33

3.7 based on 33 customer reviews

11
10
6
4
2
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Basic, but competent

DAV-TZ140 18 September 2016  (United Kingdom)

This is a smart-looking, straightforward system that offers rich bass surround sound. Used a headphone jack to phono lead to connect with my optical only Sony TV. Not cutting edge, but seems fine to me.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Not bad, but not exceptional

DAVTZ140 11 August 2013 by Benn2013 (USA)

I have had this system for less than 6 months. I have always been disappointed with the volume. I always use it on the MAX setting. It's not a bad system and considering the price I'd say it's acceptable. As for the DVD, it stopped working about a week ago and I just haven't gone through the hassle of getting warranty work. I'm sure SONY will repair it for me, but 6 months sure seems like a short time.

22

2

33 Customer Reviews

0

good

DAV-TZ140 30 September 2018 by matunda (USA)

I bought this 5 yrs ago and am so happy to have it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Not bad

DAV-TZ140 18 July 2018  (USA)

Good products. Sounds Good. Base too DVD lagging. .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

thats cool

DAV-TZ140 17 September 2017 by Mangudai (USA)

Please guys help me. im using in my PC. but its not full connection. so what i do?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

10

0

Home Cinema System

DAV-TZ140 13 May 2017 by JohnFF (United Kingdom)

I bought this system because my old one was showing its age after 20 years of good service. Because I had recently bought a Sony TV, I decided to buy a Sony Surround Sound System to go with it. Both are excellent products and they work well with each other, setting up was simple and all I had to do was buy a cable to connect the two products together so that when the TV is turned on it activated the audio system on the Home Cinema System. Now we can enjoy music and DVD's, we can even take music and pictures from our PC's and play them through the TV and Home Cinema System. Brilliant.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent, worth buying

DAVTZ140 17 March 2017 by LITU (USA)

Excellent performance, so easy to install compact, sound vibrant

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Basic, but competent

DAV-TZ140 18 September 2016  (United Kingdom)

This is a smart-looking, straightforward system that offers rich bass surround sound. Used a headphone jack to phono lead to connect with my optical only Sony TV. Not cutting edge, but seems fine to me.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

very good system

DAV-TZ140 14 October 2015 by fab3 (United Kingdom)

i brought this system to go with my sony tv and they work great together

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Adequate, with some niggles

DAV-TZ140 12 September 2015 by jeffas (United Kingdom)

This has replaced a number of separate devices: CD player, DVD player, radio receiver, hifi amplifier, and to that extent has been successful. It has *not* replaced my very old, big, Celestion Ditton 130 speakers, as the sound quality was noticeably (although not dramatically) inferior with the Sony speakers. There is no balance control, which is annoying, as my TV is not central to the room, so I would like to be able to move the sound centre point. Volume control is good, with fine adjustment possible. Radio reception is not good. I am not in a good reception area, but there seems to be no facility for connecting a better aerial which could improve matters. The first unit I received had a very noisy CD/DVD drive, and also had audio time-lag when playing DVDs, so it was returned. The replacement did not have the time-lag. The CD/DVD drive is still rather noisy, but not as bad as the first one. Multiple inputs would be useful. I am using an external input switch which gets round the problem, but inbuilt inputs would (presumably) be remote controllable.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

6

0

happy with unit

DAVTZ140 17 August 2015 by JimBay (USA)

Love the way it plays and sounds with a dvd. Surround is good for the price. Only thing can't get surround sound to play with a movie on tv

15

6

0

not happy

DAVTZ140 27 July 2015 by russell120 (USA)

dvd works great cable stations have no volume 1 year old tv has no red and white audio out just opitical out which is not supported any help

7

12

0

USB Port Isn't Working

DAVTZ140 18 June 2015 by Lyris (USA)

The USB port in my system doesn't recognize any USB port or flash drive that I put in it. It starts loading, then after a few seconds it says "stop". I can't listen to music that is on my drives and I'm disappointed.

30

11

0

Not what I was expecting!

DAVTZ140 07 June 2015 by Franny56 (USA)

I just opened my new (and what I thought was a wireless system) and it's not at all what I want!! Sending it back tomorrow!!

1

46

0

Like it but disappointed

DAVTZ140 11 May 2015 by Mickey99 (USA)

My last Sony Theater System had the receiver stop working for not apparent reason so I went and bought a new system and I am a little dissappointed, or I don't know how to use it fully which I am hoping is the case. My previous system had a connection where I could play my ipod, iphone, android...anything with a speaker jack. This one has a usb but when I connect my phone it doesn't recognize it. Please tell me I am doing something wrong.

8

3

0

DVD Home Cinema

DAV-TZ140 07 May 2015 by chazzmonkey (United Kingdom)

I bought this just under a month ago and am very happy. The sound quality is very good, good bass and clear sound effects. i have mine connected to my PS4, which wasn't an easy task and required a digital optical cable, which I sourced and afterwards I had no issues. I would recommend the product however, it could be improved if it came with at least a HDMI cable.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

4

2

0

Spanish CC and no remote

DAVTZ140 01 May 2015 by ThisIsMyNicknameNow (USA)

A friend gave me this but it doesn't have a remote. I'm wondering if I can program a universal remote to be able to control the device? It has Spanish CC turned on and I can't figure out how to turn it off simply using the buttons on the front. Other than that it's great. I'm hoping Sony will see this and point me towards being able to buy a replacement remote.

0

5

0

weird coming from sony

DAVTZ140 17 April 2015  (USA)

speaker of the back makes an unusual noise and interference sometimes when I connect the audio output to the tv fm rather hear the sound of the movie . The volume is not very high but I find acceptable. The dvd reader began to fail recently, play some records and puts a message on the screen of something rare player. I have a time and with but I have used at most 20 times , he wore but my ps3 to see Bluerays . If I can help, can reset the device to factory work ?.

0

4

0

Quality of sound good but not loud enough at all

DAVTZ140 07 April 2015 by mo92 (USA)

I bought this system for my living room and it was not loud enough. On the dolby setting with max volume I have trouble hearing dialect in a movie. Packing it up and going to upgrade.

2

3

0

Disappointing!

DAV-TZ140 22 March 2015 by ryangiggs567 (United Kingdom)

Not compatible with anything, lack of features and any thing to make it special. Far better alternatives.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

4

0

Good speakers for the price

DAVTZ140 15 September 2014 by andynaik (USA)

I bought these speakers along with my TV and got them for around 40 dollars less, I think they were on sale then. For the price, they deliver well. Some people complain about the low volume but I found it sufficient for a average sized room. My only complaint is the long wires. I wish I had bought wireless speakers since the wires look pretty ugly especially for the back speakers. I would suggest buying wireless speakers

4

1

0

fantastic system

DAVTZ140 14 September 2014 by gofastdieyoung (USA)

this system, like all my sony products, has provided excellent sound for the price. a great value.

3

3

0

great

DAVTZ140 19 August 2014 by jimbo22 (USA)

great product for the money.

0

1

0

compact and solid features

DAV-TZ140 03 June 2014  (United Kingdom)

Happy with the product using it in a 4 x 6 meter room it has adequate power

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

3

0

cool

DAVTZ140 13 May 2014 by maitland (USA)

I Like it alot

3

5

0

super 5.1 home theater for price!

DAVTZ140 09 May 2014 by hipdog (USA)

This system is great for my apartment! I bought this online when they had sale over christmas in target stores wasn't quite sure of even buying it at first But then sony still had it on sale in they're online store with free shipping and since I recieved the 5.1 system in febuary it has been working great so far. volume has a little weakness in T.V. mode from cable hook-up,But when playing a movie the sound in dolby is alot louder and better!!! Also has good upscaling of dvd's to 1080p.

6

2

0

WILL GIVE SONY A SECOND THOUGHT BEFORE BUYING ANY

DAVTZ140 07 May 2014 by DREAMPRINCE (USA)

CHANGING CD s manually is outdated.the remote control is therefore useless

3

11

0

Great sound Improvement-Great price

DAVTZ140 05 May 2014 by VVreview (USA)

Really enhances sound of otherwise tinny TV speakers. I was surprised how much better it made the sound experience.

16

1

0

Awesome Buy!

DAVTZ140 04 May 2014 by Seeker1777 (USA)

This is one of the best buys I've ever made! Great home theater system!!! Great sound! Awesome FM Tuner Plays CD, DVD's !!! Sony is the best name in sound!

3

3

0

Worth the Money

DAVTZ140 03 May 2014 by mtmorris7775 (USA)

Wish it had a Audio in for ear phone play

2

3

0

not so impressive

DAVTZ140 29 March 2014 by brendz (USA)

it is good but i wasn't really impressed...and i even thought that i might have bought something defective because the volume was already at 15 and you only hear a little sound. at volume 20 then at least you can hear but you really have to use the maximum volume then, before you will be satisfied. it would be excellent if it is louder.

6

3

0

Decent purchase

DAVTZ140 29 October 2013 by nater221 (USA)

Its proven to be a great system for the price. I got it at the sony outlet in pleasant prairie wisconsin; wasnt very satisfied with the service there but was acceptable. but back to the system, it has been awesome so far. I've had it for about a month now... but had to buy a blue ray player also so i could stream netflix and hulu but oh well.

14

3