16

4.7 based on 16 customer reviews

13
2
0
1
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

16 Customer Reviews

0

Solid build

256GB 07 April 2019 by Alexsoon1984 (Singapore)

The Sony NW1Z is made of copper and weight close to 500grams but it feels very solid just like the previous Sony ZX2. The user interface is good but lack the search function. The sound quality so far is fine using the 4.4mm balanced output. The true sound will have to wait till it gets burnt in.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Iconic

NW-WM1Z 18 February 2019 by Ken Costello (USA)

If Sony would create player that participates in streaming services. Game over. They will sell out.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

3

0

Good quality

NW-WM1Z 08 February 2019 by Keith1066 (United Kingdom)

Purchased the Walkman to replace my ageing iPod which is full! Capacity is good with available card extension. Sound quality is very good as is the build of the Walkman.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent product!

256GB 16 December 2018 by Steven77 (Singapore)

An excellent product developed by Sony, especially with the new 3.0 firmware. It fuction as a high end music player as well as a DAC amplifier. Best of both world! Bigger soundstage, awesome mid-range with attacking grit, pleasant overall sound textures. The gold casing does give breath and depth sound. You know it’s a high quality music player, DAC amplifier when you look forward to listening to it daily. Well done Sony! Look forward in getting the new IEMZ1R in January. Steven Singapore

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Ultimate Walkman for the HiRes era

NW-WM1Z 05 August 2018 by BB24 (United Kingdom)

I have to admit I’ve always loved Sony Walkman products and have premium units from cassette, Minidisc and mp3 all going strong after many years of use.. I upgraded from the ZX2 to the WM1Z 1 month ago and am completely satisfied.. it’s a clear upgrade in terms of audio performance matched with high Quality of construction, materials and detailing.. Expensive yes, but I know in years to come I won’t regret it and will have enjoyed using it immensely for many years..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

2

0

Does not support the typ file i sue

NW-WM1Z 27 June 2018 by Tg4510 (USA)

The walkman dose not support flac 192khz at 32 bit i want to buy it but it does not support Flac 192khz at 32 bit please sony fix the problem withe flac support 192khz at 32 bit.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

45

0

Dynamic, punchy, highly resolving, yet smooth.

256GB 27 May 2018 by Mtorrey (USA)

This is the one you want. The wm1a is solid, even excellent, but the wm1z is special. 250% more expensive and maybe 15% better, but that’s where the magic lies, especially the highly textured bass and silky midrange. Sony focused purely on the sound and an elegant design and hit it out of the park on both counts.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

1

0

Perfect music

NW-WM1Z 07 April 2018 by Wihanga (USA)

the perfect, SONY Walkman is million times better than the apple ipod

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

5

0

Great features

NW-WM1Z 18 March 2018 by Gordon J (United Kingdom)

It is Sony, what more can one say. The build quality, design and functionality are top notch. The sound through the normal headphone jack is crystal clear with a good bass sound. I have it connected to my system using bluetooth and the clarity is amazing. As yet I have not had the pleasure of listening through the balanced out, but i can only imagine how that sounds. Great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

4

0

A true masterpiece

NW-WM1Z 09 March 2018 by flyer1 (United Kingdom)

Using this with the XBA Z5 in Balanced and I can say I am delighted with this Walkman player. Sony went all out with this player and used only the best materials and components to achieve perfection in portable sound. While highly detailed it achieves a very pleasant analogue and tube amplifier like sound signature which I can listen to for hours without any sign of fatique. All of this comes at a price but if you only want the best in digital portable audio, this is definitely it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

7

0

The Best of the Best!!

256GB 27 February 2018 by Tboy83 (USA)

Great! I had the NW-WM1A and I enjoyed it a lot. I was sad that the USB connection started to fail on me, but Sony had did something that I have never heard of any Manufacturer doing; that was they had bought it back from me. I was sent a check for 100% what I had paid on it. That’s when I had went to get the NW-WM1Z. I have now found my love. It’s an amazing piece. I carry it everywhere I go. I don’t leave it behind. We go everywhere together. The day I would have to leave it behind would probably be the day I plan to rob a bank, which that would never happen. Therefore this will always be with me, until Sony decides to come up with a newer music player. But I’m still not going to let it go. love this player.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

25

5

0

wm1z

256GB 23 November 2017 by Thurein (Singapore)

Sony have done an incredible job to come out with a splendid musical Walkman player. Sounds so amazingly good in tunes.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Great

256GB 28 August 2017 by chenhin99 (Singapore)

the best sounding digital music player so far.I loved it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Good Walkman

256GB 12 August 2017 by Khay (Singapore)

Provide good sound then the normal walkman. I will grade 5 stars if come with instruction on how to set to full potential sound outputs.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

6

4

0

Great performances with top tier craftsmanship

NW-WM1Z 29 July 2017 by AudioLover (USA)

I bought this unit on Christmas, and having her until now. Sony had hit a home run with this Wm1z, and better yet, the cheaper version wm1A. Powerful to drive Utopia and even Hd800 Awesome to look at Wonderful sound performances Hopefully Sony will keep up with this extremely niche Walkman products and will look into the next successor too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

28

11

0

The new benchmark in portable high-end audio!

NW-WM1Z 28 June 2017 by Spyridon_K (USA)

When it comes to Sony NW-WM1Z, a lot of things have been written (and are available online) by people far more knowledgeable than me in engineering and audio equipment...this particular device long before it was officially released became a dichotomy in audiophile communities in the internet, because of its price, color and people's desire to quickly condemn what appears to be out of reach... This is an outstanding piece of high-end audio equipment with an unmatched performance to my ears, a device which can easily be complemented by most high end headphones and when used with the Sony MDR-Z1R the results are just ideal! I would not want this review to go into unnecessary lengths for attempting to describe something which at the end comes down to personal taste and I feel that such an attempt would only be inadequate in bringing forward the sound quality that the NW-WM1Z is capable of reproducing, If you are contemplating its purchase, go out and listen to it and I am positive you will feel confident that your money will be well invested in a piece of equipment that is a departure from Sony's traditional audio market segment in celebrating its 70 years and who knows if it will ever be repeated.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

33

17