35

4.3 based on 35 customer reviews

22
8
1
2
2
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

35 Customer Reviews

0

Good player - but frustrating PC software & set-up

16GB 16 May 2020 by MelleMel (United Kingdom)

Good player - now I've finally managed to get it set up. I find the Music Centre software frustrating / annoying - perhaps I'm comparing it with the simplicity & logic of using iTunes & iPod which I've progressed from. Tip: Read all of the online help first. And then read it all again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good for music lover

16GB 15 May 2020 by Deezign (Singapore)

Im happy with it. I like to use it all the time when I travel around.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sound not so great

16GB 12 May 2020 by Masuda (Singapore)

Compare with NWZ-A17 sony walkman , the sound quality not really great and disappointed . Some of the songs contain this "Shh" noise for example the word "She" It makes a loud distortion noise that kind of bothers me . NWZ-A17 dont have this issue.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic

16GB 11 May 2020 by Amnesia (United Kingdom)

My new Walkman NW-A55L. Build quality, looks, feel, ease of use, player features and sound are all exceptional. Having replaced my Walkman NWZ-A818 which has served me for many years, my expectations were very high and as usual Sony have not let me. Many thanks John W.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ok but some Bluetooth issues

16GB 08 May 2020 by JohnR567 (United Kingdom)

Struggled to connect to my vehicle media player via Bluetooth. Instructions should be made clearer to aid this. Also my Bluetooth headphones (not Sony) seemingly get a weak signal from the Walkman so can get distorted sound when outside. I don't get this issue with the headphones when paired to my Samsung phone. But managed to transfer all my mp3 files over easily enough but again disappointed to see a lot of the 16Gb memory is taken up by internal software leaving me just around 9 - 10 Gb for music.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Excellent sound & build quality.

16GB 01 May 2020 by Freddie7 (United Kingdom)

This little player is an excellent all-rounder. The sound quality is amazing for this price bracket. The build quality is also great. The screen navigation is pretty simple & easy to use. Bluetooth connection is instant & extremely stable. Ultra portable. All in all, I don't think you'll find a better "budget" MP3 than this little Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great feature

16GB 29 April 2020 by Benny2508 (Singapore)

Good sound effects and quality . Potable and reasonable price .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great futures!

16GB 28 April 2020 by MiniMe_1 (Singapore)

I bought it about 6 month ago and I’m happy with it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great sound

16GB 28 April 2020  (Singapore)

Bought is about 4 mths ago, battery life is very good and so is the sound quality. One thing I hope to see improvement in, is the Radio icon. It is too tiny. Those with poor eye sight, will struggle to see it

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

4th Walkman mp3 player

16GB 27 April 2020 by Bombtruck (United Kingdom)

My 4th, this is my first touchscreen version so I had no difficulty adapting as it looks the same as the tactile versions. As usual, sound quality is the best on the market. I like the return of a decent FULL volume, previous player was physically limited. I'm not seeing/hearing the price difference between this and the tactile versions. But I've only had it one day!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Walkman

16GB 25 April 2020 by Tabbist36 (United Kingdom)

A beautiful, well crafted and modern take on a pop culture icon. I love it. Price is sensible and much more affordable than sum of the more extravagant offerings. Really delighted with the Walkman A55.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great sound

16GB 22 April 2020 by jjjg (United Kingdom)

Bought as a replacement for old Sony walkman two weeks ago, thrilled with updated easy to use controls.Much lighter to carry, bluetooth addition excellent feature for gym use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Doesn't connect to stereo

16GB 20 April 2020 by star100280 (United Kingdom)

not impressed so far as intermittent sound when connect to stereo, still awaiting my buds so hope these connect properly otherwise will be a waste of.money

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Everything I hoped and more.

16GB 15 April 2020 by Tandemar57 (United Kingdom)

As a constant pedestrian and avid music lover this was one of the best purchases I have made. It ticks every box, the sound is amazing, the functions easy, even for a dunce like myself. I cannot recommend this little beauty enough!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

MP3

16GB 07 April 2020 by mojo46 (United Kingdom)

Had this for almost a month now. Nice build and solid feel. Good sound and volume. I still find adding music much more difficult than it needs to be. My last player was an iPod and transferring music was much simpler.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

It's still a Walkman!

NW-A50 SERIES 27 March 2020 by Valentin La (USA)

The A50 feels great, just like my previous Walkman player (see photo), which I have been using for over a decade. Sound and build quality also seem great. I am using the dedicated Music Center program to transfer albums to the player. The problem is that it is not always easy to get the cover arts displayed on the device, even though I would manually select them from the properties in Music Center. Sony, please fix either the Music Center for PC or the Walkman firmware! Also the UI could be further updated for stability, but over all it is pretty good the way it is now. I actually prefer the proprietary UI to Android, as I don't really find Android devices likable. So please continue developing the Walkman UI! Regarding the WM port cable: it is mechanically sturdy and gets you extra features like line out audio... I don't care if it's not USB-C at all.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Mp3 player sony

16GB 16 March 2020 by Mern (United Kingdom)

Bought it to listen to music on holiday good player and nice sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sounds Good

16GB 04 March 2020 by Seamansam the fourth (United Kingdom)

Great sound and tone. Great with earbuds or headphones whilst out and about. Clear audio is fantastic and it organises tracks for different times of the day and evening in a sort of playlist. Absolutely delighted with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Clumsy to set up, unable to adjust volume

16GB 02 March 2020 by Meenzer (United Kingdom)

Wish I had bought the cheaper model which was two thirds cheaper. Unable to adjust volumes when using bluetooth devices. Bought instead of iPod but this was a big mistake.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

8

0

Almost Perfect

16GB 06 February 2020 by Mushii (United Kingdom)

After extensive research of various Digital Audio Players (DAPs) the NW-A55 ticked most of my boxes, the main 3 being excellent sound quality, good battery life (>20+ hours on a single charge) and under £200. Software wise, form factor, sound quality are all 5 stars. I have 2 niggles with this device: 1. Sony's continual use of the useless and outdated WM Connector. Sony it is 2020 not 1990, please move all of your products to USB-C - EVERYONE who reviews the NW-Axx DAPs says exactly the same. These proprietary cables serve no purpose, you have moved all of your other DAPs onto USB-C, please do the same with this product line. 2. Bluetooth Headphone integration - You have built in headphone profiles for some obscure headphones that almost noone uses, but nothing for your most popular NC headphones WH-1000XM3 (which I also own). This means that you have no access to any of the EQ features if you connect them to a smart phone and the built in EQ doesnt work over bluetooth.. Again Sony, its 2020, please can we see some integration between your products, Apple manage it!!! Overall though I love my NW-A55 and I would buy it again in a heartbeat. I travel a lot and it comes with me everywhere, paired with my WH-1000XM3 headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Perfect for me

16GB 12 January 2020 by Veeay (United Kingdom)

I bought this product after researching the market for a music player with the features I wanted and this was the perfect fit. I listen to it with wired earphones and use the Bluetooth capability to play music through my quality speakers. At last I can play my FLAC music library both through earphones and speakers. The HiRes capability is also something I am pleased with and am experimenting with the files supplied withy the device. Very satisfied.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

the best MP3 player ever ...

NW-A50 SERIES 20 December 2019 by ggaall33 (USA)

love it ..., the best player i had till now, with my Bose QC30, i having the best music ever

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

A55L Review

16GB 13 December 2019 by Seagullbaz (United Kingdom)

Was given this as a 50th birthday present after putting it on my wish list following fantastic reviews on the web. It has lived up to and exceeded all the web reviews. Perfect!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

OVERALL

16GB 05 December 2019 by rich46 (United Kingdom)

BOUGHT ON RELEASE DAY PRE ORDER sound output excellent. adequate power to drive good headphones. dac option is good idea. build quality excellent .good colour range- feels good to operate. high storage -I use 400 gb with no issues packaging v good. battery life very good- 10/10 best buy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Sony NW-A55L

16GB 22 November 2019 by Steyr57 (United Kingdom)

This is a nice touch screen compact player that fits into the palm of your hand, it feels nice with its rounded profile and metal case. Setting up the unit is easy and relatively straight forward, and pairing with other Bluetooth units worked very well using NFC or manually searching, also wired headphones worked perfectly. Transferring and editing music content is done through the Sony Music Center App and worked flawlessly. The interface appears a little daunting on first use as there is a lot going on, but becomes a lot easier with use. There are numerous configurations for sound output so you should be able to setup the unit to suit your own preference, I particularly like the Vinyl Processor setting giving a smooth pleasant effect using FLAC encoding. This is the L model and does not have the radio facility a big disappointment for me but you can download Podcasts. The other thing I do not like is the Sony WM-PORT this should be changed for a more modern plug, the consumer requires manufacturers to make connections more interchangeable. Overall I like the unit you can obtain high quality sound, plenty of storage with the addition of a microSD card up to 2TB, and the unit feels a quality product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

1

0

Amazing Hi Resolution Sound

16GB 19 November 2019 by Keithy59 (United Kingdom)

My first impressions were how small this little player is. It was slightly heavier than I expected but on inspection it is a quality peice of kit built in a lovely aluminum case with nice firm buttons on the side. Lovely OLED display although a little small but to be honest it's the sound that I'm interested in. I downloaded some Hi Res music in FLAC format. I first tried playing this through my Sony MDR 1000X Headphones and this was amazing. Next I tried playing through my Sony SRS X9 Bluetooth speaker and I have never heard such clarity through Bluetooth. It sounded like a concert hall. Wow! I normally use Hi Res through my smartphone and I thought this was good but this walkman is on another level. Amazing for the money. The start up is a little slow but that's only a small thing. Well worth the few second wait. Battery life of six hours is great for long flight. Smartphones are brilliant and can do most things for most people these days but often don't offer a phone jack which this walkman does and offers versatility and choice and fits easily in a pocket which smartphones don't as there often too big. Overall if you want top end sound this is definitely a step beyond any smartphone and worth spending the money for dedicated music enthusiasts. Very happy with this walkman.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

6

0

0

Great little player, would be happier with USB

32GB with headphone 24 June 2019 by Simon B (Singapore)

Great sounding little player , although i would prefer usb-c given sony singapore refuses to stock spares for the walkman range...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Awesome

16GB 28 December 2018 by SOL1982 (Singapore)

Audio Quality is awesome. But playlist support could be improved. Like supporting extra file names. Now I have to rename some old names and the playlist.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

5

0

Great walkman but need to improve

32GB with headphone 24 December 2018 by Limcs2000 (Singapore)

Pro-this device have vey nice sound quality -simple control panel Con- battery life very short - cannot play mp4 -charging not using USB C -charging is slow -expensive

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

10

24

0

Great mp3 but database loading a bit slow

16GB 14 December 2018 by Eriko (Singapore)

Happy to have this new features mp3, sound very clear, it’s reduce all the noise. However every time click off on button, device take time to load due to database loading. Suggest look into this and improve the efficiency of the machine. Thanks.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

14

2

0

Features and sound quality was great.

16GB 22 November 2018 by Riposte (Singapore)

Overall features and sound quality was really good. Battery life was pretty remarkable. However, it lacks album shuffle and it would be good to have it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

1

0

great player

16GB 21 November 2018 by CS Cheong (Singapore)

menu controls are easy and simplet to navigate. great sound. all in all, a great player.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

NW-A55/NM E

16GB 29 October 2018 by raysam (Singapore)

Very disappointed with this product. The radio needs the headphone wire as antenna. I use a wireless headphone, the radio cannot work. The set don't have treble and bass control.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

5

57

0

It's awesome!!!

16GB 25 October 2018  (Singapore)

I bought it by the next day it was released. It's fantastic even in a normal headphones songs are perfect!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

1

0

NW-A55 Green

16GB 25 October 2018 by Griggsy (Singapore)

Fantastic little music player, I know most of us like to listen to our music on our phones now but i have a big collection of Flac and DSD files which i think are best listened to on a device like this. Very easy to use, simple to transfer files from my PC to the inbuilt storage and additional Micro SD card. No issues navigating, Hi-Res files are under a separate tab. I have only had the device for a couple of weeks, I also purchased the WH-000XM3 headphones which sound great when paired together, I will explore the rest of the features as I continue to use it. My only gripe is the lack of a bumper and screen protector available locally, well there isn't any in the Official Sony shops in Singapore. The Sony Staff I spoke to did not have any idea as to when these would be available. My next purchase was going to be the FDR-X3000R, but seeing as GoPro have just released the Hero 7 I am hoping there will be a significant upgrade to the Sony cam, so I will wait a while.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

20

1