149

3.7 based on 149 customer reviews

66
34
13
9
27
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

An excellent compact design

CFD-S70 25 July 2017 by Malcolm S (United Kingdom)

I bought this primarily as a radio to replace my previous ageing Sony 'Boombox' ( I did not know that it was called a 'Boombox'!) The radio is a lot smaller than my previous radio which surprised me. My only complaint so far is that with the controls and the body of the radio all being in black, it is sometimes difficult to see which button I am pressing. I presume that with use I will get used to their position.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

CD Player Broke in One Year

CFD-S70 13 January 2019 by rayray222 (USA)

I bought this CD Cassette player from Fry's Electronics in Anaheim CA. Within one year, the CD player broke and reads "NO DISC" now. I bought this because of Sony's reputation in boomboxes in the 80s. Now this is broken. I am very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

149 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent Purchase!

CFDS70BLK 17 May 2019 by DJCFB (USA)

We purchased our Sony CD/Cassette Boombox with Radio and are extremely satisfied with our purchase. The volume range and sound quality are outstanding in all modes (radio, CD player, cassette player); the product is also very light-weight and all the functions quickly masterable/implementable. The function keys are also very well placed on the system. Our purchase meets the expectation we have for well manufactured, high-quality Sony products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to set up!

CFD-S70 16 May 2019 by TeabagEve (United Kingdom)

Bought this to follow Chris Evans on Virgin, but also wanted a CD player so this was ideal.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value

CFD-S70 07 May 2019 by egeg (United Kingdom)

I have a large collection of CDs and I had to replace my old CD player due to accidentially dropping it. The ease of use and sound quality of my purchase is good and I am very pleased with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Does the job

CFD-S70 29 April 2019 by rhythmking (United Kingdom)

Not as powerful or as bassy as my previous player but more compact and lighter. Difficult to read the engraved symbols on the buttons. Black on black - not good for legibility, especially in subdued lighting. Radio stations not easy to find and store. Vicious closure of CD lid. Overall, OK but not brilliant.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Boomboxes Extravaganza!

CFDS70BLK 26 April 2019 by BBRose19 (USA)

We love our Sony Boomboxes and the sound from it so Awesomely Amazing! Thank you!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great

CFDS70BLK 21 April 2019 by record555 (USA)

I love the product and the portable cd player is awesome havent used the casset tape player yet

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Love it!! Just perfect for my room

CFDS70BLK 13 April 2019 by Dontownone (USA)

This was a gift to me and it absolutely serves my purpose. Tapes and CD.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

CFD-S70 06 April 2019 by Azmat (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and so happy that I did, it’s easy to use and very simple

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

CD failed after playing 6 Cd's.

CFD-S70 03 April 2019 by GlockDok911 (USA)

Huge dissapointment for a Sony product; this is the 2nd unit to fail. Sony is exchanging it for another, here we go again!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Do not know what you mean by title.

CFDS70BLK 21 March 2019 by Pickoneyourself (USA)

I usally like Sony products but the sound that this unit produces leave a lot to be desired. I have managed to muffle the unit and the soud is better.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good article

CFD-S70 06 March 2019 by aigi (United Kingdom)

Good article for reasonable price. Simply boombox.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Size

CFDS70BLK 04 March 2019 by Bob 57 (USA)

Bought a couple months ago and just stopped working.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

not a good option

CFD-S70 24 February 2019 by Jo824 (USA)

This thing died within 2 years. Very disappointed and would not buy again.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great Features

CFD-S70 12 February 2019 by Topcat2u (United Kingdom)

i bought this a few weeks ago and i am glad i did, it is so easy to use and very light to carry, i think it will be great in the summer to take to the park when having a pinic there.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Boombox for the Price

CFDS70BLK 11 February 2019 by Zach1234 (USA)

I bought a similar boombox for 20 to 40 bucks from Meijer. It was junk. This bad boy is worth every penny. Only downside - no bluetooth connection. Other from that, it has an AV connection for headphones or a line in, cassettes, CD, FM/AM radio. What more could you ask for? Sounds good. Not great, but good. Turn on the Bass Boost for the music to not sound flat.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy controls

CFD-S70 20 January 2019 by Marty 123 (United Kingdom)

I bought it about 3weeks ago .I find it easy to use and it sounds very good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Boombox

CFD-S70 18 January 2019 by Maginfife (United Kingdom)

This was purchased as a replacement and I am delighted with this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good features

CFDS70BLK 18 January 2019 by copo (USA)

I have had sony products in the past and the quality of the products has always been excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

CD Player Broke in One Year

CFD-S70 13 January 2019 by rayray222 (USA)

I bought this CD Cassette player from Fry's Electronics in Anaheim CA. Within one year, the CD player broke and reads "NO DISC" now. I bought this because of Sony's reputation in boomboxes in the 80s. Now this is broken. I am very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

bad service

CFDS70BLK 11 January 2019 by geewizwarren (USA)

runs ok out of box missing part, look fir replacement part

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Do these even work?

CFD-S70 10 January 2019 by arcticvixen (USA)

I bought this device a few years ago. With little use and just over 30 days it did not work at all. (I do not recall the problem as it was so long ago but I think it would not turn on.) I sent it back to Sony and received this current boombox. Again, with little use (I am not home a lot), and within about six months, I had a new issue. This time, the display indicated "noCD". Sometimes it works, sometimes it does not. Sometimes it works for some songs on a CD but not others. Sometimes it will work if I put in a different CD - but not always. I did not bother sending it in as having received two lemons I no longer have confidence in the company and will look elsewhere for a replacement.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

0

Happy listener

CFD-S70 09 January 2019 by Phamie (United Kingdom)

I am very happy with my purchase. Good sound quality and easy to operate

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0