. Both services were reasonable turn around times. Sony has 3rd party repairs, and was good, but nothing like Canon. Canon is run like a medical emergency room. A nice feature would be a lens mount retracting cover, as the lens is released and covers the opening to protect the sensor as lens is removed. There are many things I like and love about the camera... The files are great! No AA filter! The amount of buttons and dials(this can be improved a bit). Ergonomics is *better than what I hear reported. I have very large hands. Yet unlike many who complain, *once I purchased and installed a L-bracket that added a inch to its height, and it is very good. I rather have this with a more compact size for travel needs. So my main gripe with the Sony is how slow it is to react in electronics, and how memory is used, and weather sealing. Mostly. There was a firmware I installed that brought me to these conclusions. Because before that firmware, the camera was not even usable for me. I use both FE Sony glass and Canon. There should be no reason to change my Canon glass. This is marketing interference. The A7RII, and it is a bit of a complex camera to adjust to from a simple 5Dm3 Canon. If you do still life or landscape, I recommend it. If you do anything in response time needs, I cannot recommend. It looses last used data on battery change. It gets "glitchy" electronics on lens changes, even on native. It cannot Zoom into image fast, and changing pictures with zoom is slow. It has a bit of lag starting up also, and switches from LCD screen to VF every time I turn on or change batteries. I also am not sure how it would be in rugged conditions. So these keep it from being a Professional recommendation for a wider use. I think if the A7R3 has made the improvements I mention, it may very well be worth the upgrade. But so far I have not read anything of that detail. I hope if I have a Sony representative respond, at least they can answer this question.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Great picture quality

ILCE-7RM2 27 May 2019 by Struman (United Kingdom)

I bought a camera 9 months ago and since then I hate it. Turns on slowly. Management is extremely uncomfortable. After ten years of using Canon EOS 1D ... you will understand me :) But the picture quality is very impressive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Serious quality camera

ILCE-7RM2 27 May 2019 by jpss59 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera used and I'm glad I did. Its full of useful features, has a great sensor and dynamic range and allows me to use all my legacy lens (and get some new ones, too). Would definitely buy it again!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I love that camera.

ILCE-7RM2 20 May 2019 by noahandrijan (USA)

Only everything is perfect. And I am more then happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Much improved over previous model

ILCE-7RM2 10 May 2019 by Bella 4 (United Kingdom)

I loved the camera and the improved low light responses and even saw the improvement on image quality and the amazing auto focus options . Cannot wait to take on holiday and experiment work it .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM2 08 April 2019 by Jshji (USA)

We need a firmware update please The firmware is old now

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Dang this thing can shoot

Body Only 04 March 2019 by Graw7 (USA)

So I hadn't even held a Sony cam before mine came, but if you look around everyone is point toward Sony. I did hours of research online because the big change is happening(dslr to mirrorless). I wanted the best I could get for my money and the Sony mirrorless cameras beat out any dslr camera in my opinion(unless your wanting to spend 3k on a body that isn't going to have any new lenses made for it anymore). If your think of switching from another camera to this such as a canon or Nikon I would cause your dslr won't be worth much soon enough along with their mirroless can't compete with all the options this camera has. The alpha e-mount also has the most lenses as far as I know in the mirrorless line up right now and you can actually afford some of them on a budget. Sony you really didn't hold back on this baby and for that I thank you. Just a heads up though, the stock charger is very slow, I actually think the battery charges faster in the camera. I do like how mine came with two batteries as well, even though I got more on order cause it does eat them up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Shutter won't open

ILCE-7RM2 28 February 2019 by Roger R (USA)

I bought this a little over a year ago and the shutter won't open. I feel bad that I spent so much on a product I thought would last and now I am worried I have to spend more on repairing it now. This is a known issue if you just google it and it is common with Sony.... As much as I am a sony supporter I am sad this has happened to me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Super photo quality

ILCE-7RM2 17 February 2019 by Marty 2048 (United Kingdom)

This is my second A7r 11 sold first and missed the ability to crop from high resolution

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A brilliant camera!

ILCE-7RM2 13 February 2019 by Sussexlad (United Kingdom)

A steep learning curve but I’m sure it will be worth it. An amazing camera with so many great features. Build quality is excellent, as is image quality. I just wish Sony’s csshback process was quicker!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent first impression.

ILCE-7RM2 12 February 2019 by Sturgeonfish (United Kingdom)

Looking to improve my skills from using bridge camera. Looking forward to using the flexibility of camera and quality of camera and lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony a7rii

ILCE-7RM2 29 January 2019  (United Kingdom)

Brought the Sony a7rii a couple of weeks ago and I have to say I love this camera! So easy to use! Love the features and it takes absolutely beautiful photos! I’m a very creative photographer and love to shoot in low light without artificial lights and this camera is more then perfect for what I need! Would recommend to any photographer pro or amateur, battery life is not perfect but this camera makes up for it in so many ways! 10 out of 10

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Manufacturer's abandoned camera

ILCE-7RM2 28 January 2019 by ManWithCamera (USA)

Sony doesn't update camera firmware for a long time (few years) and doesn't listen customers. Could be perfect camera but Sony limited its functions for selling new cameras. - Hybrid AF doesn't work after F8. - Card reader sits on USB 2.0 bus - slow works with memory card (big RAWs). - There are no build in functions like timelapse or photostacking. - No pixel shift (could be easily added by fw update) - Apps market is abandoned by Sony - Bad menu structure (could be fixed by firmware update) - Star eating problem (could be fixed by firmware update) - Low capacity batteries + High resolution + Small sizes + Build in stabilization + 14 bit RAW

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

10

0

0

Great image quality and easy to use

ILCE-7RM2 11 January 2019 by T29sra (United Kingdom)

I upgraded from the a7ii both great cameras, I do a lot of night photography and never disappointed with a shot

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect

ILCE-7RM2 05 January 2019  (USA)

I bought this just a week ago and am just getting heavenly feeling........

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Photographs even for an amateur!

ILCE-7RM2 19 December 2018 by Andy_Marlow (United Kingdom)

I have owned this camera for just over a year - and with a decent investment in the right lenses, I can say that my photography has greatly improved. Easy to use and a great form factor for portability.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome Sony !

ILCE-7RM2 16 December 2018 by André 34 (United Kingdom)

I have wanted the A7R2 for a few years. Great but if kit. EVF is awesome, mirrorless is the way forward in my humble opinion.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect

ILCE-7RM2 04 December 2018 by Sinanqlr (United Kingdom)

I was buy 3 weeks ago and ı am so happy with this camera thanks sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It does what it needs to

Body Only 30 November 2018 by Holymuffins (USA)

I got it about a year ago and have been loving it since! The complaining about the battery is real, but with usb charging who cares?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great design

ILCE-7RM2 27 October 2018 by Pumpkin1 (United Kingdom)

This a7R11 is an upgrade from a Sony compact and what a camera. It just makes me smile every time I use it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great tool

Body Only 14 October 2018 by zack8888 (USA)

I love it. she love it. great camera and easy to use. I Got it at Best Buy $200 off

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome camera

ILCE-7RM2 07 October 2018 by Blackbat (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera following using a nikon cropped camera, and just blown away with the quality of the camera. It is just amazing. One aspect I would like different is a larger grip, as my little finger is lost underneath and had to get a cover to help with that. Also an app that works for Marco photography would be good. As you need a small aperture for detail, but this makes it hard to see setting up as it's mirror less. So an app where you can have viewing setting (so brighter) then have your settings set for when you take the photo, as those settings normally are too dark on the viewer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great image quality!

ILCE-7RM2 23 September 2018 by Simos805 (United Kingdom)

I bought it about 2 weeks aggo. It's my first camera and I'm amazed with the quality I'm getting! I'm usibg it right now with the Sony prime 50mm f/1.8 lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

wow just amazing!

Body Only 22 September 2018 by igchavez (USA)

this camera has been a great tool since the day i about it. i have done several portraits and lifestyle shots even wildlife and it's just amazing. very happy customer here.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera that needs a new menu system

Body Only 01 September 2018 by rcycholl (USA)

Just received and went out and done some shooting. I shoot mainly landscape and see no issues, except the menu system. I realize the batteries do not last long, but that was taken care of with the new verson. I could live with carring a few more batteries. Just wish there can be a firmware upgrade for the menu system

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Extremely Disappointed!

Body Only 30 August 2018 by Bruce480 (USA)

I purposely chose the Sony due to the eye autofocus feature. It did NOT work. I did several photoshoots with the camera and half of the photos came out blurry. Anything at or above f/10 would NOT work with either eye autofocus or face recognition. Several of my colleagues who have been using Sony for quite some time attempted to take photos with the camera, but it would not work for them either. May I return the camera for a refund please!

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Excellent!

ILCE-7RM2 28 August 2018 by Mommo (USA)

I bought this a few months ago and I am loving it! This is my first mirror-less camera and the quality of the pictures to the body of the camera are top notch. I really like the wide range of ISO and the small body that allows carrying around super easy.M

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic 42MP pictures

Body Only 27 August 2018 by ShenYL (Singapore)

It is has been my wish fulfilled of more than 36MP pictures. Only issue is much shorter battery life. Lenses are fantastic to go with the camera, but alot heavier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Another great camera

ILCE-7RM2 25 August 2018 by Pally_ (United Kingdom)

The A7rii is a vast improvement over my loved A7r. I struggled with the decision of whether to buy the A7iii or the r2...both had strong reasons for their purchase but in the end I went for higher resolution to help with my street photography. My review scores are tempered by the missing features found in the A7iii and A7rii models.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

grate camera excellent IQ

ILCE-7RM2 21 August 2018 by ag16 (United Kingdom)

I bought this tree wicks ago I love it I use all my canon L lenses with this I am happy I bout this camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome beast

ILCE-7RM2 08 August 2018 by Dickeboy63 (United Kingdom)

A fantastic camera. I’ve come from a Canon system and will never go back. I’ve got a Sony adapter for old maf fit lenses, a sigma mc11a adapter for Canon L glass and some new g master FE lenses. The results are amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent equipment, rubbish website

ILCE-7RM2 08 July 2018 by The Flying Condor (United Kingdom)

I have been using this camera quite a lot and it is an excellent piece of equipment unfortunately sony website is lame and I haven't been able to upload the updates so I am going to have to go my local shop to do this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great auto ISO

ILCE-7RM2 06 July 2018 by Glen21 (United Kingdom)

Only had this camera a short while and already can see the benefits. Coming from an SLR with L lenses this camera performs as good, even better dare I say! The auto ISO hits the light every time and the auto focus is fast and accurate. Wish I had made the move to this camera sooner.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 25 June 2018 by JQTran (USA)

I just bought this camera for a month and I am very happy about the quality images this camera produces. sharp and clear

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Game Changer!!!

Body Only 19 May 2018 by Lex809 (USA)

Amazing camera: Can be use for both professional video and photography!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Overall awesome camera

ILCE-7RM2 09 May 2018 by Maina wa Ndungu (United Kingdom)

I have it for at least two years but have an issue, when I want to download time lapse it says it's not available in my country,question are we not supposed to have it in Africa,Kenya to be precise

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A significant improvement

ILCE-7RM2 02 May 2018 by SteveG1 (United Kingdom)

Replacing my A7R, the A7Rii is a distinct improvement, addressing all the inadequacies I had recognised and proving a much more useful camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Best camera

ILCE-7RM2 01 May 2018 by Yarm McD on flickr (United Kingdom)

Nice camera, takes great quality images, great with the GM 24-70 lens. Not able to add remote on/off to any memory, custom or FN button, this would be nice when using a tripod.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Gropund Breaking Advancement.

ILCE-7RM2 25 April 2018 by Kokoe (United Kingdom)

This camera takes some careful and methodical setting up. But once configured to your needs (filming or stills) you will find it to be not only the most forgiving but the most compact and most capable of the mirrorless camera range.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A very special concept!!

ILCE-7RM2 31 March 2018 by Chris 67 (United Kingdom)

I've had an A7, an A7M2 and I've recently upgraded to an A7RM2 so I'm a firm believer in her product!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

So far, so good

ILCE-7RM2 30 March 2018 by Clompertronic (United Kingdom)

I have had my Sony for a few weeks now and from what I have seen the quality is superb, I changed from a Canon 6d and I am struggling a little with some of the operation features although I’m sure I’ll get used to it in time. Would have preferred a touch screen

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera, poor user manual

ILCE-7RM2 24 March 2018 by Bernabia (United Kingdom)

Lovely camera, feels good in the hand. Menu is extensive but the included user guide does not e plain the options adequately and need significantly improving in a PAPER format, not on-line

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Very good camera, opens up great possibilities

ILCE-7RM2 23 March 2018 by muratski (United Kingdom)

Huge resolution, good low light sensitivity and IBS make for a great camera packed into a small format.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great further

ILCE-7RM2 17 March 2018 by gbyshoot (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera last week so I happy but only battery not nice

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great camera, need improvement

ILCE-7RM2 15 March 2018 by matt side (United Kingdom)

I have the A7rII for about two year, I am doing mostly 8K Timelapse with it. Very good images quality, poor battery life, the screen without a screen protection it gets damages due to weather conditions. The menu is not very easy to understand, I would love to select the size of the Raw images (Small - 12M, Medium 24M, Large - 42M), not always i need to shoot a 40Mb pics.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM2 09 March 2018 by Turley (United Kingdom)

I have had this camera 2 weeks and I am over the moon with it the build quality is fantastic and some people complain about the menu I think it is great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

AMAZED ... AND DISAPPOINTED

ILCE-7RM2 28 February 2018 by Urleyn (United Kingdom)

Having moved up from an APS-C DSLR, I was amazed at the quality of the images produced by this camera. Frames can be readily cropped while retaining usability. However, I am gutted by the short life of the battery. Not on Sony for a camera at this price! Controls take some getting used to but the camera has a wealth of features that will come in very handy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Bad First Impression

Body Only 24 February 2018 by Datadave (USA)

I bought this camera and I have to continually take the lens off to get the camera to read that I have one attached. What's up with that?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Excellent camera

Body Only 23 February 2018 by kyleguts (USA)

This camera is a workhorse - it takes very high quality images and does so with minimal adjustments needed to the settings.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera, May be I got a defective piece.

Body Only 19 February 2018 by vaasu7777 (USA)

Its been almost an year since I have transitioned myself from canon user to Sony, I am really happy with the product except for the fact that since I have bought there are always dust particles on the sensor . Unfortunately this was a huge defect because you dont get to see these dots on lcd (and for the price), but when u take print or view it on a large screen these dots were all over the place especially when you take HDR picture or under exposed picture. I tried talking to sony customer service and they said they would help me on this. Hopefully they will figure this out!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb camera in a compact body.

ILCE-7RM2 07 February 2018 by Stoneyguy (United Kingdom)

I bought this quite recently and not had much chance to experiment fully but judging by the great quality of the A6300 with full frame lenses the A7RII will be fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

For my personal requirements ...perfect camera

ILCE-7RM2 30 January 2018 by Scarlat (USA)

I have used for 3 years Sony A6000 and A6300 ...very good photo cameras until one day when I have decided to move to full frame and after days, weeks, months of reading reviews, I have purchased a new Sony A7R2. I have considered that will be the perfect camera to complete my personal requirements and I was right. I also decided to have 16-35mm f4 Zeiss lens and I can say that I have a very good combination. The firmware was updated to v4 and I did the setup on my photo camera. I'm not a "video" person, means that I do not comment. Image quality? amazing even using Auto mode ...very friendly after we set up the buttons as we wish, small, compact and light camera. We have lifetime battery issue. Very interesting is that in one day, in the beach conditions, I had 621 triggerings with a single-battery, which still had at the end of the day 22% of the capacity but in the evening, in poor lighting conditions, I did not exceed 285 triggerings with the second battery.I consider that two battery /day are sufficient in quiet working conditions. About A7R2 I can say that it's a good photo camera and I want to specify that I own also a Nikon D810 and it is very easy for me to have terms of comparison for image quality, versatility, battery, etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compact Quality

ILCE-7RM2 29 January 2018 by Grandysandy (United Kingdom)

I have not had this camera for long, but have found the controls logical and the results to date excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointment for a camera of this level

ILCE-7RM2 28 January 2018 by DogsAfire (USA)

1) The very intuitive controls of the NEX-7 have been replaced by far less intuitive and, to me, less useful ones. For something that only affects results in one specific shooting mode, the MM compensation dial takes up a huge amount of room for little benefit. The exposure compensation knob of the NEX-7 functioned in all modes and was very useful. 2) The camera simply does not tolerate cold weather well. I live in northern Michigan and when temperatures get below about 10 deg F, the camera starts making odd noises and misfiring. For this area, 10 degrees is not cold at all and I would expect a professional camera to function properly. 3) The camera reboots on its own at random times for apparently no reason. I have lost a number of shots because of this behavior 4) I bought the absolute fastest SD card I could find, from a very reputable dealer. Once the internal buffer is exhausted, the camera can write no more than about one photo per second to memory (I always shoot RAW + JPEG). Eliminating the JPEG storage doesn't help. The camera simply cannot write its data to memory at a faster rate. Items 3) and 4) are particularly troublesome for me because I shoot image stacks of snowflakes, which melt before my eyes as I'm shooting them. A reboot in the middle of an image stack destroys the entire process. The log write times greatly extend the amount of time that it takes to build an images stack. These are serious problems for me. 5) The image display size has only two magnifications, unlike the earlier NEX-7 which allows a very smooth range of zooming into an image, both for focus and for image review. The a7R Mk II is difficult to use in critical focus situations because of the restriction. 6) The camera has no built-in flash of any sort. C'mon people. I don't always carry a big flash unit everywhere with me. To be honest, I never looked to see if the camera had a flash before I bought it because, well, _all_ cameras have one these days. I just assumed it would be there. Surprise! I am NOT HAPPY with this very expensive camera. I thought I was buying the top of the line and got a mediocre, somewhat usable one instead. This single purchase has greatly decreased my confidence in Sony engineering. I was very pleased with the design of the NEX-7 and still love that camera. I was looking for a full frame upgrade. The Sony a7R Mk II is NOT IT!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Easy to use. Very good picture

Body Only 26 January 2018  (USA)

I received this camera as a gift. It is light and easy to use

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM2 19 January 2018 by RuslanArt (United Kingdom)

Great camera with alot functions, helps in every moment take amazing pictures.Thanks

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

What todays camera should strive for

Body Only 17 January 2018 by MrO2u (USA)

I'm glad I made the switch. This has options galore! focusing is much faster than I had expected even in low light. It takes some getting used to but with practice, I've got it down. The only negative is the menu system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Unbelievable Quality-Super Sharp Images

Body Only 17 January 2018 by Jim2000 (USA)

On a whim I changed from a 20 year Nikon user to the Sony A7RII. My first shots blew me away. I have printed pictures as large as 24 X 40 and the detail is amazing. I am using sony's professional glass for my travels. I will never go back to a standard DSLR again.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Simply Stunning Pictures

ILCE-7RM2 15 January 2018 by jfermo2000 (USA)

I have used my A7 RII for about 2 years now. During that time we have traveled to multiple countries in Europe. When My wife and I returned home we were amazed. I love this new technology and this camera. I have used Nikon equipment for 20 + years. I am a real Sony Beleiver.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera, could have less preset

ILCE-7RM2 14 January 2018  (United Kingdom)

It is a surprising camera. Compact and high quality. The sensor coupled with good lenses has a beautiful high quality render. I mostly use the camera in the studio. The autofocus is quick and precise. The eye tracking is surprisingly accurate for portraits. Customising controls could be more flexible. Too many amateurish presets, not needed.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A very good 'Stills' camera

ILCE-7RM2 12 January 2018 by Ybloc (United Kingdom)

Bought for its ' Resolution & Dynamic Range ' - this camera has lived up to expectation for low noise / highly detailed images & effective post production manipulation Using a loxia 21mm - 1.8 lens the images are superb & the much criticised battery life is not much of a problem as - being a manual lens - I use much less battery driven functions The body isn't the most comfortable to hold - the function buttons are not as 'to hand ' as they could be but - for my first camera since my pentax me film days - this is as close as it gets & you forgive the foibles once you see your first images I don't shoot video so can't comment but the memory function is very useful - I have Hand Held General Aperture Priority / Manual Astro / Manual Landscape / Aperture Priority Landscape & a quick dial selection brings up 85% of the settings for a given type of shot The image stabilisation is excellent & also effective against tripod vibration in wind or when stood in running water My recommendation is upon 'stills' photography !!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Still an awesome camera!

ILCE-7RM2 07 January 2018 by Bravomikefoxtrot (United Kingdom)

3 years after it’s release there is very little to compete with it at any price. It’s biggest competition is from the recent additions to its own family. Paired with quality glass the a7rII is capable of amazing images be they still or moving. I waited a long time for this camera and it is everything I need it to be and more. I couldn’t be happier with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Almost perfect

ILCE-7RM2 02 January 2018 by Macaz (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera as an upgrade to an A7II I owned, it is superb, image quality is amazing as is dynamic range. Sony’s firmwarecentric drive with omission of features to try and make you upgrade ala A7RIII does leave a bitter taste, prime example is ‘my menu’ sorely needed on this camera and implemented on the III, with literally no reason other than the aforementioned to miss it off an update to the A7RII which is a shame because honestly the jumbled menu system is this cameras weakest aspect for me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Incredibly powerful

ILCE-7RM2 26 December 2017  (United Kingdom)

formerly a long term canon shooter, i made the switch to sony with the a7 a few years ago. After being truly impressed, i upgraded to the a7Rii and wow was it worth it. AF is fast dynamic range is amazing, and the build quality is by far the best I've experienced on a camera. This is definitely a keeper.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features like big file size

ILCE-7RM2 26 December 2017 by Labib (United Kingdom)

I started to buy accessories for it. The only thing that I don’t like is the short life of the battery.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The Sony camera that won my heart over

Body Only 20 December 2017  (USA)

This was my first Sony body paired up with my Canon 5D mk 3.. When I purchased this camera I found myself never using my Canon again and eventually I upgraded the Canon to the Sony A9. It all started with this camera, everything was perfect for what I was doing.. Way to go Sony for pushing the envelope with amazing innovation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Upgraded from the a7ii - very impressed

ILCE-7RM2 18 December 2017 by Jr987 (United Kingdom)

Upgraded from the a7ii before my trip to Myanmar...so glad I did. Can really get close into the subject without being on top of them.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0