10

4.6 based on 10 customer reviews

7
2
1
0
0
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Wonderful sound quality

WH-XB900N 06 August 2019 by Bobtil (United Kingdom)

After having the headphones for two weeks I have found them to have a wonderful depth of sound to include fantastic clarity/bass and great features. I have found they are very comfortable on the ear, even after several hours use they haven't made my ears sore like other headphones can do. The sensor controls on the right side of the ear are very easy to use and a great idea. The Bluetooth hasn't disconnected at all when in use so the signal seems to be of very good strength. The headphones are very easy to use and with the easy to follow instructions you can be listening in just a few minutes once out of the box. The battery life of the headphones is also excellent and I have got around 30 hours (as advertised) from a single charge. If you do run out of battery there is also the option to plug them in but when using the headphones wirelessly you realise how much of an advantage it is to be wireless with a set of headphones. The phone app which accompanies the headphones is a great feature as it gives a lot of advanced options such as a graphic equaliser to give even more sound features. Another great feature is how easy the headphones fold together so they can easily be packed for travel. The quality of build is also very good and typical of Sony to make a quality product that feels like it will last for years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good but using the app is usless

WH-XB900N 06 September 2019 by Deeone (USA)

I bought a pair to replace my xb950n1. They were clearer but had some loss of bass from the xb950n1, which I could have settled with. But the app was basically useless. I could not change the eq, surround sound, etc, without degrading the bluetooth connection. Why would sony do that, my xb950n1s didn't do that. I would have liked to kept the sound the same. So I'm returning them, like I returned the wh1000xm3s because of this mess up. You should be able to use the app without degrading the sound. When you are able to use the app without degrading the sound please let me know.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

17 Customer Reviews

0

You can wear them for hours

whx900n-b 12 November 2019 by Rick27red (USA)

The form fitting headphones are great and extremely comfortable. I wore them for hours while walking around and they never made my ears uncomfortable or sweaty. I love the over-sized ear cushions that go around the outside of the ear instead of sitting on them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Better value point vs it’s Premium brother.

WH-XB900N 02 November 2019 by Chris VK (USA)

I compared this model with all them Bose and other similar NC cans and as I am a bass lover, but not willing to spend max cash , I was looking for decent quality for my bucks. In sound quality, I honestly prefer them vs the premium model. Overall good in lows and highs. I don’t need pronounced mids. What I don’t like; the cushions are warming up the ears fast, the Matt painting looks cheap, and the single Bluetooth connection is so 90’s. However, as this is my 4th set of Sony ear devices, I know it’s more about the sound then functionality. Happy with them

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Awesome bass awesome battery life

WH-XB900N 20 October 2019 by Amy89 (United Kingdom)

Ok Right now in the market the best one is the WH-1000-XM3 but the WH-XB900N is enough for me and even better because it has bass and because it has more colours to choose.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound quality

WHXB900N/B 15 October 2019 by AlexVr32 (USA)

Recently purchased this on 10/12, came in on 10/14 via Amazon. Man where do I start, these headphones are extremely good. The bass, which is what I was in the market for is phenomenal. Lows, Mids, and highs are crisp and are always present. I am a bass head, and have a passion for hip-hop and rap. These headphones out beat almost anything in the market. The model i had before were the Sony MDR-XB950BT and those were also great in performance, structure wise they lacked. The hinges broke, and parts were over exaggeratingly overpriced. There is some reasons towards getting the Sony WH-XB900N; you can wear these for hours and your head will not hurt, there is no clamping force of any sort. Your ears will fit inside the ear cups with no sort of force. If you have a big head like me, these are not a problem, they are almost a universal fit for most sizes. The technology that you also purchase with the headphone is also worth it. You are also recommended to download an app from Sony to get the best experience possible. With it you can adjust bass, effects, adjust sound quality over connection or vice versa. It also shows you your headphone charge, and adaptive sound control. With adaptive sound control enabled, the headphones detect your surroundings and adjust themselves so you can hear what's going on around you. If you're out in the public, it will allow outside noise to be heard. And if you're in a quiet space, it will block out all sounds. Personally i think that is cool. You also get Google assistance, and Alexa integrated in the headphones themselves. If you speak another language these headphones should recognize the language you're speaking and respond in that language. I know it works with Spanish, I've opened applications with voice commands in both English and Spanish. If you press the assistance button on your left, you will be told if you have any notifications, the time, and battery status on the headset. The right headset has Swipe controls, and they have replaced physical buttons, so up and down for volume, left and right for skipping or repeat. Double tap for play and pause. Also if you cover the right side, you will be able to hear outside noise. These headphones use type-c charger chord for a faster charge. Battery life is very good, providing 30 hours of play time on a full charge. Also include is 3.5mm auxiliary cable. Both ends are 3.5mm. These headphones are worth it, and if you're a bass head and like bass heavy songs of any genre, these are for you. I recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lots of bass with clean sound

WH-XB900N 28 September 2019 by Falconbro21 (United Kingdom)

These headphones have lots of clean sounding bass while still having great mids and highs, treble is good aswell. Their very comfy and ear cups are soft. The noise cancelling is good it's not the best out there like the 1000xm3 but still blocks decent amount of noise. Overall I'm very happy with these headphones and dont have any problems.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing

WH-XB900N 25 September 2019  (United Kingdom)

I bought this at Heathrow Airport before going on a 12 hour flight to Thailand and it was so useful, some kid kept crying the entire flight but wearing these head phones was truly a life saver and the bass is sooo goood

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Good but using the app is usless

WH-XB900N 06 September 2019 by Deeone (USA)

I bought a pair to replace my xb950n1. They were clearer but had some loss of bass from the xb950n1, which I could have settled with. But the app was basically useless. I could not change the eq, surround sound, etc, without degrading the bluetooth connection. Why would sony do that, my xb950n1s didn't do that. I would have liked to kept the sound the same. So I'm returning them, like I returned the wh1000xm3s because of this mess up. You should be able to use the app without degrading the sound. When you are able to use the app without degrading the sound please let me know.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Left ear broken and gets no sound

whx900n-b 21 August 2019 by Julio777 (USA)

I bought in Best Buy then had to leave for South Korea(US Army). Left ear speaker does not work. Not sure what to due since I can’t return to Best Buy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

0

Great bass, above avg clarity

WH-XB900N 19 August 2019 by Shivba7 (USA)

The xb900n justifies it’s name “xtra bass”. Don’t expect it to be an audiophiles’ headphones. These are your average consumer’s bass-pro headbands which does an awesome job of keeping the bass on its toes without compromising on the clarity given the pricetag and a decent ANC. Special hats off to the engineers behind this who rarely gets the praise. Well done. Dig the quick Attention feature.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best Headphones EVER!

WH-XB900N/BCE 18 August 2019 by Hasrina (Singapore)

Love everything about it! Great extra bass feature. The Sony app allows you to control the settings to your preference is even more awesome! WOW!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome headset WHXB900N

whx900n-l 11 August 2019 by Pmtz 1968 (USA)

So happy I purchased this sound awesome, and last up to 30 hrs!! Get investment! Thank you again Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great texture of plastic!

WH-XB900N 09 August 2019 by Breakthrough16 (USA)

Great headphones with great bassy sound completes the noise cancelling. Love the rough texture of the plastic which leaves no fingerprints or smudge whatsoever! Lightwear!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Headphones!

WH-XB900N 08 August 2019 by Isaac Beast (USA)

Best pair of headphones I've ever had, I recommend getting them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

LOVE THE HEADPHONES

WH-XB900N 07 August 2019 by ELAINE7 (United Kingdom)

I have been using these headphones for two weeks now very comfortable, sound is great, feel of product is excellent and noise cancelling works very well, very impressed. All features work well with what ever I am using. Set up was easy and quick no issues, downloaded the App on Tablet and Sony Mobile no problems. I use these Headphones most days for calls and listening to music, sound is very clear you would not know you where wearing Headphones extremely comfortable battery life is excellent great quality product is a must in todays world LOVE THEM thank-you Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

0

0

Wonderful sound quality

WH-XB900N 06 August 2019 by Bobtil (United Kingdom)

After having the headphones for two weeks I have found them to have a wonderful depth of sound to include fantastic clarity/bass and great features. I have found they are very comfortable on the ear, even after several hours use they haven't made my ears sore like other headphones can do. The sensor controls on the right side of the ear are very easy to use and a great idea. The Bluetooth hasn't disconnected at all when in use so the signal seems to be of very good strength. The headphones are very easy to use and with the easy to follow instructions you can be listening in just a few minutes once out of the box. The battery life of the headphones is also excellent and I have got around 30 hours (as advertised) from a single charge. If you do run out of battery there is also the option to plug them in but when using the headphones wirelessly you realise how much of an advantage it is to be wireless with a set of headphones. The phone app which accompanies the headphones is a great feature as it gives a lot of advanced options such as a graphic equaliser to give even more sound features. Another great feature is how easy the headphones fold together so they can easily be packed for travel. The quality of build is also very good and typical of Sony to make a quality product that feels like it will last for years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

5

0

0

Too Much Bass

WH-XB900N 02 August 2019  (United Kingdom)

Very comfortable and noise cancelling works very well. The sound out the box is not great, the bass is pushed way to much. Instead of being able to simply provide the deeper bass, it artificially boosts it without any way of disabling that feature on the headphones. The only way to setup the sound is to use the playback devices inbuilt equaliser if it has one, and i have had to do this for every device I use them on. Unfortunately not every device has equaliser settings so stuck with oversaturated bass on many devices such as PS Vita, PSP & Nintendo Switch to name a few. If the device you intend on using these with has no equaliser control then you may find the bass enhancement just a bit annoying especially for music that should have any where near that much bass in it. Also found the touch sensitive controls on the side no better really then physical buttons as there are no lumps to feel where your finger is touching so can take a few goes to get what you wanted to happen. There is no question about the build quality of these headphones, very comfortable and solid. They are definitely a quality Sony product. But the over the top bass is annoying on devices with no equalisation, and sound great on devices with equaliser settings.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

13

0

A great all rounder

WH-XB900N 01 August 2019 by James93 (United Kingdom)

I have been using these headphones for a week now and I have been very impressed, when they arrived I was impressed by then sleek packaging and complimentary carry bag for protection. Set up was a breeze as they were already fully charged, I downloaded the App as recommended on my Xperia XZ2 and Apple iPod Touch and I set it up without any issues. My only complaint is when it came to setting it up on my iPad there was no headphones app for it so I had to manually connect it. When I played my first song on them I was very impressed with the clearness and depth of the sound. I then messed around in the settings to get them just how I like with the Bass Boost on. I can not fault the sound at all. Another thing I have been impressed by is the battery life, I have charged these only once in the week I’ve had them and even then they were still on 70% I think I could go weeks without charging them which is nice to know especially for long trips. I also like how it charges with USB C so I can charge it with the same cable as my phone. The build of the headphones seems very solid they feel quality and I have confidence that they will last me a long while. It would be nice if when connected to Apple devices it could use Siri however I have used it with google assistant and I have found it very useful with a simple tap to hear my notifications and a hold to ask it a question. Overall I really enjoy these headphones and I imagine I’ll be using them for many years to come.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

5

0